(2008/09) Sep 2008

Porky,

Got drink alot of red bean soup yest night or not??

Hi, Everyone

Just logged in.. today just reported work after reporting sick yesterday.. was having a headache and it dun seem to go away.. now still have and I have become very moody and impatient in the morning that some colleagues who came over to ask how I am, and was like given cold shoulder by me.. i can't control myself.. guilty now..

Cereal? Maybe I will try the quacker.. yesterday, i took the Super three-in-one cereal and threw out shortly. I will only get to see my gynae next Friday.. wat a wait.. I din throw out at all at the early weeks but now it is like a routine - Eat liao and then throw out.. automatically one..

Any other nutritious food to recommend? I am always eating outside food and I dun like to go back MIL place to eat dinner bec of some MIL and FIL issue.. haiz...

hi storeberry,

wah... envious.. u get to see bb every week. but its scary to noe tat u r still spotting. so ur package very worth it, hehe. coz for others, think gynae will only see once a mth bah..

yeap.. agree. the hormone pills are super duper ex. but boh pian lor.. in order to stabilise the foetus.

ur edd shifted huh? coz i remember u r around the same time as me de...

All: Wonder if anyone here 11wks and beginning to show le? i cant wear any of my usual clothes already. have been wearing maternity pants for abt 2 wks le. n my blouses are all baggy baggy de. even tho baggy, still can see the bulge there.

evergreen: hhmm.... yeap yeap.. agree that OSCAR would give us some form of preparedness. my blood test includes one for thalessemia too. but think its not in the whole package. gotta pay extra leh..

Porky: hugs...... all the best!! jia you!!

LC: sayang sayang... look at it from the bright side. hehe. the worse u feel, the stronger bb is... yah.. i heard those square *so da bing* helps... can try. oso.. try to take small but frequent meals.. dun overeat...

I am close to 12 weeks, tummy beginning to bulge a bit.. Most of my casual pants cannot fit in liao, so i started to wear more of baby doll dresses...

I had spotting for the whole of 1st tri and was on hormone pills throughout. Gynae said I had some form of infection in my cervix (something like that) and a blood vessel is very near to the opening and thus the spotting. I had bad stomach cramps as well. Dont be too stressed over the spotting issue. As long as you see your gynae, take your medication diligently and keep a VERY slow pace in whatever you do, everything will be fine. Once i reached my 2nd tri, spotting just stopped!

Sasa de mouse:

Yah, have to pay extra for the test. I did my first blood test for blood count and HIV in dec 07. I did the thalassemia test before my marriage.

evergreen... oohhh ic ic... i did thalessemia test b4 oso.. but i cant seem to find my results.. sighz.. gotta spend $$ to take the test again... not cheap leh.. juz testing this alone costs $60+

Hi all..i m in my 11 weeks le...hate my gastric..making me feel very terrible and uncomfortable...only after puking out then feel better but i try my best not to puke...also have weird taste on my tongue...tongue feel very dry too...only after use listerine then feel better...dunno when will the nausea feeling go away...then i can eat whatever i wan without puking out...so envy some of the ladies here who dun feel pukey...

Check with u ladies..do some of u all got this weird feeling in the throat?? the feeling is like u use ur finger to press against ur throat? dunno how to explain...i got this feeling that make me feel nausea

Hi LC,
My situation is same like yours..eat then throw out shortly... stomach always empty but never feel hungry.
wanna cry when lunch time and dinner time is approaching...why so xin ku ???? and Hubby seems dun understand..

I tik can eat iron pills but must ask from your gynae..I only can check with mine nxt saturday.

how did you know the baby's length ? is it stated on the scan paper ? I never know mine (10weeks preggie)

hi Bigtoes, bbmouse and evergreen,

thanks for sharing. I think I just need to reprioritize my life and weigh on the important things in life. Can't have the best of both worlds. Need to sort out my thoughts.

hi LC and winnie,
can understand how u feel, i am in my 9 weeks. My Ms is getting better but still i vomit. I hate it most when I vomit out the "sour" stuff and the taste remains in my mouth no matter if i brush my teeth etc. It sucks, i wish for it to go away yet hope it stays after hearing what the doctor says.

LC, I feel that I can take bread so I try to eat bread in between lunch and dinner (which is not even half of what i used to take).
I also feel quite moody when people keep asking if i am alright although they do not know that i am pregnant.

Hi Jasmine
Is thalessemia test necessary for everyone?

sasa de mouse:

Yah lor, these tests are ex. Actually I have been going for annual checks every year and the tests that I took after preggie are the same. If I have known it is the same test, then wont spend extra $ and suffer the pain. I find drawing blood painful leh.

Re awful feeling in the mouth

During my 1st tri, I always have this weird taste in my mouth. Test like metal. No matter what I eat, the smell is always there.

The worst is that each time I brush my teeth and during shower time, I always feel like vomitting! It is so bad that I try to avoid these 2 activities for days. Very dirty hor? hahahahaha... but really no choice. Once I vomitted so hard that I nearly fainted.

