(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi A&E, try again this mth, gal! dun give up! good luck to you. take care ok..

porky, just read the posts today, think 5-6weeks are too early to see anything... tats why i arranged my first scan to be in the 8th week. by then, the little twinkling star(heartbeat) will be more visable. dun feel discouraged nw yet gal! must take good care.

LC,
I think is normal..my #1, the visit for 1st trimester also not very near, 3week or 1month apart.
We gan geong want to see them lar. But i guess once u saw the BB is growing and doc assured us and do not have bleeding etc, shld be safe to see them in 3-4weeks time bah

Any mummies can see bb or hear heartbeat at 5week near 6week ?

Lim
Yup. I only posted twice here so u can read my post posted earlier on Sun. Its see heartbeat. Doc didnt let me listen to heartbeat but we can see from the ultrasound

A & E,
Thanks for your assurance.I hope everything will be fine & smooth throughout the pregnancy. I am going for my 1st visit this sat.

Porky,
Dun b 2 worried...maybe u wait for the 2nd opinion this fri...sometimes it may be 2 early to see.

Hi, everyone

Anyone here in first trimester taking tonic already? or chicken essence ok to drink? Am thinking of getting some chicken essence for a friend who is in first trimester.. is it ok to drink? Think she has bery little of MS so shouldn't be puking out after drinking ba..

Hi,Lim

I think by 6weeks should be able to see the heartbeat.. 5 weeks maybe too early..

hi guys, i think i am beginning to feel this morning sickness thing. think i need to stock up on crackers and stuff tomorrow. appetite seems to have gone away too although i really am quite hungry.

what are some simple and convenient things to munch on?

tis forum is realli great gers.....i thot i am the onli one wif body ache & all....was juz whinning to HB earlier now onli 1st tri....if 3rd trimester then how.....think my terribly big tummy is due to my large increase of food intake.....=(

Hi LC, you are preggie??? Didn't see you at TTC thread liao.. :p

My spotting stop and I reduce the hormone tablets but spotting came back again.. Is it very serious if its only brown discharge & not red color? I double my dosage again.. Hopefully it will go away.. I know cannot walk too much but don't know how much is too much.. Haiz...

Porky, all the best to your appt on fri!!

Hi xuanmommy, I saw my baby's heartbeat at wk 6!

Hi storeberry ,

Brown discharge is ok but not fresh red colour blood discharge as this is not a good sign . Sorry not wanting to scare u . My gynea told me during my first preg that I came to see him fast and so he gave me jab to help me keep my girl and luckily after 3 jabs , I ok and now my girl is already 6 . So watch your discharge , brownish ok , fresh red colour , pls go see gynea immediately

Hi xuanting, You can try keeping a container of soda crackers (not really sure what they are called) beside your bed and before you eat or drink or even brush your teeth every morning, eat some of them. It helps to relieve the morning sickness.

I was having really terrible backache yesterday and in the end, my HB used those kind of muscle ache relief ointment to rub my back. Does anyone know if it's ok to use such? I've been worrying myself the whole night, can't sleep well, but it really helps tremendously in relieving the backache. Any ideas how we can relieve backache?

Yeah, I agree. Only the first trimester and I'm already experiencing such bad backache, wonder how I will survive the next 2 trimsters.

storeberry, did the gynae give u MC? I think you shd rest more in bed. Maybe don climb up and down staircases. Be more careful.

Xuanting, I get hungry very easily at times but there are also times when I have no appetite at all. I usually will buy bread and pears to office. But its kind of a bad idea bcos I always cant finish the bread and will hafta throw them away.
Guess crackers will be a better choice...

And hor, like wat LC asked, what kind of tonic shd we be taking? My good fren has asked me if I have been taking any "bu". But I don even know wat we can take and wat we cant! Anyone knows?

wingkei,
better not apply ointment and dont use those plaster type of ache relief..i heard from my mom cannot use.. I suggest you use baby lotion to massage your back..safer.. just my suggestion

So massaging back is ok, but just dun use those kind of ointment?

I was told that taking bird's nest now is the best for our bodies. What we take now is absorbed by us but what we take in later trimesters will be absorbed by the BB. But then again, it also depends on whether we can take in anything now. No point eating tonics when all we do is vomit them out after eating, right? Just kinda waste the money. My mom suggests waiting until the MS is gone before we start taking any tonics.

Ya, Crayonshinchan.. dun know what tonic can take what cannot.. heard that some chinese tonic will "drain" the effectiveness of some vitamin and folic acid.. so better "an(1) bing(1) bu((2) dong(4)"..

