(2008/08) Aug 2008

happy mummy,
i think its more sian for you all teachers. everyday teach in school liao, come back still got to teach own children.

reirei,
hahha... yah hoh.

hei i was kpoing than i saw a misunderstanding over a walker..heheh..tot it was kinda stupid..haiya so lecei go buy at shop lar...hmmm some mommies very garang...hehehe

april,

Thanks, you dun accept PM. What is your email address?

I dun mind organizing the next gathering (again) but scared no one will turn up ! hahahaha...

Sylvia,
you got PM.

Rona
Yeps.. TAMPINES 1 was terribly crowded when I went. I'm sure everyone's checking it out since it's new. My hb's thrilled that CARL'S JR is there too.. haha.. we love. It's just beside the MRT station.. the other side from Tampines Mall. You should check it out too soon! I didn't get to go UNIQLO yet but will definitely make another trip there soon!!

Celyn
Haha.. David is also like Yu Ze. Looking at everything else except the animals at the zoo! He loves esp the trams!! Haha.. we'll be like all hyped and excited telling him to look at the huge elephants and there he was, staring at the passing tram. Hee..

April
Confirmed.. BORDERS doesn't carry FIRST FOODS anymore. I got my copy at TIMES. If you have time, should buy from the outlet at TAMPINES 1. There is like an opening sale so the discount is quite good. The book is really quite informative where nutrition is concerned and some of the recipes are really quite interesting but I was hoping to find more recipes (which I guess can be found on the net). I think it's a very helpful book for moms who are cooking for the first time.. and esp so for babies

IKAN BILLIS POWDER
Can I ask moms who prepare their own ikan billis powder, do you remove its innards and heads before you soak / drain / roast / grind them?

I did it and my hb thinks it's ridiculous that I'm doing it. He thinks I should just prepare them as it is (no need to remove head and innards). We even had an argument about it.

wendy
u finally got the book! heheh...

i'm gg to try lentil porridge tmr. but adding in meat & veg. heh...
u trying any recipes?

Timmin
I'd love to try some of the more 'exotic' recipes but as it is.. my David cannot even finish that tiny bit of cereal or porridge.. so I'm not motivated leh. Haha.. Let me know how Ethan takes to lentils!! He is really quite an adventurous eater, eh? Very good!

David can be quite a drama king where eating is concerned. Even for foods that he have eaten before, the first spoonful will still either cause him to gag or shiver. Cannot tahan him.. can be quite funny at times tho.

wendy
haha...ur david so cute!!!

actually, i tink it's not him that's adventurous. it's mummy! haha... if he doesn't like something, he'll just take a few spoons before rejecting the food. can be very drama too!! :D

but he seems to like meat, cos he always eat HEAPS when there's meat in his food. so i'm gg to cook the lentils like how i cook his normal porridge and see how it goes. will let you know!

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Poor mummy.. Canine like teeth ah?
I rem Ashley biting with just her gums occasionally &amp; they already hurt.. What more ur canine like teeth

<font color="#CD3278">ReiRei</font>
Just read tt u're down.. Hope u recover really soon!

Timmin
Yes.. do let me know how he takes to lentils. What meat do use? Chicken or pork? So far I've been using pork - muscle bit. I blend it tog with half of the porridge and then add to the rest of the unblended porridge, giving it a bit of texture.

April
The book costs $27+ but I only paid $23+

wendy
i've introduced pork and fish. i just buy 'shou rou' (lean pork). i ask the butcher in the mkt to double mince the meat. so i just put it into slow cooker with porridge. no blending.

my notebook crashed
i think i still have some pics which i havent backup onto the hdd. hopefull tmr bring to service centre they are able to retrieve them

reirei,
bernice is on augmentin. actually i dono is she not fussy or the medication is sweet. cos she loves it. even the cough mixture. after finish she will still cry for more. hahaha. i dont have problems giving her medication. even nasal drops/sprays. she just takes them and after that can still laugh. hahaha. we always say she saddist.

krex,
bernice also always bite my nipple when latch on. when i tell her loudly no she sometimes thinks i joking with her and will smile and bite again. so i'm now thinking what to do.

