(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi all mummies to be,

First of all, happy lunar new year to all. I am from the Jan 08 thread and I have just delivered my baby boy on 30 Jan 08. Doing confinement now. My confinement lady is good and she has everything under control which is so important to me as a first time mummy, everything also blur.

Anyone interested in looking for a confinement aunty? I can recommend you mine. Just wish to share this with you all coz I understand the concerns and anxiety we face during pregnancy and still gotta think about confinement.

Dear mummies to be & all mummies here,

I am new here and had read the messages u have left here. It really interesting and i learn lots of things from all of you.

I am 5 weeks preggie and tis is the 1st time. Very nervous. I had been seeing Dr. Douglas Ong. May i ask, have anyone of you heard about him and any feedbacks?

I am currently on weekly injections and oral hormone tablets. Doc was mentioning that my body lacks certain kind of hormone to carry the baby thus i need the injection. May i ask, is there anyone gg thru the same thing as me or am i alone?

Hi MTB!

Check out the following url.

There is an upcoming baby exhibition in expo
It claims to showcase maternity and baby products and services, with unbeatable deals and great promotions!

Maybe we can look see look see abit wor

http://www.family.sg/TODO/2007/12/19/en-us/0000002/article.aspx

Hey Storeberry
Glad everything is fine! It is a nerve racking experience indeed!!! And yes, God will be sending angels to protect our little one

I am also attending NCC too!

Hi Goldfish, hihi!!! Yah man, hope everything will be fine & I can get back to work soon... I didn't attend today combined service because by the time finish almost 9plus & Doctor ordered bed rest but I heard from my frens Pastor Mark's sermon was great!

Rabbit: Thanks for your concern! Although I am in my 10weeks, I am still vomitting...

storeberry,

glad everything's fine!

yingling,
thx for first aid info! I haven't had time to look at them yet, hope i have time to attend one!

hi storeberry,

got a scare when I read your initial posting. Glad everything is fine 4 u now...Do rest more now...

Hi preggie/porky,

I oso noticed more yellowish discharge recently..made me feel kinda ickish cos of the hot weather..

Hi Goldfish - yes, I was referring to the Body Shop body butter - they have it in cocoa and another fragrances (mango, strawberry etc)...I have been using these as body lotion for some time now (before preggers) and love the smell. Have to get more for the tummy - I am already feeling itchy in some parts of the body, not sure if its cos of the pregnancy...

Meanwhile - I have my 1st gyne appnt at 5pm later today!!
Wish me luck!!! Hopefully, everything is well, & we will be able to see the little twinkling heartbeat like the rest of the MTBs
kao_babydust2.gif

storeberry,
scary lei, better lie down whenever u can.
must really take care.

xuanting,
guess different doc has different rate.
if you think you still preferred your gynea i guess you pay for the $$$ lor.
for some doc,they offer package.
like my gynea dr adrian wood...
Package $550 for visits + medicine for whole pregancy but EXCLUDE BLOOD TEST and DETAILS SCAN at 5th month.
BLOOD TEST + DETAILS SCAN => i think is about $100. Need to check again.

Me sil gynea charge by visit -> $70 per visit.So i think for whole pregany is about 1K++.

Me previously also got see 1 gynea before i switch to Dr adrian. The charges are like before 4th month(cos before that normally they dont allow you to take up package cos M/C is higher)
So before package, each visit is higher is like $100 to $200 include medicine and scan.
With package, is about $660 or $750 from 4th to 10mth.Also exclude blood test + detail scan.

The above all exclude hospital charges.
Btw, for info, you can claim $450 from govt subsidary at the point of delivery.

hope the details help

Hi, Bigtoes

you should be able to see the twinkling heart beat.. will be throbbing faster than yourself.. amazing.. must get the Gynae to on the volume..

the cocoa butter from body shop can use for tummy? What purpose does it serve? Oh ya, are u using sun block? Heard that sun block also not too advisable to use bec it contains titanium or something like that..

