(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mrs Yap, agree. Being cute is a bonus.

Momoko, no prob. I'm home tom as well. If you can come by, let me know. I got one box of 260ml and 1 box of 125ml. The smaller bottles I intend to keep for #2.
If I know you going, then can ask you help me buy. Since you're coming over to pick up your item. Hahaha..

Hi moms due in sep 08

I'm glad to stumble upon this thread as I'm also due for sept 08. first-time preggers!!!

i just went for my oscar too this week. The results are comforting - 1:7000+ (can't rem the exact no. cos nurse read out to me on the phone). But I enjoy watching my baby swim around his/her private "pool" and waving at my hb and I!!! My baby is now 7.1 cm long in my week 13.

I'm not experiencing much symptoms right now and I'm only taking 1000mcg folic acid daily. My gyane at TMC is against chinese herbs, so I try to avoid them. I eat normally, including Indian curry, Thai food and fast food. I am not abstaining from anything usual. Just make sure I have one portion of fruit daily and one glass of fresh milk (I'm afraid of taking my GNC calcium tabs cos the doc told me try not to take these supplements where possible).

I also indulge in Ben & Jerry's ice-cream, Bovril and Jack-Place beef steak. I wonder if you share the same cravings as I do?

I'm also stocking up on babydoll tops and I got some maternity stretch pants and tights from Bloomingchic and Spring recently. I can still fit into my bra as I'm not that boobsy anyway!!

My bulge is roughly the same as the rest who've posted above. It's flatter in the morning. OK, I gotta go back to work before my boss sees my chatting in this forum!

Momoko: Can help me check got #4 teats? If have, buy me 1 pack. It comes with 2 teats. Thanks..

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - okie, thanks!
Since have to get the bottle as well, will most prob just get something locally like Pigeon brand ...easier in case the baby has a preference etc.

Hi Limay,

Usually the prefence by the baby is the teats, not the bottle. if the teats are not suitable, just get other teats.

Yah. sorry - i was referring to preference for teats (assuming diff brand ones wont fit into each other's bottles? So like i can't get Medela bottles & fit Pigeon teats into them?)

hi mei and jasmine,

thanks for your advice yesterday. the nurse called me today and told me my results. Guess it is considered ok for my age ;)

hi flos, welcome.

hi ladies, i am a sep bb.

Hi Limay,

I think there's only 2 sizes for teats, normal, or wide... I think pigeon teats can fit into the medela bottles... I will buy first, then let you know later if they fit.
I think they will.

welcome flos!

bbmouse, hope the test results will turn out fine, and take care!

sunrays, enjoy your shopping spree this wkend! =P

flos
Welcome!

rabbit
Glad everything turned out fine.

I noticed that I have the linea nigra, a faint line running vertically down the middle of my tummy. Have any of you got it too?

<font color="0000ff">Rabbit
Congrats on ur good results!!!

Mei
I've got it.. have observed it since a week or 2 ago le... u started applying stretchmark cream already? that was the advice the gals gave me when i mentioned i started having this line le...

These days, my tummy has been more itchy den ever. was wondering could i be sensitive to the stretchmark cream. but the itchiness is the same place where it was itchy even b4 i started applying the cream. applied the cream to other places as well.. but onli the sides of my tummy are itchy... weird</font>

Hahhaha....really a LOT of sept-born Mummies in this thread!!! So my theory must be right

momoko
I have a cousin whose mom is a twin and her hubby has twin sisters, so she really wanted twins to get them out at one shot...but no luck leh! in the end one gal one boy but 2.5 years apart hehe..

Hi flos!
Welcome to our motley crew of sept MTBs...

