(2008/08) Aug 2008

timminbuzz,

can hv a suggestion? Coz like hisstory, yuuri n me... we are 0 to preparing baby food.

We hv a gathering where we go n learn how to make??

gd idea? Hahaha!!

brie,

ur neighbour so gd ar? Wah!!

That's very rare.
really hard to see such friendly neighbours now.

Timmin and Rata
Feel so pai sey to say this, but how to steam? Again, feel very stupid for asking...but what does a pumpkin look like? Those halloween type ah?

sylvia,
catherine taught me that night how to prepare pumpkin over SMS. I was struggling with the stupid skin.

Just cut how much you wanna prepare - then put into steamer (with skin). Steam until soft - I steamed it for almost 15mins but I think less can. Cat's blog say less than 10mins can ald. After steamed just use spoon scoop out flesh and mash. Very easy.

For me, I steamed the whole slice (bought just a slice), mashed and freeze in 4 cubes.

Read about online shopping. I guess retail therapy is a way for us to destress and get connected with the world?

I also have this prob. Now I control not to buy clothings. But I switch to buy bibs, baby food.....

So hb ask me.. then I said I order long time ago, now then arrive. :p

catherine
hahah.. Isee! But my bb Ashley can only guaiguai nap 30min each time, i need to split myself into 2 to keep her entertained man

No one else at home to help me

timmin
Thanks!! I only rem steaming retains the most nutrients.. Or issit blanching? See lah, this suaku mummy

briebaby
Ur neighbour so nice! Now u can reduce the work by half oredi..

twin stars
I was also thinking of getting the juice from fruits & mix with water to help her wash down the sweetness & then take more water aft tt..

sylvia
haahh, not yet.. Except to buy the cereals & pump & freeze BM to mix with cereals.. heheh

wah, I tot I was 0 in the kitchen ald. keke
Maybe 0.5 now.

yuuri,
I use a deep frying pan (angmo wok), put water, then got this metal stand to put plate on so that the plate doesn't sit directly in the water. When water boil, put in plate of vege. Cover the lid.

Pumpkin is this greenish yellow melon with bulges - the flesh is yellow - the whole thing very hard one. Don't know how else to describe. But supermarket will label with the price lah. I buy slices, won't buy the whole thing.

Sylvia,
Yah lor, that's why I'm so not used to their kind gesture. I want to be a good neighbour too, but don't know what I can do also... hahah.

brie,

tks.

seem easy leh. ok ok.

must try.

seems like most mummies using the cubes hor. Does frozen cube remain the nutrients?

hisstory,

where u stayin?

When will u be starting solid food?
wanna do exchange? Hahaha! buddy system?

Coz I hv same prob. Meredith being high need baby, has to entertain or stay near baby. She's very sensitive even when sleeping. Sometimes I can do my things, but sometimes I hv to stay near her. She smell mummy, she will guai guai sleep longer.

Sometimes she can play her own, but now she siting up, always want to move here n there. so hv to watch her...... plus her horse riding loh.

yuuri
haha..it's ok! and i do it the way brie does it.

i usually buy my fruits and veg from the wet market opp my place.

hisstory
yeah...steaming retains most nutrients. but i tink for vegs high in nitrates (i.e. spinach), they recommend not using the cooking liquid during blending. cos liquid contains nitrates which may hinder bb's absorption of some nutrients (if i didn't remember wrongly!).

sylvia
can can! can come to my place and puree together!!

brie,

I think making puree for them is a gd idea.

is like the olden days where neighbour... 1 cook rice, the other cook vege, another cook meat n then all share.

I'm also freesing my food for Mabel. Carrots, sweet potato and pumpkin quite easy, coz just steam and then mash.

Brocolli a little more mah fan coz got to blend. Mabel loves the pear more than apple. Think the apple I bought not that nice. It was those China fuji apple. Maybe try another type. Any recommendation anyone? Tried freezing banana but it looked so yucky after freezing than I threw them out.

Can anyone tell me can use those frozen peas or not huh? Btw, there's yoghurt for babies as well. Bought a pack from NTUC today. Maybe give her tomorrow to try. ^^

Catherine- wah! you grate apple for your baby everyday. pei fu! I can only do most of these during the weekend when I'm 'more' free with hubby around.

krmeow
i buy "Rose" apples for ethan...cos i love them myself! crunchy & very sweet! haha... the new zealand rose are cheaper. but can't seem to find them now. so i buy US rose. $1.50 each for medium size. i managed to find organic apples in the market today. but more ex lor.

krmeow
can use frozen. but if u have time to pop peas out of pod then fresh veg is always better than frozen lah. i'm also thinking of using frozen peas. fresh ones very leh chey hor??

krmeow

banana if put in fridge will turn brown like spoil. Though I read is ok, heard fm old people that will turn toxic in banana put in fridge......

dunno how true.

the peas....

is those we eat in Jap restaurant right? Just press and the peas will come out?

