(2008/09) Sep 2008

Big toes ,
my 6 tops are most tees which i can wear at home .. and the two dresses looks not very meternity type , that is i can still wear thedress after my delivery .. keke .. good grap for the dress ..
my FB is a boy .. so i am hoping for a minie mouse .. keke
Isabelle ,
can check with u if the signature agency fees are high ?? me getting a maid soon too .. when 2nd bb is coming .

LC: Are you a first time mum? The thots of your LC is exactly how most people around you will feel and say! When you hear this after you have delivered and breastfeeding the baby, I tell you, you will react totally differently to this remark. You may start to blame yourself that you don't have enuf milk.

Yes, people say drink (green) papaya soup will aid milk production, but it didn't do much help for me. Milk supply does not equal the cup size. There are many petite women I know who's got plenty of milk.
But our cup size will go up by 1 or 2 during the pregnancy, and usually shrink back after we stop breastfeeding.

Mummies: My spotting has finally stopped!
This is the second day. *Hope I don't jinx myself saying it*. My MS (tho still around) has become more manageable and overall I feel better.

Hope to feel better and better from now on.

storm: ya, my gynae is joan thong at this moment..but might change..
think the waiting time of raffles women clinic a little too long..

but i dunno, they gave me 4 kinds of supplements all together..multivit, cal, folic and fish oil..

A big welcome to all the new mummies on board..
Jean and Lemon.. Did i miss out anyone else as well..??

Sunray,
you looks like 1 happening lady who still going workout during ur first trim... hahaha.. oh yeah.. will be emailing u soon to join u on the multi vit.. look out for my mail yeah..

As for maid issue.. think i will be getting those weekly with 4-5 hourly commitment one.. check with my hubby.. he's not comfortable with someone else in the house.. and moreover.. our house is reallllly pack already.. not much space for the maid to stay...

Yeah.. wanna check with u ladies... Will u be breatfeeding..?? this time round will be my 2nd one.. and i had this manual one the last time.. but this time round i really want to try to bf for a longer period of time.. 1st was 3 months..

Any recommendation? heard alot of medala pumps...

Momoko, I will breastfeed for at least 6mths. This is the min recommended by most health organisations. Plus, I also breastfed for abt 7mths for my #1. Want to be fair to both of them.
I used the Medela PIS advanced for #1, mine comes in a bagpack. No complains abt the pump.

Am having bad MS...getting worse, now actually vomiting and worse still, am suffering from a cold! Hope I can enjoy my short holiday this week

Breastfeeding
I also bf my #1 son for 7 months. Plan to try bf for the twins, but not sure how that'll work!! Anyone knows where I can get 2nd hand Medela PIS? I currently hvae a single Medela and a single Isis manual, which don't think will be sufficient...

faintz
bfg depends on how often you latch on your bb. the more often you latch on the more milk you have. so if you take out the night feeds, your ss will def drop eventually.

some mummies wont have so much milk the first few days. and elderly will say they 'do not have enough milk' and start supplementing. then its downhill all the way. anyway bbs are born with sufficient fats stored in their bodies so they dun really need that much milk the first few days. (o yes, rem the hospital builing that collapsed some years ago in Russia? after 18 days they actually found a pair of newborn twins alive in the rubbles. the twins managed to survive on their body fats without water or food for that long!!!)

even with supplements, we have to latch on, else the supplements wont work.

Traz, preggieblues, bigtoes: hehe, means there's a high chance our babies will be born about the same day. =)

My MS is not that bad to begin with, so far I've only puked 3-4 times. The rest of the time, I'm nausea, and it's usually after a meal, or triggered by something like strong smell or brushing of teeth. The funny taste in the mouth is still there, hope it'll be gone soon so I can enjoy my food again. Right now, I'm just eating for the sake of eating, for the nutrients of baby.

Limay: I also have strong feeling mine is boy! hee, also eating alot of beef since I got preggie. No cravings for me except the occasional coke!

Clothes wise, I got some non-preggie clothes in slightly bigger sizes as the maternity wear is too big for me now and my usual clothes can't fit me cos my tummy is showing a little and my chest is bigger than before now. I figured I can still wear them post-birth since I'm not sure how fast I can regain my pre-pregnancy size.

Also got some cheap maternity shorts/bermudas for $24 at Carrona at Toa Payoh Central, Blk 185 #01-334. In my opinion, the price, quality and style is like This Fashion. Those who're looking for affordable maternity clothes should check it out. I think someone also mentioned they have outlets in AMK before in the archive.

