(2008/08) Aug 2008

giraffe
It's those declared bf-gfs in this thread
So the single ones won't touch! lol!

krex I've always hand expressed after every pump session. My MW told me to do it. She said pumps won't totally empty out the breasts. At our first meeting my HV gave me a book called Birth to Five. It's kind of a parenting manuel. The link is the online version in pdf format. If you look in chapter one under the breastfeeding section. There is a step by step diagram there to show how to hand express. See if it will help you.

I think Ameda collection bottles and the funnels are not BPA-free. The instructions said not to microwave or boil the funnels so I've resorted to microwave the steam steriliser first and then put in the funnels after that!

mummygiraffe poor Anna. Hope she gets well soon. And you too.

msapple that's what I do too. Grind my own white rice into powder using food processor. Was thinking of grinding my brown rice but my food processor died on sunday.
Think I have to do old fashion way with mortar and pestle.

giraffe,

hope your anna is better already. jonah was down with cough and running nose last wk too. now recovered already.

is the shield gd to use? seems that not all mommies gave gd reviews. i have the hands-free already...using it for home so i can surf and pump simultaneously.

brie,

tks for the tip. u using ameda now? did yours come with bag?

mrs n,

avent pump also not bpa-free but i put the whole set in the steam steriliser leh. gosh, ameda can't put the funnels in steam steriliser?

morning mummies

krex78,
i also got the shield but i didn't use after 1 try. i find the suction is no good when i use with the avent pump. of course we can't put the cushion thing from avent that helps with stmulation.

Hey mummies !
On child care leave today ... happiness ...
Already plan programme for myself and Adel. Hope all goes well.

Roiv,
Thanks, i will try ANYTHING to make pooing easier for Adel. Very very worried. Already have all sorts of cereals liao.. going to try bananas and fruit juices and barley cereal...

Alliver can't have too many choices. Will confuse her ! Just settle with Adel bah ! kekekeke...

Yuuri,
That was funny, the bf-gf thing. Will be great if we can take couple pics one day

krex steam steriliser is still ok. Mine is the Avent microwave steam steriliser. So far ok lah! Just have to be careful not to get burnt by the steam when putting funnels in.

Just checking, for mummies who feed ur bb avacado..do they like it? i tried with kaer yestd..n she show the ' i want to puke face and mouth' ..how did ur blend the avacado? i used BM and avacado..hmm..cannot like that do issit??

dongle,
cannot feed bananas from phillippines? did your mother say why ? ibought the dole brand from NTUC leh... dunno where it is from. Now scared liao, dun dare to feed adel. sigh... very headache lah ...

re:banana
I thot was only when we pregnant cannot eat banana from philippines ?? I fed bernice the phil banana many times le

hisstory
wah paingz...so NOISY!! they're not even @ my doorstep yet! they're drilling downstairs!! i dunno how ethan sleeps cos even i can't nap. i tink i'm gonna escape to my in-law's.

morning ladies.
just now told hb i might meet him for lunch later, his 1st ans is "u dun tell me u wanna come just becos of that triump sales har."
then i kept quiet and forget about it liao, sianz.... =(

valnsw
think its just the same restaurant like what sylvia mentioned, its a both indoor + outdoor poolside cafe.
ya, need to self think of entertaintment for kids.
that is why i vote for gymboree....hee hee....

giraffe
ya, ashley is a very nice and understanding gal. =)
just hug her when u sit down lor, i mean let her sit on ur lap.
how old is she?
cos my #1 3yr+ only 15kg leh. =P

hisstory
then u remember to take more photos + video of the scenery there wor.
u go free-n-ez?
then must properly plan ur itinery lor, althought its abit difficult with kid lah.

m2b
hee hee....ya lor, u can think better when u are happy mah. =D
i used to encourage my colleagues to take a 15mins power nap ard 3.30pm - 4pm also.

sylvia
ya, think its similar.
but if like what u said lor, new branch + celebrate on national day can try apply for media coverage.
but we gotta have a very gd negotiator here wor... -_-"
on top of it, must plan entertaintment for the bb.

yuuri
ha ha....u very cute leh, bb couples.
u reminded me of those parents that go gathering in those garden just to help their son/daughter find partner.

