(2008/09) Sep 2008

Goldfish, ok. i will find out the agency for u. we also cant treat CL too harsh, later they ill-treated our new born. anyway just 1 month, let her eat whatever she wants loh. what to do right...hehe.

storeberry, so happy for u. so u 9 weeks now, ur BB have little arms & legs already right ? did dr woody say anything abt ur spotting ? usually people say MS will end by 12 weeks. take care.

I just had my 2nd check up yesterday. I am at 9 weeks and 5 days... Can see foetal heartbeat and movement during scan yesterday... It's cool...

Me and my hubby saw the baby boxing inside my tummy... Shortly after, the baby clapped the hands above the head and hopped for a short while.... I was so relieved and happy to see the baby doing well inside me...

good morning mummies,

CL and Jamu-massage:
now it's too early to book for these 2 lah.. hee... no one will entertain us now coz it's too early. =P maybe a mth or 2 b4 we pop then we start to arrange for such services. maybe CL needs to be booked first then massage lady.

my first preg, i used to call up and want to book my massage lady, but she asked me to call her only after i pop. anyway i cant hv massage until 5days after i delivered.

hippie, if u dun like fish, maybe u can dun take the flesh and just drink the soup made by papaya n fish? can u accept that? another way is to use ginger to "camo" the fishy taste, u think u can take it?

if u really cant, then u take seaweed soup lor... it helps to produce breastmilk, i heard ALOT! u can go to the korean supermart behind Amara hotel at tg Pagar. ask for the seaweed for soup-making, it's not flavored. korea mamas drink seaweed soup to help them BF for as long as they want. so it's proven it works, u might wanna try. i'm sure this is a beta alternative than fish soup if u really dun like... =)

anyway i feel tat if we really wanna BF, then we beta ensure tat we eat quality food. meaning no cold drinks, no sour stuff, no bbq, no junk food...etc.

i BF for 8mths, and i had to stop coz my MS dropped after i stopped latching direct due to travelling for biz. and supplements r also v impt if we BF, hv to make sure we dun lose too much nutrients to BB, and hv an ailing body in the end. i feel tat i wanna give my girl the best so i BF, but i've seen some colleagues falling sick all the time after they BF for some yrs!

personally, i hv a close fren who BF for yrs, and now her body is too weak to conceive... this is just for sharing and hope it helps those moms who wanna hv more than 1 kid like me. =)

so i think we must know how to balance... esp when we dowan to stop at 1 kid. we hv to ensure our body is still capable to produce another healthy bb or more! =)

CL:
My guess is can start looking for a good one cause those normally who are very popular gets booked REAL early... 3-4months before giving birth then start to look will likely end up with the not so popular ones... But for massage lady, difficult to say... the last time I looked for one a few months before I give birth, some were already booked.... guess depends on popularity!

Could I check what does a CL actually do? I know the usual jazz like cooking & looking after the baby. But do they do our household chores as well?

For those 2nd time mummies who didn't use CL, were u able to get those herbs on ur own? You know those tt are used in our water for washing up / bathing?

Hi dmbb : you can get those herbs ready packet from medical halls, just boil them then use them for bathing after cooling for some time.

dmbb, I did not use CL cos I am not willing to pay so much for the help which might create problems... through friends, I understand that household chores depends on which CL... in other words, depends on your luck!

yes, my MIL got those herbs for bathing... some of my friends got it themselves as well... mostly already in a "tea bag" form... my MIL gave me the REAL thing... very messy...