Any mummies- to-be here losing sleep? meaning can't sleep or kept waking up the whole night?

Jang, LC, storeberry
thanks! guess i better wait till next week then see doc, hopefully by then me jus 6weeks can see bb
or see heartbeat

storeberry,
soda crackers: heard from friend is good for ms
me no also no appetite, when me not pregnant me eat more haha
Now be stock up some biscuit and sour plum.

Regarding tonic,
guess after 1st trimester ? but i know for birdnest is better to take after 6mth when the bb
lung are formed, cos is too cooling..might cause pleghm in bb later on.
Also when taking tonic better to consult the "sen sei" cos some of chinese tonic might not suitable for BB.

Ying Ling,
update into the list for u later

LC,
me also cant sleep..dun know is it disturb by my girl or what?
i feel very tired 10plus, need to sleep.but i wake up 2-3am cant sleep.

when me have #1, also like tat..end up my girl now at nite also light sleeper
..is it due to me haha

hello,
just went for my scan last friday. m in my 7weeks.i can see my baby and hear the heartbeat...
there are some myths saying that if the heartbeat is more than 142counts means u having a girl if less than 142counts means u having a boy...hehehe....

Lim (xuanmommy) - I am also tired easier...usually extremely sleepy by 10.30pm, thou even if i wake up in the nite, i don't have a problem sleeping again!

Meanwhile, Porky (porky_jean) - I was asking my sister (who is a Dr) about the empty sac, & she was also saying that you need to get another opinion. Even if this is a false pregnancy & there is no baby (touch wood), the sac would discharge by itself, so no need to be in a rush to surgically remove. She was also saying that we shouldn't go for scans so soon & worry ourselves unnecessarily if we don't detect a heartbeat/see anything yet (She didn't even go to the gyne for her baby till week 12!)

Btw, what is the logic for us not being able to eat "leong" food like leong cha, grass jelly, chrysanthemum drink etc?

hey bigtoes, so ur sister is a normal doctor ? she knows about pregnancy also ? anyway thanks for ur help. u mean there is no need any surgery to remove the sac even if i am having an empty sac ? it will be discharge on its own ? how ? is it like blood clot pass out like menses ? or a lot of bleeding ? but till date i did not experience any bleeding at all (touch wood!!!) sorry...too many questions to ask...hope u dont mind hor

hi storeberry,

lately i also have brown discharge spotting especially if i walk for a while, like maybe walk for half an hr or so but it will go off after i rest for a while.

don't know why half an hr of slow walking also will cause spotting...

Porky (porky_jean) - She is not a gyne, but works as a specialist consultant (rheumatology) at SGH. She said that the sac will discharge on its own (like regular menses bleeding but with some clumps i guess). Anyway, best you just go to anyother gyne. Your present one doens't seem to have good bedside manner! Good luck

Hi, Porky

Normally, the empty sac will be passed out as blood clot/ tissue during heavy bleeding so a d/c is not required.. normally, when it is passed out, one will still experience bleeding but not a lot, just like menses.. when there is no blood,then one can go back to the Gynae to do a scan to confirm that all are cleaned out.. If one wants to be very sure that the big blood clot/ tissue that came out together with the bleeding is the empty sac, can put that clot into a medicine bottle and filled up with water, then send back to the Gynae for testing, results will be out in a day or so.

hi LC, thanks for the details explanation. do u have ideas when the empty sac will be pass out ? how weeks of pregnancy ? do u have any links so i can read up ?

But, Porky, you are not bleeding so might not be the case of an empty sac.. The boby will flush out the sac if it is really empty and many a times , the first signal is heavy bleeding..

thanks, wingkei. i know what you're talking about; the square pieces of crackers right?

lc, i also have difficulties sleeping. mainly cos i've been having this blocked/runny nose for a while and my body just feels weird sometimes. the doc has advised me to drink a glass of warm milk before i sleep and it seems to help. perhaps you can try it too?

hi porky, i think empty sacs are referred to as a blighted ovum. you can google it for more info. no spotting is good news; i hope you'll get to see the bb when you scan this fri!

ydnic, congrats!

Porky
start with this website, then can continue to google for "blighted ovum" or any of the medical terms in this article

http://www.babycenter.com/0_blighted-ovum-early-pregnancy-failure_1355753.bc

"You're likely to miscarry — that is, to expel the gestational sac and accumulated tissue by the end of your first trimester, though it may happen earlier than that. "

This means sac can be discharged anytime before or during 13 weeks.

