(2008/08) Aug 2008

Good morning mummies

Cat
Hope Bernice is better already.

Mrs Teng
Yr gals very sweet : ) Nice pics!

Mummies can I check how much porridge are yr babies taking now? I started Darwisyah on porridge over the weekend.. my goodness, she ate only like 5-10 tablespoons. Is this normal? I dun remember my #1 was lidat.. at 8 months he was eating abt half a bowl to 1 bowl...
Either my porridge not nice, or she so gu niang, eat so little..

YLN
I use the slow cooker for darwisyah but what I do is that once the porridge is cooked after 2-3 hours, I will off the cooker... then if dinner is the same thing again, I will warm it up for about 30 mins before she eats

thanks hisstory and medusa for ur advice..but i would prefer to use fresh and different ingredients lor..tsk..tsk..so abit headache..maybe i should just try to use the normal pot and boil the porridge and see how..cuz now kaer can chew her solids better..i think maybe then dun need to cook her porridge until very nua..hmm...

bernice is much better but still got abit phlegm. 2 more days on the nebulizer. Tues going back for review. My notebook crashed. Waiting for hb bring me to funan. Meanwhile now using hp to post so abit hard to read properly scrolling up and down a pathetic small iPhone.

Krex
ya she bites but not everytime. Think she being playful cos hb always let her bite his finger and play with her. Will try the face thing later.

Reirei
bernice on augmentin. Very sweet tasting. Maybe thats why she likes.

Hi christinekoh
dont think too much. Very soon u will be able to see your beautiful bb and you will feel all is worth it. Men are bottom on the list of sensitive beings. Prob your pet dog) can be more sensitive than them. When I was preggy and cried my hb said dont cry later bb like hum bao like u then I sure blame u. So think of your bb and dont bother about all the negative issues. Your baby is the blessing from god to you. Take care

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
Isee.. Hmm, i dun have a slow cooker at home. So i use a small pot to cook her porridge, not a prob, only issue is the need to watch the flame &amp; to stir now &amp; then

<font color="#CD3278">Medusa</font>
Eh, 5-10 tbsp not abt 1/2 a bowl meh?
Gu niang also gd.. Dun get too heavy for mummy to carry *heheh*

<font color="#CD3278">Catherine</font>
Gd to hear Bernice is on the road of recovery!

<font color="#CD3278">giraffe</font>
Yupz, am back! For over 1 week oredi.. Quite like the fact i get a bit of me-time

bb pick up things very fast now so must watch your words and actions. Bernice always see us talking on the phone so yesterday she took her toy phone holding to her ear and started going ahhh ahhh like talking. Halfway can switch the other hand to "talk" so funny.

cat,

wah, your bernice is picking up fast! i've been telling hb to watch his temper when driving. he likes to "complain" a lot in the car, esp when faced with averse traffic situation, sigh.

medusa,

5-10 tbsp sounds ok. it's tablespoon, not teaspoon rite? if u think she's eating too little, then can give her more milk. from what i understand, milk is still more impt than solids, although some bbs can eat a substantial portion at this age.

medusa,
my boy is also a small eater, and he is a boy! still only 150ml per feed, sometimes lesser and he is only taking about the same amount of solid like your gal... and only one meal a day also. Boy is left with the maid so I don't think she give him solid twice a day...

Hi christinekoh,
please take care of yourself and your baby. Maybe your hb is telling the truth? Maybe he really has got problems at work but didn't want you to worry so went downstairs for a drink and some food. He didn't lock the door and gate and drive the car, maybe he intend to go and come back quickly. Don't worry yourself too much. Is this your first baby? Some older folks are pantang - cannot buy baby things too early. maybe you can talk to him and start to get the things ready for baby slowly. still got 3+ months to go!

Hisstory &amp; YLN,
After I have cooked the porridge using pot/slow cooker, I will transfer the porridge to the thermos flask to keep warm lor...save electricity and also easier if gg out.

