(2008/08) Aug 2008

Msapple, timminbuzz, since u are discussing avocado, can I mash the avocado and leave in fridge to feed over 3 days without freezing? Also how to choose avocado? Do you buy organic ones or those just in the basket? Thanks!

missysz,
yaya that is what I did when i intro avocado to amabel.

Tim,
yah i do see afew website stated that is ok. I just follow the advise from majority and also our comfort level on doing that way. Thing is like that even PD when diagnose differently for same condition and give different view on certain thing so just do whenever you are comfort with.

Jen,
you can just mash it without steaming provided you are sure that it is ripe. Is ok to leave it in fridge but remember it wont be very fresh once it is cut and it colour will turn and oxidise and need to ensure proper storing of it. Put in a ziploc bag will be better.
Choose avocados with unblemished skin (watch out for perforations or darker spots on the skin of the avocado; inside maybe be bad already. ) and make sure it feels heavy. You can lighly press on the avocado, making sure it is soft enough to yield under your finger but not too soft to leave a mark but this is not alway true cos some the skin can be hard but inside already ripe. So I usually and the best way is to find where the stem comes out (at the top of the avocado). Gently push in on it, if it is more difficult to push then the avocado is not ripe yet. If it pushes in very easily then the avocado may be already mush. So if it feels tender but is not squashy then it is a good avocado.

I do buy organic one too. Florida avocado is green with a yellow tone. A Hass avocado from California should be purplish black. I usually buy Hass avocado from cold storage

ya..thanks snow for the info..

i called build a bear...normally they cater to 6 yos...so our bbs a bit young..but they said they can try and think of stuff and activities for them to play..it $ 24.90 per child to build and bring home a bear..no food..Harbourfront can cater to so many of us..im waiting for the staff to email me more info etc..activities they can play with our little ones..

Gymboree
Harbourfront can cater to so many of us...only finger food..but they say we can cater our own food..they will have fun activities for our little ones for one hour...and the rest of the time will be food time...usually party is from 4-7pm...but we can stay on and play and mingle if we want...$396 for 10 kids (non member price) and additional $15 for extra kid...so if we have 25 kiddoes..$396 + ($15x15) = $621. If we want to cater food, e.g. mac, or proper food for us adults..then may have to top up additional few hundred bucks...

So, the thing here is , do we want to have food for us mummies n daddies, or just fun time activities for our little ones?

Re: Baby's own Bday Bash

Val / Lingling / Little Twin Stars

Hahaha...no la! I haven't booked any venue yet! Misread la u all...lol! I was saying to M2B - she so fast booked hers liao! Hahaha...me just started looking ard. Duno where is a good idea but hubby keep saying wanna book chalet. See how it goes. Anyone has got suggestions? Hahaha...

Val, i wanna do abit more bigger than the normal cut-cake at home party cos Falisha din have any 'man yue' celebration. So tts y i got alotta ppl to invite. Haha..

yln
the kids will definitely love gymboree 1.
they allow outside food meh? they told me before that no "hot food" allow leh.
if book by member, got discount? =)
thx.

Wow, the thread was sure active last night!!

sylvia
Hmm, I live in Bishan leh.. Not convenient hor?

Wow, Meredith is really high need bb.. Then i think u can only do at night or weekends liao

timmin
argh so many things to learn wrt to bb food.. aiyoh!! Thanks for the heads up

Gosh..UTI!!! Heard tt cranberry juice is gd to deal with it

Wendy
I think to enable PM, go to your 'Profile' (see top of page) and follow the instructions.. I can't rem liao, i think i set mine to be enabled when i 1st signed up.. U try k?

To bold.. \ b {word} Use this, except to exclude the spacings
If u like the words to be in colour, replace 'b' with the name of the colour

Ikea has steamer ah? Can show how it looks like?

catherine
Bernice bungee ah? Better dun leave her alone on the bed.. Also dunno how Ashley did double flips (i suspect she has a secret ambition of being a gymnast or diver) and ended up on the floor.. wah biang

I also put her in the high chair while i'm cooking.. I think i must be very efficient abt this boy

M2B
But u're so way ahead of time!! Well done leh.. I think end up booking chalet coz will be inviting kids, so they prob enjoy the pool *i hope*

snow
Wow!! Entertainer & renting toys.. Zynn & Nynn wld def enjoy the party alot!

hisstory
yah lor. so many things to think abt hor? got to keep learning while on the 'job'. haha...:D

i just pureed cauliflower today. it's surprisingly sweet! even i liked it! haha...

hopefully, the infection will clear soon... then not so uncomfortable.

timmin
Yahyah, gosh, so many things to think abt.. But also very exciting! *kekeke*

I was just thinking, bb can only take a v small qty, inspite freezing.. Then parents must consume the rest? *jialat* Then my fridge wld have a lot of 'leftovers'

Any medication prescribed?

