(2008/08) Aug 2008

Oh yea, anybody encountered this before with your ILs?

Cos meet ILs like once or twice a mth w baby, so everytime bb meets them, she will make this bian zui grumpy face and ready to break out into a cry. Then ILs will say oh must bring bb out more often then she won't be so scared. Haiz... I duno tell them how many upteen times that hv brought her out during wkends and even daily, bring her to park to stroll.

Actually, I think she's just not familiar / close to them and mb she can sense she might not like them?

Cos I've seen Chevelle ok with strangers whom she meets for the 1st time :p

valnsw,
she say add a little bit of the seasoning powder onli..come on lah dun give me crap loh but since not my child i also keep quiet now i wont allow this to happen...

shirley,
How can your MIL expect Gerlene (I got her name right?) to not pee all the way til morning? She's 7mths+ leh.... sure need to pee that's why need diaper right?

interrace,
I suggest if u gona give bottle veg, give separately, not put in the cereal + milk, else I duno if will taste weird or not?
So far I nvr do this combi.... hehe

huichin,
Siao liao this kind of situation v tricky. Ermz, u ask them read in btwn the lines duno if they get your point or not. Either keep quiet or say outright lo. For me, I always just keep quiet. Lesser said the better.

Somemore u're living under same roof as your MIL, better keep quiet.

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
How much are u producing a day ah?
I'm pumping abt 3 times, gives me abt only 450ml, but sufficient for her 3 day feeds.. Will latch her on at night..

Val's idea is gd.. Got some spare 'weight' to gain for the next pregnancy

I also use the Tiger food jar.. It's really gd! <font color="#CD3278">ReiRei</font> helped me get the food jar tt came bundled with a flask during the Isetan pvt sale. Both are really gd

<font color="#CD3278">Val</font>
Ashley doesnt seem to like ILs place.. So we experimented, meeting ILs outside for meals, slightly better.. She might or might not bian zhui.. Everytime before we meet my ILs, we always tell her not to bian zui/cry when she sees them.

Nvm lor, one ear in, one ear out

<font color="#CD3278">rona</font>
huh? Give sale &amp; soya sauce in bb food ah.. Does Jerold have to go thru tt?

bb can sense who is good to them, like my hb side got 8 aunties and 5 uncle thus although see them quite often cause we all lived nearby, not eberyone my ger will let them carry...haha

hisstory,
the tiger food jar good huh? only isetan have? should have gotten one earlier, now where can i find huh? any pictures to show?

Yes Val, i guess i really dun have much choice. If u dun get, too bad for both of us loh. Haha...

BTW Re: Porridge for bb
How to 'season' it without adding the normal seasoning? Does the ikan billis powder makes the porridge more yummy? Any suggestions on what kinda porridge to venture? I only planning to give Falisha porridge next mth. Haha..this Mummy very lazy and bad siah. Sighs..

<font color="#CD3278">shirley</font>
I think I spotted it at Taka too.. But the offer at Isetan Pvt sale was gd
Apparently (according to the price tag), it costs $100+ before the discount.

Eh.. Let me go look see if there's pix or model no.

ruixuan
ha ha....no lah, u are actually quite pretty also u noe?
dun talk about size lah, u big then i how? =D

sylvia
sikarli ur mil say these few days either sun big big or sudden down pour, dun go zoo how? =P
pls make sure u have a plan....ha ha....
pai seh har, too use to "find problem" at work.

huichin,
i got saw a type of mushroom seasoning powder from pigeon which can be added into porridge or soup leh..but i never buy, maybe you can go see see

hisstory,
huh? so ex for the jar, jialat lor now me got to source for one liao...thanks hor if have pic at least i roughly can see what size should i buy...

hahaha!!!

I think the same gen (MIL) act the same way???

I oso forseen the soy sauce n salt prob, so I told hb fm the very start, all things dat go into Meredith will be control / prep by me.

My hb oso know coz his feeding style/habit is the result of MIL. Only like salty/curry/oily n soft drinks... all no gd for health type.

I noe MIL hand itchy liao. coz she wanna feed her n kept asking me if Meredith has start solid food. &amp; we always siam the feeding time so dat she cant feed.

Hahaha!!