Hisstory,
Haha, miss Ash right? I feel like hugging the gals now too.
Yalor, I now have less than 2 hours with Mae at night coz she wana go meet Mr Zhou at 8pm+ liao...appt gets earlier and earlier...hiaz

Christine,
Cheer up. Are you facing any pre-natal blues? Dun think of so many things ok?

<font color="aa00aa">mommies</font>, sorry if my posts are really post-dated. hehe.. trying my best to catch up now.

<font color="0000ff">rona</font>,
so sorry i've not being able to log on long enough to read this thread. on leave today.. finally get a break.
how's your back? is it better? i've been visiting this chinese doc in the east. i'm much better though i still get pain now and then. but at least i can enjoy my life as it is. =)
and happy belated birthday!

oh and your jerold looks like both his sis and bro!
and.. i really enjoy reading all your posts. hehe..

<font color="0000ff">cat</font>,
wow, you sound like you've shopped in many places. i really envy you. =)

<font color="0000ff">mrs teng</font>,
your gals are very sweet, knowing their daddy was not around then. are they happy when he came back?

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>,
do you still pump in school?

<font color="0000ff">timmin &amp; wendy</font>,
ooh.. so nice to be able to go to melbourne. i love this place. and tasmania too. thinking of going to louceston (did i spell it correctly?) this yea, the last i went to tas (hobart) was in 2000 for my honeymoon! it's been a long time since.

eh, <font color="0000ff">timmin</font>, what's ragi flour?

<font color="0000ff">ruixuan</font>,
i applaud you for your volunteering efforts. i think it's not easy to find find to volunteer nowadays but you did it! do you do it on a regular basis? where do you go to? is it ok to share?

<font color="0000ff">celyn</font>,
your bbsitter will help you send yu ze home? they have the keys to your place? if so, your relationship with your bbsitter is fantastic!
and the pic of yu ze on the weighing machine is so cute.

<font color="0000ff">mrs teng</font>,
i want to add my compliments to the many others you have received. your gals are very very lucky to have you plan all their meals so well. i wish i have the patience and knowledge like you. =) and your pics on prep of the food is so good lor. ai yo, so much to learn from you.

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>,
can you add me to the list but i can't confirm yet cos depends on whether i'm working lei.. is it ok if i confirm nearer in june? so pai sei..
Gymboree Gym Gathering

1 Aug
5pm -7pm
1)YLN (any weekend also can)
2)snow74 (prefer Aug, any weekend except 8 Aug)
3)Linx
4)Valnsw
5)Sylvia
6)fitbaby
7)celynlee (any weekends)
8)dongle (any weekend except 18-19 july)
9)aurora (anyweek except 25 July)
10)wendy
11)catherine (tentative - depends on final date)
12)M2B (ok if Sat, thanks!)
13)april
14)Megan
15) krex78 (tentative)
16) Hui Chin (tentative)
17) balugu (tentative)
18) Jen (prefer Sun except 23 Aug)
19) Vern (any weekend except 8 Aug)
20) Happy mummy (weekends)
21) cocomo (weekends)
22) missysz (tentatively depending on final date)
23) interrace (tentative)
24) Tree (tentatively depending on final date)
25) Hashisan
26) babyemma(anyweek except 8 Aug)
27) twinstars (anyweek except 25 July)
28) mousse (prefer Sat)
29) melmal12
30) msapple (tentatively depending on final date)
31) fairybees
32) coolsnow
33) giraffe (tentatively depending on final date)

<font color="ff0000">Re: Ameda Pump</font>,
eh, mommies who are using this pump, do you find the motor really loud? If my is, does it mean that the motor needs servicing?

<font color="ff0000">Re: N/S/E/W</font>,
come to think of it.. not many pp stay in the West and South hor.. or there are but i don't know? =)

<font color="ff0000">FB</font>,
eh.. i wanna find the mommies here in FB but how do i start? the nicks are all so diff. hehe.. =) can somebody help me?

giraffe,

got ar.....
I stay in NW, CCK.

