(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa_xie, mine is 911...11th Sept. So coincidence.Hopefully can still endure another week or so and i get better.
I havent started on my multi vites and DHA yet. Hearing the names makes me wanna puke hahahaa...dunno y.Maybe have to wait till 2nd trimester then i will be able to take it.

Porky (porky_jean): Supposed you must be resting now after your D&C. I think what my friends meant to say is that the womb is cleared of the previous pregnancy sac and whatever remnants, so the womb is very clean and hence easy to conceive. Your body will heal soon, and you'll have a bouncy baby soon. My friends conceived within 2-3 mths after their surgery.

thanks, isabelle. my tcm physician is quite well versed in western medicine and methods too so i trust that the medicine he's giving me are safe.

i haven't any cravings at all. how i wish i have some!

sorry to intrude, am fr e dec 07 thread,
hav e followin for sale:
1. medela mini electric plus
sellin at: $200
gd condition, used for less than a mth before stoppin bf..

2. avent isis manual pump (5 via cups set)
sellin at: $45
gd condition, used for abt 2 weeks after delivery before switchin to electric pump.

pls pm me for more details and happy pregnancy.
cheers!

@loever@, what's the difference between the pink box of neurogain and the second one? Do you mean it is better than the second kind?

mommies, i find this webby is good, coz it has alot of pictures for us to see... it's so amazing.. coz these are 3D scan and it goes by week, so it's really good!

http://www.pregnancy.org/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment1.php#week10

i'm at week 10 now. my little angel will look somewhat like this now... so touching...

wingkei, i dunno the difference, but those moms who has consumed it said the pink box is beta.. i never tried this b4 coz i used to take e capsule form of DHA250 from GNC.

Hi Boise,

So far, I have not used the baby as a reason not to carry him, in fact, I still want to carry him cos I know I won't be able to do that further down the road when I am more heavily pregnant. I read somewhere that it's not good to reject the elder child because of the baby that the mommy is carrying, cos that might build up some hostility.... I have tried saying that it's not good to sleep on mommy, but it doesn't seem to work... will see how lah... maybe do what Ava does... let him rest his head on me only...

didn't read the previous posts...too tired..no time too.

Hb started reservist training this wk..i've to handle a 4.5yr old boy and a 10.5mth old bb boy all by myself...plus i'm 8 wks pregnant...MS kicked in.

MIL not coming over to help cos she needs to help her beloved daughter to take care of her DOG while she is away for a 3 wk europe honeymoon trip!

anyway, i've cramps since yday aft and it has been on-going. Suddenly no nausea. Afraid that bb no heartbeat. Was very worried and went to see the gynae just nw.

luckily bb still has heartbeat but gynae said my pregnancy not stable. So got to take hormone pills 3 times a day for 2 weeks. Side effect: NAUSEA...sian..

he asked me whether i did over-exert myself. I replied, "mmm...i cycled my son to school everyday." He looked at me with eyes opened wide wide...

another reason for my cramps could be my breastfeeding. My 10mth old is still on EBM and i expressed 260ml 3 times a day. tat's like 780ml a day. gynae also told me to stop.

oh...can someone help to update my details??

name: Traz
EDD: 28 sept
Dr: Dr Adrian Woodworth (Sengkang)
child no. 3
hosp: Thomson (most likely)
staying: punggol

wow...thread moving fast wo.... my email [email protected]

Email me for those who are interested to buy Neurogain... I'm currently taking the pink box (the 1st pic sasa de mouse posted).

I was taking the other blue box one, which i bot frm Unity pharmacy at $34.65.. the supplier told me the pink one is better...i compared the 2 and the only diff is the pink one dosage is slightly higher,tats all..

I paid abt $183 for 6 btls...so it's abt $30.50 per btl...anyone here bot for lower price??

anyway...will consolidate the orders frm you gals then see whether got further discount or not...hehe..

hi all, i am discharge at 1pm but slept till 5pm when reached home...feel really exhausted cos did not have any good sleep since i know my bb is gone at 8 weeks (last nite could not sleep at all due to the pain after taking the pills to dilate the cervix....) the procedure is indeed super fast until i also cant rem what i has gone thru. i was feeling very down and tears keep dropping...the nurse even pass me tissue and comfort me while waiting for Dr Adrain. then Dr Adrian came and ask me any discomfort or not, i tell him got terrible cramps below. so he say not to worry, the cramps will be over very soon. the next moment i saw myself resting on the bed in the day surgery room already...

