(2008/09) Sep 2008

storeberry - take care

Jappooh (jappooh) : *hugs* hope everything will be alright for you

storeberry (storeberry) : dont worry about the spotting as there are many who carry baby to full term even with spotting. Just relax and rest! =)

I'm also seeing my gynae on Mon, looking forward to seeing how my baby is growing.

I vomitted for the 1st time today after I took the Neurogain fish oil. Dunno why the fishy smell hit me so badly today that I throw out my dinner. But I felt ok after puking. Now hungry again, so eating some fruits.

Shazz.... this morning my gynae told me that my spotting will go away by CNY... but i hv doubts leh cos after the previous 1st jab i am still spotting. Then i told him i heard there are mothers who had spotting all the way to full term and he said NO... U must have heard wrongly. I also blur now... Really hope spotting will go away for good.

BTW, if i took my medicines and after 10 mins i throw out, do i need to re-take huh??? I also scare will overdose myself esp those hormones pills.

<font color="ff0000">Hi, Sorry to interrupt. I'm from Jan MTB thread. I'm letting go of 3 packs of unopened Drypers NB (28 pieces each). Because CL prefers Pampers or Mamy poko. Anyone keen to take over? $18 for 3 packs, can buy individual packs too. Already discounted price so please don't bargain. Buyer to self collect at my block (Tampines). Thanks.

mrsyap: don't worry about it. Just trust your doctor! =) think happy thoughts! As for your hormones pills, try taking it before bedtime if that's the period you're least likely to puke.

Here's an article from whattoexpect.com:

Week 7: Is Spotting Cause for Worry?
"Does a small amount of blood on my underwear mean I'm having a miscarriage?"
It's definitely scary when a pregnant woman sees blood. But what's not definite is that any or all bleeding is a sign that something's wrong. Many women — about one in four, in fact — experience some bleeding during pregnancy and more than half go on to have a perfectly healthy pregnancy and baby. So if you're only noticing very light spotting — similar to what you see in the beginning or end of your period — you can take a deep breath (but do be sure to put in a call to your practitioner just for extra assurance). Such light spotting is usually caused by one of the following:

Implantation of the embryo into your uterine wall. Such spotting will usually occur before (or in some cases around the time) you expected your period.
Sex or an internal pelvic exam or pap smear. During pregnancy, your cervix becomes tender and engorged with blood vessels, and intercourse or an internal exam can sometimes irritate the cervix, causing some bleeding.
Infection of the vagina (such as bacterial vaginosis) or cervix. Again, if your cervix is irritated or inflamed, it might bleed a little.
Heavy, bright-red bleeding warrants a call to your practitioner right away. While there's more cause for concern if you notice such bleeding (especially if it's accompanied by cramps or pain in your lower abdomen), don't automatically assume you're miscarrying. Some women bleed for unknown reasons throughout the pregnancy. Other women bleed because of a clot in the placenta that heals on its own. And still others bleed later in pregnancy because of conditions like incompetent cervix or placenta previa.
If you are bleeding heavily — or even experiencing bleeding that looks like a period — your practitioner will likely perform an exam to see if your cervix has opened. If it has, the chance that you're having a miscarriage is greater. But if an ultrasound is performed (some practitioners perform one when there's bleeding) and if your baby's heartbeat is still detected, your chances of continuing the pregnancy are greater than 90 percent.

If you are having a miscarriage, rest assured that there's nothing wrong with you (it in no way predicts that you won't be able to have a baby — in fact, now you know that you're fertile), and that you're not alone. Most women will experience a miscarriage at least once in their reproductive life, many having one before they even knew they were pregnant. In fact, one in 36 women will have two miscarriages in their lifetime — and for no reason other than chance. To read more about miscarriages, click here.

Wishing you all the best,
Heidi

mrs yap, i also happy for u cos u can see ur bb heartbeat le. my next appt is 2 weeks later. really can't wait ! time pass so slow !

bigtoes, thanks. no no i won't go back to the 1st gynae anymore since now i am in good hands of dr woody. btw, now i was wondering how i should tell the nurse if she calls me on monday ?

jane, so long never see u online liao. anyway, thanks and glad to know that ur bb is growing well too.

storeberry, my friday visit cost $129. i have not take up the package but the nurse say can deduct if i decide to take the package 2 weeks later. where to fnd ? such a good deal. btw, i dont find dr woody talk very fast leh. and i ask him a lot of questions. hehe. lastly u must take care ya.

jappooh, regret to hear abt ur bb...take good care. i know is difficult at this time.

shirley, take care. hopes everything is fine when u r back from ur trip. must update us ya.

