(2008/09) Sep 2008

Milkmilk, I leave my baby girl (almost 1yr) to the maid. Sometimes I play with her in her play yard, sometimes I bring her onto the bed to play. But I dont' carry her for long periods anymore. At most I sit down and hug her.

bb mouse
u are so lucky, My girl rejects me sitting down to carry her. Worse of all she wants me to carry her and walk around!
If not she will scream and cry and roll around on the floor like a super spoilt brat. Nobody can touch her or she will scream at the person. She'll only stop if I carry her.
I always give in cos she has never behaved so badly before and I know it's bcos she misses me carrying her. I can't ignore her or punish her cos it's a normal request from a little kid, to want her mummy to carry her

Think she's fed up how come after all these weeks everytime she asks me to bao bao her, someone else will come and carry her away...

Isabelle; Have you tried talking to her that you're unwell and is carrying a baby inside you? Maybe she'll understand more. I also read that the elder one will become more sticky when the mum is preggie again. I certainly feel this way with mine.

bb mouse
i did tell her abt new baby. Every nite she will pt to my tummy, smile and say "baby". Then she will kiss my tummy and sometimes say "sayang"... When I ask her do u love baby she will say yes. Can mummy love Isabelle and baby, she also says yes. But when I say mummy love daddy ok? She becomes agitated and says noooo!!!! Haha. My hubby v "dui"!

And two of my SILs had new bbs recently. She likes her two meimeis v much. Not jealous when me, hubby or her dear "ye ye" carries them.

Also tried telling her my tummy will be painful if i carry her but when she doesn't care leh, or shld i say, she doesn't understand... Sigh...

anyone did the Oscar's test? I just went to see the gynae today and there were some abnormalities in the area behind the neck and he advised me to go for a check.. so just went for Oscar's test and looks like there is a chance that my baby has down syndrome... the scan does not look too good... got to wait for blood test result first to confirm..

anyone has similar experience before?

isabelle,bbmouse
i dunno if it makes a diff in gender. my boy is still insisting i carry him carry him carry him. he is super sticky now. he used to be so ecstatic when he goes to his ah-gongs place, but just now he was whining all the while...

i told him theres a baby, he will shake his head and whine....

how huh???? i feel so bad sometimes. the reason i stopped work is to spend more time with him, and now...haiz....

milkmilk
your boy 30mths liaoz. should be quite ok now right?

Ying Ling, Don't worry first. Want to share that 2 mums frm my other thread shared that they also got a false positive for their OSCAR test (ie their prob is high that the baby has DS). But both babies turn out fine.
Wait for the test results first. And after that, the doc may advise you to go for an Amniocenthesis test.

me girl also want me to carry her..
will try to carry her for 10min while going home, but i also cant tahan long cos she is 28mths & 12kg now

At home, when she ask me to carry, i will carry for a few min, then bring her to sofa and ask her sit by herself heehee..she seem ok sometime.

she is also v. sticky to me now, dun kn ow is it due to me pregnant. didnt tell her cos i am afraid the pregancy didnt turn out well then a disappointment for us and her too..

hope my sat scan show good news..though me no spotting and light ms..but first scan didnt see heartbeat..make me worry..

hi jasmine and evergreen,

not sure if i had thalessemia test before. Check dr last week, he didn't suggest to take this with Oscar test....maybe will ask him again.

i sidetrack abit hoh

Does ur hubby accompany u all to gynea visits one huh? My hubby just called and said he headache and wants me to go alone.

Aiyoh.. just a headache nia leh as compared to some of u out there that is suffering from vomitting spells etc rite? Haiz

Goldfish: My hubby goes with me to each visit. Sometimes I find very mafun, tell him no need. He will still send me there.

Just to check with you gals. My gynae asked me if I want to do a neck thickness test on my next visit. She never asked me to do an OSCAR test and I saw that the neck thickness test is part of the OSCAR test. So am I considered doing the OSCAR test? Until now, I have not done any blood test.

Just want to share my experience with my 3 year old niece. I did not tell my niece about my pregnancy but the strange thing is that ever since I am preggie, she is very very sticky to me. Yes, she is close to me but not the type that insist I carry her. Since preggie, she will jump on me or would grab my hand to carry her. She will not allow me to sleep and will even follow me to the toilet. The worst thing is on many occasions, she would smell my breasts and open her mouth to suck me. I was quite shocked but did not pay attention to her. Till it became very frequent. When I asked her why she did that, she just smile.

