(2008/09) Sep 2008

Limay,

Yes, can detect gender with tummy scan.

Mei,
Don't you need to do urine test everytime you go to your gynae? How come you can have a full bladder during the check? U keep drinking water after your toilet break? :D

Bigtoes: Once your gynae can see the baby, no more V scan liao. Even for the gender, can use a tummy scan. Depends on whether your baby is cooperative and not hide the genital by folding/closing up the legs.

Mrs Yap, OSCAR scan is actually like the scan we do in the gynae's clinic. But of higher quality, and closer zoom-in. Yes, can see gender if baby is cooperative. But some sonographers will not want to tell you cos it's not part of the package for them to interpret the baby's gender.

i've been reading abt breast pumps and its giving me headaches!! there's so many different kinds out there! sighz...

Can anyone advise which pump will be better? Avent manual, Avent Duo or Ameda Lac? I'm a SAHM, so i'm not sure if i'll need to get electric pump? What if my bb can't latch on properly? Or there's engorgement?

Sighz..so confusing!

Thanks for enlightening me ladies!
xuanting (xuanting)- yes, 14 weeks now, will be 16 weeks by next visit, so no more v-scans for me! At least wont be paiseh for my MIL to be in the same room *phew*

usually i also go for my checkup with full bladder and for the past 2 checkups i did tummy scan instead of V scan. so after the checkup always need to cheong to the toilet then on the way do the urine test.

I have been having scan since 8 weeks..no more v-scan (I do not like it).

Glad that you are discussing on the make-up etc..i have been without make-up (no lotion on body, face etc) since pregnancy. Wondering if anyone knows which brand of lipstick shd be fine (no lead etc)? I have been having outbreak on my face, so do not dare to apply anything and do not know what's ok.

thanks mei and sasa. Guess I do not need to go for subsequent checks hopefully. Now got blue-black from the blood test

Hi lhy,

I think you probably won't need an electric pump. I did not use my Medela electric pump much after I delivered as I was a SAHM mom too then, so I direct latch more often. Can use manual if you want to go out and have someone feed your bb occasionally.

bb should latch on properly, i think, if the position is correct. They might not do so immediately in the hospital, but the lactation consultant will help you. if there's engorgement, can pump, but don't overpump cos that will stimulate more milk production, more than what your bb needs and you will keep having the engorgement. Use cabbage leaves, or take more frequent warm showers then to encourage let down...

just my 2 cents worth

saw u all were talking about makeup.. ask u ladies who put on makeup, is it true that we can only use organic makeup? my friend was telling me that i can't use my normal makeup wor..

Hi RXmom,

I'm really a makup sucker and no one at work sees me without makeup so I was quite disturbed when I saw preggers on MRT wearing zero makeup.

I do wear glasses on and off when I'm really tired in the morning but I make sure I wear my tinted moisturiser and loose powder, blusher and lipstick then!!! VAIN VAIN VAIN!!

Hi Ava

I totally understand what you mean. I bought some Kiehl's shower gel and initially they smelt great. Now, they just stink the high heavens!

My gynae prescribed me with Fucidin for my acne. It's quite effective and less harmful for preggers.

Hi xuanting

I wish I could go natural but I just cannot NOT wear eyeliner lor. My eyes not nice without mascara and eyeliner mah... Bet colleagues will faint if I go bare...

I read somewhere makeup makes one feel better durin pregnancy. I know it's a chore to remove them afterwards. (I don't even know if my MAC makeup remover is harmful or not!) And even a greater hassle to remove my contact lenses...but what to do...

You know, I felt so vain that I even invested in a pair of funky red Prada specs last month so that I don't look "duh" on days I really really feel like skipping those soft lenses. Hmm, so far, the feedback has been good
))))

BBmouse: You can see your baby's gender already? Thought you're 10wks and baby only measures 3.17cm? *ENVY* We weren't even advised of the baby's gender when ours was 7.1cm long, but we did see something sticking out. It could be the fetal pole, who knows?!!! kekeke!

think I must visit the pedicurist soon cos my toenails are really unwieldy!!! Saw some hip mamas at the clinic this week. They have nice arms so they look real good in spaghetti straps. I can't cos I've flabby arms. They even have nice mani and pedi.

Hmm, it's coming to 6pm. And raining in town!!! Damn...I am wearing Charles and Keith heels today...must walk slowly to the MRT...

hi flos, what's a fetal pole? i used to not be able to leave the house without makeup too but i'm really so so nua these days. all i can think about are sleeping and having like six or seven slaves massage my head, hands, body and legs simultaneously!

i thought i saw something sticking out during my oscar scanning too, but i've never seen how a bb's peepee looks so i'm not sure if it might be something else like the umbilical cord or that fetal pole thing you mentioned.