That is funny if do just one time, but if every day do... I think ya.. very xiong n leh chey

i'm up for pump. before i wake up, i'm still thinking if i should be lazy to skip this and just pump at 530am later. end up decide to wake up.

puree:
i didn't prepare any puree at all leh. i just cook the carrot with porridge till very soft, when feedung, i just mash the carrot using the spoon then feed.

brocoli, i just cut the top part to cook. after cut, it will become like 'sand' kind. then just feed like that after cook.

Celyn,
According to my method I posted. If he sleepy, guide his hand to "sweep" the bed to look for it.
I guess before that, teach him how to put the paci back to the mouth first.
Once he gets the action right, then guide to find the paci. Once that done, he can look for it himselt.

Breastfeeding. Yesterday a colleague who just gave birth oso asked me how long i wnat to bf, i told her i oso dunno liao.
Anyway, bfing had become such a big part in my life that i'd miss it if i stop soon. Jus continue first lor.

Kai is gonna turn 6 mo but dun feel like starting him on solid ... maybe i should.

gotta scroll back to see what you mommies are doing when starting 1st time on solid.
Maybe do on Sat better rite? and must video down .. hehe.

giraffe,

where is vitakids? there's one at vivo is it? any other outlets? is this the pdt u're talking abt? http://www.motherlove.com/product_more_milk_plus_veg.php

oh, where's the cheapest place to get ameda pump? i got robinsons 25% voucher, dunno whether can find there or not.

snowhamster,

i think very soon i'll become like u, forced to quit BF coz' job doesn't allow me time to pump. already struggling to keep up with 2 pumps but i might have to just do 1 pump soon. very sad when that day comes

rona,

bb is 6 1/2 mths now. PIS very ex. dunno whether to invest in it or not, or try out ameda for half the price.

timmin,

when u cook fruits, do u include the skin?

morning mummies

shint,
he knows how to put pacifier to his mouth liao but sometimes he will bite the wrong side (bite the handle). sweeping his bed, i don't know can or not leh. he will sleep in different part of his cot and so leaving his pacifier everywhere too. we are doing the sweeping thing every time we want to find his pacifier for him in the night. also i can't be in his room when he is sleepy cos he is playful, he will not sleep if we are inside.

i think i will cont to bf 1 year old which will be soon. i think i will miss pumping if i suddenly stop. so see how, maybe will cont. hehe...

Apples
Same as timminbuzz, I also used "USA Pacific Rose" apples, it's really sweeter & more fragant than those normal apples found in NTUC...but must mix with water when blending ar..if not it will be too sweet for bb..

giraffe, u move from JW to dunearn? To let ur #1 go into which school? I moved out frm 659D to tiong bahru last year after giving birth cos need to stay close to my MIL who's taking care of my bb...I oso sold my 659D right after 5yrs..i got it later then u though thru WIS..very low floor..wah lau my house was hot all year thru...the unit used to face the playground

Babyemma, tell u what..go choose the ugliest photo of ur MIL frame it and place it in ur living room....u tell her to remove urs she dun listen then u oso do the same loh...assure her that she look 'wonderful' in that pic...let her have a taste of the same feeling...hee

Hisstory..
Sorry.. How do I enable the PM funtion?

Also.. how do you bold your words ah?

Timminbuzz..
The prob is I dont have a microwave oven. In this case how? If I start freezing purees, do I put the cubes in a bowl and put the bowl in some hot water to let the cube dissolve?

We gave the boy some fresh sugar plums (bought from NTUC) and gosh.. he loved it!

I also bought some pears, will wait for them to ripen a bit (and hopefully turn slightly sweeter), then will steam and puree.

Little Twin Stars..
I see.. so you only cook and puree what you want to give baby? So little.. can still be pureed?

Yuuri..
You can also buy steamers.. then no need to use wok unless you intend to steam a lot at one go. I bought my steamer from IKEA and it's great!