Preggie ,
discharge is normal.. i have a lot of yellow discharge and my gynae said is normal .
Flora ,
i have a 8 mth plus son as well .. my plans ... to hire a maid next month .. but having second thoughts now after seeing the maid abuse .. My MIl is helping me with bb now , but she is also leaving for australia soon .. that is y i need a maid .. everyday after work i will take care of bb till morning .. my hubby is outstation in shanghai , so minimum help. I also dunno how i managed to survived for so long .. keke .
BF is still the best .. i BF till i realised that i have this rat bb in me and i stop BF now .. and of course i supplement with FM .. cos my BM not enough .

LC (faintz) - Yes, fingers crossed that my baby is growing well
Still don't feel very preggers....!

The cocoa butter is okie for body/tummy. Its just for moisturising, cos the tummy area gets itchy when it starts expanding & i heard that the itch can get very very bad! I use an SPF50 base under my make up, but not sunblock on daily basis, unless i am going out under the sun for hours. Pregnant women suffer from more pigmentation than normal (esp brown splotches on the face), so best to put some sunblock.

storeberry , take care of yourself

Just to share

my last gynae visit was on 5th feb and next one is 4 weeks later .. My gynae also take package from the 4th mth onwards only .. and that excluded all test and detail scan and exclude medicine as well . each month vit comes up to be $50 . package is $600.. all visits before package is 100 - 200 .. and so far i have two visit that cost close to $350 already .. total cash before delivery i think is about $700 before package visits, $600 for package , $ 350 for vitamins , $200 detail scan , $80 blood test , NT scan $80 , and any unscheduled visits $60 each .. total cash appro 2 K before delivery .. and delivery deposit 1 k for doctor fees. hospital fees after CPF medisave claimable is only about $300 plus last time for 2 bedder , and $450 is claimable for prenatal ..
CL cost $1600 without HB and food .. and food depends on how good u wanna " bu " can cost easily 1 k . the wine everyday to make tonic chicken . the cod fish everyday for BM , and al have to cook with rice vinegar .. lots of preparation .. plus the bb first month party and cakes .. hmm so total cash have to be close to 5-6k for one bb ...

if any mummies thinking of buying insurance , have to buy before 12 weeks .. think NTUC have maternity insurance ,
cos i heard pre term bb and it easily cost 40 k for mummy hospital fees for 6 bedder alone ..and bb fee can cost another 60 k ..

thanks, xuanmommy. what's the detailed scan? not the same as the oscar nt scan right?

i saw my bb's heartbeat today! finally can understand what you guys were talking about – the small blinking light inside the sac. i am 7plus-going 8 weeks now.

qiuling, thanks for telling us about the maternity insurance. hb and i were just wondering if there're such things. will check it out.

hi qiuling
can tell me more abt the NTUC maternity insurance?
Was so angry with my hubby cos last time i asked him to buy the AIA insurance can cover maternity also but he kept saying no need. Anything he can afford to pay.
Then i kenna hospitalised for haemorrhage n wanted to stay one more day for peaceful rest he said why i wanna pay 700 bucks when i can go home? So i really gave it to him! So angry... Ask him to buy dun wan then come and say such rubbish...

Hi, Bigtoes

Yup, I heard that preggies get more pigmentation

SPF50? different from sun block? U using KOSE har? Cos mine also SPF50.. KS, so bot a higher SPF one..

hi quiling,
are you talking about the i-maternity? do you know of any other insurance which covers a little more which we can still buy in the first trimester?

hi qiuling,
i saw the NTUC maternity insurance online liao.
Guess it's not what i was looking for. Thx.

But in any case, can only claim up to $6000 for ICU means we still gotta pay alot if really ICU. Woah...

Hi isabelle, hippie, xuanmommy & Quiling, thanks for your concern!! Really appreciate that!!
1242479.gif
Saw Dr Woody today & saw bb's heartbeat, asked him if heartbeat is strong, & he say Yes!! So happy!!
Dr say cannot go out must rest at home, no shopping also... Aiyoo.. these few days really feel so lazy. Also worried that income will be affected since I had so many days MC liao...