val,
ya the trial was 3 free lessons. one for each language. eng and chinese was ok. but the jap one we were abit confused cos the teacher spoke all in jap. i'm still deciding on shichida or LNT prob the aug term. There is the other one iGenius which i think they are also similar.

rona,
ya bernice took augmentin the last time when she had the eye swelling. So far she's ok.

aww man.. why does my baby can't go into deep sleep? Example he sleep at 9pm... then 10.30pm, suddenly wake up screaming... I must be there to comfort him, he doesnt wan daddy. This happens EVERY SINGLE NIGHT..

hubby is goin to 'throw' him into the other room cos he really disturb our sleep everynight. wake up 4-5x a night! not for milk cos he's not drinking much. but for comfort sucking!

hmm..nini..i suppose thats what happen to me too for my first child..he keeps waking up driving me nuts and also i had dark eye rings..haiz...but he started to have good sleep after 2yrs old..haiz.
now my second child is diff likes he sleeps early and deep sleep..thank god!!
but i suppose every child is diff..so its a challenge..the more challenge they give us..the more we love them..makes our bond stronger in fact..
:D

wendy

UNIQLO is here? Wah!!!

gd gd!! I love gng to their shops in Japan N Hkg! finally they come!

they hv interesting designs and sometime limited edition of design by stars or famous ppl.

Nini
sometimes SL also do that when he return to us on weekend. He slept in his playpen then we put him between us to sleep, he is okie liao. anddrifted back to sleep.

celyn/hashisan

Meredith also happily playing at home. Hasn't gone classes.

I think she's more interesting at looking at everywhere when we are out, so I reckon... she wont be paying attention too.

Unless play with her, then she will be laughing happily..... which I dun think is the purpose of the classes.

catherine..
i ever know a friend who buy these in the house cos dunn wan her son to mixed around with other children dueto hand foot mouth disease

Cat,

then is easy to feed Bernice with Medication then.

if nt, I saw some like hv to force. crying n spitting it out,etc.

we know are good for them, but at their age, they dun. so good Bernice will want more though......

Cat,
Where u get the lobang of 3 free trials? I want too!
For the Japanese, for me still ok cos I took Japanese language classes last time. At least I think I still can understand the basic Japanese.

hisstory,
Think there are different timings for different centres. Think the nearest for u would be Hougang or TPY?

rona,
the so-called preview was just a brief talk about what the program is, not the trial lesson. That one hv to pay $150 for 3 trial lessons cos they conduct in Eng, Chinese and Japanese in each trial.

My hb is sceptical about the thing asking question abt whether it's of use to baby at this stage. I was telling him mb bring her when she's 1 y.o. but he thinks 2-3 yrs old is better. I was quite impressed with the materials the teacher showed us how they teach the children.

Sigh... how? Feel like going for the trial class. Gota work ard my budget if hb doesn't wana sponsor leh...

For mummies who bought the playmats of dimension 1900mm x 1300mm, how many panels of the Haenim play yard did u get?

<font color="ff6000">cindy</font>
Saw u looking out for the playmats in the BPs. If u're getting one, do u wana share the Haenim play yards? We can both get 12 panels (3 boxes of 4 panels each box) and we divide to get 6 panels. Can order fr Cheong Choon, free delivery to 2 locations. That's what I did w the last time I bought.

Val,
LNT is like shichida. if you practise everyday at home with your gal for just 10 mins, its very good. really can stimulate the brain. my #1 knows his abcs and counting before 18mths and we didn't even practise or teach him at home, he picked up from shichida. gosh, i sound like their sales person. but hor, after age 5, this method is of no use liao. so got to start young. But i stop him when he is 3yo, cos no time to bring him.

Reirei,
Klacid is very hard to swallow - as its tastes bitter... my kids prefer augmentin to klacid... augmentin is nicer to take. how come you need to crash the pills? the klacid my pd gives is powder form in a bottle then i need to add water to a certain level and then shake. cannot keep in the fridge. and got to shake every time when need to take it.

hisstory,
the needles cost $0.65 for a pack of 5. if go tmc, got to pay $40 or so... also prick... heheheee... cheaper to do myself. but this time its very obvious, so i'm more daring to do it myself lah.

