(2008/09) Sep 2008

Aiyoo.. yah maybe I will do light cleaning... I try calling this cleaner but fully booked!!!! I think not much people come my house so ok lah.. kekek...

storeberry, don't even think about light cleaning! it's v v v impt to rest and restrict your movements if you have spotting. in fact, you should lie down as much as you can.

i'm also leaving my house in its "natural" state for cny.

crayonshinchan - i think an indication on where the baby is (and which part will grow for the next 8 months) is to stand sideways by the mirror, and suck ur tummy in? The portion that doesn't contract would be where the womb is?
(Cannot pretend to have a flat stomach anymore!)

preggie,
yep, i get tt feeling. it's really weird cos i can feel so nausea on monday but tuesday seems ok then wed it gets bad again.. u get it too?
but the irony is when it suddenly disappears, i actually feel worried cos dunno if bb is ok.. LOL

Storeberry,
ya if u have spotting u dun do any hse work even those light ones. Need to rest more.

dmbb,
currently i dun have MS and i am worried cos dunno if bb is ok. On the other hand i relive that i dun have MS. Cos my 1st one my MS started when i am 4wks and vomit till i nearly admin to hospitial.. My highest record is vomite 12x per day.

dmbb,
yeah same! my sentiments. the only reason why i look forward to having ms is so that i know bb is grwoing well. i have phobia of losing bb again. yesterday i had all three meals without puking which is a good thing. i know im being paranoid but cant help it leh.

jappooh,
yeah i suppose its good and bad without ms. i think for now i will gladly have ms to alienate my fears

i oso find my tummy flabby.. dunno issit baby or wat. I cannot imagine after delivery how flabby it becomes
u all start apply stretch mark cream liao mah?
btw, anyone popping calcium tablets now?
forget to ask yesterday together wif fish oil tablets :p

hi preggie and dmbb, same here! I felt terrible almost entire day for the first couple of weeks and suddenly felt so much better. I went to visit the gynae 5 days later as I was worried and luckily, baby was doing fine... and MS is coming back again...

HI Jappooh

Haha. I still dun haf MS wor. Even at 7th week.
I asked gynea 2 days ago and he said some pple has strong MS due to the hormonal changes.
Some body react adversely to such hormonal changes wich result in MS effect. Some however don’t.

I agree tat w/o MS like majiam dunno baby doing ok or not, and I even ask gynea I dunno baby still inside or not cos no symptom

Den he did a scan and saw heartbeat and even let us listen to it! It is like a machine gun lo
He said baby heartbeat is twice the rate of the mama heartrate

So fret not, for MTB wif not much MS symptom

Bt haf to wait until 12 weeks later to be 'safe' from no MS at all.. cos after 3 mths, usually dun haf means dun haf liao

Hi Goldfish,
i only start to apply the stretch mark cream after 3mths. I still have stretch mark loh.
Mine not that bad.. After i delivery my 1st kid i didnt regain my orignal wt lei.. Part is cos i am lazy loh didnt put in much effort.

No. currently only taking folic acid.

Hi Goldfish,
i ahevt seen a gynae yet so dunno how is bb doing inside so worried. Cos havent see the heartbeat yet.

U are the lucky ones that no MS.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - I am also at 7th week (from last menses) now, and have not had any MS at all...like you, am also wondering if my baby is developing well! Am glad that there are other mommies who are as paranoid as me..hehe...My 1st gyne visit is only after CNY, so i guess i will have to wait till then to be reassured that everything is well (Fingers crossed).

I suppose, like your gyne mentioned, different people react differently to increasing hCG levels. For instance, my friend and i were both took the same birth control pill, but for her case, she had nausea from taking it, but i had no reaction.

morning gals,

I do have occasional MS, not as bad as my 1st time, everyday oso MS...

goldfish, I m currently taking calcium pills as given by my gynea.

sigh, yesterday I had spotting again, been very relax at work liao, dunno wat happen. Guess I'll just take it easy then...