Flos: No lah. I can't see the gender yet.

Xuanting: The doc is able to tell from the pointedness of the genital. Even girls will have something sticking out, but the angle is not upwards. For boys, the genial points upwards.

Goldfish/RXmom,

Can i know where in SG to get Bfree brand milk bottles ? Any idea whats the price range ?
So it's more ex than Avent ??

xuan ting
thx. Just that at first I cldn't move much and was feeling weak from unstable preg, then MS hit. Now that it has subsided I thot i cld have a relatively 'normal' life again, I kena flu. So I really really miss feeling 'normal' and active again!

Btw, fetal pole is what they called the baby b4 it develops into a fetus. That's in very early preg, ard 6 weeks.

MAKE UP
I am damn lazy now. Dun even use moisturiser anymore! Everytime I have to go out it is a chore but I have to cover my dark circles otherwise I look terrible. If I cld, I would just hole up at home.
I am so lazy now that if I din need to bathe, even better! yeek!

Go see today's URBAN for organic stuff. Me is using Eminence products since I got preggie. But only when I'm not lazy!

I still makeup when I go out, still want to look like a pretty preggie.
I only avoid those skincare which contains whitening & anti-aging stuff. Sunblock is very very important so please do not skip it as we are more prone to pigmentation problems during pregnancy.

RXmom
I normally go for my scan first before going for the urine test, so it's fine.

isabelle, it's a must to cover my dark circles before i go out too. else i think i will look like a fat panda walking on the streets now!

i just checked out Urban for that organic stuff section. didn't know there are so many brands. will have to check them out one of the days.

i am forever lazy to put on make up. since godknows when, I've been totally makeup free and I wear glasses 24/7.

I don like wearing foundation as I have oily skin and I hate the feeling. so I only put on mascara to play up the eyes. Last time hiao bot those mascara tat gives volume lar, more curls lar etc etc then had hard time removing. so got sian. au naturel! heee..the most, its moisturiser at the corner of my lips. cos very very dry..

ok.. upload my barrel pic. Was oredi a barrel before preggie, now bigger volume barrel.. heee..

1297713.jpg

hey crayonshinchan.... your bump also quite big siah... hehe.. i am not the only one. phew... Its not lump of fats as u describe lor... its obviously a baby bump. Your bump is very cute n round... mine is pointed... You are carrying your baby quite high leh... near to your stomach...
Do u feel uneasy after eating? cos i feel indigestion easily now.

muahaha.. mrs yap, i seriously think 3/4 of it comes from my oredi existent fats leh! else how can it be so big! But in the morning, it'll shrink a little bit.. hee..btw, I am entering my 15th wk. YEAH!

haha.. tats why a couple of days ago, I was asking if its normal that my stomach is bigger than my tummy!!! haaa...

But its true, by the last meal of the day, i will be super uncomfortable! and I cant do anything abt it!

Pple say that round is girl and pointed is boy rite? I hope I'll know by next sat's check up!

isabelle, i also secretly wish i don't have to bathe! it's really a hassle getting wet and all plus drying the hair. i need a haircut soon.

crayonshinchan, your bump is huge too! how many weeks are you now?

Hi flos, welcome!! I am not forgoing my make up!! Its a must, kekeke... Yah, I also feel that my tummy become hairier leh..

Bigtoes (limay): My gynae did tummy scan all the way for me, never do v-scan before. And he scan the gender of my smallberry via tummy scan as well @14weeks. I was ok cos v-scan quite uncomfortable right?

Crayonshinchan: Your bump is big & nice!! Kekeke..

Today tried to wear a top that is tighter but too short to cover my maternity pants. In the end look abit funny! I don't have much long tops, so do you all buy new maternity clothes or just wear dresses?

Wow Crayon! ur bump is huge & pretty! I'm also into my 15th wk today, but my bump is nowhere like yours.. anyway, when's ur EDD? Mine's 4 sept. My next appt is also next wk (16th week) so hope to be able confirm bb's gender too

Morning! It's Friday.. Yay!

crayonshinchan
Lovely bum you got there.

storeberry
I only bought some maternity clothes from the Spring Maternity Sale last month. Other than that, I just wear babydoll blouses & dresses.

Mei
You just complimented crayon's bum

Got a funny story to share...i had a first meeting yest with new client, and he could not sit thru the whole meeting. So I said, no prob, we can come back again next week. He said "Oh, I hope I will see you next week, cos you might be going into labour!...." I told him "I'm only 3 months! But it's twins, so that's why so big"...LOL

Clothes
aiyoh, even tho I have some maternity tops, I get bored wearing them over and over...so every morning, I stand in my bra in front of my cupboard staring at my clothes for 5-10 mins cos got nothing to wear!!! bottoms are less of a hassle...