FB, join the Aug mum's group, then u can find our names n u click to add as friends

Christine,

take care!!

maybe find someone to talk to who can relate to ur husband? During preg is more sensitive and guys are as.... all mummies here wrote... they r insensitive one. sometimes hv to put straight across.

baby things.... dad usually wont know wat to buy or they will buy when it's time to come. Guys are like dat. So if u hv the intention, just go ahead.

Don't think too much. ur hb told u dat he went for a drink, he's quite open to u on it too.

if u need help or professional advices, u can look for :
© aLife - Pregnancy Assistance &amp; Counselling Centre
Block 308 #01-165, Shunfu Road, Singapore 570308, Tel : +65 6258-8816, Fax : +65 6258-4339

christine: maybe ur hubby is jus being careless? got something troubling him too? his job maybe? dun think too much k.. Be happy for ur baby. no good to say abortion..baby is innocent.. Try counselling perhaps? U still have 3 more months to go...dun worry ah, baby things many ppl also last min then buy.

hisstory: can buy the small slow cooker pot.. haha only $27. When i go out in the noon, i jus off n then come bk feed Braiden the dinner. The porridge cook by slow cooker is more watery like congee... If i use the pot, i think its abit 'hard'..

Christine,

nt a prob.

watch more comedy or cartoons, good for u n baby.

* what I do, when my hb said that. I told him.. I want to go n buy now!! then give him a big smile n touch my tummy n show off the size to him.

he will....... ok... we go. :p

oh wow! 59 members!!! this is a very srong network!

tks so much sylvia! =) i only know a few cos the names and nick here are all so diff. hehe..

<font color="0000ff">sylvia</font>,

i've tried adding a few of the mommies.. not sure if they are the ones i know here. hehe..

<font color="0000ff">yuuri</font>,
i recognise some of the bbs but not all lei.. i scatterbrain liso.. cannot rembr alot of the photos.. i think i got your in my fb right?

thanks babes!

giraffe,

most are fm here so dun think will be wrong lah. if nt, all fm here, so add by mistake oso nt a prob.

hee!!

krex
hmmm...maybe jonah doesn't like textured food yet? E loves the meat in porridge leh. today i tried adding lentils, he doesn't like it.
got to trial &amp; error. sometimes, it's really hard feeding E also. esp if he doesn't really like the food. sigh....

wendy
i gave lentils in his porridge today. E doesn't like it leh. i tried it, and it makes the porridge powdery. tink cos it's a bean. so he didn't really like it.

giraffe
ragi flour is a type of finger millet. very high in iron &amp; calcium! from wat i know, indians use it to wean their babies to solids too.

giraffe
Add first, think later! haha! Still got some mummies on my fb that I'm not sure who they are :p
And yep I'm on ur FB liao

giraffe
yah...we're really hoping to get some promo flights! now there's a promo by emirates to melb. for only $400 return inc taxes!!! but only valid till sept. boohooooo...

giraffe,
HELLO!
long time no hear liao, glad to hear that your back is better. i stay near your gal's school. don't know which direction in the map... :p hehehee. that's quite close to you too right?

Facebook
think everyone here (and the world!) is on facebook! Except me... i scared leh! scared i get addicted and spend too much time on face book then cannot get my work done during office hours and then got to put in more time in the office then i will spend lesser time with the kids. hahahaaa... but i think i should have ganna tagged by some users liao, since users can upload their fotos and tag names to the people in the foto... no place to hid in cyber space.

timmin,
you sure on the promo by emirates? only $400 return including taxes?? that's is so very cheap! is there a website? wondering if there's any promo on internal flights, i need to go Perth and would like to go mel and sydney too!

<font color="#CD3278">rona</font>
Join us in the dark side.. heheheh

<font color="#CD3278">giraffe</font>
yupz i still do.. Thankfully my timetable allows

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Tt's the way i wld do it too.. heheh, but means lunch &amp; dinner the same yah? Chin chye lah.. heheh, coz she still ends up eating up everything!

