(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ying Ling (stormmie) - Sorry to hear about ur pass MC and 13 weeks. Am just wondering when we would be in the 'safe' zone. I know its supposedly after the 1st trimester (week 13 onwards), but seems that there is no real safety zone

At this stage, I sometimes wonder if the baby is doing well (no reassurance till the next ultrasound scan)! Btw, what is the 1st sign of a MC? Spotting and bleeding? Or there are some instances where the baby just stops growing for no reason...?

As for the OSCAR/NT screening - am also echoing dmbb (dmbb) qtn if the results are immediate? Or do we have to wait till the next gyne appnt (like 3 weeks later)?

Hi Porky,

Sorry for hear about ur M/C. Do take care and agree on the mini confinement part. I personally have had 2 m/cs, so rather anxious abt this current one. My heart juz beats like nobody's business while waiting to see the gynae each visit.

Take time to grieve and learn to let go. It might be a blessing in disguise as it is nature's way of terminating a *sick* foetus. hope to see u back in the MTB threads again!!

Porky
Do not reproach urself why it happen to u etc.. stay positive like what u are doing rite now! I am sure u will be blessed with a new baby in time to come

hi mummies ,
the thread is really fast .. keke . just a few days and so much archives ..
Porky , u take care and try to "bu" a bit k ?
These few days my MS is getting stronger and things my bb mouse cannot eat , i will puke it out .. and chesse is something i cannot take .. took chesse bread yesterday and puke the cheese out only .. try to take swensons baked rice to prove it and puke the cheese out too .. al the rice went in .. keke .. cheese is rejected by bb moouse ..

Porky,

Take good care of yourself and be strong... When you have fully recuperated, then you would be in good condition and health to attempt for baby again..

Bigtoes, the gynae is also unsure what happened... I had no signs of MC... the heartbeat just stopped... I also thought we would be safe after 1st trimester... Then I heard from a friend that she was distraught in her first pregnancy as she lost the baby for no reason and the heartbeat just stopped at 28 weeks.... but she carried on to have 3 other children after that...

I just went for the OCSAR/NT screening, I did it yesterday and should be getting results today... but not sure how the results will look like and whether it will make sense to me... probably have to wait for my gynae to take a look at it first to say if it is normal or not (hopefully he does it today as well)... I hope everything goes fine for me... the scan did not look too good...

Porky
Sorry to hear your sad news but as all other mummies and MTBs here have said, it is good you are keeping a positive outlook (as positive as u can) and are going to try again. All the best and do take care of yourself well...as evergreen said, good to do mini confinement, as body will be weakened.

Safety zone
As Bigtoes mentioned, some mums have talked about MC in 13, 16 week etc. Anyone who's gone thru that can share what happened? Any early indications/warnings? Or just sudden loss of heartbeat etc?

Seems like many of u haf taken ur blood tests leh!
I asked gynea last nite and he said normally got 2 tests which is done at week 12 and den week 16. Week 12 is OSCAR and week 16 is wat triple test leh! His style is to do the week 16 test cos miscarriage is high so advisable to do at week 16. My gynea is a beri 'safe' person one leh.. everytime i wanna to think far, he bring me back to reality as in he will tell me next time den discuss more abt it cos no pt to talk now oso.

Bt week 16 is like so far away leh... u all tink i shld demand to do it now? Or is tat not necessary?

Goldfish, if gynae thinks no need to take tests earlier then no need lah. OSCAR is only between 11-16 weeks anyway.

how about Obimin...are you all taking that already? Wasn't given any vits to take...only folic acid...

Goldfish, I think the test is dependent on your age... If you are below 30, the triple test will do... if you are above 30, at times Oscar test is needed... I did the triple test when I was below 30. This time, as there are some abnormalities seen from the scan, he advised me to do the Oscar test... the Oscar test is more expensive then the triple test if I remember correctly... so if not necessary, dun need to do it lah...

Goldfish, think ur gynae would be in a better position to advise on which tests to take. he muz have his reasons for not telling u to take the OSCAR test. think it's either or. Either take OSCAR or Triple Test.

Other MTBs, do correct me if i'm wrong k..

Ava,
I wasnt given other vitamins oso. gynae didnt even ask me if i still had folic acid.. haha.

Goldfish (goldfish1395)- so are u planning to skip the OSCAR/NT test? This has to be done during the small window in week 11-13, think cannot be done after that.

Not sure what is scheduled by your gyne for week 16, though the other option for down syndrome testing is later (think week 20) using the amnoitic fluid.