MTBs,
i dont wear makeup on weekends..cant be bothered anymore
but for workdays, i still try my best to put on loose powder, blusher and lipstick..think w/o makeup on workday...a bit scary for my colleagues! haha..

my bump not as protruding and round...i think more like having an extra tyre ard the waist..hmmm..will try to post my pic..

been getting gastric pain alot more often no matter eat or not...is it common? my next check up end of mar...just worried..

Makeup
Yeah, I dont wear makeup on weekends either...well, just sunblock and then powder if the sunblock looks too shiny...I am usually quite low maintenance one, but my skin has been degenerating quite a bit in the last few years (20-something MTBs enjoy your youth! and take better care of yourself than I did pls) so I need full makeup these days.

storeberry, I am still wearing some of my normal tshirts but when I wear my maternity bottom, I'll have to be more careful lor. Cos our normal tops shd be quite short for us now.
I have quite a few hand me downs long tops from my sil so will be having fun wearing them. BUT they are all either spaghetti straps or tube top ones and I'll need to wear something to cover up when I go to work. kind of ma fan...

dmbb, my EDD is 6th Sept. Kekee.. I am 2 days later than u. I am also hoping to see gender next wk then I can start collecting clothes.. haaa..

heee.. mei, why were u staring at my bum instead of my baby bump?? haaaaa..

haha.. ava, i will usually do what u do at nite instead of morning. Cos I'll def be late! I'll mix and match and pair them up to find the best mix! heee... pregnant oso so vain.. but sometimes when I am lazy, I'll just wear pants and polo T. The easiest hassle free mix and how I wish I can wear my birks to work everyday!

yup.. tats how lazy I am most days!

Ava
Ahh... typo error.. thanks for pointing out.. paisey.. hehe

crayonshinchan
Sorry ah.. I forgot to type in the 'P'.. but then again, preggy women's bums also look good..

though i seldom post, but i read all the posts everyday. I always thought that is my tummy getting bigger as my appetite has always been good since preg and i have grown 0.6kg heavier. Can see the few mummies who posted their bump are so beautiful, mine is not as big as u alls yet.

Went for my NT scan last friday, everything is good and can see baby for so long is fun. =) Will be seeing dr end of this month, hope can see the gender. I'm in my 13th wk.

makeups:

I use all neurogena moisturer and toner, loreal milk everyday. Are they fine to use? I put on foundation and blusher before i goes to work too. I hate going out without foundation.

BUmps
I had lunch with my friend who is 14 weeks and she has barely any bump! Another friend of mine was able to hide her pregnancy from our ex-boss till she was 5 months! and me....? sigh...client thinks I'm due next week LOL...

I tried to buy a maternity belt last night and the salesgirl said her cousin had twins and based on her cousin's bump, she doesnt think their largest belt size will fit me eventually!!!! Waaaah!

RXmom, thanks for the advice!

Then i think i'll just get the Avent Manual pump, coz the electric ones are just so ex!! I aso worried what if i dun have enuff breastmilk to feed bb..Do i get this b4 my delivery?

So sorry for the tonnes of qns as this is my first bb

Btw, my EDD is 2Sep and Dr is able to tell me the gender of my bb at 14wks :p I'm having a bb boy! So excited!! Just hoping and praying that Dr doesn't make a mistake coz i've heard of stories that Drs do make mistakes coz not clear!

mommies, u guys have any instinct of the gender of yr bb before the gynea could tell?

i think mine might be a gal cos i dont turn "ugly" with bigger nose
which some says its an indication of having a boy!

everyone has booked their CL and natal class? I havent done anything...

Ava, my fren's sil had no bump too! Wonder how and why some bumps are bigger than the others... I am oso quite afraid that I wont be able to wear the pants that I'd bought later into the pregnancy.. hee.. cos the bum and the thighs will get even bigger rite?

lhy, my gynae told me at my 12wks check up that she tot she saw something at the genital area so I kind of like was thinking, it has to be a kuku lor! heee.. but she did not commit an answer, saying she'll confirm at the next check up.. hahaa...

sasa de mouse! whether big or small, u better post up ah! heee.. its fun looking at each other's bumps leh.. so far, those who had posted up all look different...

bacon&egg, u better look for ur CL like NOW! i procrastinated and tot tat with 4 contacts in hand, I will definitely be able to get at least one. I was sooooo wrong lor.. when I called last weekend, ALL were taken up.

Bacon&egg, yup, for mine i have quite a strong instinct that bb is a boy. And it turn out that i'm rite. Read that mummy's instinct quite accurate. Not sure abt the nose part leh...coz my nose aso didn't turn bigger...

lhy

Congrats on finding out the sex of the baby!

