(2008/08) Aug 2008

wendy
I show my boy baby signing times dvd and on-off sign to him milk, mummy, daddy, thank you. But not consistent so think he may not pick up haha! Just for fun anyway..

Hey Yuuri

Cool! It'd be really great if they do pick it up then we don't have to keep guessing what they want! I sign 'milk milk' each time before I latch him on but in his hungry state.. he is more often than not more focused on the breast than my hand action!!

mummygiraffle,
yup, yr nic gave it away

dunno if the scare is over though. still under obs. i also dun like like liver. i dun like all the iron rich food...mayb tt;s y i am deficient in it

reirei,
hubby feels tt the first dr is not in the wrong to play safe. he also felt tt i shld do it to have a peace of mind. hiaz, it;s gd at communicating to my own bb la
yr turn to have the nipple pitching? hehe i also got it...ouch ouch. painful hor

catherine,
gg dun like papaya but she needs to eat papaya...haiz she is like her mummy...dun like red meat n liver but need to eat those. need to give her prunes but dun want her to b reliant to it lei. how? intro spinach liao huh?

hashisan,
i also dunno how on earth gg become like tt wen i never overfeed her. but she never reject food la. hehe. but m is tall lei, gg is only 69cm. dun worry. crawling time is starting

ruixuan,
tks

shint,
i cannot eat "bu"now cos still bleeding. need to wait till it;s over then can. kai also under the king size category ,hee but he is tall lei

mrs N,
i also got the cranky days at times. hang in there. think it's teething discomfort. u can try giving gripe water 4 the last feed.
i miss london. mostly i miss the shopping es at primark!

is it v cold there? i went there at -2degrees .... can;t stand taking clothes out clothes by the layers when i hit the shops. then putting it back on when i go outside. so troublesome. keep yrself warm k

M2B,
bleeding haven stop lei

snow,
think no right or wrong but it was a scare. now i jus dun wanna think about it wo

hisstory,
i gave my iron pills to my maid cos at times she say she wanna faint or headache cos she skips her bf to go on a diet which i scolded her la. i tot i no need to go thru tt path again wo

rona,
it is better but still bleeding n doesn seem to b stopping lei.....

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>, his neck quite strong lah... will look up and smile once he flipped... but seems like can oni flip one side leh... the other side still struggling... hehehe... he is in LV IC...

<font color="0000ff">April</font>, the magic ring can fit all types of scoops? Looks interesting...

<font color="0000ff">mummygiraffe</font>, thanks for the link... same position as you... both my parents working... ILs used to take care of #1 but they are also getting old... told my hb if need them to take care must get a helper... plus, sometimes they talk until machiam wanna quarrel like that... but my IC dun provide cereal leh... only porridge when bb is 7mths old... they expect parents to start feeding at home first too...

<font color="0000ff">Sam</font>, oh no... that happened for my #1 but I'm praying AF stays away longer this time... it did not really affect my milk supply then but I heard that some babies can taste a difference in the EBM so may reject... I think AF comes when your body detects a drop in supply, maybe becos of pumping lesser times or lesser amounts...

<font color="0000ff">twinstars</font>, what a scare it is! thank goodness you are well now... gg is so cute... mummy's darling... hehehe...

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>, I give about 45ml of puree at night and IC gives about 4 tsp of cereal during the day...

<font color="0000ff">yuuri</font>, the IC will record down in a book what time he eat, sleep and poo... dun think u need to worry if they will feed on time cos they will have timings... but if family is convenient for u, that will be better of course!

<font color="0000ff">mousse</font>, you bought the HT cereal from <font color="0000ff">timmingbuzz</font>? If dun want, may I take over a brown rice cereal (after <font color="0000ff">jocester</font>} to try?

<font color="0000ff">shint</font>, envy u still can clear ur ML... I need to start doing OT cos peak is coming... thinking how to pick up 2 kids and do OT... faint...

<font color="0000ff">celyn</font>, gong xi gong xi!!!

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Types of food</font>
At what age can we intro carrot, spinach, papaya, pumpkin? Cos according to the Super Baby Food book last time, before 6 months can only eat avocado, banana and sweet potato... what else can I give?

shint,

as u r still expressing, u hv to take iron supplement coz might be low sugar level or lack of iron. Coz produce milk need iron or our blood cell.

So u still got ur supplement for pregnancy?