Porky: Have thru the threads and got to know what happened. Congrats on the good news! I have the same gynea as you as well.
He is indeed very nice. When I discovered I have spotting, I gave him a call and he asked me to go down and see him during the evening time of the same day and is quite assuring to me as well.

Storeberry: I guess the most important thing is we have to keep a very positive mind abt our bb. Though we have spotting, but after all the mtbs in here's encouragement and advice, bb should be ok just have to be more cautious and careful .

jappooh: Sorry to hear abt the news. I do agree with BigToes abt the fetus being unhealthy part. Try again, I believe you will have a beautiful bb once again in 1-2 mths time.

wow... just came back from my holiday... got so much to update... can't go so much.. just wanna say tat to all the MTB, we have the rest of the mummies here to encourage and keep accompany if u gals need help and ear to...

Jappooh: yes.. i'm sorry too to heard about ur story.. but pls work hard on making another one k.. life still goes on.. and i have friends too tat got MC... take care...

Well, as for my trip.. my no#1 baby did not have any miscomfort in the plane.. only when we came back in the nite.. during the landing part.. she keeps on making noise and point to her ear... think she also got stuck ear.. poor thing.. can't do much.. even thought she's having pacifer on..

Jappooh
Very sorry to hear that dearie. *hugs*

Bigtoes
Thx for the link.

Happy CNY all...will be away visiting in-laws in M'sia from tomrrow so won't be logging in so much!

Porky
glad to know that yr BB is fine. I think just tell the nurse that u are seeing another gynae and its not an empty sac. i seriously feel that its neccessary to let the gynae know his wrong. otherwise he might repeat the same mistake again on another MTB. So u shld tell the nurse frankly and let her pass msg to the 1st gynae

Yr mum went to guan yin temple to draw lot ah?

Porky! Congratulations!!! I am so happy for you!

Yep yep, Jang is right, you should call the nurse and ask her to tell that idiot gynae that he made a mistake. Otherwise next time some other poor MTB may suffer. It's ok for gynae to be unsure since it's just start of preg and give possible scenarios, but not be so darn sure and even ask you to to make appt to remove the sac somemore! It's a life ok! What a jerk!

hi big toes and ruixiang mum,
saw your posting on breastfeeding. Some info on breastfeeding:
1) Last time my lactation consultant told me that storing breastmilk of course the nutrients will not be as good as fresh breastmilk, and freezing will destroy the antibodies it contains. But both options are still superior to formula milk.
2) Also, baby no need to drink any water for total breastfeeding (TBF). New borns have enough water supply to last them 2 to 3 days accrding to the TMC book on bf.
3)Newborns guts are v delicate and "pure". Anything else other than breastmilk will affect the pristine enironment of the gut ad babies may be more prone to allergies. Breastmilk/colostrum is best for them as it inhabits their gut with healthy bacteria.
4)Hospital likes to feed bb with like 30ml of formula milk for each feed but newborn bb's stomach only the size of a walnut.
5)For formula milk, cow's milk is harder to digest as the molecules are larger (compared to goat's milk).
6)Finally, if any mummy is very very keen or determined to do tbf, should refrain from bottle feeding as some babies may suffer from nipple-teat confusion as sucking from nipple is a diff set of skills from sucking from teat. And sucking from teat is easier for bb, requires less energy, so bb may reject your breast.

Conclusion is breast is best, but if mummies dun mind formula or not intending to tbf, then nevermind abt the nipple confusion bit.

Good website on breastfeeding
http://lllsg.tripod.com/id9.html

congrats Porky.....=)

mrs yap....take care of urself too ya....=)

Jappooh....**hugz**....we are in the same boat..

anyway mummies....looks like mi too wun be able to 'join' u all in this thread....we lost our baby as the scan on thur shows no heartbeat &amp; it was confirm on fri.....may all mummies be blessed wif a smooth pregnancy....njoyz the journey....=D

**HUgz** Piyobaby.... So Dr Woody confirmed already? Don't be too sad, you are young, can always try again. Take care my fren, my heart goes to you...

hey piyo
take care.... no worries. i am pregz again after m/c in sep. in the meantime take really good care of your health so that your next preg will be stronger and better. *hugs*

Just to share...

In my first pregnancy, my gynae didn't mention that I had placenta previa. I was in my 4th month, and I had very bad cramps. It was so bad that I cried, but guess hubby didn't understand how painful it was. The pain went off the next day or so. When I asked my gynae on my next visit, she said that was contractions, and if I experience it again, I have to see my gynae immediately. Also, to see her immediately if there's any bleeding. My gynae said that there are many cases of the placenta moving up (but up till now I don't know how it works) later in the pregnancy. I was advised to rest as much as I can, don't walk too much, and no intercourse.

