(2008/08) Aug 2008

reirei,
ber has some winter clothes which we bought when we went in March. not sure if by nov can char wear, I'm thinking of selling them off anyway. If you want to take a look, let me know.

Vanilla

Don't be so stress up with having maids, as long as your MIL is there to monitor her, won't be much of problem. Most importantly, just let her do house work and not take care of Eli.. Dun want the maid to do funny things to Eli...

Little Twin Star

Yeah, guess it's time to let this maid of yours go.. stealing is no joke man!

When we met at Polliwogs the other time, I had very bad impression on her.. She simply just approach my maid without even bother to seek my consent. Very daring!! Normally, when I go to playgrounds with my gals and maids, the other maids gathering at the playground dun even dare to come near my maids, cos I'm around. Your maid simply just approach my maids and talk to them... Dun even bother to look at you or me for our consent.. Wondering whose the ones who should be mingling? Mummies or Maids?

Before shifting, get a safe in your new house. After contractor hand over, change all padlock, or even keys and keyholes if required. Nite before shifting, pack all valuables and keep in very safe place. On actual day of shifting, carry 2 babies (One GG and the other bag with valuables) Go to new house, straight away put valuable into the safe.. I have 3 steps to getting to my safe. The key to safe is place in a lockable drawer 1, and the key to this drawer is kept in another lockable drawer 2 and finally the key to drawer 2 is kept in another box in a drawer 3 that keeps several bunch of keys of which some of the keys are no longer in use. So if my maids want to sell.. they probably have to play the open treasure box game before finally get to the drawer 2.

My grandfather in law's maid lagi more daring, stole a whole bag of jewelries and golds before going back for vocation. Been working for almost 10 years with the family already, treat her so well n yet dare to do this. One big bag hor! no joke leh! more dun few 100k. Supposed to come back but never did..

krex
There was a promotion on. Think we paid about S1,500 for 3 nights stay. This is inclusive of ferry tix and transport to the ferry.

It's buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main hall. If you missed that timing, can go to another restaurant which I think is ala carte. But we always have the buffet, so don't know how it is. In between, there are snacks (sandwiches, bee hoon etc). And yes, drinks & food free including alcholic drinks except premium ones like champagne.

Errr...don't know about fine dining coz never have the time. Too tired by night to go dress up liao. But we always have a bottle of red wine during dinner. hehehe!

Vanilla
Food for bb wise, it was ok. BB M was 1 year when she went. There's porridge, mash potato, pasta, steamed fish, tofu and carrots etc during meals. There's also some jar food but they are more for younger ones, so I didn't let her have them that often. If you really need to feed something extra for bb, can ask. One night, I asked them to cook porridge with egg for bb for dinner.

I think if you go during promotion, it's ok lah coz all meals and drinks included. Coz hotels in Sentosa also not cheap. Btw, Mayang Sari got no pool hor. But Nirwana got.

hisstory
is that different from st. paul's kindergarten? cos i called up and they only take kids the yr they turn 3 leh. y ah?? and my fren gave a bad review of the kindergarten leh...

LTS
A woman will only be vain for man. When my maid first came, she was ok. Dressed simply, never asked for hp and off days. The after one-and-a-half years, she started to change. Put on hair clips, dress up and bought phone (some more asked how to send mms). That's when we noticed money missing. We were also concerned when we saw she had taken photos of us in her hp.

When we looked through her sms at the agency's place, we found love messages from her 'bf'.

But since you are shifting next week, I think got no choice but to keep her for the moment. But make sure you keep all your valuables carefully. And don't let her know that you are planning to send her back.

<font color="ff6000">LTS</font>

I also have maid problems.
Sigh, should hv just sent her back earlier.

You remember I posted here that my mum and I discovered her making calls and her hb/friends calling her?

Just last Sat, she asked me "Mam, don't angry. I want to meet my sister on Hari Raya". When i heard this, I told her, this Sun Sir and I not in SG, will bring her and Chevelle to my parents' place. So I told her, if she wants to meet her sis, 1) I have to check w my parents if they are going anywhere (cos if they are, she will hv to stay at home look after Chevelle), 2) if her sister's employer allows her to meet her sis.

