(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi xuanmommy,

Tks for adding me into the table...
here are further details

EDD : 8 sept
Gynae : DR Joycelyn Wong
Hospital: TMC

May i knw if anyone here taking NeuroGain?? It's a fish oil supplement for pregnant women...cos my gynae said we can't take the normal Omega 3, the dosage is not appropriate for preggie ladies..

I bot my first bottle at pharmacy ($34.65)... but my gf said her gynae sold her at $40!! Anyway I managed to contact the supplier and I got it for $30.35, so if you gals are interested, do let me knw...

Sunrays: I took it from my second trimester for my #1. It's recommended by gynae to be brain food for the baby. It also keeps the mum from going into a depression after the delivery.

my hb is aware tat his mum can be quite insensitive at times...he even told her not to talk to me abt bb or any nonsense in the end make me cry again...but my mil is like that de. in front of her son she act like very caring...then is like i am the bad person now...i dont think stay with my mum is convenient cos she is very busy with her business...when the first time my mil say she will not wash my undies for me during my confinement, i already know that i will have a hard time since i got a miscarriage now...but not to worry, i will be well soon and go back to work. is better then staying at home and suffer mentally...

haha thanks for the well wishes gals. if i kanna toto tomorrow i will sue the first gynae until her pants drop.

porky,
i am at 11weeks now.
the lining of the uterus is thinner after the d&c hence chances of implantation is higher. wait for at least 2 cycles before trying again. dun worry about the d&c coz its a very quick process and painless after that. the only mafan thing is the menses that come after that. its like the longest menses ever... but after that your first proper menses should come within 4 - 6 weeks.

Storeberry
The plan is from AIG called SG400 and SG350 (different max sums).

Jappooh
Nice to see u here...hope to see you on some other thread as a new mtb soon. all the best!

Porky
Sorry you hv to put up with insensitive comments at home as well. Stay strong dear!

Hi porky,..just ignore ur mil..if i were u...i sure cant stand her also!

My gynae only gives me 5 days mc. Initially she said she usually give 3/5days mc, and ask how many days i wan, so i said 5 days. Wow..didnt know that got gynae so generous..give 2 wks mc.

Rest well after the surgery..u will recover soon..both emotionally and physically.

hi shirley, sometimes is good to be alone at home too...can rest and have a peace of mind !

i did not ask Dr Adrain how many days he will give me. then he say normally 1 week is enough but i saw the hospitallisation leave form is indicated 2 weeks wor. he already pass it to me alto my D&C is done tmr..

sunrays
eih how come normal omega cannot huh? i know in US they prescribe high dose of omega for women who may experience post partum depression.

im taking normal ones. Neurogain my gynae oso recommended. actually most gynae themselves are quite skeptical about this. for normal DHA, the possible IQ increase, if any at all, is about 1-3 points.i rem neurogain mentioned a few percentage points higher. but still lah, quite pathetic when you consider all the things we can do to stimulate them...but im guilty of being kiasu mummy....

Porky
take teh full two weeks and rest well at home! take time to recuperate. hope it wont be tough for you to face your colleagues...all the best!!!

wah, today the thread move so fast...

Jappooh, dmbb, Sarah Ong, bbmouse, thanks for the encouragement! I will wait patiently for the day I can do the test... meanwhile, actually 1 in 49 chance is only 2%! so risk dun look so high after all...

Previous pregnancy I was given Neurogain.. but this time, though same gynae, dunno why he switch to ProLacta with DHA... not sure what is the difference...

hi l'l CY, lucky i do not have much colleagues, only 2 of them. and they called me up today cos i was missing from work for so many days...at least they know it now...

Hi Porky, ignore your MIL's comments, just treat as one ear in and the other ear out.. Or can you just keep yourself in the room so you don't need to face her temporary... Rest well my fren!

Ying Ling, don't worry too much, the result will be good. Take care!

Preggie, so exciting to see the cute bb moving away right? Kekeke..

Hi Porky,
i say hard to have rat bb cos my mense is very irregular i need to take clomid to regular my mense.

