(2008/08) Aug 2008

celyn,
gd idea, mb i shd do that and bring Chevelle for a school tour.

haiz... gd for her to explore, since she started to walk few days ago.

More and more active, now carry her she will cry, she just wants to walk... She made such a ruckus in Ikea whenever we carried her and she will fidget to go down.

happy_mummy,
That's what I was thinking of doing, put for full-day and if either me or my parents can bring her back earlier, it will be an impromptu thing.

And the other thing about the childcare centre I've shortlisted, it has sat half-day, so if hb and I want to do something urgent on Sat morning, at least can bring her there... and this is with the consideration I want to do away w the maid in future.

But then again, this is for now. Not sure if situation/circumstances will change then may still need to have a maid around.

valnsw,
wow!! chevelle can walk liao. great leh. when she is very steady and good at walking, she will want you to carry liao. now walking is still very new and fun to her.

Cat,
wah! u good! hand leg very fast! St James have speech & drama classes - runs by other vendor, once a week and phonic class once a week, so its sufficient to prepare the kids for school proper. I like the compound, lots of space. But for me, its not ideal as everyone at home speaks english - me included (guilty!) and its very hard to get the kids to speak mandarin. so i have to think of aves for the kids to be exposed to more chinese/mandarin environment. looks like you will be moving to your hillcrest home soon. TOP already right? Has the price move up? is the housing price still high at hillcrest?

ceyln,
I think nanyang kindy should also run the MOE standard only. but i hope with the mandarin/chinese emphasis, it will sort of complement what we lack at the home environment. Now my #1 is angmo pie, doesn't wanna speak mandarin at all. I'm working on my #2 and its also an uphill task. really very hard leh. that's why i wanna send this #3 to a chinese environment kindy lah, so at least he is exposed to more chinese then english. we have no connection with nanyang pri, so he will still go henry park. at least hopefully by then he is ok with learning chinese.

val,
Wow, your gal can walk already! that is quite fast, at 10+ months right? yah, celyn is right, now she can walk, she wants to keep trying cos its fun. later on, she will not wants to walk and want you to carry liao, cos its tiring mah...

ceyln,
for K1 and K2, there's a set of guidelines - that kindy will follow closely. like they are only supposed to know nos 1 - 30. simple single digit addition. know their alphabets, some 3 letters words some simple spelling. for chinese, just know how to read very simple words nia. no spelling needed. no need to write too. so if you want kids to learn more, have no choice but to send to enrichment centres like I Can Read/Zoophonics etc for their reading program so they can read AND WRITE well before end of K2. quite xiong.

PAP Kindy
I know there's one PAP Kindy in Jurong West that has a very very good standard. better then a lot of renown private kindys even. my friend's kids are there and her gal, in K2, is already writing compositions and reading secondary kids books. she has very good knowledge of maths, can do algebra already (not to mention addition and subtraction) and her chinese is very good too, at least P4 standard.

Valnsw
WOW !!! Ur gal really fast... walking by herself alredy ??? Chasing day is coming for you.. have a good walk together with ur gal hehehe

Talking abt Kindy oredi ?? man ... stress here hihihi.... need to start thinking.... thinking.... hhmmmm... still thinking... :p

Rona
Wahhh ur friends' really lucky... such a good kindy...hmmm.. shall I moved to Jurong West ? hehehe

rona,
i see. so there is still a set of guidelines to follow.

wow, your friend's girl so clever. k2 reading sec books. scary leh.

celyn / rona / ling,
Yup Chevelle can walk by herself unsupported, though we will watch her front and back in case she falls. I think she only started to walk more steadily since few days ago.

Got video of her walking, but must save in my laptop then upload to FB.

I think her motor skills quite fast but seems her speech development not that fast. She still keeps yabbering and blabbering, making lotsa noises that I don't understand. Last time still can say "ba ba" ocasionally but now don't hear that liao.

Sigh... my baby is growing up and ya I'll be so tired chasing after her. These few days my back is breaking cos hv to bend down from waist and hold her hands.

ruixuan,
I also encounter same prob, my girl still smells like fish after I've wiped her face. But if use soap to wash her body she's ok. Maybe for the mouth, u gotta manually clean his tongue?

i dun think it is his mouth.. can smell him on his neck and everything.. haha..

i use his usual J&J baby soap on him.. scrub him.. still like a fish...

he had cod fish for afternooon and salmon in the evening...

Valnsw
wah.. ur child can walk.. so fast..