I think I rem seeing some BPs going on for food jars.. One was the brand Fogos, and i think there was another for Tiger too

The food jar I have is way too big for her current meals.. U can look for smaller ones, shd be cheaper. Taka has a huge array of Tiger food jars/containers as well as other brands, heheh, u wld be spoilt for choice

valnsw,
yes, my MIL! haha..she also said must bring bb to their house more often whenever bbJ shows the grumpy face at their place. lol

hey..i think my MIL wins hands down! she actually wanted to feed bbJ the stock for lunar new year steamboat dinner when he was merely 6 month old? lol

hisstory,
jerold no need to go through that liao. Poor #1 gone through that but i told her in her face that baby cannot take it cos kidney not fully develope yet to take salt. she doesn't believe it and went to my FIL to complain about this. then FIL also nag say must add some salt and soy sauce then baby can eat. I told him the same thing and stand firm on it. don't want to risk my babies health to please them.

gals,
my MIL is member of mensa - only high IQ people get to join the club you know. don't know how come got no common sense at all. or maybe its just my kids? She also likes to compare mine with her daughter's kids. the eldest one is already 10.5yrs old, my #1 is only 5.5ys old, how to compare huh???

Rona
so sweet hor... mind to share the little surprise ? heheh

Krex
yup, I used Thermos food jar, suppose to keep hot til ard 6 hr n cool for abt 9 hrs

tree nymph: maybe u can pass her some info/articles to read?

my PIL v health concious one so they dun anyhow give my boy eat stuffs.. only my hubby lah.. wan bb to taste coffee,lime juice,icecream!! *faint* But i am very firm n insisted NO.

Ling Ling,
You stay in bishan too ! Can meet up! Where you stay exactly? Street?

MILs,
Wow ! Lots of you have probems with in laws hor? I think it is normal. As for me, I am quite lucky. I see my in laws only once in a very long while. Dunno why, my hubbynot very keen to go visit, and they dun come, so I just let it me.

Sleeping in cot,
Do your babies sleep in playpans or cots ? Adel used to sleep in a cot, but then he started to climb and then I gave up liao, now he sleep in playpan. But my playpan super low lah, cary him in and out giving me backache.

Huichin,
Your MIL funny lah ! How can give Ritz biscuits ? I wonder when your hubby was younger, did she give the same biscuits to him ? Dangerous leh !

rona &amp; April,
Happy birthday !

Wow! So Many birthday wishes. thanks so much. My actual birthday is 1st April. That's why my name is April. hahaha.

Hi Krex,

You can use my room to BF. I will prepare a room for bb to change diapers and put some chairs and Mattress for BF. So should be ok.

shirley,
The Tiger food jar, I got it at $50 at Isetan Private sale last yr, before bb was born... haha It came w free thermos flask too but that one is extra cos I got another one free (Sahara brand) when I bought baby thermometer.

rona,
I think hor... for my MIL when she compares, she's practising favouritism.. haiz... ILs are v zhong nan qing nu. So blardy obvious and my hb can just keep quiet when obviously some things my MIL say to me are super outa place.

missy / shirley / hisstory,
I guess babies are smart, they can sense who's gd to them lo... Don't play play w them leh...
Cos my youngest aunt on my mum's side came CNY visiting. First time she met my Chevelle cos for her full-mth she was overseas. Heh... though first time meet, but Chevelle smiled at her leh...

On the flip side, when BIL's wife wanted to carry Chevelle, I made the excuse, she's drinking. Then after finish, dun give up, still ask to carry her. I was so reluctant but MIL in front, so ok... let her carry. Haha, Chevelle wailed like so loud, then think she pass back to me. Plus her own daughter also crying, mb jealous her own mummy carrying somebody else.

Later while I was giving out angpaos after everybody finished the reunion dinner. I let hb carry Chevelle. The next moment, the blardy BIL's wife was carrying her and Chevelle was CRYING AGAIN!!! Wah lauz... super dun give up huh? I thought I saw MIL carrying her after hb passed to MIL but then duno how come suddenly that woman go carry her?!!!

My mum said bb knws how to sense all these things, like bb also buay guam w the person who mummy is buay guam with lo... heh heh...

snow,

i make backup plans liao

tell my hb go n think for excuses nt to let her come. 1st thing... if she wanna come, has to clean poo n change diaper.

Hahaha!!

u IT programmer or analyst?

Any mummy been to Bali before?

Can give me any info on where to go visit and good places for accomodation? Especially w a baby in tow?

Passport making for babies

Ermz... Think some mummies here hv done it alrdy?

