(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi Porky,

ignore your mil.
I ordered confinement food to be delivered to my place after the D&C as I do not wish to trouble my MIL, also don't want to hear any comments.

hi storeberry and loever,
yes, that's right. My previous gynae used to tell me that it is God's selection to ensure that the fittest survive.

Hi Ying Ling,
All the best. STay postive!

Porky,
dun know how to comfort u but i guess a 'loss' is part of life.
.Learn to let go and look ahead
u can ask ur mum to do a mini confinement for you.
recuperate your health and ttc again

Bigtoes, xuanmommy, Rabbit, thank you.. my gynae only advised me to go for the oscar test as the fluid behind my baby's neck seems a little thicker than normal... I read it from the internet that the chances really increases a lot after the age of 35... there a table shown at http://www.fetalmedicine.ac.uk/antenatal.htm where you could see your chances... so if chances are high, then you will probably have to go for the Amniocenthesis test... else triple or oscar's test will do...

Porky, ignore your MIL... I did a mini confinement as well after my MC... recover well and try again real soon as my gynae says that the body will be more fertile within the first 6 months after the op... take care and continue to eat your folic acid to prepare for the next pregnancy! best of luck!

http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/WomensHealth/First+Trimester+Screening/

Screening for Down Syndrome in each pregnancy can be achieved by the following methods:
Mother's age. The risk of having a child with Down syndrome increases with the mother's age (see Figure 1). However if only women aged 35 years or older is offered an invasive test, Down Syndrome in younger women will not be detected.

Maternal serum screening where the results of a simple blood test done between 15-20 weeks of pregnancy is combined with the mother's age to estimate the risk of Down Syndrome.

The 18-20 week scan where the presence or absence of structural abnormalities or soft tissue markers can be used to better predict the risk of Down Syndrome.

Hi @loever@,
i am out of the list cos i haev a MC 2wk+ ago.

Porky,
sorry to hear abt your loss. Do take care and rest well. I didnt have any comfinement for this one cos during that time my granny is in hopsitial and i ahve been rushing here and there.. Now i can feel that i am actually not that well after the MC. Feel weak and tire easily..

Ying Ling,
dun worry too much.. Might be false alarm. when during my 1st preg my gynae check the baby neck thickness (NT scan) and say that is way out of the range.. I was ask to do another test which is a more detial scan together with a blood test. The scan can see the baby internal organ all that.. And from there i knw my bb gender also (though that time is just suspect buthte chance are high is a boy) by then i am only 11 or 12wks only. Which all the result they will use a software and calcuate the risk. I do not knw is that call OSCAR as those MTB mention. But KKH have a diff name for that test. If u interested i can find out for u. Stay positive and talk to your baby..All the best to u.

Mrs Yap,

Thanks for responding. My edd is 25 sep 08. My baby CRL is 2.02cm. Is it normal if my baby is in 8 weeks 5days.
Kinda of worry since im put on bedrest.

I got chill the other night and bleeding. And my gynae said having cramps is abnormal, got to be careful.

hi rabbit, thats a good idea. i also do not wish to bother my MIL and ask her to prepare the confinement food for me...my mum cant do confinement for me cos she has her own business to tend to. which caterer do u use ? can u give me the contact ? thanks in advance !

Hi Ying Ling,
another things is from teh scan can u see your baby nasal bone (dunno is that correct the bone is at the nose there). From from wat i knw id teh bone is present the risk of having DS actually goes down.

I understand your feeling cos i cry everyday until my result is bad. The bad things is i go for all teh scan alone cos my hubby is overseas.

hi jappooh, nice to see u at this thread again. so how is ur health now ? since u did not go thru a mini confinement...hope u rest well and have good news again.

Hi Porky,
i can say that my health is not really good now. I dunno is due to the MC or i have been too busy lately cos my granny in hopsitial i need to rush to and fro.. Emotionally i am getting better though at time i will still be sad. But i tell myself i have to be strong cos i haev a little boy to care at the same time.