Just nice the current topic is abt kindergartens! I just decided to call nanyang kindy soon to find out about enrollment to PreN and there's a discussion here...

victoria/rona,
You already applied? There's already a waiting list for 2011? Gosh! I'm an ex-student, dunno still got hope anot... *note to self - must call up tmr. Argh, here I am shaking my legs about any form of formal education*

Wow ! for a while i thought i was already fast in planning out baby classes.
Baby M is attending Gymboree now and will be completing his term in Aug 2009
I am planning to send baby M to GUG from Aug when is 1 year...and send him to JG when he is 18 months, In fact, i already register and is on waiting list for weekly JG playnest class at Evan road...

But seem like everyone is already planning for kindy... I guess i will send to the nearest which Acension Kindy....which is at St Andrew Village....Think i must call up and check are there a waiting list for 2011 already...Hope not

brie/rona
ya i put deposit like first week of jan 2009...super kiasu...but kiasu kiasu i also forgot it was the first day of registration until late morning...by the time i rush down it was already lunch time..by then i was already number 51...sianz

brie i think ex student got priority so u lucky..

montessori
i keep wondering if the montessori system is good? seems like they cater more to the child's development eg. if the child can count 1-100, there will teach 100-200...each child's learning is structured to the child's own personal level of devlopment

back from holly-day! so tired, but glad we made the trip
thank goodness i took leave on mon so got more time to recuperate!

ruixuan,

jonah smells like fish also, esp on his forehead. he perspires a lot and after awhile, he really stinks. dunno if it's becoz i eat too much fish or he eat too much fish, haha.

Sam,
its a premium PAP kindy - located in the void deck of a flat in jurong west.

They teach more then the normal set guidelines from MOE. but of course my friend's kids are smart...

just a note that ddifferent pap kindy has different standards, though they follow the guidelines and make sure the kids are ready for P1. but this kindy is the premium one so standard is higher. they are already learning higher chinese at the kindy. my #1 also in PAP kindy, but the standard is normal lor, not the premium one. jurong west is TTOOO far for me lah.

Val,
Really fast that your gal is walking ... *envious*

Half day care on Sat is good ! Even though I have never put Adel there before cause cc is quite far from my place unless my HB works and it is opp his school. Not sure if you can do without the maid if you put chevelle in cc because there is still LOTS of housework to do !

RX, Celyn,
Eat fish will smell like fish?? Hmmmm... Adel also very stinky one, not sure if it is fish as he also eat fish everyday. Then how? I already bathe him 3 times a day liao when he not having flu...

Vit C,
mummies, how to pump bbs with more vit C ? Adel always sick leh... runny nose again... sigh....

Rona,
If really cannot go Nanyang, will send Adel to PAT's school house , even though hubby say might as well just put adel through eager beaver (the CC he is in now ) all the way till he is P1. have to assess what they teach there first.

brie,
wow, so envious leh, you are old gal so got priority! can slowly shake your leg and go over to register and still get a place for bb leh... Poor us lor... heheheeee... got to queue and queue and still don't know can get a place or not. I quite stupid lah, my #2 was offered a place for this year but i turned it down!!! never think properly. i was considering of the logistic due to the arrival of bbJ lah. else now with #2 in the school, bbJ will have auto admission, 1st priority! now i'm crying over spilt milk lor...

happy,
yah lor, now if bbJ cannot get into nanyang kindy, i got to think where to go already. maybe st james?

Cat, do you put a deposit?

ruixuan,
SL smell like fish? so after a round of being sweaty, he will smell like salty fish or not? heheheeee... kai wan xiao huh!

rona,

yup went swimming everyday till jonah's face got "pimples". today ok already. we're just going to "nua" at home today...so tired.

Rona
ya paid deposit already. Cos mine cnfm place in prenursery already. I went in nov. Heard by dec already full le. Not sure if queue need pay deposit or not. Heard the queue now very long too. But they got 2 sessions so prob also means double the chances compared to nanyang. Haha.

Hillcrest top think another few mths. Havent decided sell or move in. Shall see how the p1 registration at rgps goes to decide. Haha.

I went to see silversea yesterday. Crazy. 4br 2400sqft unit with seaview looking at $4m. Leasehold land and prime freehold price. My fren somemore ask me got $1.5m ? I saw got. The kitchen lo. Haha. Crazy.

Cat,
Wah! Silversea going for $4m for 4bdroom, 2400sf?? Crazy. i think i can get something at grange road already. think MP is getting very congested. too many projects.

St James
full already? aiyoh... at least u have confirmed place. nanyang place dep still not confirm place. think will call both place tomorrow. sianz... else ghim moh pap liao...

babyemma
sorry missed ur q... the contact for her is listed on her blog itself..

