(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ava,

hmm..i'm thinking of gg Eu Yan Sang clinic at Chinatown. But is it alrite not to take any TCM? coz i dun intend to take in the first place, but MIL and grandma keep asking me to see chinese physician to "bu". So in dilemma.

For ur first preg, u din take aso?

Nope, the closest I came to it was Brand's Essence of Chicken. Actually I took something over two days during my first few weeks this time round, cos was very tired. I went to a TCM place on Sunset Way, where their med is of good quality, but quite ex.

lhy
i din take any at all for my first preg and i dun think i will be taking any for this preg either as advised by my gynae. But when I'm not preg, I prefer TCM to western dr as I think western med tends to be 'zhi biao bu zhi ben'.

My MIL loves to cook herbal soups, and when my MIL or FIL say whatever so called herb is 'safe' I just firmly but politely decline. Cos if anything happen I dun wanna kick myself and wonder if I shldn'nt have drunk that soup!

But think there r other mummies here who are more pro-TCM during preg. They'd prob be in better position to advise

Mummies: I've rested at home for abt 1mth now. Will be going back to work next Mon. Feel a bit sian to go back after 1mth of rest. But also good lah. Time to get back into action. Hehehehe...

Chinese Herbs: I don't know much. But I know this is lethal to pregnant women. It's call tian2 qi1. Direct english translation is field seven. The woman will have spontaneous abortion after consuming this. Be careful.

For those with overly helpful MILs, can give them the excuse that we're on western pills (ie those multi vit, folic acid etc) and best not to mix medication.

Hi everyone, thanks for the advice! think i'll tell my MIL that i prefer not to take TCM. Me aso worried that there will be side effects!

Hi,Bbmouse

your excuse is good.. will use it when my MIL starts cooking me those herbal soup.. wat i worry is she will burn that "fu" thing from temple and mixed with the soup...she did that before -mixing it with the herbal tea for my sister in law..

lemon, i've also been wanting to do it the last few months but didn't, just in case. where do you normally do yours? maybe i should schedule one after my oscar screening also.

xuanting:

i did mine with a lady, operating at Centrepoint.
Rather economical, $50 for first time, and $30 for subsequent wax.

I am doing oscar this thu too..but i am planning to do the waxing before the oscar..

sorry a little busy, thus did not join u ladies for chat today.

But it was sure fun reading all your posts.

hi lhy,
my sister took TCM during her pregnancy and nephew is now almost 1 year old. Guess it is individual, just go for whatever u are comfortable in.

Hi Shazz, thanks for the photos! Yah I think most people are still cautious, cos still not very big yet, sekali they offer your seat & realise you are not preggy...
I think I am going to buy some wireless bra, afriad of sagging as I don't wear bra at home as well...

lhy: Can still cut hair, shouldn't have any problems. But coloring I think no bah...

I am not taking any chinese herbs but mum gave me some "poa sheng", she say I can chew on it when I feel tired...

Sasa, replied your email liao.. I have tried using tweezer to pluck the leg hair but have lotas of ingrowns hair. Now only do shaving, easier & faster.. Kekek...

bb mouse,
actually i think my HB is also lazy to change diaper too.. i mean the brand.. once he's comfortable over certain brand.. he would not wanna try other..

Eve,
Wow.. u quit once u know u were preg.. so good.. sign.. i also sian of going to work.. well.. my job is kind of flexi.. but need to work either sat or sun one.. so now going to have 2nd one.. think i getting more relectuant to go work on wkend already.. sign..
Storeberry,
Hey.. i also been following a boy blog name jayden too.. hope he's ur nephew .. hahaha
sweet boy
shazz,
u so cute, take the photo this way.. thru the mirror.. :p

babyatom,
sorry to say but i think u can forget abt "saving" ur breasts.
I breastfed my eldest son exclusively for 2 years and am now still total breastfeeding my 11 mth old boy.
Nipples are soooooo looooong now...breasts saggy....
told my hb that i'll never commit adultery cos it's impossible for me to show my breasts to any other men now! Even when i go spa/massage, i will feel so paiseh when the massage lady sees my breasts...they are really UGLY....but functional lah...

