(2008/08) Aug 2008

I have decided to stop bernice on the soy and go back to enfapro and see how see takes it. cos i'm not convinced by dr vasanti's dianogsis that she is allergic to it.

bernice is super hyper.. I'm so tired and getting pek chek with her demands. I think I need time out but no one can take care of her. well more like no one wants to take care of her.. my mom & hb will carry awhile then got 10,000 excuses to pass her back to me. sometimes when i see her screaming for attention i tell myself now i know why some maids abuse the kids cos they cant take it .. hahaha

vern,
I'm intersted in order the party supplies. let me know if u doing the BP/spree. i just need to decide the theme

happy_mummy,
my hb goes away for abt 5-7 days every 3mths. I find peace without him around cos i can do whatever I want. hahaha

fairysbee/mrs teng
let me go thru my mom's collection on chinese cookbook and see if got anything on TCM for babies

mrs teng
how come today no pics ?? you not korean ah ? i thot u are cos saw you post in korean on FB. also ur surname Han.

reirei
but it's cute ma ... 100+ also worth it. hahaha

happy mum

this might be the reason why Adel drink alot but not putting on much weight.

<font color="aa00aa">Variations in normal patterns of infant weight gain</font>

Weight gain is determined by more than diet, which is why there is such a wide variation in normal patterns of infant weight gain. For example, babies with different body types due to heredity have different metabolic rates, and therefore burn calories differently.

* Long and lean babies (we call them "banana babies") are hypermetabolizers. They burn off calories faster than the plumper "apple babies" and "pear babies." Banana- babies are likely to grow more quickly in height than weight, so that they normally plot above average in height and below average in weight on the growth chart.
* Apples and pears show the opposite pattern on the chart, usually showing gains in weight faster than height. All these patterns are normal.

A baby's temperament also influences weight gain.

* Mellow, laid-back babies tend to burn fewer calories and therefore gain weight more quickly.
* Active babies with persistent, motor-driven personalities who always seem to be revved up usually burn more calories and tend to be leaner.

The frequency of breastfeeding influences growth.

* Babies who are breastfed on cue and offered unrestricted feedings tend to grow faster.
* Infants who sleep next to mother and who enjoy the luxury of unrestricted night nursing tend to grow faster.
* Infants who are the product of "baby training" (parenting programs in which babies are fed on a schedule and forced to sleep through the night using variations of the "cry-it-out method) often show delayed growth. Babies who are breastfed according to a parent-imposed and restrictive feeding schedule are not only likely to get less milk, the breastmilk they get will have a lower level of fat and calories because of the longer intervals between feedings.

Various studies have shown that breastfed infants consume fewer calories and a lower volume of milk than formula-fed infants. This doesn't mean that their mothers aren't producing enough milk. Instead, it's an indication that breastfed infants have an amazing ability to self-regulate their calorie intake according to their individual needs. This ability to determine for themselves how much they eat is probably one of the reasons that infants who are breastfed are less likely to have problems with obesity later in childhood.

<font color="DB4C30">hi everyone</font>
I DOWAN TO FEED ISAAC EVER AGAIN!
I read that some of your babies can't wait for the next spoon if it's too slow. My Isaac is the opposite, he acts like I'm feeding him poison. I've bought so many brands of cereal for him and all he take 1 day, the next day dowan anymore. There was 1 time I just give up feeding him and just add a few teaspoons of cereal into his milk - actually still doing that. But this week, I try to feed him again - I think have to keep trying correct? And I still get so angry doing it! I really dread feeding times, but at the same time, I so worried he is not getting enough nutrients. It's so hard to control my anger!

I am someone that hates to cook, and I overcome that to cook porridge for him everyday. And it's not the same thing everyday ok... but he disregards my efforts and always make it so difficult for me.

Why can't he be enthusiastic about food like most of your babies? I wish I could be more patient.

April,
haha, your bb also bit the highchair? I don't understand why bb loves to bite everything.

BrieBaby,
do you have the same prob if you feed him with fruit? Prob he just don't like the cereal. If my bb dun like the food, he simply refuse to open his mouth.

April/ tweety,

Meredith too. So I make sure I wipe clean before she sit in. I think gum itchy? or tongue itchy? Nowaday her tongue always out to explore.......

Brie,

maybe hv to make porridge till very watery?