Hi ydnic,
do take it easy for your MS. During my 1st preg my MS started b4 i test positive. And all the way till i give birth. The MS only go away on teh 6th and 7th mth. That time i am taking a part time course and have to go 4x per wk for wkday my classmate all very use to my vomit in class lei. My MS is as bad as vomit 12x per day.

Hi Jappooh, my MS also getting worse, yday vomit till I am gagging & coughing, after that my throat burned...

Hi Milkmilk,

I also have a 2.5 year old girl, I'm a SAHM.
I guess every child progress differently. As for my girl, she sometimes does things that irritate me, just to get my attention. She has been rather good these days. Previously, she's very sticky to me, and will cry to get my attention. Lately, I told her that there's baby in my tummy, and she seem to understand that. I will make her tell "baby" to take a nap or go to bed at night during her nap or bedtime. She'll "sayang" my tummy, give my tummy a kiss, and say "time to take a nap baby". I do that to remind her and prepare her. My hubby also told me to be careful with my actions, to be sensitive, so that she doesn't get jealous.
Sometimes during lunch, she wants to move over to my seat, and I'll tell her that I don't have energy to hold her, and distract her to feed me food, or tell her she'll get her favourite fruit after she finishes her meal.
When we are out, I'll hold her hands and let her walk, even for crossing the road. She doesn't ask me to carry her much now, but if she does, I'll tell her I don't have the energy, or that I'm tired. When hubby is around, sometimes hubby will carry her. I want to make it a habit, so that when baby comes, at least she's used to dad carrying her.
Sometimes when I'm angry with her, and scolds her with a loud voice, she'll "shhh..." me and say "there's baby, not so loud". I find this quite funny.
I bring my girl for my gynae visits, and show her baby on the monitor. On the 2nd visit, my girl asked my gynae for the baby's heartbeat. I really don't know how much she knows, but i'm constantly reminding her, and I do somehow think they know.
My girl still wants me to sleep with her. I leave her room when she has fallen asleep. Sometimes she will come looking for me in the middle of the night, or call for me.
At home, she knows that I have to prepare meals. When she is good, she'll play on her own, read her own books, or watch me in the kitchen. If she's bored, she'll open my fridge and irritate me. If I'm unable to handle her, I'll resort to letting her watch her VCD.

I think for now, try to get your son involved, learning to play by himself, or read books on his own. So that when baby comes, he is capable of keeping himself occupied with these activities (hopefully for some time, so that we can do things with the baby). My girl likes reading, and I have been reading to her. She can now memorise some of her favourite books. My girl has recently learnt to use the mouse. So she sometimes go the barney or Thomas website to listen to music or watch short movies.

So, generally, my girl is currently still ok. But I do not know what to do if she gets jealous later with the baby. And if I'm alone at home, and need to breastfeed the baby, or attend to the baby - what actions will I take.

Anyone has suggestions to share?

porky, do stay strong ya, the d&c process will be over very soon. xuanting's cover well on the tips on the mini confinment, also to remember is to rest n rest. btw, jus a suggestion, if u r not ordering confinement food n wan a simple meal, u can boil soup in the slow cooker in the morning, jus add pork n red dates, gou ji zi, ren sheng (those heaty herbs) n let it cook for 3-4 hours n u can consume for lunch n dinner. another suggestion is to steam yr pork n fish with lots of ginger on them. all this r more hassle free cooking if there's no help on yr side.

preggie, when i read yr story, it's so similar to mine, i also lost my 1st boy at 16wks n hv to deliver him in the hospital. the hurt is still in me thou it happened in 2003. reason being heartbeat stopped, that visit was also the 1 which gynae told us can detect gender and we were so happily looking forward. but ended in disappointment n pain. i'm glad i asked to see him for e 1st n last time, n he's only like the size of my palm or smaller. after examination, its some deform in his features. well.. he will always be in my memory and life still goes on. as for my 2nd mc, it was at about 8wks too, similar to porky.