Hi, im from the Aug thread....

TRaz, u r really humourous person!! Hahaha..the way you put it really makes me laugh! My aerola also become very dark color now n nipples feels sore... BUT, its big and firm leh! ANyway my sister told me dont be too happy cos her boobs that time also very nice n firm during pregnancy..but after birth become deflated like balloons...haha

Hi Twendy, CL so exp?wow tot would be like $1500 if i only want that CL to cook.

Lhy,then i must seriously consider catering.catering for both lunch and dinner only cost about $1k.rite?
but problem is i tried a catering a few times for my 1st preg and i find the food not very nice:>
Which caterer you looking at?One more thing i find the catered food can last me till dinner too.Dunno if i can just order lunch only for 1 month...:>

Hi, NiNi, me too not only your sis, I also find after breastfeeding breast will really be deflated like balloons...dunno y. My hubby keep teasing saying might as well dun breastfeed, after breastfeed become deflated.maybe i only happen to a few ppl not all the ppl.

Hi Traz & Ydnic

Sad ley... tink my boobs no hope liao, can only use cannot see..... so loose n saggy like old ah ma ....

LC (faintz) - actually, i think my tummy is starting to show abit....am not big boned thou, quite petite actually, so i would look even bigger when full term!

Btw, seems like alot of mommies here stopped work when preggers! So lucky, can be tai-tai! I can't imagine not working thou...was already complaining to my hubby i would be so bored during maternity!

so amused reading the posts... Traz, Ydnic, Babyatom, I am in the SBC (Saggy Boobs Club) too! ha ha

Alemak, why I so happy ah? haha... perhaps just knowing that I'm not alone... anyway, we 'sacrifice' our boobs for a greater purpose mah... so nvm

Morning, Ladies

I am puking away in the train toilet.. all my dumex, pro-lacta, multi-vit all down the drain.. feel so miserable..

Hi,Bigtoes

Oops. I got the wrong person.. aiya.. my memory is deteriorating already.. Want to ask - how to stay positive and happy during pregnancy? I am not as bubbly as before I am preggie.. The tots of baby will be in hand of my MIL after I go back to work really make me feel sad.. I also wonder if baby will not want me but instead of MIL.. and also whether the baby will be spoilt since he/she is the first grandchild.. and somemore the potential conflict of taking care the baby...Oh no........... I am becoming paranoid!!!!

lemon (lemon1000)

I always thought that preg cant do waxing as it may hurt the baby. Since afew mummies are doing it i dont see a prob too. =)

U went centrepoint which shop? Izzit good? I went to strips i feel that they are too ex.

LC (faintz) - no worries! Pregnant mommies are suppose to be forgetful! I guess different people react differently to being preggers; I think I have been more cheerful the last 3 months than I usually am...and my hubby is the one getting forgetful/having food cravings/backache rather than me....

Just don't over-stress about the baby okie? Bad for both your baby's and your own health! Am there is some truth to those reports about baby's personality being affected by the mum's, especially during the 1st trimester. My friend's wife was stressed with work when she was preggers, & their baby ended up being very difficult to handle, very sticky & cries alot!
Of cos we don't want that to happen.

TMC-trained CLs are exp simply bcos they are trained by TMC - you can be assured of their hygience standard, knowledge & pro-bfg-ness. should u be unhappy with them, can always feedback to parentcraft centre, and apparrently they will do smtg to rectify that, cos got a reputation to protect. dun ask me for my opinion, cos i have never engage one. the price turns me off the idea...

mummies, i'm in the saggy-boobs club (SBC) too. really wonder why - i'm small-boobed to start with, always wear bra (even during sleep). but once i think abt how i managed to "feed" my gal with my milk factory, i'm darn proud of myself :)

Hi, Bigtoes

Haiz... I past my first trimester in that mood and worries.. hope that baby not affected.. I talked to the baby and voiced out my concern to the baby somemore.. sharks!!!