Hi Rxmom
Thanks for the enlightenment… now I able to ‘relate’ better. And yes, I do heard abt Avent teats being too ‘hard’ to suck for the baby bt as what the rest mentioned, it all depends on baby. But I tink I will not want to take the risk :p

And can u provide more enlightment on what brands of teats goes on for what brands of milk bottle?
I heard Avent bottles can onie do Avent’s. The rest I am not so sure wor.. U got any experience in tat? Nid ur expertise again :p

HI BBmouse,
Avent is having 20% sale at OG now maH????!!!

sasa de mouse
Yup.. I started applying 1 week ago. Morning I'll use cream &amp; before bed, my hubby will massage the stretchmark oil for me, make him do some work.. hehe.

Do you have rashes? If not, maybe, it's the sides that are stretching hence the skin is tight, resulting in the itchiness? Maybe you can switch creams &amp; see how also. I am using Erbaorganics cream &amp; oil, you can go &amp; ask them for samples if you want to try first.

<font color="0000ff">Mei
oohh... i only started using for 2-3 days ah.. haha.. think prob not much effect yet bah.. so sweet.. hhmm.. looks like i muz get my hubby to do some work too..

i dun think is rashes leh.. coz no red dots / bumps.. think its the sides that are stretching.. n den i go scratch it. so become red lor.. sighz..

i juz bot the cream on Monday onli leh.. bot the Elancyl one from TMC pharmacy lor..</font>

sasa de mouse
The itching sounds like the stretching rather than the cream.

MTBs!! remember not to just rub your belly, must rub way under the belly button (just above pubic hair line...if u remember where that is, all you brazilian wax lovers), on the sides of your waist (a bit towards the back would be good too) and to be safe, the butt...!!

hi mei, i've always sort of had a line (of fine hair) and i think it's growing darker too. is this going to be permanent?

i got my oscar results today. it's 1:4071 and nurse said it was low risk. i guess i won't be proceeding with the amnio.

hi isabelle, i hope you'll get better soon. i guess there's nothing much you can do except to rest and rest more and avoid getting too close to others who're sick/have just recovered. we're all a little more prone to all sorts of viruses now. and ya, you can't take any sort of tcm now; it'll just push the virus deeper in. try to avoid fruits and sugary stuff; cold water also. take care!

does anyone know if tmc rents out breast pumps? my friends have advised me not to get any until i've actually had a chance to try using them and am sure they work for me.

Stretch Marks
Stretch marks are seen often and in varying degrees during pregnancy. They appear early or in the later part of pregnancy, usually on the abdomen, breasts, hips and buttocks. After pregnancy they may fade to the same color as the rest of your skin but they won't go away. Gain weight slowly and steadily to avoid these marks. Avoid creams with steroid content in it as you can absorb some of it into your system and pass to your unborn child. Don't use steroid creams without your doctors OK.

There are some things you can do to reduce the severity of these marks:
- Drink lots of water and eat foods high in antioxidants such as fruits and vegetables that are bright red, orange or yellow as these help in tissue repair
- Maintain skin's elasticity by eating adequate protein rich foods and fats in moderation
- Stay out of the sun
- Keep up with your exercise regime

Something to read on Caffeine:
Caffeine is a central nervous system stimulant found in many beverages and foods including tea, coffee, cola drinks and chocolates. Caffeine is also found in headache medicines. Research shows that you may be more sensitive to caffeine during pregnancy comparatively. High caffeine intake has been associated with low birthweight babies and a smaller head size in newborns. Some researchers have gone as far as to say that caffeine use leads to miscarriages, stillbirths and premature labor. Cut down on caffeine or better still eliminate it from your diet. Too many negative associations i.e. it crosses to your placenta to the baby, it can affect yours and your baby's calcium absorption. Increased intake can lead to breathing problems in your newborn; if you are jittery your baby may suffer from the same effects. Breastfed babies can suffer from sleeplessness and irritability. Since an infant metabolizes caffeine at a slower rate than an adult, caffeine can collect in the infant. Effects of caffeine on you during pregnancy may include irritability, headaches, stomach upset, sleeplessness and jitters. Quit caffeine use or limit its consumption. Read labels on over-the-counter medications for caffeine. Up to 2 cups (not mugs) of regular coffee or its equivalent is probably permissible as that is less than 200mg a day. Still it is a good idea to stop consuming caffeine altogether to have a healthier you and a healthy baby. The list below gives you a rough idea on the amounts of caffeine from everyday sources:

Coffee 5 oz - 60 - 140 mg and higher
Tea 5 oz - 30 - 65 mg
Baking chocolate 1 oz - 25 mg
Chocolate candy 1 oz - 6 mg
Soft drinks 12 oz - 35 - 55 mg
Pain relief tabs standard dose - 40 mg
Allergy and cold remedies - 25 mg

<font color="0000ff">Ava
yah.. i think its the stretching too.. but it's really getting on my nerves.. i'm like rubbing it the whole day in office.. n the itchiness gets worse each time after my bath.. aarrrgghh...

Xuanting
Yah... i'm so worried abt all the hair.. i've become more hairy too.... sickening... now tummy so ugly lah..

oh btw... congrats on ur good oscar results!!!

@loever@
thanks for the article... oh no.. i dun exercise.. haha</font>

Ava
Yup, I rub everywhere, even my boobs.

xuanting
Glad your results came back ok.

loever
Thanks for the info. I had a great craving for coke during my 1st trimester &amp; I really controlled myself. Lucky I found caffeine-free coke at certain Cold Storage.

Here's some info on Linea nigra (dark line running up your tummy) :

This is a dark, vertical line, up to a centimetre wide that appears down the middle of your stomach, often crossing the navel. It tends to appear around the second trimester. It is caused by pigmentation in the skin where your abdominal muscles stretch and slightly separate, to accommodate your baby as it grows.

This line of pigmentation will fade within a few weeks of delivery, although you may need to give it a gentle rub to remove any dry skin. You will notice that other areas with pigmentation - such as your nipples, moles and freckles - may darken too, but this will also fade with time
The line will diminish after we give birth.

hmm...i think i have been neglecting myself...didn't even get any stretch mark cream yet, but just using my usual body shop body butter after showers! So far, no itching or extra body hair etc...so have been complacent! I guess as long as there is no drastic weight gain, the stretch marks should be minimal.

@loever@ (loever) - was thinking i can start on my daily tea consumption soon, but maybe better to make it an occasional affair

Btw, are u ladies swearing off hair coloring for the entire pregnancy? My roots are starting to show, &amp; I am so tempted to do a recoloring. I have read conflicting articles about how the chemicals will seem into the blood stream &amp; harm/not harm the foetus...but nothing very conclusive. So how?

Mei
I forgot about the boobs hahahah

Bigtoes
My white hairs are showing too boohoo!!!!! i dunno if henna will be any less harmful. will ask Dr Tseng when i see him next.

Ava (avalyn)- I don't have white hairs, but been coloring my hair for ages, it just seems weird to see the black roots showing! Actually, i read that henna maybe worse thou its not chemical based. As long as don't leave for too long &amp; try to avoid the scalp, it should be okie apparently - but just wanted to be sure.

thanks, sasa &amp; mei.

bigtoes, are you a tea drinker? me too! now i only drink it very occasionally, like once in a few weeks.

re hair colouring, i resorted to natural henna (the powdered form from little india) but it is really messy and takes ages to stick. think i'll just leave my hair alone for now.

yst i just went for haircut and i asked my hairstylist the same thing- can color hair or not ah??? He say if dun really touch the roots shld be ok then he think again and told me but better not lah....especially if it's your first pregnancy....

just have to tahan lor...in fact my roots started to show since CNY &amp; i was so frustrated cos i told my HB evrybody's hair so nice except mine! haha....

