(2008/08) Aug 2008

Morning moms

Val
We just booked our tickets to Melbourne in late Sept! Hb said he has miles to redeem so we quickly did it. We'll be there for about 11 days. Out of which.. about 6 days will be spent in Tasmania. A friend went there recently and it looked really really nice so we plan to fly there from Melbourne. When do you intend to bring Chevelle there? Like when she is much older?

Now.. the dilemma is whether to wean him off the breasts by then or not. He'd be about 13 mths then. If can put him on FM.. means I can drink all the wine I want and even disappear on my own! Haha.. But then again, the advantage of still BM is that it'd be super convenient. No need to bring bottles and FM.. worry about hot clean water.. etc etc.

Timmin
Ooh.. you also going Melbourne eh? Hee.. I'll let you know how it goes with baby in tow? Since I'l be there a mth before you
How long will you be there for?

Brie
Hang in there.. the thought of having to handle bb all alone for one week must be quite daunting. I understand.. cos I was also in the same boat when hb went on reservist some weeks back. Somemore he passed a viral infection to us then.. so bb and I were ill. Just really have to be strong and get as much rest as you can. As soon as bb is sleeping.. you should try and zzz too. Everything else can wait. Oh.. but must remember to eat well! You need all the energy you can get!

Just now hb went to the doc and he is down with viral infection again. Really praying that he doesnt pass it to me nor to David.. this weekend we flying to Kota Kinabalu. If David falls ill.. we'll call the trip off.

Hashisan
Gosh! Must have freaked you out totally! My boy too.. when I give him the Pigeon crackers.. must watch over him like a hawk cos he doesnt have teeth to bite yet.. and yet.. he'll use gums to chomp a big piece off..

Celyn
Wow.. Yu Ze indeed is well trained! I think it's fab that he can entertain himself. My boy.. also requires lots of attention and as much as I try not to give in.. it's tough. I try not to carry him alot tho.. either play with him on the playmat.. or let him wander around on the walker (he still not very zai in crawling yet..). Basically find activities for him so that I don't carry him too often.

And.. I think it's amazing that he can sleep on his own too. Well done, mommy!

Now that my boy can sit himself up. He'll wake up.. sit himself up and start pulling on the mozzie net that we hang over his cot. Urgh.. this morning, he woke up at 5am.. and sat up for abt half an hour before whining. Then no choice.. have to get up liow. Previously, when he still cannot sit himself up, he'll be lying down and crying.. then sometimes can go back to sleep on his own. Now.. dearie dear..

ruixuan,
saw your foto of SL in the bassinet (of the playpen). I think you need to bring the bassinet down more already since SL can sit up on his own. Quite dangerous if you leave him like that...

Celyn

Tell them not to bully, they like dun care... somemore, jie jie teething.. so very cranky.. Meimei like crab... hands n legs all over.. sometimes both will want me to carry... wah! I very exhausted... Both hands always occupied..

Valnsw

Seemed like they know how to recognise his photo... got this huge portrait hanging on the wall.. so when tell them papa... they will look up at the portrait..

History

Daddy aware that they miss him... he'll be back next weekend.. depending on his project.. That guy ah! touch down after more then 24 hrs flight can chiong to factory outlet to shop liao... These 2 gals very lucky... daddy bought lots of Osh Kosh n Carters.. heard his say like 50% off outlet price.. Got me 2 coach bags at dirt cheap price.. Somemore no tax... hahaha.. that's what I like about Oregon state... dun know what design he buy also?

Rona

He'll probably be back next weekend..

Brie

Very siong rite? Without daddy is like without hb during delivery... that's wat happened to me... emergency c-section.. daddy cannot go in... so scary... thot that's the end of life.. won't see him anymore.. thot will die of over-bleeding. etc... hehehe

Hashisan

Not so disheartened when gals didn't call me first... bcos I expected them to call him first... Daddy is the good person at home. I'm the devil bcos, I'll force them to eat, drink n sleep... I'm the one making them eat medicines and all the scolding when they are naughty.. Daddy is always the one rescuing them..

Geehss... I still like Misaki's pic... she's so cute.... mines nothing compared to her..

