(2008/08) Aug 2008

val, so far since Mon night, I hv been using water to replace... he sleeps back after a few suckles... last night, he slept through from 12MN, which is an achievement! you can try! jiayou!

mel and msapple,
thanks much!

eve/rona
GUG - similar to JG. they do story telling, activities, craft. zoophonics, 15min of chinese segment, singing of songs, etc.

linx
i think it's quite cheap..hahaha. i paying $300+ for 2kg base only. the top tier is a brownie. dono how big. dono what design. only know to pay $300+. hahaha

snow
really uh ? anyway here it is :
http://myhumblearts.blogspot.com/

Cat
hahahha u really believe ur friend's design uh ?
never see the cake design n dunno anything detail already willing to pay $300 !! :p mayb later if I have this cake biz, need 2 recruit u as customer lol

BB go to class
well well, my bb also still busy playing at home only.. the last time only went for kindermusic trial.. that's all

cath
ya i found one at waringin park..
http://www.slmontessori.com/

visited them today...very good...very happy ..think next week i'll check out the teachers and students...and if happy will put a deposit for March 2010...they only have 5 places....so worried..i better act fast

linx
ya..had post natal blues....aiyah...very bad...and then at that point of time i wasnt mobile..no courage to take public transport with him..so stuck at home with mark very very bad for the mind...now ok already!!! also mark is older so much easier to take care of and im much happier..going out doing stuff with him..

how r u? long time no talk liao

linx
my fren shop so big so famous in sg. sure got std one la. hahaha. else she wont be charging so much. and people wont be paying so much too.

vic
will check it out.

Baby emma
Good then.. Happy for u n MArk
me ? getting busier chasing Nandini ard.. she's getting very very active, stand up n down, move between furniture.. She's not afraid but her mommy is kia si else she mite fall to the floor.. she can sit by herself now so another activity for me.. making sure her butt do really sit on something n not empty air then fall u see ?? :p all this thing make me breathless liao.. couldnt imagine later when she walks !! or plus # 2 !!! Geeee !!! me chicken oredi.. :p

Cat
Hahahha ya lor.. u got the name must b ready to pay huge also but they dont even need u to see the design eh ??

talking bout the ages 50 ..
me also leh.. now old liao just have 1 small bb, wonder if I still have #2, need to hang on til they can sustain themselves lor.. then still wanna pak tor with my ,by then, old hb :p

linx
i told her the theme and i leave it to her to plan. i trust her to design. she showed me briefly the drawing i told her just go ahead and do what she wants. one thing less to think for me. Taste wise for sure no problem.

<font color="0000ff">Snow</font>
haiz i find as Jasmine gets older, i have less free time at home leh coz she's getting v v active (or should i say hyperactive..haha).
and whenever she naps, i also follow and nap too...keke..
my 'free' time is at night after she goes to bed. well 'free' only after i pump, wash pump n bottles, clean her toys, etc...
thus no much time to surf net liao. usually login to read our thread n see got any nice BP / overseas spree to join or not :p

<font color="0000ff">Cat</font> n <font color="0000ff">Lingling</font>
coz she only LS and no fever, no vomitting, doctor didn't do testing. only said could be food or maybe 'eat' something dirty. i suspect could be the latter coz nowadays she will put EVERYTHING that she could get her hands on inside her mouth. *headache*

<font color="0000ff">eve</font>
Jasmine goes to gymboree's play &amp; learn. it's just a 45mins class. i find it's mainly playing for the bb, not much learning leh (does learning motor skills count? :p). but it's a fun class for the bbs lah. Jasmine enjoys it.
i understand that JG and GUG's classes is 1.5hrs. so they have much more activities.

<font color="0000ff">Cat</font>
think i'll be ordering from patissier also. but coz i'm not having bday party for jasmine, will just order 1 of their 500g cake.
which of their cake will u recommend ar?
i've nvr tried b4, only heard alot of good reviews :p

Mulberry
they have a good variety of choc cakes if u like. If u want something diff try the passionfruit meringue. Very nice. But the cake must finish on the day itself. Can't keep. But don't worry if u like cakes sure can finish. I can eat like 1/2 the cake myself. Haha. But must make adv booking cos they only make limited each day. If u like green tea can try the green tea Bavarian.