I will still keep trying for a rat baby though i knw the chances are slim. I only manage to get preg with the clomid pills. Currently i am not taking cos i give myself some time to recover 1st.

Stay strong and i believe u will be blessed with a cute and healthy baby in near future..

Ying Ling: The results of the OSCAR test is not final. Don't worry abt the amniocethesis, as I said it is all very advanced now. Good luck.

Jappooh, Porky: Appreciate you both coming back here to give encouragement. I have some dark red spotting again today after carrying my dotter. Am wondering if I shd go eee my gynae. Supposed to see him only this Fri.

Hi bbmouse,
i think u better see gynae soon just to play safe.
2 days b4 my bleeding i actually carry my boy and after that i feel some cramp and the day b4 i bleed i still carry my laptop to go for site testing. So i blame myself for the MC. Though bth gynae unable to tell me is it due to that..

Eventually i pick up myself and think positively that might be the foteus is unhealthy thats why choose to leave us now.. I must say thanks to my supportive hubby.

Do seek gynae advice asap and try not to carry your dotter or carry heavy things. Take care.

hi porky,

sorry, i need to check with hubby if he has contact as he was the one making arrangement but he is currently out of town. Update you again. Remember to rest well...

I found some links from the internet, maybe you like to check out the menu and price:
http://www.natalessentials.com/conf_menu.html
http://www.newbaby.com.sg/

I think I ordered 1-2 weeks of confinement food, but it was a little expensive as it was last minute order...it even comes with the "hongzao" drink.

Hi ladies, thank you for the additional info on Down Syndrome.

hi bbmouse, all the best.

jappooh, sorry for your loss, and u take good care while travelling to and fro to visit your granny.

porky & jappooh, think it's good for you both to take DOM and rice wine. just do a mini cofinement, refrain from cold drinks pls, no seafood also. take more pig's liver n drink those herbal soup when u r outside.

it's good to take tonics coz heatiness is good now, it will strengthen your body.

Hi porky,..i thought i m ok already...emotionally and physically. but after reading ur post..it made me tears again. I understand ur feeling now...dun be too sad, ok? Must be strong for urself and ur family, think positive.

I am doing only the so so confinement, as i m staying alone at home most of the time. My hubby is working, so he only took leave during my surgery day and 1/2 day for the next day. after that, i m at home alone, so i need to cook for myself. My mum is overseas...and my mil has passsed away..so i have no one to ask for advise also. this forum is indeed a great place for support, thanks a lot, gals !

Dun worry abt tomoro surgery, everything will be fine. You wont feel the pain at all, except for the period cramp (if u choose to put medicine to dilate the cervix), and after the surgery, the pain will still be there for a while. If u need to chat more, let me know...k? In the mean time, take good care of urself, cheer up!

hi shirley, nice to see u here again after the loss and sorry if i made u tear again...pls do urself some tonic soups to "bu" ur health back. hope we can still have a ratty bb together. i have also been very teary today especially when relatives and some frens called me and ask abt my blood test results...i have to keep repeating the same thing like a spoilt radio...actually i am still shivering at the thot of the D&C tmr but Dr Woody said there is no pain at all...btw gynae has ask me to take 2 pills to dilate the cervix and fast till the next morning...wondering how is the pain after i pop these 2 pills tonight...life is like so miserable for this year chinese new year...

jappooh, i really admire ur strong will. pls continue to be strong and u have a boy to take care. why u say ur chances are slim for a rat bb ?

hi rabbit, thanks. can we only take the hongzhao water ? what abt other drinks like milo or plain water ?

hi bbmouse, take care. not to worry too much

hi porky,

shd be fine to have other drinks. no cold drinks. I was told not to carry heavy stuff as well..not too sure what's the rationale behind.