Meredith only take not more than 1 tablespoon. Most of the time... 10 mouth of whatever she will give me vomit action. Initially tot she choke, but realise is her telling me she had enough.

I also realise she only like watery or milk like, anything like puree or any mashy, she will entertain and zip mouth after 2 mouth.

So usually I eat all the remaining. Plus I cook more so that can blend n cook easier.....

Briebaby
hey dear..dun get upset! *hugs*
char used to be like dat when i first intro cereals (mixed wif her fm) or plain porridge (cooked wif jus water).
So wat i did was to use chicken/pork rib &amp; ikan bilis soup, mix wif her HT cereals and feed her..and her appetite got better..
If it still sounds too ley chey for u, wat abt putting grounded ikan bilis (buy ready ones from yu ean san) and put in his porridge?

Vern,
Yeah! Vern, u are really good at researching! hehe..will look thru all and let u know!

Tweety
Aaah? Iron deficiency?? sounds serious..but i thot chinese say '7 mth sit, 8 mth crawl, 9 mth erupt tooth'?

tweety,
really ah? my gal @ 9mo still gt no teeth leh...

catherine,
since dr cheng is back tday, mayb u wan 2 bring bernice 2 c him 4 a 2nd opinion? i can understd hw u feel. u wanna come by my plc 1 of these days when u feel v stressed? then she can play wif my gal while d 2 of us take a break. if nt, we can go &amp; drink coffee @ parkway. let me noe okie.

briebaby,
*hug* dun b 2 hard on urself okie. mayb isaac is not ready 4 solids yet. since he's growing well, mayb u wanna stop his solids 4 d time being. at d same time, u can hv a break 2. when u add cereal 2 his milk, does he take it well?

brie
have you tried other types of food? i remember ethan was sick of cereal after a week and refused to eat. but when i changed or added fruit into his cereal, he was ok.

try to relax! and try to go @ his pace. i tink sometimes if we're stressed or angry, they can sense it too. every baby's different. and they have different likes/dislikes. it's really trial &amp; error sometimes. don't take it too hard on urself.

i find feeding ethan difficult sometimes too. and i understand ur frustration. i try to sing songs and act silly to make feeding fun for him. but if he really doesn't want, it's ok. just work @ his pace. *hugs*

hi brie - maybe issac does not like porridge? My son was told to start on porridge by dietian, day 1 ok he gong gong ate, but 2nd day turn smarter, reject, 1 spoonful in, 1 spoonful he spit out. I was also v vexed cos he so low weight, then i gave his usual brown rice cereal, then he ok.

Maybe u can add those bottled veg into the brown rice. It is sweeter, so they will lap it up..then when they used to it, bluff them with those u puree urself....

Mrs Teng
oh that does sound difficult.. shows that they got good hearing! and just a little shy? keke

rei rei/snow/M2B/cat
yes do go browse first
will send out full details later!

tweety,
your boy so cute...I hv that portable dinky diner but I have yet to use it coz with food, Mae can sit quietly anywhere lor so havent started using it...hahaha

Brie,
Dun be so upset ok? I know you put in effort to cook porridge hoping Isaac will appreciate. Try slowly ok? Maybe try diff texture? I feel that Mae likes the porridge that my MIL cooks more than what I cook too but I'm determined to improve.

Tim,
Mae also still bo gek and I'm enjoying her toothless smile still! =P I have heard of kids sprouting 1st tooth at 1yo too! heehee

Vone &amp; Snow,
Who else with 2nd bbs? Is the #2 tooth sprouting slower than #1? heehee, just wondering...

hfgaga

Wah! you quite 'garang' yah!!

Reirei

I can't recall how much I bought it leh! think is about $60 plus..

Lunch? I had fried bee hoon

My gals had : Cod Fish, Huai Shan, spinach and ikan bilis powder porridge cooked with chicken stock.

2353613.jpg

Catherine

Yeah! my surname Han, but unfortunately not korean.. Maybe my previous life was a Korean...