Beside taking the passport-sized photo, what else need to do? Must go down to ICA? or can just do online?

Also, remember some mummy taking the bb's photo while on bumbo seat, u mean can give soft copy of baby's photo or must print out then then we cut to the correct size?

valnsw,
i just got mine, i submit by post leh, the photo taken at the studio shop loh..i scare wait i do wrongly not in time for ger cruise in may..Bali i went after i give birth ger, to me not very bb friendly roads are narrower than phuket and the food is super duper ex lor..

tot u got mention b4 maybe you BIL wife is pregnant also?

tim,
okie, will keep a lookout for that also thank

valnsw
i did E's online. took our own photo too in bumbo. background must be white. after taking, we edited it on comp and cut it to size. they'll tell u size online. once u submit, they'll send u email on whether approved. if approved, they'll send u a letter when it's ready. make an appt b4 collecting. faster. took us 5 min in ica.

sylvia
ya, at least must inform u before she reached lor.
else, sure die 1...hee hee....

me test specialist, gotta make sure no foreseeable defects then can rel product. =P

val,
I did by post too. took a foto from studio then print out form from website and send. then they will send you a card to collect the passport. must bring baby along to collect passport. and you can also make an appt to collect passport and if you arrive 15 mins before appointment time you will get your passport on your appt time.

val
Submit passport application online cheaper! For me, I just lie baby down on cloth diapers (that time he can't sit yet) and snap snap snap. Then edit size on photoshop.

pigeon stock

I saw got mushroom soup/stock ( in a box) and vege stock/soup ( in a soft alumn self-seal pack). I bought the vege one as same price but can prep 20 servings, while the mushroom one only 10 servings.

just that haven try yet as wanna intro as new item.

snow,

ya... if nt I think I hv to act nt at home n dun open door for her???

Hahaha!!

oooooooo... no wonder. must test any defect n any bugs etc rite.

stressful leh.

Celyn,
Just to share, my hubby's grandpa oso just passed away.. I attended the wake and cremation, but baby stayed with my own mother. Hmm... we made sure we bathed with the 'ang huay' after we came home before touching baby lor.. then cannot enter my mum's house for the week (in ur case, ur babysitter's house).

Porridge,
I didn't grind the rice. What I did was to let the japanese rice 'stand' for 15min or so, then use rice cooker. I bought a baby porridge cum rice cooker which allows me to select the timing, e.g. 1 hr or 2 hr (dep on what texture you like). Then will either add meat or fish when it boils then add vege 15 min before the cycle ends.

Ceyln,
I oso bought the 11 grains... organic one.. hahaa.. but haven't started intro to baby. :p
hisstory,
wow starting work oredi? Time flies! Really need a lot of adjusting. Jiayou!

Ruixuan,
I think ur colleague is right abt the carrot thingy... I didn't notice any more stains after i stopped carrots.. but yesterday after i gave him some papayas, got stain on his pampers again! Hmm.... why like tt huh??

Interrace,
How much is your son drinking? They say 30ml can last 1 hr. I think my son can stretch his feeding time... but because he is still such a small drinker.. less than 100ml (!!!), we still feed him every 3 hrs... :p

Sylvia,
Can PM the list of 'blacklisted organisers' as well? I kena 'chop carrot' during one spree oso... the shipping cost twice the cost of my items.. super sianz...I asked her to scan and email me her credit statement, but she just type out in the email, then sounded very pek chek and victimised herself saying her hubby v angry with her for organising spree and filling the house with boxes... duh... in the end i dare not push her too much lest she destroy my loot. :S

Rona and April,
Happy birthday. May u enjoy the 1st birthday celebration with ur darlings!

Linx,
Ur gal very pretty! Saw her pix on FB too.. the tub series and the jar of 'cookies' series very cute!

Cathrine,
Thanks for sharing.. will buy ikan bilis there when i go pray at the temple. hehe.. Enjoyed looking at ur Japan trip photos on FB. Bernice must have enjoyed the trip.. she's so cute!

gayle,
I can understand! Tt's why im very scared of letting MIL cook porridge for baby.... :S must remind her not to put.. or get ur hubby to tell her... sometimes MIL cannot switch their thinking...

shirley, huichin,
hahhaaa.. i wanna join the club too. :p

Baby food jar,
I bought a Tiger food jar at less than $50 from a spree here. But it was 0.9L, quite big.. then tt day went Isetan, the auntie intro this 'Endo' brand food jar.. only $13.90 for 0.6L.

seems today topic is about MIL + salt + sauce. hahaha.. i think my mil will also put salt/sauce type cos i ever heard she complain to me about my SIL not allowing her kids to eat the food my mil prepare cos of the salt/sauce so she got history on this .. hahaha

So many post to catch up

Reirei,
My slow cooker is the super cheapo one, only got stew, keep warm and off. So I will switch to keep warm. After a long time, there will be a layer of dried porridge on top. If you remove the top layer that is dried, anything underneath still can be eaten.

