(2008/09) Sep 2008

Wow...this thread moved super fast! Cannot keep up !
And some of the mummys can actually stay awake at 11 +pm! Pei fu ! Pei fu ! Nowadays, I knock off at around 10:30 to 11pm...too tired everyday.

Porky, we'll pray for your good news today...

tell u all something interesting i saw on the bus today...I saw someone brought a dog onboard ! The dog was quite a large size one, sorry dunno what breed because not a dog expert
But the dog was pretty well-behaved. It's only when it alighted, I saw the owner of the dog is actuallly a visually-handicapped person.

breastfeeding: First time mums, I would like to manage your expectations on breastfeeding. First, beastfeeding can be painful. It needs lots of patience and practise. If you think it comes naturally, you are totally wrong. Also, you may get pressure from the family over your milk supply - ie that you're not producin enough and baby is hungry and needs to be supplemented with formula etc, etc. Be prepared for all this.

Goldfish
My bubs were 2.2cm and 2.4cm each at my last scan which was at 8 weeks 5/6 days.

Storeberry
Glad to hear your good news

Porky
All the best for test result today!

Bigtoes
My last preg also little to no MS and baby grew fine. enjoy it! This time I'm gagging so randomly when I'm out and about...quite embarassing!!

Hi lilboymum,
just realised it's you on this thread when I congratulated abc's mummy. No wonder I found the nick so familiar!

Hi sunrays,
me is 11 weeks plus too. Will be doing OSCAR tmr!

yep bbmouse is absolutely right. I underestimated breastfeeding too. I thot how hard can it be? Just put bb to the breast and will automatic suck right? WRONG...
My bb was put to breast immediately after birth but it hurt very much when she suckled. Even my doula could not help me get her to latch on properly.
In the end, I called in a lactation consultant that very day to teach me how to latch bb on properly, and hold her properly. Otherwise I know if I kena cracked nipples or even bleeding nipples, it will be v hard for me to persevere. Ouch!

I saw my baby little hands, head and legs and is playing inside my waterbag.. and my hubby said baby is sucking the finger. So excited.. I do not have MS but sometimes will feel nausea and since preg i vomitted a few times, hope i won't have any MS cos the feeling is terrible.=(
Storeberry
I think Dr Woody did the measurement for baby is not accurate cos for de 1st scan i did was 2cm, 2nd scan i did was 1.9cm and ytd was 3+cm. Btw, what is down syndrome? Dr Woody ask me whether want to go for the check for backbones for myself and baby to see whether the baby healthy anot. Will be going down to TMC 2 wks later for the check. he check cost about $100+..

Ava (avalyn) - thanks. Looking fwd to my next gyne appnt to make sure baby is growing properly!

Breastfeeding sounds scary
...don't know how some mommies can breastfeed for up to 1-2 years!

Btw, are 1st time MTBs here planning to sign up for pre-natal classes at the hospital closer to due date? You know, the type where they teach you how to bathe/burp/change diapers/carry/position for breastfeeding etc? I am assuming that most hospitals offer these services?

wow!!!! this thread is really speeding manzzz.... i can hardly catch up! gosh... kekeke!!! =P

good morning all mtbs n mommies, it's a brand new day and let's look forward to a better day TODAY!! =)

goldfish, go easy on the breasts pump now, since we are still in the early stage, as time goes by, u will feel more familiarised with the brand n types of pump available in the mkt. then the time will be good for u to decide wat u really want n u will feel more confident to choose wat u want. no need to stress now.. =)

Bigtoes: The difficuly is in the beginning. But it could take some months to get it right. Once you get the hang of it, there is no more pain (or maybe the mum has got used to the pain). Then for one to breastfeed for a long time, it takes stamina and conviction. I also salute those who can breastfeed so long, esp the working mums with travelling schedule. Got to lug the breastpump along, got to squeeze in time to pump in between meetings etc. Quite mafun..

Bigtoes
Ya, as bbmouse says, it's just at the start. a lot depends on whether baby is awake enough to latch, have short nipple issue (need to place silicone nipple on top of your own to assist baby to latch) etc..but once u are established...it's a breeze! No bottles and hot water when u go out etc.

After a few months, u can bf in public wihtout anyone knowing! Maybe except us eagle-eyed mums lah who have been thru it...

As for long term bf, i stopped after 7 months cos Adan self-weaned...he basically lost interest!

Jasmine,
u got ask dr adrian why the need for 'backbone' test ?

Also those under dr adrian,
what test/extra scan did he ask u to do ? cos during my #1 he didnt ask me to any test EXCEPT blood test at 4 or 5th month and details scan.

wonder this time shld i ask him if i need the extra test..

Hi Bigtoe,
Mine was at 7 weeks then. It was 1.7cm nia.
I am going for my gynea visit tis evening, which will be my 10weeks. Hopefully it has grown in size as i am just like u lo.. bo MS.. cannto monitor till do scanning one lo.

