(2008/08) Aug 2008

Jen,
Hope P recovers soon.

Medicine. Force feed if they dun guai guai take.
So far we trained them to drink from the stringe themselves. Kai oso ...but some he spit out then we hold him and force feed.
So he better guai guai take or we;ll use force.

morning mummies

rona,
i already check with school bus. they don't even send to my fil's place which is just opp juction of my house. babysitter's place is even further loh. so they don't send. originally, they don't even want to fetch yu ze in the morning only want to send him back in the evening. i complaint to both the bus driver's boss and also the centre manager. only now that will try to work something for me to fetch him 2 ways.

back up plan is me, hubby, fil and last babysitter. i won't want to touch babysitter unless really got no choice cos she also have a special boy to take care or special boy and #2 to take care after i delivered.

sylvia,
i think so leh. not sure why the effect on yu ze can be so strong. yesterday, i let him skip multivits right, and he manage to sleep through leh. only wake up a while to eh, like his usual.

shint,
of course, $$ is a concern when i cut yu ze off from babysitter to go cc. i don't see why i want to pay twice the $$. then some will say, i should keep babysitter then send yu ze to playgroup. babysitter to fetch him after playgroup. this will although increase the cost but save me from all logistic problems and also from the pay cut by down time.

i have yet to check out the price for playgroup but i guess the $$ will equals to the $$ i will suffer from pay cut. then in this case, i think i will rather take pay cut. at least, i get to spend more time with him and have him closer to us (parents) then babysitter bah.

Good Morning Mommies!

Celyn,
There is no right or wrong answer to what you do...just do what you think is best for you and family...I was called "bad" for sending Raine to cc when she is 17mths+ but I dun care then

Cheer up k?

celyn,
$$ can never compensate the time a mommy want to spend with the kid. To some, they prefer to work and get somebody else to spend time with the kid cos they'd freak out handling the kid.

Spending own time is good cos u can do more constructive things with him and bond. I dun suppose the babysitter has a good programme instore for his development rite?

For myself, I think Full day CC best cos it beats having him being at home with maid and staring at the walls or sleeping only. Worst, hooked on TV.

Aiyo. Last time women can work and handle a dozen of kids. This era pple all say this cannot that cannot ..... we're more capable than what pple tell us we are. Women who are not so fortunate have to work and take care of kids and cook and do everything.

I always think i cannot handle the 2 kids alone esp when maid goes on off on Sundays and sometimes hubby has other things like jogging, meetings, lunches ... no choice but unhappy but I realised no problem at all. Just not that I am welcoming to do it alone all the time, extra help is always better.

Well, my ideal lifestyle ... work half day and can spend half day with the kids or sleep! hehe.

You know what's best for yourself and family. The rest are offering their suggestions which fits them best but may not be for you.
No need to explain to them cos u owe them no explaination. If they persists, just say "Thank you, I appreciate it and I've worked out my solution."

celyn,

how come the transport co so inflexible? if yu ze on full day CC, then no need bb sitter already. just have to make sure you're able to send him to sch and come back in time to receive him back from sch. my friend who relies totally on maid to run the family makes sure the maid is there to see kids off the sch bus and then receive kids when sch bus drops them home.

if too stressful to cook, then consider catering? my MIL has the luxury of staying home the whole day with a full time maid but she still finds it troublesome to cook, so everyone eats catered food everyday. can't complain coz' it's still better than hawker food :p

shint,

are your 2 boys 2 yrs apart?

celyn,
be happy that u decided on a solution. Situation always changes and we always make changes to suit our current needs.

When are your kiddos going to CC?

I am sending Kai in early Feb or after CNY cos I wan to take leave to be able to spend the first 1-2 days with him there. They only allow first day 1/2 day then 2nd day for a short while then say bye bye.

Hi Krex78,
I'm planning to send baby k for 1/2 day pre-nursery in Jan 2011. Prob the YMCA CC near my parents' place. Together with my nephew, who's 4 months younger than my boy. So got company!

You intending to send Jonah soon?

shint, thanks! today got time to login ah? not bz? lunch?

celyn,
for ur 3 qns:
1. nothing wrong to take school bus.
2. nothing wrong to down time. I feel is good to have clear working hours so that u know when is "family time". I also go home to cook dinner. con is we sometimes eat late lor, cos try to get the kids to finish first.
3. nothing wrong to cut away from bbsitter. Not your relative right?

