(2008/09) Sep 2008

thanks a bunch, guys! will prolly go out and look in those places you mentioned next week. i'm in the midst of moving house now and am sitting amongst piles of stuff and heaps of boxes. covered with dust also...

and five months later, i'm moving AGAIN – back here. i think it's around my edd. ya, walau...

xuanting
You better not move the stuff yourself!!!

ava, i'm in charge of packing. we've arranged for two elves to come in and help with the moving on fri and sat so hopefully we'll be mostly done by then.

Underbelly can feel a bit loose and slips down a bit, but i get them so that next time can still wear with a belt. Over belly may be more comfy as it holds up better, but only if u don't mind the band over your belly. You should try a few for yourself to see what u prefer.

just take care not to over exert! I tend to walk fast and move around quickly..people keep having to remind me to slow down

<font color="0000ff">xuanting
u shifting house mah?? juz wondering ah.. are there any things that u observe? like no shifting of furniture, blah blah blah??

we'll be shifting too... n hearing those old wives' tales makes mi creepy.. so wondering.. what should be observed / noted??

preggie
wah.. ur hubby so sweet leh... hehe... i gave up on PLs le.. coz i'm very prone to infections. so i resort to wearing disposables instead</font>

<font color="0000ff">Ava
hhmm.... i change le.. but still kena leh.. so dr tell mi wear more skirts.. hehe.. i seldom wear skirts / dresses de</font>

sasa
LOL...maybe that wld help
i have no choice but to wear PL one...still haven't fully recovered from post-preg incontinence (yes, 3.5 years on- lazy with the Kiegels)..hmmm TMI

I heard my fren (who has given birth) said that panty liner is not gd leh..coz even if they say its "breathable", the sticky base is not and hence not very breathable. Coz for the first few weeks i keep having infections and was on PL. Then upon her advice, i changed to wearing 100% cotton undies and no more infection liao. But must change ur undies like twice a day at least, coz got discharge and must keep ourselves clean mah..Really useful!

I still have dark brown blood when i go toilet...hope everything is fine...Me so worried! Went Eu Yan Sang and saw the chinese physician and took her meds this morn..supposed to take 3 times a day for 2 days and see if bleeding stops..if yes then go back take for another 1 week..hope this chinese meds works for me...coz tummy cramps quite bad these 2 days too..

Sasa, Ava: Yes, must regularly change the PL now. I change it almost every time I go to the loo! My hubby even have to buy PL for me cos I am on bed rest. I ran out! *faints*

Ihy: I also have dark brown discharge on and off for a long time. Don't worry so much. They say dark brown means it's bad blood, so ok to pass out. Watch out for fresh red blood.
Hope you get better soon.

<font color="0000ff">lhy
y u dun wanna go see ur gynae immediately??? some more u got cramps.. mayb u shouldnt delay wor.. at least gynae can give u hormone tablets and jab...

yeah.. i was on PL den got infection all the time lor... cannot stand it.. got so much discharge lor...

Ava
aiyoh.. poor thing... hhmm.. mayb muz learn to be more hardworking lah.. den can cure it..

bbmouse
u muz take care too k... dun move around unnecessarily unless have to go toilet k..</font>

thanks, ava. i already warned hubby that he should not be expecting my usual speed with the packing, and that he will have to take over whatever i can't handle/have no energy to finish.
what's the post-preg incontinence like? in dribs and drabs every now and then or only when you like sneeze or cough?

sasa, basically, no moving of bulky items, knocking, drilling, cementing, painting etc should be done in your presence. i used not to believe in these things, but since i can use them to my advantage now (can hide somewhere else while the dirty jobs are being done), i'm making full use of them. tee hee! someone also told me to speak to the baby, to let it know that we are moving, to stick close to mommy. when are you moving?

momoko, we are renovating our present house; that's why we have to move out. haven't much choice cos the roof is caving in. already have bits falling off and there's a big hole in one of the rooms now. the crack in my room's ceiling is also getting longer and bigger. every time it rains, we worry that the roof will collapse on us!

hopefully, it will all be done by end august.

lhy, please take care and try not to do anything till the bleeding stops.

Thanks for the feedback mummies. Was kinda worried when i felt a mini gush of whitish discharge yesterday. One time of a mini gush n continued of more discharge up to now. Called my gynae &amp; he said no need to worry as long as no bleeding.