YLN,
oophs...i din know must RSVP, me &amp; bb &amp; HB coming... thanks again...

cat,
today is my new maid 2nd day... a bit slow &amp; blur... nevermind, i try to train her asap... according to her, her ex employer stayed in a small flat, no car to wash and no dog to take care, 2 adults and 2 children in the family... hopefully she dont start comparing the amount of chores to do...

Dun forget!!!

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Our next gathering will be at The Polliwogs</font></font>

Date:- 04 July (Saturday)
Time:- 1330Hrs to 1430Hrs
(formely Singapore Tennis Centre, behind Waraku restaurant)

You may email me for my contacts for meeting place. My email address:- [email protected]

April,
I may not be able to make it on the sat as my eldest 2 have lessons at 3pm. and its at Orchard, so maybe rush for me. i'll play by the ear.

pinky,
GUG is growing up gifted

playgroup/childcare/kindergarten
I don't think I will let bbJ start next year for playgroup. But I'm not closing the door. But I'm definately starting him in 2011 when he is N2. Not sure where yet, but one of my choices is nanyang kindergarten. the queue is long now, i think i better go and register next week. As usual, alunmi has its priviledges, got priority, but we are not, so will definately queue behind them. next week go and register and pay deposit then got to look around for second choice.

so scary... can't believe that i've got to start q-ing for kindy/childcare for him already! esp for nanyang, we're so far behind the Q! too bad we don't have jim roger's kind of money...

Good morning mommies

catherine
thks for the info! btw, I think I remember reading abt u going for LNT's preview talk. Did u? How was it? I heard tat its only good if the child can sit thru the whole 1hr lesson...

mulberry
I just read abt Jasmine's LS. Hope she's well now. I've been too busy doing research on schools for Kieren, also not much time to surf net now. btw, thks for the feedback abt gymboree! my nephew goes there for lessons too n my sis told me its mainly playtime for the bbs to train their motor skills. so yah, in a way they're also learning too lor. but I think I'll prefer to let Kieren learn phonics, etc... still thinking...

rona
huh? so fast must register for N2 alrdy? Oh no... I plan to move house in 2011 n dunno which area I'll end up in so cannot even chk which schools are available...

eve,
only for nanyang. scary leh, the queue for 2011 already long. and the alumni has got priority so they will get confirmation early then us even if they only register next year! very unfair lah, but its one of the better kindy here in this area.

eve,
LNT is good if the kid is able to sit through and you are able to practise flash cards etc at home. else the effect is not as good.

rona
wow... didnt know going to nursery can also get priority if parent is alumni. I thought its only for pri 1 enrolment. hope baby J can get into nanyang. thks for ur opinion on LNT. yah, I heard tat bbs must be able to sit thru the 1hr so I think I'll drop LNT le cos Kieren definitely cannot guai guai sit thru the 1hr

yuuri
I just read ur blog... hope keston will recover soon. I'll definitely keep in my prayers. sayang keston... meanwhile, u take care too.

Eve, You should go for the trial @ LNT. Its quite interesting. Denzel went last week but not too bad for him.

Tree, noted you may drop me a sms if you are going.

thanks to those mummies who rsvp with me...
so got many havent rsvp..PLS RSVP WITH ME FOR THE AUGUST BDAY BASH k?

will be staying at sentosa this weekend...so will only check email and forum on mon..or tue...

enjoy ur weekends!

YLN,
I emailed you this morning to RSVP already, u received yet?
In case you didn't get my email or see it, I'm RSVPing.

jen,
Gd to hear Phil is sleeping better thru the night. heh... I got the maid to feed Chevelle water, she still woke up at 4.30AM but when maid gave her water still cry so still give milk but lesser amt say abt 60ml. Guess I will monitor to cut down the amt and see how.