Then I also asked where's the place. She showed me a piece of paper (which I last time already searched thru her things so I know) with the address, but I just act blur and say I'm not too sure. Anyways, I told her I need to check w my mum first.

I asked her, if she wants to go, how she go? She said, she duno, if like that she no go. Wa... Does that mean she expects us to bring her there??!!

After I told my mum, she was quite put off. Cos she feels that my maid is planning her own things, slowly requesting for things. Cos we never allow her to hv hp. Initially I tot of after her loan is up, I will give her one to call back on wkends. End up, before that, she alrdy got her family members to call my mum's ouse tel. So no pt in me giving her hp. Even then, on and off, I give her a calling card to call back.

My mum felt that my maid is banking on the fact that my mum's maid (recently hired one wk ago only) to help take care of Chevelle while she can go meet her sister.

Then, today my mum told me, she found a piece of paper on the floor, with her own name on it.
Then she realised that her name and designation written on that piece of paper in the same way as per her namecard.
But one thing is, she realised her full name is written whereas her namecard only had her Christian name.
This led my mum to conclude that the maid must have rummaged through her wallet where her IC and namecards are kept.
And my mum thinks my maid might hv also looked at her bank passbook cos she put in her handbag too.

I think my maid already no heart to work after her loan was up and after last mth I remitted $ back for her. With my mum's new maid coming in, I think she even more free and no heart to work properly. Cos when only her then, during afternoon when my parents not around, she also received calls. We knw cos we tracked caller ID. Now with my mum's new maid, even lagi more free. She can just dump my girl to the new maid and then she go talk on the phone.

I duno if she stole money. Maybe she stole small $, i also won't knw.
At least when at my home, I always keep my valuables in the safe plus when I go out, I'll bring my wallet, hp and keys out.

Agree w Mrs Teng that u shd hv a safe.

My maid same here, don't request for things, but on the side, she go do her own stuff, v sneaky.

<font color="ff6000">Mrs Teng</font>
That's what I did, to hv a safe when I shifted to my new house. But I not so complicated la.. I kept the spare key in a drawer.

Based on what my mum told me today, i think my maid also cannot make it.

<font color="ff6000">Mummies</font>
Just want to get your opinion:

I told my mum, few options.
1) let the maid serve out til my girl's 18mths, old and send my girl to CC (just happen also around CNY) then send her back; OR

2) Send her back ASAP, and get new maid so that there will be 2 new maids;

3) Send her back without replacement. Can get my mum's maid to help out on weekends or mb get those part-time help.

<font color="ff6000">LTS</font>
My hb and I also quarrelled about this when I complained abt the maid.

Cos Saturday dinner, the maid didn't cook the chicken properly. The meat near the bone was raw and uncooked! I told her abt it and she said sorry.

MY hb thinks i'm kicking fuss when I brought up other things abt her but to me, some of things are not quite right.

Like eg, the metal chaing of the shower head in the common toilet was actually rusting. I only moved in 4 months at most and it's already rusting? Worse is that, it's rusting, she should have wiped the rust, cos it's yellow/orangey and staining abit on the walls.

<font color="ff6000">reirei</font>
U want winterwear clothes? I have some which I bought for Chevelle to go on a trip but that did not materialise.

I got from GAP or ON thru my friend in the USA then.

If you want, I can email u pix but prob on Wed.

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
I believe it's the same.. Just tt my ger is attending the pre-nursery or issit nursery playgrp..
Seems like she's enjoying herself there and her teacher is quite gd. Gives feedback to my parents on her conduct.. So far no complaints

I think we've got to thank the P there for helping my niece adjust to sch.. We had tried sending her to a CC (though half-day) in Dec &amp; she refused to let go of my mum inspite being there for more than a week. She even developed fears of going out, thinking she might be 'abandoned' The P at St Paul's managed to pep talk her &amp; finally after the 3 days of accompaniment, she was okie to let go of my mum at the gate

LTS

I also think u shld be maid go asap. move hse.. u will find more things missing leh. coz u will be busy packing n nt able to track what are the things.

val

i also think that u send her back, then use ur mum's new maid for wkend if u r having tight budget. if nt 2 new maids r fine.

Sylvia,

Having 2 maids no prob, cos my mum has one and I hire one.

Prob is when there are 2 maids, then both will be quite free.