Went spring maternity to put some pants cos my current ones are bursting.. not cheap.. one is abt 70plus for a normal working pants with additional elastic band...The shop now have 10% off for citibank card holder till this june..

Hi LC(faintz)

It's true wat Bigtoes said...cos my gf also very very short-tempered and always hear her scolding maid,complaining to me how upset and stressed she was,in fact it's over nothing...now her daughter is a crying machine...see EVERY stranger will also cry..

During my 1st mth of pregnancy i was also emotional and unhappy...probly i worry too much..my HB also complain tat i'm kinda paranoid.. and also almost evrynite i'll hav nitemare.. was terrible!! Nw i'm much better cos i constantly remind myself must be happy & cheerful otherwise bb also affected... Try this-I like to browse thru baby clothing stores..just looking at cute bb clothes really can cheer u up...

Now I can't wait to start shopping!! Was looking at strollers last week...like this Bugaboo Bee pram but super expensive!!! $999!!! Check out this cute video abt the pram....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pUjUFpkecXk

Hi LC,

You know what? I feel exactly the same way as you do now. I just keep pushing it out of my mind for now, don't find more things to stress about. But like you, my MIL will be taking care of the baby after I go back to work. And the thought of having to go to her house and see her everyday to collect my baby is also very daunting. I feel that meeting lesser will lead to lesser conflicts. I also don't really like her cooking, so does that mean that in future, I will have to have dinner at her house everyday? My baby will also be the first grandchild, and I don't even dare to think if he/she will be spoilt by the grandmother. I've heard many friends tell me that there will be more conflicts between MIL and DIL once there is a child and the MIL is taking care of the child due to differing ways of taking care of the child. I already can foresee many potential conflicts simply in terms of feeding the baby. I'm so afraid she will use her 'old' ways of feeding the baby food, but at the same time, she's also very health concious, very wary of the correct food to eat. What if in future, my child can only take healthy food? Not that I am complaining, but I feel it is better to be an all rounder. And don't even mention the 'what if my baby prefers his/her grandmother to his/her mother?'

<font color="0000ff">Good Morning....

Just when i tot i was happily into my honeymoon period... i puked my breakfast. think my bb doesnt like milo leh.. each time i take milo, there's a higher tendency of puking...

Storeberry
I replied to ur email le

sunrays/LC
I heard that mummies' mood during pregnancy is actually a sign of what the baby's temperament will be like...i.e. the baby's personality affects the mamma...! So if u r extra emotional during preg, your baby may be that type too...dunno if true or not. My first preg I was quite happy and active (like BigToes...I also got bored during maternity
) and my son was very active and generally easy tempered, sometimes a bit impatient, but think he gets that from me anyway...

Saggy Boobs
I asked my hb if he noticed any change in my boobs cos I don't think mine sagged much. He insisted on a closer inspection....cheh! At least if he still likes to see, can't be that bad lah!!! lol

<font color="0000ff">Boobs
hey... SBC can stand for Small Boobs Club too hor.. haha.. well, i belong to such a club leh..

but den ah.. hubby has been commenting my boobs have grown bigger and are more swollen now le.. compared to last time. he finds them super sexy and appealing.. wah.... faintz!!!</font>

wow......SBC huh? guess i'm also in the club! i used to tell my fren n her maid tat maybe they will see 2 straws poking from my bras the next time they see me! my girl was such a good "sucker" then, so i was really worried tat my nipples will look alien... =P

hmmm......i feel tat my breasts hv grown slightly bigger lately... =P hee hee....good sign!

Traz,
Ya.. i can understand how u feel.. well.. i did not BF for tat long.. but guess tat's the consequences on BF.. SAGGING BREAST.. sop sop.. no choice.. i'm not too sure if this only happen to people with bigger breast or wat?? anyone out there??