just wanna share, to have a positive mindset, n we can be mummies 1 day. i'm 1 now to my 30m son n looking forward to e next

bbmouse, glad things r fine, n u've saw the distinct heartbeat now. do rest well, this time really cannot bao bao yr gal liao, must tell her to be guai guai n listen to mummy

porky...my heart ache when i read ur post abt ur MIL comment....turn both ears deaf to all tis comments okie....sum people juz speak w/o caring abt others feeling....=)

sasa_xie, so envy your MS tapering off? so good...how i wish mine was tapering off too. At first morning was bad...now was evening was bad.haiz...dunno when will pass.Still very sensitive to smells especially garlics.
That means you are almost having the same EDD as me:>...

bb_mouse, my discharge still smelly most of the time, dunno y.haiz...

hopefully next week will come fast and i can see my gynae and take a few days MC.:>

milkmilk: thanks. yah, after yesteray's scare, i dare not carry her anymore.

Lim: I've stopped my daily tea intake. But once in a while, I indulge in a little bit of canned white chrysanthemum tea.
I take Milo as a substitute.

ydnic: I think it will go away soon. We just have to keep clean by changing the liners more regularly and washing lor.

porky, milk milk, preggie n sunrays
so sorry to hear abt ur mcs. Me feel sad for u all reading abt it.
Glad to know some of u r now mummies!

sunrays,
my colleague also like ur gf. Lost at 5 mths. I was tearing when she told me she cld feel her little boy's head come out of her vagina. She said it was so small. And she cldn't bear to look at him cos she always wanted to rem him as a cute little baby. So sad...

Porky,
ignore ur MIL. If she pretend in front of ur hubby, mebbe u can use hp or watever, record down her hurtful comments and let him listen to it? Then it won't be as if u r the "bad" person.

Not suggesting this to cause conflict, think family conflict is the last thing u need now. Ur hubby doesn't have to confront his mum or anything with the recording, or even say anything to her, but at least he will know the hurt u have to put up with and u dun have to feel like u are a tattle tale or being over sensitive?

Anyway, hope u stay strong. *Hugz* *Hugz* and more *Hugz*

morning...

hope everyone is ok...

porky,
hope u feeling better now.. "bu" more ok...

boise,
i have almost the same prob with u, my gal is now onli 11mth plus, celebrating her 1st birthday on 1mar... till now she still no sign of walking, she is a veri big size gal, er, last weight measured is 10+kg already... so now i have difficulty carrying her... still trying my veri best to encourage her to walk, but she rather crawl... i still don noe wad to do if #2 come, and have to feed 2 of them at the same time?

mommies,
er, suddenly something came to my mind, i don think there is any safe period... i was induce for my gal, abit early, born on week 37... reason, she got no movement on tt particular day(everyday i will count her kicking or boxing , must kick/box mi at least 20times a day), so i quickly went to see my gynea, was strap on with the machine to hear baby heartbeat(ctg?), and baby hearbeat was veri slow... even till the next day, was preparing for delivery, still veri slow... untill the veri last min, when contraction start, den her heartbeat goes up..

ying ling
Know u must be v worried. Take care ya?
dunno which faith u r from, but whichever religion u r, it never hurts to pray!

Have heard of this miracle story from my parish(ok, actually it is more a pro-life story).

The priest told us there was this couple from our church who was advised by the gynae to abort cos something was seriously wrong with the fetus. Sure won't survive, the gynae said, and kept insisting they abort. But my faith is pro-life so they din noe wat to do and consulted this priest. In the end, they made the diff decision of keeping the baby n guess what? When baby was born, baby was totally normal. Not at all like the gynae said!
(Anyone reading this, I must clarify that this is not a story meant to convert anyone hor. Pls dun misunderstand ya? It's a story of hope)

Anyway, hope this is encouraging to you. Mebbe your test is a 5% false postive like the other mummies have said? All the best

yvonne
so you bb is young too. i thought mine has the closest age gap oredi, since he is only 15.5mths now. But he is very very light weight. in fact he has been seeing specialist for weight problem. he doesnt like food and is super active. so when i carry him, its like carrying a wriggly bundle of bones

o yes, dun worry about walking. my son walked only 13mths plus....and it happened so suddenly too.when i actually gave up all hope and thought he'll walk at only 19mths. so you'll never know when your girl will surprise you one day!

