(2008/09) Sep 2008

I just spoke to my boss. He's totally supportive of me.
Am glad after this conversation.
He's really a wonderful boss.

Isabelle
Wah, you really tried everything!

Sunrays
If you wanna try your old pants, can get those bellybelt (waistline extenders which will be attached inside your old clothes waist bands). I didn't bother with them this time round...

Wow, reading abt BF and blocked ducts and having to prick with needles really sounds scary
The breasts have always been associated with something sensual, but I guess when we become mommies, its more like an 'equipment' to feed the baby...!

Ava: I tell myself to devote a few moments a day to go through my office emails and to solve the urgent matters. This way, I won't feel so paiseh.

ava... i am onli in my 9.5 week
belly showing liao and i used to have a flatter belly. If i wear maternity clothes now, pp sure know i preggy.. jus tat i am still hiding it in my usual shirt... pp perhaps think i put on weight liao... all my pants dun fit now except for 1 which is quite lose... i cant be wearing it everyday lor and becos i am still spotting, i dun feel like shopping for maternity clothes yet.

Hey sunrays
What prenatal gym exercise is tat? I am still doing bodypump and treadmill. For treadmill, it will be in brisk walking version bt at the max elevation to make it feel more 'shiok' lo since i love running all along and now i haf to severe all ties wif running

I oso feel my flabs on my triceps.. gosh.. it is reallie making me 'low'

I just had my oscar scan and blood test yesterday evening. So far oscar results ok, according to doc. Have to wait for next appt 1 month later for blood test results....

Btw, doc say I am in my 13th week, instead of 12th week. He said foetus growing fast @ 6.8cm.. So my EDD push forward to 28/08 liao... Funny...

Hello gals..

have been following this thread for some time but has not done any posting yet..haha...

i'm also a sep mum, and am a first time mum..
my EDD is 17 Sep..now in my 10wks.

my first post to say hi to everyone! good day ahead!

skinny pig
how come u must wait so long for the blood test results?
I just went for oscar on wed, and thurs eve the nurse called me to tell me results.

Thx Ava
will go check it out when I'm better

EXERCISE
Listening to all u mummies talking abt exercise and baby bump, I feel damn fat... Already haven't been a regular exerciser, then kena bed rest. Now still cannot exercise...

Waist is thicker n I can feel my butt growing... Still can wear normal clothes but tighter liao. But think it's more like water retention at my butt cos I think i vomitted too much to put on weight...

Enjoy ur pre-natal exercises lucky mummies!

Isabelle,

Don know leh.. The nurse said if blood test result abnormal, will give me a call.. Otherwise wait for next appt for blood test result review..

Can i check with you all, have u signed up and paid for part of your pre-natal package already? I am due for my OSCAR & blood test next Mon,& am suppose to pay for part of the pre-natal package then as well. Is that the same case for u? Mine is with TMC.

Was wondering (touch wood), if for whatever reason (e.g. miscarriage etc), we do not even use up that part of the package, would there be a refund? Have to check with the nurses.

Also, have u booked your confinement nanny? I have shortlisted one, will most probably book next week after the next gyne visit.

big toes
we r from same clinic WC Cheng
I already paid the $800 for consultation package a few weeks back. From wat i understand from my first preggie there, if mc or u gotta go overseas longterm watever, they will refund u watever u din use.
E.g. X went twice for consul then mc. So if i'm not wrong, is $800 - (2 x 80) for refund. Something like that.
But mebbe exact figures differ from dr to dr...

SORRY AH... change topic for a while
Anyone got maid at home got good recommendation for maid agency? Thought of hiring one to do hsework and cook..
Thanks for reply in advance

isabelle (isa_belle) - okie, thanks for clarifying.
Mine is WK Tan, just the next clinic from WC Cheng. Her package abit different thou, $1375 upon booking, and about the same on delivery. Will double check with the nurse.

Think I am getting abit paranoid about the baby not growing well - can't wait for my next appnt on Monday! Was reading about "missed miscarriages" and instances where the baby stops growing for no real reason, with no bleeding/cramps/etc...and just scaring myself!

Hi Mrs Yap

I got my curent maid from Advance Link at Bugis. (just above Mac at Bugis Village). My uncle also got the maid from there. quite good.