Somehow I think children are sensitive enough to know what's happening.

Goldfish:

Try to talk to your hubby about your tots. Maybe your hubby really has a severe headache? Try not to let these affect your mood. As it is, pregnancy hormones already makes us very emotional so just have to stay positive. I have seen many many preggie mummy going for gynae visits and antenatal classes alone.

Also, the urge and suspense of seeing bb are enough to force us to drag ourselves to see gynae regardless of how sick we are. I guess guys are different bah.

For impt scans like 12th week OSCAR scan or the 20th wk detailed scan, it is better to have hubby accompany you lor. Hubby will feel closer to bb.

Wingkei,

It would be good to inform your gynae in advance that you want to do a blood test as well. Just tell nurse the blood test is for First Trimester Screening. However, if costs is not an issue for u, it is good to be tested for blood count and HIV.

Hi gals!

Can I check if the result for the OSCAR or NT are immediate or if not, abt how many days we will need to wait? Thnks in adv!

dmbb

I took my blood test 1 day prior to NT scan. I received my NT scan and blood test result immediately after the NT scan. No need to wait.

hi Goldfish,

my husband did not go with me for my first scan because he has to attend class which makes me very upset (as it was the first and I was so scared).
I just show him the scan pic and did not explain the scan. He cannot stand it and finally wait for the 2nd scan and was really happy to see the bb himself (more excited than me).

hi rabbit ... no i havent experienced ear pain. but i have been experiencing lower back pain and constipation
Maybe the pain in your ear is not because of pregnancy?

Hi,Rabbit

Me also no experiences ear pain.. same as preggie, lower back pain and bad constipation.. on the toilet bowl for half and hour, and only small "chocolate" dropped out.. like stone, sink all the way to the bottom..

think maybe you are feeling heaty...is your lip also red red instead of normal pinkish colour? if so, then most prob you are heaty..

Im new in this motherhood. Hope we can share our value experiences here. I hope i didn't miss out too much fun here.

Btw, im 8 weeks 5days and my gynae is dr fong at gleneagles.

Do any one or friends here ever experience blood clots around placenta? Hope you can share with me.

hello Sarah... I am exactly 9 weeks pregnant... when is yr EDD? I have blood clot near placenta... same as Storeberry too... both our doc advise that the blood will flow out or disperse... think is not a big issue... but u still must still take care

Hi Rabbit, I don't have ear pain as well..

Hi sarah, welcome! I had blood clot also, now taking hormone tablets, hopefully it will disperse soon. I am in my 11 weeks le. Dr say to rest & not to work...

sad to say i got a miscarriage...today blood test results say hcg level is dropping...will be gg for D&C on thursday.

xuanmommy, pls remove me from the list, cant join u mummies anymore. bye bye my little bb.....

porky.... have a good rest at home . cry if you need to k. recuperate well and prepare for the next pregnancy. wish you well....

porky...sorrie to hear dat....msn mi if u need sumbody to talk to....noe how u are feeling now....rest well & take good care of urself...do a mini confinement too....**hugz**

thanks anyone. have cried in front of Dr Adrian just now...and he shared with me his story on his wife's miscarriage...before he got 3 healthy kids now...the 1st picture on his right is his 3 kids.

piyobaby, i have ask u some questions at support group thead...

Hi Porky,

Pls take good care of yourself. I have been through this few years ago. I had an empty sac and not aware of this till 8 weeks pregnant.

I had a D&C and stayed overnight at the hospital. Try to do a mini confinement cos it will help to 'bu' your body back. I didnt do it and health was really bad.

Cry out loud and dont keep to yourself. Talk to your hubby. He will definitely feel as sad as you. Though he may not voice out his feelings but he is as upset as you.

You will feel uncomfortable after the D&C so must really rest well. Must prevent infection lor. Menses will come for a few weeks. Mine not much just that I had stomach cramps for quite awhile.

porky... take care... i feel v sad for u too... Its not yr fault that the baby is gone...
Even when the husband is a gynae doesnt make a miscarriage avoidable...It has been a ordeal for u all these while... u can grieve but pls do not let it overwhelm u... I really hope u take care n rest well, eat well and prepare for yr next healthy pregnancy.

hi porky, do take care n most importantly rest well now. take time to nurse yr health 1st.

bbmouse, yr gal very good leh, allow u to sit down n hug hug. my boy not so cooperative although he's a big boy now

isabelle, liboymum, me like u, son wan to carry n stand n walk walk especially when about to sleep. maybe cos i'm a sahm, so its always special attention on him. how old r yr kids now?

hi evergreen, u mean will feel pain and uncomfortable after D&C ?? i thot Dr Woody told me there is no pain and will be put to sleep de...