Puree
sometimes I also do the same way as celyn..if I wake up earlier got time to prepare before bb wake up..i will use a small slow cooker..cook 1-2 tablespoon of rice(porridge)..cut up those veges and throw inside the porridge and let it boil together..no need to attend to it and normally by lunch time it should be just right to puree together...but if I don't have time then I will steam the veges seperately then later mix together with the porridge..puree and feed

Mummies, I'm in a dilemma now...other than celyn, any1 else still sleeping together with bb har? Everynite, 1 hr before her sleep time i will let bb lie beside me..we sleep..'play'..'talk' to each other until she sleep then I carry her over to her cot..initially i had been planning to let her sleep in her own room by herself starting frm 6mths old onwards but I'm actually dreading the day to roll out this...but I'm also afraid that later she will develop the habit of wanting to share the bed with us instead of sleeping on her own..but I also bu she de to train her to sleep independently..aiyo..

wendy, wat i do is i will put the cube of puree meant for the next day todae to the normal fridge. Let it defrost there for 24hrs so next day when i cook porridge or cereal i will add it in while is still hot.

yuuri, I use a pot those u cook maggie mee wif can liao. put water, then put ur peeled fruits or vege which u plan to puree into a bowl (better not to use plastic bowl), lastly put the bowl into the pot & cover up. upon boiling take count 20mins

Ratatouille..
I see what you mean. Ok.. but if I add to cereal which is not hot to begin with, do I heat up the defrosted fruit first so that it is at least not fridge cold?

Hi Mummies, just a couple of days not checking the thread really goes fast!! The Aug babies Bash sounds fun! Will like to join in pls!

Aug Babies 1st Yr Celebration
1) Catherine's Bernice. 28/07
2) val's Chevelle. 8/8
3) Sylvia's Meredith 28/8
4) Happy mummy's Adel 25/8
5) celynlee's yu ze 6/8
6) rona's jerold 24/8
7) snow74's zynn 8/8
8) Wendy's David 15/8
9) babyemma's Mark 12/8
10) YLN's Kaer 23/7
11) Yuuri's Keston 28/7
12) M2B's Mae 29/7
13) msapple's Aisleyne 15/8
14) Hui CHin's Falisha 02/8
15) Shirley(balugu)'s Gerlene 11/8
16) Linx's Nandini 6/8
17) vern's Izzy 11/8
18) April's Denzel 29/8
19) Jen's Phil 27/8

venue suggestions:
1. Gymboree gym party
2. Someone's place (and we cater food)- but hor so many ppl whose place is so big? <font color="ff0000">my dad's place function room quite big, but can only book 1 month before event.</font>
3. Sporty Joe's http://www.sportyjoe.com/parties.htm
4. Jacob Ballas
5. Gogobambini
6. Rent a restaurant or hotel ballroom venue
7. can offer my function room @ amber road (East coast)
8. McDonalds - http://www.mcdonalds.com.sg/birthday_parties.htm
9. Buildabear Workshop - http://www.buildabear.com.sg/party

morning mommies!

can we freeze avocado puree?

Aug Babies 1st Yr Celebration
1) Catherine's Bernice. 28/07
2) val's Chevelle. 8/8
3) Sylvia's Meredith 28/8
4) Happy mummy's Adel 25/8
5) celynlee's yu ze 6/8
6) rona's jerold 24/8
7) snow74's zynn 8/8
8) Wendy's David 15/8
9) babyemma's Mark 12/8
10) YLN's Kaer 23/7
11) Yuuri's Keston 28/7
12) M2B's Mae 29/7
13) msapple's Aisleyne 15/8
14) Hui CHin's Falisha 02/8
15) Shirley(balugu)'s Gerlene 11/8
16) Linx's Nandini 6/8
17) vern's Izzy 11/8
18) April's Denzel 29/8
19) Jen's Phil 27/8
20) missysz's jonas

coolsnow,
my #1 and #2 still sleeping with me. hehe
Btw better not to boil the veg together with the porridge. veg through long boiling will loss it nutrient. Once it is cooked faster remove from stove. If you decided to freeze it, u just need to steam it to about to cook, cos u are gonna reheat (from fridge / freezer) when you going to serve ur baby. Never overcook the food. Just my add on. hee

Sylvia,
frozen food sure will lose some nutrient during the freezeing process and to stop further lose of nutrient the first time you steam, nv oversteam it, just about to cook, you remove it from stove blend and freeze it

for me, example preparing apple puree, i will remove the skin and heart. steam it for not more than 5 mins. (veg just need to steam less than 3 min will do), but all this the timing got to depend on how much portion of food you steam together plus the amount of water use. So is best to see the veg or fruit whether it is going to cook.

hisstory,
ya bernice also nap max half hour and now worse cant leave her alone to sleep in case she does her bungee again. so what i do is either i let her scream or i put her on the combi chair and push her to the kitchen door so she can see me.