Hi Bigtoes,

U referring to the Spring Sale at Suntec rite? I went there on Sunday. eermm... quite disappointed lah, coz the clothes quite limited in designs and sizes. in the end i bot 2 dresses n a top. spent $77 all in all.

if u are looking for pants, think they do have. but not sure abt the sizes wor. a few of my frens went and bot a few pants too... the things are cheap for maternity wear...

ydnic,

Smelly discharge?? eermm... not that i noticed leh. does ur V feel itchy? coz it might be infection. when's ur nxt visit to the gynae? perhaps u can get doc to test it.

alternatively, do u take yoghurt? hhmm... yoghurt helps mi whenever i feel tat i have got infection. hope it helps!!

hi porky..i also had medicine to dilate the cervix, put it was not taken orally. Instead it was insert to the vagina few hrs b4 surgery. my surgery is at 1pm, so i can still have early bf tat day, no food and drinks for me after 7pm. After the surgery, i was also given 2 antibiotics..doc said is to prevent infection. 1 of the antibiotic cannot have alcohol taken, and the other cannot have dairy/milk. So, i didnt take milo also. I do take plain water when taking the medicine.

have a peaceful sleep tonight..dun think too much..everything will be over soon, and then can start planning for another baby again..who knows we will still be able to catch up for the little mickey/minnie! Gd luck

ya..understand how u felt..i m quite sensitive too when ppl ask me how m i doing?! then i will get very emotional and starts to tears again..really hope can get it over soon!

sasa_xie, me going next wednesday to do the OSCAR and also seeing the doctor.
I dun dare to eat anything coz i will vomit...:> MS quite bad.

porky.. yeap yeap...agree with rabbit. dun take cold & liang drinks k. oso avoid carrying heavy things or squatting coz juz had the op and the womb is still weak..

porky and jappooh, it's good to take 1 bottle of essence of chkn everyday. but stay away from cold drinks n seafood for abt 4 mths, coz seafood might cause infection n rashes.

my cousin also did a D&C last yr, n she did a mini confinement. and she was preggie again 2mths later!!! just wanna encourage mommies tat it's possible to conceive again when we take good care of ourselves.

jia you!! jia you!!

Just came back from gynae and we saw bb kicking and moving .Bb is now about 4 cm and growing well. Could see hubby glowing with joy.
Cant wait for next visit in 2 weeks!

for my m/c last sep, bb's heartbeat stopped at 16 weeks and bleeding was detected in placenta. but there was absolutely no signs of m/c before that.no spotting no pains etc. We were super traumatised as we were expecting to be able to have a glimpse of bb's sex at that particular visit. instead we had to schedule for a d/c the same day. I will never forget that day! I think what made it worse was that the gynae was not very sympathetic. All she kept saying was that 'you're still young can try again' but in my heart i was like i only want my bb!!

It was a pleasant and welcoming surprise that i became pregs again in Jan as it was quite soon after the m/c.
Anyhow for this pregnancy i changed gynae and he actually revealed at the first visit that i have a double uterus which makes me 1% of the women in the world who has it. Like kanna toto .and that my safe period ends at about 18 - 20 weeks as m/c chnaces are much higher.
We were quite pissed that our previous gynae never mentioned a thing about me having this condition and being extremely careful and abstaining from sex until 20 weeks. Anyhow, we let bygones be bygones and we are praying for this bb to grow well and stick well.

My current gynae however mentioned that chances of m/c greatly reduced after 1st trimester for normal women and even more if m/c has occurred before. So dun worry k? We should all look forward to a successful pregnancy and birth. I believe staying positive helps tremendously

I seek comfort in praying everyday for this bb's good health and growth. I think it helps.....

hi shirley, ya think i better dun think too much abt it liao...just hope the procedure is over soon and recover well. my appt is tmr morning 7.30 am so early...Dr say can try after 2 cycle of mense if everything is back to normal. so should be still in time for mickey or minnie loh. but will be year end bb. hehe. btw, r u on hospitalisation leave for 2 weeks ? i sms my boss today and tell him abt this, he is so kind and ask me to have a good rest and don think abt work

the thread is moving so fast! I'm going for my blood test next wed and having detailed scan next friday and my gynae will review the results with me then. Really worried about the withdrawal of blood part cos my blood circulation is very slow and alwas clog before the nurse can withdraw half a syringe of blood.