RE: Childcare / playgroup
Seems many of you are already gearing to that.
My initial thought was to put Chevelle in childcare at 18M but now not v sure cos I'm also concerned if by then she knws how to express herself vocally in case of being bullied. I've heard of stories whereby the kid because didn't know how to talk yet then kena bullied and when bullied also duno how to tell the teacher in charge... After all, it's one teacher to 6 or 8 kids as per the MOE or duno which authority guideline when I went childcare centre hunting.

What u mummies think of this? Any concern if your kid doesn't know how to talk yet?

I've a childcare centre in mind, and quite keen to put a deposit but now pending my above concern.

Another thing is it offers both half-day and full-day childcare. Difference is only $40-50. Wondering which one to go for. I was thinking of the full-day one as it offers more flexibility in case I have something that crops up at least can leave her there for the whole day. And if I'm more free, can pick her up earlier.

Maybe just do a quick survey on the childcare / playgroup.

Survey on childcare / playgroup
What are the factors in considering one?

1) nick: valnsw
Proximity to caregiver, daily programme i.e. what it teaches, environment of the childcare centre

hi valnsw
ya..i saw ur email liao..thanks

i will be putting kaer in CC next yr..heeee. i think hor...if u put chevelle in the same CC as kaer, kaer prob will be the one bullying other people..heehee.better stay away from kaer...:p

but valnsw, u prob want to take a look at how the teachers teach and interact with the kids..i noticed many times, the kiddoes dun really have much chance to be left alone to be bullied by others cuz the teachers always around to BIO the kiddoes...esp for playgroup where the ratio of teacher and children is smaller...thats my observation only lar..anyway..here's my take on the survey.

Proximity to caregiver, daily programme i.e. what it teaches, environment of the childcare centre

2) Nick: YLN
Proximty to caregiver, Clean environment, friendly and cheerful teachers, more fun curriculum (e.g. more outdoor and music and movement activities) - Interested in only half day, abit more strict teachers :p (to handle my spoilt princess)

eve
I went for 3 lessons. Its quite interesting. When I went bernice was about 6 mths and I felt her attention couldn't last so long. Arn 30mins she will get restless that's why I didn't sign on and went to JG instead. Prob after 1yo (next yr) I may put her in LNT or shichida try a few terms see how.

Rona
ya nanyang and st James all got long queue. But nanyang teach
only in mandarin right ?

Val
I'm also considering sending ber to playgroup next year. More for interraction and social development. Also I will need to see how the mkt pick up to see worth to sacrifice my time to put full day half day and how many times a week. I prob won't source now and decide next year. I not worry she kena bully. More worry she bully others.

catherine, valnsw &amp; yln,
yah me too. worried that teacher will complain that yu ze go round bullying other kids. heheh....

2) Nick: YLN
Proximty to caregiver, Clean environment, friendly and cheerful teachers, more fun curriculum (e.g. more outdoor and music and movement activities) - Interested in only half day, abit more strict teachers :p (to handle my spoilt princess)

3) nick: celynlee
environment (with outdoor facilities or activities), caring but strict teachers (must discipline yu ze), fun curriculum (learn through play kind, no need to be very academic kind)

Cat,
i think so. thatis the idea, cos everyone is speaking in english, there's no lack of opportunities to learn english. i've plans for him to go ICR or zoophonics when older, but i want him to learn more in mandarin/chinese. after my first 2, i think this is the right way on. i've having great difficulties getting the kids to speak mandarin. they are also in berries leh. i should be sending bbJ to either LNT or shichida this year. working out the timing. very xiong, weekend all burn...

YLN,
RSVP for myself, HB and ADel.

