(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hmmm I dun have the papers in the office. PIS is Pump In Style. There's a backpack/bag that goes with it and it's a double pump.

okie, maybe thats the one. Looking at the picture now - the price includes a cooler bag, & talking thermometer, and it is dual pump.

i went for my gynae appt yesterday, actually it was brought forward frm next week cos i was bleeding abit the day before.

luckily nothing serious, gave me a fright. gynae said that i might pushed too hard when i poo poo, so the bleeding might come from one tiny artery. so mummies with constipation better not to push too hard when poo poo..

so happy to see baby is alright, still can see baby moving arms and do somersault inside
now have to wait 5 weeks later for my next appt to see baby again. will be doing my triple test and blood test at the next appt also. seemed like i'm doing my tests quite late in the stage as compared to others here ya?

Mrs Yap
My EDD is on 12th September.

AVA
I just went for my OSCARS test on tuesday. Based on the NT scan alone, my results were not satisfactory & I was very upset & cried. My blood test results were out the following day & thank goodness, the overall result is ok, so it was a big scare for me & my hubby. However, we still need to go for a detailed scan of baby's heart in the next two weeks due to the NT scan result. Don't worry, your test will be ok & I understand your anxiety coz I been thru it.

Bigtoes
Hello.. hee.. I am indeed a blur 1st time mummy.

Mei
Glad that blood test came back OK. ALtho this is second pregnancy for me, I didn't need the OSCAR last time (age under 30 I guess) and this time, with twins, I feel the risks of complications may be higher...anyway...will keep fingers and toes crossed that results will be fine and that scan will be good. During the scan do they just chk for the neck space or is it like a normal scan where they will check babies' health/etc

Ava
The OSCARS test consists of a NT (nuchal translucency) scan as well as a blood test. They'll measure the crown-rump length of your baby, in your case, babies (Congrats!
) to make sure they are growing well in relation to the number of weeks you are at now. They will also check for the presence of the nasal bone. Then they'll measure the thickness of the fluid at the back of your babies' neck & from there, they'll generate a report to estimate your risk. They'll also do the blood test & from there, a overall report will be generated.

If you are interested to know more, here's a website that is very useful.

http://www.fetalmedicine.com/f-fmc-scans.htm

BabyAtom: so sorry to hear abt ur loss... its so sudden n i was so shocked when i read ur post. u take care n i'm sure u'll be preggie again soon.

sigh... its stories like this which makes me worried cos we nvr knw how's bb doing inside our tummy n things like this can happen w/o u knwing n when we least expect it. i'm going to see Dr Woody tmr n i'm keeping my fingers crossed. i tell myself wat's mine will be mine...

p/s: sorry if i sound depressing here

eve... i think eveyone here has the same sentiment... all v worried abt the fetal progress. Everytime i wait outside the clinic, my heart will be pounding so hard n fast... Guess we will be like this for at least another 6 months until baby is born...

eve, Mrs Yap
Yah, I was also v shocked to see BabyAtom's post...I think we all were, cos it seemed so out of the blue. I am in a state of constant paranoia...sigh. Just need to try to stay focused on positive!

Hi Mrs Yap, long time no hear from you, how are you? Aiyoo.. Your neighbour very drama leh, pregnant woman needs lotas of sleep..

Yah man, now is the period where I am abit paraniod & worried cos we can feel the kick yet & can only depend on ultrasound to know how is bb doing.. Eve, don't worry too much, must "kan kai yi dian". I keep telling myself no use worrying too much...

With regards to Taka fair, I think I will not buy the breast pump 1st, I might be borrowing from my frens to see if its gd then decide cos if no breast milk then the pump would be wasted.. The thot of squeezing with the crowds made me think twice leh..

hello storeberry... i am recovering from my flu.. my spotting stop liao and next sat is my next gynae appt... the doc says he wanna measure the fluid at the baby's neck... not sure wat is the medical term for this scan... can u advise me?
I will be going alone for the scan lor... feel abit uneasy and worried cos my hubby will not be going with me due to being posted overseas for 3 weeks... i feel v sad esp at night when i reach home cannot see hubby around... so lonely alone at home... today i feel giddy so i also worried if i faint also nobody knows

Sleeping is the best time to forget all my worries but that neighbour really spoils my sleep... keke

Ava (avalyn) - the breast pump is so bulky! Like taking a backpack for a short holiday...did u bring it to work daily when u were expressing for your 1st child? Hubby said to get 2 so that I can leave one at work (expensive thou!)

