(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi sunrays,

i had a miscarriage 2 years ago, thus i am also quite paranoid this round. i just read on current stage of pregnancy and do not check out on bb product etc yet.

sunrays, i'm also at home the whole day. i'm a freelancer so i only work when i get projects. i don't nap very much but some days, i feel really, really tired and can almost sleep the whole day away.

hi rabbit, tell you something opposite from what we have been hearing. i went to see my tcm physician a few days ago. he wasn't at all pleased that i have been feeling nauseous. apparently, according to tcm principles, nausea and vomiting during pregnancy means there is a deficiency in one of the major organs, and it's best to have no morning sickness at all (means you are really healthy). i was like, "huh?" but i do trust this physician so i'm now like not sure if i should wish for the ms to stay or go away.

i also had a miscarriage before and have been telling myself to be grateful for the ms. now really not sure what to wish for!

hi sunrays,
i hope i dont get to wait for so long for my next appt. But i do remember the nurse told me something about waiting for an hour or two, im not sure what she said becasue i was too hungry and made my soul wander.

Sometimes when i get irritated by my sleep position, i just lay flat on the bed. Not sleeping very well these few nights whereas i sleep better when taking naps.

Yup, ive got EnfaMama & Anmum . I dont even dare to open and drink it. I got turn off by their packaging. Lol. I dislike drinking full cream milk i find it too thick compared to low fat ones. After hearing what Dr jocelyn said, "to drink more milk" my funny hubby went to buy full cream milk for me while having our lunch. Ew~ ended up i had a few slips only.

hi Rabbit,
I'm not working, I'm rather bore at home too. Other than watching tv shows and facing my computer i cant find other stuffs to do. Im thinking of making mittens for my baby at the moment.

Thinking of going for a short getaway when i reach my second trim. Cant decide where to go.. Hubby wants to go to Genting. -__-

hi blue_roses,

I tried Anmum but only manage to take a few mouthful too.

Genting sounds good..i think going for holiday will be great if no MS and if the journey is not too long.

I am also thinking to do some cross-stitch, however my sister was telling me that it is better not to use needles during pregnancy etc. Sigh..

wow.. see that many MTB are not working.. wich is good!
I have a friend who is also pregnant and she quit her job to stay at home. That's nice lo..cos usually after lunchtime, the sleeping bug will just come and i find it so hard to keep myself AWAKE :S

i am planning to go on a trip wif hubby before my due date. U all know which mth onwards not safe for travelling huh?

sunrays, can u help me get the Neurogain also? when do we start taking? i used to take DHA250 from GNC.. for this second preg, i hvnt planned to buy which brand yet...

hi xuanting,

I am surprised to hear this....it is so different from what the gynae tells me. But I do wonder if dr tells us this to make us feel better pyschology.
I have an appt with my TCM doctor this weekend, I am going to ask him abt this and also thinking to ask him to 'Antai'.
Are you taking chinese medicine during pregnancy? My sister encourage me to do so as she did it and it stablise her pregnancy.

I can understand how u feel...i have conflicting feelings too. I am not sure if it was due to previous experience, but i do feel quite "insecure" and "scared", trying to do everything within my means for this pregnancy.

Hi I am having MC as well, almost one mth MC liao... Going back to offcie later to print some stuffs as have appt later. Hopefully can get back to work soon...

I also want to go on a trip but without my DH cos he is busy.. Maybe will go with my frens...

hi sunrays,

when shd we start to take Neurogain? My doctor just ask me to take vit b, folic acid and duphaston. he says no need to take other vitamins.

Some of the mummies are approaching 12weeks (End of 1st Trimeter)

Jia You!!!