isabelle, i do not need to use hp to record down my MIL's acting...as my hb knows how his mum is like. previously she stays with my SIL...and my SIL also kanna pissed off during her confinement. so now she stays with me liao...no choice. she only got 2 sons and my hb could not bear to leave her alone...i love my hb alot so i dont mind his mum to stay with us alto she interrupts our daily life...

anyone knows can take the antibotics with hongzhao water ? or plain water ? sorry....think this is the wrong thread to ask....should go to support group thread

take care all mommies !

hi porky,

sorry to replied only now.. just spent some time going thru the post for the last 2 days.. and am really sad to see ur post... yes.. i cried too.. sign~.. i can't say tat i understand how u feel.. but i pray tat u will take care of urself..

I know u can do it.. even thought i do not know u personally... i can always read sense ur joyfulness and cheerfulness in ur message..

porky
i think it's ok to take antibiotics with the hongzhao water. I took all my medicine after giving birth with that. Mebbe u can call ur clinic to ask. The nurse shld be in a gd position to advise.
Hopefully we will hear good news from u in a few mths time. Do still come here n chat with us. Will miss u! Meanwhile, take good care of urself ya?

traz
think u'd better stop cycling ur boy... Take care of urself.
780ml a day seems like a lot to be pumping for a preggie... My gynae allowed me to still continue bf cos I only comfort feed her.
Think too much bf can stimulate uterine contractions leh. Mebbe no choice u supplement with FM and reduce the bf? Just a suggestion

hi momoko, thanks. i will be back to my usual self soon cos i got a supportive and loving husband. he is always by my side to fight this battle with me. alto i cant be sept or oct mum anymore, but i hope to be dec or even early oxie mommies. hehe.

hi isabelle, okok, will take all my pills with the hongzhao water. no worries, i will always be around to encourage all mommies here and have confident that u all can carry ur darling till full term.

LC, I also just got it as I just crossed the first trimester... he also gave me CaVit-D3, some calcium + Vitamin... and also Pramilet, prenatal vitamin/mineral with folic acid... so many pills to take...

take care, porky. try to stay in your room the next few days; you're doing a mini confinement so don't move around. rest well ok.

Porky: do rest well k. dun over exert urself. take more liver to *bu xue*. remember dun take cold / liang drinks k...

Bigtoes: Where are u?? Did u go to the Spring Sale in the end??

All: Did anyone else go to the Spring Maternity Sale @ Suntec?

Hi mummies: I suddenly feel very guilty for not being able to go back to work. Work is piling up and there are many things waiting for me to decide. Am on MC and gynae said condition shd stabilise only after week 11, meaning I could be on bed rest til then! I'm only in week 7. Am thinking if I shd quit. am I being silly? Can advise?

bbmouse
know wat u mean... If ur company never complain then dun quit, esp if u r happy working there.

I have been on mc since week 5... and will be on mc till week 14. I also feel very very bad knowing that my colleagues have to cover my work. Like inconveniencing other ppl, as if they got not enough wk of their own already. Feel so pai sei...
But what to do? Guess baby's devt is top priority. And now my ms also super bad.

I did ask my boss if I cld help with anything fr home though, but she was v nice, ask me to just rest.
Now I'm worried when I go back to work whether I can cope with the hectic pace or not after such a long rest, and also owe so many ppl "ren qing"...

Traz ,
better stop EBM , supplement with FM ?? i stop my boy ( 8mths plus ) on Bm after discovering that i am preg .. although lactattion consultant say can continue but i find it contradicting , cos feeding BM shrinks Uterus and bb mouse inside us need to grow and uterus need to grow , so disadvantaging the bb inside .. so i stop immediately BF when my boy is 7mths .. just to play safe ..