<font color="#CD327">snow</font>
Yupzyupz, F&amp;E.. Hb doesnt like grp tours. Also gd lah, coz we went Ashley to return to accomm to nap in the PM.. If not she wld be super duper cranky then siao liao

Triumph sales near his workplace ah? Tell him u need new ones lah.. Lingerie is essentials leh

<font color="#CD327">giraffe</font>
19 mths is still amazingly long.. I'm longing to get out of these nursing bras &amp; breast pads &amp; wear whatever i want w/o thinking 'is this going to be bf-frenly?'

Sorry ah, tt's the vain mummy whining

<font color="#CD327">timmin</font>
Gosh.. i think u need a LT sanctuary oredi.. My LUP is abt a couple of doors away &amp; i oredi thot it was noisy. Eeeks..

Talking abt noise.. Some mornings i feel throw stones at the rubbish collectors, they make SO much noise.. And the mini truck they go fr place to place screeches when they step on the brakes *Argh*

<font color="#CD327">dongle</font>
Like Catherine, i need some tips for Tokyo
Hope u dun mind me bothering u..

Did you stay in only 1 hotel? Which area/hotel is it?
Are there nursing rooms in most malls?
What are some tips wrt to bringing bb tt we must note?

<font color="#CD327">krex</font>
Jonah gd boy!! I am also using the Ameda &amp; got fr Robinsons at $318 with some things thrown in.. But no bag
I dun really like the bottle &amp; funnel, i think if u drop them, they wld crack easily. But having said tt, it's still a gd pump.. Just make sure u/ ur maid gotta be careful in handling the parts so as not to crack them

Paiseh wor!! I thought u were able to hand express.. Anyway yday I tried HARD, manage to yield 20ml. Suff for cereal &amp; not having to use the pump &amp; waste water to wash

hisstory
ya, f&amp;e easier.
cos 1yr old bb can be very active 1 lor, so u must be mentally prepared....hee hee....

both of us used to work together in ibp, just opposite that sale area lor.
but i just bought some lingeries during cny leh, and its actually not very near my house. =(

hisstory
surprisingly, ethan's still napping amidst all the drilling! i on the other hand am having a humongous headache from all the noise. can die! just glad that @ least ethan sleeps by the clock now, so i can just take the stroller and go wherever. if not....i tink i'll go berserk soon.

Snow,
Hehe, instead of power nap, I do power e-shopping instead...hahaha

You gg triumph sales? I oso wana get some...heehee

Hisstory,
You gg HK or Japan? We are thinking to travel too...hope it materialize.

mrs n,

if can't boil funnels, means can't use steam steriliser rite, since steam is very hot...100 deg celcius leh.

hisstory,

how come so cheap? yest i saw at robinson for $368. no bag or freebies. gosh, is tt why the need to sell so many spare parts? i dun see ameda bots being sold leh. crack already can use avent or not?

<font color="119911">huichin</font>,
TBF/TEBM = total bfg / total expressed BM
PBF/PEBM = partial bfg / partial EBM
PBD? typo? hahaha...

<font color="119911">msapple</font>,
I must go and yan jiu ur baby food journal... haha... avocado steam will become ripe meh? I bought 1 yesterday, soft leow but outside still green... hope this is ok else waste $$$ again...

<font color="119911">roiv</font>,
phil wants to join the queue for allivier's consideration leh... hahaha... maybe we should all send one close up shot and one full body shot for ur selection...

<font color="119911">yuuri</font>,
so fast ding qing leow... hahaha...

<font color="119911">hisstory</font>,
ur colour very chio leh... i must go and find one colour to use... hehehe...

<font color="#CD327">snow</font>
Active ah.. All the more must do F&amp;E, scarly we 'lose' her, need time to find her..

Oh IBP.. Nvm, can save some $ fr the sale leh. Anyway since ur helper ard to jagar Zynn, gogo!

<font color="#CD327">timmin</font>
Wow.. Ethan's sleep has improved by leaps &amp; bounds! He's making up for 'lost time'? heheh

If i were u, i wld have also gone berserk oredi..

<font color="#CD327">krex</font>
If i dun rem wrongly, $318 was member price during one of the sales early 2008.. Shint also got fr them &amp; then soon aft found out tt TMC's pharmacy had a better deal, so she got her purchase refunded..