Porky, take care of yourself.. I lost my first baby when it was at 13 weeks... now I have one lovely daughter and pregnant with #2... After the op, I felt fine, no pain... though my gynae said that I was not put to sleep, only partial GA, I totally have no recollection of what happened and was as it I was sleeping until the GA effect is over after the op...

thanks mrs yap, milkmilk, storeberry, preggie and evergreen. alto i cant join u mommies now, but pls rem to take ur pills everyday and take good care. all will be fine and u will be over the 1st trimester very soon. we will make a come back soon after recovery. hopes still in time for a ratty bb.

yeah .... kudos to you .... you are much stronger than you know. i was totally depressed when i lost bb at then 16 weeks last sep. but now i have come out a more determined mtb and will do all i can for this baby. you can do it too... hubby and family play a very important role during this time, do not distant yourself from them. take heart that there are many who care and love you .... *hugs*

Porky: Sad to hear this. BUt very encouraged by your spirit and strength. As what other mums say, take good care of yourself and bu back your health. Will definitely help for the future. Hope to see you around soon.

Sarah: Same as Mrs Yap and Storeberry, I also have blood clots. But I think they're at the uterus, not placenta. Same thing. Gybae said it they shd go away. Am on MC to bed rest. How abt you?

milkmilk: Maybe it's becos your son is really close to you mah. Sad to say, my dotter is very close to my maid.

hi Porky,

Sorry to hear abt it. Pls take care of yourself and prepare for the next stage.
I had a D&C 2 years back when bb lost heart beat at 7 weeks, no cause was identified. I have been working hard to be a mother (try natural, IUI and finally IVF), I am sure you will be a mother one of these days.

hi preggie, LC and storeberry,

Thanks. Not sure too..if persist, I think I will go see GP. I can't take much water, maybe it is heaty. I worry abt infection.

porky
sorry to hear abt ur mc. If you need to grieve, dun hold back cos I'm sure this baby must be special to you. But must rem to take care of your health k?

hi milk milk,
my girl is 20 mths old now.

hi sarah
i think me has blood clot too. But my gynae called it retroplacental blood, not sure if it's the same... This is preventing part of my placenta from attaching propely.
Apparently I must rest a lot to give the placenta a chance to attach itself to the uterine wall.

Milk milk, lilboy mum n bbmouse,
that's why I'm not supposed to carry my girl...

evergreen,
after hearing abt ur niece, I'm wondering if mebbe we smell different cos of the hormonal changes and the kids r so sensitive they can detect. Mebbe that's also y my girl has become so sticky!

hi milkmilk
my boy is 15mths, coming to 16mths. he also wants to be carried and walk around. haha...dun even know when this practice was started leh. im oso sahm, so i guess i spoilt him lah....

isabelle
rest well and thank God your girl is well behaved....

porky
take care and rest well. have good nourishing food and drink lotsa 'bu' drinks

Hi Porky
Sad to hear abt ur MC. Do take care.

My backache is killing me ! Didnt sleep well the whole nite. regardless of whether I sleep on my right, my left or on my back... my back is very painful...argh ! Even now in office my backache is still painful..

Any mummies planning to go Airshow this weekend ?

Porky,

Though I am put to sleep, I still feel crampy and pain on my stomach. I cannot remember what happened but after the whole ordeal, I felt empty. Whole body is weak and really tired. That's why impt to do mini confinement thereafter.

Yes, I am also encouraged by your strength and positive thinking. Meanwhile, must 'bu' your health back, k? Take care!

Isabelle,

My mum and relatives believed my niece knows what is going on but cannot express her tots in words. She has indeed became very very sticky to me since Day 1 I became preggie. I have to lock my room door so that I can have a good sleep. She would cry and bang on my door till she became too tired and fell asleep. Felt guilty about it but I have to strike a balance between her and my bb mah. She wasnt like this previously.

Come to think about it, I remembered my spotting worsen when she tried to jump on my stomach to force me to carry her. She will also grab me with force. When I told her my tummy pain pain, she would grab my legs.

Guess we just have to be very careful and make sure our stomach is well protected.