(2008/08) Aug 2008

NiNi...
i guess it's a personal choice. i've got a friend who placed her bb in infantcare after staying home for 9 months. but bb still thrived and is very happy. i guess it's impt to be comfortable with the infantcare that you choose...and try to put bb on their routine b4 sending bb in so it's an easier transition for bb. for my friend... her bb didn't hv any probs @ all as she made sure bb's sleeping time etc coincided with infantcare's before putting her in. her bb was in fact VERY happy to go to infantcare...

Thks to all the mummies for their feedback, really appreciate it alot.

hashishan/mummygiraffe,
It really helps to hear fr both of you, who have been there and done it.
I think the questions that you said I shd ask myself is really v gd and great food for thought.

giraffetan / nini,
Ya I'm stressed. Partly cos of ILs and partly hb. I always get a feeling from ILs that they're v worried if I don't work (as if their son will have to provide solely for me and bb). After I quit my last job to go Shanghai w hb but in the end still came back to SG, every now and then ask me if I found job. Then later, found job (cos mine is not fixed regular job), FIL kept asking how's my job etc.

Hb said his parents are being concerned, but it's BS. I knw cos FIL asked these questions so repeatedly.

Then that day hb is also concerned abt job security cos he's working in the bank.

Have been reading all your input on baby's puree and porridge. Thank you for sharing. I have a qn - how do you managed to bring the food out and heat it e.g puree, rice cereal & porridge (if you bring baby out)?

valnsw,
its not easy to look for work now. Lots of things to consider and your priorities to set too. think carefully and if you decided to go work, caregivers are very impt too. cover your bases so you have peace of mind at work. else its either here nor there and it will be a torture... and you won't be happy...

Hi all mothers!
I just joined the singaporemotherhood. My baby just turned 5 month...

It's wonderful to see so many mothers giving support to one another here!

Just to share that i've just started giving my baby white and brown rice cereal. She seems to enjoy it!

Catherine and other mummies: how to cook ngorfish/threadfin so it wont taste so fishy.?

Rona: can understand when u mention what your #1 said to u to make u stay at home with her.. broke your heart ,didnt it?
But then if you quit working then u have to face MIl all the time ,you become upset and unhappy.this way you are a happier person
.(happy mummy=happy children).
I dont know how it feels to have MIL around. she lives overseas and we only get to see inlaws 1-2times a year.
Even if we go back to Japan someday, die die I wouldnt wanna stay with them also hehehe..they are very nice people and I love them dearly but not to the extension of wanting to share a house with them.

mummygiraffe: not at all ..its an open discussion
.and thank u for sharing with us.
u still go to gym now? I wonder, does exercising really help in making your stomach back to pre pregnancy time or I am too unrealistic to have such thoughts ?

boil carrot/sweet potatoes hmm good idea. will give those to misaki next time. I gave #1 those pigeon biscuits only last time.

Nini: why dont u wait till Braiden 18mths and then u can put him in childcare instead of infantcare if u really wanna go back to work?
He definitely will choose u over other people to take care of him,somemore you have been with him since his birth. but kids will know how to adjust themselves soon or later.It might be more difficult for U than him to be separated.

Jen: yes yes anchorvale pool is nice . I went there once, my #1 loved it. ok next time we go there together.. now Misaki is having flu
. started last night actually. I think many people got flu. which part of sengkang u staying? i am at compassvale.

Finally got the time to log in. What a stressful day it is today. Kaitlyn is driving me nuts. Her last feed for the morning was 10.30am. After her bath, she rejected her FM feed with cereal. Normally needs alot of coaxing for her to drink (rocking, patting, singing nursery rhymes while she's half asleep). Tried to latch her on but she refused as well. Kept screaming and crying so loudly that the neighbours must think that I’m abusing her. She’s obviously hungry and tired but still she wanna fuss and get all cranky (Lao Gai in Cantonese). Tried to feed her cereal, she took a few mouthfuls then mega poo-ed. So dirty and messy, was all over her. Went and wash her up then continued feeding her. She took another few mouthfuls then fell asleep while eating cereal. That was 2.30pm. From 10.30am till 2.30pm, she took less than 15 mouthfuls, sigh. Was so happy when I saw she fell asleep. But guess what, she slept for only about 30mins. Until now, she is still fussing on and off. Sigh, I think she woke up from the wrong side of her cot today.

gg,
welcome.

ok, i'm going to knock off now. picking #2 from childcare then to my mum's place. don't want to be late.

'talk' later if i have a chance to logon.

John Little is having 20% storewide till this sunday. Went to get some pigeon weaning utensils at 20%.

The pigeon training toothbrush also has 20%, but not for the wet wipes.

If you have the ocbc robinsons card then another 5% off your statement.

ReiRei,
At least your MIL knows how to praise your girl. Mine worse lor. Right from my girl's birth, I already made myself clear that I'm not gonna cut/shave her hair liao. Not even for her full month lor. My parents didn't say anything, my mum even told me not to cut/shave. Imagine until now, my girl is 5mo le. Each and every time I go to MIL's place (that's like once a week okie), she will ask us why dun cut her hair or when we gonna cut her hair???? Full month ask until now leh, she already 5mo le!!!! You keep asking you won't sian one meh? I listen until I damn sian leh! I mean come on lor, if I wanna cut, I would have cut it donkey years ago lor! I'm her mother mah, I dun need you to tell me to cut her hair or not! Then my hubby also one kind de leh. Keep telling me to ignore her. Wth? How to keep ignore her when every time she ask the same stupid question. Sorry, initially wanted to tell you about my experience. But then I got carried away with my emotions. Bottled up inside, it became a rant instead. Paiseh paiseh.