Porky ,
should be okay to take hong zhao with anti- biotics cos after delivery all my medicine take with it .. but better check with the doc?? correct source mah

Hi bbmouse,
Yah.. dun quit unless u oledi feel buay-song working there. I think most bosses shld empathise that the first 3 mths is crucial and some required more rest at home to stablise the baby. See whether u can help to lessen the work load from home or not.
And when u return back to work, get them some food or buy them a drink to thank them for their support in ur absence.
Bt of coz abit paiseh to owe pple ren-qing but this would be the best time to tell which colleagues is the real true friend

Isabelle, Goldfish: Thanks. Glad I'm not alone feeling this way. I like my job and have a very good relationship with my boss, and the team. Which makes the guilt factor higher.
I'll have a talk with my boss and see what he says.

bbmouse..dun quit... i also on mc from whole of week 5 to week 7... now slightly better n i come back to work... i will not hesitate to take MC if i feel not well.. for the sake of bb mah... since now u preggy, expenses will go up... u probably need the job/salary to support the family. I looking forward to the 3 months maternity leave wor... hehe

Traz, cycling and BF-ing and being a pregger at the same time is not going to work. pls consider the consquence before u continue your routine, it's doing harming to the little one inside... i'm sure u wanna be a good and fair mommy to all 3 kids, so pls heed the doc's advice ok. dun let your loved one worry for u... =)

qiuling and traz
I did some reserach on breastfeeding during preg b4 I tried for second baby, and decided to continue (with the approval of my gynae lah of course)

The following article from International bf organization "La leche" is v informative and played an impgt role in me deciding to continue bf.
http://www.llli.org/NB/NBJulAug00p116.html

Here's an excerpt from another article: http://www.attachmentparenting.org/artnewlook.shtml

Nipple stimulation releases the hormone oxytocin into the bloodstream. Oxytocin is important for breastfeeding because it is the chemical messenger that tells breast tissue to contract and eject milk (the "milk ejection reflex"). Oxytocin also tells the uterine tissue to contract. All women experience uterine contractions during breastfeeding, although they are usually too mild to be noticed. Nipple stimulation can be used to ripen the cervix when a woman is at term, and can also augment labor after it is underway. Postpartum breastfeeding efficiently shrinks the uterus back to pre-pregnancy size.

Given these associations, it seems a short jump to guess that breastfeeding might trigger labor before its time...

The specter of breastfeeding-induced preterm labor appears to spring in large part from an incomplete understanding of the interactions between nipple stimulation, oxytocin, and pregnancy...

Many discussions of breastfeeding during pregnancy mention "oxytocin receptor sites," the uterine cells that detect the presence of oxytocin and cause a contraction. These cells are sparse up until 38 weeks, increasing gradually after that time, and increasing 300-fold after labor has begun.7 The relative scarcity of oxytocin receptor sites is one of the main lines of defense for keeping the uterus quiescent throughout the entire preterm periodÑbut it is not the only one.

A closer look at the molecular biology of the pregnant uterus reveals yet more lines of defense. In order for oxytocin receptor sites to respond strongly to oxytocin they need the help of special agents called "gap junction proteins." The absence of these proteins renders the uterus "down-regulated," relatively insensitive to oxytocin even when the oxytocin receptor site density is high. And natural oxytocin-blockers, most notably progesterone, stand between oxytocin and its receptor site throughout pregnancy. 8 9 10

With the oxytocin receptor sites (1) sparse, (2) down-regulated, and (3) blocked by progesterone and other anti-oxytocin agents, oxytocin alone cannot trigger labor. The uterus is in baby-holding mode, well protected from untimely labor. 4

Traz: Yes, pls stop the cycling and BF. Can take a cab/bus with your boy now? BF takes up your nutrients and now that you need extra for the new baby, maybe you want to consider supplementing with formula and wean him off slowly.

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - Yes, I went to the Spring maternity sale on Wed...nothing much left (very large sizes) and nothing nice....the dresses were also quite auntie! So ended up not buying anything from the sale. The non-sale items in the other shops were nicer, but also quite expensive.

I am still wearing my normal clothes, so most probably can hold back in buying any more maternity wear for another 1-2 months.

Isa, qiuling
am trying to cut down the pumping...but very prone to block ducts...v painful! tell u, i use needle to PRICK!

RE: quitting
i'm actually on no pay leave till the end of the year...initially wanted to return work only when my 2nd child turns 18mths and aft i've placed him in the childcare.

Now that i'm pregnant, discussed with hb...3 mths paid maternity leave is a lot of money..esp for families like ours with 3 kids. So wrote in to curtail my no pay leave. Starting wk in 2 wks time. BB is going to infant care. I feel very guilty too but i think we really need the money. Hope the bb will settle down asap..definitely wont get the same amt of attention as he is getting from me now....if he gets half of it at the infant care, i'm more than happy already.

bbmouse, what happened to u? Why on such a long MC? Take care...