suddenly think about the japan trip i get very worried with the amt of things i need to bring for bb. and i was telling hb we need to buy a smaller light weight pram, cos my orbit is really heavy... but he say no :p and he insist to bring that orbit to japan

hisstory
when u got only 1 kid hor, everything is possible lor.
the frightening part is not local celebration, what the daddy worry about is that we fly with nynn to hk as the 2nd part of her 1st bday celebration....ha ha....
the daddy ask me, can dun fly this time rnd anot. =P
cos now me not working, no vit m to fly liao.

hisstory
yes! very exciting indeed!

i usually buy small quantities. max 1 time abt 10 cubes. so lasts abt 2-3weeks?

i was given antibiotics and something else for discomfort. hate antibiotics...cos got to make sure i finish the course.

talking about birthdae celebrations i just went online to check the chalet prices for aloha loyang omg peak period for a poolside terrace nid $500 per day leh so exp...how? mummies got better offer?

\bJem,
*high five*! next time we organize chocolate buffet gathering!

\bBrie,
your good neighbour hard to find! must treasure ok.

\bhisstory/timmin/all,
i think i have to bookmark these two pages so when i start my baby on solids, i can refer back to this page. anyone can tell me how to bookmark these 2 pages?

hisstory,
I'm also trying the bolding method you taught. like not very successful...

missyaz,
ya thats what he said.. "not u carry, why u worry" .. hahaha then he said i just trying to find an excuse to buy another pram :p

missysz
U're most welcome!

snow
But HK is nearby, and maybe by then Nynn may knw how to walk, so it wld be a very nice family trip!
Moreover, i think the weather then wld be great, ought not to be tt hot liao.. And not likely to be flu season

Nvm, no Vit M for now only mah... Put in bank also depreciate with the inflation rate

timmin
to be honest, the jialat part is tt daddy & me are picky when it comes to fruits, hahah, only have preferences for a limited range

catherine
When are u heading to Hokkaido? We are thinking of Tokyo in early March

Borrow a light weight stroller?

afternoon mommies

this thread really fast uh ?
trying my best to keep up hehehe....

hisstory
CFO in the house is me, hb is the director :p Have been shower him with love n care since married so now my turn hihihihi... So far he hasnt have any objection to whatever I bought, especially if it's for his precious bb :p Or mayb cos he's more extravagant than me lor...
Will see if I have time to go to AMK hub n let bb try

LTS
ya lor... not only our bb, we need to rem oso we hv "BIG BB" to attend to :p

Mommies taking abt puree making
I'm oso blank blank so by reading on the side I too learnt somthg fm mommies here

Gathering to make bb's food
AGREE !!!! hehehe

hisstory,
got it! what if i wanna use blue color to bold?

cat,
when are you going? i think its very fun! but yes, like moving house like that, you really got to bring tons of things around for baby. how about feeds? are you still bf? latch on? need to bring pump etc? ***shudder*** very siong...

snow
Ya, i asked them ..gymboree said can order outside food like mac...etc...
i think if we are using their place for such a major event with so many bbs..they might therefore allow us to bring in outside food...

hisstory,
we're most likely going mid march. i also suggested to borrow my cousin's pram but he say dont want. he insist want to bring the orbit.

rona,
she latches on, takes fm and jar food. i not so worried about feeding..

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>,
if you are thinking of going jap, go end March or early April. beautiful sakura! I went end march/early April 2008 and it was fun! very beautiful and the weather is perfect! enjoyed ourselves very bit. The siong part was carrying so many things around lah, but we joined a tour group and some of my tour mates actually help out with the luagages... and yes, was pregnant at that time too. hehehe! lugging #1, 4+ that time, #2 just going to turn 2 were not easy. luckily my sis and my parents came along on the trip and i got lots of help!

<font color="0000ff">cat</font>,
yes, jap got lots of nice bb food stuff... hokkaido's food fresh! love their rice!

<font color="aa00aa">krex</font>
or you can rent one first to try? or 2nd hand one? i think there are some 2nd hands one up for sale somewhere in the forum. I think both brand of pumps are good lah, just buy which ever you are most comfortable with. too bad i'm still using my pump, else i can lend you mine. do you intend to bf until bb is 1yo? then its worth to get pump.

<font color="119911">giraffe</font>
I intend to bf until bb is at least 1yo. maybe 14 months even to make my new pump worth the money.

<font color="ffff00">hisstory</font> <font color="ff6000">hisstory</font>
this is fun! yellow cannot see...

<font color="ff0000">sam</font>
are you also trying this thing? hehehe

catherine
nvm, if Bernice refuses the stroller, u push the stroller while he works out while carrying her k?

What's the expected weather like for u at tt time?

rona
Can't go end March.. Hopefully Sakura decides to arrive early! heheh

We're going to do it F&amp;E coz Ashley's afternn naps are protected

Gd thing ur family was ard &amp; tt u had nice ppl on the grp tour. Some ppl resent having children, except if they r well behaved, on grp tours

Jem and tree nymph,
I am a chocolate lover too.