NUK &amp; Medela bottles can fit.. I dun think Avent can, Avent veryvery wide neck wor

<font color="#CD327">M2B</font>
heheh, both!! Japan in Mar &amp; HK this year-end

m2b &amp; hisstory
i wish to go leh....but wait hb caught me there how? ha ha.... =D
he got lotsa spy in that area 1.

hisstory
ur holiday planning very happening hor?

snow
Haha u v funny...wanna go sale must tou tou mo mo ah?

jen
Heh! Never ding qing for my baby, just amused by the bethrothed babies here!

jen,
yes PBD is a typo error. hahaa

hisstory,
you going HK year end ? After hokkaido, i'm planning to bring bernice to perth in May to visit her godma. but i havent inform hb yet. haha

re:maids
wana complain abt my maid. made me so angry yesterday. i brought bb to swim and when we came up i told her to take a string and tie the big float in the garden cos hb spent 30mins pumping and we wana go again next few days. so i was bathing bb and she came over with the string then she took the string and pretend tie round her neck and show a hanging face to baby. i screamed at her. " how can you show that to baby ? it's so dangerous cos baby dont know that they cannot do that and they will follow. do you have brains ?? " i was so angry.. later when i cooled down i explained to her that children dont know the danger and will just follow accordingly.. sigh .. in fact even till now i still angry.

sil:
sianx2 remember i say she is juz my future sil? now my bil going to rom next mth. the rom is held at her place. Why must i go to her hse! best is her hse is all the way to the east lor.

Thank Jenjen/Catherine. Hehe..now i know!

Catherine, sometimes i wonder why some maids do really weird things hor. Hmm...i know what u mean. Kids learn very fast!! Cool down yea

Hisstory,
Envy...gg Japan and HK...we arent so adventurous...actually thinking of either Bintan or HK this year and before Mae turns 2, another 1...

Cat,
We are thinking of Perth or Mel too!

Snow,
Haha, spies everywhere then better dun go coz if not later your hb starts nagging. =P

<font color="0000ff">giraffe and Ceyln,</font>
Now i know how you managed to answer everyone! I'm like lost halfway down the posts and then i don't know what's happening and don't know who ask what... hehehe... i will try to do your way now, so i can answer everyone!

<font color="ff0000">krex,</font>
think you should wait for the bb fair to get the pump. Can you wait for antoehr week? I was just looking thru the brochour on the fair, didn't see if mumsfairy has a booth there or not. I used to have the amenda breastpump distributer no and contact person. let me go and find if still have it somewhere.

<font color="ffff00">bananas,</font>
Those from the philippines are considered very cooling - thus babies/kids will build up too much phelgm and tend to fall sick. So if wanna have bananas, should buy those from Malaysia, like red-meat banana (pls translate to hokkien when you buy from market) or pisang rajah (king of banana). These two types of bananas are considered not so cooling, and they taste very good - in my opinion, better then those from philippines ones. try it!

I read the thread till I very blur. .....

sometimes loss in action.

Snow,

ya... a good negotiator for it. I think the entertainment can ask the restaurant too. Coz I got bring up, they said can arrange.

Triump sales liao ar?

aiya....... if we all can go with bb... very grand entry loh. Hahaha!!

M2B,
ya i'm thinking of perth AND mel.. hahaha cos bernice godma is moving to mel prob in july. so was thinking of going to perth before she leaves, then to mel when she settles down. free accomodation ma.. hahaha

Gd morning mummies! oops, it's almost noon. =)

Yuuri,
Haha.. then i choose a bf for my anna.. =)

Mrs N,
tks and ya, anna's slightly better now. i just pray that she doesn't cough and vomit anymore.

krex,
did your doc give jonah any nose drip? my doc did not give any but it seems that anna's nose bit blocked and she can't breathe properly. i had to use a suction tube to get some of the mucus out. is it necessary?

hmm, i did see some poor reviews on the shield. i also dunno le, so far i'm happy with it and it's not painful when i pump. since the expo fair coming, u can ask mumsfairy about the shield. =)

celyn,
you got the same shield from pumping pals?

happy mummy,
wow, enjoy your day with adel. =)

i also heard the bananas from phil no good. think it gives wind. is it? hehe.. i also not sure.

snow,
ya, i should. i've not been spending enough time with ashley. i was just telling my hb this morning that whether i'm home or not, i still do not have enough time with her. =( quite sad..
hehe.. she's 7 this year, in p1 liao. very mild-mannered gal and very sensitive to our feelings. once we quarrelled in front of her (i know i shouldn't.. sigh..) and she actually wrote a note to list a few things and one of them is mommy and daddy shouldn't shout together. =( she's already 25kg liao. haha..

hisstory,
i think that time i just let it be so when i hit 6mo, 9 mo then 1yr then 18 mo, i was amazed. but by 9mo, the no. of feed sessions reduce alot and it became a super easy task for me. i was a sahm then and i was only giving tuition. so less stress too.
for me, i do hope to get into those bras where my boobs wont droop so much.