I need to get maternity bras soon as I'm running out of bras that I can fit now. Anyway got suggestion on where to get comfortable and affordable ones? TIA!

hi mommies...

how is everyone? seldom come in to this thread, veri busy with my gal, and i feel so tired with this preg...

anyone tummy showing already? just 1hr ago, i feel my tummy suddenly tighten... machiam baby moving inside, den i quickly touch, no movement, but one part of my tummy veri hard... wierd... i don have such experience in my first preg...

bbmouse,
today i went to motherworks to look at the PIS, can i just check with u, have u seen medela mini electric? is both of the funnel the same? if is the same, i think no point buying, worried this wont work for mi this time...

Yvonne: Have not seen the mini electric. But even if the funnels are the same, the PIS advanced has a more powerful motor and a let down function.

Thks, me and baby are fine...just waiting to pass thr 12th week...and of cos my MS stage.

Wondering will our stomach start growing on 1st trimester? or I'm FAT?
my weight dropped 1.5kg but yet I felt my tummy getting bigger even just 9th week....

Hi Lemon and storm,

My gynae is also Dr Joan Thong. Yes, sometimes waiting time can be like of long. However, my last visit, I waited for only 10 minutes.

Btw, have you enquired about Dr Thong's current package charges. Cos her package starts from week 12. My 1st pregnancy with Dr Thong was in 2005, but I heard that her prices have increased. I find her expensive, but hubby is not keen to change.

Hi Isabelle, I am still spotting, seeing Dr Adrian tmr, hopefully blood clots would disperse liao.. I am into my 12 weeks, hopefully can know bb's gender!

My tummy seems bigger now but today have alot of gases & keep burping..

Hi Shazz, I went to the AMK branch, didn't know they have in Toa Payoh as well, its really good price.

yvonneho, I am also very tired this pregnancy... just feel like lying around the whole day... my tummy already looks like about 4-5 months pregnant during my previous pregnancy, and I am only about 12 weeks... it is definitely showing...

and MS is not so bad for me now! Thank god!

LC
ur confinement lady doesn't seem pro-bf at all leh. How can she say it's a waste of time if u dun have much milk? This kind of mentality is so bf unfriendly. It's NEVER a waste of time to bf, no matter how much milk u have.

I just discovered sth new over the weekend, that is, how WELL bb latches on is also a factor.

Cos my SIL now in 2nd week confinement. She eats well, drinks papaya soup, pumps and latches on regularly but still not enough. Yest we discovered bcos bb not latching on properly so bb cannot strip enough milk and so always not enough...

Tuan Suan,
I think it's fine to have tau suan. I made them and shared them with so many preggie mommmies when I was in the US, and all our babies turned out fine! Just eat everything in moderation I think, I don't really believe in the old wives tales of avoiding certain food (except pineapples which I would rather believe in). I remember last time I asked my gynae in the US if it's bad to eat bananas, and he was so amused and said that it's very good for us, cos it's v high in potassium etc. Anyway, my son turns out fine, so its mostly old wives tales... u can choose to believe in them of course, just to be safe.

momoko,
I will be breastfeeding my my child when he/ she's out. For my first one, I breastfeed for 14 months; I TBF him for 10 months, then I started working, so he had formula in the day with the nanny, and I nursed him only at night. He finally accepted the bottle at 14 months, so I also quickly weaned him off the breast then too! I have the Medela PIS.

storeberry
me got a shock when i discovered heavy spotting yest morn when i woke up cos it had stopped for a while.
Was wondering if it's ok to be spotting when we're approaching 2nd tri soon. Cos my first preg I only had spotting on 2 occasions...

qiuling
I can't rem how much I paid but I know this agency, policy is that employer must pay upfront the loan taken by the maid. I rem paying like more than $2k plus at one shot when I signed with them to hire maid.

But better call first to ask, and if u feel comfortable with them then consider.

My experience was that I really quite desperate for maid, and my ex-coll recommended. I called up and went down to agency that very day. I happy with service and signed up there and then!(fact that their shop decor also v nice helped also, hee...)
But more imptly, I think that gd maid is like lucky draw and I'm not very fussy, so I just took and hoped for the best...

isabelle, LC
think most CL arent very pro-bf, even if they claim to be. i think they belong to the older generations.they may think bm is good, but cow's milk is even better.

point is, if you wan to engage CL, i think you have to live with some amount of skepticism and the fact that they may not be able to help much when it comes to bfg. so it'll be good to get as much info from the hospital LC before heading home.

isabelle.
hope your spotting is better oredi. must be quite scary when it comes back so suddenly. i had bit of staining past week, but gynae started me on some pills and it;s better now. hope it stays that way :p

morning mummies

me sat checkup show me at 8weeks, EDD is 4Oct but Dr Adrian say shld be end Sept

Saw the baby and heartbeat, doc say everything normal
phew..