Hi Ying Ling : Same here. Didnt go for CL cos i find them too ex !
Wah, ur mil so traditional 1 ar, hee..nwadays its a ready to use tea bag form , convenient mar...

i went for my 1st checkup during 7weeks, then the gyane schedule another one in 12weeks.. but i saw a few of u went for checkup more than once.. is there a need? i also can't wait to see my baby boxing inside me.. :p tat time i can only see baby's heartbeat

Thanks Babyatom & Yingling! if tt's the case, then I think I may pass on the CL as well. Cos my mom has offered to cook for me. Wrt to household chores, am prob better off with a part time maid then risking on a problematic CL!!

dmbb, if you decide to care for your baby on your own, ur mom or mil might need to help you to bath the baby at the very least... if they can help with looking after as well then it will allow you some time to rest at least... not much time for you to rest as you got to keep feeding the baby once every couple of hours esp if you are bf.. nobody can help you with that!

hippie,

i did eat a lot of fish... so not too sure. But i sure ate alot after i gave birth. All the meals at TMC, i ate every single thing and finished all their herbal soups too.
During confinement MIL made lotsa nutritious food and i ate 5 meals a day. So had too much milk... Didn't take any supplements either.
But after i went back to wk and got really busy, ate less and milk wasn't so much, plus cld see it was thinner too.
So fish or no fish mebbe not so impt, but amt and quality of food u eat definitely impt!

aloe vera,

mebbe ur fren din take good care of herself? Cos me still bf now but i took prenatal supplements n fish oil some months b4 i tried to conceive again.

All mummies,
But yes, bf can take a toll if dun take care well. Cos that happened to me too. I was so thin I look unhealthy as i din have time to eat well with a stressful job. Not good for me and baby too since bm will not be so nutritious... So take care all who wanna bf!

guess I'm the only kiasu one who booked a CL already! lolz.

my original intention was for my mum to do my confinement, but she will go back everyday after cooking dinner. My friends who had experience told me it's better to have an experienced CL who can "train" your baby into a fixed routine, rather than let the baby "train" the adults into their irregular routines!

I think it's important that my baby establish a routine from the start so it's easier for me to take care of him when I'm on my own.

My CL (m'sian) will cost me $1.9k without ang bao and all. She will do housework, cooking for me and hubby, take care of baby during the day and night. But I will get her to rest in the day, she's not a robot afterall.

However, be sure to get a CL who's encouraging when it comes to BF. Cos I've heard of horror stories where the CL discourage BF and encourage formula milk.

Mrs Yap: I bought Kodomo's kiddy toothpaste yday in Apple flavour. Hee, so far so good, not nausea. Give it a try. It's only $1 plus.

storeberry,

me 9 weeks plus too. MS like getting worse leh... Vomitting more often now. At first my food digested then I feel like vommiting so nothing comes out. But now, food plus alot of water comes out. Dunno where all the water comes from also... Worse thing is i don't like to drink water now as it tastes awful...

Isabelle, yah man, yesterday night I vomitted all the yong tau hu & rice and the rice like kena stuck in the throat, the feeling is terrible...
Hopefully after another 3 weels, will be ok.. My fren had MS for 5 mths man!

CL very expensive but no choice right? My fren who had a good one but she is fully booked till year end! Aiyoo... Babyatom so your mother opr MIl helping u with confinement?

Porky, DR Woody say "Aiyo" when I told him still have spotting, he say have to take hormone tablets, no choice lo... He only showed me baby's heartbeat & shape but he never tell me where is the legs & hands leh... I only saw one big head & a small body.. Kekek..

Hi Shazz
I have also tried to 'book' a CL via friend's friend recommendation. She has tentatively block SEpt for me cos she is booked all the way to Aug.
Phew i make the call today.

Did u make a nominal deposit or not huh? Mine is at $1.8k bt when i asked whether can she help me to iron clothes, she said can top up abit of her money lo :S I guess that shld be ang-pao $$$?
Bt she sounds very 'mama' style lo

My mama wanted to do confinment for me bt she looks quite weak liao. I hope i dun sound evil to turn her down. Still feel bad afterall

Hi Yingling,
my plan is to go back to my mom's to stay for the confinement. so hopefully she'll help look aft bb. but she has already said that aft the 1 month, she wun be helping as she has her own programmes.. anyways, tt's like 9 months away, so I'm taking my time to slowly decide what I shld do.

Hi Storeberry : Though my mum says she dont wanna help me this time round, but tink eventually she will relent n help me with the confinement lar. hee....otherwise my mum takes care of my elder gal then my DH & i take care of NB lor...

