(2008/08) Aug 2008

YLN

on the other hand, she could be a strong lady next time wor.

She will know what she wants and protect?

But suddenly kanna slap for a kid is a shock! Did the teacher punish her?

& she is honest to tell you who she slapped. I think she din know is wrong? or she felt that she is right to hv what is hers?

I am thinking if all of them put in the same class, think no one will get calls fm teachers. coz all the same mah.

hahaha!!

celyn
haha...hmm..i guess if i look at it positively..ya lor..she is honest bah...but i find it hard to look at all these positively leh...
teacher got patiently teach ..and always got tell her she cannot hurt her friends as they will feel pain and sad..and everytime..she will nod her head...but she keeps doing it...teacher got say she want 'face' ..so cannot scold kaer in front or with her friends around..must bring her outside and tell her..and explain...honestly ..there's only so much i can do at home since she doesn't display such actions at home...i can constantly remind her to share and through my own actions, show sharing and caring nature..but if she does it in school, the teacher has to intervene and follow through the 'punishments' to correct the behavior in school...sometimes i find the teacher very fan leh..keep calling me to tell me how many people kaer beat in a day..

sylvia
the teacher's style is not like punishing..its more of telling and reasoning and explaining, which i appreciate..i guess kaer is just a bit more thick skin to understand and digest...or maybe kaer understands but its just too self centered to bother! haha..sigh..ya..suddenly kena slap is a shock lor...i feel damn paiseh everytime i hear the teacher say...

teacher kept saying maybe its the one child syndrome..that she's the only child in the family..so tend to be more self centered..which i perhaps agree to a large extent..but i also strongly believe its Kaer's character too..the teacher did acknowledge that kaer is more mature than her peers..and is more sensitive to her surrounding..n thus i think kaer knows she is wrong in most cases...just too damn stubborn to admit lor..

yln,
she wants to be da jie da so don't want to admit her mistake in cc. but in front of you, she is a little girl and thus willing to tell you honestly that she slap or beat whoever.

does her teacher make her say sorry and make up with the classmate? or just tell her outside quietly without getting to say sorry.

since her teacher notice that she wants face, can they use this to make her behave? eg will make her no face in front of classmate if she is naughty in future. not sure if this will be too hurtful to kaer though.

celyn

ya. she zzz. n i just finish hanging her laundry.

other than 'helpful', she went to touch the student beside n that one complain n made noise loh. then running ard. but teacher said she might be curious and she learn by exploring and running ard, just hv to guide her later to sit down.

When they watch tv, she can point out n name the items, so i think they are impressed. :p

I only find that nw she watch tv, she sit dwn n watch liao. nt dancing ard wor. so she is learning in sch! Hahaha!!

YLN,
the teacher is patient n I guess slowly to shape her character. These character can be power and useful for her when she is older.

Thanks M2B and Celyn.
If I moved her out now means she has to sleep withe the maid which I dun really like the idea of kids sleeping with the maid. Haiz. My intention is to let us all sleep together until mei mei can sleep through the night and put the both of them in the same room. Then shift the maid out.

Dongle,
Im not the only one wor.Haha...Let's see how long I can survive cos my hubby did say we can try first but if it affects his sleep and work, then must think of some other arrangements.

Sylvia,
I think some kids tend to like to explore things. My gal in school also runs around the class when the teacher is teaching. But I also realised that the teacher is teaching alphabets and she probably already know so she is running ard. She likes dancing and singing so during activity time, she will not run ard.

Yln,
Maybe next time when she tell you she beat or slap someone else, you just let her know that is wrong and kep emphasing this to her.

Celyn,
Oh I also use the cot till today. Yenn sleeps in the cot but the cot is in our room. Hee Hee...
So I din waste money too :)

celyn
i think the teacher has a way of explaining to kaer that its not rite to hurt her friends..as for saying sorry..im not sure if kaer understands y she needs to say sorry also (if she does actually say sorry!) to kaer, she might just be protecting her 'territory'..but to adults, she has expressed in a wrong manner..so i think the teacher has to be extra patient with kaer n teach n show her the correct way of expressing her unhappiness..or disagreement..
i think the teacher feels that kaer is very sensitive..so, correcting her infront of her friends is like making her'lose face'..so i think now the teacher is trying another method..to bring her out n reason with her..sigh..hopfully this will work soon..but i have to agree with sylvia..the teacher has to do this slowly to shape her character..
in a way, im thankful the teacher is so patient with kaer , and always trying out new ways to 'tackle' kaer..but i do feel for her cuz the teacher has 10 other kids to teach..and all others also have their quirky ways..so, one tough kaer can be stressful..

sylvia
haha..i dunno how these traits can be power leh..to me ..it seems like an irritating character..hmmphh

cindy
we do tell her its wrong..but the prob with kids is, they forget very easily what they did in sch!..n plus i cannot keep telling her that when at home she didnt beat anyone...else she will be wondering y mummy keep nagging..haha..but ya..we do remind her on and off its not rite to hurt people..

