(2008/08) Aug 2008

Yah I agree, it doesn't matter how long the nap is as long as your baby gets enough and is happy!

Amazingly mine is still sleeping although I'm using the hair dryer right next to him!

Timminbuzz..
I agree with you too where napping is concerned. But I do wish that my boy would nap more

Anyway.. I've a friend who's boy (one month younger than mine) absolutely loves to sleep too! When he was younger, he would even sleep through baths!! Amazing!! Haha..

Yuuri..
Wah.. your boy power man!!

<font color="119911">hisstory,</font>
early March in Tokyo is still quite cool. remember to bring thicker clothing for baby. don't think you will see sakura this early in the year though, normally its around end March early April. sometimes later, mid April

<font color="aa00aa">Cat,</font>
Sakura in Hokkaido is even later, as the tem of Hokkaido is lower then Tokyu. Usually late may or something like that. Remember to dress baby warmly!

Yuuri
my baby also never sleep in air-con, only occasionally at nite. they will get use to the aircon... like my elder boy, no air-con means sleepless nites.

Ur gals r scary, I went out ystd n check the thread this morning, need to read archive liao ?? Walahhhh..... :p

Jem
too bad miss to see u in Nini's gathering...

Nini
Agree to make it monthly than we can rotate to all mommies house hihihihi... good for us to release the stress

All the bbs r so cute...
Think Trudy rem Ethan has given his first kiss to her so she choose him hihihi.. np, u'll soon will have opportunity to find Braiden a match :p

snow
Didnt know they extend the submission date.. else I mite try to submit something hehehe

smurfette
How's Kaitlyn now ? It's must b very difficult on u.. Doc said anything abt how to keep this problem away ?
Understand how u feeling. Nandini just got fever this morning I'm oredi panic.. Gave her paracetamol, make her drink lots of water cos she refuse any solid and milk
, then compress her head.. Lucky the fever going down now...

Cat &amp; Snow
ya lor... bb now like to scream like anything rite.. they noe to use that oso.. do anything they dont want or like sure oso will scream only now compare to eh eh eh prevly.. Worried they mite get use to it n bcome bad habit lor.. headache ... my bb use to do like very diff to breathe one, like holding her breath.. Was so worried that she really got respiratory prob, brought her to KK emergency but nothing

timmin
bb big now
or mayb he just miss Trudy ? :p

Celyn
Yu ze got g6pd ? wahhh, must b bit tricky.. not easy to handle even later uh...

Jen
Chocolate cake !!! Arrrgghhh.... yum yum... Wish I can bake too.. was planning to learn but now with bb not so easy lor...

YLN
ya lor I think if in MCD, they mite provide happymeal and our bbs mite not take it properly yet.. food for us easylah.. we can eat everything hehe

BBs 1st Bday Bash

1) Gymboree Gym Party
- YLN
- snow74
- Linx
2) Build a Bear
-
3) Macdonald's

MESSY EATING
my gal will touch the spoon, the bowl, her mouth then with same hand ( just more accesories now :p ) she'll oso going to touch her face n head so her hair oso will get some portion

Rona
funny describing urself hehehehe

Wendy
Congrats... any training b4 ?

HEALTHY SLEEPING HABIT, HAPPY BB BOOK
where I can get it uh ? tried to search library couldnt find.. or if buy where ? TIA

Brie
hihihi.. I showed the pic to my mum even she laughed hahahaha... cute guy..

positive bbs
am oso interested

fiuhhh... hope I cover most of the post here :p

Afternoon mummies!,
wow, i have to turn pages everytime i logged in after a night! haha..

been bz with my gals.. sigh.. brought anna to the doc yday afternoon for her cold and cough. came back, gave her medicine and got her to nap. but by evening, she came down with high fever, thermometer read 39.2 degrees!!! oh my goodness. i quickly gave her fever medicine that i had from her last jab and put the cold pad on her forehead. poor gal, first cold pad and she fidgeted and whined. then ashley came home and i gotta give her her inhaler for her asthma. that gal, still dare to run around in her after school care. faint.. was so worried then. luckily anna's fever started to subside after awhile but she did not feed so well. i had to pump after latch quite a few times. tiring.. i realised that the thermometer may not be so "zhun" or i dunno how to use it. it's the petit brand where got forehead and ear scan one.