isabelle
thanks for the story. very encouraging. ive heard many stories where science cannot explain too. so take heart mummies!!!

lilboymum,
me just replied u in the other thread. Dun think u can take the advice of the book I read cos when I replied i din noe ur boy has weight problem...

ydnic, hehe.... envy ah?? u will soon enter ur honeymoon period too.. haha. my last visit to gynae EDD was 6 sept lor.. near urs rite??

xuanmommy: i dun take coffee but have limited my intake of tea le. read somewhere too much caffeine can cause miscarriage so better dun take too much k. if really must drink den limit urself to 1 cup a day bah... MODERATION is the key word

porky: hope u r ok... do rest after ur d&c k..

ying ling: dun worry k. stay positive. it might have been a false result...

Hi mommies with young toddlers,

Am wondering if your child like to lie on top of you to sleep? My son loves doing that and I have been obliging, but I am worried that it will be bad for the fetus...with the weight above it, etc, even though the weight is still largely on my upper body.

How huh? Should I stop letting my son sleep on me? He's coming to 2 years old soon...

isabelle
actually what you suggested was what the PD and dietitian recommended. but hte prob is to feed him things he likes and that he'll eat enough of it. like ice cream, he will take very very little. the most a half scoop.the prob with him is he doesnt eat a lot. so every meal is a struggle loh.

Ruixiangmom
Think most tods love sleeping on their parents...maybe change position so he doesn't rest on your womb area? I try to get my son to rest his head on my chest but legs off my tummy.

yesterday we went swimming and he kicked me in the tummy...I was so scared that my eyes started to tear in the pool!!!

l'l CY
My dad always told me kids know when they need to eat and when they don't. My son was very hard to feed (yes, and very active too) at one point...we were so worried. He lost a lot of weight - we even have joke photos my hb took with the sign "Will work for Food" in front of him cos he looked so skinny...but after a few weeks or so, he started eating properly again...

Seems like miscarriage is no guarantee that only happens in first trimester.. aiyoh.. now wanan to plan to get baby stuff in few mths' time oso skeptical liao

Hi Isabelle, that was an inspiring story!!!

Xuanmommy: I have stop drinking coffee & tea, only milo, chocolate milk & soya milk now cos of the article as well..

Hi l'l CY...

I brought my normal omega 3 to show my gynae and she said it's not appropriate for preggie women cos the EPA is higher than the DHA..maybe for my particular brand i took, i'm not sure abt others... so in the end i switched to Neurogain.

Hi storeberry,

I'm 11wks now too and just when i tot MS will go away as we approach 12wks, it just seems to get worse! I make it a point to eat my breakfast then wait till at least 45mins then take my pills..cos i dun wanna 'waste' the pills by puking them out too,hehe.

ying ling and sunrays ,
i am 10 weeks now , MS seems increasing , nasueous and faint spells but no vomitting like my first one .. hoping for minie mouse ..feel tired and sick

Quiling, same here... nasueous entire day and walk and stand a little longer then feel faint and short of breathe... seldom vomit, only vomit when there is nothing in my tummy so puke out water with a lot of bubbles in it...

omgod, i was actually happily counting down for the day the ms will go away and i can start enjoying food again. looks like got to tahan beyond 12 weeks now. i'm only about 9weeks, still got a long way to vomit. walau...

my first born , vomit almost every day till 13weeks .. then i can eat normally again .. this one , so good so far .. but very tired and faint , even after walking a few steps fely breathless ..

Ya lo, they say MS is good means bb is growing well but really hope we can pass this stage soon... Eating biscuits now, abit lazy to go buy food... haiz..

hi to all MTB,

im 8 weeks+ now. my gynae is Dr Joycelyn Wong from TMC. EDD is around 25 sept. She's a really good gynae! Glad i choosed her. But are the waiting time always so long ?? Waited for about 1hr 30mins for my 1st appt.