Yln,
Wah kaer very violent... Hehe.. Last year, cayla bite a gal called xuanxuan twice on the face cos that gal snatched her toys. We felt so bad n my hb went down to school n made cayla apologize n shake hand with that gal. This year, she was scratched on the chin n eye area by a newbie gal called kaixuan. My hb went to school again n told that gal cannot beat cayla... Hehe... I think she is enemy with ppl called xuan in school.. Anw, the teacher wen complained to my HB that cayla likes to lie down on the floor told him that cayla put her beautiful face on the floor, I hear aledi want to laugh...

cindy,
if you are going to pass yenn's cot to baby, then you have to move her out of her cot asap. don't wait till baby arrive then move her. she will really think that baby is out to snatch things from her. first is her bed then parents then toys. i move yu ze out of his cot at 16 months, leaving the cot empty for 4 months before yu xi arrives.

yln,
i see. you just change her school this year right? is she like that when she is in cc?

I was reading about what u all wrote. Can be a headache n I oso believe in natural born character but never give up, have to persevere so they can learn.

YLN,
we often tell the kid what is not good to do, ie snatch, beat, etc but we may have forgotten to tell them how to behave. Gotta spell the exact actions so they can model. I learn that from the cc teacher last time.

She would speak to the kid n tell them to say "stop it" if someone else is trying to do something they dun like. And ask from the other child "may I" "can I" if they wan something n have to wait. I also try to teach the kids they got to wait but it's something rather tough. They dun appreciate that n wants it now.

Give them alternative actions and actual actions to do, eords to say n do roleplay with them may help. Just a suggestion.

Sylvia,
Dun put my Kai there. My "gentle" giant will end up whining n crying. 老师says he has got a 玻璃心,cannot scold. Tell him he cannot do this or that he will start tearing.

YLN,
maybe have #2 then Kaer can learn to share? Kekekke.
Cos now everything she wants there is no contention n perhaps dun give her everything she wants immediately.

Cindy,
My kids always sleep with the maid, my previous maid oso.

Once I go back to work I move Kai out cos I need to sleep ma. Furthermore I express at nite so hard to take care of baby n express n expect to sleep well to work.

Both kids sleep with maid n cos Quan sleeps very deeply so even Kai cries it does not wake him up. But Kai dun cry so much at nite la, he was an easy baby.

Now for #3, I plan to put him to sleep with maid once i go back to work n the other two boys on their own. I should start training them now n hopefully try get the idea of not having an adult to be in the room to sleep with them.

Though the kid may get attached to the maid but they still love me more. Sometimes they prefer the maid but its ok for me cos it gives me some freedom. Like they ok for me n hubby to go out n maid can manage them. Else u must bring them along everytime.

They only turn to the maid for milk, food , bath, change clothes. Love, care n concern still comes from us. They may turn to maid if they dun get the attention from us ba. I think.

So far my 2 darlings still come to mama first. Well, that is if the maid is cooperative n enforce to them mommy is still the ultimate authority in deciding hinge for them. She can only feed, bathe n change them.

Else mommy no say then become biggest n they wun need mommy anymore. The kids are very clever. They understand who is most impt. Kekekek.

My #1 can say his ranking is mama, maid then papa cos papa dun provide so much of their needs. They dun differentiate love for now but more of needs ba. Heh, my theory.

Another factor is that hubby needs to sleep n work too ... So depends on how supportive hubby is or how much they willing to suffer .... This determines if baby can be in room long

Me old Liao. No energy so need help from maid.
The two boys already zapped up my energy.
They always want me to read for them n play with them.
#3 comes I must not neglect them either so day time I spend wih baby then nite I spend with them.

If now I dun have enough energy n baby comes, worst. So have to split some load to others so I can still be effective , though not as much.

Different people different values n have to work accordingly to the situation. Keep making changes till onw solution is found.

Morning mommies,
Almost 7 Liao. Going back to sleep cos just now woke up due to super heavy rain n now tired .
Goodnite , heh.

celyn

Ya... coz bbm woke up early n dancing liao. Kekeke!!