Val,
Adel in full day CC now. Since the diff is not much, i decided to pay for full day. Since they are all babies, they dun get bullied / bully that much, but once they are older, I think will have more of a problem. However, i think children at a young age dun intend to bully that much, probably just rough play. I am more concern of whether Adel is in proper care or not. That's why, my HB and I never inform the teachers what time we are going to pick him. WE just pop by as and when we are done working. Also, we dun tell them what time we go and leave him there. Like school hols, sometimes we bring him there later and take him out earlier. So far, we are quite happy with what we see when we just suddenly appear.

rona,
how to be in the waiting list of nanyang kindergarten ? How much deposit must we pay ? and the kindergarten is starting when ? K1 and K2 ah ?
Or earllers?

happy,
go to the nanyang kindergarten to register, the deposit is $100. start from N2 leh. so that is 2011. heard the queue is quite long already and if we are q-ing behind the alumni. very sian!

and i understood from someone that the deposit is non-refundable??!! i wanna call the kindy monday to check.

happy, Cat,
i heard my friend saying that he actually Q his unborn child! still not sure when the kid is going to be born, dunno the sex of the baby and the name, just based on the year - going to Q leh... i almost fainted.

St James's queue is not as bad. But very ang mo. my hb nieces and nephew are there. standard is normal, not as fantasic as what people is saying. every year there's a year end concert, its a very grand affair and very costly. i'm not into it and feel that its very wasteful...

rona,
i heard about the queue for nanyang kindergarten. my friend who used to be a preschool teacher and now trainer says there is nothing special about nanyang kindergarten leh. i guess they got the name bah.

Rona
ohh I hope their std improve. Haha. Cos bernice going st James in 2011. We got a place last year nov. Abit kiasu hor. Haha. I don't mind it being angmo cos at home my mom can speak Chinese to her.

YLN / Catherine / celyn,
wa... haha so you think your kids can bully the others ah?
For Chevelle I'm not too sure abt her bullying other people. As for "bullying", ya she bullies my parents and us... I'm the stricter person amongst us.
Then there's the issue of her warming up to strangers but she's improving. That day brought her to the childcare centre compounds, the moment we walked in, she weh alrdy... but lucky I distracted her w something and then she's ok liao and kept staring at the principal...

hi rona

how long is the nanyang queue? did u ask the person in charge? when i made my deposit on day one i was already number 51....i wonder what is the number now?

valnsw,
when we bought yu ze for the open house at cc, we are talking and the teacher came over and ask if she can carry him. so i pass yu ze over and he went round the school with that teacher. then she brought him into the room and he start playing inside. so i think he will have no issue in settling in and most likely bullying other children after a period of time.

Just to rant here abit.

I found out that my maid took the bras that I threw away at my mum's place, for herself.

How I realised this was today as I was instructing the maid what to cook for dinner, I saw a blue bra strap with some white embroidery on it, peeking out from her enlarged neckline of her T-shirt, which I found v familiar. I realised it was my old bra. So after I instructed her what to do and while she was preparing some meat to thaw, i went into baby's room where there was the wardrobe that she kept her clothes. I could see that she had 2 other old bras that I threw away, when I opened the wardrobe doors (cos her clothes were put on the shelf).

It was then I realised the bag that my mum mentioned to me that the maid tied up so tightly that nobody could open it, was actually the white plastic bag that I used to contain the bras that I didn't want and threw away.

When I realised this, I could not help but feel unhappy. It's like if she wanted the bras, she could have asked me, even though I've thrown them away. Why must she be so secretive? Just like her husband and god knows who, who called my parents' place and refused to speak on the phone when we answered. Now even on weekends when sometimes I bring Chevelle over to my parents' place, got people call and don't speak on the other end, and the callerID shows "Withheld" or "No number". It has come to a point that it's become a nuisance.

My mum already said that if the maid's family wants to call over, she's ok with it. Just that we don't like her to be so secretive behind our backs. I duno if she thinks she's smart to do it this way but we definitely know what she is doing.

I didn't like the way that she did it so sneakily and behind my back. If she wanted them, she could have asked and I would've given them to her. What's more, those are bras (women's personal/intimate wear). Haiz...

Then when I told my hubby, he felt that there was nothing wrong wor, since it was stuff that I didn't want and that it's the same like if I were to sell to karang-guni man and then he sells them off to somebody else .... IN a sense he is right in their man sense but this is bras!!! What's more, some of them were pretty new which I wore less than 5x but I discarded as I feel the fit wasn't so gd..