My kitchen is only about 2 years+ old. I use mr muscle to clean whenever I cook. Heheh….

Rona,
Yah. As long as they never say I must go, then I just stay at home with yu ze loh.

Rona &amp; april
Happy birthday

Ruixuan,
My hubby’s idol is also vivian chow leh, same as your hubby. Hehehe….

Catherine,
I see but hoh, I don’t have oven leh. How to roast the ikan bilis?

Timminbuzz,
how you do your ikan bilis?

Mrs teng,
Your girls know how to call papa liao. Clever leh. But you poor thing, tell them not to bully you and wait for papa to come back ok.

Huichin,
I also use a tiger container to bring food out for yu ze if really need too.

Krex78,
I think bf + work does help us to loose weight. I’m not gaining weight though I eat like I’m pregnant, always hungry one. hahahah…..

History,
Yu ze don’t like to go to fil’s place but he is ok with fil when he comes to our house to play with him. I think cos fil’s place is quite dark even in the day. There is once we go in the day and yu ze starts to bian zui and want to cry. I quickly carry him to the balcony before he cry then ask hubby to on all the lights in the house. Once the lights are on, yu ze is fine liao. He don’t bian zui and can start playing.

Nini,
I’m like your hubby leh. Hahah…. I give yu ze all sort of rubbish too. He eats ice cream liao but no coffee cos mummy don’t drink coffee.

Happy mummy,
Yu ze sleeps in the cot. Your cot can’t be lower?

Aurora,
I see. My babysitter not patang so she say its ok. I can’t leave yu ze with anyone in the night cos he will cry and refuse to sleep. He will cry till he super tired then sleep. There is once we had to visit my uncle in hospital so we didn’t bring him with us. Leave him at babysitter’s place till about 10pm. When we reach, he was soak in sweat. Babysitter says cos he is tired but refused to sleep, struggling and crying even when babysitter rock him to sleep. He was waiting for us to fetch him. Only fall asleep after 2 hours of struggle cos too tired liao.

Anyway, I was told not to go. But if hubby ‘dai xiao’ can I ask him to clean himself with ‘ang hua’ before touching baby?

Hope u can find what u need

<font color="#CD3278">rona</font>
Oh gdness.. Ur hb never remind them too??

hahahhah, u're hilarious! Ur MIL fr Mensa club..

<font color="#CD3278">Val</font>
Maybemaybe.. Think one thing they know is if the person carrying them isn't confident of carrying them, they wld most likely fuss

On 2 occasions my Dad was carrying her &amp; talking to someone.. She was okie initially, but after a couple of minutes she bawled.. So queer!!

<font color="#CD3278">aurora</font>
Today still on trial.. heehee! Feeling a little tired, but i hope once i get the hang of things, the tiredness wld go away

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
I also think ILs place abit dark.. Hb also thinks so, but ILs dun really like to turn on the lights, coz they think it wld make the place warmer..

But when we said it might be becoz of the darkness tt she bian zhui, they guaiguai make it brighter.. heheh

Ling Ling

Yesterday, was the first evening without daddy, so during dinner time they kept waiting for him... den suddenly, jie jie started repeatedly calling papa... thot she just coincidentally saying as if she learning to talk, but mei mei also started calling out for dad... They usually dun do that..