Cat,
oh...... I tot qingming is super hot n humid. It's cooling after hot melting days.

celyn
yes, i changed her to new sch this jan...in fact, when she was in cc last yr, she had the same complaint from teacher..n it lasted for 2-3 months...the current teacher also asked how kaer behaved in cc, n also understood she had this problem during cc

Copied from the original source:

I had lunch at Amara Hotel Shopping Arcades food court yesterday and noticed that the Charles & Keith outlet was displaying a Further Sale Up To 50% Off sign!!

Puzzled, I asked them … “Got Sale Now … How Come 50% All The Sudden”? (Normally it goes 30% before 50%).

The reply I got was “Oh … because they (Amara Hotel Shopping Arcade) will be renovating so we are clearing out …”.

Aha … so it’s a Charles & Keith Clearance Sale At Amara Hotel Shopping Arcade

Charles And Keith Clearance Sale At Amara Hotel Shopping Arcade Image

They also said other Charles & Keith outlets are also having sale but the outlet at Amara Hotel is giving more and on a wider range due to the clearance nature.

Most likely the sale will last till it’s time to close for renovation.

Promotion Details

Promotion : Charles & Keith Clearance Sale At Amara Hotel
Date : Spotted On 1 Apr 2011. Probably Till May 2011.

YLN
*hugs* Kaer seems like she needs a lot of patience from her teachers, and I'm so glad to hear that her tr has been.. I dunno if it helps, but I will relate what's happening at my parents' place.

My niece, 4+ yo, usually retaliates by snatching or pushing, whenever she wants a sthg back fr Ashley or her bro. And given her larger stature, she would cause some kind of injury if she uses more strength or if there's sthg around to cause them to knock into.

So whenever I see it going to happen, I will make sure that I am in time to say sthg along these lines to her. "Stop, Yiyi/ porpor/ grandpa (an adult) will help you get back that toy" "there's no need to push/ snatch" It took a long while before she understood that we will definitely 'seek justice' for her, but she has realised that we wld definitely help her. And the incidences of snatching/ pushing is almost non-existent.

Hang in there, I believe as long as the teacher is consistent & hopefully having the eagle eye to watch over her more closely, the hitting incidences will cut down

Need some advice here.

Anvelle was sent home wif a slight fever n some spots on her body n diaper area. Cc suspected HFMD as another kid had it a couple of days back. We went to the doc's n he said it was too early to tell. It could be HFMD or chickenpox. She had the chickenpox vaccine but it is not 100% coverage. More spots hv appeared all over n our review is only tml. Can any mummies wif HFMD experience advise on wat is it like n how long it will take to recover? I m rushing some projects at work n this is no good. My original plan was to bring her to my gran's but my aunt called me n warned me not RO bring her over n infect her kids (K1 n Pri 1). Now it seems tt I gotta take care of her myself as hb has training at work for the whole of next week! Haiz...

mummynana,
its depends on how serious its her hfmd. i took more than 1 week to clear for those that are on my hands only. don't know if hfmd will appear on body or not. do you think its chicken pox instead?

Celyn,
There's not much water in the bubbles leh. N she had the chickenpox vaccine. I was thinking maybe it's a new variation of chickenpox tt happens after the vaccine... Coz it is all over her.

mummynana,
maybe its the beginning so no much water bah. i'm not sure either. having vaccine doesn't means don't get just chance is lower or recovery is faster. monitor and see how bah.

nana
if it HFMD, dr will give 1 week mc, and when she has recovered on the 8th day..she got to go back review and get clearance , and letter from dr...n bring the letter back to cc...kaer had it 2 times..n the spots got lesser..sometimes HFMD is not full blown all over the body ..its mostly on the hands and feet..could just be a few spots, but mainly on hands and feet..maybe a few on the body..
really canx tell u much also..just that if its hfmd, its best to keep her home, and not let her go out..i guess if its chicken pox, its also the same bah..but not sure how long chicken pox 's mc is leh...

Hi to All Mummies,

Am looking for Enfagrow 1.8kg etc (Netherlands) bought from local stores, do let me know if you've any excess that you would like to clear off, would be keen to take all if the price's ok. =)

Pls PM me if you've any.

Good Morning Mommies!

Nana,
Sounds like chic pox instead ya? That time Raine kena oso no water inside the pox 1...but after an injection, she recovered quite fast...maybe you bring Anvelle to see doc again now since more pox has appeared?

Hi Mummies, din logged in over the weekend.

Celyn,
I already got her a bed, delivered yesterday. Of course, the bed is in our room... haha... Will start training her to sleep on her bed.

Shint,
i agree its a matter of perspective. Also my maid is new and untrained, so Im also not comfortable in leaving her in the hands of a stranger at night. Maybe after a few months, I will also give up... haha.. I will let you know. I realised you still like to post in the middle of the night hor, like last time.