At this stage, i am also half-hearted about buying too many stuff in anticipation of the baby...what if anything happens (touch wood) like BabyAtom's case...i guess all of us are abit paranoid. Have to wait impatiently for the next ultrasound scan to be reassured that baby is growing well.

Hi Mrs Yap, my spotting stop le but flu & sore throat came & find me..
I think the measuring of the fluid behinf bb's neck is NT Test? My hubby also didn't come home last night as he was away. The traffic jam @ causeway is a big headache for his biz...

Hi Limay I think there will be others bb fair as well so no need to buy so fast.. Must keep a positive mind!

Hi Bigtoes,

I think you can leave the pump at your workplace, and only pump when you are at work. Once home, you can let your baby latch direct.That is what I am planning to do.

Hi.

I'm from Jan 2008 MTB thread.

I have a small tube of Medela PureLan 100 nipple cream for sale. Still have more than 80% left. Bought at $9.10. Now selling at $6 plus 6 pcs of Avent breast pads FREE! Payment by bank transfer & postage will be at $0.80.

Interested party pls PM me.

Wow...so many mums joining us now..
welcome: mei, josephine!

i just did my oscar test yesterday too..
initially the baby wasn't cooperative at all...not in a good position to look at the nasal bone, the NT, etc... Tried for a long time, coughing coughing coughing to get it moving...but it just didnt assume to a good position..

well, the doctor then told me to go take a walk around, or have some little small bite..then we will try again..
eventually, yes..the baby is in a good position to take the measurements.. haha.. we gotta be patient really.

But it's kinda fun to look at the baby for a longer time.. could see the baby's hands..and fingers yesterday... I am in my 12 wks 5 days now..

so, now gonna wait for a few more days for my analysis.. so far, at least the doctor says the measurements looks very normal.. and the baby looks good too.
glad to hear that..

Hope everything will goes well for all mummies here!

Thanks for the warm welcome, very glad to be here to share our experiences.

Same for me, whenever I go for my check-ups, I will be very anxious & nervous & my heart will pound. Sometimes it cause my blood pressure to shoot up & that is not good during the routine test so I need to walk around & calm down before taking my blood pressure again, really waste time.. lol.

lemon
When I went for my OSCAR test, my baby kept waving her/his arms & legs & lying in all sorts of positions.. I had to turn over, cough, go out for a walk & it was only after the third try that my baby was in the correct position. But it was indeed very touching & fun to see my baby.

mei:
ooh...3rd try? Wow... haha.. I had it in my 2nd try, dunno is lucky or not.. at least you kinda more time to look at your baby.

wow, so fun - i wished i had so much time to look at my baby during the OSCAR scan!

Ours was very cooperative - the baby was very bouncy (looked like having hiccups!) but everything could be seen clearly on the screen & the scan & measurements were completed in like 5 minutes...the gyne also always has a long list of MTBs waiting, no time for too much dilly-dallying.

It was during NT test where we had a chance to see bb for so looonnggg!! My visits to gyane is always very fast so that was a bonus!! I also went to walk around & try a 2nd time but 2nd time the nurse turn the screen away, she claimed that she nned to take measurements..