Den just now, jie jie called out for papa about dinner time again... both stay up just to wait for him lor... somemore, she call out softly as she looks at the main door... So I'm really very heartpain lor,,, pain not bcos she never call mama first but feels so sorry that daddy's not around for her... Each time she call out for him, I got to hold back my tears.. I showed her daddy's large portrait and she smiled... think she can recognise her dad's pic... I just cannot believe it lor....

seanlau
jus done PS shoot at sean lau. very nice couple i must say n they do have alot of props n backdrops
mummy super tired frm carrying my heavy weight up n down until wanna pengz. can;t wait to see the pics

poor g, kena so much flash, dunno ok for her eyes or not but sean does have gd taste. we have so similar taste till he has all the backdrops tat seem to match gg's clothes perfectly. will try to load..........hopefully
hubby toped up to take back all pics plus big photoframe but i wanna ask him to cancel the big frame cos dunno where to put lei

did i miss anything?

mil
u guys into this liao? juicy, haha give me time to read thru, wat i missed? hehe

rona, april
happy blessed birthday! may this year be the most fulfilling year for u gals!

happy mummy
hehehehe... me shy liao.. tot the ang mo near my place. I stay at PG n got 1 ang mo too here hehehhe pai seh ah

Valnsw
I've been in Bali... before bb, to make them hehehehe... what u have in mind ? I have several good friends there that I can ask or mayb u want to contact them urself later oso can I think

anyway, me n hb oso plan to go again b4 this year end... when u want to go, mayb we can go together ? hehe

Shirley
eh ? where did u go ? I mean which part of Bali u went ? In Indonesia ( all the provinces ) always more convenient to travel with car.. no need to bring bb pram I think.. and the food mite b costlier compare to normal cos it's tourist destination but I think for us still very reasonable unless they 'played u' out hehehe.. but always better to have someone local to show u the good catch there

Sylvia
good idea !! :p U notti gal hehehe

Aurora
thanks.. the cookie one actually she's oredi bit bored liao so gave her those.. think she tot that were edible so keep tasting hehehe
re carrot, my gal poops will oso have bits of carrot if we fed her that...

timmin
np. I can wait

Tigg3r
ur gals so smart... can call Papa oredi... wait my hb hears her little darling calls him out.. think he'll melt hehehe

ling
who;s going bali? hubby ask me to go there or bintan 4 spa n relax lei. I LOVE BALI. go there every year b4 bb. always go ubud! best pte villas with pte swimming pool! arrrrrrrrr u make me gian again. haha

LTS
hehehehe, Valnsw started this.. my hb oso luvvvv Bali.. mayb later we can go together so can book prvt villa n let our kids play together ?

Ling,
I know there's a XL villa in Bali. U heard about it before?

Rem that it has chariy purpose, go there stay, funds for optical operations for the natives.

ling,
I have a pair of return tics from SQ to Bali. Thought of bringing bb along but now thinking whether to bring her leh....

The tix are valid til Sep this yr, means I gota travel by then. Most likely hv to go in Jul or Aug but seems hb is more for Jul. Still in midst of discussing.

Can PM me the good spots to go in Bali or your friends' email addresses? TIA! hehe. You gave me an idea, mb I can ask my Indonesian friends too!

mrs teng,
Wow! your girl can recognise daddy from the photo huh? My girl also knws where to look when we say "photo" in front of the family portrait in the dining area.

hehe My girl alrdy started saying Mama for some time liao, since about 2 wks ago bah... I was feeding her, then she said mama. Then after her porridge, I was taking off her bib and then she raised her arms up facing me and said Mama... V endearing moment, then I just carried her up from the high chair. think she wanted me to carry her.

little twin stars,
Me planning to go Bali. Thought of bringing bb along, since short distance, at least intro her to short flight then easier to ease her into those longer haul flights nxt time.
Might want to bring Chevelle to Melbourne when she's older.

So u did your PS at Sean Lau! Think you have enjoyed yourself though it was damn tiring. At least that's how I felt. Had to do jumping jacks, all sorts of stunts to make her smile.

BTW, did u let GG go on the rocking horse? Chevelle's too unsteady to do it.

RE: flashcards
Anybody let her baby do flashcards every day and so far, did u test your baby?

I was wondering if it's coincindental, but basically almost every morning, I've been flashing cards in front of her. Just these 2-3 days, been putting out 2 cards in front of her and ask her to choose/pick the one that I call out. So far, she able to get them right most of the time, except for few times, she got them wrong and then I will correct her. Of course, will praise her when she gets it right.

Hmm, food for thought, wondering if they can absorb things fast and learn them fast.

Anyway, just an experiment for fun. Mb can try on your baby, who knws will surprise u!

celyn
my ikan bilis powder was given to me by ILs. but wat i read so far is to wash, dry and toast/grill then grind.

valnsw
we're gg to bintan in apr with a couple of other families. booked angsoka villa. got pte pool. can't wait!!!

and also booked tix to melb in nov! ultra can't wait!!! ;)