My SIL told me that the down syndrome test my gynae (using the same gynae) will be doing is to measure the fetus' nose.

Pray for everything to go well and smooth for everyone's baby!

wow, I didnt know there's such a thing as double uterus and the chances of having it is 1% in the world! preggieblues, hey, who knows u will kena toto for tomorrow, cos got higher chance of striking $10M then having this unique situation. =)

porky: your doctor is right! after D&C, my friends conceived within 3 mths cos the womb is very "clean" and it has a conducive environment to conceive baby. God Bless you and hubby with peace and lotsa rest and love!

Mums: I'm back. The baby and scan is fine. Heartbeat is picked up very distinctly this time round. I still have the bloos clot, dunno if that's the reason for the spotting. Got another jab, and another 1 week MC. Gynae says I must rest.

hi porky, have you noted the list of things to do/not do after the d&c? it's a good idea to cater the confinement food if your mil has problems with it. have it for about two weeks. as for drinks, you need to get longans and red dates to brew, and drink only that for two weeks. try to avoid cold drinks for the time being too. after that, you may wish to see a tcm to tiao2 your body before trying again. take care ok. if you need to cry, don't hold it back. you need to grieve in order to move on. jia you okay, porky. hugs.

hi sasa_xie,Ya next week is my 12th week.By right, MS should get better but i still find it quite bad. Sometimes i eat the anti-vomit medicine i still puke...thats very terrible for me.:<

hi preggie, wow thats nice to hear tat ur bb is active now. so how many weeks are u from 1st trimester ? i also never heard of double uterus before...why ur 1st gynae did not diagnosis that in the 1st place...anyway, like shazz said, mayb u will be one of the lucky people to strike the toto hongbao tmr !

hi shazz, why after D&amp;C our womb is very clean to conceive another bb ? i thot should be very hurt...cos is like an abortion mah...sorry cos i am very ignorant abt all this...

yndic: I get very smelly brown discharge on and off. Yes, it's unbearable, and I have to change panty liners at every toilet visit now.

ydnic,

nvm.. should always take heart that the worse u feel, the stronger bb is.. so it's all worthwhile de.

wow.. sounds like ur MS is very very bad. i got NS but it's slowly tapering off le.

hehe... so we are about the same lor.. hehe.. i'll be 12w nxt wk too..

Preggie: Do you mind sharing the name of your first gynae with us? It's not diligent of her not telling you abt this condition. My gynae told me condition will be stable only after 11 - 12 weeks. So I still have 1 more month to go.

hi xuanting, can u show the list of things that can do/cant do after D&amp;C ? i guess some of us like me, shirley, jappooh and cynthia might need to know and we really hope to be well soon. thanks.

Porky, do take care. And I think we can choose to ignore our IL's snide remarks.

I only realised recently that my ILs blamed me for my MC 3yrs back. They blamed me for the fact that I fell down while blading even though I was pregnant. But I did not even realise that I was pregnant cos we were not actively TTC.

I felt like showing them statistics that its very common for mc to occur nowadays.

Recently when they found out that I am pregnant, they told me 不要再跌到了。#%$@%^@$^$^!!!!!

Anyway.. jia you! jia you! waiting to hear good news from u real soon.