My mum's original intention was to hv 2 maids co-operate. And if i happen to hv #2, then her maid can help take care of #2.

Now seems that my maid, being the "older" one, is kinda exploiting the new one.

My mum noticed she shouted instructions at the new maid.

That's why I thought of if hv 2 maids, then at least must be both new.

Now my mum's new maid must hv seen my maid taking phone calls. Like that, duno if she will take it as next time she can also talk on the phone when we are not around, neglecting to look after the baby.

reirei

tell u a joke.

in winter..... usually they wear........ long sleeve, with fleece, with long johb then sweater n coat.

sometimes another 2-3 pieces before they r warm.

i go there.. on train sweating though only 4, so i took off n left only LS shirt n sweater. my contacts still complaining very cold though.

is usually outside due to wind dat hv to be careful, if nt, for us warm country people will only need to wear comfortable. no need to overwear if nt will fall sick.

val

set the rules 1st for the new maid.

anyway....... like my frd, she has 2 maids coz 3 kids. one indo, 1 phil...... the phil always act tired n left the indo to do all. even ask her help kids' homework, she just let them anyhow or pretend go to room, but actually she on bed lying while they sit next to her..

I think ur maid's character fm start got prob? so nw pa bai n like her phil maid... do funny things?

hisstory,
i am so stressed tat i snack on chips till i gained weight, hormones go crazy with delayed mense n bloating n spotting away. hope this saga ends. here i am feeling bad for the maid n wander if i shld give her another chance.........dun b too soft hearted....end up i suffer n she is not effected at all

tigg3r,
last time she will ask me 4 permission to talk to other maids. now she take it as her rights. when i bring her to sch n sudd came out looking for tissue, i can;t find her, she left the stroller n bag n went to talk to another maid! i stare at her n she gave me a black face as if i am wrong to disturb her!
she always look for other maids to talk to n when i catch her she say they ask her to go over. mine think she is taitai, i bring her shopping to help me watch gg while i shop n she started looking thru clothes n checking out price etc while gg is crying for my attention, she jus ignore until i have to come over to settle gg n told her to watch her n entertain her not to shop around at naf naf...come on, how is she going to pay for it.
i have a safe in my hse. i put my jewelry n cash inside n the keys to my locked drawers too. dunno did she try to mingle with it cos one side is protruding out like someone tried to dig it open but didn't succeed la. at times i canlt open the digital no. i panic n tried to use our key to open but can.t open. dunno has it been mantled .wat we plan to do is to open a safe deposit box in dbs so dun have to handle valuables during the shift. we will bank in our cash too. my wallet in my bag i carry everywhere with me. but like i say she will sneak into my rm while i am sleeping n when i realized someone came in i look up n saw her bending down at teh bed where my wallet is but i was so tired i didnlt think. i ask her wat she was doing n she said she is checking on bb. tat was when $20 is missing frm my wallet. daring hor. i confront her when i woke up n she say which eye did i see her taking the money out of my wallet. which i didnlt cos i was in dreamland only saw her bending......if like tat,. jus change liao la. ilve been hospitalized 2times due to stress becos of her while she is happily enjoying her life n have no gratitude at all

krmeow,
talk about photos, mine kept 2 photos of gg. tat one she ask my mil to give her. but there is another one with our whole family including extended family. tat pic i dunno where she got it frm. i will take it back frm her b4 she leave jus in case. but mine got hubby lei, but she ask me about internet cos she saw me skyping with my hubby when he is not in spore n she wanna do the same with her family. my this maid likes to copy me n my lifestlyle. she say her friends cld do it n ask me how. i told her even if i teach her. her family dun even have a tel line let aloe internet line. she is greedy tat all i can say

val,
once they finish their loan. prob starts.......
yr maid not as bad as mine. u recieve calls so u know who calls etc.she request 4 things better than mine, request n steal if she dun request.
i wanted to keep her till gg is 18mths too but it seems impossible now. she is getting out of hand

sylvia,

In the beginning, I already feel that she has no patience for my girl when she was a baby. I noticed the way she looked at Chevelle when she was crying as a baby. It was as if she had no patience and quite fed up with her crying.

Now her loan finish, plus got my mum's maid to help cover, I think she even more no mood to work.