Btw, is OSCAR test compulsory? U all did all the blood tests liao huh?

I waws chatting wif my friend who gave up breastfeeding after 1 mth. She said beri painful and little milk. She is using Avent manual pump. Sometimes dunno whether issit use the wrong model tat's why dampen the mama spirit to do BF for long oso... haiz

Porky: Don't worry too much k. Who knows U'll be in for a surprise.

Storeberry: How often do you go see Dr Adrian? Seems like every week huh? I only get to see my gynae once every 2 wks.. n i really dread this waiting period...

xuanmommy

Is not compulsory but my hubby say to go ahead as we want to see whether the baby is healthy anot. I did not did any scans except for the one in his clinic and he nv ask me do blood test as i ask him to do once for the first visit i went as my hubby wants the blood test report.

I'll be doing my OSCAR test next Tues. Does anyone know what to expect? What will they actually do?

Seems like TMC is pro OSCAR. they dun seem to like to do triple test...

Big toes,
yep yep as Ava has said, it's only tough at the beginning. U now what is "wan shi qi tou nan"? In my second mth, I also had a blocked duct, very xin ku... but the thing that kept me gg was that I have only one choice in my mind, that is bf.
But after that it's really v nice and v gd bonding too, esp if u are busy with wk, in the eve, u can just bf bb and two of u enjoy the time tog. That's why even now I cannot bear to give up bf!

Goldfish,
I did hear from my lactation consultant that some of her clients complained the Avent maual pump painful. But dun worry abt it. Just have a positive mindset abt bf, and think abt the breastpump again in third trimester. Or during the great sg sale!

Jasmine
Down's Syndrome is a chromosomal condition where the child, if born, will have specific physical characteristics and most likely delayed mental development. Also called "Mongoloid" but now people don;t use this term cos Mongoloid actually refers to our Asian race (like "caucasian" and "negroid"). They have slanted eyes (hence the term "mongoloid"), and generally stout, rounded bodies.

apart from blood test OSCAR measures neck thickness which is one indicator of DOwns.

Jasmine, Lim: I think the backbone test is the nuchal translucency test. It measures the thickness of the baby's neck and it's also a test for DS.

Sasa: If I don't remember wrongly, the OSCAR test includes a blood test and a detailed scan of the baby, and the nuchal translucency test.

morning mummies...

so long never post liao, glad to hear everyone's doing ok, eager to go thru another stage of our pregnancy...

Cynthia and Shirley,
so sorry to hear abt yr news, take care n rest well...

Porky,
hope to hear yr good news today, keep us updated.

Bigtoes,
I have attended the pre-natal classes organised by TMC, i must say for first time parent, both me n hubby learn a lot thru these classes. There are quite a no. of hospitals organise these classes, like TMC, KKH, Mt A etc... Personally strongly recommened for 1st time mummies.

Like to check with u gals, I heard my friends say for those c-sect mummies within 2 years after c-sect if u conceive, will kanna c-sect again, not sure how true it's. I had my 1st gal thru c-sect and now she's abt 16 months, wanted to try natural birth this time but looks like will kanna c-sect again?? Anyone have comments abt this?

Jaline: My gynae said if preggie within 2 yrs, must go for caesar again. Think there is a remote risk the wound will rupture during the pushing in a natural delivery. You can check with your gynae.

Ava: Yah lor.
I learned a lot from other experienced mums when I was a first time mum. So now hope to be able to contribute info to the first time mums here.

bbmouse:
Yeah, this forum was (and is) a great help when my son was born - I only discovered it after I gave birth! Luckily my first preg was problem free!

Sasademouse
No probs...my OSCAR is on 8 March...hope it is a negative for DS!

Ava,

yah... i'm hoping for the same too... i juz wan a healthy bb. this is my #1. can't wait for next tue to come quickly..

Ava: Same here. I made many good friends here too.
And the BPs here are too hard to resist sometimes. Esp for me cos my #1 is a girl, I went crazy shopping for her clothes! Hahaha.. Very fun.

Hi Jaline
Me also c-sec 1st time round. Nw my gal is 19 mths. I did tell my gynae i hope to go natural tis time n he didnt not say VBAC is not possible within 2 years ley. He say can only advise whether to go natural or c-sec again when Im almost due then, depending on size of bb n my cervix condition.
In fact I had a fren who have VBAC ard 18 mths after her 1st c-sec.

Hi bbmouse
Your gynae say is a must ar ? xianz !

Hi Goldfish
Actually the key to start off milk supply is lactching. Initially i started off just relying on pump but supply always very little despite regular pumping, but once i latch my gal then supply increase alot liao...the bb suckling far exceeds pump in terms of stimulation. relying solely on pump is not easy to boost supply unless u really have lotsa milk. but as other mummies say lar, the beginning is very tough, experience cracked, sore n bleeding nipples cos my gal suck very hard, even the nurses at hospital say my gal is very impatient n "man chang"..haha...