I agree with M2B, there is no right or wrong... just do what is best suited for ur family's needs...

krex,
I'm also planning to send Jer Jan 2011, that is, next year - either a playgroup or a childcare centre.

mousse,

i'm sending J to pre-nursery next yr ard kovan area also (just 3 hrs). but prior to that, dunno whether to let him try play group or not. i think he might be feeling quite bored at my MIL's coz' she dun let him roam about in the house, whole day confined to play yard.

celyn,

when u send yu ze to CC, does he need to adjust his breakfast or he eats there? the pre-nursery J is attending starts at 8am but i realise his current routine is drink milk at 8am and eat cereal after that. if i send him for morning class that means we all have to wake up even earlier

rona,

i tot 2011 won't be play group...prob child care or pre-nursery already rite? btw, if i want to send J to catholic kindi, must apply early or not? i'm very scared i miss the registration in march coz' they dun allow me to register earlier. they also dun have any email/ sms notification, so i gotta check everyday this march.

Just to share! There will be a Fun in the Sun Bazaar this weekend Jan 16 - 17, 2010 at East Coast Park Big Splash area. There will be over 70 stalls ranging from baby/ kid items to face painting. There will be new and preloved items for sale. The bazaar starts at 10 am on both days !

Does anyone use cane on their bb now? When u say use do u actually hit bb or just hit something to scare them?

i dunno what to do w evie, she has this habit of hitting or kicking ppl (me included) in the face! not accidentally, but is purposely n she thinks is v funny. i tried to smack her but like no effect! i smack really hard but she doesnt even flinch. even hubby got a shock by me n ask why i hit her so hard later her shoulder dislocate! but look at her lor, not scared at all. after getting kicked n smacked in the face countless times my patience wears thin. she will come n smack, i will tell her off, then she will smirk n try to hit again leh! how ah??

i know is v stupid, but cos i got eyelash extensions so is extra painful when she hits my eye area. always have to check if she ripped out any.

last night kana kicked in face again. twice. smacked her leg, but no effect. i have to hold her foot to stop her from trying again. this happens usually when we r lying on bed and she can reach our face.

any mummies have same problem?

my new maid even ask me, is it my ex-maid used to pinch n hit her? cos now evie will try to pinch her face n run away laughing, n come back to try again. i say, dont think so, cos since shes bb she always like to pinch n hit. last time when breastfeeding her, my boob will end up w pinch n scratch marks all over. even when carry her will kana pinch all over. can die one lehhhh.

Gayle,
I've extracted this article from babycentre:

My two year old has started to kick and bite. How can I stop him?

Penney Hames answers:

Many two and three year olds go through an aggressive phase. But with love and firmness you can show them how to behave.

Toddlers hit and bite, kick and punch because it is a sure fire way to get your attention, something your children crave. You need to show them that it doesn't work.

As soon as he hits out (don't wait) tell him that because he has hit or bitten he must now sit in 'time out' for two minutes (use a minute for each year of his life). Say this as calmly as you can and then don't say anything else. Next, lead him firmly but kindly to a designated chair (preferably one from which his feet can neither touch the floor nor kick the walls) and leave him to sit.

Do not send him to his room or to the bottom step. You need to keep an eye on him, and he needs as few distractions as possible. A chair in the kitchen is great.

If he gets up, take him back immediately. Tell him that the time out will only begin when he is sitting. Put your hand on his leg to encourage him to stay. Do not let him off if he says he's sorry, he needs to sit still first. Don't talk to him during his time out or allow any one else to either. Use the two minutes to calm yourself down. When the time is up, ask him to apologise and then forgive and forget. Eventually your toddler will get the message.

Your toddler is learning what he can and cannot do. With time out and your positive and loving attention whenever he is playing well, he won't need to go on hitting and biting for long.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/toddler/development/socialemotional/stopkickingbitingexpert/

Gayle,
My boy also went thru the phase of hitting people... But he's ok now. After we applied the techniques recommended. Needs lotsa patience though...

hi mommies. =)

celyn
nothing wrong in ur plan, only u noe the best what/how to do/plan for ur own family.

gayle
so far even #1 also haven really kena cane leh.
zynn before u do anything, she will cry running to u and say "妈妈怕怕" liao....how to cane lor.
i practice the "ignore" technique instead. =P

Gayle,
P also hitting for fun. I will lightly hit his hand when he does that then tell him "No".

Snow,
Nynn looks so well behaved, of cos no need to cane lah! Zynn so cute... My #1 very strong-willed child and very difficult to discipline... one moment, can be very sweet at times but sometimes quite the devil! also give instructions must ask her to repeat to make sure she understand, but she can still tell me wrongly or say "... I forgot" after I repeat the instruction 5 times!!!

mousse,

tks for sharing. read this before but gd to reinforce again

gayle,

J rarely hits but there are times when he hit me and i tell him sternly "no". (for some strange reason, it's just me. he doesn't hit daddy leh!) after that he stops, so lucky for me!

