(2008/08) Aug 2008

Snow
ya..i usually will talk to kaer properly after she cool down and explain to her why mummy will scold or why she cannot do certain things...she will nod her head , but i dunno how much she understands lah..hahah..then i will hug her lor...n ususlly she gets angry or throw tantrums cuz she cannot get what she wants...

krex
my MIL also spoil her to the core...i tried a few times with the time out at her place...but mil will come and rescue kaer too....i think the next time, i will tell her off straight...cuz all her 'protection' is creating a little tyrant now..

My mil insists i return to workforce asap n I doubt I have much time to wait for my girl to outgrow, hee! How I wish I can just stay status quo. Sigh. My mil also doesn't like
maid so need to do something abt the attachment btw girl n maid. Headache lo!

Tried something that worked just now! ;) I got maid to hide in her room with my son while I left my yelling bb girl who was demanding for maid to carry her to charge ard the house for maid. After searching every room except maid's room she got exasperated n asked me to carry her instead. When the maid and boy are nt physically visible, it was much easier to manage her outburst of emotions! It took her only ten min to calm down and listen to me. Gotta step on it! ;)

yln
in that case, gotta really need to step by step guide her... =)
maybe i'm a little more fierce lah, i wun let anybody into the rm when i lecture my gal lor. =P
maybe try to let ur mil understand why u need to do thing that way 1st?
and let her noe if she luv kaer, she will want kaer to grow up to be luv by all around her also.

jassie
yes! thats the way, keep the maid out of the pics.
jia you!

jas,

how to undo? send maid back lor, haha. (just kidding) why does your MIL want u back in the workforce anw?

snow,

i haven't really tried time out yet. normally when he does something naughty we'll just give warning and if he repeats, we scold or beat his hand. that sensitive boy will start to cry already and wait for us to hug him, haha.

YLN,

have u tried time out in a room at your MIL's place? i think if J does something very serious, will try that. else if we scold him in living room, everyone comes to the rescue!

anyone knows how to stop yu ze from using his hand to eat huh. he will start off his dinner with spoon but less than 5 mouth, he will start using his hand to take the food liao. recently, he even started grabbing rice with his hand to eat like malays. don't know how to stop him leh. he will cry if i refuse to let him use hand then i try to feed him, he will reject liao.

yln,
i don't think time out will worked with yu ze. if he is naughty and cry, i just ignore him. he can stand at that particular spot and cry for very long, hoping for us to go sayang him. when he does that, i will just let him cry till he stop. if very serious crying and no stopping, i will just sit at some place where he can definitely see me and ask him to come to me for love and hug. if he refuse to move, i just leave him there to continue to cry till he come to us. i think the longest record for him is 15 mins bah.

Snow & Krex,

I had another "battle" why bb girl woke up from her nap. She kept asking for maid to carry her and kept whining don't know for what. I doubt she herself knew why she was whining, probably cuz she was still sleepy. Maid asked for permission to go toilet and I told her to stay inside there.

My girl went hysterical and started pounding against the toilet door for almost 40min! Gosh... I cannot believe how attached she is to the maid now! and I was carrying my little boy on my hips and he looked a little scared.

and after all the frantic yelling and screaming for maid, she did not give up and kept tugging me to ask maid to open the door. (nah, she can't talk much yet but her actions were pretty obvious) but I kept telling her maid in toilet, so cannot come out now. I instructed maid to stay inside there.

my terribly frantic girl began to glue to me and wanted me to carry her to pound on the door with her. I insisted on going back to room to enjoy the air-con, and so i struggled with two babies into my room and turned on air-con.

Once in the room another battle began. My bb girl refused to let me touch my younger bb boy! whenever I carried him, she would push him away and scratch him and wring him whatsoever. I sensed a strong sense of sibling rivalry here. My boy got terrified and started to cry and begged to be hugged. Both babies starte yelling and screaming and crying for another 20-25minutes.

After I managed to calm my girl down a little, I asked her for permission to carry didi out first, and she relented. Got maid to carry the terrified boy and concentrated on the girl on my iphone games. ARGH, I THOUGHT PEACE HAD ARRIVED UNTIL I MADE A SILLY MISTAKE IN MY WORDS "..oh oh... that was wrong~" and my girl started to yell for maid once more.