Qiuling, how old is your child now? I have a 8-month old bb girl. Can share your childcare plan? I have one maid and MIL watches over her but doesn't do anything to help. She merely supervises. Wondering if one maid can cope with a 16 month old and a newborn or do I need another maid?

Hippie, my doc also SF Loh. You see him at TPS?

Any good CL to recommend? I didn't do a proper confinement the last time round and since this pregancy is too close (I conceived 6 months after delivery) so feel that maybe I need to "bu" back

tks for the info on the "fishy" diet & the link to BF. I'm quite pissed with my MIL for harping on the fact about me not eating fish. SHe also discouraged me from BF. I oso dunno why..

Flora,
No i see him at Clinic D. Wat's the diff. if I see him at TPS?

Hi isabelle, u r not alone.water just comes out from somewhere.we are getting dyhrated somehow.Even no water to vomit oso have gastric juice to come out...almost burning my throat.Hope will get it over soon. Tmr is CNY eve wanna enjoy it smoothly.
Why not try some metoclo....anti-vomit medicine from the gynae?I took it it works sometimes at least dun feel so terrible...

hi Hippie: my MIL also very un-BF. When i delivered previously, she said rite in my face that "aiyah c-sec op wont have milk 1, if natural will have milk coming liao". I was so upset & fed up that i nearly cried on the spot. She's so insensitive rite ?

Hi hippie, babyatom,

my MIL oso not very supportive towards me bf my gal, i oso had c-sect n i bf my bb on a lie-down position, during confinement days, she will come into the room n watch me bf n comment. She dun even bf her two sons and wanna make so much comments... really angry n upset during that period.
That's y this time round, i decide to employ a CL to do confinement for me.

think for CL.. the usual pricing are really about there.. for confinement this time round.. likely should be my MIl doing for me.. but I'm really trouble over the fact whether or not to get a helper.. which is a maid.. saw the news yesterday about the abuse of 2 months old baby..
now i so scare.. but hor.. for those experience with maid one.. how much it is to engage them ah?? those agency fee leh?? can share?? tys

hi babyatom/ jaline,

Yah she also said some insensitive stuff during my confinement (she did it for me). Altho she is very experienced & treats me quite ok generally, but smtimes her words are quite direct.

All moms would feel most vunerable & sensitive during post delivery & she've been thru' all that, so I dunno why smtimes she can said those words.

Hi Momoko : If u have parents or ur IL's to jaga the maid then shd be ok bah. Thats what i did for my gal, bring them over to my mum home before work then at least my mum is always there to jaga n she wont get too atrocious.Then aft work fetch them home so im ard.
Mine is indon maid, gotta pay $450/mth for salary + levy tax. Think the agency fees ard 3 hundred plus.

Hi Hippie

Ya my mil very insensitive 1, n demanding. She acutually ask my DH to go over her home do spring cleaning for her ! We both busy working, own home also in mess liao, where got time go clean for her lar ? thats y i buay gum with mil...

Any1 has DH doing spring cleaning for mil's home ?

Wow, after reading all your stories about MIL doing confinement, I'm so scared. So worried that my HB will insist that I have my MIL do confinement for me. What if she's also insensitive during confinement?

Oh, by the way, I heard from my gynae that 2 months to 3 months is the peak period of whatever you have, MS, backache, etc. So mtbs going from 2 months to 3 months, take care!

me today see my gynae, 7weeks++. EDD shifted to 23Sep
got to wait for 2 more weeks to see heartbeat

cant wait for 2 weeks to come haha

wah so fast book CL!!! Me tot only book around 4th or 5th month
Me #1 ask didnt get CL, that one month confinement is like one year, very "xin ku"

so this time no want to save the $$$ liow

Hippie, waiting time for TPS shorter that's all. Otherwise, no difference

Lim, I also didn't get CL for my first one and planning to get one this time.