Ying Ling: From what I understand , there is no other insurance that covers when you are already pregnant. I know there is one hospitalisation plan from AXA that covers for hospital charges (Its a rider attached to a main hospital plan)but you have to buy it three mths before you are planning to get preggie. But I calculated & not very worth it because you will need to buy at least two years because within the first yr, you have delivered yet so total premium might be about $3600 (Not confirmed cos I did my sums a few mths back & forgot already)But the coverage for complications is alot more so if you have normal delivery then...

HAving a bb really requires lotas money... The hormone pills is already a killer...

hi bigtoes, mine didn't give me any print outs; i think it was a normal ultrasound scan that we did too.

i did the blood tests today (screening for hiv, hepatitis, toxoplasmosis etc) and was told that the oscar will be some time in the 12th week.

LC (faintz) - mine is Biore facial milk with SPF 50+++. I have been using it everyday for a long time now, cos i am very fair & freckle easily, esp along the cheeks! I think any non-oil based make up base should be okie. Most make up also have SPF 30+ already. If i plan to be out in the sun for long (like go to the beach), then i usually use Sunplay SPF 130++ for the body(Japanese brand, can get from any pharmacy). Makes alot of difference cos I get sunburnt easily otherwise.

xuanting (xuanting) - thanks. Will see if we can get a print out. Would be nice to monitor the progress month by month & maybe even show the baby their 1st few photos pre-birth next time!

I have been smearing my face with Clarins whitening pdts at night to prevent/lessen any pigmentation spots

Duno whether issit safe bt since Clarins is mainly plant extracts,i think shld be ok bah.

Hi Xuanting
What is oscar test? I saw this term quite often. When did ur gynea start doing ur blood test? I am trying to plan when shld i do my next gynea visit again

storeberry,
think the AXA one is the one i wanted to buy. It's not only for maternity but for all sorts of other illnesses as well. Quite worth it if we know we are trying for bb as we will certainly spend more than $3K plus. And can claim for all gynae fees as well during pregnancy too (Max claim is abt $10K to $12K, if smooth pregnancy and delivery later wanna stay in VIP suite to maximise money's worth still can wor) But as we get older, not so worth it as it's a lot more ex.

My hubby din want to buy as the last time we spent $6K plus for all gynae fees during preg and delivery package etc. This time his current company can claim $3K so he said no need. He thot sure nothing happen. I should not have listened to him...

can i join in?

i'm a mother of 2 boys (4.5years/10.5mths), currently pregnant (EDD end sept/early oct).
still total breastfeeding the little one.
staying at punngol. on no-pay leave from teaching.
seeing dr adrian woodworth.

I'm really hoping for a little girl this time....

Goldfish, hi

Me too.. I am using estee Lauder and has been putting on alot of their whitening pdts on my face to prevent pigmentation.. me sme as Bigtoes, fair so very prone to getting freckles.. I understand from my Gynae that those pdts with retinol is not appropriate for preggies but she said usually must take from pharmacy one.. those over-the-counter ones should be fine...

storeberry : hi hi, glad tat u r ok.. so excited to hear tat u can see bb moving!!

im having bad gastic pain for the past few days... doc says might be coz by my preg...
i used to have gastric problems.

BTW: Can any1 recommend good anti stretch marks lotion?

Mrs Yap : i had polyp 2 years ago and had it removed... i dont think ur gyn can remove for u now??...wat did he advise?