Mrs N, Krex

Nice snapshot... babies always look cute when they sleep... all kind of positions...

YLN,

dun worry too much. kaer will develop at her own pace. if it's any consolation, how soon kaer can crawl or walk won't determine how successful she is in future :p my FIL also likes to carry jonah a lot but thankfully, my MIL is more hands on in taking care of jonah. she will read to him and let him explore on the play mat. i think the boy is too heavy for her to carry anyway, haha.

hisstory,

i'm switching between avent and ameda. now use avent at work and ameda at home. i find avent better now that i've changed all the parts plus the motor. it's quite silent now and i seem to pump a bit more. my hb thinks it's psychological, haha.

according to maid, jonah didn't really like his lunch and dinner yest. i planned porridge with chicken and veg for lunch and mashed potato with chicken and veg for dinner. maybe intro too many new things, like chicken and porridge. last time when i gave him mashed potato, he liked it solo and mixed with cereal. this time he wasn't that keen. dunno if it's becoz portion too big or taste not that gd or missing the cereal component. realise the boy likes his cereal very much. he will eat everything up even if the "side dish" doesn't taste that good, e.g. avocado, brocoli, etc. hmmm...this week must really experiment to see how we can get him to like other foods more. else must keep on buying HT cereal for every meal!

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Tt's a really pretty dress for Mae.. Very lovely colour, Mae wld look absolutely sweet in it

<font color="#CD3278">Rata</font>
Oooh.. Jac has tutu &amp; pettiskirt.. Which do u think is nicer?

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
Oh gosh.. Ur hb is such a doting father..
Is Oregon the only tax-free state? I dunno if i read correctly, i think Neveda too?

mrs teng,

can u teach me how u make your porridge again? yours looks like the correct texture and consistency. i've no idea what my MIL's one looks like but from the sound of it, i dun think she made it the correct way. tks

mrs teng
at least ur hb know how to buy things for u and bb. mine is hopeless, can only reply on him to buy food back (practical man) last trip he went ask him buy things back for bb he bought an elmo keychain from airport !!! can die. Hb is the doting daddy at home too but i make him feed her medicine hahaha. so he say she will hate him instead of me. she will call mama but havent call papa yet.. hahaha.

i miss shopping in the states. everything so cheap. sigh .. but the thot of the super long flight. my aunt ask me to bring bernice there for a holiday during their summer vacation before her son heads off to colleage. i'm still thinking. thou i know they have a super huge outlet area there. i remember all the shopping i did back then. sigh ...

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Oh.. I rem reading tt u can pump v long &amp; only yield abt 90ml with the Ameda huh? Actually i think sometimes the qty yielded is psychological.. When i'm stressed &amp; keep thinking i wld have vvv little, end up really having vvv little

Dun worry abt Jonah rejecting new foods or porridge.. He wld like it in time to come! Esp when he starts to have teeth he wld prefer textured foods.. I'm just very surprised tt Ashley likes porridge even though it's not runny or fine, heheh, i think it is coz she likes to put everything into her mouth

hisstory,

ya today is one of those days. pump for 40 mins liao only 90ml. and i'm using avent today. funny thing is i'm not feeling very stressed today leh...sigh, really dunno how my body works.

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Is ur period coming? Mine dipped the few days before i kena &amp; i was so stressed!! I thought what happened..

I've also been drowning myself with water.. Maybe i too think if i drink lots more, more likely to be able to produce more

rona
i planned n booked for melb already cos we're going there for our friends' wedding. can't wait! it has been 2 yrs since we went back. miss all our friends!

wendy
oh great! let me know what i need to prep! heehee...
we're most probably staying with some friends or family. will be there for 2-3weeks.

celyn
i think we sama sama pattern kind. i also just leave E to play on his own and leave him in his cot to sleep on his own. this morning ah...he took so long to take his morning nap! aiyo... keep playing in his cot. i couldn't be bothered and went to my room to take my morning nap 1st. heheh...

Timmin
Wow.. 2-3 weeks?! That's the life! I've been to Melbourne before and absolutely loved it there. That time.. we even extended out stay cos we didn't want to come back to SG! Haha..

So good.. you can take your nap before Ethan does!!