It will be great if you can find some good TCM recipe suitable for babies

Can understand how pek chek when it come to hyper active babies.. My entire household (including my maids) are worned out by those 2 imps..

april,

tks for sharing. how much is each session? dun need to take package rite?

brie,

i know how u feel. i felt frustrated also when jonah behaved like that over the weekend. although he ate his food, his hands were all over the place and he kept on moving until his whole face was full of his puree. maybe your son is fussy or just likes your breast milk. how about adding your breast milk to his cereal and making the consistency very smooth? for me, i realise jonah likes cereal more than anything else. even though i intro porridge already, he doesn't get as excited as when i feed him cereal.

sylvia,

that was a very informative piece! where did u get it from? jonah belongs to the long and lean category. everytime feed already he will poo poo. now he can poo on average 4-5 times a day! *faintz*

Krex78. U can go for trial at SGD40 or SGD50 with membership. They are having a promotion now but for 24 lessons. Do you wan to go and try it out?? Maybe we can have afew mummies to go together more fun.

<font color="0000ff">hashisan</font>,
hehe.. i added some of you in my fb liao but i dunno if you are who i think you are lei.. i think i saw a picture of you and mulberry tog in the NE gathering. is that you?

<font color="0000ff">ruixuan</font>,
hehe... tks alot! but the whole family have small eyes, except for anna whose eyes are slightly rounder and larger. your SL is also very handsome. he really will stand out even if we put anna and SL tog.

<font color="0000ff">sylvia</font>,
wa, history.. i cant even rembr dates back then. heh, easier for me to bluff my way through with geo.
*scratch head*... i'm super slow liao. still cannot catch the ball.. you not a moe teacher but got teaching blood. you mean in your family? hehe.. i very kapo hor..

<font color="0000ff">hfgaga</font>,
wow, you are working and still log in at 6.41am! peifu...i always find myself rushing around to prepare for work and bring anna to infantcare. hehe.. her teachers commented that anna and her friend have been "ballerina-ing" at the wooden pole in the centre as they cruised along the mirror. haha..

<font color="0000ff">mrs n</font>,
i agree with you. my mom also worked all her life but she took the graveyard shift to take care of me and my siblings while my dad does the parenting job at night. we all turned out fine and we understood how much effort they put in for us. so <font color="0000ff">krex</font>, let's stay positive that we all mommies are doing what we are doing to give our children the best that we can.

tks and i'm ok so far though i super lack "me time" but it's ok, it'll pass soon. as long as i see my gals happy, i'm happy. yeah! =)

<font color="0000ff">hfgaga</font>,
oh i think so lei.. i thot just put the $2 yellow night coupon can last whole night?

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Flashcards</font>
mommies, should i be starting flashcards with anna now? i thot i'm too slow in all these..

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>,
hi-5!!! i love maths too and like you, geo is #2!! =) and like you too, cant rembr dates lor.. haha..
hehe.. how to make sure my gals also like these subjects?

ReiRei, Vone, Timm
My mum's majong kakis told me bb still toothless mayb lack of iron. Asked me to give bb ikan bilis. That's why I went to buy some last wkend and grind into powder. Going to add that into his porridge this wkend. Hope it really helps.

re: dinky diner portable high chair
my boy not only like to bite/lick the high chair, he even can "kiao kar" on the high chair! Somemore most of the high chair at foodcourt/restaurant come w/o safety belt. I always scare he will fall down from the high chair. But no one is organising bulk purchase for the dinky diner .... duno if I should go organise one.

hfgaga, m2b
thanks for your comment. My mum said that my boy is an aunt/uncle killer. Always "fang dian". haha

m2b,
mae is such a good gal. mine cannot sit still 1. hmm, now tat u mentioned it, 4 my case, i dun tink so. coz my boy's tooth didn't sprout till he's abt 10 mo. so my gal is still not tat slow yet.

april,
if u use cod fish 2 cook porridge, yes, it wld b oily. in addition, thr might b a fishy smell. my gal didn't like it. so i m using threadfin 2 cook porridge 4 her now.

mummygiraffe,
dun worry, u r nt tat slow. i aso hvn't start my gal on d flashcards yet. anyway, i dun tink i wld. will c hw it goes.

tweety,
oic. hmm... tat's a interesting fact... okie, u try &amp; tell us whether it wks or nt. 4 me, i dun mind if my gal is toothless now. :p coz she's on tbf. now she tend to pull my nipple when she's drinking her milk. if got teeth, i dun dare 2 tink abt it.