MS still abit cos no appetiate..think of eating very sian..
Feel very tired , like falling sick.
wonder if i should do some exercise ? any recommendation

Breastfeeding-
me also hope to bf more this time, my #1 i only bf 1mth or lesser, no milk ler, then latch my bb she keep crying, then my mum keep nagging no milk give formula lar..
tat was a super stress 1mth confinement..
i heard from my sil that there is prescription from those medical hall call "Tong Xin Fei" or what can increase BF wor. Anyone got heard CL got recommend this before ? Hope it work for me

Goldfish,
partime maid normaly $10 per hr, they normally come in weekly for 4hrs, so minimum you must employ them for $160 per month.
Me still considering parttime maid + bbsitter OR fulltime maid

Welcome,
Lemon, Jean

Good morning to all... It is a blue blue Monday, working.. Any mummies-to-be here have not much MS but weight dropping instead of increasing? me dropped 1.5kg with very little MS and my intake is normal.. and somemore I realise my eyesight is failing a bit too.. jalet! I am paranoid again... first time mummy maybe..

Hi, Isabelle

I am just paranold and worried of not enought milk supply. According to my friend, this CL is quite pro-bf one, just that when I spoke to her over the phone, she said to look at practical side.. of course, if got milk, she would be more than happy to send the baby to the mother for BF and it is healthier for the baby too, just tiring for the mother.. is there course for learning how to BF? hahaha.. or should it come naturally?

LC,
the eyesight i heard from my friend tat our my gynea told her is normal..the eye pupil is expanding or what, so there might be some blurrish vision, but it shld go off after sometime. Me wear contact lens , so me can feel the different, but abit only..

check with ur gynea to confirm again

lilboymum
yah agree. older generation think nothing of using FM. They dun go for TBF. And if we dun do our own research on bf, we may be misled by well-meaning "advice".

One of my SIL was like that. First 2 days she had no colostrum and she din try to latch bb on after her C section either. They (including herself) jumped to conclusion that she had not enough milk and straight away first day of birth they gave FM.
Then after that kept saying she still has not enough so must use FM. But like that of course not enough rite?

Plus she only wanted to rest at nite and let the CL do everything. I cldn't be bothered to advise her cos I cld see she has little determination and not v on abt bf, unlike my other SIL. She's really trying v v hard so I help her where I can.

But I guess in the end it's her personal choice. No rite or wrong since every parent loves their bb and wants what they think is best for them!

good mornign ladies ,
i am feeeling so tired today when i come for work .. super tired..My weight gain 2 kg despite feeling nauseous .. think it is because i ate every two hours to curb the feeling ... my first preg , by the 11 weeks , i drop 5 kg .. this one , i gain 2kg already ..

Morning ladies

Qiuling (chewy_ring) - i thought i gained 1.5kg by week 9+, but then the last i checked, i lost 0.5kg (week 12 this week), so back down to a net increase of 1kg. Quite weird, since i have no MS and have been eating more! Think this is the 1st time i am worried about losing weight!

Anyway, I have my OSCAR test later this afternoon - can't wait to see the baby in the ultrascan and make sure that it is growing well! I think I am getting abit paraniod about my baby not growing well with no MS and some weight loss...so mommies with MS, it not necessarily a bad thing!

Hi,Big toes

Agreed with you on MS.. me also not much MS and losing weight.. like u, i also starting to get paranoid and only get to see the Gynae this Friday after three weeks break.. feel so insecure.. haha.. need to take the dun-know wat test this friday too.. the gynae said the test wun take long, wonder it is the OSCAR test or not.

Is it alright to have bad cramps? I have been having bad cramps for 2 days. It feels like having mens on the 2nd dae. Terrible feeling. =(

Bigtoes & LC: dun worry abt the no MS part k. u might be one of the lucky few w/o MS. oh yes.. to give u some consolation, my fren had no MS during her 1st tri too... and she was constantly losing weight...

Bigtoes: wah.. so envious.. u going for OSCAR later. do update us on the progress k...

Jasmine: hhmm... did ur cramps come with any bleeding / spotting?? personally i would think bad cramps are not normal. y not call ur gynae immediately to check? he might wan u to go see him...

jasmine
I have been having cramps to day too! Was abt to post on thi forum if it's normal.
Feels like period cramps, accompanied by slight backache. Yest also had spotting but now stopped.

If I cramp again later, I think i will call my gynae to check liao

Precious, I know panadol is safe to take during preggie. But best for you to call your gynae to check first. Also ask them what is the max number of pills you can take now. Speedy recovery to you.

LC,

I din go for course on bf cos I thot it would be easy peasy. Ended up I din noe that baby also needs to learn how to latch on properly. Had thot that the bb wld know what to do! Haha

Anyway in the end, I called up the lactation consultant recommended to me by my fren.
Her name is Christina Kwek 93679293.
$160 for home/hospital visit of 1 and a half hrs.
Next visit less $20 if within 3 days.