BABYatom ...thanks for the recommendation...shall check them out. Anyway is it true that Nation Maid agency do so many commercial advertisement then their charges will be more exp then the other agency but service not necessary better?

ydnic... 12 wks like still early cos i got a relative try scan for bb gender at 16weeks and doc can onli give her an estimation that the bb is 70% possibility a girl... i also dunno how he calculate till 70%...hehe

bigtoes... can understand yr anxiety, me too also worried esp after the surgery i always think my womb is weaker than other girls. tml is my next appt after a 1.5 week wait from previous appt... v anxious to see the bb growth and hoping everything is alright...

i juz went for OSCAR today, result shld be out tmr or monday.. im approaching 12weeks and bb is 5.7cm, can see bb moving, so exciting..

re quitting, sad to say i juz resigned (not my intention eversince i knw im pregnant), but my ex-company is not doing well n they still owe me my 2mths pay.. hai.. nt sure whether i can get a job nw, i can feel our expenses going up liao.. but im currently doing freelance accounting n hope to find a few more.. anybody got lobang?

ydnic, dun tik can see bb's gender at 12weeks. my gyane say my next visit, she will try to see gender (ie ard 16weeks)

i tot genitials will start to develop very fast at 12 weeks. my cousin at 12 weeks she knows she having a boy...???haiz...if dunno means most probably is a girl.

Mrs Yap

i'm looking for a maid too...cant handle the hsechores + 3 young kids all by myself.

But dunno where to start...which country...new or transfer...

Boy or Girl: Easier to tell the baby is a boy than girl. I think by week 12 the gynae can tell if the baby is a boy if the baby cooperates and is not being shy by closing his legs.

re: Gender

both my boys were 'confirmed' at week 16 check.
Generally if its a boy, easier to detect the protruding penis. But of course it also depends on the bb's position.
My colleague's gynae could tell she was having a girl at week 12....
so i think it all depends on ur "luck" or how "cooperative" bb is.
But generally if cant confirm at wk 16, the detail scan at wk 20 should unveil the mystery in most cases...

Traz: Do u want to get a part-time maid in the meantime? Cos it takes time to get new maids (those who are still in overseas). Unless you go for transfer, but people usually say there is a reason why the maid is being transferred by the first employer.

As for the countries, becos you have children, shd get someone who can speak English ie Phillipino. Indo maids are also more unhygenic and a lot of them have BO. I think we sure can't stand the new smell esp our sense of smell is so sensitive now.

true...it depends on the position of the baby whether cooperative or not.
Generally 16 weeks will be able to tell.
Got a colleagues wife also know the gender during the last trimester of the pregnancy.BB reali not cooperative at all.:>

i would like to join ur thread cos i'm a sept MTB too. here's my particulars:

Mummy Nick: twendy
EDD: 5th Sep
Hospital: TMC
Gynae: WK Tan

just went for my oscar just now. all is well, full results coming on monday.

i already have a princess who's going to be 16mths soon. looking forward to the journey ahead...

twendy (twendy) - Welcome
Your have the same gyne as me, and EDD is quite close as well (mine is 10th Sept)
Going for my OSCAR and NT test on Monday. For Dr Tan, is there any preliminary results on the spot, or do you have to wait for both results the next working day?

anyone here feel cold easily??
i always feel cold in office ever since i am pregnant. usually i can tahan the coldness one leh.. bt nowadays like low tolerance level to coldness.. anyone same as me?

Mrs Yap n Traz,
me first time maid employer and my maid still quite new, half a year. But quite gd. Got initiative and I can trust her to do stuff.

Got her from agency of my colleague's recommendation.
It's Signature at East Coast. Service was gd.
Tel no is 63440005. Look for Eileen.

At signature, they also have a full time filipino trainer who is there to supervise and train new maids too. Also gave my mum and I a sample schedule we can draw up for our maid to follow.

My main requirements:
Have some work experience(in M'sia or other countries - reason is that I dun wan her to have so many frens in Sg, and less likely to get homesick if she worked b4)
in her 30s
married with children

But actually maid is also like lucky draw. Agency may be good, but the maid may not be and vice versa...