Re: Thermometer,
Mummies, what thermometer are you using? the ear scan or the one where we can put under their arm pit?

Re: Blisters,
Eh, anyone get blisters on breast from feeding? everytime i got happy that latching is easy, then i'll get blisters from anna's pulling at the nipple. ai yo, how to stop her? been changing my tone and patting harder on her thighs but no use le..

snow,
my #1 knows wat I’m going thru but also bit tough on her to have to go thru this with me at such a young age. =( she does try not to put pressure on my back when she come hug hug me lor. =)

celyn,
ya, tks a lot! =)

NiNi,
is your playmat the one from korea? I’ve got one bumper playmat, yellow bear. =)

hisstory,
oic, so you latch most times and pump also store some for cereal? ya, I’m using lansinah milkbags, and previously first few years and pigeon. Really spent a lot of money on these bags..

brie,
Haha.. you name your pic carrot and rice facial.. so cute.

msapple,
wow, you intend to bf till 2 yrs! Kudos!! =)

<font color="aa00aa">Gathering</font>,
oh my!!! All the bbs are sooo cute. Yes yes, I would love to take leave and join in the gatherings. It doesn’t matter to me where as long as my back ok and my boss can approve my leave, I’ll take a cab and go! =)

Yuuri,
Keston is power, can sleep so long! My girl max is 2.5hr.

Ya I only switch on aircon, so that cooling for her to sleep in. Bobian, she sweats more easily, like her daddy.

timmin,
If you knw Ethan's pattern, then might as well not waste electricity.

I think my gal can sleep without aircon just switch on the fan but I feel she sleeps longer and more comfy w aircon on.

giraffe,
wa... u certainly are busy.
Do take care of yourself too, cos if u're sick, then who's gona take care of your girls?
We mummies hv to be strong.

I bought Cadi Scientific thermometer fr last yr's Motherhood fair. I dun think that's v gd. Maybe other brands such as Braun etc wld be better?

BBs 1st Bday Bash

1) Gymboree Gym Party
- YLN
- snow74
- Linx
- Valnsw
2) Build a Bear
-
3) Macdonald's

Seems like most mummies are w Gymboree. I'll go along w the flow.

Guess Mac's food not v suitable for 1 yr old. The Build a Bear, duno if it can keep toddler's attention.

Snow,
U mentioned the Safra near u has something suitable? Maybe can find out and let us knw more?

rona
At first, we also thought he'd be addicted to air-con but amazingly he doesn't need air-con at night....also, he sweats alot so bo pian.

val
Haha your 2.5hrs also not bad lah. But mine ah, everytime bring him to any baby class, he will want to sleep so cranky!

hisstory / snow,
U looking to go HK end of yr? I'm also thinking of that and mentioned to hb. Hb said ok but duno whether in the end will go or not.
He always say but then later end up nvr do that thing

I'm also hoping if go HK end of yr, Chevelle is 1yr+, can learn to appreciate Disneyland.

Yuuri,
2.5hrs is the max, and that is once or twice only. Usually she will average 1-1.5 hrs for her afternoon nap.

Yuuri
ur boy really power .... !!

Megan
new condo provides all the equipment uh ? Wahh I dont know that... Mind to share the price ?

Cath, where did u order the coconut tree float then?

Nini, the bbies are sooooo cute! hehe...good job!

Brie, ur baby sooo adorable! hahaha..whole face kena..sometimes falisha oso like tt. LOL

Re: Baby Idol
Ya hor, anyone got notified - if you have submitted your baby's photo? So exciting! Hahah...

<font color="ff6000">giraffe,</font>
i'm using the braun one. reliable! only thing is need the replace the prode.

