(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi cynthia, i'm sorry to hear about what happened. please take care of your health while you grieve. there's a support group for miscarriages under the matters of the heart section which you may find useful; i too had a miscarriage last year and found lots of info and support from that thread. if you believe in tcm, it might help to see one to tiao2 your body before you ttc again, to ensure that your body is better prepared for the rigours of pregnancy. please take care.

hi porky, it must've been like a rollercoaster ride for you thus far. do rest your mind till the results are out. please take care too!

storeberry, good news, got business coming already. so did Dr Adrian say when u can go back to work ? i am on leave until next Tuesday

milkmilk, thanks.

xuanting, ya it has been a hard time for us since we know abt this pregnancy. anyway monday will come very soon then we will know the answer already.

cynthia...sorry to hear abt ur loss....i faced the exact same situation as you 2 weeks ago so i understand absolutely how u are feeling right now.....please take ur time to grieve and nurse urself back to health both physically & emotionally....join us in the m/c support group....it has helped mi to a certain extent to get back on my feet faster....talk to people around you for support...it definitely helps....=)

porky...not to worry....u still have hope okie...perhaps it's a false alarm and everything will turn out well eventually....hang on and stay positive meanwhile thou i noe it's easier said than done....stay strong ger and we shall hear of good news from you soon ya....=)

cynthia and porky
hugz to both of you. Take good care of yourselves. If you need to cry, just let it out. God bless

Porky
hope everything will turn out best for you

Hi Porky, Dr Adrian gave me MC till this sun but just now when I urine still have abit of brown blood, I was thinking could it be the rest of the blood clot, hopefully it is. My hormone pills are running out, have to wait till Mon then can get from Doctor.

Thanks for your concern, take care my dear fren!

storeberry, hope ur blood clot will be fully clear soon. and all will be well for ur bb. yah man, the hormones pills are finishing super fast loh. and the price of it is not cheap...Dr Adrian does not allow me to take the package now cos my pregnancy still not stable but he say if tues blood test result is good then will ask the nurse to rebate the 1st 2 visits from the package

Storeberry: I have the brown discharge too. I also hope it is the blood clot clearing.
You're seeing your gynae on Mon, that's good, at least you'll do the scan and know how baby is doing. I have to wait til next next Tues. I just saw him last Tues.

Mrs Yap, you have blood clot and brown discharge too right? How are you?

Cynthia - take care okie

Mrs Yap - yes, I had a fibroid removed last year.

It is true that people who have done this surgery has a higher chance of the uterus rupturing during labour because the internal uterus wall would not be as strong as the original. No risk in carrying the baby to full term, but because of the risk of rupture during labour, most gynes would insist on doing a C-section (which is what I would prefer anyway)! Guess this makes my decision of C-section vs. natural birth easier!

mrs yap: I wanna ask u. You said quite a big amount of blood from your blood clot came out. How did you know its from the blood clot?

am new to this thread. Am 10 weeks pregnant but kinda hesitant to join in cos i've been spotting and spotting and spotting and it doesn't seem to be stopping.

Dunno how this pregnancy is going to progress but i had a miscarriage last year @ 17 weeks and was spotting all the way so am not getting my hopes too high with this pregnancy.

Seems like blood clot is very common. I had one during my last pregnancy and for this pregnancy, i also had a blood clot earlier on but it seem to have dissolved (as seen from ultrasound)

bbmouse, eversince i found out i am preg i spot till now in week 8 liao. Hmm... i know bleeding is from the blood clot bcos it lasted for onli 1 day.. and doc already told me the clot will flow out. after that i dun bleed but i continue to spot. My spotting is lighter but sometimes when i walk to market and etc i will spot more.

limay, oic ... as long as can carry bb to full term without rupturing i happy enough liao cos i dun intend to do natural too... doc also advice on c-section... anyway i cant take the scary long hrs of natural birth... Jus hope to see bb immediately after GA...

hi juz_jewel, welcome to this thread. have u consult ur gynae abt ur spotting ? 10 weeks seems like quite stable already leh. did ur gynae say anything abt ur spotting ? take care ya !

cynthia, deepest sympathies, i went through a m/c too in first trim. i asked my gynae to make sure that they test the foetus after my D&C. Altho gynae was not keen (he said m/c is not unusual) but I really wanted to understand why this happened to me. Turned out that there was chromosomal abnormality with the foetus, she had down's syndrome, so was unhealthy and could not survive. When i got the test results, i felt much much better, because could understand why God took my baby away. Also, the test results showed that there should be no prob for me to conceive again, and no higher risk of down's syndrome, just a freak occurrence. if you think that this will help you, maybe you can ask for the test also.
take care.