Hi Jappooh
Ah.. so u are oledi a mama liao

Did u hire those massage lady to massage ur tummy then huh? I very 'worried' tat after delivery, my tummy still flabby!

Hi Bigtoe
I am sure ur baby shld be fine. I was oso tat paranoid and keep telling hubby that dunno baby still there or not :p Remember to ask ur gynea to let u listen to the heartbeat. I think it sounds 'awesome' to actually hear the little ones heartbeat leh! Abit surreal one lo

Hi Jaline
Take care wor... i was at the clinic and saw a pregnant mama was told to go slow, also in terms of walking. Cannot walk too fast oso. So besides being relaxed mentally, remember to take 'grandmama' steps at times

Me oso popping calcium after my 2nd visit. DUnno whether issit normal?

Yeah me too...seems like on alternate days my MS seems worsen...very funny...sometimes i need the anti vomit pills sometimes i feel i dun need...not sure if its the florxine(B6) that i am taking having the effect.

Hi Goldfish,
yes i have a boy turning 2 yrs old next monday. Yes i did hire the massage lady. Actually i manage to slim down after birth but i put on weight once i am back to work. So till now the extra 3kg cant go off..

Please add me too: EDD 14/9
TMC
Dr Paul Tseng

Flabby tummy etc
After birth, massage helps with water retention and watermelon look (first time mums, your belly won't go down once the baby is out so don't panic if you still see the belly there after birth!), but can't help with the loose skin/flab...for stretch marks, I found strivectin very good, but can only use after u stop breastfeeding. BF is also very good for losing the excess weight.

Warning: need to reduce food intake once you stop nursing...I lost all preg weight, but put on again after I stopped bf and now have 6 extra kgs at the start of this pregnancy!!!

This pregnancy:
I have only seen pregnancy sac...have not been able to see baby yet (at 6 weeks)...anyone else the same? I'm worried cos this is new to me, even being already a mom - cos last time I only found out at 10 weeks - by then could see baby and hear heart beat already!!! This time...blur!

Hi Goldfish,
Thanks, I have been restricting myself not to eat n drink cold or "liang" stuff liao, tmrw will be on leave till tues, hopefully my gal can co-operate n let me rest well...

It's normal to take calcium pills so early cos u will require to take them until u give birth. Our baby as they grow, will absorb our calcium inside our body, so it's always good to start drinking milk or if u hate the taste, add some "annmum" into yr milo.

Hi Ava,

i am the same as you on the extra weight... When bf it helps me to lose my excess weight..Now i have the extra kgs stuck with me also..

I just by the time bb is due my weight will be scary..

For me during 1st preg i cant see anything till i am ard 6wks+ to 7wks. B4 that i go too early 5wk+ cant see anything..

therefore for this preg i plan to see gynae when i am abt 7wks.

so we can apply stretch cream after 3rd month?
my #1 has left very ugly marks look like spider web then also it flabby like jelly

so no harm to bb if we use at 1st trimetser right?

me also dont have much MS.
my #1 also like tat, didnt knew i was pregant till 8-9weeks haha

Some info on spotting/bleeding:-
http://www.cnn.com/HEALTH/library/PR/00087.html

storeberry,
is ok lar, no need to clean the house lar, bb more important, Or get a partime auntie to help lor.
Think shld rest more till 2nd trimestr.

Hi xuanmommy,
should be alright.. If u worried can check with your gynae. I apply cos my skin very dry so it itch..So i start early..

Creams
Jappooh is right. As long as your cream is normal cream, i mean not like strivectin where is says cannot use during preg and bf. You can use the oils and creams right from start. I'm starting already s my skin is v dry, which is why had very bad stretch marks last time.

Japooh
Last time round, i was 74kg by EDD!!! and I'm only 1.6m tall....scary is an understatement

Hi Ava,

i was 64kg by EDD and i also 1.61 tall only.
Hope this time i dun gain too much but confirm will exceed the 64kg cos now start heavier also.