So it seems pretty common that we have more discharge to the extent of either putting PL or changing our undies few times a day lar ?

xuanting
Initially (just after birth) no sensation so will just come out any old time. that stoped after a week or so. now, just when bladder is full and i sneeze or cough HARD and when I retch from MS. So i make it a pt to go toilet fairly regularly to avoid this fr happening.

Oh yeah, that's the other thing that causes infection - not going to loo when u need to!

Wah, your house sounds like it is in bad shape!!! At least u will have nice new roof when u give birth!!

I cant wear PL cos I'll itch.. This also happens when I wear sanitary pad. So I'll alternate between tampons and sanitary pad. Else I'll be itching like hell!

So now with extra discharge but goot lat a bit and scrub more...

anyway, can we drink herbal tea? I drank a bit just now...

U all just make me gianz to go back to BKK again wor. Me and HB planning for a trip together before the baby popped out and he is tinking of HK which we have all been there before individually but i find HK boring. The tings there oso nt as cheap as BKK

I am trying to psycho him to do BKK again. Platinium mall is a nice place to shop

Actually, i find it amazing tat i can tahan the marathon shopping oso.. and i thot i will go giddy at chatuchuk.. bt ok wor.. crowded bt i still heck care and squeeze bt i must admit some pple just PUSH u one lo. Idiot

crayonshinchan
I think as long as not caffeinated and not raspberry leaf tea, it's OK. try googling to see what teas are no-nos. apparently raspberry leaf tea causes contractions but dont think we can get that very easily here.

Crayonshinchan, we shd not be wearing tampons now, u know that right?

Have you tried the different brands? Still itch all the same?

Hi Xuanting, take care &amp; don't carry heavy stuffs ok? Wow, you will have a brand new place after reno!

Ava: I thot raspberry tea is good for mummies? I was thinking of buying when I saw on the webby...

Wow, so many MTBs planning a trip to BKK! We were just there in Dec, and my hubby's theory was that we got preggers (thou we weren't really trying) cos we happen to visit the "penis shrine" in BKK! Not sure how true that is
On what tea (or any food stuff for that matter) that we can/cannot consume - like Ava said, nothing with too much caffeine or raspberry tea, and no liver &amp; raw/semi cooked food. I guess other than that, everything in moderation is okie. Anything that is toxic for the baby has to be consumed in massive amounts, so a little bit of this and that is fine.

I avoided tea initially, but have caved in and already drinking ocassional ice lemon/herbal tea &amp; even ate cold cuts of meat!

Btw, when are u guys due for the gender scan? I am going for mine on 24th March! After that, can decide on the name for the little one

jus wondering if any of u mummies hv trouble slping at night?? usually, turning in our slp is a normal n natural thing to do but ever since i'm preggie, it seems like i dun turn in my slp naturally anymore. i always hv to wake up n turn to another side when one side becomes numb n i'll end up waking up alot of times at night

also, i think i've been scaring myself too much after reading frm the forum abt bb's heartbeat suddenly stop beating, MCs even in the 2nd trimester, etc... now i keep worrying when i knw tat i shdn't be thinking of all these nonsense!

Ava, bigtoes..
bcos I keep hearing "cannot drink too liang" and herbal tea is "liang teh".. so kind of like dono to drink or not to drink..

just now my sch canteen auntie scolded me when I said I dono if i can eat anything now since 2nd trimester liao. She says just eat and don ask so much cos she says baby xiao qi.. cannot anyhow say.. oops! heee.. then i quickly sayang my baby saying must be good.. watever mummy eat, u must eat oso.. heeee...

BigToes
Wah, your gender scan is so soon....so exciting! Can give baby a Thai sounding name to commemorate the place of conception, you know, like Brooklyn Beckham lol

I am a cold cut queen....hard to give them up!!

Eve
I sleep on left as recommended, but i do flip to right as well. try not to sleep on back...I get numb in fingers if i do.

I have stopped reading scary posts and pregnancy books so as not to be so paranoid. It's enough to deal with the MS, sleeping posns etc!!

Storeberry
Not sure. Got a few conflicting reports, so just avoid until nearer due date lor.

bbmouse.. no no.. of cse I am not wearing now.. i meant last time .. hee.. but actually its not good to wear on a long term basis oso.. and I've tried many brands.. all sama sama one..

and talking abt robinson n JL sale! NOW i wish my hb was still working in there! he had 30% off plus watever additional discount they are having!!