Bigtoes/Ruixiangmom
I don't have the PIS. Last time i had a single medela (borrowed) and a manual Avent Isis. I used both at work and at home (Ruixiangmom, I needed it at home in case some times baby won't wake properly and needed to relieve the engorgement. Also when baby sleeps thru the night - eventually - you may need to pump in the middle of the night too, to keep up supply and relieve the volume)

I'm trying to borrow/get second hand PIS or double medela this time round. as long as u disinfect properly shld be fine to use 2nd hand

Hi Ava,

haha, I think I subconciously think that my baby will be waking up very often and won't sleep through the night.. cos even now, my son has not slept through the night (he's almost 2!). There was a period when he was waking up as many as 9 times a night..dunno why! I hope this time round, my baby will be easier. Keeping my fingers crossed... they said you don't get 2 'difficult' babies in a row... I certainly hope so!

Ruixiangmom
Hahaha hope so too! Adan started sleeping thru at 8 months. he's had times when he does wake up (not any more, he's almost 4) but generally not too many times. We hd to do controlled crying technique on him at first and luckily at about 2 yrs he miraculously found it possible to sleep on his own and even in his own room....peace and quiet at last
So you should be reaching that stage soon!

babyatom, sorry to hear abt your loss, pls take care and try again! rest well and hv a good confinement to replenish your body. God bless!

NT Test

Can mommies who had done this test b4 share with me how is it done? How much does it cost at your clinic? TIA!

storeberry: u mean u can feel ur bb kick alrdy? how does it feel huh? when can we actually start feeling the bb kick? i also keep telling myself to take things easy but i'm a pessimist so cant help thinking abt the worst scenario at times

Hello Ladies,

Just came back fm Taka baby fair, the pigeon breast pad out of stock n same goes to liquid bottle detergent
so many ppls buying...
Only managed to buy a toothbrush for my gal and some baby biscuits.

BabyAtom
so sorry to hear abt ur loss... please take good care of yrself...

eve (yurieve18) - typically we would not be able to feel the baby kicking till week 20 or later. Those more likely to feel it would be 2nd time mommies (who are more experienced and with more stretched wombs & know its a kick and not indigestion/gas) and skinny mommies. So we would still have some time to wait....!

Btw, a good book I would recommend is "what to expect when expecting" - my sisters both had this as their 'bible' when expecting, and my SIL passed me hers. It has a detailed monthly development progress, and alot of questions answered(like when the baby starts kicking, how it feels etc)

loever
You can scroll up & read my post, I talked about how the NT test is done. I spent $321 on the test.

lemon, Bigtoes & Storeberry
Yup.. it was nice to be able to see my baby so many times but I was also nervous over the results.

<font color="0000ff">Oh yes... hehe.. indeed it's nice to see bb for so long during the OSCAR test!!!! but abit boh hua leh.. haha.. considering the $$ we spent..

my stomach is feeling so weird today.. haven go toilet yet.. sighz.. must be this reason. but dun dare to squeeze.. n seems like nothing wants to come out oso leh... now i have to resort to drinking ginger tea.. to ease the bloatedness</font>

oh thanks Mei!! =) i'm in my 12th week now, and MS is more or less gone by now. i opt out for all the tests coz I believe God will provide for this blessings of gift of life.

can u advise your clinic and gynae? i will update my table for reference. thanks.

I'm back! Was away from office for conference the last few days. So sorry to hear about babyatom's lose.

bigtoes, avalyn: I think I'm the only one who gained the most weight, no wonder my tummy showing so obviously lah! I've to date, put on 3kg and I'm not having twins! *sob* Was targeting to gain between 10-12kg for the entire pregnancy, looks like I'm gonna gain more than that and end up being a hippo! Will have to work super hard to lose the weight after I deliver.

shazz
LOL! Don't stress lah. It means u must be eating well, which I wish I was...my dinners now consist of soup or a single frankfurter...I can't eat much more or will gag...but I load up on food before 5pm.

I'm back from the check up .. Good news.. Doc say likely close to 70% should be a boy... hahaha.. even thought boy or gal i also dun mind.. but I just had the heart feeling tat it's gonna be a boy.. turns out rite..
Bad news, Shazz.. same with u.. i also put on quite alot.. think more than 3 kg too.. sop sop.. i thought i did not put on tat much...coz never really ate much..

shazz (shazzerlyn) - i think i would have put on more weight since then! Not having MS is a blessing &amp; a curse cos i am hungry ALL THE TIME! Need to get an electronic weighing scale to monitor properly, but haven't seen anything that i like.