Sylvia
havent heard abt XL villa.. is it good ? me too used to relying on friend for Bali :p

Valnsw
I'll ask my friend n pm u.. actually u can find her on my FB oso :p ya lor having a local contact with time n car really help a lot lor... can get good food n good bargain :D
btw, what kind of flash card u have ? where did u buy it from ? me keen to get but til now havent found suitable one
Eh dont forget to post ur gal's pics

LTS
WOW !!! going to b 10 yrs uh ?? Nice... must go enjoy...
my hb oso doesnt really fancy Kuta.. really commercialized n tourists crowd but convenient cos u can find many thing within reach
dirty duck is bebek bengil in their languange.. dont go too late in the nite cos the setting is like separate hut on the paddi field.. to get a good spot better reserve..
beside that me n hb oso like the babi guling ( pork grill in spices ) in fact hb wanted 2 hv it for any meals :p
Cant wait to see the pics

Ruixuan
sad story uh.... If I have some1 who can take care of my bb, I would like to volunteer oso... Making good karma mah....
but u do pretty lah... my hb said a women bcome real 1 once they have bb.. they have very diff radiance one, so did hb said LOL
anyway me oso elephant one here :p

Aurora
I gave carrots in bits n can see in her stool :p me oso need proper holiday break... travelling with bb is sure not a real holiday cos double tired ...

Hashisan
duhhh !! Untung keluar ya..... WHich brand ? But good think she can vomit it out.. my gal oso greedy one.. like to bite big big chunk out though still toothless

Reirei
yes I am
have make myself famous uh hihihi

Mrs N
huahahahaha... so cute lehh can fall asleep like that... hehehe.. sometime I do have intention to let my gal play by herself til tired to see whether she will sleep by herself on the playing matt :p

Rata
U r soooo bad... I'm so tempted now.... :p

Krex
hihihii, another funny sleeper... got embossed print somemore LOL

YLN
if she wants to sleep, I'll put her on the bed n play a bit but my mom will put her on sarong or if she still fussed, mom will carry her lor... think all grandma like that... love the bb so much til they bit spoil... my gal now like that oredi... lazy bum. if she sees my mum, she wants to b carry liao ..... mayb that's y til now she hasnt started crawling yet just butt lifting :p
bb explore good mah... it stimulate brain oso... bit fall n knock ok mah as long as not hard....
Hope ur eyes n rashes got better fast

M2B
nice dresss..... love the colour n the hairband....... mmmmmm, which BP uh ? will participate too later hehe

Hb going overseas...
mine oso will start to do that... starting this 19 April for 2 weeks then every months.. Me will b totally alone with bb... Handling her day n nite.. Me chicken out :p But mite dont have proper time to login

wendy
yeah. both me n hb stayed for 5 and 6yrs respectively. almost didn't come back!! and we sure miss our life and friends there. every now and then, we'll talk abt gg back to live. i wish i can stay longer than 2-3 weeks!!!

oh! i found ragi flour in the mkt opp my place! i'm gonna try making ragi banana porridge for ethan for dinner! hopefully he'll like it. heehee...

Timmin
Ooh.. can definitely identify with you! Hb and I were in Frankfurt for 3 &amp; 2 years respectively and we too.. reluctantly came back! Hee..

Ragi flour? Interesting! Just googled it.. it's an Indian ingredient or something like that? How will you make your ragi banana porridge?

BTW.. how did you even know about Ragi flour and where did you eat it?

wendy
oh cool! my hb had to come back for NS. so no choice. but i ALMOST applied for PR. aiyooo... a lot of times, we're itching to apply for PR to go back leh... but family is here. we're thinking of applying for PR within the next 2yrs. then got another 3yrs to make a final decision.

re: ragi flour
yah...indians supposedly use it for weaning their bbs. i found the recipe in the book "First Foods". very easy to cook! just bring water to boil, add the ragi flour, then simmer for 5-10min. ta dah!! done! just add mashed banana b4 serving. i thot i can try giving E something different. hee...