Any babies here keep moving, tossing whilst sleeping at night? Mine alway rolling down of her mattress. luckily just 3 inch high. But she never cry or wake up lor, i woke up in the middle of the night searching for her. And she is on her tummy sleeping soundly on our laminate flooring. Faint

missysz,
go here http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=formatting
for all the formatting. I am so lazy to add in colour to the words. hehe

/b{lingling}
ya another "big baby" to take care haha. plus my maid make 3 of them! was telling hubby i need to go out soon n bring bb along with me so i don;t see all these "shortcomings" of my maid

/b{hisstory}
m testing out the bold thinggii... i also new to this ,hehe

/b{cat}
the orbit can go up the plane w/o needing to check it in so it's not bad too. other than tat, think u better pack in the bb carrier too

/b{m2b, huichin}
ya i was thinking the gymboree ones r very fun but then our babies can barely walk lei. wa, u really plan ahead man. actually not much time left too...but dunno wat to do lei

/b{puree}
after boiling the fruit or veg, need to add water to blend ? if not too thick? blend then freeze?

<font color="aa00aa">little twin stars</font>
your stroke is wrong. choose the other one which goes to the other direction...

we are really playing around with this...

Wah... <font color="ff0000">c</font><font color="ff6000">o</font><font color="ffff00">l</font><font color="119911">o</font><font color="0000ff">u</font><font color="aa00aa">r</font> coding going on ah?

<font color="0000ff">Msapple</font>, thanks for the explanation... but everytime I try to press, the stem part is also hard... but the skin could already be brown... then once I let it ripen until it's soft but cut out, it's brown inside! another time I had to ask a nice lady to choose for me cos she was choosing... sigh...

<font color="0000ff">Jem &amp; Rona</font>, I love chocolate too!

<font color="0000ff">M2B &amp; Snow</font>, you booked for 1st birthday oredi! That's fast!

<font color="0000ff">Snow</font>, mind sharing how much the total cost of a hotel party like urs will be?

little twin stars,
re:puree
some food need to add boiled water/ water from the steaming to blend some dont need so depend on which food you steam. Most or almost all vegs need to add alittle bit boiled water cos it is too dry to blend. Example, leafy veg, broccoli, potato, pumpkin all need to add abit of water (be it from the water that produce by steaming it or the boiled water). Fruit that is juicy dun have to add water already but if the fruit is too sweet, you may still add abit water to blend

coolsnow
haha your idea is so funny...maybe i will look for an ugly picture of her...but problem is maybe she thinks that picture she chose of me is nice...anyway yesterday i was so angry i got rid of all her pictures in my house...dunno hubby noticed or not?
*sigh think im very silly and childish*

gymboree birthday party
ya i think the harbourfront one is pretty good. let them organise an activity party for us mummys.
then we can order a big cake, KFC and Pizza hut in after the activity.(since they allow food)
better those who wants to feed baby bring their own food for baby. (so less to worry about what to feed the baby)- im definitely not going to feed my one year old KFC!

I got my Period today!
AIYAH! dunno to be happy or sad leh...i want to try for another baby this April and June(according to the chinese gender chart for female) but leh my milk supply dropped so drastically i want to cry...

dunno can continue to breastfeed or not?

Ling,
Haha.. I’m always being asked why your tummy still so flabby.. ai yo, I tell you, whenever relatives see me, I think they focus on me and my tummy more than my bb lor. Faint la.. these people ah..

I think when I get older, some of my disc will be fake ones liao. Sigh.. can’t help it also, just hoped I can go through this stage first.

baby emma,
Throw your frus here, many mummies here will give ‘listening’ ear. Hmm, try not to be bothered by them. Know it’s not easy but not worth your time lah. Can go for some shopping therapy? =)

celyn,
ooh, thank you so much. Will go find it at ntuc, ari-gato! =)
oh, yu ze did not start the pneumococcoal with 6-in-1 then?
Oh, you do intend to bf as long as possible? Can tell you colleagues/friends this is D best gift you can give to yu ze and he will benefit through his whole life! Hehe… I do this. =)

hisstory,
hmm, I personally don’t think bf-ing is causing the back pain cos I do feed lying down so it’s not tat bad. Plus only feed about 15min each time so not straining. I do noticed I cant get into certain positions, like sit on floor, lean sideways or stand at the sink cos I’m tall and the sink level is low for me. Ya, I also just let it be and tell hb it’s ok. But he feels that I’m home, bf-ing, resting while #1 goes to student care. Aiya, if I have a choice, I’ll also bring her home after school la.

Sama here! My hb asked my why I buy those happybellies cereal from unknown sources!!! I said it’s out in the market. Oh no, my anna is allergic to cow’s milk. Should I test the cereal myself first before offering it to her??

Oh, is there a dis for the scootababy?? Where can I get it from?

timminbuzz,
got 2 silly qns here.. =)
1) should I give cereal first or fruits puree first? Anna hasn’t start solids.
2) Puree – can we mash with our fork if we don’t have a blender? I work so I mite not have enough time to prep so many things for my 2 gals ler..

Oh gosh, have your seen a doc? I hate UTI too! Kena few x!