yest he threw his crayons from high chair after dinner and we told him cannot. he cried and we said we'll give him one crayon and told him not to throw. he still decided to throw anyway and we told him no more crayons. he cried of course, then we distracted him by taking him out of the high chair and letting him do something else. daddy seems to have more luck with him in discipline. the other day, he threw an object from the high chair in the middle of a meal. daddy smacked his hand, he cried, then daddy explained that it was wrong. i thought he wouldn't continue eating but he eventually did after daddy sayang him. i was surprised! dunno if this is the right method coz' i read that we shld not be hitting the child as it encourages them to hit back and they will think it's ok to hit. maybe i'll try time out next time, although i'm not sure he will understand what i'm trying to do :p

jen
nynn can sing "i cannot sleep" the whole nite thru to keep me awake with her de.... -_-"
now she have a special interest, pull out pretty clothes to try and change till she likes the combination.
faint rite?
she is a kid afterall lor, can't be too well behave de lah....ha ha....

gayle,
i have not used the cane yet on jer. right now, when he misbehaved, i will tell him NO in a very stern tone. He gets it and will start to cry. so far, its effective (like he used to pull #2's hair, but a few NOs and he does not do it anymore). BUT not so effective when he is angry and starts to throw things. I'm still trying to address this by repeating the NO and making him pick up the things he threw. Luckily for me, he doesn't bite or hit anyone.

Snow,
you sound like my mum leh...

m2b and snow74,
thanks. i thought its a very common thing for 18 months to go cc liao and why still got people still so object it so much.

shint,
yah loh. why last time our parents can handle so many kids and have 1 income and now we have 2 incomes and need a maid to handle just 1 or 2 kids. sigh.... i guess we are just too pampered bah. :p

yu ze is going cc after cny.

krex78,
the school bus is actually meant for preschool children not so much for cc children. cos usually cc students don't take school bus, parents send and fetch. so in a way we are following preschool students and during holiday, its possible not to have school bus.

i don't think cooking is too troublesome if i prepare all the things the night before loh.

no need to adjust yu ze cos he drinks milk at 6+/7am. then 8am if need to snack, he can still snack. P

jen,
no babysitter not relative.

gayle,
haven't buy cane yet so can't use them. if he does anything wrong, i will beat him immediately.

celyn,

wow, he drinks milk so early? maybe i'll consider feeding J milk at home ard 7 plus, then he eat breakfast in sch, heehee. anw, still one more yr to go and his cycle may have changed then!

to date, i still find it hard to beat J. the other day i threaten to beat him if he didn't stop opening my drawers and i went "1...2..." and i still never beat. my hb stood there and say, "beat lah, dun make empty threats!". *faintz*

krex78,
yah cos he wake up at 630am on weekdays to leave for babysitter's place. so when he reach, he will drink milk by 7am. on weekends, he will drink once he wake up at 630am.

if you tell j that you are going to beat him, please make sure you do so. if not, he will know you are making empty threats and not scare.

eg, if yu ze tries to climb up my tv consol, i will tell him NO from far and not to try or i will beat. if he really challenge me and continue to try, then i walk over. i will beat his legs cos its his leg that try to climb. then he will frown and cry for others to side him. but in such case, nobody will side him. i will leave him to cry for a while. only sayang and hug him again if he comes running to me. as i hug and sayang him, i will explain to him. doesn't really matter if he understand but i think they do.

Jen,
Sorry ah, din reply, can't lunch ... super busy! u shld know now it's the peak time.

i quickly check, reply and then off liaoz.

Now still in office ... going home soon.

celyn,
we are all too pampered and lazy ba ... haha.
I also find excuses to say i cannot, i need help then my dear hubby says how come the maid can handle 2 and i cannot?
So no choice lor i have to do it.
But ... i must one day do a surprise "attack" on him on a Sunday and then tell him i have to go out and leave him with the 2 kids and no maid. Let him have a taste lor.

Then again, he can manage cos he alot of things bo chap .... kids eat what la, do what la .... he vv FANG XIN one. Leave them to turn the house upside down, Kai climbing on top of his computer/study bench and he is still reading/watching TV in the living room. Imagine.

I'd freak and thus, i become vv busy telling them not to climb, entertain them , etc etc. Hard life.

shint,
i think we woman folk are like that leh, its called maternal instinct. my hb also does what your hb does and if I around, he lagi better, he will instruct me to do what he think should be done. like for example, he will tell me aiyah, tell #1 cannot do this must do this way blah blah, i will tell him since you are here and he is here, why don't you just tell him directly? very tired leh...

nevermind this, he has now become so luo suo... one simple thing ask 10 times. really get on my nerves and nowadays i can't take it anymore and will tell him off. maybe he is having mid life crisis??

rona,
hahah.... i think i will do that too leh. :p

shint,
i think education and lifestyle change so make us pampered and lazy bah. :p

shint,

i think both me and hb are the "fang xin" kind. i know if i'm in my maid's shoes, i'll get tortured and nagged at by MIL for doing the things i do with J, haha.

celyn,

sigh, gotta train myself to be firm. thankfully J will listen most of the time and won't need me to beat (yet).

celyn

maybe in multivit.. sometimes simulating pah.

like dat.. hyperactive n plus multivit become ext hyperactive rat? lucky he slept thru tonite.

u take care ya!