hisstory
can try la, at first i also dunno how she is going to last thru the shoot. end up she can but knocked out when in the car. ever since i restart solids, she again wake up at 3am daily jus to sit n eheh n we have to lie her down. think she wants food but hubby n i putting her on a diet~

rona
wah, u really happening with so many things in stored. yup so many things to do, so lilttle time n money.hehe. me dun even dare plan ever since gg started sch. now gotta plan according to her shl breaks!!!

ruixuan
the big frame comes with gg;s face wo~haha. actually can buy the framw frm ikea $24 n develop the pic ourselves m since we buying back the pics. i prefer many small pics than a big pic lor. pls help me put date as 18april. i haven call them for PS yet. gosh sigh up for so many shoot. i wanna give gg a break frm the flash. think it's tiring her eyes

hashisan
gosh! wat a scare! thank god u went to check on her. poorthing. sayang her. she must have got a scare too. scarli next time she see the baby bites, she dun want it anymore. i have yet to give gg tho i bot many. her poo prob la. now i am giving her laxative alternate days
so's barley

reirei
hahahaha, u caught me~!!!
tot nobody notice ma, hee. but seriously very tiring cos gotta carry tat rice sag up n down until i got backache now

oh, this one cheaper then the other bp. mmmmm i like the soft pink with matching ribbon. m not a fan of contrast tho. u? aiya, u make me gian to buy. u can also buy it for her bday!

rata
u bot the infant size? looks big, can ja wear?

mrs n
wa, he seems to be enjoying his sleep alot! tt;s gd

krex
u put tt rubber mat not hot meh? if gg, she sure scream at me

YLN
yr mil n mine seems to be lost twins!!!!! hahhaahaha

missy sz
bp was $188, take back pics is $250 on top of tat, $75 additional for big pic in frame. album i forgot cos i tot i rather use own album which i already bot

tigg3r
wah, tt;s alot of porridge man! well done!

ling
i married in mid twenties...n i'm in denial about my age now ,hahahaha. yes time flies

twin stars
re: constipation
my friend's bb also has very bad constipation prob. she said she bought some pigeon barley tea for bbs and it worked!! she tried giving normal barley, but didn't work. only that barley tea worked. maybe u wanna try?

Missyz, Shirley, Hisstory &amp; Ling,
If I didnt rbr wrongly, I paid only $24 for that dress.
Worth it right? But wonder if it is too big for Mae when she is 1 yo...

Ling,
I got that dress a few months ago from a BP here organized by JusKidzo (something like that).

Timmin
Wow.. you sure are very adventurous where baby food is concerned! Hmm.. maybe I should get the book too!!

If I do get it.. it'd be 2nd book I have recommended by you! Hee..

Do let us know how Ethan takes to the Ragi banana porridge as well as to the semolina porridge! So interesting!

History

As far as I know, beside Oregon, Alaska, Delware, Montana and New Hemsphire are tax free (Sales Tax) but their Income tax is super high... Remembered used to pay 40% for Income tax when I was there...

California has the highest Sales Tax rate at 7.25% followed by Nevada, Minesota and Washington (not Washington DC - 5.75%) which is 6.5%..

Lots of Singaporean (or rather asian) like to go Desert Hill (CA) or Chelsea Premium Outlet in Las Vegas.. These are one of the highest sales tax rate in US.. so not worth the money...

We refer to go those in Oregon state, Hb got a coach bag (old model lah) at 50% of factory price (US 309, retail US389) so it like US155 for a soft leather bag..
Wished I could do a BP for you gals but after what happened to some of the mum bad experience..

Catherine

Try going on holiday periods, sales is definitely worth buying... can go up to 70%... Next week is Easter.. Followed by,

May 25, 2009: Memorial Day
July 4, 2009: Independence Day
September 7, 2009: Labor Day
October 12, 2009: Columbus Day
November 11, 2009: Veterans' Day
November 26, 2009: Thanksgiving Day
December 25, 2009: Christmas Day

Plan trip around these time and sure to get lots of discount..

Krex

my method of making porridge for easy n quick digestion... hehee

1) Boil rice or mixed brown rice with meat 1/3 cup rice with approx 500ml water
2) Transfer to slow cooker n cook at high hear for about 1 n 1/2 hr, den put in the veggies of you choice (if no purees) and cook for another 1/2 hour..
3) by 2 hours the water should have been gone, sometimes may leave some brown stain of the side of the cooker.. If you notice water drying up too fast, add a tablespoon or 2 to make is less dryer..
4) Blend it before serving..

