(2008/09) Sep 2008

porky
my scanning is on my tummy. is that call v. scan ?
dun know what i see, only see gynea draw a line and say this is it. 0.9cm
Anyway hope u got good news this friday!!

jasmine,
me when expecting #1, drink annum every day till 3rd trimester.
I think weight gain will be higher, so this round i drink fresh milk every day. Hope i still get the nutrient but gain lesser weight heehee

xuanting, thanks. this few days i also like to sleep on my left side. feels more confortable. do u know when then can stop scan from vaginal ? whenver Dr did the vaginal scan, i also feels a bit crampy during night time...huh ? u mean sit down when taking a shower ? how about wash hair ? usually i takes a long time to shower cos i got long hair...

Ruixiangmom

U mean any milk also can drink? Don't need to be Annum?

Xuanmommy
U mean drink annum will gain weight??? I hate milk lehz and I can't drink fresh milk will go toilet after drinking it.

hi ava, thats wonderful. congrats to u for having twins ! now only 8 weeks and ur gynae can confirm that u are having twins ? so cute. can show the scan of ur twins ?

Ava
congrats! So exciting!

hi cynthia, i wonder if it might just be pains from your growing uterus and the stretching of the side muscles supporting it? pains in the pelvic area are alarm bells for ectopic pregnancies but i'm sure this can't be so in your case since you must've been very thoroughly checked and scanned during your hospitalisation. does lying down make it better? maybe a warm compress will help. i hope it's nothing serious.

hi porky, the doc said that once the bb gets bigger, she will stop the v scan and do the abdominal scan instead. i think v scans are usu done in early stages cos they pick up more things than abdominal scans. i don't really like it personally. it's like so "ahhhhhh..." every time doc puts it in but no choice, got to tahan till it's over.

you should sit on the chair throughout. go in, sit on it and do everything that you will normally do. my friend had bad spotting throughout her pregnancy and this was what she was told to do when she was prescribed bed rest by the doc. hers was quite a difficult pregnancy with many mcs, bed rests and hospitalisations, but she carried her bb to full term and delivered a cute bb boy. we can't control what nature intends but we can do our best to help in whatever way we can.

Xuanting

it's not true that it depends on the size of ur bb. In fact with hypnobirthing, u'll be confident that ur bb will be the right size for ur body!

lim, thanks. will update u mommies on friday nite about my results whether good or bad (touch wood !!!)... btw v scan means vaginal scan. usually vaginal scan is more clear then tummy scan. gynae will use a long stick to pop thru ur vaginal.not so much of pain just a bit uncomfortable when he moves around the stick below u

xuanting, ok ok will follow ur advise to bring a chair in for my shower. haha. i also do not like v scan, especially when doct putting in the stick that time is the most unbearable...

so glad that ur fren is fine after so much obstacles. hopes that we can also carry our bb till full term.

Ava (avalyn) - wow, congrats! Are u surprised that you are expecting twins? Does this run in the family, or something out of the blue? Wow, would be nice if its one boy & one girl!
My friend went for IVF and also gave birth to a set of twins about 6 months back! Very cute!

goldfish and anyone interested in being in control over ur birth,

just to share how hypnobirthing helped me. Btw, I'm not advertising for them.

From what I understand, Hypnobirthing is about thinking about birthing in a whole new light. that it does not have to be painful. That we trust that our body and mother nature know what to do.

Cos we are always bombarded by images of woman screaming in pain in labour so we already have the idea since young that labour WILL be painful. And we may be scared even, and take these fears with us as we give birth. So it is like a self-fulfiiling prophecy... But it does not have to be like that.

For me, because of the knowledge I gained and relaxation techniques, plus I also hired Ginny as doula, I felt empowered and I left the hospital after being induced (cos not enough amniotic fluid and we had waited one week already since knowing I was 2cm dilated).

Next morn 5 plus I felt "surges" (we dun call contractions cos contractions assoc with pain) but irregular. I went back to sleep until 6 plus, cleared my bowels with the pessaries dr gave me cos I rejected enema.

Dilly dally uintil suddenly surges only 1 and a half min apart. Still, I had confidence to put on face cream and makeup in between surges before leaving for TMC. I also drank milo, chicken essence and ate biscuits for energy.

We finally reached TMC and less than 2 hrs later, my baby was born. I used a birthing stool and my hubby sat opposite me and supported me physically as I breathed our baby down. Ginny also encouraged me and she knew waht to do, just let me hold her hand and I felt safe with her support.