LTS,
She showed black face to us, me and my parents when we asked her to do things when there was just only her when I was living w my parents.
And when tell her what not to do, she also showed black face. THis was even before her loan was up. Mb she was thinking why she serve 2 families (i.e. my parents plus my hb and I) but the fact is, we never let her do 2 things at one time. i.e. My parents will look after my girl while she does her chores. We cover when she needs to do chores or vice versa.

My mum wanted to hire another maid under her name but she delayed cos she was afraid that once the new one comes, both maids will be damn free that my maid will start to do funny things lo. cos she now got more free time liao.

Last time she alone can handle everything, and not so free so also not much time to think abt anything else.

Just make use of the maid to help u unpack stuff, after that can send her back.
Perhaps would it be a gd idea to bring the maid &amp; GG to your ILs' place while u pack your stuff. At least this way, u can be sure things wun go missing plus u can also double check the maid's stuff to see if anything she took.

LTS,
For that incident where u said your maid took your money from your room while u were sleeping, u could have checked her pockets.
Cos if she stole on the spot, she have to put somewhere on her clothes or body.

But then if u catch her red-handed, u hv the messy situation of whether to bring her to police or not.

morning mommies. =)

twinstars
ya, indon maid u gotta be very particular where u want them to clean then they clean 1.
but now phil maid steal coins, u wun noe next round what will they steal wor.... =(

hisstory &amp; sylvia
wait till oct okie?
hee hee.... =P
if i really cannot tahan le, earliest is end sept lor. =X

val,

she sleep early cos she will wake up very early to ;do things; she will find a way even if i bring gg to mil;s place while i pack. hiaz. tat time i was dead tired n sick....n she has never stolen b4 so i didnlt need to take precaution. tat was the first time she stole cos i dun leave coins or valuables around she find chance to steal frm my wallet directly. no pt talking liao la. she is a time bomb to me now......i jus need to tong till next wk n send her off

snow,

i only scared indo i scold her she not happy throw gg down only...choy. hehe

pray nothing wrong will happ till i shift.....
gg;s sch is today....need to prepare . have a great day!
thanks for all yr concern n support. really appreciate it

LTS
ur maid indeed is a time bomb to u, at meanwhile just endure till send her off. Hope u can solve the problem soon....

Sam
I've $3 discount voucher for Mamil gold stage, if u want, i post it to u.

snow,
Perform vodoo??

LTS,
Same here, my mum and I don't want to confront her openly, cos we are afraid she will ill-treat my girl when we are not around.

Anyway, my mum said she will test her new maid's handwriting to see if it's her.

When all these happen, I damn sian liao.

krmeow,

wow, that's way above my budget. maybe i'll pay that kind of money if i have an older kid. looks like i'll end up at mayang sari/ nirwana/ bintan lagoon for 3D2N stay.

mrs teng,

i recently got a safe after my 1st one left and i replaced her with the myanmese maid. our safe can be opened with a pin number but since we don't leave the maid at home alone, there's no way she can open the safe without the keypad making a sound.

LTS,

when u get your new maid, u need to be more strict with her. learn to manage her and not let her bully u. for phils, once they get used to you, they will start to get lax. i will never do things like let my maid carry my bag (with wallet, hp in it) or even use hp w/o my permission. all these ground rules must state very clearly. once u start to give in to their requests, you will start to have trouble.

hi LTS - dun b too stressed...i can imagine how stressed u r to be hospitalised 2x cos of her...sickening right...we pay them $ and get stressed..

Thanks Mrs Teng - i hope my mil can watch her..but cos my mum takes care of E 3x a week, my mil will have her own program then how the maid? Bring her to my mum's plc? My mum will think she is "zou tang"..cannot put her alone at home cos scared house burnt down and ransacked...my hb only think maid help housework, he does not think into details like me...

thanks krmeow - will tell hb abt the resort thingy..i still pumping milk..so logistics abit diff too....

val,

having 2 maids can be tricky. they will either be good friends and join forces to deal with u, or one will bully the other. i already experienced this with my 1st phil maid. there was a period of time where i will bring her and bb to my MIL's place while i went to work. my SIL, who just gave birth, decided to bring her bb and maid to my MIL's house also. so happened my maid was the intelligent one and her maid was the "stupid" one. so my maid would bully her and instruct her to do things. i could see that my maid had no respect for the other one and would always ridicule her. that's what happens when 2 maids come together in one house. i can't imagine what would happen if this was a permanent arrangement in my own home if i do have to employ 2 maids!

krex,

Same here, I got the safe with the pin, so can hear the keypad with sound if anybody keying in. I can imagine how sticky the maid situation is at your MIL's place.