Traz
if u really really want to continue bf,
then u need extra rest and nutrients also, cos bf druing preg can make u even more tired...

But u seem really stretched now taking care of 2 kids already. Mebbe supplement is less stressful for u?
Anyway, hope evrything turns out well for u!

traz
basically what it means is that
1) nipple stimulation may trigger contractions due to release of hormone oxytoxin.
2) However, we have very few oxytoxin receptor sites in our uterus esp in first tri so not likely to go into labour
3) There are other factors that will prevent us from gg into labour due to bf during preg

Therefore it is safe to bf during preg. Unless we already have hist of mc or r prone to mc. Then must reconsider.

I also had blocked ducts last time. Went to gp to prick! Yipes!

Traz: Me spotting on and off. Gynae says there's a blood clot ear the "connection" so need to bed rest. I'm on weekly visit to him and he's been extending my MC. For now, it's MC until next week. But he said the condition will only stabilise after week 11, so we play by ear.

Re:Quitting
bbmouse, me also think you shld hold on to your jobs unless ur boss hint to u to quit.
Cos u need the $$ and also the 3mth maternity is also alot of $$..can buy BB alot of stuff.

ya talk to ur boss and maybe bring home to do or if need your decision then u take cab down to have meeting lor. guess ur boss will understand lar

Traz,
Maybe consult ur gynea if u shld continuing BF or BF lesser per day.
Can use cabbage to sooth the pain ? think it help for some...

traz, i usually squeeze my nipples and push the skin back and i just use my fingernails to scrap off the dried clogs there. after tat i justtake a clean towel and soak in a pail very hot water and lay it on my breasts repeatedly.

have u tried this b4?? usually once i cleared the ducts, the milk will flow out... n the hot towel helps to clear some inner blocked ducts..

Isabelle

eeeeek! better not scare first time mummies leh! I just used hot water shower and own hand to massage (towards the nipple) to clear the ducts....unless u are talking about something else...?

Bigtoes
Lucky you! I want to take a pic of my bump...i think you gals will probably think I belong on the June or July 2008 thread instead of Sept! hahaha!

I need to get a maternity belt (some mtb of twins have advised me) and the lady at the shop was visibly amazed when i said i am in 10th week only! I wear maternity clothes exclusively now, except for some of my more stretchy tops.

Hi sunrays

Yes yes, scan showed twins that's why already look like 4 months' preg!
Hb says that it's my fats being pushed up too hahaha...

Mrs Yap
Which week are you in? With Adan (my 3.5 yr old) I started showing small bump around 12th week. as in clothes got tight and couldn't buckle already. You will appear larger if you started off skinnier also. I have always been more bakbak

hi ava

i'm going into 12wks and honestly...been only wearing loose dresses, havnt tried any of my previous pants yet but i doubt i can fit into them, haha. Other than baby bump, i also realised arms became fleshier!! Before i knew i was pregnant, i was goin to the gym quite often..then now i realised the muscles on my arms TOTALLY disappeared!! Can't feel them anymore!! now all wobbly...so upset!!

I just called up my gym personal trainer to inform her I'll be starting my prenatal excercise regime with her frm mar onwards!! Cannot tahan liao...i'm gonna become a whale if i dun start excercising!!

ava n xuan ting

yah needle. Unfortunately this suddenly happened when my bb was 2 to 3 mths old. I tried the following which din work:
1)hot towel massage
2)scrapping the dried up stuff off (but it was really stuck inside, on top come off also no use)
3)pumping milk and hope it can 'suck" out the blocked part
4)my bb feeding on that side first
5)I even dipped my nipple into hot salty water to try to get the milk out (via principle of osmosis) before each feed even at 3, 4am everyday! My lactation consultant's mtd. It did work, but short term relief only...
But this is damn tiring cos means I must wake up b4 my bb';s feed to do and clean away the salt water from my nipple, just in time for bb to feed...

Therefore in the end my lactation consultant (LC)advise me to go to GP (female one lah) and she use needle to clear. After that I gotta apply antibiotic cream. Everytime b4 i bf, I gotta clean the area some more...

I went to GP twice to do that and another dr at polyclinic to ask can give any medicine to clear blocked duct but she siad it will go away on it's own. And it did eventually after 1 bloody mth of suffering...

Lucky it was only ONE blocked duct on ONE breast...
My LC said that particular duct narrower than the rest so my very RICH milk fat kena stuck...