Traz...ya i also heard transfer maids not too good cos must be something wrong then previous employer transfer.. better to get new maid. Also best not to have a maid with work experience in spore cos they hv contacts of frds here already. Better if experienced in M'sia or other country
Phillipine maid more exp then indon maid lor... but their std of english is better n more educated. My hubby even thot of indian maid lor... but i worried i cannot stand the BO too

Goldfish, i also feel v cold... sometimes cold sometimes hot... like outside hot inside cold type of feeling.. the feeling is like sick lor...

Hi mummies, just went for NT test & result is good! I will be bringing the result to Dr Woody on Mon again. The nurse told me I still have blood clots, haiz & she asked me why, I also don't know.. I really hope the blood clot will disperse soon & I am approaching my 12 weeks soon... When doing the ultrasound, bb was sitting (crouching) & sleeping, don't want to move at all, so I had to turn myself left & right & the nurse had to tap my tummy to move bb in order to measure the neck. And can see bb's nose & fingers, so cute!

Also went to AMK Blk 720 to buy some maternity pants because I cannot fit into my jeans already. The pants are not expensive anout $26-$29. But my tummy still not very obvious, I don't think look like 3 mths leh.. Kekeke

Mrs Yap, do you to get part-time cleaner instead? My SIL is using this lady from China, she charge $10 per hour min 3hours and my SIL say she clean very well.

yoz yoz, jaline! i have been following this thread, so i know u are here too :)

bigtoes, my oscar was done by TC Chang. he did the scan, input measurements into program, got a preliminary risk factor. but still need the blood tests results to get the final risk factor. anyway, oscar refer to combination of NT & blood tests. there is only 1 final result - ur overall risk factor. for 1st-time mum, be prepared to draw 5 capsules for blood for all the different tests.

Mrs Yap, Goldfish: Me too. I alternate between feeling hot and cold.

Mrs Yap, Storeberry: Are you on hormone jabs due to the spotting?

goldfish - yes! I am cold all the time now, esp in the office cos the central airconditioning is set at something like 22 degrees & my floor is quite empty!

twendy (twendy) - My OSCAR will also be done by TC Chang. Am not looking forward to drawing out 5 test tubes of blood...already have a fear of needles as it is

isabelle,
thanks for ur contacts and info.

bbmouse/storeberry
yah...i think i need a part-time maid noe for the time being...my hse looks like it's been ransacked by robbers during weekends when gorgor is at home together with didi...

but...my 1st reaction was...HUH? CHINA AH? HONEST? CUNNING? GREEDY? sorry ah..but really hv very bad impression of china pple

re: COLD
i feel cold at night too...and i've having this very funny symptom which i dun hv for my previous 2 prenancies....BLOCKED NOSE.

Phew
Glad that many pple feeel the same way as me. I used to have very high tolerance to coldness. I can stroll ard in Genting in sphagetti and shorts even though it is freezing cold (cos i haf this crazy mentality that cold can burn fats mah)

Bt now i cannot tolerate liao manz.. fan blow at me at nite in bed i oledi feel cold liao :S

Kekke. at least i am not alone lo.. thanks for replying leh

wow bigtoes, lucky u... i haven been able to fit into any of my pants or skirts already. dresses are feeling tight too.. so i have had to invest in a few maternity pants...

bot 2 dresses and a top from the Spring Maternity sale. think this kind of sale muz go early hor. else all the nice designs and sizes all gone le...

wah... i think my tummy oso got a bulge leh. so i have to resort to wearing loose tops, else my blouse would be practically hugging it. wonder if my colleagues suspect anything, haha.

hubby has been taking pics of my tummy every 2 wks to track the progress. i'm actually quite curious how all ur tummys look like now?? hehe...

i'm so looking forward to seeing bb again this coming tue.. wat a long wait. bbuuuttt..... 5 capsules of blood???? *faintz*

Re: Cold

oh yes... i do feel cold too.. especially at nite.. i remember waking up, practically shivering even tho only the fan is on.... wonder if anything is wrong with mi.. weird

bbmouse

actually u know wat chore i hate most? IRONING.
when i was young, being the only daughter and the eldest who 2 pampered younger brothers (my mother zhong nan qing nu kind), i was ironing everyone's clothes every wkend....including my fathers shirts & pants...i was only in pri sch then...and on top of that i hv to make beds, boil water, wash my brothers' sch shoes and mop the floor.

NOw that i hv a family of my own...i dun mind doing the chores but i just cant stand ironing...