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummy Nick</TD><TD>Baby Name</TD><TD> EDD </TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD> Hospital</TD><TD> Gynae </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyatom </TD><TD></TD><TD> Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr CH Koh </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelinegoh</TD><TD></TD><TD> 020sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> ALLim </TD></TR><TR><TD>aisha8314</TD><TD></TD><TD>02-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> KKH </TD><TD>Dr Marianne Hendricks </TD></TR><TR><TD>isabelle</TD><TD></TD><TD> 03-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> TC Chang </TD></TR><TR><TD>skinny pig </TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD> Prof Yong EL </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippie</TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> Dr sF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>hp_babe</TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>storeberry</TD><TD></TD><TD> 04-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>crayonshinchan </TD><TD></TD><TD>06-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaline</TD><TD></TD><TD> 07-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> MT A</TD><TD> Dr Esther Ng </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ying Ling</TD><TD></TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunrays</TD><TD></TD><TD>08-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shazz</TD><TD></TD><TD> 09-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> RH</TD><TD> Dr Lee I Wuen </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jane</TD><TD></TD><TD> 09-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Chen Chern Yi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Precious</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winnie</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine</TD><TD></TD><TD>12Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aloevera</TD><TD></TD><TD> 16-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr M Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bigtoes</TD><TD></TD><TD> 10-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr WK Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>yun</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD></TD><TD> 11-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ava (avalyn) </TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Paul Tseng </TD></TR><TR><TD>qiuling</TD><TD></TD><TD> 17Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Momoko76</TD><TD></TD><TD> 17-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> ESH</TD><TD> Dr Heng Tung Lan </TD></TR><TR><TD>fsa</TD><TD></TD><TD> 18-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Judy WongTPS </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbmouse</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonneho</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>dr lawrence ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>rabbit</TD><TD></TD><TD>22-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>mrsyap</TD><TD></TD><TD>24sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Lim </TD></TR><TR><TD>blueroses</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ruixiang</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>XuanMummy</TD><TD></TD><TD> 28-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A </TD><TD>Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>milkmilk</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Kee KH </TD></TR><TR><TD>l'l CY </TD><TD></TD><TD>29-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>storm</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD> Dr Joan Thong </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

bbmouse,l'l CY
u two got provide me ur details or i forgot liow
me getting forgetful these days.. :p

hi Rabbit,
oh ya! Forgot about the needles thingy. Sigh..

hi Goldfish,
the best time for travelling is during the 2nd trim after 20 weeks when baby is "offically stable" which was told by my gynae.

wow, am so envious of all the MTBs here who are 'tai-tais' and not working!
I am quite busy at work (am in consulting and we are shorthanded)...so my main concern is not to get too stressed with work &amp; to minimize my travelling!

Am also taking Enfamama A+, the low fat version with DHA and Choline. Almost done with 1 tin already! Luckily for me, i love milk (used to drink HL milk every morning), so no problem taking Enfamama.

On MS, think it doesn't mean its bad/good if you have/don't have it. Just different way our bodies react to rising hCG levels? The levels taper after week 12, so most people with MS would feel better from then on

Hi, Everyone

Good afternoon..

The postings are running at fast speed.. Me feeling very tired.. and can't really concentrate at work.. recently got our bonus letter and was very disappointed that I did not get my promotion.. I worked very hard in Year 2007 but was not promoted while the other two seniors (in terms of age) got the promotion.. boss was saying she would evaluate me end of this year.. Am wondering how to when I will be away fr office for 3mths or so??!!

And these few days, the crampy feeling is evident.. anyone feeling the same? I am worried if this is normal as the cramp can be very uncomfortable though I still can move abt.. and, i have been having nightmares and lost my beauty sleep lately..

Hi bigtoes,

i hope to be a little busy in office..i asked not to travel, so sitting on the "bench"

Hi Lc,

Don't be disappointed...alot of things are not within our control.

I used to dream alot abt blood and having mens during pregnancy. I read that it is normal for pregnant woman to dream of this...

Sunrays ,
I think i need about 6 btls too .. one btl per mth from 4th mth onwards can take already .. u send your email on your account and the amt to TT to you .. thank you

Im also envious of all those tai tai who can rest at home n watch dramas ! The only time i get to watch TV is only aft 10pm after my gal have slept soundly.....

Hi Limay
Me also working full time. u have me for company..haha..... Im pretty stuck in my cubicle, clearing piles of work that are never ending...sigh......

Hi sunrays
Im keen on Neurogain as well. Where to collect ?

hi rabbit, yeah, do ask your tcm physician about it. i'm really puzzled also. he also said that having to pee often at night is a sign of deficiency and that western medicine looks at these things v differently from tcm. i'm now taking tcm and i guess psychologically, it makes me feel safer. i'm trying my best to stay positive and healthy this time round also.

hi xuanting,

thanks for the info. i will check with my tcm and keep you informed as well. We will stay positive, work hard and be proud mothers soon

TCM
My gynae advises it's better not to take any chinese herbs during pregnancy.
Cos I read one of the research articles he wrote n it's found that chinese tend to have more babies with cleft palates than other races. And not sure if it has to do with the chinese habit of taking chinese herbs like "shi san tai bao".
After reading it, I din dare to eat any herbs or even drink any herbal soups, even those my MIL claims to be gd for preggie women...

