(2008/08) Aug 2008

Mrs Teng,
Cool down cool down...Hope your gals and you feel better soon! Punish your hb, not the gals hor!

Mel_ocean,
Were you the one who said your gal didn't know how to drink from the straw a little while ago??

Yuuri,

Ya, she just know how to drink from straw one week ago... @ her 17 mths le...me like strike toto like tat... haha
!

Mummynana

Thanks for helping dear...already pm you my particulars, call me if you need further details.

I'm now running a fever about 38 degree and I hope it doesn't go beyond it man... Tonites, gonna be tough nite... Poor Clara got to go for IV drip tonite with the hope that it can substain sufficient fluid for next 12 hours before I send her to hospital tomorrow evening. Need to hang on until daddy comes home to take care of Cheril.... He's cutting short his trip and taking the earliest flight out tomorrow morning... Still need about 30 hours from now before he reaches home... Pray that Clara can hang on and Cheril doesn't get any worser.

Mrs Teng,
jia you! will also pray for you too that both gals and you will get well soon! In the meantime, you take lots of water. But why don't you just send Clara to hospital, she will have the nurse to fuss around her and you can have some rest?? else its too tough on you.

Mel_ocean,
HOW HOW HOW Did it happen? I also want to 'strike toto' ley!!!!

Mrs Teng,
Hang in there...praying for you!

nana,

i also have the avent spouts but J didn't like them when i first used them. he later progressed to soft spout cup and then straw cup.

mel,

i know what u mean. when J first started self-feeding biscuit/ bread, i felt like i striked toto. another milestone was drinking from straw cup. all these done after one yr although i know many bbs out there already master this at 8-9 mths :p now trying to let him self feed using spoon but i think that will take awhile coz' MIL is more keen to feed him and keep him clean, haha.

mrs teng,

dun give your hb too hard a time...i think he's nice and responsible to cut short his trip. at least he knows he has his responsibilities back home

Hi hi mummies long time no log in. Feel like an intruder.
) Hope everyone's well. Been exhausting few days as we're trying to get D used to a cot bed and sleep in his own room but he seems to have other ideas!!! After 3 weeks in Sg he refuses to sleep in his cot and since we came back 2 weeks ago he has been sleeping with us. Bought a new cotbed for D 'cos his cot will be taken over by another tenant at the end of May! So the move might as well be sooner rather than later. Apart from chaining him to the bed I've no idea how to keep him from running out of his bed. I'm all ears if anyone has any good ideas.

Mrs Teng big big hugs. Hope things will look brighter for you soon.

Krex D stopped using milk bottles at 14 mths. When he was 12 mths I started using the tommee tippee sipper lid which trains babies to drink from open cups with minimal mess and within weeks he had mastered drinking from open cups with no spillage. He has been drinking independently from our mugs and glasses for a few months now.

krex78,
haven't try milk in room temp for him leh. cos since baby he likes hot milk. room temp or cool down milk, he don't like liao.

yu ze also can't self feed with spoon. he just like to use the spoon or chopsticks to poke the food.

mummynana,
stop multivits loh. hehehe....

mrs n,
wow. what is this sipper lid? you preggy is it?

Rona

Based on passed experience, you can forget about getting help from nurses.. Ask for milk. always late.. Out of 10 times diarrhea, 8 times we washed and changed ourselves.

I got to wait for just another day, so that daddy can be home to take care of cheril.

By tomorrow nite, we should be sending Clara in if her fever doesn't subside.

Just given her one pack IV drip in the clinic.. she cried thru out the whole process. In the end, her eyes all swollen. Kept telling me "no more . no more" - means dun want anymore. And say 'kai kai" - means want me to stand and go.. how to put her in hospital and leave her with nurses?

Yuuri, Mel_ocean , Mrs N, Krex

Thanks ladies!

mrs n,

nice to hear from u! are u having #2 in may?

btw, which tommee cup is that? dunno if i can find in singapore. i think the issue is more of J not wanting to drink milk, so i'm not sure what i shld do first - help him like milk or try to wean him off bottle or at least, to hold his own bottle. dunno if i'm trying to do too many things at one time!