Ying Ling (stormmie) - your friend's baby's heartbeat stopped at week 28? That would have been traumatic...so much closer to birth already! I always thought that after the 1st trimester, the babies are deemed healthy, and the only likely reason for a MS would be severe illness by the mum, or some accident (like falling down the stairs)....

Using Amnoitic fluid
I believe it is normally done for people above 35 where the risk of down syndrome starts to increase... and I heard that it is very painful...

bbmouse, you mentioned that your friends got a false positive result from the Oscar test... does that mean that they went through the Amniocenthesis test only to find that it is a false alarm?

hi girls:

I am just wondering whether anyone encounter having a retro placenta blood near the gestational sac during your first trimester?

Anyone know what is the cause of it and implications?

goldfish,
wad is triple test? i did not do this test before on my first preg... i onli did the oscar, and normal blood test... and had a detail scanning later...

Bigtoes, ya, she was really lost and dunno what to do... almost like cannot believe it and wants to carry on the pregnancy. It took a while for the fact to sink in...

YingLing: Exactly. They got a false positive on OSCAR test, then went to do the amniocenthesis and turns out it's negative. I've heard of 3 cases so far.

Porky, sorry to hear abt your mc, do take care and we are proud of your postive outlook for life! if U take good care and hv a mini confinement, i'm sure u can hv a little minnie or mickey!! do drop by to pick up the babydust in here ok! hugzzz...

YingLing: Yah lor. I also hope I don't have to. One thing is these days the skills and technology in performing an amniocenthesis is much more advanced. The % in miscarriage is 1%, I think many yeasrs back, it was as high as 30%.

YingLing: Not yet. The test is done between 11 and 14 weeks. I'm only in my week 7.

My EDD is actually early oct, but I'll be going for c-section so joined the sep thread instead. I guess my baby will be the "youngest" in terms of EDD here.
What abt you?

bbmouse, oh, you are opting for c-section. Any particular reason for this decision? I am in my week 12 now so I have done my oscar test yesterday and awaiting result sometime today... there are some abnormalities in the scan so now awaiting the blood test result... really hope I do not have to go through the Amniocenthesis test...

Hi, Porky

Sorry to hear abt your sad news.. Does your mum or MIL know abt it? if so, they might be able to do a mini confinement for you after your d/c which should not affect the fertility according to my Gynae.. he said it all lies in our bodies.. D/C dun normally affect the fertility though it is widely thought to have an impact. you might lose a lot of blood so must take some tonic to bu xie.. those chicken essence with dang gui is rich which you might want to consume every night.. stay away from cold drinks and cooling food..Bai feng wan is also useful but must take only after all bleeding stop. Once you are ready, I am sure you wil be in time for a baby in this Year of Rat... Jia you!!

Anybody knows are preggy allowed to take redoxon vit C drink?? I am very prone to flu before preggy, about once a month cos I got sensitive nose and sinus problem.. Ever since I took redoxon vit c drink, my frequency of getting flu becomes lesser, about once every 2 mths.

Since I got preggy, I have stopped the redoxon drink totally and I already got flu thrice during my 1st trimester...

I am feeling so xin ku, also dare not to take any flu medicine

YingLing: For the first baby, I had an emergency c-section. I was very against the idea that I can't have a natural birth. I wanted the doc to induce me instead of just going straight for the c-section. But all is said and done, I;m glad I went thru' the c-section directly cos my baby was under duress.
Altho my gynae has told me that if I were to get pregnant withing 2 yrs, I will have to go for c-section again. However, the whole experience of c-section made me change my mind. I find that it's painless and convenient. My recovery wasn't bad and I could walk down the bed on the second day. I don't feel any pain after taking the painkillers. Yes there is a scar, but it's so low I can still wear bikini (if I want to show off my fats lah) without seeing the scar. I hear of many others who deliver naturally have other complications and pain etc. Of course there are the lucky ones who delivery within 4 hrs, but mostly I hear people have long labours, some end up emergency c-section. I will not hesitate to have a c-section this time round.

bbmouse, oh i see... you previously had an emergency c-section... Your recovery seems good... my friend could not walk and move about for for a couple of days... my previous pregnancy was induced and I spent more than 24 hours in the hospital waiting for the cervix to open... the wait was a kill... I probably ended up spending more cash as compared to if I have chosen c-section... it was only then I realised that the "package" only starts from the time the baby is born... so I have to pay quite a bit for the stay in the hospital before my baby was born...

just called the clinic... the results are back but she is not telling me anything yet as my gynae wants to speak to me later as he is on the way back from hospital... does not sound very good to me...

bbmouse, agree with u... i had operation before though its not a c-section... its not pain like wat i imagined... i can get out of bed 2nd day too. I rest at home for 1 week n 2nd week i go shopping n started meeting my frds for kopi liao. They say i dun look like i jus gone for major op lor...keke... just make sure u hold yr tummy while sneezing or coughing... else the pain can be quite bad. But the wound really heals quite fast n well

bbmouse, I went to TMC... I had to spend S$3K plus CASH... could only deduct the package from Medisave which was another S$3K or so... did not expect to be spending so much cash...