No matter wat.. A healthy baby is the msot important. All these are worth it. Everyday go hm my son hug and kiss make my days bright.

hi MTBs!

I'm now 8 Weeks 2 days preggies and my nausea disppeared unless triggered by smell that turns me off, such as raw pork smell, deep fried fish. Was paranoid in the beginning but then remembered I prayed for it to go away! lolz

So now I'm enjoying my pregnancy. =)

MS
Aiyoh this time my triggers are so random....last time only garlic. now, oily fish, sometimes toast, coffee, etc etc etc...and I began to like durian smell when last time I cuoldn't stand it...but that didn't last long...now don't like again
very very hard to go out without gagging...

hi guys, is anyone suffering from heartburn too? i keep getting this burning sensation in my chest and throat, like i've just drunk a whole gallon of curry like that. not painful or anything but it is quite irritating and keeping me from sleeping well. does anyone know how to deal with it?

i used to be 57kg at 1.68kg. after delivery, i m now 65kg... =( extra 8kg in me now. during confnement period, i took up jamu massage trmt, and managed to slim down, but kept eating due to BF-ing for 8mths...

now at 65kg, i cant imagine how much i'm gonna put on again for this second preg... faintz*

do feel a little inferior sometimes when i see slim mamas around... >.<

hi ava, do you only feel like gagging when you're out? that seems to be the case with me. i'm quite okay indoors but once i'm out, i start reacting to all kinds of smells.

Xuanting,
It can hit me anytime...last time was at home cos my previous fav dishes I now cannot tahan...like cod and saba. My hb asked maid to steam ikan kurau as not so oily but that oso cannot...and onions also...sigh.

Weight
I am a mammoth compared to all you mums and MTB...sigh ...feel very aunty liao!! But what to do I love my food!!

Im feeling giddy nauseous n constipated ! argh....

Hi Ava,

Im also 74kg by EDD. Im lagi worse, only 1.55m tall ! *pengz*

Nw back to 47kg but dunno how mammoth i will e when i give birth tis time lor...
Hubby also ask me not to eat so much fast food n snacks this time round so that wont be so fat... haha...

Hi Goldfish

Tummy still flabby aft the malay massage. In fact my tummy is permanently fat even after such a long time liao...really very resistant n stuborn fats..sigh...

babyAtom
Wow...back to 47kg - so super! I've not been under 50kg in ages (heavy bones also)...my normal weight is 55kg....I'm hoping after this pregnancy I will have the chance to lose all the excess weight and become yummy mummy again!!!

All the extra kilos are so scary............. me tall ya and with those extra weight, i will look super duper giantic! My goodness!!

hearsay normally will be like 10 to 15 kilos more than our current weight leh

i mean.. is tat yucky rite?!!!! (i mean for 1st time mama to be lo)

manz..

so much sacrifices hoh? alamak

xuanting (xuanting) : did you have a hearty meal? or ate too fast? I had that when I ate too fast as I was very hungry. I also get that when I ate too much. So I take small meals every 2 hours instead of 1 heavy meal. The problem didnt come back to me since.

Hi goldfish, i guess its not that bad when we are still preggers cos there is a baby growing inside &amp; something to look forward to
Its more the after, when the baby is out, the tummy area is flabby &amp; people would still think we are preggers

Umm.. Is drinking milo ok? I heard from my gynae that cannot take too much milo cos it contains caffeine too. I suffer badly from MS and it sorta calms down when I drink milo but when I heard my gynae say that, I stop immediately.

Do any of you get red spots like pimples on your body? I don't like pimples or outbreak on my face *touch wood* like some of you do, but I discover recently that I have many pimples around my chest area.
Wonder if that's normal?