Just talked on the phone w my mum. Now my mum suspects/wonders if it's the new maid who ransacked her handbag, cos she was comparing my maid's handwriting with the piece of paper she picked up. She will test the new maid's handwriting, to see if it's her.

Anyway, with this incident, more or less decided already.

Probably will send both maids back when my girl is 18 mths old, put her in half day CC.

Then hire a new maid (prob under my mother's name) to be stationed in her house. Will pay abit more for her to come to my house to do chores during weekend.

We concurred that cannot hv 2 maids together.

If want to hv 2 maids, then have to be at separate residences.

LTS
cannot keep your maid lah. like that you are killing yourself faster only. can you arrange for movers to come over and help pack your stuff? I heard there are some with this kind of service. they might be even able to unpack for you. And they don't steal.

Val,
I think you should let go of your maid, too. if your mum's maid is easier to train and control, just keep her - anyway you said there's not much work too right? then why have two maids sitting at home and doing nothing? you might as well be the one sitting at home and doing nothing right?? heheheee...

rona,
not sure abt training the new maid, cos i believe she would have seen my maid using the phone to talk during the daytime.
So in a way, she has been led "astray", she may demand the same things too.

val,

the maid situation has changed drastically. i just got my new one from phil and my SIL's maid ran away (she sacked the first one, hired another one and this one also not happy working for her). plus she doesn't come to my MIL's place so often since she puts her bb with her MIL. life is much better when the situation is not so complicating
at least we get to go home at decent times. last time when she came over and there were 2 maids, we ended up having dinner at 8 plus and leaving my MIL's place at 10 plus. by the time reach home everyone is tired and cranky!

oh, talk about dumb maids. my new one is really a country bumpkin. dunno how to use toaster. today i found out that she put butter on 2 slices of bread, then slotted the sandwich onto 1 slot in the toaster, and did the same with the other sandwich. i literally saw the butter melt onto the pull-out tray. *faint* luckily the tray can take out and wash, else i will have to buy a new toaster!!! agency never teach maid how to use electrical applicances meh???

afternoon mommies...

Any mommies wanna meet next week? =) i am very, very free and I'll be home alone with Braiden for a week! Need to plan everyday activites... My only help which is my sis, will be goin Japan for work and be back end of the month. And my hubby will be away for a week from this fri till next sat!
I dunno if i can cope with baby alone.

valnsw
bo lah, heard from an indon friend that most indon maids noe "gong tao" 1 lor.
mostly use it to protect themselve. =)

celyn
too bad ur hand haven fully recover, else jio u go fidgets this fri afternoon....hee hee.... =P

snow74,
don't tempt me leh. i everyday stay at home until super sian leh. i want to go out!!!!! i'm like being grounded for almost 2 months liao.

LTS,
Dun be too stressed out! If she is causing to much of a headache, change her. A new stupid maid tat just follow instructions is better then a maid tat is too smart and who will start packing the valuables into her own bag.

Snow,
U organising spree? For wat items?

Nini,
Sorry dear. Late wk hours starting this Thurs, all the way till end Sept. Only day I get a full off day is this Sat, Anvelle's bday.

rona,
hahahh.... only that day and for less then 2 hours leh. somemore its with hubby. the rest of the time, i stay at home almost rotting.

celyn
ha ha....grow roots liao buay? =P
understand how sian u can be now, can go shopping de mah rite?

mummynana
bo lah, i'm not those pro spree organiser lah.

<font color="aa00aa"><blink>Calendula/Desitin Creams</blink></font>
Mummies who ordered, creams have arrived, please check your email for more details please.

celyn
ya lor, sometime stay at home alone too long also can be very sian de hor? =(

anyone of u noe if there is still a free shuttle bus going to turf city from clementi mrt station?
thx. =)