hi rabbit

*hi five*!!!
me also v sensitive to smell. Can't stand the smell of food cooking either! Esp soup boiling and garlic n sesame oil. So no more chicken rice for me.
My last preg, my mum purposely woke up at 3 am to boil soup so that i wldn't be affected, but I still woke up on smelling it!

xuanmummy..
heee given you before.
edd 29sept
hosp NUH
Gynae Dr Vanaja

Godlfish
Bfree bottle is good for bbs coz it does not contains toxic chemicals in the production of the plastic. not sure if it prevents colic. but there are many anti colic teats and bottles in the market leh. guess you eventally have to test them out one by one...

eih...
you gals with mil and mummies brewing herbal soup very lucky leh. my first preg got birds nest and stuff from ILs. but that's becoz it's a boy lah. this time round no news of any tonics yet....

sunrays
o yes, i read about the epa thingy too. okok...maybe i should order too!!!! hahah..my hb is going to kill me....spend money again!!!!

faintz
sorry to hear about it. actually with maternity leave diffic to assess leh. i was told when i was preg (my prev job) that it wont affect my performacne assessment. only after my maternity that i realised it has. coz within that period no assessment is possible. performance cannot be assessed in a mathematical formula promtion=work done/time spent in office....sad to say.

but maybe your boss is understanding enough

goldfish again
dun envy us lah. most of us sahm got another one running around. sometimes worse than working :p

Xuan: Thanks. My EDD is Oct 7, but I'm going for Caesar that;s why I'm joinging this sep thread. My dr is dr chew at Mt E.

Sunrays: I have 2 bottles leftover from my last pregnancy. I can't remember the price I paid for them. What's the price now? It is the Neorogain BP in vegicaps right?

LC, Rabbit: Having vivid dreams is a common thing in pregnancy.
I also have weird dreams - of people mass killing each other, of strange extinct animals etc.

Hi lilboymum... Is it still safe to take bird nest nowadays? cos i saw from the internet that those pp use chemical to wash n process the bird nest so that they will look whiter n cleaner... in actual fact, we will be eating the chemical together which is harmful to the body. Can anyone advise on this?

Mrs Yap, take bird nest after the 5mth month or only in the last trimester. Reason being the baby's lungs may be still developing until then and any small particles (not surprising to be present in bird nest) may irritate the lungs. Not only that, the fresh and skin of the baby starts forming from the 5th month or so on only. And buy from a good and known source. That's how I feel.

ya
think take birdnest after 5month is advisable ...

Neorogain BP
=> me brought from dr adrian is about $30 for 30 capsules. but that is 2yr price, not sure got increase anot..those under dr adrian can check with him

to me, to play safe better no chinese medicine for antai..maybe normal chicken soup etc can drink.

Hi Yvonneho,

Don't worry. Just continue to encourage your girl to walk. When your girl is ready for walking, they're usually rather determined to practice, and soon after, they'll be walking. For my girl, when she was ready to walk, she practiced for days, and thereafter, was able to walk.

For now, you can put her on the stroller. I think the strategy to get them to sit on the stroller is to get moving, and not stop. That way, they have things to see, and won't be asking you to carry her.

When your baby is due in sept, your girl will be abt 1.5 years old, it'll be easier. For now, also try to talk to her more, so she can express herself more, and you can understand her better, to reduce frustration from not understanding what she wants. Also, get her to self feed. They may not hold the spoon well, but with practice, they'll soon be able to. My girl likes to use her hands, especially to eat fruits. So, next time, when you're busy with newborn, can give your girl her fav fruits or snack, put her on high chair, and that'll give you time to do things. I do that, so that I can cook dinner. Now, my girl is older, she'll play by herself.

Remember, small age gap has their advantages. I have a friend with small age gap, and they're playing so well together now.

Hi, Isabelle and rabbit

Me also sensitive to smell.. my hubby still using the usual shower gel which I can't stand it.. and he smell like "rubbish" when he is done with shower.. I can't stand cigarette and peppermint smell.. but i am still ok with chicken rice, last time dun eat one, but now got craving..

BIRD'S NEST
me also took only after 5 mths.
My MIL said must wash properly and pick out all the dirt and feathers.
She is very very fussy so when she picked out she really sat there for like 2 hrs and I could see how darn dirty it was!

She also said those very white and clean ones have been chemically treated so not good to buy.