Porky: Hey girl. I think blaming ourselves is a very common but wrong thing to do. Really it is not your fault at all. If the baby is unhealthy, this is probably better for you and the baby. Focus on getting better and healthy again for the next pregnancy. Don't bother abt the insensitivites of your MIL. Tell yourself you have better things to do.

crayonshinchan &amp; bbmouse, thanks for encouraging me. ya i keep telling myself to be well soon and to ignored those insensitives words...but quite difficult at times cos i am always alone with my mil most of the time. (only 3 of us staying together and hb is at work). just now she even call one of the auntie and comment to her that she thot next cny can bring her grandchild to show them...OMG ! is as if that i cant conceive anymore...i went to my room and cry again...

Porky: Maybe you shd tell your hubby to tell his mum not to say such thing in front of or behind you when you're at home with her. Tell him that at this time, you're very fragile emotionally and such remarks are hurtful and harmful to you. I think your hubby will know what to do.
Sometimes old people are like that. Ignore them.

hi porky,

It must be tough for you...both mentally and physically.
Previously, I told my husband to "warn" my mil not to make any comment...i know it is rude but i can't stand it. i also locked myself in the rooom and cried. How abt staying with your mum for the time being?

It took me a while to settle down...Can get really upset and cry easily even at the sight of little babies..

hi crayonshinchan,

I was like you..didn't know i was pregnant. i felt that there are certain things which i have done that caused the m/c. I never tell my inlaws abt it. I am guilty enough, no need more "fire". My first gynae told me to abort it and the second gynae told me to leave it to the laws of mother nature.

hi porky, it's basically like a scaled-down version of a full confinement. here's what i can recall from what some of the ladies at the m/c thread told me last time: no cold or cooling stuff eg ice cream, watermelons, green tea etc. if you're not ordering confinement food, you'll need to cook your food with lots of sesame oil and ginger to get rid of the wind. drink only the longan (dried) and dates drink for 2 weeks (no plain water). don't exert yourself, rest as much as you can.

those are the basics but if you wish, you may also shower with the special herbs from the medical halls (or use lemon grass) and also buy herbs for making soup and drink them every week or so (the medical halls should know which ones). some people also drink dom every night and some drink a bottle of chicken's essence every morning.

basically, stay warm and dry whenever you can. i didn't follow all these when i had my mc; i only had the longan and red dates drink (got addicted and drank it for more than 2 wks) but i did see a tcm about a week later and have been taking tcm to tiao2 my body ever since.

take these 2 mths as an opportunity to build up your health; your hubby's also. eat well, rest well so that you can be stronger and your next bb will be as healthy as it can be.

Porky, dun blame urself k, coz it is absolutely NO fault of urs that such a thing happened. Ignore your insensitive, inconsiderate MIL. &amp; yeap.. agree with bbmouse, think u should let ur hb noe what's happening and tell him to talk to his mum about it. Really unfair to blame u on something which is not ur fault.

take care. huggz...

Hi Porky,

When I lost my bb last yr, it was a terrible feeling..cried for 3 days but after that i was fine liao. Cos if u think of the bright side, it was nature's way of getting rid of an 'unhealthy' bb..u rather lose it now than carrying til much later. I had a gf who had to 'give birth' to her bb when she was 5mths pregnant cos her waterbag leaked and her body went into labour. She had to bury her tiny baby and she told me she can alrdy see her facial features, fingers and tiny feet alrdy formed. So when i lost my bb, i tot to myself, it wasnt so bad cos i didnt really see the bb 'form' yet...

Dun worry abt the D&amp;C process, it's painless and the moment i woke up alrdy can go toilet to pee without pain too. Just rest as much as possible and eat well too. I drank the red date longan drink all the time cos old folks say cannot even drink plain water! And in medical halls, they sell sachets of herbal bath water, but abit troublesome cos u have to boil water just to bathe...add the sachet with a few pcs of ginger to a pail of water and bathe.

Having an understanding hubby is the greatest feeling...cos my mum also nagged non stop and didnt understand why MC so common...she kept blaming me for allowing gynae to do vaginal scan!! But my hubby was there for me...even took leave to cook confinemt food for me.. so dun worry, you'll be fine in no time!!

Take good care!!