Mei (meie) - yah, pretty pretty tops and dresses, and really reasonable pricing. The ones here at the maternity shops are quite ugly really. Other than a denim &amp; black skirt which i bought from a maternity outlet, don't think i will stock up on anymore proper maternity wear. Luckily baby doll dresses &amp; wide tops are in season now! Much nicer prints &amp; cutting

xuanting (xuanting) - yes! I don't fancy coffee, but am a tea drinker. Used to have at least 1-2 cups or western/green tea daily. Now surviving on stuff like chrysanthemum drinks, soya milk, ribena, milo and water chestnut drinks from office pantry - but too much sugar also, so have to consume in moderation....

Thanks for the warm welcome.

I'm still drinking teh-C or green tea about 4X a week (small Ya Kun cup size) because it calms my nerves. Occasionally, I drink soya bean milk and milo.

I'll go back to my manicurist when I'm past my 4th mo. Right now, i just can't stand the lacquer smell...

I am still wearing makeup and contact lenses daily to work. Anyone of you have completely given up on makeup? I don't think I'll highlight my hair now. The smell is too overwhelming me. I have since tossed out my usual shower gels and use the Johnson and Johnson Baby shower milk. Even my perfumes put me off!!!

I don't have any linea nigra but my tummy is getting more and more hairy. I feel like waxing it!!

Hi Flos,

Why is there a need to give up makeup? Is it because of the content? I am using Bare Minerals from the US, and is totally natural... so should be fine?

I did not dare to colour my hair during my first pregnancy.. which is good in a sense cos I can grow out my 'damaged' hairs and restore nice hair that is more receptive to subsequent treatment after my pregnancy.
Then again, I am away in US where people are less particular about looks (Singaporean women definitely are!), so I don't feel weird to have half black/ half brown hair... haha

Bigtoes
LOL...sorry! I didn't mean to imply you had white hair...I guess it was my use of the word "too"...sigh, I have dark roots for highlights AND white hair...Yeucks!

Flos
Not giving up on makeup...no need to, i think, unless u r using skincare with whitening or AHA etc...I have resorted to cleanser and shower gel with NO added smell whatsoever, like Cetaphil and QV shower gel...I can't stand the smell of perfumed stuff either...

Ava (avalyn) - haha, no worries! So how, still undecided if i will color my hair. Actually bought a nice red color (home DIY) the other day, now wondering when i should use it. Maybe i will check with my gyne at the next visit... Hopefully, will be able to tell the gender then - my mother in law specially took leave to go to the gyne with me cos she wants to see the baby bouncing around - quite awkward to do the scan &amp; have her in the room....

I would not leave the house if i have to give up make up completely! hehe, so vain. Yah, as long as there is no AHA, salicylic acid, vit A products etc...should be okie. As it is, my hubby is already more paranoid than me, &amp; asked me to stop using my tea tree oil pimple gel!

hi flos, i've almost stopped using make up mainly cos i am so lazy these days. the mere thought of removing it makes me very tired already. haven't been taking v good care of my skin lately but strangely, it seems to be in a better than usual condition. are you thinking of going au naturel too?

xuanting (xuanting) - not sure if a tummy scan can detect the gender? I was assuming it wld be a v-scan, hence quite weird lah. If tummy then no big deal having MIL in the room.

bigtoes, u're in your 2nd trimester already right? i think it's tummy scans all the way from there. at least that's what my doc promised me when i asked if we're going to be v-scanning all the way (really hate it!). v scans always give me bad cramps after.

You can go with a full bladder to avoid having a V-scan. When I was 4 weeks, I went with a full bladder &amp; was also able to detect the sac &amp; the yolk with a tummy scan. Then on my second visit at 8 weeks, I could not tahan &amp; emptied my bladder, so no choice had to do a V-scan. So now I try to drink loads of water so my bladder would be full for the scan.

AHHHH...............
I am so curious about the baby's gender...
Its so exciting to know. V scan and detect gender better than tummy scan????
Any possibility of detecting gender during oscar scan??? Anyone can enlighten me???????