<font color="ffff00">valnsw,</font>
I had the cadi one too... HAD... until my first stole it and brougt it home with her. didn't check her bag when she left. She also took lots of money (her bigger then usual waist pouch is FULL with $50 notes!) from our place and my mum's place, watches and pens... some clothes too!

val,

ya, i'm so caught up with the gals, i'm bit confused now. still dunno if anna's fever due to the weather, virus or the new medicine. =( now also rushing some work from home. faint la..

rona,

braun one good ah? is quite ex right? any particular model or there's just one? i'm bit off liao.. haha..

wa, your 1st maid so terrible.. isn't that stealing???

Ling Ling..
Thanks! Yes.. read 'Healthy Sleeping Habits, Happy Child' and applied some of its principles. Basically involved some crying but worth it in the end!

You might be able to find the book at I guess the bigger bookstores eg: Borders, Times.. MPH?

Giraffe..
I use the digital thermometer under the armpit. I heard the ear kind is not very accurate.

Rona..
I think one of the most impt insurance coverages is the hospital stay kind. Basically if baby has to be admitted, insurance will cover. We have one with Prudential and they are reimbursing us for our boy's stay at the hospital last year when he was admitted for UTI. They will not only reimburse you for the stay but follow-on visits and check-ups as well.

Hisstory,
Here it is!
Sorry, lemme know if the pic is too small for u, i'll email u a bigger pic, cos i had a difficult time trying to resize the pic to <50kb!
2175273.jpg

Nini, Megan
Found some video clips at babycentre on training bbs to sleep:
http://www.babycenter.com/2_baby-sleep-the-ferber-method_1487482.bc?scid=mbtw_post6m_1w:290

<font color="0000ff">Ur BB's Personalised Development Guide</font>
this is interesting..find out wat kinda activities ur bb is/isn't ready to try:
http://www.babycenter.com/readyOrNot.htm?scid=mbtw_post6m_1w:290

msapple
let me know when you are going to buy the rice and cook a baby feast at your home! thanks in advance!

valnsw
i got the cadi thermometer. can be used on forehead one right?

hisstory
i remember i only bought a few long pants for nynn that time, cos yr end all their clothing long long 1 lor.

pai seh, i can't remember the name of the hotel.
i only remember its along the seaside, beside this "xin guang da dao".
the disney hotel also not bad, but very ex lor.
try to live near those shopping street.

m2b
gd gd....after tat can think better and work faster rite?
hee hee....

linx
cos when i saw M&amp;B mag, dateline is 30th jan.
when i saw i-weekly 2wks later, dateline adjust to 14th feb liao.
so, should be extention bah....

dun worry lah, think they will only shout at this stage.

giraffe
at least she noe u are painful, and noe how to sayang u by not calling u to carry her lor.

valnsw
that pool side cafe only provide food and place leh....
unless u gals wanna let bb swim, else we gotta find our own entertaintment for the bb lor.
i can go get their price 1st lah, tihnk its buffet that go by headcount 1. =)

yr end hk weather is nice, shd go relax lah.
1yr+ bb dun think can appreciate much leh, cos nynn that time din play much beside enjoying fireworks.

Hi Catherine,
Hmm, you refering to the "Mother and baby Cover Contest"?..Ya, I received a call yesterday evening, informing me to bring my gal to expo next friday for the final...

argh, so fed up! today i kept drinking lots of water so that i'll get more milk during my pump at work. end up i got blocked ducts now! now have to wait till evening for my bb to latch on to clear. i dun think my pump can help do the job...

Giraffe,
I also use a digital thermometer under Adel's arimpit.

Feeding solids :
Wow ! can feed the baby so many different kinds of food. I am just starting with my HT cereals. But unfortunately, Adel is constipated. Cried very loudly (nearly screaming ) 2 nights before for a very long time. See already I also feel like crying. Heard bananas can help. but what type? Blessed_mum say Delmonte cannot isit ? Why ? do market and buy ah?

Actually Adel quite poor thing. We are both very busy at work. Sometimes really have enough time with him. Sad ... plus my parents away and with sis in law now.