Yes, please get ur pump before delivery and since it's an Avent manual, which is small and easy to bring around, have it with you in your hosp room, unless u fancy renting one from the hospital.

You won't have much milk the first few days but it's good to have the pump once you start getting engorged (3rd to 5th day) and it will also be used to simulate your baby's suckling to encourage more milk production.

hee crayinshinchan, u must be eagerly looking forward to ur next visit! so excited to know bb's gender rite? i'm starting to look at bb clothes nw! heehee!!

Ava, will it be tiring to pump using maual pump everytime i get engorgement? i scared my wrist will cramp!! use computer and mouse for too long my wrist will be painful already!

Baby gender
I had a strong feeling for my first one, which was correct. For these two, I may be influenced cos not sure if I like the idea of 3 boys...which may very well be the case so I am not paying attention to my "instincts" and will depend on ultrasound for confirmation

Goldfish
Better safe than sorry! if not too big and clumsy, bring it along. or else hosp might ask u to rent from them.

lhy
It does get tiring, but it's not that bad. even with some Carpal tunnel syndrome in my wrists, was able to use it. Altho u will find the mini electric versions easier...those are still cheaper than the powerhouse electroc ones like PIS and hospital ones, so maybe u can try to get a second hand one as a backup to your manual - in case u really get painful wrists.

BTW,
Due to looser ligaments etc painful wrists are VERY common the first few months (usually 6-8 months or more) esp if u r breastfeeding and need to hold your babies for feeds. Each feed can last for 20-45 mns and then you will probably need to feed again within 3 hours from the start of your previous feed, e.g.

12pm - 12.45 Feed for 45 mins (both breasts)
3pm - 3.45 Feed again
etc etc (it's NOT 3 hours from the END of the previous feed, which is what I thought it was)

So do get wrist supports etc if u are feeling pain! This one u can get after delivery lah...

crayonshinchan: my bump is pretty much like yours! My EDD is 9 Sep. I find that my bump is getting higher as compared to few weeks ago. Read that the uterus is moving upwards, so that may explain why I'm no longer waking up to pee so often now! My record was 5 times when I was 8-12 weeks preggie, now, I only need to wake up once and can even sleep thru sometimes.

On bottles and teats, I did not buy them seperately. So far, I bought Advent Manual Pump set and it came with the Advent bottle. Yesterday, I bought the Pigeon Steam Steriliser set at Isetan Private Sale and it came with 2 bottles. My colleagues recommended changing the teats to Nuk #1 for newborns, the silicon one. But I didnt get any yet. I suppose there will be many more sales to come, so I just got what I wanted from Isetan yesterday and left quickly. I also bought some long sleeve with button cotton tops and long pants for my little one from Richgi. They were on 30% so I think that's a great discount as compared to Kiddy Palace.

<font color="0000ff">Crayonshinchan
hehe.... sasa shy shy lah...

omg... i dun have an instinct... how?? haha...

ok... mayb we can share the symptoms we have.. to see if it points to a gal / boi?

Mine are:
- dislike meat. like tons of vege
- no major outbreaks, juz minor ones
- no change in face / nose
- bump looks round
- linea nigra seems to run from tummy all the way down, past navel

hhmm... so would u all think is a boi / gal?</font>

Ava, hee, thanks!
Btw, which teats are better for newborn? Can Avent bottles fit all different types of teats? Must i get different teats to see which one my bb likes?

sasa de mouse, hee! maybe ur instinct will come later! for mine, i like both meat and vege actually. Outbreaks, yes!

sasa de mouse...
your description looks like u are having a girl
Mine are:
- dislike vege. like tons of meat
- major outbreaks on forehead n some on cheeks

- face became rounder
- baby bump looks pointed
- no linea nigra yet

Mrs Yap
Yours sounds like a boy!
Agree with Mrs Yap re: prediction for sasa.

lhy
Avent only fits Avent. Which is better depends on baby, so hard to say. We used Avent from the start and nothing else.

shazz, i'm glad to hear about the pee-ing thing being another passing phase! how many weeks are you now? i've been going to the toilet so many times every night and since i'm now living in a rented room, i feel really pai-say and self conscious about it. i hope it'll go away soon so i can have some uninterrupted sleep.

my symptoms:
- little morning sickness (&amp; usu in evenings)
- no change in face shape/no outbreak
- dislike veg but don't crave for meat either
- hate garlic &amp; onions
- bump not visible
- faint brown line running thru left side of belly button

the chinese gender prediction chart said girl, a feng shui master said girl while my tcm practitioner said boy. my maternal instinct says wait for scan. ha.