<font color="#CD3278">hello all</font>
Super duper sleepy.. Already caught 40 winks, but still tired man

<font color="#CD3278">giraffe</font>
Hmm.. i also dunno!! I prefer if the kiddos develop their own interest, but after i've tried to spark some passion for the subject

But i think most of the time interest develops when one does well in it.. What do u think??

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
U made ur own flash cards for Mae? There are some those off the shelves kind, u know can be found in Popular and sorts, are those okie?

<font color="#CD3278">brie</font>
*hugs* Maybe Isaac's not too into semisolids just yet.. It will happen!! Most certainly k? And maybe by then he might make up for loss time?

mrs teng,
luckily ur gals like it. mine refused 2 eat after 1 mouth. then my boy backside itchy, said tat he's hungry. he aso refused 2 eat after a few mouthfuls.

hisstory,
those flashcards found in popular r okie. u gt d popular card? can buy when thr's 20% d/c.

april,

how come u pay more per session with membership? how much does the package cost? 24 lessons is a lot leh! unless i can use it over a span of 1-2 yrs?

giraffe,

i read somewhere that flashcards aren't necessarily the best way to give children a headstart in life. the article mentioned we shld let them explore their own creativity and let them play a lot. for me, i dun really use flash cards to teach jonah. i have a few hand-me-downs which i put at my MIL's place and i think she uses them to teach jonah. on weekends when i look after jonah, i will just read him his favourite story books. i'm the kind of chin chai mummy...prefer to let my son play and explore rather than force him to learn things. maybe that's why he's rather "slow" to crawl, stand, talk, etc, haha. coz' me never let him go gymboree or kindermusik :p

Vone,
Haha, my #1 has about 4 tooth when she is Mae's age liao and crawling real well already! Whereas Mae still bo gek and moving w her butt instead of crawling...hahaha...with 2 kids, tends to compare lor...was looking at #1 pics last weekend and realise both gals look so alike! It is so amazing!

Hisstory,
I'm so guilty!!! I used to make own flashcards when Raine's time but now I m using off-the-shelf 1s...sob sob...I got those pictures 1s and the Baby Can Read ones...she prefer pics, words 1 she can't be bothered...hahaha

Krex,
I'm more hardworking during #1, now with Mae, I become more laxed liao...cham...

Krex78,
*high 5!* I also din bring my son for any classes or photo-shoot!
but he recognises familiar faces and his fav objects, e.g. when we ask him where's daddy, he'd look around until he finds his daddy loh, likewise for his toys.

Vone,
my mom told me i only started teething at 13 months, so i don't think there's any reason for you to worry about ur girl. 'ren2 bi3 ren2 hui4 qi4 si3 ren2 de4!'hee hee...

krex78,
boys r slower as compared 2 gals. i can c d difference in my 2 kids. anyway, when they r older, they wld hv yrs of studying. so it's good tat u let jonah play &amp; explore. i aso nvr sent my boy 2 any classes when he's younger. he oni start gg 2 playgroup when he's 27 mo.

m2b,
oic. then mayb raine's development is faster than mae's.

mousse,
tat's good 2 noe... at least my gal is not tat slow... hehe...

Just wanna check with all the mummies if your babies are possessive? Cos my son wails (yes, he screamed and cried and made a scene...) whenever he sees me carrying my nephew. Also, cos my sis and i bought the same bodysuit for the 2 babies, my son wanted to 'attack' my 4 months old nephew when he sees his cousin wearing 'his' clothes. My dad had to bring him to the drying area to show him his bodysuit before my son stops 'bullying' his poor cousin. really dont know what's gonna happen when i have #2! sigh........

mousse &amp; vone,
true! best not to compare...I'm trying not to coz I have 2 gals...heehee...please alert me when I start again. =P

Krex &amp; Missyz,
I think the courses are also meant for socialising and also for the kids to have fun rather than really educating lor...I started #1 with such classes when she is 1yo coz I wana start her w cc at 18m so I want her to get a feel of classroom setting i.e. sit down and listen to teacher...heehee

gals....dun worry lah, my zynn din even wanna flip or sit up yet...ha ha.... =D

tigg3r
very nice work. =)

missysz
zynn also still eng eng shaking leg at home till now, haven start attending any lesson yet.

m2b
last time i started #1 to class early cos wanna introduce to her classroom env, let her get used to going to "school". =)

I hate feeding
It's been so many months. I've tried everything I can think of lor. Cereal mix with stuff, fresh or puree or frozen, hot, cold, with milk. Mix in the milk bottle he will take, but that doesn't make it better because it's the battle I have with him during feeding that is the problem. Porridge-wise, watery, dry, blended, lumpy, textured or not, fish, chicken, pork, vege, ikan bilis powder, silver bait, no seasoning, got seasoning, sweet, sour, salty. I've really made a lot a lot of effort lor.