I am a hands on learner so this helped me alot.
Another course which I din bother to go for when I was preggie cos I thot bf was easy is the one offered by my doula at Four Trimesters.
http://www.fourtrimesters.com/hypnoclassoutline.htm
(See Class No. 5, but I dunno if u can just sign up for this class or have to attend whole course)

Alternatively bf support package at
http://www.fourtrimesters.com/breastfeeding.htm

LC (faintz) and sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - yah, my hubby thinks i am crazy for 'complaining', but then, its nice to have some reassurance that the baby is growing, esp now when the tummy is not showing yet, and i don't feel preggers. At least when the baby is bigger & kicking, i would be less paraniod

Precious (myprecious) - Panadol is okie (as per my gyne).

Btw - MTBs - if there is one book you want to read on pregnancy, get "What to expect when you are expecting". My SIL passed me hers, & my sister was also recommending it. Quite useful, esp to answer questions like whether we can take panadol/what we can/cannot eat, issues on MS, monthly baby's growth etc...

hi..

i also feel tired today, going back to sleep later.
i do feel shoulder/back ache as well. my weight does drop 1 kg within 2 weeks due to poor appetite and MS.

LC,
Breakfeeding to wat i feel is always a demand and supply thing.. i dun believe in the saying that if you have a big breast u will have more milk and smaller breast will have lesser or no milk.. must always try.. maybe we did not latch on properly so our baby did suck the milk out well.. as for classes.. usually after u gave birth.. the hospital usually will have a lactation nurse to help out.. over in east shore during my first pregnancy.. the lady is very good.. she really help me.. and i find the bf is good and i love the moments when i have with my first one... but for those first time mummies.. pls i urge u all to go for the prenatal class.. it's really very beneficial..

bbmouse,
wow.. good for u tat u manage to bf till 7 months for the first one.. went back to work.. so got heart no strength.. but this time round.,.. will be very determined.. so will try to get a good pump..hmm.. as i know for medela PIS has a certain function for latch down.. so will stimulate the milk to flow better.. as compare to the normal or original one.. correct me if i'm wrong..

Can I check with you gals again what the current market rate is for a confinement lady? My husband told me his friend got one for only around $800 to $900 just last year, but I remember the market rate is much higher than this. Some more, he said this confinement lady is from Singapore, and stayed over nights too and did everything.

If your mom is doing the confinement for you, how much would you give her?

Jasmine: u still feeling the cramps mah? isit on-off or all the time? as bad as menstrual cramps? such tat u have to resort to taking pain relievers?? y not call ur gynae to ask? den at least can get a peace of mind...

Bigtoes: haha.. think all of us wan a reassurance that bb is doing fine inside, esp since now we cant feel bb's movements / kicks yet. i cant wait to start feeling bb's kicks coz den at least we really noe tat bb is doing well. tats y i get very anxious each time i go for my appt... dun worry so much k.. my fren is already in the mid of her 2nd tri... and slowly gaining weight. still no MS.. hehe.. so u n her = one of the lucky few w/o having to suffer from MS

New Mama Bottom Spray

I'm from the Feb 2008 MTBs thread.

I bought this New Mama Bottom Spray before my delivery, as it was highly reccommended by some mummies that it eases the episiotomy wound and helps to heal faster. However, I totally forgotten about it after I got discharged and didn't use it at all.

I bought it at $43.45, and selling it at $38 now. Anyone interested please email me at [email protected]

http://www.starhealth.com.sg/ProductCatalogue.asp?Code=ER0024&Rnum=25124026

Hello to all mummies,

im aso a 1st time mummy to be.. edd is on 17th sept..

I hav not much symptons, except tender, sore breasts and I have too been experiencing cramping for a week plus.. The cramps will happen aft every few hrs.. it is making me v worried bout my bb.. it was oni till the 6 days of cramps..it was so bad with lower back pain till i woke up crying.. then i rush to c my gynae..
Aft scanning, saw my bb bouncing away n hear his heartbeat again dat makes me so happy. gynae explained it's due to expanding of our growing womb, thus cramps. as long as there is no sign of bleeding, it will b safe..

more reading article http://www.babycenter.com/0_abdominal-pain-during-pregnancy_204.bc

sasa de mouse

yup. i just called up the clinic, scolded by the nurse as i had 2 days cramp wait till now den call up. =( will be seeing dr tonight. Im so afraid.. hope bb will be fine >.<~

hi rabbit, the details of my tcm are as follows:

sin nam medical hall
Blk 729 Yishun St 71 #01-101
tel: 62570881

an appt is required.

hi jasmine,

dont worry.. i was being told off by the nurse too dat i could tahan till day 6 then c gynae.. anyway it was my day 9 of cramping todae.. it is gettin alot better since ydae..

hi wingkei, i think the mkt rate is way higher than $800... if i'm not wrong, the std rates are around $1,800–$2k. maybe you can ask your hubby for the contact to confirm?