Juz Jewel: You're already in your 10th week, got good chance of survival. Don't worry so much and try to rest. Are you on bed rest?

Mrs Yap: I see. At first I was speculating if the blood clot was the reason for the brown discharge. Cos' Storeberry and myself both had blood clot and brown discharge. But after hearing from you, I don't know why the brown discharge.

Thanks a lot mummies....

Though I won't be joining all of you in this thread anymore, I'll be coming by once in a while to say Hi.....

bbmouse,storeberry and porky: Take good care of yourself....

hi all mtb..i got my blood test result yesterday, my hcg level is dropping, so doc confirmed that my pregnancy is no good. Will do the cleaning of womb on monday...hope everything goes well! Very upset..but life still have to carry on..cheer up all mtb here!

Hi Porky, all the best to u ! Try to think positively, ok? Hope you can have a good news after the blod test! take care ya..

Hi Shirley, take care & hugz!!

bbmouse, I will ask Dr Woody on Mon about the the bleeding yesterday & whether blood clot still around.

Mrs Yap: I thot my spotting went away liao because few days no spotting. Just as I was preparing to go out I sense something coming, went to toilet & urine had dark red / brown blood. Hopefully its the rest of the clot...

hi shirley, sorry to hear that ur pregnancy has ended...now i start to worried abt my blood test results...can anyone advise me what range of hcg level is reasonable ?

Hi Porky, the range is a pretty wide variety... what the gynae needs to see is that the HCG level is increasing... at the beginning stage, the HCG levels must double everyday... not sure when it starts to be reduced... I think after the placenta starts to form then the levels will reduce... please correct me if i am wrong

Anyone has this perpetual awful taste in the mouth? I can't stand it. And I feel like puking everytime I brush my teeth. Flossing also causes me to puke too.

Hi to all new mummy,

I have brand new

1) Mum in mind Sarong Carrier (Pastel purple & blue combination), bought it at abt $46, willing to sell it at $40

2) AVENT Naturally 125ml / 4oz Feeding Bottles, it come in a pack of 2, bought it at abt $16, willing to sell it at $12

Please do email me at [email protected] if u are interested. Thank you.

storeberry... me too had strange feeling in mouth... sort of spoils my appetite... everyday think of wat to eat also feels v sian... plain water tastes so bitter now

Yah man, I don't get the same satisfaction anymore, just eat for the sake of eating & keep having alot of saliva.. Yucks...

Today urine still have dark red blood, really hope this will end soon.

Mrs Yap - so you had a fibroid removed too? When was this? Yes, carrying baby to full term is not a problem, just that if we go for a natural birth, then the pushing & contractions during labour might cause the uterus to rupture! If that happens have to go for emergency C-section, even worse!
I think its a 'blessing' in disguise - at least i have an excuse not to suffer thru the labour pains! Not as brave as some mommies here.

A friend also gave birth over the weekend - went thru 10 hours of labour pains & wasn't dilating enough, the baby heartbeat started falling & she had to do an emergency C-section. Went into surgery, & 15 minutes later, the baby was out! Could have saved the 10 hours of pain!

Porky - good luck & keep us updated!

Me also dun have appettite and didnt really eat ..maybe jus bread and some bit of rice ..

storeberry,
maybe is the last flush out from the blood cot ??
dun worry.

porky,
Hope ur blood test turn out good

hi cynthia and shirley,
sorry to hear, pls take care.

Morning mummies !

Hi Shirley & Cynthia
Sorry to know abt ur MC. Do take more tonics to BU urself for the next preg

Nwadays feel more n more vomitty, no appetite to eat proper meals. Have been surviving more on soups, pizzas, snacks n light meals rather than rice and meat....cham.....