The elderly said my bb dont like to shower so that's why vomit. If I dont force myself to shower now, bb sure very lazy and 'nua' when born. Aiyoh, scare me ah.

Rabbit

I went to test bcos few years ago i tested with mild thalessemia den i need to show the report to my insurance but i dont have so i have to retake again lor.

Rabbit,

I think thalassemia test is compulsory for pre-marriage medical checks. Prior to marriage, hubby and I went to see our family doc for the pre-marriage check and thalassemia is one of the items. My doc told me that if we intend to have kids in future then it is compulsory to include this test.

Hi,Jasmine

Not sure abt that..

I have not taken much test yet.. Storeberry and all, so far any test? me not even the blood test (other than for the first spoilt pregnancy).. Is my gynae eating snake?

evergreen, you mean you avoided brushing your teeth and showering for days? omg, how you tahan? i also tend to vomit whenever i'm brushing my teeth and during showers (is it cos of the warm water?) but i just let it all out. so i'm going to have one dirty baby also.

Evergreen, xuanting: Me too me too. Want to puke everytime I brush my teeth. It's terrible getting that feeling on an emty stomach. Want to puke but nothing comes out - not even the sour stuff. So I no choice will eat my breaskfast first before brushing my teeth. I don't want to control the puking. If want to puke, I will go to the toilet to try to puke, cos after that it feels much better.

Evergreen: Thanks for sharing abt your spotting. Me too. Spotting on and off. Brown or dark brown in color and comes with a terrible smell! I now change my panty liner everytime I go to the toilet.

Both my hubby and I have not done the thalassemia test, though his sister tested last time and she was determined to be a carrier. At this stage, we don't need to test ourselves anymore, can just test if the baby has thalassemia from the blood test done on week 11-13.

Aiyoh my gal since newborn until now dont like to bathe, will make a fuss, cry or scream during bathing...ang zhang gui....

Thanks mummies for the feedback, guess i'll have to check out with my gynea...

Bigtoes,
Hubby is definately a must to join, they encourage husband to join in as well cos u guys will be learning a lot of things together, oso doing exercises...

bigtoes,

eerrmm..... the blood test done at wk11-13 is on the mummy leh. so i'll be doing my blood test (incl thalessemia test) on my nxt visit which is 26th). from this test, if mummy is a carrier, think they will wanna check if daddy is a carrier oso or not. coz if both parents are carriers of this blood disorder, den there's a chance that bb might be a thalessemia major..

i dun think there can be any blood test done on the bb wor...

Evergreen: Thanks for the info on spotting, feel better now & hopefully next week will stop spotting!

Me & DH also didn't do the thalassemia test, didn't know its neccessary.

LC (faintz): No, my gynae did not do any blood test at all, only routine urine test so I also felt strange how come no blood test.. Kekeke..

Jasmine: Dr Woody didn't do any blood test for me leh..

All: So if I go for the NT test on fri, I just tell the nurse I want to do blood test as well? Or I need my doctor's approval on the letter to TMC? Thanks!

storeberry,

hhmm... mayb u would like to check with Dr Woody's nurse on it. he might think that it's not necessary. for my case, the blood test (incl thalessemia test) is together with the OSCAR test... but gotta pay extra wor...

storeberry

I ask for it de. hahaha. =) mayb not necessary yet? i dunno.. but i always go to his clinic very fast, he will ask anywhere uncomfortable if no go scanning den can go home liaoz. hahahaa..

Storeberry: Why not call your gynae and ask abt this test. Then ask if you want to do it, do you need to make appt or his letter. Otherwise if the test centre says need doctor's letter then you'll have to go down again.

Storeberry: But maybe don't buy. Cos another mummy friend at the other thread says it's cooling and told me not to eat. I stopped after reading her post. I think in the 2nd trimester then eat.

Xuanting and bbmouse,

Yes, I can and have to skip the brushing and bathing for days. Really really no choice. The moment I start to brush, the feeling came. Me too tried to brush after breakfast but still the same. As for showering, the moment I wet myself with shower gel, I could feel food flowing out of my mouth. Initially I tried to use some really nice smelling shower gels but no use leh.

Recently, I tried to suck a sweet before my shower and it seems to work. I try not to vomit out my food cos my appetite already no good so dont wish my stomach to be so empty.

Same as bbmouse, my spotting is dark brown in colour and twice it was red. I think most impt is not to carry heavy things and dont squat. I noticed that if I walked too much, my spotting will be slightly red and next few days, brown discharge will increase.

Just hang on there, things will definitely be much better soon. I am in my 15th week now.

We are Sporean. My hubby on overseas working assignment and thus I need to fly back spore every 3 weeks for my gynae checks cum visit our parents. So far, no prob with flying and gynae ok with the idea. At one point, I flew almost every week cos follow hubby overseas for his meetings.

BabyAtom:

Me quite worried that my bb will be like yours cos I am quite an impatient person. Imagine have to coax bb to bathe! Faint! But hor, my mum said I am ang zhang gui leh so cannot complain. hahahahahahahaha

hi Mummies,

Just wana share my experience here, now 11 weeks and did feel nausea for the past few weeks but recently these few days i felt better le... so hopefully mummies here will feel better soon...