I also hv dis prob, so I try to eat daily. sometimes will forget.....

twin stars
Alamak, ur maid ah.. U also better take iron supplements too. If not with gg getting heavier, u're going to be more taxed physically leh

ling
I try not to let her get overtired, but sometimes I just miss the sleep cues.. Hmm, i guess there wld most certainly be some share similarities amongst bb *heehee*
Let's see if there are any physical ones later at Timmin's place

Jen
Samesame, my ger can only flip one direction &amp; not the other. She can't flip back too..

Bb like to give sheepish grin after flipping hor? Like 'see mummy! I can flip!!'

hisstory
My boy also only flip one side ... then I will say 'WAH! SO clever!' then he will start laughing, like very proud like that!

hashisan,
yep, i'm singaporean. think if we all can find time to start a class of fun exercise, we'll be fit in no time. hehe..

celyn,
you bought a freezer for storing bm? i also got a 2nd hand one from one of the mummies in this forum. how much did you pay it for? is it top/front load? hehe.. i make it sound like a washing machine. =)

twin stars,
my ger scratched my face and left a mark! i think she can go for a manicure liao. always seem to be trimming her fingernails.
hehe.. i love everything about giraffes. funny hor..
hmm, then mb should stick to iron pills but need to take alot of water.

M2B,
yea, agree with you. some of my frens with 2-3 kids are working part time so not that bad.. at least can stay sane. if i be sAHM, i gotta find something to do at home too.. if not i sure become huang lian. that's me lah.

wat's a KS bag?

Ling,
there are some infantcare centres that are cheaper. i heard from another mummy that she pays less than $500 for infantcare in the east. do babysitters provide those bb things too? my fren's bb sitter charge additional $50 once the bb starts solids. you can find out more from the mcys website or ask around your pl for a good bb sitter.. impt you and hb feel comfortable.

hisstory.
depends on the brand. i bought most of my nursing tops from local online stores by mummies. a couple of them are very comfy, not warm at all, e.g. Annie Matthews.

sigh, Anna is still waking up to cry at 12+ or 1+ am every night. I really dunno what to do but to let her suckle and she'll fall asleep in a while. anyone else who's bb gg through this stage and needs to be pacified this way?

rona,
wah, you are very lucky leh.. no mens till you stop bf. so nice not to get it hor.. all the trouble of going to the toilet esp when very heavy flow.

me too, thinking of getting a exersaucer cos it's seems very fun. where can we get it at low price?

April
i just wash the cloth puppets

Celyn
yah was busy during CNY. u preggy? actually i also feel giddy recently? not sure related to pumping of breastmilk.

Cooking congee
today i realised my rice cooker can cook baby congee. Just try. very fine texture too.. but cook up to 3 hours in the rice cooker... (but best thing is that i dun need to watch over the fire)

When i had my first boy, i thought i'm going thru menopause! cos no mens for the whole year while most of my friends had theirs 3 months after birth and they are also TBF. So maybe my system really very slow lor, or not productive at all lah!

Annie Matthews? can give the link or not?

Hisstory/Yuuri,
How old are your bbs? Mine was flipping back and forth like 4mths 1weeks old. hehehee... that's why roll off the bed the other nite... hahaha

jen,

u give pure puree, never mix with cereal? i find the texture smoother when i mix with cereal. today i gave bb 2 tbsp cereal + 30ml carrot puree. will do the same for next feed. cutting down on his cereal liao, coz' he doesn't seem to be drinking milk that eagerly these days. oh, what is IC?

sylvia,

i've never been taking iron supplement all this while leh. do i still need to take? last time the one i took during preggie made me have constipation, so i stopped taking any more pills after i gave birth. anw, bb is getting his iron intake thru cereal and 1 FM feed at nite now. shld be enough rite?

Snow,
Haha, guess I rather have that trouble monthly than carrying a bb in my tummy leh… =P

Hisstory,
Havent start using the bag as it is still in office…box so big, dun know how to bring back w/o my hb noticing…hahaha

YLN,
Ya, maybe just give porridge with 1 kind of vegetable and see how…hope everything will be ok soon…

Twin Stars,
Huh? Then when is the bleeding gonna stop? On medication?

Mummygiraffe,
Ya, at least work part-time still can stay sane…stay at home full-time with more than 2 kids, I SURE can’t. =P

KS is Kate Spade. =P

tree_nymph
My boy is now 6mths 1wk. He's been flipping since 5mths but only on his left side. He's flipped on his right side only once so far and flipped from tummy to back once also. Think he'll skip through the whole flip to and fro stage and go on to crawling!

jocelyn - my baby just turned 5 month on 23 Jan. I've been feeding her white rice and brown rice cereal. She seems to enjoy it.