Hi, Precious

I dun think it is advisable to extract any tooth, especially wisdom tooth cos they are connected to our nerves..

hi precious

agree with LC. My SIL went to get her tooth extracted (but not wisdom) and after that something went wrong with her preg and she mc...

hi mummies ,
about the insurance thingy , i only saw online .. have not bought it yet .. so dunno how much is the payout.. only know that NTUC has one .. and have to insure before first trimester .. will check out later about the policy thingy ..

hi precious
better check with ur gynea.
wisdom might need ansethses and also xray which is not good for bb.
normally if i go dentist before xray they will ask if u are pregnant.

hi xuanting,
detail scan - check the head circumtances, leg/arm length, confirm gender. I think also check spine length..
Not sure what is oscar scan ler :p

Hi RuiXiangmom!

Me oso using Clarins but is using anti-eau oil instead. Clarins staff told me tat is the one that can prevent stretchmark. Bt looking at pdt description, it looks like it is tonic oil hoh?
Aiyoh.. so confusing! I tink i better apply both manz!

Any MTB are doing exercise now huh?

isabelle/qiuling

NO NO NO...u wont get any paid maternity leave unless u work for more than 6 mths consecutively..

which means that if i wanna "geng" the 3 mths pay, i must cancel my leave now and start working immediately.

But it's very bad when u return and tell the P tat u're gog away in half a yr's time again for maternity leave...very paiseh one..and imagine the treatment u get from the school...

Hi Ruixiangmom,

Is that Clarins tonic oil safe to use during pregnancy? Or do you use it only after you give birth? I am very skeptical of applying anything on my body especially the stomach, during my pregnancy. Imagine the baby in your tummy absorbing it! I read books that say the skin is very dry during pregnancy and usually would be good to apply some kind of moisturiser but I am still rather worried about applying.

Any comments?

ehrm.. let me side track a little... noticed that there are a few school teachers here... all current/ex-school teachers, I am running a tuition center in bedok north st 3 and am looking for teachers for PSLE Maths and Science class, as well as Secondary Maths and Science... So if you are interested, do let me know!

anyone has any idea if the coverage for the i-Maternity is really sufficient or not?
http://income.com.sg/insurance/i-Maternity/

since now no choice that is the only option, just wondering if I should be getting it or not???

Storeberry, thanks for the info... sounds not worth it as well... so what you think about the i-Maternity? I am pretty unsure... will go take a look at the AXA one as well..

hi ying ling
i won't be getting that. But think plan 2 can claim up to $15K, and seems most reasonable if u wanna buy.
1) If i understand correctly, can only claim amx of $6k for ICU.
2) Special care is max $1000 only, whatever special care means...
3) Plan 2 $3K and $5K max for major organ failure and conginenital abnormalities respectively.

plan 1 like might as well don't buy.
And think no point getting plan 3 cos what for want all that money if bb really... u know... Unless the scenario is that u've spent a bomb trying to keep bb alive and $10K for infant death can help to cover ur other hospital expenses.

Just my thots...

ying ling,

the axa one cannot buy anymore. You gotta buy 90 days before ur last period. this is to ensure u sure kenna pay the second year if you wanna claim for maternity...

hi goldfish,

the oscar is a screening test for risk of fetal abnormalies (eg down's syndrome) usually done between 11–14th wk. it comprises an ultrasound scan (nt scan) that measures the foetus and a blood test. they will compute these results together with your age to obtain a risk assessment score for you. i heard it's about 90% accurate.

i did my blood test for the other stuff like hepatitis, hiv at about 7wks plus, also the same time when we managed to detect bb's heartbeat, so i'm not sure if the test is ordered by weeks or by milestone. when did you last see your gynae?

hi precious, is your wisdom tooth impacted? if it's growing in the correct position and direction, i guess you will be able to put off dealing with it for a while. but do be more particular with your oral hygiene for now; don't let any food stay trapped around the area.

thanks, xuanmommy. when is the detailed scan normally done? it sounds very exciting!

wing kei
then mebbe u wld like to try natural essential oils? No preservatives or chemicals. I'm using now Earthmama Natural Stretch Oil from Mom's essentials. All oils are organic and cold pressed too. I showed to my gynae b4 i used and he said it's ok. But effective or not I dunno cos last time i din use this.