I am also hoping to gain nothing more than 12kg, but i think anything below 16kg should be okie (max healthy range is suppose to be 25-35 pounds).

Momoko (momoko76) - how many weeks &amp; days are u already? Can see the little organ sticking out already? hehe....I am also quite certain ours is a boy, but then have to wait another 2 weeks for my appnt!

Bigtoes, Shazz, Momoko
You gals must have been skinny to begin with. The weight catches up faster if u start slim mah. I started 8-10 kg heavier than I should be remember? So have lots of fat stores!!!

ya.. momoko... nw u hw many weeks already? hw cum so fast u knw the sex liao?

Bigtoes,

hw cum u r certain tat yours is a boy?

I'm 12wks 3 days to be exact.. hmm.. doc happen to see something like the di*k of a boy.. but of coz.. she dare not confirm.. so say is 70%.. he was sleeping i guess.. coz did not see him move.. not like the last time.. for my first gal, she moves alot.. and usually wide awake up when we had the scan..

Ava,
hmm.. like i mentioned before.. i think i should be S size for my first pregnancy one.. but after tat.. become.. M size.. sign...

Oh ya.. before i forget.. A Big welcome to all the other MTB who join us.. pls dun be shy and post more k....

just to share my bfg experience. i was on total expression, no latching at all. my gal was on total bm for 8mths, then partial until 11mths. stopped voluntarily simply bcos i was getting sick of pumping &amp; inconvenience to my lifestyle, not bcos my supply is drying up. i bought a PIS and brought that to work everyday.

i dun believe the crap about pumping is not as good as direct latching. as long as you are thinking about ur baby, how sweet she is and how you want to cuddle her when pumping, ur milk supply shouldnt be affected at all. i'm a living testimony to this. i stored up so much milk that my freezer was full and i had to give them up for donation. and i believe all mummies can bfg, as long as u are determined to do so.

Hi eve, sorry type wrongly.. Can't feel kick now, have to wait 4-5mths...

I don't know if I have gain weight, will weigh myself when seeing gynae on Mon!

loever
I'm with KKH &amp; my doctor is Dr Tan KT, thanks for adding me to the list.

momoko
Thanks, I'll definitely be posting.

twendy
yeah, that's why i wanna get a good pump this time. v disappointed that i didn't have a freezer full for Adan...sigh. whatever I pumped and froze, had to be used the next day already when I went to work.

twendy (twendy) - that is comforting to hear! I was planning to do a mix of BF and expression for bottle feeding right from the onset. More practical cos my hubby can help with feeds during the night (especially after maternity), and also cos i have to travel for work.

Also not looking forward to bloody nipples from the baby biting, and saggy breast
(I am assuming that BF = more saggy breast compared to expressing. Not sure how true that is. Mommies?)

Btw - if u pump and freeze - how do you warm the milk up? Microwave or put into warm water? hah, sorry, very blur.

Momoko (momoko76) - I am already 13 wks 3 days! Went for OSCAR at 11+ weeks, &amp; the gyne said its too early to tell the gender then.

Jo (jgwee) - no real reason i think ours is a boy. Just a gut feel i guess, and some other logic i made up earlier (both sisters had 1 born sons, and both were born in same month as them. I was also a Sept baby).

twendy,
oh yes.. i agree with u.. bf is on ur determination.. i myself prefer to latch becoz i scare of pain lah.. hehehe.. coz the pump were like sucking so hard on my nipple.. worse than my bb.. so throught out the 3 months i also bf directly..kekeke..
But this time round.. I'm more determined to Bf longer... so should be getting the PIS.. more expensive.. but will justify to my HB on the cost.. hahaha..

Mei,
Oh yes... welcome!

momoko - just right hor 1 gal &amp; 1 boy

as for mi.. i'm ard 11 weeks... tmr gng to c my gynae at amk, women's clinic of Singapore, Dr. Jen... anyone under him b4 huh?

btw, what is oscar scan?