Momoko/TRaz/other boob enthusiasts

Think the more the breasts grow during preg will determine the amount of sag. Not whether it started big or not...So if SBC then u go on to be BBC (big boob club), then prob more likelihood of sagging...that's just my theory

jasmine:

the waxing lady operate privately, and rent a small room in a hair salon in centrepoint to do her appts. she also provide facials, etc too.

I am with her for almost 2 yrs already. I am pretty comfortable with her. She is not those very pushy with u signing up for package. She is friendly too.
I think she's fine, and price is reasonable.

If you are interested, u can contact her to check out. Her name is vivian, and her number is 98572943.

SBC, be it small boobs club or saggy boobs club...i'm definitely an exclusive member of both clubs!

actuallt saggy not as bad as loooooong nipples...maybe i can be more vivid in describing my boobs...

imagine a lao4 hong1 (deflated) pair of balloons, with 2 dark figs/dried flattened prunes in the centre, and 2 big black raisins, 2cm long, sticking out!

sign.. yeah. maybe.. coz yes, now tat i'm pregnant again with the second one.. my boob realy got even bigger again.. so sick of it.. coz can't even wear cloth in a nicer way.. looks like my boob r bigger than my preg stomach..
Now is in the state of peak again but after giving birth and BF again.. there goes the floor again..

TRaz
TMI!!!!!! LOL!

Mine was opposite ...I had short nipple problem...damn jialat to bf like that at first cos nothing for baby to latch on to....! And after a few mths of bf, nipples started to lose colour! Very strange...became almost shell pink. Maybe son too eager in his suckling...

Aiyoo.. thinking about breast feeding and having saggy breast is daunting!! Kekeke... but I am really determine now to BF even though I think there might be alot of inconveniences...

LC (faintz): My MIL will be staying with us once bb is born, she is currently staying with my BIL taking care of his new born. I am also afriad of conflicts, haven't got a chance to ask my SIL whether any conflict till now &amp; whether my MIL ok to live with.. Kekeke.. I really hope eerything will work out fine!

Momoko (momoko76) : thanks! I actually took the picture in the lift! my office lifts comes with mirror doors, so I snapped the photo in there cos the lighting is good. It's a good thing I was alone in the lift! ;)

Had my very first experience of somene giving up their seat for me on the train just now! All the Singaporeans were acting blur. But a kind "ang mo" guy made eye contact with me and asked me to take his seat. Even though it's only for a few stops, I gladly took up the offer. Have to encourage people to give up their seats yah? So that they won't feel hesistant about giving up seats to woman who looks like they are preggy mah! =)

this is interesting. well, i belong to SBC and my hubby do comment that the nipples and breast seem to have 'enlarged'

Hmm...speaking of saggy boobs, 2nd time mommies - would expressing the milk and feeding via the bottle help to reduce this problem? I was thinking of doing a mix between breast &amp; expression for bottle feeding, so that the baby gets used to the bottle as well, &amp; someone else can feed when i am back at work during the day, or hubby can help with the night shift after the 3rd month. I assume less suckling &amp; biting = less saggy boobs

Ava (avalyn) - nope, am Spore PR but not Sporean.

On sending the baby to MILs, that is the plan for us after my maternity as well. We have a very good relationship now, &amp; I hope that doesn't change for the worse after that! Actually, I don't mind sending the baby to infantcare instead, to make sure that he/she has mental stimulation and learns to interact with other babies (though this is expensive - the one at my office building charges $1300+ per month, and wait list is till year end!) The other option is to send to my parents, thou my mum has been thru 3 grandkids &amp; i think she has had enough!

heee.. lemon, u go to vivian too?
I go to her for for brazilian too! and was doing my armpit ipl.. now cannot liao lor.. must wait until give birth then can continue.. hopefully the hair doesnt grow back too much.. else very liao lui!