In the past 3+mths, he has never shown me he like to eat lor (maybe I'm looking for affirmation that I'm giving him something he like), never once we leave the table happy, last time he don't let me cook, don't let me wash up, now he don't want to eat. He is now 8.5mths, still not interested in food? - I'm that bad a cook is it? He is only in the 25th percentile when it comes to height and weight. I guess since he is growing, I just have to accept he don't like food and I just give him what he need, take it or leave it, because what else can I do right? I keep questioning myself is it I don't like to feed him or he don't like to eat. No matter what the answer is, it really doesn't matter because every meal time is a battle, the mood all gone, I also don't bother with the reason and the answer anymore - like that how to ever enjoy feeding time? Just go through the motion everyday.

Sorry mummies, I just need to vent out.

Snow,
Back from gym? Me did 45mins of treadmill and cross-trainer too during lunch...feel so good!

Yaya, have to let them have a feel of "school" 1st lor...heehee...we are thinking to send Mae to cc when she is 18m too coz shifting back to our own place lor...

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
No lah.. Working mum must be super duper disciplined to be able to find time to make the flash cards.. I think at the end of the day, it's still alright to use those available in the market..

At least u even bother to practice with her

<font color="#CD3278">vone</font>
Isee!! Thanks for the heads up.. Shall borrow my sis's card
Any recommended ones?

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
Eh, Zynn doesn't even want to flip or sit-up ah? She may surprise u tt she can crawl/walk one fine day! heheheh

Was looking at ON.. Is the spree on ah?

<font color="#CD3278">brie</font>
Jia you!! Keep trying.. One fine day Isaac may start asking for extra helpings k? Continue with mixing cereal in his milk, at least he can obtain the nutrients he needs fr them.. Give yourself a pat on the back!! U've really tried inspite cooking not being in your comfort zone

Thanks <font color="fushsia">Mrs Teng</font>, <font color="fushsia">Sylvia</font>, <font color="fushsia">Ling ling</font>, <font color="fushsia">Mummygiraffe</font>, for the warm welcome and the tips and information! Really appreciate it! :)

I chanced upon this mum's Blog from one of the Sept BB thread, WOW!!! The baby food recepies really look fantastic and nourishing with bird's nest porriage with cod fish and jap scallops etc. Maybe you might want to check it out... :)
http://meetscarlett.xanga.com/

Been soo tired and busy! my girl had high fever just this morning about 7am it was 39.1 I freaked out and dashed straight out to find a 24hr clinic around Pasir Ris area but couldn't find one! Anyone knows of a 24hr clinic around Pasir Ris area pls let me know thanks! :p Anyway went to CGH and the Dr asked me why I brought my bb there should bring to KK instead! I told them it's cos of her fever and I'm closest to them then KK! What's worse is when the nurse took my girl's weight (8.1kg) she keyed the no. in as her blood sugar level and not weight??!! OMG!! He thought my girl was diabetic! The Dr. could laugh about it when he asked me what her weight was and realised the nurse's mistake! :-* At the end of the day, the dr said maybe it's a virus cos fever so high but jus gave her paracetamol and the 'bullet'... Sigh... Next, when it came to the collection of the medicine, the nurse told me to insert 1/3 of the 'bullet' into my girl if the temperature gets too high again. But when I read the label that she typed, it said to insert 3/4 into bb??!! I questioned her and she apologised said she typed wrongly! Sigh! :-* Every thing seemed ok till about 2pm I took her temperature gain and it was 39.7!! OMG I nearly fainted! Sponged her down and gave her the 'bullet' she's napping now temperature seems under control although her forehead seems a bit warmer than usual. Checked her temp and no fever...at the moment... I heard that fever usually comes in the night so I'm bracing myself.... Remember never to go CGH in any emergency... the place really :-*