She rushed out of the room and wanted the maid more than ever. My boy was still sniffling in maid's arms.

For a moment, I felt like a failed mother. Sigh.

Krex,
Seriously, my mil wants WOMEN TO GAIN FINANCIAL FREEDOM and she doesn't like me being at home and "depend on her son". A part of me wishes to send the maid home and don't wanna see her again (yes, call me a little jealous whatever, sigh). But a larger part of me knows that I would still need her for peace and harmony at home.

krex
sama sama...ha ha...zynn also very emotionally sensitive de, sometime give me that kinda cry w/o sound one...see liao also heartpain. -_-"

jassie,
is your maid her main caregiver? that's why she is so sticky to her? i'm sure your maid dote on her a lot that's why she knows how to bully your maid and only want her.

has she been like that after your boy is born? could it be that she is feeling insecure that's why behave like that?

celyn,

maybe it's nothing wrong for yu ze to eat with hands. he's prob exploring at this stage. if everyone ard him eats with spoon/ fork, sooner or later he'll want to follow suit.

jas,

i think you might need to examine why your daughter is behaving like that. is she spending too much time with the maid or are both of u disciplining kid using diff methods? it's also gd to give +ve reinforcement...that means dun wait until she throw tantrum to scold her. when she's a gd girl, praise her a lot too. coz' i have a feeling your kid is very attention seeking.

Celyn,
ya, maid was her main caregiver when she turned 3 mths n I returned to workforce. But since last aug I stayed home n gave birth to didi, both of us stayed home to care for both children, mainly maid to jiejie and me to didi. I know she is possessive and this is even more obvious as she becomes better in expressing herself. Can't help it.

Krex,
maid is indeed spending more time w her than me but really cN't help it. As much as I try to give equal time to both children, it's still not easy to give equal attention ESP when one's older than the other.

Both hubby n I always praise her whenever she does things right fr the start since we understand how impt it is to a child as both of us are teachers. Sigh. Gotta be patient, I guess?

jassie,
i see. i think you only can cut her off maid slowly and not by force. cos your maid had been the main caregiver to her and even after birth of didi. of course she will definitely stick to your maid. try to spend more time with her and not always with didi.

i think you need to work hard in bonding with your girl. try to get her close to you but not by force. shorten her hours with your maid slowly, give her the same amount of attention as you give to your boy. hopefully, this will help to make her feel that you also love her and not just didi. i think girl are more sensitive.

fyi, my boy had been with babysitter since 2 months old till 18 months when i put him in cc. though we bring him back every night and take care of him on weekends. even now, he will still go straight to babysitter when we are all around him. she is still his #1 choice loh cos she had been with him for so long liao. need to put in effort to bond with him.

my girl is just born too, now about 5 weeks old. we had been 'educating' #1 about meimei since i was pregnant. he will still be jealous over meimei but can also tell that he loves meimei. we spend our time with him whenever meimei is sleeping. when meimei needs our attention, hubby and me will handle one each. when i'm alone with both, i usually let meimei cry and stay with #1. or i will carry #1 to see what meimei needs. i won't just leave him alone to settle meimei. i don't want him to feel that i only love meimei and not him. always praise him for his good work and tell him that we love him.

celyn
most maids "doted" on their little master de, who dare to scold the boss's kids lor?

jessie
sorry har, did i read or remember wrongly?
the didi was born last aug?
that mean both ur kids is only 1 yr apart? -_-"

Snow dear,
yes my da baobei n er baobei are 13 mths apart. Jiejie aug 08 n didi sep 09. Nature provides so accept la
with this close gap, there is much competition for mummy's attention.

Celyn dear,
yes, totally agreed with your methods n suggestions abt nt wantg to let #1 feel less or unloved n so there're protected activities tt I would do w #1 without #2. But as times passes and with our little toddler getting more active and w my didi beginning to crawl n wean off milk, I feel much busier than before n it bec increasingly easier for mAid n I to "specialize" in one each. I guess I really need to work hard on this lo!

Halo Mommies!
Tmr gg to be on leave so bringg both gals out for lunch with my gfs and kid...