I'm using the brand Healthy Times from NTUC.
They also have Barley, Oats, and Mixed Grain cereals. I'll be letting her try Barley tomorrow.

Yuuri,
your bb boy so cute! give some time lah, every bb develop differently. My elder gal first flip was at 2.5mths old! She is sumo size so can use her big thigh to swing her over to her tummy... heheheee... but didn't start to crawl until later...

Sam,
This is your 1st time mens since gving birth huh? how many months already?

Who else havn't kena mens yet huh?
how old is your bb?
how much bm supply a day?

Hi mummygiraffe,

mine is! my girl at 5months 2 weeks, at 8.5kg...

should be at 95% percentile bah...

Sam,
Whoa, you got 1L a day... the max I have from 3 times pumping is about 600ml.... my MIL feeding her 130ml 3times a day...

mummies, i just realise the mistake i made in my post. i'm not pregnant. miss out 1 word and cause so much different. heehe.... paiseh.

tree nymph,
i haven't got menses. baby is 6 months now, about 800-900ml of bm daily.

ruixuan,
giddy cause by bm? i'm not pregnant. typo mistake. :p

mummygiraffe,
i wanted to buy a 2nd hand one but no way for me to self collect, i end up buying a new one at $280. its the top load one.

paperdebris,
hehe.. then should be ok bah.. wh's your bb's bd? mine is 27 aug and she was 7.62kg 3 weeks ago.

oh, your MIL feeds your bb 130ml 3x a day? what about rest of the feeds? cereal or FM?

celyn,
oh thats an ok price. is it something like farla brand? think i spelt it incorrectly. i bought mine at 180. also top load. my hb and bil went to coll it for me.

paperdebris,
your bb bd should be also quite close to mine. mine 24 aug.

mummygiraffe,
my bb is 9kg now. sick last week - blocked nose and a bit of cough, so weight dropped! he got the virus from his sister...

celynlee,
I'm just curious. Like Sam, she got about 1L a day and she gotten her mens. I get about 1L+, 5.5mths. have no mens yet (crossing my fingers to stay this way as long as i pump! touch wood). How come? what makes the body thinks we need to have mens already? **scratch head**

mummygiraffee/celynlee,
haven't thought about the freezing milk part yet. Now giving the excess to the 2 elder ones. think i will start to store only when the bb hit 8mths? don't want to throw away the expire frozen milk... waste my efforts and milk bags...

mummies..

been terrible busy..
house...new year holidays...baby..work...daughter start new childcare...sigh...so missed out on alot of things...

shint..ur maid leaving?
I started baby on cereal this week..1 wk before 6mths :p he loves it...but wondering if I give 4 spoonsful..how much milk or water har? can it replace 1 feed?

baby now has another 3-4 teeh sprouting up on the top...

and Mrs N, wondering if its true..that cos he starts eating..he cant sleep well at night...sleep well with me but not on his own

anyway has this issue...start eating then cant sleep well?

started my daughter at mothergoose..not too bad..

if u stay in sengkang, i like to recommend children discovery centre for the infant care, reasonably priced and good; principal ang moh

rona,
it's good that you 2 elder ones are willing to take your bm. my #1 dint really like it so i just continue to store. but i haven't been able to store much these few weeks cos i kept missing the wee hour pump. haiz, i should start soon before the ss really dip alot. now if i pump 3x at work, i'll give 1-2 bottles to my bb the next day. the 3rd bottle will come from the freezer.

me been wondering why my mens come so early as i've been tbf up to 9x a day and still pump excess out since Oct last yr.

Nini: thank u for the no heheh sorry didnt know it was u
Rona: me.. i havent kena menses yet. misaki is 6mths old today. everyday latch on every 3 hrs.

Jocelyn,
PM you liao. But on second thots, better not pass the HT cereal to you cos even though kept in tupperware, it's opened for a few weeks liao.

Ling ling,
yeah loh, like the rest of the heavy-weight's mummies, i get my fair share of "Waah, how come ur son so huge aahh?", "wat did you feed ur baby?", "ur son looks like he's alr one-year old!", blah blah blah..

Jen,
No, i din order from timmingbuzz...