It's too late to intro this to mummies, but last time round I was on insurance package that covered maternity including prenatal visits, delivery and stay. It's a hosp plan that covers other medical as well not just maternity. Quite ex, but considering my labour lasted a *few* days and I stayed in hosp for 4 days after birth, cos had no help at home, the insurance was a cost effective choice. Could stay in 1-bed ward etc and not worry about cost so much.

Didn't take it this time, cos waiting period went up from 3 months to 15 months (if only one person buys, 6 months I think if both hb and wife buy). It costs about $2500 a year and u would need at least 2 years to cover a pregnancy with the waiting period.

Hi Ava, is this the AXA plan? I wanted to take up at first but thought its abit expensive & couldnt time my pregnancy so decide not to take it...

I doing my NT test on fri, feeling abit jittery...

I always thought after 1st trimester would be stable but seem like MC still happens in the other trimester.

As Bigtoes & Ava mentioned:

"Anyone who's gone thru that can share what happened? Any early indications/warnings? Or just sudden loss of heartbeat etc?"

I think mummies are the greatest, I always tell my DH now that being a mum is not easy...

bbmouse, sigh... got my results... have to go for Amniocenthesis test... results show that I have 1 in 49 chance of getting a down syndrome baby...

Mrs Yap, I am 30 this year... My gynae said that I have 1 in 600 chances of getting a Down syndrome baby based on my age but 1 in 49 chance of getting a down syndrome baby based on my test result... not sure if they got special method to calculate my risk...

Ying Ling (stormmie) - All the best for the later amniocenthesis test okie? 1 in 49 is not a very high chance, so should be fine ya

On C-section vs. natural, I am more or less decided on going for the former. Mine is because of my previous surgery for the fibroid removal, & the higher risk of a uterus rupture (at my old wound area) during natural childbirth. Not sure if MTBs here watched the program "From conception to birth" on National Geographic last nite (this is the 2nd time I am watching this, but makes more sense now that I am preggers) - the 3 ladies they filmed during the natural birth reminded me why i didn't want to go thru the pain of natural birth! Then again, some mommies don't feel like a mum till they have given birth naturally - so i say, to each her own.

Btw, i wanted to ask - has anyone gone for the maternity wear sale happening in Suntec (not sure what is the name of the brand). Is it worth checking out? I am looking for working skirts/pants. Thanks ya!

hi storeberry,

I asked my gynae the same question recently. His answer: There is no way you can prevent or stop the heart beat from stopping. Sigh.

Hi Ying Ling,

all the best.
Sorry, may I check with you ? did the doctor share with you on the guidelines for the different age group (I am much older, so really worried). Thank you.

If you do decide on C-section, just make sure that your gyne is skilled in wound stitching. Unfortunately, some mommies ended up with bad keloid and scarring. (Some gynes mentioned here are known to be less skilled in that area (one of my colleagues had him as her gyne & ended up doing an emergency C-section - complained that the wound didn't heal well & left unsightly keloid/reddish scar).

storeberry,
another reason for heartbeat to stop or hv a mc is bcoz the foetus is abnormal, and the foetus' hormones clashes with the hormones inside our bodies. tat's why the good hormones will discharge the foetus...and we usually call it mc...

ppl always think it must be something that has caused the mc, but it's not true.. this is something our body is smart enuff to do... thank God for His creation.

i stay with my MIL...yesterday i overheard her telling my hubby that ppl have confinement is when they just give birth.... but i do confinement cos i got a miscarriage, what a joke ! Dr Woody is right to say that old ppl nowadays dont understand that miscarrige is so common cos we cant choose egg and sperm...last night i was holding my precious bear to sleep. suddenly i can imagine that the bear is like my little bb. i became talking and crying at it. guess my hubby can really feel my sadness now...at least i feel very blessed that i have a supportive husband around and he is telling me to take good care of my health and our bb will come back to us one day