Babyatom: That was what he said when I went back for a check after my first delivery. Maybe it also depneds on the type of closure used. Mine was some medical glue, no stitches.

Jaline (jaline) - i think C-section is also encouraged for mommies who had a previous C-section cos pushing during a natural birth may risk the old uterus wound rupturing! The risk is 1% for people with past C-section, vs. 0.2% for normal pregnant women. Its even higher for my case (6% for people with fibroid removal), so I think I would have to do a C-section.
Btw, thanks for the info. Will check with my gyne at TMC on when to start on pre-natal classes. The hubby is encouraged to go along as well right?

Rabbit (rebirth) - Yes, i travel for work. On average i need to fly about once a month, but plan to stop completely in the last 2 months (July/Aug).

bbmouse (bbmouse) - i am also already eyeing nice baby clothes (esp for baby girls, with all that pink frilly stuff)! My hubby claims i will go crazy buying too much clothes for the baby & we will use up all the cupboard space in the apartment and i think he is right)!

hi Bigtoes,

Thanks for your reply. My job requires me to travel as well, but i intend to stop flying because i worry abt bb (also husband don't allow it).
note: i had a miscarriage before.

But i also don't feel so good to sit around in the office so feeling a little low.

Bigtoes: We bought a new cupboard just to put her clothes.

Rabbit: My job requires travelling too. Think shd avoid in the first and late 3rd trimester. 2nd trimester shd be ok, but not too much.

Hi Rabbit take care!

Goldfish & Jasmine, saw Dr Adrian use the ultrasound ruler to measure the length, its 5.2cm, & EDD on slip is 3 Sep... But my tummy still not very big...

Sasa de mouse: I am seeing Dr Woody every week because of my spotting & bleeding... Luckily its in the package but need to pay for hormone pills which is ex!

Jaline: My fren had c-section abour 2.5 yrs back & she managed to give birth naturally last dec. So its still possible.

Thank l'l CY & Xuan mommy for your info!

I don;t know if I am doing OSCAR test or not, its not stated on the slip leh.. Pls see below:

Obstetric Ultrasound Exam
A1 1st Trimester Viability Scan
A2 11-14 weeks Nuchal Translucency (Down's Syndrome Risk Assessment)

Storeberry: Looks like not. NT is part of OSCAR, not the other way round. I don't understand A1. There's no indication of any blood test leh.

Hi bb mouse, yah lo, no blood test indicated here.. I also blur liao.. Kekeke.. HAve to join the queue on fri as the staff say its fully booked..

Jasmine (piggy_jas)- OSCAR is not complusory, esp for mommies who are still very young, no family history of down syndrome or other such abnormalities, and people who are anti-abortion & will keep their baby no matter what. Its just good to have, and most would do to be on the safe side or be prepared if anything is not right.

ydnic(or cindy), think we wont be able to feel our foetus moving yet... wat u felt was probably the gas or acid in us.. =)

I am pro OSCAR cos it allows you to know whether bb is healthy at an early stage of the pregnancy. It is abt 80 - 90% accurate. Triple test is only 65% accurate and it is done at a later stage.

I just went for my OSCAR test on 5 Feb. It comprises a blood test and a scan (NT test) that takes only 20 mins. If your package does not include a blood test but only a NT test, then I suggest you pay extra for the blood test. It is impt cos only a combination of blood test and NT scan will give a 90% accuracy.

I am of the view that we should not take the risk. Even if one is prepared to keep the child regardless of illness, at least parents can be more prepared mentally for what is ahead.

Rabbit:

Though I am not working but I fly every 3 weeks for my gynae visits. I even flew twice every month during my 1st tri. The only difference is that I dont carry my luggage cos I had a past miscarriage and also had spotting throughout my 1st tri.

Hi just to share , it's possible to have VBAC , my first is C-sect due to breech baby in July 02 then 2nd preg is natural in June 05 .

hi sunrays, so u are not ectopic right ? since ur HCG level increasing well

i went to do 2 blood test and tonight will know the results...my story goes like this...i am first time preggy. went to 1st gynae he say cant see anything inside my sac and immediately ask me to do D&C to remove the sac. i was only 6 weeks then. so i went to 2nd opinion. the 2nd gynae say can see my fetus and everything is ok. and i was supposed to see him on 15th feb. then suddenly i got slight spotting on 11th feb. so i went to see gynae on that very night. during the scan, he say cant detect my bb anymore and i was still bleeing. so he gave me hormones pills and ask me see him on 15th feb. did the scan again on 15th, still cant find fetus already so gynae ask me to do 2 blood test...i do not understand why bb can suddenly disappear inside. and i do not have any heavy bleeding or discomfort at all. spotting also stop for 1 week liao...will see how is the blood test tonight...

me & hubby cant sleep well last night. keep thinking what Dr Woody is gg to tell us tonight...anyway, thanks everyone for the prayers & blessing. will update u mommies tonight.