Typically the method of calculating age of fetus differs between health practictioners/websites. Some calculate from day of fertilization, others from last CD1. so there is a 1-2 week +/- period. i noticed you calculated yours from day of +ve pregnancy testing.

guess only time and a patient gynae will tell outcome. do keep your spirits up and stay healthy!

hmmm.. LC, so the pc of blood clot lookalike thing is the empty sac. I guess that was wat i had passed out when I had miscarriage 3yrs back. But mine was very very very heavy bleeding. It was so scary back then....*Shudders*

porky, dont be so negative pls. Try to think of the +ve side. As long as there is no bleeding, u are pretty safe.

joelle, i have read up the link. hope mine is not blighted ovum or empty sac...so scary...and i do not have any bleeding at all. (touch wood touch wood !!!) why my gynae so confirm that i am having an empty sac, and wanted to remove my sac ????? hope Dr Woody will not tell me this on friday too. i think i will faint on the spot...

Crayonshinchan, the blood clot that was passed out most likely was the sac...it is bloody one cos accompanied by the bleeding.. scary...

Porky, no worries.. go for the appt this Friday.. maybe your first gynae mis-guage..

Hi crayonshinchan & A&E, thanks for your advice! Unfortunately, my office is on the 3rd floor & there is no lift & ladies' toilet is on 2nd floor, so have to climb up & down...
No MC because the last time I saw him the spotting stopped then came back again. I just double my hormone tablets dosage...

Hi cremeberries, yah man, I was walking not very fast but still have spotting, think I have to lie in bed whole day liao...

Hi xuanting, yes, that's correct. I'm referring to those square pieces of crackers. They are supposed to help a lot in MS, whether just in the morning or the whole day.

storeberry, got to remember not to exert yourself in other ways too, like lifting things, pulling open doors etc. brown discharge is old blood (cld be from implantation etc) so it shouldn't be anything worrying.

Lim (xuanmommy) - thanks for the link

yes, "leong" as in "liang". I hear of people saying cannot eat/drink stuff like grass jelly, bananas etc...but don't really know why. So I guess its a myth & can still consume in moderation.
Women did use to consume pineapple if they wanted to have abort their babies during the olden days thou...right?

Is it true that you would have more discharge or cramps if you take cooling stuff during menses? Actually, I never really monitored also, but my menses usually doesn't come with cramps anyways...

hi..

talking about 'liang' stuff...got things to add on. my neighbour said pregnant cannot eat/drink 'LUO BO'/ white radish soup. she said its very cooling. haha. i was actually going to the mkt with her when i mention that i am going to make the soup..

hi.. yest morning notice brown discharge, aft lunch saw some red...really scare...called to see gynea immediately..given jab ,homo pill and mc for this week (the doc say not for me go shopping for full bed rest).... The doc even ask my hubby to lock me to the bed...now better only hv brown discharge....the doc say i shd be 5wk+...

Hey Porky! Saw ur posts on ur concerns. Yah, i tink a second opinion is very impt as tis concerns a life. Do keep us posted on the outcome after ur Fri visit!

Btw, have any of u all start popping what DHA Fish Oil capsule? I got it today from my gynea and it is like so bloodily expensive! 30 pills for $58! So ridiculous!!! It is from Nature's Care brand. ANyone got cheaper lobang?

Hi Goldfish, gynae never give me Fisg oil, only multi vitamins & folic acid. When should we start taking Fish Oil?? I am 8 weeks...

Thanks xuanting, yah will go home & rest early tmr...

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - I am taking the 100% pure fish oil from GNC (mainly salmon, sardine & tuna). Can't remember the price, but should be cheaper than your gynes (since that would be marked up). Members of GNC get an additional 20% discount on all supplements.

Hi Storeberry,
Erm..they gaf me when i am 7 weeks old. And i feel like majiam a 'cancer' patient lo. Eat so many pills every morning!!! I feel so yucky!

Hi BIgtoe
I am thinking of gettting my replacement from outside sources next time. DO we have to eat all those pills till delivery? I am thinking of govt inhouse pharmacy bt GNC sounds a good idea. But GNC pills is so called baby-safe one hoh?

Fish oil
there is one specifically for preggie woman. Cant recall the brand. Price ard $48 for 60 pills...Its available at Unity, Watson n Guardian.

Hi Jappooh

Congrats! is this ur 1st preg ?

hi Goldfish,

there is a fish oil that is specailly for pregnant lady sold at NTUC pharmacy. i cant remember to price maybe u wan to check it out.

Hi BabyAtom,

this is my 2nd one. I haev a boy going to turn 2 yrs old next mon.

This time hope to have a gal.