So yep, this is my hypnobirthing story. So I can say that it's my hubby and me who birthed our baby together =)

What I know is that without hypnobirthing, I would have curled up in bed, very tense and in unbearable pain, feeling very scared and sorry for myself...
The key is that the more relaxed and fear-free you are, the faster you will dilate and labour will be shorter.

avalyn: congrats! I was just wondering today is anyone among us is gonna have twins! hehe ... I do have the genes of twins in my family as well as my hubby side ... so we were rather excited when we went for the first scan to see if there's 1 or 2 heartbeat! =) So excited for you!

thanks for sharing your hypnobirthing story, isabelle. i've always been one of those who thought that the c-section was the greatest gift to women and that when my time comes, c-section, no doubt! but ever since i started ttc-ing and reading more about the whole pregnancy-birthing process, i became really intrigued with a drug-free natural delivery. am definitely v keen and will prob drop ginny an e-mail to enquire about it. thanks again for sharing!

avalyn, congrats to you for the twins!

as myself, the genes run in my family too to hv twins, but i certainly wont hope for tat now since i hv a tod now. when my gynae did a v-scan at my 7th week, i almost fainted with hubby when she teased us asking if we could see the other one hiding behind this little heart beat.

physcially, it's very strained to look after both a tod n NB at the same time, so i dun hope for twins like i did for my first preg... =P

isabelle, thanks for sharing your birth story here, i must rmb to drink essence of chkn this time!! my contraction started midnite but i popped only at 5pm... i dunno if i shld count 17hrs of labor... >__< faint~~

Ava, congrats!! That is great news!! My DH keeps saying that maybe we will have twins &amp; one is hiding behind the other so cannot see.. So irritating, I told him one is enough already...

Porky, rest well &amp; take care. Have been praying for you...

Dre Woody never do v-scan before, its always tummy scan.. I think I will also feel uncomfortable leh.. Kekek

Hi, it's my first time posting here. I have a bb girl who's going to celebrate her 1st birthday later this month.

Am in my 6th week or so.

Ying Ling, Cynthia, I had very bad aches around my waist area 2 weeks ago. I use the OTO massage. It helped, but I'm afraid it'll harm the baby so didn't use too long. Can try prenatal massage.

Porky, Storeberry: I also have spotting 2 times since I discover I am pregnant. Doctor orders bed rest and I'm also on hormone jab and duphaston. Hope our babies turn out fine.
If it helps, my first pregnancy was also the same. THat time was much heavier spotting. My bb girl turns out fine.

new to this thread, today went to see gynea, and my edd is 25 sept, hope i can join u all here...

bb mouse, traz,
*wave*!!!!

Hi bb mouse, thanks for your assurance &amp; when did your spotting stop? I am seeing Dr Woody on Mon hopefully bb would have grown.

Hippies,
I think it would b better to have 100% cooked liver to play safe.

Ava,
Congrats on having a pair of twins. Wow the gynae can determine u having twins at 8 weeks only ?

Hi Alovera,
I've read somewhere that salicylic acid is a "no no" as an ingredient in our facial products. I threw away my packaging already as used quite a while liao, so went to the Lancome counter today to check the ingredients on the whitening products. I'm shocked that the counter lady told me that all their whitening range contains salicylic acid...wow...i a bit scared now though she mentioned that many preggies have used their products before and got no prob.

Also anyone has any idea when is suitable to apply stretchmark cream ?

Traz, Yvonne: *wave wave*

storeberry: I can't remember. But I think in the 8th week or so. And one time the spotting was really bad - I even had to change pads! Good luck to your gynae visit on Mon.

Millie: I think can start to apply as soon as you feel the tummy is growing, so depending on the mum cos different ones show at different times - as in some earlier than others.

Morning mummies !!
Went for my gynae visit yest afternoon n could see my little bb n the thumping heartbeat ! Am in my 8 weeks now, 5 more weeks for 1st tri completion..
Hope that 1st tri can be over soon cos im feeling so miserable with the on-off MS thruout the days....

So far has gain ard 1.5kg, cham.... weight gain in 1st tri is supposed to be only 0.5 kg &amp; I have not even completed my 1st tri ! scared history repeat itself n i gain weight over 25kg !! *scared*

Hi Xuanmommy &amp; Jasmine
Yalor, i also drank Anmum previously. Belived it contributed significantly to my massive weight gain, shant be drinking anmum this time round, dont have the confidence of being so lucky of losing the fats after giving birth.

Hi Ava
Congrats on having twins !!

BabyAtom (babyatom) - glad that ur check up went well! Btw, the weight gain for 1st trimester is up to 2.5kg (not 0.5kg), though my gyne said most people loose weight cos of MS! Btw, how heavy was ur baby for your 1st pregnancy when you gained 25kg?

Jasmine,

Yes, any milk will do. If die die must drink Annum, then how did the preggie mommies in other countries, e.g. US survive? :p I was preggie in the US, and there was no annum. Actually, even for toddler, once they reaches 1 year old, they can take fresh milk too instead of formula. But in Singapore, it might not make sense, cos formula ends up cheaper than fresh milk.