My method requires only lesser water bcos I'm blending the porridge so that I get the almost sticky texture..
If you want the kind like what Ruixuan's mum cooked for SL, you'll need to put more water n cook longer...

Another method is the Tiger Food Jar method (only applicable for plain white rice only, Brown rice or 11 grain brown rice will not be well cooked)

1) Need to chop all veggie n meat until very fine...
2) Boil rice and chopped items for about 10 mins , until the meat is cooked and rice starting to be broken..
3) Transfer to the Tiger food jar and keep it close for an hour..
4) Blend it before serving...

This method definitely save lots of electricity, But food may not taste so nice and definitely will not be so fine in texture.. So have to blend.. Somemore got to cook more in Volume to have sufficient fluid to retent the heat for cooking the porridge..

2303522.jpg

wendy
haha...i just try lor. if he can eat, then let him try.

book was actually given to me by MIL. i read and thot it's quite interesting and it's written locally, so ingredients are easy to find. must share good resources mah!! my friend who has a 18mth old was telling me that after we get the sleep and food books...the next wld be behavioural books! haha...

will let u know how he takes to the ragi and semolina porridge!!

timmin,
ohh the pigeon barley tea can help constipation ? i give bernice that. but she isnt really fond of it but i force her to drink. hahaha. better than plain water or juice cos i dont want her to drink too much juice.

re: talking
i think bernice just called "ba ba" so hb say she is calling him.. hahaha. i say anything la since she already call me "mama" so i dont care who she calls next. hahahaa

she can now wave when u tell her bye bye.. so we're saying bye bye everyday until my arms tired from waving

re: pigeon barley tea

ohh whoever is interested, taka is selling them in small carton boxes. 3pack. so easy just open and pour. isetan sells them in powder form so u need to mix them yourself.

cos i was searching for them when i came back from japan, bought a few back from there for bernice.

<font color="purple"><font size="-1">Rona/April - Happy Birthday!</font></font>

Linx I also tot it was the Punggol Ang Mo. I also stay near there.. very near in fact, look down can see kind! You?

Val For Bali, go with Hubby can liao lah! keke.. If you interested in those pte villas/resorts kind, can check out fascinating holidays (http://www.fascinating.com.sg/), used them when I went Bali last year. Heard Hard Rock is pretty good as well. Stayed at this place called Furama Xclusive - http://furamaxclusive.com/ubud/

Twin Stars I also luv Ubud, went last year with hubby when pregnant. It's very peaceful too!!

havent finish reading all the rest of the posts.... still trying to catch up cos yesterday nite didnt read... moving fast today!

<font color="#CD3278">Rata</font>
heheh.. I must go looksee, cannot buy 2.. Scarly ask hb ask me to wear ah

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
I think most of us trust the mummies in our thread.. Like <font color="#CD3278">snow &amp; dongle</font> who have done a few sprees for our mummies, they pay first &amp; they trust tt we wun fly aeroplane

But play safe also gd.. Money is a touchy issue these days

<font color="#CD3278">twin stars</font>
Eh, i thought if she's on solids she shd be fine, ie more filled, less likely to wake up?

Hiyah, last night Ashley woke at 3am &amp; cried till dunno what time, i just bo chup &amp; went back to sleep..

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Hmm, think even if Mae can't wear when she's 1y.o, can still reserve for special occasions.. Think by Xmas? Can wear for Christmas

Celyn
Haha..my slow cooker is more 'lao ya' than urs cos i dun even haf a 'keep warm' function!

Twin Stars
Hee..actually i wanted to buy dat more for the PS..but jus found out from adelena dat the tutu skirt which one of the babies in SeanLau's website wore, actually belongs to them, so we can let Char wear!
i looove it cos it has flowers at the back of the tutu!

oh, for petti skirt, i will buy either light pink (1 tone) or pink &amp; white (2 tones).
Tempted to get from the other bp cos their skirt looks more fluffy and don't have ribbons around the skirt..but no size for <1yo wor..