Just want to share this, especially with first time mums.

As there are some mummies here who already have 1 child or more, I hope first time mums don't mind if I discuss some things about our children here.

I told my 2.5 year old girl that there's a baby in my tummy. I don't know if she truly understand this, or its just a piece of information to her. Anyway, every night before bedtime, I will ask her to "sayang" my tummy, and say good night to baby, and give baby a kiss. Sometimes she is lazy, but I will try to get her to do it. Can mummies share what you know about preparing our children for a newborn. We have to handle this well, so that they don't get jealous.

Are there any stay-at-home mums (SAHM) here? Do you intend to look after your newborn when the time comes? Will you be looking after your kid and the newborn all by yourself, or with help?

I'm currently a SAHM. I was intending to send my girl to childcare, and when she has adjusted to life in childcare, then return to work. But who knows, 2nd baby came earlier than expected. So now, I don't know if I should send my girl to playgroup, or wait for next year to send her to nursery.

isabelle (isa_belle) - thanks for the advise on breastfeeding...there is just so much reading up to do over the next few months! I guess for my case, we would have to deal with the breast/teat confusion, cos I can't imagine having to wake up every 2 hours to breast feed...more importantly, have to wean the baby off the breast when i go back to work after maternity anyways....

boise (boise)- what is the cause of placenta previa and is there anything to do to prevent that from happening? Btw, my EDD is also 17th Sept (by my own estimation, have to confirm with my gyne)

Porky - maybe you should post a thread up in Singapore Motherhood forum, warning other MTB about ur 1st gyne...imagine if some other poor mommy went to that gyne and ended up removing the baby because they thought it was an empty sac??

Morning mummies !

Hi Japooh n Piyobaby : Sorry to hear abt it. Take care n remember to bu urself cos MC will weaken the bodies just like delivery.

Hi Bigtoes : There's no reason for placenta previa from what i read from the What to expect when u're expecting.

Hi Porky : Congrats ! Glad that everything is going on fine for u
So u're actually in ur 5th weeks now?

Hi Boise : The method I heard was to give ur gal the toy that she wanted after u deliver, claiming that didi or meimei gave to her to ease the jealousy....

hihi bigtoes,

if u bf, the advantage is that u can learn to bf lying down. That is what i did. It was v good if u r co-sleeping. BB wakes, u just turn on ur side, feed bb and relax then both of u just go back to sleep tog. Minimal disruption to sleep. Otherwise gotta physically get up, switch on light to make the milk. Sianz...
Also, it is possible to extend time in between expression of breastmilk if u have any desire to continue bf after gg back to work. I extend up to 8 hrs in between. So i feed bb, go to work, 8 hrs later pump for next day feed. Go home, feed bb. The body knows how to adjust.

Yep yep hope this helps. By now I'm sure u can tell i very on abt bf hor. Heehee

Babyatom, any idea if it works on a younger kid? Not sure if mine will be able to "understand" when the baby is born. Mine is 14months now so in Sept, she will be 21months plus.

Hi Ying Ling : not sure if it works on a young kid but 21 mth old understanding shd be quite gd in general. my gal will be 26 mth in sept, im planning to use this method..hee...

Wonder if any mtbs here experienced breathlessness? Last night while I was sleeping, I woke up in the middle of the night, feeling like I did not have enough air in me. I had to use my mouth to breathe hard, even though my nose is not blocked. It took me a long while to feel comfortable enough to get back to sleep again but after a while, I woke up again due to the breathlessness. So for the rest of the night, I only slept on and off, even til this morning, I'm still experiencing a slight breathlessness. Is this supposed to be common?

I realised as well that I've not been able to sleep the whole night through for a while now. I would wake up often in the night. Is this normal for mtb?

Hi Wingkei :Yup, i will wake up often in the nites after being preggie...n it takes me some time to go back to slumber again.

Hi Isabelle,

Thanks for the advice on storing of bm. I am v on tbf too, but from my first bb experience who refused anything but my nipples for 14 months, I am ready to let my second bb have some nipple-bottle confusion this time round. :p

Actually I am considered lucky liao. I have friends whose 'bb' still refuse anything but nipple at 24 months old! The worse thing is getting them used to latching on to sleep.

After reading all your posts about your nice HBs saying they would offer to help when the BB comes, I decided that I would have to ask my HB that since he has never once mentioned that he would help when the BB comes. And guess what he answers when I told him that I would need his help when the BB comes? He immediately says he can't help as he still has to work while I don't during my maternity leave. It's so sad cos it makes me feel like I'm alone in this.