Which when i think abt makes sense cos all those tiny specks of stuff I saw for myself, I dun think any one in their right mind wld pick out for the customer b4 they sell and I dun think any machine can clean so clean either as the dirt is really stuck to it and only become very obvious when you soak the bird's nest in water for a while.

LC
my craving has been sushi. Keep ordering the ebiten maki from sakuraya. And I must admit I have "cheated" thrice on the salmon handroll though I know I'm not supposed to eat raw food.

But I very jiat lat now. Surviving on porridge and steamed fish, or Subway sandwich. But I cannot eat that everday lunch and dinner!

I cannot take all the Mac, KFC, pizza whixh the other lucky mummies have been eating.
I cannot stand chicken anymore. Last time I tried beef hor fun, it tasted not bad but after that vomitted and I cld taste all the oyster sauce and msg coming out. So gross. I never dared to eat strong tasting food again...

Hi sunrays, I am also keen on Neurogain as well. Where to collect? Thanks!

I know nothing about bird nest man.. Don't know if my busy DH will cook for me.. Kekeke..

bb mouse
better not take the leftover bottles from last time even if not expired. This because these DHA oils tend to degrade v fast, which is why they usually come in dark coloured bottles and advised to keep away from sunlight.
Eating degraded oils is worse than not eating at all. Always buy fresh batches.

blue roses
not supposed to eat of course. The ebi thing which i eat is cooked (actually it is like tempura maki) but not the salmon handroll...

I think the fear is that raw stuff may contain bacteria like salmonella. Scarley we get food poisoning, not good for bb...

hi ruixiangmon,

My girl likes to sleep on me too. But I cannot imagine her sleeping on me when my tummy is big, plus occasionally, she can be rough.

So I told her that now, there's baby in my tummy. I have no energy to carry her. And cannot lie on me as there's baby in the tummy. I told her after baby's born, I can carry her again, and she can lie on me again. She seem to understand, though occasionally she'll try to lie on me, and I'll repeat my promise to her.

blueroses, we can eat sushi, but not sashimi... anyway my taste buds are all dead now, everything also doesnt appeal to me now! =(((((((

i'm glad tat some mommies here still can eat wat they like and somemore have craving...

sunrays, the pink box of neurogain is beta, i heard... can u pls provide your email addy here so tat we can drop you our desired orders? maybe can do a BP and enjoy beta price??? =P

loever,
i have this weird bitter taste when comes to taking plain water. and i also have this weird fetish for guava. I can happily wanting to eat them everyday. I think maybe because of the plum powder.

Anyway i have a silly question, for 1st trim, does the baby moves about in our water bag?

aloevera
poor u. Hopefully our taste buds will be back to normal again!
Unfortunately I still love sashimi now

Think cos also the cooked sushi and raw sashimi may be prepared on the same surface so mebbe that's why not that safe to eat cooked sushi also. But I really love sushi and worse, crave for it

blue roses
yes yes baby does move, cos I just saw my bb moving happily abt during my scan yest!

Aiyoh mummies,
now me so bored, whole day on forum!!!

Hi, bbmouse

You dreamt of mass killing? hahaha.. so violent :p.. me dreamt of minced beef, centipede, spider, snake.. aiyo........

Hi, blue-roses

Certainly hope that the cramps are normal.. it is turning my life a bit abnormal already..

I have not been in my tip-top form and feel so "handicapped" so called in doing my normal routine stuff.. once i am on sofa after work, I will glue to the seat for hours.. I no longer feel "fulfilling" when playing mahjong.. like brain can;t think faster than my fingers taking the tiles.. and my mouth not fast enuf to catch up with my brain to "peng" or "eat" other players' tiles.. oops.. okie, i admit i am a gambler.. hahaha..

isabelle,
wow, you must be smiling happily when you saw your baby moving. Saw my baby during my scan yest too! But it didnt move. haha, saw cute little heartbeat.

count me in on Neurogain! My gynae charge me $40 for it too and I got it at $34 plus from Guardian. Been taking it since my first gynae visit at week 6. But the smell puts me off so much that taking it is a daily challenge for me. So I have to resort to taking it with flavoured drinks, so that I wont puke!

sunrays: please help me get 6 bottles as well. Thanks! can email me at [email protected] to arrange for transfer of funds.

Yin Ling,

I was given this ProLacta with DHA as well.. but was not taking it cos was advised by my second gynae to wait after first trimester.. Multi-vits too..