Rata
Hey, thanks for the pic!
Wat size does Jacinta wear?

hisstory,

mine came last mth. i think it was ard then that my ss dipped and never really went up again

missy,

yah, this few days is chicken porridge. i use chicken breast. my maid cook everything separate. puree the chicken and puree the veg first then mix with the porridge.

shirley,

dun worry, jonah also quite botak. his hair still very fine and not a lot. hopefully by one year will have more hair

twin star,

yah rubber mat quite hot. jonah sleep also pespire alot, even in aircon room. so now never use already lor. btw, how much u paid for your sean lau package?

mrs teng,

tks for your recipe. will share with MIL tonite and see if she wants to try.

Rata
u really bad :p but really nice hor hehehe

Vern
I'm bit in front.. the other side close to road... wahhh then can go to ur house eat cake liao then hehehehe since we r so close mahhh

reirei, i have not let her try coz juz received it yesterdae. I bought petite size coz like not worth it to buy infant as is till 1yr old onli &amp; not as flubby. got another bp?

Ling, yeah very nice
will use it for photo shoot

Twin, not yet try. let her try tonight &amp; i update. i dun like infant size not as flubby.

kymkym, good job! So many wonderful photos of your little Scarlett &amp; those food recepies....thanks! so nice of you to share the info.

Great Mummy!

Timmin / Celyn,
You leave your baby to sleep in the play pan and they can? No need coaxing ah? So good... will they grumble or cry before they get to sleep?

Envious....

Melb trip,
Timmin, how much did you book for the trip?
I also thinking of going if air tixs are reasonable.

Mrs Teng,
Do the coach spree leh ! Anyway, all of us here are like "sisters" rite ? We won't fly aeroplane one lah ... We will thank you very much even ! =D

Happy_mummy

This trip probably cannot lor.. hb only bring one suitcase, almost fill up liao.. Somemore dun know what the factory outlet selling.. Apparently, those models I want not available yet. Whatever we see on the coach website now will only be available 4 months later.

Little Twin Star

So are you starting to cook you meal again? Today, just taught my maid how to make glutinous rice (my version of Lor Mai Kai) .since take pic liao.. share with you..

Need chix, chinese sausage, salted egg (optional), dried shrimps, Dried scallop (optional), Mushroom , Lotus leaf (optional)
2304707.jpg
2304708.jpg

Soak 2 cups of Glutinous rice for at least 2 hours, den stir fry with garlic n a little oyster sauce and 1 cup of water

2304709.jpg
2304710.jpg

Stir fry chix, dried shrimp, chinese sausage, dried scallop with garlic. add a little salt n pepper. a little oyster sauce..

2304711.jpg
2304712.jpg

Place lotus leaf on a metal plate and put the rice mixture onto leaf.. (can use either size of the leaf... I personally refer the back.. Den cut the salted egg and place it in the middle of the rice mixture before covering with the rice. Steam for 30 mins..

2304713.jpg
2304714.jpg

Hope you'll like it if you happen to try this..

hisstory,
seems that only me &amp; you interested in ordering ameda spare parts... during taka fair, i went to ask the ameda sales gal that my ameda bottles seems to be scratchy looking, she told me that need to change the bottles every 6 months wor!!! saw a BP organiser ordering from www.babyearth.com cos mommysown.com increased their free shipping amount to usd125 now!!!

mrs teng,
i think i will try the pigeon food jar method to cook porridge cos can save gas &amp; no need to monitor fire... ask for your opinion, my mum is against me doing puree &amp; storing in fridge cos she say not fresh, which method is more evil? for vege that comes in big portion e.g spinach... isit better to cook everything, puree &amp; store or everyday cook a bit, then store the balance uncooked vege in the fridge... duno if you understand what im asking...

re: menses
i have it twice this month!!! %^*()!@#!!! so sianzz... kena beginning &amp; then end of month!!!

re: bb photos
i have posted her photos in FB aledi:

http://www.facebook.com/inbox/readmessage.php?t=1119366499601#/photo.php?pid=2128432&amp;id=529076820&amp;ref=nf