Hey mummies, I am trying to "match" those on my MSN to FB to forum nick... hahaha... anyone I missed adding in MSN or FB, let me know ok?

Thanks for all the concern!
Braiden last night cried for awhile but i just put the pacificer in his mouth n he ok liao...He slept at 9pm last night n wailed loudly around 6pm+..give him paci he oso dun wan so i figured hes hungry..latch him for awhile, satisfied liao n started "talking".. hubby put him back in his bed, he toss n turn n "sratch" the mattress n dozed off..

M2B: power shopping!!!! hahaha

Re: hokkaido trip
I actually prefer tokyo than hokkaido..cos hokkaido is more of natural scenery.. I went hokkaido when i was 5-6mths preggie. Wah everyday eat steamboat, eat until xianz... I enjoy more on tokyo... But bb things pretty ex there. U can go factory outlet, damn cheap man..the GAP sweaters,tee all these only 100yen..All in good quality.

Re: hong kong
I sooooo wanted to go HK but hubby say HK is a baby-unfriendly place.. Is it? besides from the rush-hour crowd..hmm.. im not sure.. only been to HK once..

Re: 4D
Aiyah sayang...only one day never buy the number..that night came out first prize. My hubby nearly gone mad.. Cos he bet quite alot.. if got win i think should be more than $20K.. sayang man!

<font color="#CD1076">snow</font>
Hope u're on ur way there or oredi there to shop!!
heheh, if this Jpn trip is successful, think the travel bug in us wld make us plan for trips 2x a year

<font color="#CD1076">catherine</font>
Yeaps!! OZ wld be very nice to travel with a bb in tow.. Moreover u &amp; Bernice wld be in good hands of Bernice's godma

<font color="#CD1076">M2B</font>
*cross fingers &amp; toes* we survive Jpn with her k? Mae's very agreeable, think u can take her to many places! Agree, shd travel before they have to pay child fare *hahah*

<font color="#CD1076">Jen</font>
Have fun with the colours!

<font color="#CD1076">giraffe</font>
Ah.. No wonder u can bf for sooo long.. Hmm, if the no. of feed sessions reduced, the ss is maintained?

Ashley sounds like a very sensible ger.. I must pray hard tt my Ashley wld be like urs

Hisstory,
Woah! Are u bringing Ashley to Japan &amp; HK? Sooo envious!!!

re: sweet potato
Those of u who have fed bbs sweet potatoes, how's ur bb's reaction ah?
I jus gave mine y'day..she ate in the afternoon, abt 3pm...then at nite, after her 10pm milk, she puked her milk, together wif some orangey bits leh...
Then she had difficulty sleeping..woke up a few times crying..and i had to carry her upright..dunno if the sweet potatoes had caused wind in her lil tummy..

Timmin,
My company insurance will pay for my kids's hospital before and after consultation fees, including accidents. So i don't need to get these unless i leave the company. i don't like endowment policies - have a few myself and they are not earning a lot... its like after 25 years, i'm only getting back what i've put in all these years, can't even balance out after factoring in the inflation. why didn't your financial consultant not recommending life policy for your bb? so you got a term life on yourself and hubby is it?

reirei: my boy loves sweet potato! i got him the japanese purple ones..he loves it..

timminbuzz: im keeping my fingers crossed!

how many of you thinking of travelling this year? i also hope to do so at the end of the year, hopefully to either vietnam or tasmania.

krex,
you can use standard size bottles if the ameda bottles crack. just gotta be careful when you work with the funnels.

rona,
haha.. your posts are soo colourful. always enjoy reading them. ya, tat's my way so i try to read all the posts lor but still tend to miss out some. keke..

jen,
haha.. dont think you can find me in msn or fb cos i use my real name in those. =) i'll pm you my msn/fb address then you add ok? =)