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Teng</font>
hugz. hope tat C&amp;C get well asap! wish u speedy recovery too.

<font color="0000ff">Mrs N</font>
congrats!! gal or boy?

do u know whether this tommee tippee sipper lid is sold here?

celyn, Krex yah #2 will be arriving in May.
mulberry have absolutely no idea as we're not finding out the gender.

re: the sipper lid
It can only be bought online direct from tommee tippee or from amazon uk. Tommee Tippee is much cheaper btw. It's not sold in the shops in the uk so I doubt you'll get it in any shop in Sg.

http://www.tommeetippee.co.uk/product/tommee_tippee_sipper_lids_pack_of_2_/

The lid fits the tommee tippee first cup. But I've discovered that it can also be used with mugs and other cups with similar diameter i.e. internal diameter ~7cm.

krex if your aim is to wean J from the bottle then just keep trying with the cup. D didn't take to drinking milk from the cup immediately especially for his last milk feed. Whenever he resisted I left it and tried again a few days later until one day he just decided to drink from the cup. I tried straw cups with him but funny boy he didn't like drinking from them when it was close to his bedtime. Probably too much effort!

There are lots of advantages to dropping bottles as I realised when we were travelling. No need to cart any feeding apparatus along and save lots of space.

sylvia will do.

mrs n,

tks for the link. i've tried putting milk in straw cup only when J rejects the bottle of milk during his morning feed. i haven't really tried giving him milk from the cup yet w/o attempting the bottle. maybe will do so next week. my only worry is he will totally reject and he won't have any milk for the rest of the day coz' he's only really hungry in the morning (i'm guessing that's why he's willing to drink his milk, heh).

mrs n,

i've one more qn for you. is the spout for tommee tippee first cup hard? isn't it hard to drink from it (as in water hardly comes out)? J never liked all the cups i bought him with hard spout, so he learnt to drink using soft spout (i think only nuby has it in singapore). then we progressed to pigeon straw cup.

Mrs N,
Welcome back to Singapore and congrats on #2! is it difficult to drink from the sipper lid? The hole seems quite small.

Mrs Teng,
Y does she need to go to the hospital? Wat happened?

<font color="#CD3278">mel</font>
Pray tell, how did you get your girl to take to a straw???
The last time I tried, thinking Ashely can't drink fr a straw, ended up she had a sip of my kopi bing &amp; kept wanting MORE!

<font color="#CD3278">MrsN</font>
*congrats*

You rem u shared abt Tommy TIppee the other time? I tried looking high &amp; low for the cup you mentioned, but to no avail. I shall go looksee at Amazon
Thanks for sharing!! I've tried all sorts of cups, straws etc, but Ashley is still taking even water from the teat-bottle *haiz*

Hi hisstory
High-5! Ashely like Kopi bing huh? A oso le...
I dun noe how to explain this, think she motivate by her cousin bah.. She saw her cousin drink coke &amp; wants to have some. I thought for a moment &amp; let her try since she dun noe how to drink from straw, just let her play lor, but A really surprise me, she can suck pretty fast!

Mrs N

hisstory,

are u planning to buy tommee tippee cup? i think i want to get the cup + sipper lid, though i think J won't drink from the cup with hard spout anymore. i just want the cup to fit the sipper lid onto.

J also surprised me when he drank from straw cup a few mths ago. i took my PD's advice and did some sucking action and one day, he just decided to try it. before that, he only managed to get the liquid up halfway but cldn't reach his mouth, haha. another way u cld try is to put some coloured liquid, e.g. ribena in the bottle so she can see herself sucking the liquid up the straw.

wah, u so garang let her try kopi peng? i won't let J try what i cannot stop him from drinking, so in food court, i only go as far as to let him try my barley/ water chestnut drink. of course, he loves it when he gets to try my cold drink in an adult cup

Mel_ocean,
Maybe must borrow A's cousin to come and motivate K also! hahaha...but he hates coke ley, tried giving him for motivation.