Hi Limay : Was it ? was reading the What to expect when u're expecting n it said that we're eating too much carbos n gaining unncessarily if we gain more than 3 pounds (ard 1.5kg) in the 1st tri. hmm... gotta read thru again to refresh memory..
For my 1st preg, i gained 27 kg lor..sigh... my gal was 3.4 kg at birth, but nw at 19 mths still small lor cos she's a fussy eater w small appetite. Eat so little move so much,so very thin

welcome bbmouse, yvonneho
let me update ur info tomorrow heehee

jasmine,
not very sure is it annum but cos based on my food intake (i dont eat alot)
but my weight gain at #1 preganacy is about 17KH *Faint*
which i still carry 5kg with me today *sigh*
I hope this round the gain is more on BB
But of course, BB nutrient is more important than our weight gain right

Ava
Congrats on having twins !!
So you going to have 3 kids soon

isabelle,
read thru ur posting, u can still makeup before go to delivery.
peifu peifu

guys, does anyone of you intend to do the amniocentesis test without first doing the oscar test? i feel compelled to do it cos of my age but at the same time can't help but worry about the risks. i hate making these sort of decisions! agh.

Thanks! We are relieved and happy and scared all at the same time. Could see two babies in same sac.
1247079.jpg

Identical twins don't need genetic predisposition...only fraternal. We are hoping and praying that both grow equally well!

Porky, Storeberry and bbmouse
Hope your babies are fine and well!

hi ava, it's clearer in the last pix right? i'm not v good at reading these scans. the bbs appear to be hiding one behind the other in the first 2 pix – is that right?

Hi Xuanting

Actually Amnio is quite safe, u dont have to worry. if ur age is above 35 , ur gynae may recommend u to do amnio. Oscar like triple test may give false positive. Thats what happen to me, in the end i still did amnio. Luckily my gal is fine.

hi ava,
Congrats on having twins..

i'm now into my 10th week liao, eagerly counting down..

Btw, just to share, i have a weird dream last nite. I dreamt that my fren has given birth &amp; its a boy, the name is the one i had chosen to give to my baby if its a boy. ANd my fren just pass the baby to me &amp; said its mine. I can see the baby features very clearly, so weird rite?

Wat does it signify though?

babyatom,
what is "Oscar like triple test may give false positive"..what do you mean, can explain..
me #1 didnt do this Oscar test, only do blood test.

ava,
first time see twin scan pic.
so amazing

Hi Xuanting

normally gynae will give 2-3 days MC for bedrest. Ya, i try to stay on bed n not move too much during the 2 days aft amnio. Its the 3 weeks wait for the result that is very stressful to me.

Hi Xuanmommy

False positive in my case is classification under high risk after i did my triple test (blood test) though my bb is fine. According to my triple test result, risk was ard 1 in 50 that is the risk of a age 40+ mummy though im only in my 20s! so gynae ask me to further go for amnio for confirmation due to the high risk result of triple test.

Hi Ava, its so amazing to see two bb!! So exciting!

So babyatom, its quite stressful to go for this test right? For oscar, do we get results immediately? There is so many things to be worried about!

Babyatom,
Is it necessary to do Oscar test and what is it for ? I should be in 7+ to 8 weeks now and my doc did not tell me to take this test. At which stage of pregnancy is this test taken ?

Millie
Oscar is taken between 11-14 weeks to detect Downs' Syndrome. Usually recommended for moms who are close to age 35 and above...I think. I'm 34 this year so that's why I was asked to take also.

Hi all. I am new here. Have been following your postings for the past few weeks. decided to join in the chat too...i am 10wk 2days pregnant now..EDD on 09/09/08..currently on leave from work till i ard 14 weeks..coz been having quite bad MS..

ava,
congrats...

millie,
actually oscar test is optional... but i think like ava said, is recommended for moms age close to 35 and above... i did oscar test for my first pregnancy... turn out well... thou i m still very young, but hb wan mi to take wad ever test there is... just in case...

Ava: THe twins scan is so amazing. I thot I was having twins too cos my tummy is already protuding even though I am only in my 6weeks. But scan shows only one baby.

xuanting: Why not you do the OSCAR test first? OSCAR test is a statistical test. But altho it is not 100%, it is a non-invasive test unlike the Amniothesis test. Usually gynae will recommed the OSCAR and if the reading is within the normal range, then don't have to do Amnio; and if the reading falls under the high risk category, then perform the Amnio.

Yvonne: Hello.. I think you may still be the youngest mum here..
And certainly the youngest with 2 babies already.

Winnie: Welcome. Are u on paid or unpaid leave? I would like to take some leave too cos have been having spotting and am feeling really tired. Thinking of work makes me stress..