Wingkei, IMHO very hard to get MIL to do confinement cos you will be pai-say to ask her to do things. Somemore need to 'entertain' her so you may end up more tired. Can you own mum help? My mum did my last confinement

Hi babyatom, sometimes if not staying together is ok but if my baby is born, my MIL may be staying with us. She is quite ok but just afraid that conflicts will arise if staying together...

Btw, wat brands are u guys using for stretch mark?

I called up a massage lady just now (yes, i know i kiasu) and she asked me wat cream i am applying now and i told her Clarins Anti-Eau Oil and was told it was not tat effective

She asked me to apply Cocco BUtter instead. Available in guardian

Erm... anyone any feedback?

wow babyatom, tat's quite demanding of her loh...

Flora, wats the charges like? i think got difference rite? I just changed my 2nd appt to TPS as the other dates in Clinic D doesn't meet my schedule.

guys, have you all taken up any packages with your docs yet? any comments on the following which i'm considering, esp experienced moms? thanks!

single pregnancy: $2,275
twin pregnancy: $3,375

includes:
all scheduled consultations and standard urine dip stick tests up to delivery, and also all types of delivery (incl normal, c-section and forceps) and all hosp visits after delivery.

excludes:
unscheduled/emergency consultations, lab tests, ultrasound scans, postnatal check (check up after 6wks of delivery), paediatrician costs, hosp bills and GST.

i have to decide next mon (my next appt) but i am still v clueless abt these things. and some docs bundling their services differently (eg packages starting from dif wks and including or excluding this or that) make it even more confusing for me.

Goldfish: I'm using Palmers Cocao Butter formula lotion, it's commonly sold at pharmacies, Watson and JL. I intend to switch to Elancyl after I'm done with the 1st bottle.

word of caution on palmers on the following thread. Look for post by cerontan and rainy5.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/713839.html#POST2851547

I also used palmer's for my first preg. First 8 mths ok. Then after that one day my pants button pressed against my tummy and then i thot it was a bruise. But that was the start of the stretch marks... When gynae told me i was so shocked as i applied it twice a day. But even the other side of my tummy also had. Now faded so not so noticeable...
Dun think i will use palmers again...
My SIL's fren used clarins but in the end also got stretch marks. Mebbe it's individual. Sigh...

MILs and confinement,

me also stayed with MIL during confinement. She was v nice. Bought a lot of expensive herbs to 'bu' me and even double boil fresh chicken essence for me. BUT BUT BUT, have to put up with all her traditional beliefs. It was teriible... On several occasions, she even stood outside the bathroom and told me not to bathe for too long. I was so stressed. Bathing is such a private time but yet i can hear her voice from outside! And she kept making us cover up our baby in lots of blanket cos she scared the "wind" go in. but my girl so sensitive to heat, in the end got rashes, and only after the paediatrician say no need then she relented. But she still nag at us all the time to cover with thin nappy.
Her friends when they go to her house, seeing me in T shirt and shorts, said i got no "confinement look". I was so pissed. What the heck is confinement look??? And she even told me mum. Luckily my mum took my side, said it's v hot in June. And privately we were wondering issit must cover from head to toe and wear socks then is confinement look???
Then I put chilled cabbage leaves to my poor engorged boobs and she and her sister disapproved. Say i put such cold stuff on myself wait get wind. Hello, my boobs are bursting ok. Anyway this is what the lactation consultant taught me so i went ahead anyway.
Among other things she also make the red date tea for me put sooooo much gunger i cannot even drink. Lukiy my massage lady v nice, advised her cannot put so much and even taught her to cook confinement dishes for me.
Anyway, after the one mth, tensions ran high and i started to dislike my MIL alot. But luckily now much better. Guess seeing each other the whole day is not good for relationship!

aiyo...today i ate too much stuff. afternoon is company lunch and nite is reunion dinner (my hb's side). i took "Buddha jump over the wall". anyone knows whether we can eat this anot ?? exactly i do not want to eat de, but i do not want my col to knw that i am preggy so i only drank some of the soup. cos i knw there must be a lot of herbs in the soup. i dont dare to drink so much. now i worry dunno have harm my bb anot....and also i took a few pieces of ostrich meat & deer meat. is it ok for preggers to consume all this ?? pls pls...can someone pls advise me ?? thanks.

porky: I think ostrich and deer meat is fine, cos it's protein and it's good for baby's development. I think it's fine to take Buddha jump over the wall too. From what I know, there's no herbs in there that we can't take.