Evergreen: I am refraining myself from carrying my baby dotter. She is turning 1 yr old. Sometimes she comes to me and wants to be carried. And I squat down once, and after I did that, remember I shouldn't.
Thanks for your encouragement.

hi gals...
isabelle
hihi..saw you at the SAHM thread. abc so lucky, labour lasted less than 3 hours i should think...erh....i hope mine is as short...

my first was 22 hours long.can imagine going through all that again...

reg bfg
---------------
just relax and take your time. the only thing i have to go against is the very negative perception of bfg in singpaore. most elderlies feel that bm is not good for bbs. so i'll have to tell them my bb is human, so need to drink human milk. the bb calves can drink cow's milk :p

heee...im actually still bfg my 15mth old now. he doesnt feel like weaning and he doesnt drink fm, so i'll just take a wait-and-see approach.

so take heart, one year may seem long time to bf, but once you start, itll be many many months before you know it.

evergreen (evergreenmum) : I had same problem as you when it comes to brushing teeth and rinsing with mouth wash. But I can't stand not brushing, so I switched to kid's toothpaste. I'm using Kodomo Apple flavour toothpaste. It helps alot! Although I still gag occasionally when brushing. As for shower gel, I can't stand strong smell, so now I'm using J&J's baby bath. Dunno why baby smell is ok with me. Can't use Dove or Body Shop now.

bbmouse, i still carry my 18mth-old girl around now, coz i dowan her to feel tat i dun love her anymore... sometimes if i'm tired then i will carry her whilst sitting down at the sofa or on the bed.

i hv some frenz who did the same thru the second preg, and their tummy was very low due to tat, but gynae didnt advise tat we shldnt carry our tods.. so i guess it's up to our own discretion, if we feel tired, then beta dun...

l'l CY (lilboymum), my first labour was 17hrs... almost 1 full day lor... faintz... but when i set my eyes on my darling girl, she was THE MOST BEAUTIFUL thing i've ever seen in my entire life...

wow this thread is really moving v fast!

bbmouse
haiz at first I saw ur post on ice cream i also wanted to eat. Then saw ur second post, alamak... but think eat little nevermind right? Now i feel like rich vanilla ice cream!!!

On OSCAR and tests
me also pro-life and not considered high risk by dr's stds, as in above 35, but think if anything i wld want to be prepared first, rather than have to cope with shock after the birth and deal with bb's needs at the same time. Just my thots...

Hi lilboy mum,
poor you! 22 hrs sounds like a v long time! But I think second labour will be shorter. So take heart.
This time round, I hope I can get to TMC in time before I pop!

And hi-five on the bf!
I only supplemented my girl on FM when she was 16 mths old cos I was too lazy to pump at wk. But it was goat's milk. Like the way you described the human bb's must drink human milk part. V funny! Hee hee

Aloevera,
now I also have pblm carrying my girl cos of my condition. Gynae said I cannot carry but several times I did cos she cried very badly for me since I stopped carrying her.

After that, I cld feel the strain and ache in my womb. And now sometimes can feel like there's sth pressing down on my vaginal area. A bit worried if I have womb prolapse
Will ask gynae tmr...

Aloevera: If I have no spotting, I will continue to carry her. But under doc's advice, better not lor. At least not for long periods. I tell her mummy is not feeling well, is having a didi/meimei for her inside. Then she'll want to lift up mt shirt to see the inside. I think she thinkis its underneath the shirt and not in the tummy. Hahaha..

Isabelle: Sorry har.. Yah lah. A little bit shd be fine.

Isabelle: Same as you. I could feel the strain if I carry her. So I tell myself better not. She seems to understand when I explain to her mummy is not well, that's why can't carry her and I ask her to sit and play on my bed with me.

On cooling foods
Think dun eat ice jelly that kind of jelly oso. Heard it's super cooling.

And soursop too.

Some weeks back I din noe and I ate, but only a bit, and a few hrs later kena spotting... Dunno if they r related...

wow, u gals r really fast, miss coming in for a couple of days n i need at least 1/2 hr to catch up.

so now the hot topic is BF and oscar test ya

i'm pro BF, jus wean off my son at 26mths. i tried 3 pumps b4, medela single, not bad but motor spoil after 3mths used, money wasted. tried a 2nd hand ameda cos heard good comments, but doesn't work for me at all, lastly got a avent manual, e best. now i've passed it on to a friend.
jus some suggestions on pump, can read up about them 1st but dun invest till u've given birth, cos u arent' sure if u will/can bf. my fren took over mine cos of my suggestion, in e end she only used it for 1 mth or so, cos she's not very keen to bf after all.

reg e oscar test, i 've never thot of it leh, didnt do any of these test when i had my son. wonder if i shd conside now cos i'm 34 tis yr. any mummies here my age? wat's yr stand?

oh, wanna ask all the 2nd MTB, how u manage yr no. 1 now? my son is 30m, n sometimes still wan bao bao n needs lots of attention. any SAHM and 2nd MTB to share yr tips?? TIA