Val,
wow, the trial lessons very ex hor, $150 for 3 lessons? that's like $50 per lesson leh! can use this $150 to offset term fees if confirm or not? their fees is like $600 per term, and the only promo left is refer a friend promo, everything else is over already.

only my #1 gets to go for this enrichment classes when young. my #2 only goes for zoophonics when she is 2yos, once a week. thinking of putting #3 to somewhere once a week too, cos now both #1 and #2 can go to class by themselves.

hashisan, Shay,
Sean Lau's shoot costs i can't remember how much but it's something like $188???? and get back either selected ones or low resolution ones only..... ask Catherine .... or Mrs Teng .. those who went recently.

Then to take back all the high resolution pics, need to top up another $250 rite? So total close to about $400? That's my impression. Better check lor. i think in that case, it's quite ex.

For me, i dun need the prints from them, i just need the softcopy. Can always print ourselves and I've got this contact from my fren to print coffeebook which I thikn it's relatively cheap lor.

SO, I need the high resolution pics and no need too many prints.

Mommies who got referred and having this "Rainbow" representative to come to the house to do the demo, please take note of this if you have intention to buy ok?

The lady came to my place today to do the free servicing ie cleaning the mattress, only 1 piece.
She demoded and cleaned my mattress and in the end, was trying to sell me la.

The price she told me was $3700 and say if i buy today there's a discount of $500 ... so it's $3200+GST .. end up ard $3500. Then i say dun wan to buy cos hubby feels too exp ... she then gave me a better offer .. a CORNELL water purifier which supposingly cost $988. In the end, we still din buy cos we wanted to check out more on the differnt types.

So if u do wish to buy after the demo, pls remember to "bargain" for the best deal. If say, I wanted to sign up right away, i wun get the $500 discount as well as the free gift. They'll say if u dun buy on the spot then u dun get the $500 discount next time ... but if we really do, u think they dun wan the $$? haha.

PS: I met my neighbour after the salesperson left, ... talked and he told me he has an unit which he dun really use all the time and not worth the $$ .... it's good if one uses it every week or day(as air purifier) ... else considre quite exp to pay almost $4k for the unit.

Hashisan,
Tomorrow can show u liao cos i am going for the PS at dphotofolio tomorrow.

Oh, I brought him back to the barber to trim a little again. Cos that day, the barber (not the one who cut for Kai last time) tried to cut for him and then Kai was struggling and crying. All his hair dropped all over me (that barber din even put a sheet on me) ..... and end up he din finish and says i should have waited for the other one who did it for Kai last time. He made me pay up and it seems that they were expecting me to pay again when i bring him back to finish the last bit. I was quite pissed.

#1 refused to cut his hair so just now i trimmed a little for him. Hope it dun look too bad tomorrow... cos he wet his hair and i cannot tell.

Sean Lau's photography. I read that Mrs Teng paid in total $1k for all the pics ... wow.
She mentioned that she was supposed to get back 10 pics in the basic package and she actually took two package cos of the twins ... meaning one package only get 5 pics.

How come can come up to 1k leh ... i remember Catherine said she paid another $250 for all the pics .... so meaning $250 plus the original BP price of another almost $200 .... about $450+ ba.

I think i wun spend so much ... so dphotofolio is good value for $$ and for the price i pay, i get all the pics back in high res.

timmin,

your boy likes meat? i feel meat tends to make the food rather dry leh. last time if just mix cereal with veg, texture very nice, but now when i intro meat into porridge or mashed potato, the texture not so smooth anymore and he seems to be more interested in water than food! anw, jonah has been very playful during meal times. last time so kuai let me feed from beginning to end. now he will bang table and high chair and do the mambo rock...can't even keep still...argh! i think i'm going to half all his solid feeds this week, esp lunch and dinner. think my MIL is giving him too much already. now he doesn't even finish his milk sometimes.

cat,

does bernice bite each time u latch on? her teeth sharp or not? maybe u can try hitting her cheeks like what happy mummy suggests. if it works u tell me ok? i go try on jonah next weekend, haha.

morning mummies

shint,
can tell me more about the photobook from your friend? i'm thinking of getting 1 for yu ze but ex leh. dphotofoilo is going to charge me $600 for it with artwork.

enjoy your ps later.