Krex,
How you do sucking action? I try like xiao already, K still only wants to chew the straw. He loves his pigeon straw cup but only for chewing ley...

Xiao liao, think he will only know how to drink from straw when he goes to pri sch!!

MrsN,

yuuri,

i think mine was pure luck. i tried teaching him to drink from straw cup before he was one but he cld only suck 1/2 way and the liquid wouldn't reach him. then after a few months, i decided to try again and he surprised me by sucking the liquid up. before that we would give him our water using adult straw - put the straw in our drink, cover the top, then release the pressure so the water will flow into his mouth. not sure if that helped. maybe he also observed for awhile before he decided to learn how to drink from the straw cup, heh.

mommies,

any of u been for club med holiday? did u bk your holiday thru agent or direct with club med? i'm thinking of going to cherating beach but when i tried to enquire on the price thru club med site, the min no. of nites seem to be 7 nites. does that mean i can't stay 3-4 nites?

krex78,
i think i more garang then hisstory leh. yu ze gets to drink all sort of drinks that we drink even like red wine, beer. of course its just a sip and nothing more and we try to control the amount he take. :p

celyn,

i've learnt that if i can't control what J eats/ drinks, then better not to tempt him. so these days, at least one of us will eat/ drink something that he can taste, otherwise we will get hell when he insists on trying and if he likes it, he will insist on more. the other day, i didn't allow him to eat gui ling gao and he was wailing away! so next time i told hb to get me something J can eat for dessert, like mango pudding, etc. :p

mel ocean,
hahaha.... of course, we don't give lah. only occasionally when hubby drinks and he saw, we let him try a bit loh. :p

krex78,
yah yah. now i don't order drinks outside liao or will only order after we finished our food. if not, yu ze will want to drink and not eat liao.

<font color="#CD3278">mel</font>
Sure hope Ashley doesn't become a coffee-addict like the mommy.. Tt incident was really by chance! We thought she wouldn't be able to, but lo &amp; behold, she chose to take us by surprise

Hmm.. My niece sure doesn't have tt same effect to pressure Ashley to take to a straw bottle *hahah*

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Dunno leh, I'm so afraid of having white elephants lying ard
I tried to give her wide neck bottles, but she refused. So I'm treading on this with caution

no way will I want to Ashley to start like kopi peng like me.. hahah! Ribena ah? Hmm, okieokie, sounds like a gd idea. This girl actually used a Strawberry Shortcake cup/bottle, and then she decided to play with water after some weeks.. My mum has no time to help me clean her up/change her, so she prefers the teat, at least Ashley has some intake of water

celyn, krex no probs!

Ha! Ha! D also the same wants to eat and drink whatever we are having. Once he stole my curry puff before I could eat it and started crying when he found it too spicy. But after drinking water still want to eat some more!

krex the sprout is hard but water flows out quite easily with minimal sucking as there is no valve.

mummynana I'm now back in the uk.

Not really difficult to drink from the sipper lid. Although the hole is quite small the flow of water depends on how much liquid is in the cup. Liquid flows easiest when the cup is between 1/4 to 1/2 full but it is very hard to get liquid out when the cup is full. It is still possible for the child to get wet at the beginning but not as wet as they would be with an open cup.

hisstory hee! hee! Yeah I can believe you. I saw some tommee tippee cups at kiddiepalace when I was down but not the first cup. Funny out here it can be found everywhere. However the sipper lid can work with other cups of similar diameter.

Yuuri, mel ocean, snow thanks!