Hi Bigtoes

Yah.. the post-natal effect is the more worrisome.. dunno can revert to pre-pregnancy stage

Actually i quite 'gun-jiong' over this pregnancy leh. I worried my figure will go haywire lah, will develop pimples, baby not normal lah, baby next time keep crying, no pple help me to look after la, delivery beri long and pain etc etc

U all got such worries? :S

Hi all, just found out that I'm 7 weeks pregnant with EDD on 18 Sep. The funny thing is, I just delivered last May and my bb girl is now only 8 months old *Faintz*

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - so far, my body has not gone havoc (yet), but yah...i am more concerned about the post-baby issues. Like if the baby keeps crying (some of my collegues have babies like that, &amp; makes it very taxing on their relationship), if I need to get a maid (and lose our privacy), if my hubby will be as helpful as he promises to be, how our relationship would change, if we can still travel as much as we like to, etc...
Of cos hubby says i worry too much &amp; everything will work out fine....

Others who are already mommies, how did you cope? Especially in finding alone time with your hubby?

Bigtoes, you can't expect things to be the same once the baby is here but you will experience unconditional love for your little one that makes everything (I will not use the sacrifices cos they are not) worth it. It's really a great feeling.

I'm a new mother so I know

Hi Bigtoes

Will ur parents or in laws b helping to take care of the bb ? If so, u can just ask them to help occassionally during the weekend n u can go on quick date w hubby,

For me, me n hubby go out at nites after my gal has slept soundly..hee...but thats only when she's more than 6 months n can sleep thru lar

And my bb was very fussy between 2 and 4 months - cry non-stop for 30 mins or more before bed time every night - not out of hunger or wet nappy. It's a phase that they will grow out of.

Babies are easier to manage from 4 months onwards, once they can sleep through the night. From then on, things will be a lot easier.

Things are only hectic for the first few months with the 1.5 or 2 hour feeds.

Being a first time mother, the first few months you will need to establish a schedule and arrangement that work best for you and hubby.

Don't worry too much. Just enjoy your pregnancy.

If talk about stress, I should be most stressed... cos I may need to hire a second maid for this new born cos I don't think my maid can handle a 1 year old and a new born

Hi Bigtoes,

U stay at PG right? Me too.. not too sure if you remember, but you came to my place before after most of the people moved in. Anyway, this is my second pregnancy, and I can tell you that if you are going to be first time mom, please go lomantic lomantic with your hubby and travel as much as you can. Don't mean to scare you, but personal and couple time will be compromised somewhat when you have a child. But then again, you have a little bundle of joy you both love together. The relationship will definitely be tested, but it will work out in the end when the both of you tried getting some couple time and when the child is older and less demanding on your energy and time.

My son was quite difficult when he was younger and would wake up on average 4 times in the night to be breastfed. I direct latch and he refused bottle then, so there was alot of tiredness and some resentment towards my hubby who continued to sleep on. Make sure you bottle feed your baby when he/ she's out so that someone can help you out, and you are not 'indispensible'. That's the most impt lesson I learnt from my first preganncy.
Thankfully he takes the bottle now and our life is somewhat closer to normal like a happy and less tired family (though still no long travelling possible lugging a little one around) :p

Sleep through the night... my son is almost 2 now and still waking up once a night... but then again, I already grateful that it's much better than 4 times a night! :D

Hi Bigtoes
Me too here as well! My hubby claims that he will try to help out lah, but hoh, i dun haf high hopes lo since he loves to sleep lo. And i dun haf PIL or parents to help me oso.. aiyoh.. solo warrior for me i gas?

Hi Flora
I like ur mentality.. keke.. right now, i still dun haf the maternal instinct of making sacrifices now leh. Aiyoh..

Hi Ruixiangmom
Yeap! I heard abt this bf issue. Try to accustom the baby to drink from milk bottle if not next time the baby quite 'glued' to ourselves and not the milk bottle. Tat may seems to develop problem after we working mama go to work after 3 months maternity leave. My friend told me tat.. dunno zun or not lo