Am already imagining how excited she wld be to see us at the door, with her flapping hands

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
i better stick to my magic cooker for awhile.. If not my hb might skin me alive for buying yet another kitchen appliance.. heheh

With cooking over the stove, needs abt 1hr to become nuanua.. Yah lor, if not like u said, may still be grainy &amp; hard

Hisstory,
you evil leh... already i'm very slow in my work cos spending too much time here and now fb?? but i also very gian to see the fotos... wah... hard hard decision...

see i reply post so fast hor, work not so fast hor... so work piling up... :p

<font color="ff6000">balugu,</font>
Sorry, almost forgot to ask you about your cruise.

How many days did you go for the cruise. Heard that they are having promo, very good rates. But the promo to penang/redang island is during the week i got to go hk. so cannot go. all 3 of you look very happy leh. but hor, how to go gambling with gal gal?

<font color="aa00aa">hisstory,</font>
you bold with what color? I can't seem to be able to get that color... :p

<font color="0077aa">plum is it?</font>

cannot leh, i tried... <font color="ff0000">not red too...</font>

got dark red or not?

Vanilla_pod

Must admit that green peas are a bit difficult to blend.. So it is difficult for some babies to consume.. Green beans at this age.. I dun know leh.. I won't give lor.. It's very cooling for babies. I'll remove the so-call 'skin' from green peas before steaming it, that why easier to blend. Next time when they are more adjusted to the texture, I'll skip the skinning.

Giraffe

Jiejie didn't have the mood to eat for several days.. She really misses her dad but when daddy got back she was so happy.. appetite came back right after..

Medusa

Thanks for the compliments, but I think it's actually the skill of the photographer that makes the photo so well-done..

Shint

I agree that Sean Lau can be quite expensive. Reason why I paid so much is bcos I paid for a lot of things. Here's a brief breakdown

Package for 1st twin : $238
Package for 2nd twin : $119 (50%)
Arrangement for make-up artist (for me) : $80
Addition charges for adults in family portrait : $70
Purchase of all high resolution photographs: $400 (for 2 babies)got back about 220 Plus photographs
Large frame family portrait : $75

In total is about $982

<font color="119911">timmin,</font>
<font color="808080">wow, the tix price is so competitive now! will go check out the internal flight tix to see if can go from melborne to perth or sydney.. maybe we can take an overnite coach from melb to sydney so not so costly then back to melb to fly to perth? check tix first...</font>

<font color="#CD3278">rona</font>
Ooops.. heheh, shall rephrase.. The dark side is beckoning you ;)

My colour is based on a RGB code
You google for RGB &amp; there wld be many links to show u a wide variety of RGB codes. Have fun!! And dun get addicted

<font color="#CD3278">shirley</font>
oooh, Gerlene looks so much like u.. Pretty mummy &amp; bb!

<font color="aa00aa">Hello Mrs Teng!</font>
What's for dinner tonite? really too bad i don't live close to you, i can ask you for tingkak! at least for my bb...

Here's pics of my gals in their Hanbok (Korean traditional dress for 1st birthday celebration)
Got too big size, but nevermind.. they can wear until very big lor...hehehe

Meimei wearing red hanbok
2345591.jpg

Jiejie wearing pink hanbok
2345592.jpg

Rona

today's lunch menu

Cod fish, Wolfberry, Xian bai cai n ikan bilis powder brown rice porridge cooked with pork stock..

2345613.jpg

shirley,
contest #12 is a replica of you. next time will be tall like mommy too.

mrs teng,
so cute! where did u get the hanbok? they look like doll in the costume.

Mrs Teng,
Who is the little gal in the background? or the twins took turns to wear their hanbok? actually they look alike leh, not so easy to differiate them.

Your lunch look very nice, 3 colours! aiyoh, i also want to live next door to you... and i would probably steal the food from your kids. for myself!

Do you also cook for yourself and hb?

Nowadays, i've been eating too much, easily 5 square meals a day and i've been putting weight. i think i eat too much liao. got to watch it.

thks mrs teng...so cute ur daughters! Good that jie jie is happy that her daddy is back! I will try green peas fresh and try to remove skin like u suggest...