Anyway, like to ask, is it common to have stomach cramps/pains ? Especially when the day before i clear my bowels, i will normally have stomach pain, usually at night. I find it quite difficult to get into the right position to sleep. Sigh..

My gynae offer me a few milk samples which i dont like it at all. Is it okay to drink HL milk ? I told my gynae i only take low fat milk she laughed and said im quite skinny can take milk for pregnant ladies =X

hi bb mouse,
My aunt works in a clinic so she managed to contact the supplier in SG who supplies Neurogain to NTUC Unity pharmacy...she simply ordered thru the main supplier and got a direct discount. I paid abt $183 for 6 bottles...I chked wif my gf who bot frm KKH's pharmacy..the price i bot still cheaper...

Hi qiuling,
hw many bottles do u need? each btl contains 30 capsules. Are you taking it right now?

Hi blueroses...

we are using same gynae!!! i really like her too, very patient & detailed gynae... sorry to hear u waited for so long for your 1st appt...so far so good for me, wait is no more than 30mins.. i think maybe dr wong had emergency the day u visited her? cos my last visit i also waited more than an hr then receptionist told me cos she went for an emergency tats why the delay.

Cramps are common cos the womb is expanding...but i hope it's not severe cramps cos if it is, then u hav to see doc liao... also, i read that it's good to sleep on your left cos sleeping on our left side will increase blood supply and it's good for the bb inside... so better start 'training' to sleep on your left side.

THe best is to drink formula milk for MTBs cos formula milk contains all the nutrients, vitamins that are good for baby inside.. i also cannot tahan drinking milk cos i dun take much dairy products...drinking my glass of milk evryday is like Fear Factor!!
When my mum or hubby looks at me when i'm drinking milk, they'll ask 'really so horrible meh?' I'll tell them they dun understand...milk is something i hated even when i was young...

maybe u shld try different brands? the samples they gave issit EnfaMama? cos i cannot tahan the smell too...but Anmum or DumexMamil is ok for me leh...

i am 9 weeks plus. My MS seems to be getting better..glad i can eat more but i am quite worried as most say that MS means bb is growing well. so conflicting.

For mothers, what do you normally do during your pregnancy? I feel quite bored but does not have much hobby.

hi blue_roses,
i am also not taking milk regularly. i suspect that my vomit is related to milk stuff.

On milk
Usually b4 preggie I drink cold milk in morn.
After preggie I tried to drink twice a day but i'm turned off cold milk so I heated it up.
Worked for 4 days. After that I puked and since then have not dared to touch milk...

hi rabbit,

dun worry...my SIL throughout her whole pregnancy dun even feel any nausea...it's really very individual..i also worried alot initially and get paranoid cos i had a miscarrige last yr.. but it's true that u've to be happy & positive otherwise will affect bb too..

u not wrking? i quit my job after i found out i'm pregnant and have been staying hm to rest since. been watching alot of drama serials(haha) and even playing computer games... but somedays i can spend the whole afternn napping...my hubby calculated it's amazing i can sleep up to 14 hrs a day!!

sometimes when i'm bored, i'll go to the supermart to buy ingredients to cook...i can't really cook but it's a gd time to start learning. it's not very healthy to be eating out all the time anyway..

hi sunrays,

thanks for your positive reply

I am working but taking leave, medical leave etc. Most of my work will be pass over to my colleagues so there is nothing much to do..thus feeling quite bored even in office or at home.
was a little upset but sort out my thots to be a happy mum for the sake of my little one. It's God/Buddha gift (for me).

I have been watching dramas and surf net but i am not sure if too much computer is ok for bb...I am quite tired but just can't really sleep. that leaves me with lots of time sitting around.

I still do not dare to venture out alone. I went out shopping 1 week ago with hubby and almost faint. The feeling is horrible, and i am fearful to step out of the house alone.

I can't stand the smell of cooking at the moment and even ask my mil to close the kitchen door when she cooked. I don't think I can stand cooking.