Sylvia,
your girl drink prune juice ? what brand and buy from where ? Directly feed from bottle?

Wendy,
Ear Thermometer is very acurate lor, cos all the PDs are using them...

giraffe,
Braun ther - get the one with the light one, easier to use at nite when you need to take their temp. so you don't hae to switch on the light or use the torch light hehehehe...

missy,
Ya I got the one that can be used on forehead.

roiv,
Congrats on your girl getting in

snow,
So it's just food and not much activity? Then I guess gymboree's gd.

Wendy,
ya, i also thot that the armpit one is better le. and cheaper some more. i pd so much for that scan one but not accurate.

ReiRei,
hey, i also have the same pigeon bowl but i haven't start using it. how do you use it to grate? hehe.. me sua gu and slow in all these things.

snow,
ya, ashley is a nice gal. she wants me to carry her but she knows she cant. anyway, i also cannot la. she's already 25kg!!! and very tall, her legs dangling if i carry her.

rona,
oh, how much did you pay for it? ya, i agree got the light better, easier to use it at night.

roiv,
oh congrats to your gal too! ha, i wanted to send in for fun but as usual, i forget and totally can't rembr until i see the posts here lor. haha..

krex,
if you target to bf till 1yo, why don you consider another pump, like the one rona using or ameda? i heard from my fren that she got her PIS from KKH at a very good price when got discount.

krex,
get another pump lah. at most you raise your target by another 2 months to get the pump worth its while... hehehee... like me! but first hor, i still aim for 1yo. then see how. don't know about ameda, but PISA 2nd hand is still very good. You can still keep and use for your #2!

roiv,
congrats! Did you send a studio pic of your gal?

giraffe,
me too, always procrasinate... didn't even managed to get a full size pic of Jerold to send. so gave up! ha!
As for thermometer, armpit one is quite accurate. ear one is good also. It depends on your preference.

yes, that maid is very bad. She really steal a lot from us. luckily the maid i have now is good. Sept this year will be her 4th year and she indicated she might wanna go back. think my kids will cry their eyes out...

i have 5 tins of 400g NAN HA 2, 1 similac and 1 friso gold 3 for sale...any1 interested? willing to sell them at cheap rate. msg me if u are interested.

<font color="#8B475D">M2B</font>
From the BP ah? I think the Marjoca one is found at Watsons issit?

<font color="#8B475D">timmin</font>
Like Wendy, i also tried switching on the aircon, drawing the curtains to create a better envt for sleep. This ger ah, still slept 30min..
hahah, and i concluded she is the short napper sort..

<font color="#8B475D">yuuri</font>
I must pray really hard tt Ashley wld make up for lost time &amp; sleep like Keston

<font color="#8B475D">rona</font>
Bought a fleece jacket for her.. But i think I wld layer her for her tops.. Hope she wun catch a cold!

<font color="#8B475D">giraffe</font>
Yupz I latch her on most of the time &amp; therein comes the prob of bottle rejection

I also bought the Lansinoh ones.. But hardly used them!

<font color="#8B475D">val</font>
Yuppers! Def am onz for HK this yr-end if nothing goes wrong.. Coz this March's plan was thwarted by the flu vaccine

Nvm, hb no action u just plan for it! And get him to pay.. hahah! But then again, maybe Chevelle wld be so cute tt he wld look fwd to bringing her for the trip

<font color="#8B475D">ReiRei</font>
Xiexie!! *muacks*

The name of the bowl is Feeding Dish huh? Okie dokie.. Coz i saw sthg else which cost $30+ and i was thinking, ought not to be so exp leh.. So put the purchase on hold *heehee*

<font color="#8B475D">snow</font>
Oh, i think tt TST area.. Was looking at YMCA Salisbury when we were still planning for HK. Big rooms &amp; has the view of the light show at the harbour area

krex yes that's the one. I was considering Medela at first but decided against it after reading this. Ameda also has good reviews on mumsnet. Yeah it's quite a lot of money so have to do proper research this time. Last time I was desperate so just got one quickly. Hee! Hee! Decisions made in haste are never sound ones. Lesson learnt! However having said that the Avent is great when you're on the move so I'll continue to use that when I'm travelling long distance on the road. I got the Ameda online. The store was throwing in 12 BPA-free collection bottles and the 2 flexishileds FOC which I thought was a good deal. Rona is right can think of it as a future investment for #2.
It certainly saves me time as I find Avent really slow. But whether it increases your supply is another matter. I think supply depends more on our deposition e.g. stress level, relaxed etc than the breast pump. I still have to hand express even with the Ameda.