Shint,

wah... u so busy still wrote so much.

some mummies need car to be comfortable to travel. Just like some must hv hb to be ard to be out. u r independent lah.

morning mummies

krex78,
good, i think in general j is a guai guai boy loh. very unlike my little ah beng.

sylvia,
yah, multivits got something stimulating that's why must eat in the morning one. but didn't expect the effect to be so great on him that he is waking up in the night loh. he sleep through again yesterday night and wake up at 6am today.

i agree once having a car, its tough to give it up. my hubby will never give up his car even my fil also don't want us to give up the car, he even wants us to upgrade our car. where got $$$.

morning mommies. =)

rona
eh...dun think i'm capable to give birth to such a big daughter lah....hee hee....
my work is like going to war, everyday 50% of the time gotta "argue" with ppl de.
so sometime if during working hr i sounded abit more fierce, u will noe that i'm debating with someone again liao lor. =P

celyn,
tell you what, try giving half the recommended dosage to yu ze and see if he can sleep at nite or not. maybe its too much for him.

Snow,
heheheee...
i also buzy, our sale figure way way exceed the budget and as a result MORE MORE work for me... :p headcount freeze some more so no help from anywhere. then my boss, I'm supposed to head up Shanghai to have meetings and dinner with the customers. then its go then no go and then go again and then no go... i'm very chi kat. damn sian.

rona
understand.
some time we bz not cos our workload ya? its human factor...ha ha...problematic ppl keep us bz. >P
i hate it when i saw ppl writing "i believe; i suppose; maybe; etc....", cos all this not cfm things always screwed up in the end de.

Snow,
yah lor! some more the head of the company is like that leh!!! so more work for us who are below lor... sian...

celyn,
but if yu ze is having this reaction, you can cut the dosage by half and test to see if he can sleep at nite. its multivits mah, so its ok to have lesser. furthermore, yu ze eating well, so this should be supplements only. can try half a dosage one. there are quite a number of kids multivit in the market - different dosage for different age.

celyn,

haha so cute. how come your FIL asking u to upgrade? is he going to sponsor? my FIL also like yours, whole life drive car so can't get used to taking public transport. everyone including my MIL already asking him not to drive coz' he's not that alert and more accident prone. but he will still drive lor.

celyn
think that multivit abit like gnc's vit c, nynn eat liao also very energetic de.
then its best to give after breakfast lor. =)

krex78,
he will sponsor about 10k one loh if we really want to upgrade.

my fil also got a car and just change his car last year.

snow74,
i was told to give in the morning. so i pass to babysitter to feed loh. if i'm not wrong, she feed after his morning milk leh.

good morn mummies!
Yeah! Last night P slept thru! For ONCE! That is after I give 1 bottle of the Bao Ying Dan lah... past 2 nights I gave half bottle oni, he still wake up at 1.30am - 2.30am... last night din wake at all! End up, I was the one who wake up and check why he din wake up?! Hahaha...

Celyn, Snow, Mummies who give Multivits...
You all give at night one ah? Not in the morning? I only gave the BYD in the night... I headache why my #1 take ages to finish her multivit (sweets) in the morning... everytime must remove her privilege of watching DVD in the car... then she will cry and cry... hiaz...

celyn,

wah so nice! then u shld upgrade to MPV, haha.

my hb and SIL are trying to get FIL to sell his car but that would mean both of them need to fetch one parent each for weekend family dinner and my car already very squeezy...when i have #2 they will have to go in the boot, haha.

jen,

congrats! what is bao ying dan? i see many of u giving EYS herbs but i haven't tried any on J yet. he wakes up 1 or 2x a nite occasionally but can go back to sleep quite easily. will giving him those herbs help him sleep w/o waking up in the middle of the nite?

also, is it nec to give multi vits? haven't given J anything extra except his usual milk and meals. do they sell calcium pills? maybe i shld try that since he doesn't want to drink his milk :p

celyn
and the effect can last till at nite?
think u really gotta try giving half dosage le. =)

jen
gd try!
but will p be addicted to that bao yin dan in the long run anot?
what i mean is next time no bao yin dan cannot sleep? =P

multivit normally take after breakfast lor, its morning...by rite....but gotta see what time #1 wakes up leh, some time she wake up at 11am+...ha ha...1st meal = breakfast?