BTW, I'm trying to liaise w f8angels for some discount/perks of their both outdoor and studio PS...anyone interested? They said they will give me the details via email soon...so need to get a feel of how many mommies interested
I'm looking at taking near Mae's 2nd birthday

1. M2B
2. Snow

celyn

maybe u wanna change spoon?
coz BBM will use fingers when the spoon cant fetch food n she's hungry or lazy to scope more. or wanna choose food to pick n eat, then use finger.

I just bought a fork that is shape like spoon, seem like she use more of it than fingers.

is normal that they dunna to be feed. they feel they r old liao. hahaha!!

sylvia,
yu ze use the whole hand to grab loh, not just finger. i shall go see if there is any other spoon available for him.

Hug all mummies too, ESP 2nd time n 3rd time n many-times mummies! Think we have the most challenging job in the world because we are specially selected for this tough job that men cannot handle! Kudos to you n me!

If it's healthy losing it's fine, otherwise you need to put your health before others first. Only happy mummies get happy kids! Take care! ;)

M2B,

Me oso keen.

f8angels for some discount/perks of their both outdoor and studio PS

1. M2B
2. Snow
3. Sylvia
4. MummyNana
5. Shint

Jas,

must be hard for u to have 2 age gap so near. But u can do it!!

I guess some MIL just wanna think for her son but never put herself back to when she had kids ard the age. the prob u r facing etc....

Coping with work, home n kids is diff fm last generation....

U jiayou!!

Good Morning Mommies!
Ydy on off as it's my 9th ROM Anniversary but hb working so I brgt both gals out to meet my 2 friends of 17 years! Had a great chat before meeting hb for dinner...can't believe I'm a Mrs for 9 years liao hahaha

PS
Any more mommies interested? I'm still waiting for the company to get back

Morning mummies.

Today's first day of skool for Anvelle. Left after observing for abt 45 mins. She doesn't wan mummy to stay in skool. She said "Mama...wk wk... bye bye!" I am so sad... Now I understand wat u mummies meant when you first sent the little ones to skool...

nana,

wow, your kid adjusted so well in sch. this is the first time i heard of a kid who didn't cry and sob but was happy to let mummy go

Krex,
The teachers and I were surprised too, but kinda sad tat she asked me to go. The teachers commented that Anvelle is very independant. She went into her classroom and started playing wif the xylophone. When the teacher told her to go to the common area to play wif the other kids, she told the teacher to wait and put the toys back before following her out.

Gng to get her uniforms and mattress, etc later when I go pick her up at 11.30am.

nana,

wow, many mommies would die to have your kind of kid. still put back toys before going out. very gd leh!

M2B, f8angels for some discount/perks of their both outdoor and studio PS:

1. M2B
2. Snow
3. Sylvia
4. MummyNana
5. Shint
6. Jen

YLN,
She's gng for full-day cc at Orange Tree Pre-school near my office. N silly me was so excited wif seeing my sweetie n gng for lunch wif my gran n aunt tat I forgot all abt the uniforms n stuff. Gotta go back another day to get them.

Krex,
My gran was so gan chiong n worried abt Anvelle's 1st day at skoll Tat my aunt brought her to the skool to look ard n bring Anvelle Hm. Only when she heard the teachers praising Anvelle did she feel more an xin.

Hi mummies.

Mamy Poko having promo at NTUC. $19.95 per pack.

Any mummies hv cheaper alternatives for diapers tt r ok for sensitive skin?

Nana,

good that u trained Anvelle so well.

Pamper comfort is at $11.95 per pkt. Gd for sensitive skin, coz even mamy poko will coz rashes for BBM.

Another one is EQ. I think only in giant.

krex, huggies ultra also at $19.95

Sylvia, think it depends on individual bb lei. Jac will keep complaining to me dat she 'yang yang' when i try pamper comfort. But she ve no problem wif MP since day 1. I got frenz ever told me her bb sensitive to all diaper brands except those cheap one like giant or ntuc brand. is dat funny lor. hahahaha

morning. =)

sylvia
hi-5, both my gals sensitive to mp also. =P

rata
$19.95 is the jumbo pack, normal 34pcs is $14.30.

snow, $19.95 i dunno is jumbo or not i think so XL size is 44pcs (is dat jumbo) i not sure coz i never bought any in my life