But he resigned due to super duper long working hrs. Retail store close liao he will still be in the office! Bah!

Storeberry, Crayonshinchan: Agree with Ava. If we're not sure, better avoid. Don't need to take such risks.
For the liang drinks, usually as we approach the end of the last trimester like from wk 35 on, people will advise us to start taking liang like coconut drink. They say then the baby will br born very clean.

And just to add.. That is abt the only window for us to take liang stuff. Cos once the bb is born, it's confinement time and no no to liang stuff.

Crayonshinchan: Wow! That is very good staff benefit. Then you need to shop only when they are having sale.
Hehehe..

EVe, Ava: I also try to sleep on the left as much as I can. But my left ear usually became so hot I have to turn to sleep on the right or on my back for a little while. I now have 2 bolsters and am contemplating taking 1 more from my hubby.
I hug one bolster, and place one in between my legs, the 3rd I place it behind my back for support. When I turn, I will just be turning with the bolster I'm holding onto. the one at the leg I'll leave behind to become the back support.

thanks, storeberry.
i also read somewhere that raspberry tea is for later, towards delivery.

eve, i too have problems sleeping at night. sometimes it's cos i keep having to get up to go to the loo, other times i just suddenly wake up to find that i am frozen in one position and my ear (usu left) is very sore, and i have to change sides. like you, i can't roll over in my sleep like before. every time i roll, i feel as if two rocks (my breasts) are rolling over my chest also. i hear it'll get harder to sleep as we get bigger...

i also can't get to sleep properly every night, can't seem to fall asleep deeply. i'll like wake up to turn myself from left to back or to right. and dunno why i always have stuffy nose when i'm on the bed preparing to sleep.

so tired.. when then can a proper sleep..

i saw somewhere online, there's a kind of long pillow, like bolster thingy for preggy women to aid in sleeping.

anyone used that before? wondering if it's really helpful or not..

Ava: I got no choice. Cos I only sleep on my back when non-preggie. So when I got preggie, it became very very tough. Had to improvise. You go try it.

Jessi: I've seen it on the web, but with shipping, I think it's very very ex leh. Also I find it works like the system I have. You just need to have more bolsters around.

<font color="0000ff">xuanting
hmm... okie okie.. hehe.. maybe i can use the excuse to go shopping while the guys are at it..

should be shifting sometime in April or May bah.. depending on when reno can finish.

bbmouse
thats good to hear.. take care!!

wow... seems like alot of us have problems sleeping soundly at nite.. wonder if this comes together with the preg package too... hehe</font>

Sasa: Yes this comes with being pregnant. I remember after the baby os out when I could sleep on my back again, that it was such a relieve!

Sleeping difficulty will only get worse from here. In our last trimester, some of us may have heartburn and even more frequent toilet breaks. And the tummy may be very big and clumpsy to get up and down.

Sasa: You've mocing house? Me too. But that will be after the baby is born. My new house is just under construction.

bbmouse, having more bolsters is good idea but my HB sure say take up alot of space on the bed cos without extra bolster i already take up alot of space. i like to sleep with my arms and legs stretched out. :p hehehe...

<font color="0000ff">bbmouse
haha... but once bb is out.. we'll be sleep deprived coz of bb..

ya lor... shifting leh... now preggy.. dunno how to shift oso.. so worried bb will be affected wor..</font>

Jessi: If you buy that sleeping pillow from overseas, also will take up a lot of space mah.

Sasa: Get movers to help. And don't be around when they move and unpack. I think this shd be ok.

Sasa: Will you have a CL? With CL you'll have better sleep cos she will take care of the baby for the first month while we enjoy for a while. It's when the CL leaves that the real nitemare starts! Still tough though cos we have to pump consistently every 3 hrs to stimulate the supply.

sasa , heard from my mum .. better dun be present when they are drilling , painting , cement , or moving furniture . will affect the " Tai qi " so aviod being there when they are doing .
Pillows , I bought the Aussino body pillow last time for first preg .. those maternity pillow too exp already . Yes sleep on the left side to stimulate the oxy to bb i think ,
Rasbery tea good at later stage in preg not now ..
hmm just finish reading one day of archives ... still reading