I hope your guys enjoying your gathering. My bb is down with fever again last nite and I saw spots on him. So I send him to TMC to see a doctor last nite and also did a blood test. I thot it was Hand Mouth Foot, Chicken Poxs or etc. Heng ah! its NOT. Its just the virus attack on him. And the doctor at TMC still can tell me, its ok he will be fine and can lose some weight now. I was blurred.. I know my BB is big. BUt no need to tell me this way. And he had sore thoat, fever and teething all at the same time.

And this morning I saw more so scare. So I send him to his PD. And lucky the same the same thing. Now monitoring him. Hopefully spots disaapear soon...

Celyn,
haha, so funny. everyone thot you're pregnant. Champion of the August mummies...

Hashisan,
Saw ur baby's pic at shint's facebook. waahh, she's really really chubby! hee hee..

Shint,
My baby drinks 200ml fm every 4 hrs. Porridge (with dried scallop/pork/fish) once or twice daily. If take porridge, skip one fm feed. Just changed from nan 1 to nan 2. dh complaining how come all other fm brands got discount but nan always regular price one...

i'm having problems with bf-ing my bb now. she does not seem want to finish drinking when i latch and she's very distracted. now she feeds less than 10min for both breasts and she's not keen anymore. even if i put 140ml in bottle, she only takes 110ml. so i gotta express the excess after each latch. siong le.. anyone facing this too?

and she's quite sticky to me now. if anyone else carries her and she realised i'm not there, she starts wailing away. she's been with me all day long since eve cny. gosh, wonder how she will be when i go back to ofc and she to IC. haiz..

April,
Hope your boy will be ok soon. I rembred that my #1 got a viral fever during her first yr. Apparently, many bb go through this phase. Take care.

I'm so sad I missed the gathering today. Bb was not cooperating, took a longer nap than usual, so by the time he woke up there was no point going.
I was so looking forward to it too! And now I have all these chicken pies to give away.

I hope it was fun!

Sorry I don't post very much... But I'm a SAHM with no help, and reading the posts already takes up so much of my time that I don't have time to do the housework or cook lunch! I hope I can log in frequently enough to see when the next gathering will be. Take care everyone!

mummygiraffe,

dont worry lah, my ger aso drinking anywhere fm 100 to 140ml... her weight only like 7kg max...

i juz fed her cereal leh, seems like she not keen... how?

it was SO FUN having all of you @ my place today!!! was so good to finally put faces to the nicks and bbs' names. :D i TOTALLY enjoyed myself!!! ethan too! got soooo many pretty girlfriends! and only 1 handsome competitor. heheh... but seriously...overload of FOOD...haha. i ask my hb to bring over to in-law's :D if not really eat until face green also cannot finish. haha...

can't wait for the next gathering already!!!! :D or who wanna go out kai kai...remember to chio me!!!

i'm so happy just now. yu ze is trying to sit up and he manage to bring himself up half way. i leave him in the cot to play while i read the thread and have some me time. then i went in to take a look at him, i' surprise to sit that he is in the sort of sitting position just that his body is not straight but slant cos he use his hand to support. so i carry him up and play with him for a while. after that i put him back to play again while i go and warm milk. when i come back, he is in that half sitting position again. i try to video him but he didn't do it again but manage to video him lifting his buttock high up in the sky. will try to find chance to take video of him and hopefully, he will do it again.

many posts to catch up!

M2B,
Which KS bag did u get? Can see and let me drool? haha, I had to stop myself after buying too many bags.

shint,
Maybe u too stressed up w work and children? Could be tired that's why. There was once or twice I felt giddy and abit felt like vomitting but after a rest was better.
Take care ya?

celyn,
wa.... at first and I also tot u're pregnant. So was it a relief for u?

Chevelle can sit quite steadily since last night when I put her in the playpen. I let her sit without my hands supporting her shoulders and I think she can sit up like that for 1 min or so.

And Chevelle was caught flipping from tummy to back last night by hb. Actually she did it before CNY but last night she was more confident that I think the maid and my mum saw it before I came back home last night.

Ya, too bad nvr video.

Megan,
Any gd infantcare to recommend in the East? So Megan's adapting well to Mother Goose? Isit the on at East Coast Road that you mentioned before?

RE: weaning
I see that alot of u hv progressed to veg, and porridge. Lazy me still haven't started on it. Prob will start her once I get my blender out and after her jab nxt wk.