Mrs Ng and all,

maybe we should start a spree? or setting up an online store selling those items that can't be found in singapore? got money to make or not?

morning!

got 2 events in expo this wkend

lobang time:

WareHouse Clearance Sale @ Expo - From 22 Jan till 24 Jan 2010

The Mega Flea Market@Sin Expo 6B, 22 to 24 Jan 2010

The Mega Flea Market
22 January 2010 - 24 January 2010

Event type : Retailer &amp; Sales
Venue : Singapore Expo, Hall 6B
Admission : Public - Free Admission
Event Schedules :
22 Jan: 2pm to 9pm
23-24 Jan: 10am to 9pm

Show Profile :
The Mega Flea Market will be held at the Singapore Expo Hall 6 from 22nd-24th January 2010. With many different booths spanning the whole exhibition hall, you will be spoilt for choice. Unlike the usual flea markets which only cater to certain consumers, The Mega Flea Market provides a variety of products for everyone from the young to the old.

From clothing to electronics, there will certainly be something for everyone, regardless of age and gender.
Furthermore, the Mega Flea Market will be held entirely indoors amidst a fully air-conditioned setting, so as to allow you to shop in total comfort. This occasion will be perfect for those who shun away from traditional flea markets because of Singapore’s humid weather

Aiming to be the biggest indoor flea market in Singapore, the Mega Flea Market will also feature second hand stores. There will be plenty of hidden treasures waiting to be discovered, and shoppers will never know what they might just find.

hisstory,

yah i think i bought a lot of cups when training J also.

mrs n,

oic. J didn't like the avent hard spout i gave him last time so it's now a white elephant. i gave J salad in wasabi sauce and he cried out loud after that :p

a very quiet afternoon huh? =P
my mtg last mins reschedule, now i got time to rest abit liao....hee hee....but looks like everyone else are busy leh. =)

aiyoo i ocho so long nv come here, totally lost touch liao.. kekeke

Congrats mrs N!! pls spread some baby dust to me (when i need it)! haha :p

Good morning mummies
havent posted for a while..been very bz ...

hope all mummies are well and ur little ones are doing great...

i have been so bz with work that i havent had much time with kaer..

im in bit of a dilemma which i thought u mummies can provide a different perspective..

my current work is great and i enjoy it..but since last yr..my superior have been asking if i wanted to go on to a supervisory post, i told him no then cuz i didnt want to do so much work and have so little time for kaer..this year, i have been told to delegate some of the work i have @ hand cuz my superior feels i have been doing too much..as much as i would like to delegate..i love that part of the work very much, n cuz i have been doing it for the past 3 yrs..i know it very well..so of cuz..sometimes, i tend to still do some parts of it myself cuz its more efficient that way...my colleague now said that im still not delegating and so wants me to give her more work..the way the whole is going is, i feel the management is trying to clear my current work load so i can take on the supervisory position next yr...which will pay me more (compared to the current load i have which doesnt pay me extra for working till late at times)...but i really like the current work i have (although i dun get paid extra) but i also know with the way things are going , where i need to delegate more, i would prob eventually have to give up my current work load...
so, im thinking, should i tell my management that i dun want to move to the supervisory post.and am quite happy where i am, or just delegate everything to my colleague and let her learn and takeover my work so i can maybe move on to the supervisory post next yr??

my another colleague was telling me that i SHOULD take up the supervisory post as it is a much better prospect and it looks much better in my resume, which i agree. But im not sure if i can do it and handle the stress and extra work..and perhaps having less time with kaer..

morning mummies

yln,
maybe you can pass some work load to your colleague so that you don't have to work too late and thus able to spend more time with kaer.

whether or not to take over the supervisory post next year, think about it when it comes bah.

for me, now my focus will be yu ze and #2 when she comes. so i will make sure i don't have to work late and be home on the dot to be with them loh. though i'm not one that can be a sahm but i would like still want to spend some time with them loh.

morning mummies. =)

yln
when a staffs dun move on, mgmt gotta explain also.
so whether or not for u to take a more important role, it doesn't only affect urself le.
if u dun move, those ppl under or come in later then u might be stucked by u holding on to things that they should be given a chance to learn also.
as far as mgmt is concerned, they will not encourage employee to stay too long in their comfort zone.

that is mgmt theory lah...ha ha...i do agree with celyn, u can move more of ur focus to kaer instead lor.