YLN,
Maybe its the change of CC cos u mentioned the action lasted 3-4 months in her previous CC. But I must say the teacher in her current CC is really patient. You are lucky to have her.

Nana,
Can you work from home or get your gran to your place? And if its look full blown, you might want to bring her to the doc again today to confirm.

Cindy,

for my experience, please prep her to come over in the night.

I had a bed next to mine, in the nite or early in the morning, a rat will crawl over. Hahaha!!

Eh..... presch for 2 hours, do they hv snacks?

Coz when I ask BBM to go pee, she shake head, ask her if she want food, she shake head. So I ask her if she has something to eat in the class, she said yes. So I ask her if she want to go potty before class with teacher, she said yes.

She left everything to class nw? Hahaha!!

MPH Parco Millenia - 25% off Children Books for min purchase of 2, 20% off for 1, Till 14 Apr 2011

Free set of 4 of 105th MPH commerative coaster with min $30 in single receipt.

The Manhattan FISH MARKET - $3.99 Fish 'n Chips, 4 to 8 Apr 2011, 11am to 5pm, with conditions.

Terms & conditions
1) Valid on 4th-8th April 2011, 1100-1700 only;
2) Each guest present is only entitled to maximum of two(2) $3.99 Fish ‘n Chips;
3) Credit Card payment for $15.00 and above only;
4) Offers not valid with any other on-going offers, discounts, privileges, set lunches, promotions, vouchers nor exchangeable for cash;
5) All images used are for illustration purposes only;
6) While Stock Last;
7) All market prices are subjected to 10% service charges and 7% GST;
8) The Manhattan FISH MARKET Singapore reserves all right to change the terms & conditions without prior notice.

Morning, Mummies!

Celyn, YLN, Cindy, M2B,
Thanks dears. She has much more spots now. All over. Will bring her to the doc's again this evening after work.

M2B,
Really ah? She has a litte blister on the spots but not watery like the chicken pox I had when I was young. Maybe it's like Raine's. Did Raine hv the chickenpox jab too?

Cindy,
Luckily one of my aunts who is staying next to my gran is on leave for the week. So she's helping to look after Anvelle for the next 2 days before she leaves for her holiday. N my gran will also go over to help out.

Sylvia,
I m keeping my fingers crossed. Nobody can help after Wed liaoz.

Nana,
Yes, Raine got the chic pox vaccine when she was 1y+ but then kena chic pox when she is 6 -_-"...so the vaccine is not 100%...I was so worried when she kena as myself never got chic pox before and got the vaccine at 23yo...thought can spread to Mae then but who knows never so after Raine recovered, I guai guai brgt Mae for vaccine lor...

I think from your description, most likely chic pox...dun worry, not much discomfort except itch...oso no high fever after the vaccine...they can recover really fast 1...you also take care ya.

wow, i also long long time never login.. :p

Congrats to all the preggie mommies!

Today saw a new classmate walk past Braiden and pushed him out of his way, but lucky Braiden never retalitate. He now knows it is wrong to bite and hurt people, so he wont do it.. but he still push ppl lah for those who try to snatch his things. Gotta teach him to differentiate what is bullying and what is self-defending. So far he is much better now...

sylvia,
im all prepared for the rat.. haha...
Yenn's playgroup class got no snacks cos only 2 hrs, 9-11am...sometimes, they will let them taste some fruits...

Nini,
Good that Braiden is learning...Mommy dun need stressed liao

Sylvia,
Last time Mae attended the 2hrs playgroup no snacks but parents can bring some snacks for them to eat as they will have a short break...now 3hrs, will have tea-break

<font color="0000ff">Cindy</font>
Congrats on ur #2!

<font color="0000ff">Nana</font>
jasmine kenna a mild case of hfmd last yr. spots 1stly appeared on her hands and feet and her butt (and it's alot of spots on her butt). and PD saw a couple ulcers inside throat. 2 days later more spots appeared on her arms and knees. But she recovered quite fast, <1week.
The determining factor is ulcers inside throat. The doctor should be able to see it. If there r none inside her throat, it should not be hfmd.
Wish Anvelle get well soon!

<font color="0000ff">Sylvia</font>
the 2 hr playgroup near my block has a snack time but parents need to pack for the kid.

sylvia,

my little rat also loves to do that. since birth, he has his own room but ever since we converted to junior bed, he will come to look for us at nite when he wakes up. grrr...

Nini

glad that Braiden is patient now.

great job mummy &amp; Braiden!!

Oh......... so there are so many different standard on snack for 2 hours playgroup.

Kekeke!!

I think I hv to go n ask.

Tks!!