Then over the weekend, we completed the rest of our spring cleaning, though I was not supposed to over exert myself as I had spotting previously, thank goodness it's all gone now, but he still told me to wipe this and that. At first, he even told me to clean some of the higher shelves until I insisted that I cannot, before he relented and said I didn't have to do it. He can be nice sometimes, but I think he's getting tired of having to do most of the housework now.

Hi there Wingkei, i think next time you guys better get a cleaning lady to come once a week for a few hours to do the cleaning? Then at least your hubby wont resent doing some housework.

I have already been reminding my hubby that it is "OUR" baby (not just mine) and that he has to do his share of the nappy changing, feeding, bathing etc...have to make sure it sinks in. It would obviously take some getting used to, but should be fine, don't worry too much okie

Maybe mommies here who are expecting their 2nd babies can give us some tips on how to make sure the hubby does his part?

Actually, i am more concern about post-natal depression! We know of someone's wife who is still having post-natal blues 2 years after giving birth, and its affecting their marriage terribly...the husband is even thinking of getting a divorce (totally irresponsible)!! So have to make sure we are happy thru out this pregnancy &amp; have the moral &amp; emotional support of our hubbies

Wingkei... u same as me leh... last night after dinner, i suddenly feel like my heart beating v fast n i cannot catch my breath... my nose is also not blocked and i jus feel i got not enuff breath... my hubby ask me go n sleep n dun think so much... even while sleeping also still like tat lor... i was also wondering if it is common or is there something wrong with me... i worried bb got prob and it reflects on the mummy lor... but this morning i wake up it is okie liao...
How abt u?

Hi, Piyobaby/ Jappooh

Sorry to hear that...Stay strong and things will fall back into pieces again.. For now, have a good rest and "bu" the body well.. older generation will say need to do a one mth confinement kind to build up the health. Maybe you want to do simple one, like taking the "lang qiu" every night if your body can accept the level of liquor.. Can also take those "dang gui" chicken essence with those "bu qi" and "bu xie" tonic which can get from Eu Yan Seng.. and also usually wait for a cycle of menses is over (of course, provided that yourseld and hubby are ready), then can start trying..

*Hugz* * Hugz*

Hi porky ,
Congrats .... so happy for you..
To all mummies ,
I make a typo mistake , my first boi is born in 2007 , not year 2006 . so i should be the same as Flora .. keke
Preggie ,
No massage for shoulders and legs for preg mummies k ... heard some major arteries are there and might affect .. so better no massage for the timebeing ..
RuiXiangmum , me with Dr HO too .. gg back to him cos he is good ,

Mrs Yap, I still don't feel good this morning after waking up, still feel rather breathless. Then when I speak, like I don't have enough breath as I can't use my mouth to breathe then. Luckily, now it's getting better. Hmm.. I didn't think about the baby part, I keep telling myself the BB is ok, it's only the mother who's always not feeing well. haha....

hi wingkei maybe u can try some chinese medication to "Pu Qi"... i got see a sinseh for Pu qi which she says can stop spotting... but the taste not so good so i didnt take for a while le.
perhaps u can try if u dun mind the smell..
but the way any mum knows if can take chinese medicine during early pregnancy? jus to be sure cos according to sinseh she says is ok

Hi Qiuling,

Yup, noticed that we have the same doc. So you find Dr Ho and Mt A good? My friend recommended him and the hospital to me actually.

Limay,
It takes some coaxing and complaining to get the hubby as involved as you would want him to be. Of course then again, there are very 'onz' daddies who would help with everything. When we first had our son, my hubby was bz with work and I was also a SAHM so I was expected to do more. But when I started working, and his schedule becomes less bz, he also started helping out more. He gives our son his bath every night now, and we take turns putting our son in bed. Our maid does not do these once we get home. I think my son was not as attached to him as compared to me, so when I pointed out that he needs to spend more time to bond with him, he puts more effort into the child-rearinhg.
It needs some time to reach a fine balance and child-rearing responsibility between the both of you. Chuan dao qiao tou zi ran zhi

hi mrs yap, i'm taking chinese medicine now. actually, i've been taking it for the last 8 months or so. when i discovered i was pregnant, i went back to my tcm practitioner and am now on another course of tcm. i think it's best to have your medicine specially prescribed for you during pregnancy if you're thinking of taking something to bu3. of course, also go to a reputable tcm practitioner who is diligent in maintaining the quality and hygiene of his medicine.