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
Oh man.. U must be exhausted!! Teething maybe? Hope this issue zooms by soon!

<font color="#CD3278">Val</font>
Hmm.. Shd be either one. I just saw one tt day, and i just can't rem where i saw it..

I think 1y.o is quite alright.. 2-3y.o, u may want to start her on other things oredi

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
*hugs* The girls must surely miss you too!! Can leave for home on the dot today?

Hisstory,
After spending 3 whole days w the gals...I so miss them now
Yap, can ko on the dot today...miss being the 1st person Mae sees when she wakes up...heehee

i need to seek for some advice.

yesterday i go sleep at about 11.00pm. then my husband say he need to rush his project that is very urgent. then i say ok, i go sleep myself.
then i wake up in the middle of the night about 2.15am by a nightmare, i looking for him in the next room, he not inside. i so scare, so i went down and look for him, he never lock the door and gate and he never drove out his car. then i feel so panic already, i go my house coffee shop and other block look for him. i cannot find him, then i give him a call. but he never pick up then i call to his friend, he friend very nice, ask me dun worry and go back first, he will help me call him. his friend call him, also never pick up. then in a while, he call back and say he at coffee shop but when i go there look for him, he not there. he give me a excuse that phone put on the table, cannot hear as phone put slince. then i ask him why you go out middle of the night, he say he hungry so out and eat, then he say he alone only. he confess to me that he go drink beer too. i dun know i feel that he have keep a lot of things to me and you know girl six sense very accuyrate one. he go any where always keep his phone around him.

i now already six month pregnany, and whenever i cry or upset he dun care and he ask me... can you please stop crying. i feel so lost, i have a urge to go aboration. baby things he also never buy.

hi Mrs teng,
Need to ask u regarding puree green peas and green beans. do u have to sieve the pureed peas and beans? I have a hand blender to puree - but am also worried abt the hard bits? Thanks for ur advice

today is a god-send day for me. i'm on leave today!!! yeah.. haha..

how's everyone? hisstory, back to work?

gonna read the many many posts i've missed out first..

just came back from cruise..a lot lot of posts..will try to read through, sorry do i miss out any..

shint,
enjoy your ps

cat,
saw bernice pic with the nerbuliser, sayang hope she get well soon

yln,
cheer upz gal me also quie sian evryday work no time with ger..our kid will understand dun worry too much. thanks for organising the bash

ruixuan,
so ahve we decide ont he theme or did i miss out anyting?

any mummies want to meet up and go to the studio together? i dun think i can drive there cause my hb will need the car that day...

vone,
aiyo heng you managed to find out soon about what ur maid did, cant imagine what she will do in future...sayang sayang

no worries about the deposit for bday gathering...

havent read thru all posts cuz too many over the weekend!

anyway..just wanted to ask..when is a good time to just cook porridge in normal pot ? im using slow cooker now. cuz kaer taking one porridge meal..but am thinking of giving her 2 porridge meals soon..but it would mean the slow cooker has to be on the whole day!..quite shiong leh..so was thinking ..maybe now its ok to cook porridge in normal pot since she is taking all types of solid liao? she taking minced meat, chicken, fish, frog legs..potato cut in cubes..corn..

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Awww... U're making me miss Ashley too!
I was just thinking to myself the other day.. I used to spend at least 12 hours a day with her, and now it's just down to 2hrs only

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
Ashley's on 2 meals of porridge a day.. My mum wld cook in slow cooker for lunch &amp; then warm it up again for her dinner

But tt means the ingredients wld be the same for both lunch &amp; dinner.. Or if u have the magic cooker, u can put the dinner portion in it? Helps keep it warm for a long time &amp; doesnt require usage of gas &amp; electricity