Cynthia & Shirley,

Take good care of yourself.. Once you have fully recover, you will be in good condition to attempt again....

Hi Cynthia & Shirley, take care... I got pregnant again in 1/2 yr after first MC. Now, my daughter is already 1 year plus... just take care!

Skinny pig, was it very crowded? I missed it! I didn't even know there was a SPring Maternity fair. Such a pity.

I saw that all your antenatal packages seem to be below $1000, but mine will cost me $1200 and includes the following:

- All scheduled visits from 16 to 40 weeks
- Urine labstix + bood pressure + weight/height measurements
- Basic antenatal vitamins collected on a monthly basis
- Ultrasound scans (screening, growth and estimated fetal weight)
- CTG: 1 time monitoring at 37 weeks
- First postnatal review 1 week after delivery

Can anyone tell me if mine sounds reasonable? I'm new to this so not sure what kind of prices to expect. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Wingkei,

It's not very crowded. Cos the fair is just situated outside the store... In fact, the fair is open till 25/02, so you still can go down after work or this weekend...

babyatom...same for me ive been eating pizzas and bread seems like the only thing that i can keep down.DH says baby is ang moh haha cant seem to keep down anything else

Hi Wingkei

My antenatal package ($500 b4 GST) is similar to yours just that it excludes the last 2 items. From wat i rem previously, CTG is ard $40 each time & postnatal review ard $100-150...

Hi Preggies

Same here. My strongest craving is Pizza so far n my DH is complaining that we've been having pizza for many dinners...somemore we have just a pizza hut outlet downstairs so delivery is very fast ! ..haha..

Wingkei - your package is reasonable!
The delivery change itself is billed seperately? How about the OSCAR and other blood test?

Mine is:
1)$180 for 1st consultation fees & ultrascan

2)About $300+$150 for OSCAR & blood test (week 12)

3) Fees for further scheduled consultation till time of delivery & delivery fees of gyne $2675 (same gyne fees for natural birth & C-section, but C-section total cost would be higher cos of the anaesthetic fees (this alone was $1000 for my fibroid removal last time!), operating theatre usage, longer hospital stay etc)

4) Other unscheduled consultation $60/visit

Doesn't include: GST, lab test, medicine & vitamins, ultrasound scans, post natal check up, paediatrician, anaesthetic for epidural/general anaesthesia, operating theatre usage, hospital bills etc.
The TMC room rates are $518/night for a deluxe room & $50 for nursery.

hey babyatom
maybe for a chnage you can order spizza also. they have super duper shiok pizza and they do delivery. not too ex also ... think is $17 for medium pizza.

hi porky, i'm sorry to hear abt u, n i will continue to pray for u n bb. but i'm very sure God does everything to our best interest n life has to move on, i'm really proud of your positive attitude! take care and keep us posted tmr. hugzz..

my heart goes out to shirley n cynthia too. do take care, and try again! hv a good confinement so tat your body can be strengthened to make a good womb for the next BB.

wingkei,
just to share with you on maternity clothes, u can get it from amk blk 720. the bermudas is $25, capri is $26, and long pants is $27. cheapest maternity tat i've come across and their design is young n nice, not those aunty plain type. i bought 5 bottoms for only $126 which i think i can only get 2 bottoms from those shopping malls.

aloevera (loever) - that shop is AMK sells maternity clothes pretty cheap
Have to check it out too, is the shop easy to find?

I went to Bugis Junction and bought 1 denim skirt & 1 office skirt last Friday, and it cost me $120+! Somemore these were already on sale, & my hubby was commenting that they looked ugly! They were selling office pants for $99! Quite expensive for ugly maternity pants...

I can't take big meals either. I have like 5-6 meals a day, but together I think they form only 3/4 the normal portion I eat daily. Can't take too much at one go cos will feel like puking.
After eating, there'll be an awful after taste lingering in the mouth. No matter how I brush, it won't go away.

Very xin ku.

bigtoes and keen mommies, there is a budget store at the left end of blk 720, and the shop is just abt 3-4 stores away from it.

i must admit tat i like to wear the bottoms coz of the nice design.