sylvia,
just buy 1 small slice of pumpkin enuf. cold storage got sell like 1 slice of small honeydew like that size only. can eat many times. Bernice eat like 4 times. use a small pot can already. dont need special rice cooker.

my mashed pumpkin http://dardar-babyblog.blogspot.com/2009/02/mashed-pumpkin.html

brie,
put a small clean cloth in the wok, then put the metal stand. so ur wok wont scratch.

krmeow,
the sweetest apples so far i find is : jazz enza #3293. it's organic. $6.50 or $6.90 for a packet. My fridge is filled with these apples. can find at cold storage cos now in season. buy the more red ones cos sweeter.

as for yoghurt, there is only that is suitable for baby above 6mths. i think it's yoplait. 4 pc pack. they have this other mini small ones, that one is for babies above 1 YO.

coolsnow,
bernice is also sleeping with me, cos i think she outgrow her cot already. And the other room i let my maid sleep plus my hb dont want bernice to sleep alone till 1YO. we're still sorting out this arrangement.

Coolsnow,
Both my gals dun sleep w me since young...Mae still in her playpen and #1 sleeps on her own bed...

Huichin, Cat, Hisstory, Twin Stars, Valnsw, Snow &amp; Ling ling,
Nothing special la, booked a condo function room for Mae's 1st birthday..same place as #1's 1st birthday too...

Snow,
Wah, you gg hotel ah? I also got the same venue as #1's 1st birthday.

Twin Stars,
I also thinking whether 1yo is too young for Gymboree type of bday bash or not as also dun know how mobile they are then although my #1 is already walking before 1yo...

aiyo!!! i kena UTI! woke up @ 6am this morning needing the toilet. then...it's all downhill from there!!! i hate it!!!

krex
no. i always peel the skin, cut then steam.

missyz &amp; blessedmom
hmmm...i freeze avocado. after mashing, i put it into ice-cube trays to freeze. try to do it fast. then it won't turn brown. so far ok leh.

wendy
hmmm...i guess u can follow what rata mentioned. i'm not sure cos i've always used the microwave. fast mah. heheh...

timminbuzz,
i think is not the matter of the avocado turning brown or oxidise. Think is something to do with the process that will affect the nutient in the fruit to produce certain thing which is no good for their stomach. Cant remember what is the reason for not recommended for baby, this is what known from my hospital dietitian and the course i attended from KK hospital about food to give to baby and children

Oh yah for me I dont freeze it for not more than 2 weeks. and not recommended to use microwave to heat it.

This is what i learnt when I got my #1

thanks timminbuzz and msapple. i also think i read somewhere that avocado and banana cannot be frozen. but a small baby cannot finish up the whole avocado in one day leh so how to keep the remaining fruit?

take care timminbuzz. going to see doc?

HI mummies
thanks for the feedback on BB 1st Bday Party

I checked the website for build a bear..sounds and looks interesting, but their max is 20 pax..i think from the list, we will have more than 20, but i will call and ask them if they take in more than 20 and share with u mummies details..

As for Macd, they do catering outside too..n if we go to their Mac..parties only available at a few places..no town areas..all either east, west or north..i will call them and check...i.e.what type of food..etc..cuz on the website, they said they provide happy meal..but our bbs still too young to take burgers ba...will check if they have something else for one year olds..

will update soon...

msapple,
we need to feed bb the same fruit for at least 4 days to determine any allergies right? then u buy 4 avocado ah? sorry ah if i am asking stupid question. :\

yln,
thanks for coordinating this!

missyz &amp; blessedmom
actually i read from wholesomebabyfood.com &amp; super baby food book that it's ok to freeze avocado. but i guess it also depends on ur comfort level.

morning ladies.

yln
thx for ur effort.
normally hotel rm i book liao will "employ" entertainer to play with the babies, totally fuss-free.
gymboree is definitely more for them, but got limit to the number of bb.
they will provide finger foods also, but think more suitable for toddler ya?

eh....1 yr old can build bear liao har?
i dunno, cos i cannot base on my own experience only lor....maybe majority can liao.
for Mc party hor, think nearest to town is either Bt Merah or Queenstown there?

wendy
i agree with u, celebrate on national day...must be fun leh. =)

m2b
cos nynn celebrated her bday in hotel, so my mum reminded me better to do the same for zynn.
mean i gotta book hotel function rm + look for those "cartoon" entertainer + rent toys all over again.
last time 1 kid nia mah, so dun mind all these....ha ha.....