So far, my gynae only advised me to avoid food that is high in Vit A during the first trimester, besides the usual alcohol and raw food. Food high in Vit A is liver, kidney, foie gra. The following fruits and vegetables contains high Vit A as well but you need to consume a lot for it to be considered harmful for your baby. In general, if you had a few servings of the following for lunch, you may want to avoid it during dinner. It's about balancing a healthy diet.

Foods High in Vitamin A
Apricots
Broccoli leaves and flowerettes
Cantaloupe
Carrots
Collard greens
Mango
Nectarines
Papaya
Parsley
Peaches
Sweet potatoes
Spinach
Turnip greens
Yellow squash

Foods Very Low in Vitamin A
Apples
Bananas
Corn
Grapes
Lettuce
Oranges
Summer squash
White potatoes

*source of the list of food that is high and low in vit A taken from: http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?cls=15&cat=1835&articleid=2054

Isabelle: looking at your posts make me very scared leh because my MIL might be staying with us if she is taking care of our baby... She is taking care of my Bro-in-law one & staying at his place. I was hoping that she can continue staying there while I bring my baby over for her to take care... Am afraid of conflict leh... But she said that both me & DH work till very late so its better for her to stay at our place. I am really worried about privacy & even though my MIL is very good to me now, I am afraid when we see each other everyday will have alot of problems...

storeberry
dun worry so much if MIL is only staying after the confinement since she is v good to you, after all u'll only see her after work so not so bad. It was fine for me when i stayed with her when i was working b4 baby. But 24hrs a day is v diff... Actually i felt v bad that i felt such negative things abt her cos all the while she had been nice to me. But her beliefs really too diff from mine. For e.g. the tea she make so hot i dun drink like v bad but when i say too hot can dun put so much ginger, she said it's gd for my body. Aiyoh, i really din know how... At least own mother can say direct u dun wanna drink.
Only thing is u'll really have to give n take on the care of the bb cos her way surely diff from urs... Think conflict might arise more from here for u...

storeberry
oh yah, actually bringing bb to and fro from her hse to urs to v tiring, esp if gotta drive or take bus. U shld actually be glad she wants to stay! And when bb is older gotta wake him/her up to go over v poor thing also... But these are just my own thots...

Flora, of course my mom can do confinement for me, in fact I would love it cos I love all the confinement food she cooks. I'm just worried that my HB will insist that his mother does it for me since she lives much nearer, and you know... sometimes, what MIL cook may not suit our appetites especially since our appetites may not be that good after having just given birth.

Now, after reading other posts, I also worry about the way my MIL taking care of the BB would be different from ours. A friend once told me that more conflicts would arise after having children cos we will find that the way MIL takes care of our children will be so different from how we want them to be taken care of.

Oh dear, all these worries are definitely not doing us any good.

My MIL said the same thing about me breastfeeding my son (don't breastfeed, why not use formula). But thankfully, I was in the US and she was not around to 'chap'. Only my FIL came over to help cook for me as he has retired. For those of you not considering a CL, I will strongly recommend that you get one. I did not have one after I delivered my son, and my fil only helps to cook. I had c-section but started walking around and looking after my son v soon after the delivery. I think my confinement is not well done and my body is not at its best state now. Better do proper confinement.

For those mommies who want to breastfeed, you just have to ignore what your parents, PILs say, and do what you believe in. During their era, they use formula, hence the prejudice. Also I ignore them saying cannot breastfeed for long, etc, no milk supply etc, as I believe in the 'ang mo' concept that as long as you feed and there is demand, there will be supply!