<font color="#8B475D">krex</font>
Ouch!!! Hope bb Jonah clears the ducts for u.. I've been also downing lotsa water to hopefully ensure my ss is doing ok. and gotta make so many toilet visits.. hahah

Btw, u mentioned tt with hand-expressing u cld get 20-30ml ah? I tried just now, but i think managed to yield only 10ml..

<font color="#8B475D">happy mummy</font>
Oh dear.. Hope Adel manages to clear his bowels soon! U want to try Papaya or Apple juice?

krex,
ya, if can use the 25% dis would be worthwhile hor.. then you just need to get the shields or handsfree if you want from another pl.

rona,
agree with you. if can get good pump and continue to ss bm, would be worthwhile cos then no need to buy fm.

ya lor, somemore i print the photos and the form out.. then when 15 feb came, too late. haha.. so just frame the picture in the house.

wa, your maid with you for 4 years liao. don't your kids get very close to her more than other people?

Hiaz...today real busy at work...finally cleared all proposals for teh coming meeting...so I can read through the postings tmr liao... =P

Snow,
Yaya, mental block so after browsing through the BP and some retail therapy...viola, back to work and more efficient liao!

Hisstory,
Yup, I got that from Watsons...quite good leh! I also bought a new black eyeshadow from Sephora and also good!

Roiv,
Congrats on your bb getting into the finals! Wish you all the best next Fri.

Happy Mummy,
Is Adel ok? Mae sure poo after fruits 1...her routine is twice a day now...

hisstory,
hmm, you can latch her till as long as you want, then no need to buy bottles. =)
i also latched my ashley till 1.5yo. by that time, she went straight to cups for fm in school. i still latched her in the morning and night then till 3yo and she asked to stop. sweet hor..

Hi mummygiraffe,
I think is the virus period.. better take good care of ur bb...I took leave today n send my gal to TMC..she simply hate those medicines...fever, cough, cold...etc

wah seh... archive again?

<font color="0000ff">linx, mummygiraffe</font>, last nite Phil wake almost every hour... this morn sent to infantcare measure say he got fever 38.4... but at home measure only 37.2... think my thermometer spoil leow... of all times to be sick... next week got to be perfectly well for some medical test... sianz... how much panadol do u give ur babies?

<font color="0000ff">snow, celyn, krex</font>, I didn't keep the list lah... went to search and some how found it... hehehe... wah... so glad to see so many of us still Bfg... my SIL now confinement telling me she wanna give up leow...

my updated resolution:

Breastfeeding Support Group Survey (Ongoing):
1. Jen - TBF; >1yr
2. Rona - TBF; >1yr
3. Krex - PBF (1FM); 1yr
4. mummygiraffe - TBF; >1yr
5. celynlee - PBF (1FM); >1 yr
6. Rata - TBF; 1yr
7. msapple - PBF (max 1 FM); >2 yrs

<font color="0000ff">linx</font>, baking not difficult lah... just mix everything and throw into oven lor... follow recipe seldom fail one... so are u going to have chocolate gathering or not? hehee...

<font color="0000ff">Bfg mummies who kanna monthly auntie visit</font>, do u have any signs before it starts again? Like cramps or more cervial mucus? I wonder if mine's on the way...

snow,

I mean.... it's a air-con indoor restaurant. Just happen to be near the pool, so we can hv both the indoor n outdoor if any mummies want to go out of the room to walk.

Plus becoz Jurong safra is new ( not yet open), we might be able to get partial sponsorship n media coverage,etc.