Valnsw
hehhehe. breaking ur back uh ?
but now at least she's set n go liao... ME still amazed here.. so fast...

Cat
What ?? Silversea $4M ???? Pheewwww crazy uh....

Krex
Welcome back.... u do sound fresh n happy hehhee.. good trip !!

Mommies

Hurray! my gals bday party is finally over... leave the stress to next year.

I feeling sooo relief now... wait a minute... it felt just the same as after wedding dinner... after a hot shower!! yes! me and hubby were like sitting on the hotel suite bed and counting Ang Bao... (Just did the same just now) And den I told hubby... what so many months of stress over in just one day... Yeap! yeap! I'm feeling the same thing now... ummm minus the hotel room lah!

Here's a few pics... the rest will be unloaded in FB after I consolidate from all the different photograhpers

C & C is the traditional hanbok before cake cutting

2625136.jpg

C & C's bday cake ~ 6.5kg Fruit cake

2625137.jpg

Cupcakes for Kids ~ Chocolate

2625138.jpg

<font color="#CD3278">timmin &amp; celyn</font>
I know you 2 leave ur boys in the cot to fall asleep on their on.. Ashley used to be able to do so as well. But as she has learnt how to crawl &amp; climb, it gets diff for her to settle down.. Sometimes when she stirs in the night, she may also crawl/climb.. How do I get her to not depend on us?

I dunno if I shd let her cry, coz she wld have stood up in the cot by then..

<font color="#CD3278">val</font>
*congrats* on Chevelle being able to walk! Another milestone achieved.. Albeit tiring, I'm sure u're so proud of her too!

mrs teng,
wow!!! the cake looks very good.

hisstory,
this is just temporary. in the beginning when yu ze knows how to sit, he will sit up and cry in the night. i just have to put him back to sleeping position with pacifier and off he goes again. same thing happen when he knows how to stand up. take a while and it will stop totally. i feel they did it unconsiously cos yu ze will have his eyes closed. but of course if i ignore him for too long then he will end up waking up. i still leave pacifier around in the cot for him to look for it if he does needs it in his sleep.

mummies interested to know, my friend told me that there are a few PCF kindy that is more expensive then others and i think they run the spice program (something like the stellar program offered by ACS). One of the kindys is at blk 662b. i understand that there is another one at 125 serangoon north. think there are a few more around, just look out for higher school fees. normal pcf kindy is $107 per month. these higher standards ones are over $200, and includes enrichment class like speech and drama class - extra one hour on top of the normal 4 hours in school.

Mrs Teng!
that's a very nice cake you made! and the cupcakes too? Gosh, that is alot of work!!! how, when are you going to hold classes for the rest of us? where did you hold the celebration?

celyn,
lucky you leh. i'm still looking if there's similiar ones at clementi/ghim moh/bukit timah area if i can't get bbJ to nanyang kindy. i actually need to find one for #2 if possible. then i will let her take the school bus. #1 afternoon school, so i can put this #2 in morning kindy for 3 hours. bbJ will stay home. so that means my domestic helper will be busy. maybe i should still let my #2 continue full day childcare until K1, 2011, then bbJ can go to N2 too. sianz... logistic logistic logistic...

rona,
sending yu ze to PCF is half the price of sending him to kinderland leh and its nearer. i can just walk him to school. but hoh, must see if hubby want or not loh. he might insist on kinderland cos of the school compound.

mulberry

tks for ur concern!

BB M is ok now.

Just her rashes is a prob. so TBF n apple juice for now. n watching her diet carefully.

good news.. for those interested in st james, the school may be opening up another session. now it's Session 1 – 8.30am to 11am, sesion 2 – 11.30 to 2.30pm and they will intro a new session 3 – 2.45pm to 5.45pm. Not sure will it be in 2011 or 2012. Also the school will be moving back to leedon road by 2014. some lessons will be starting to conduct at leedon at 2012 and all will then be back at leedon by 2014.

rona

the tuina herb packet...... is it a std one?

Coz I still have leh.

what am I suppose to do with it? I use myself?? :p

sylvia,
not standard one leh. let bbM use it for one more day lah. heheheee or are you sick too, use it on yourself though the effect not as great lor.

sylvia,
going to N2 not compulsary. but good to get the bb out for a few hours for bb to learn to interact with others. pick up social skills mah (as well as picking up a virus or two at the same time!) heheheee

Rona

I held it in the Condo Function Room.. Unfortunately, it rained heavily today... all the kids could not go for swim, not even the paddle pool behind.. too windy n cold lor..
But they went crazy over the balloon n the Pinata Party...