Rona,
Kaitlyn teething since 10 weeks old. Until now the damn tooth hasn't cut through yet. Brought her to PD the other day when she was sick, he said won't be that fast when he felt her gums.

Sigh. Sorry to rant. But since she was 10 weeks old, she has been a fussy eater until now. I dunoe whether due to teething anot. But each time she drinks her milk (EBM/FM both applicable), she fusses. We have to rock her, pat her and sing to her. Basically coax her non-stop lah. Seriously, it's very stressful and tiring leh. Imagine carrying a 7kg baby with one hand, walk here and there, rock and pat her while the other hand is holding the bottle. Dunoe how long more I can tahan. I see all the babies here drink milk hao hao de. I wonder why my girl must chut so many patterns.

Catherine,
How is Bernice? Hope she's feeling all right. *Hugs* Nice recipe there, btw. I can't cook/sew to save my life.

Sylvia,
How is Meredith? Feeling better today? My hubby won't be fetching us tomorrow. He says he gotta OT. If cannot finish the project by tomorrow then he has to go back on Saturday. Feel so sian after hearing what he said.

Timmin,
Kaitlyn and I both have sensitive noses. She inherited hers from me. Sorry about the cat. Like very evil to keep him away?

mummygiraffe
haiz, same here.. My ger also zhuo luan today!! She didn't sleep in the morn, partially coz of the noise & then she had to go see Dr at polyclinic to get referral

Then afternoon she slept okie, but woke up too early & had to get her to take a nap.. She fought sleep! *eeks*

shirley
Dun think u can post on the WTS thread coz it's restricted to members who've joined SMH for > 1 year

You can look at WTB thread & see if anyone wants the items u're lettign go of

Jen
*congrats* Must encourage him to enjoy tummy time.. How're his neck muscles? Strong?

Btw which infantcare is ur boy at?

NiNi
Hb & i were considering infantcare coz not keen to get a maid & didn't want to have grandparents taking care of bb.. But grandparents were totally against infant care

So my mum's going to care, but if i find she can't handle, i prob still revert to our choice

gg
*welcome*

smurfette...
no worries. i'll lock him in my room then.
he'll be more than happy to hide in my room with strangers around anyways. he'll hide under my quilt...thinking that no one can see him. but one BIG FAT lump there. haha... i'll make it a pt to sweep b4 you come! sorry abt it! so last min!!

Smurfette,
hahaha..u damn farnie lah girl..
do u find dat mils are sometimes like robots? keep repeating the same ting over and over again.
Now i'm training myself not to answer any qns she ask.
If she asks in hokkien, ok i act blur dun understand. Now even if she asks in mandarin i oso stare at her blankly..haha..
like dat day went to aunt's place. Hb oredie made 1 bottle of milk, seated in armchair and asked mil (whois carrying bb) to come over. She heard hb but still asked 'oh, drink milk liao har'..i gave her a 'abuden' look. then she asked again, 'drink milk liao har'? wah can faint leh..jus bring bb over lah, watz the prob man?!?!

Yuuri,
Sobs! i'm in the same boat as u!! i tink we realli 'pai mia' sometimes..hafto put up wif such sh**!

Valnsw,
If u dun like a person, no matter wat she says u will find it irritating one lah!

re: blender
Any mommies using philips blender?
I tried to make apple puree today using philips blender, aiyooo! made a mess...the apples were still in chunks after i blended so many times until it oxidised! hmm..dunno issit becos my apple is too small..

Reirei,
Maybe you would want to try Pigeon manual blender set. I am using it and find that its easy to clean and wash.

Hasnisan,
Thanks for the link. I will go and check it out.

GG, Welcome

Timminbuzz,
Your cat is so cute.

I was mia for a long time ever since back to work. Time really flies and raeann is already 5mths 1 week. Kindly advise if now is the right time to introduce cereal?

got alot of qns...appreciate advise. really at a loss

1. brand of cereal -so many out there (nestle, heinz,frisocream?)
2. type of cereal?
3. when to feed?
4. when to intro porridege? (I saw cat's receipt too! :p)
5. fruit puree, nec?
6. fruit juice, nec?

& other issues I need to take note of? thanks tks!!

Jen,
You can get the handsfree strap from Mumsfairy.com.sg. I'm using Ameda and the handsfree. Very useful cos I can use the comp in ofc/hm. I actually feel more relaxed as I can suf the internet at the same time.

Ya, although I want to spend the time with my gers, I hv no choice. My parents (working)/Ils (too old) can't help and I don't like the idea of leaving my bb at a babysitter who might not even bother to engage her in play. Infantcare provides a certain level of social development which is what my hb and I believe in.

NiNi,
Why don't you try to put your bb in infantcare for half a day or few days a week to see if ok? Not all infantcare centres are fantastic but for one, both of you gotta be comfortable with the school mgt, teachers and environment and logistical arrangement. =) Actually hashisan's suggestion is good too. You can wait till Braiden is ready to go direct to childcare. Might be easier for you too.

val,
Take it one thing at a time. My fren always ask me to stay "zen".. hehe.. although I tend to be a worry-wort. Haha.. But have a good discussion with your hb and work on the pros and cons. Don't be stressed by your ILs. Ultimately, you are the mother, you are the wife, you are the person who knows what's best for your family.

gg,
Welcome!

hashisan,
Hehe.. I like your saying. Happy mummy = happy children. ^^
Oh, are you Singaporean? Cos your ILs and hb are Japanese right? Hehe.. sorry, I think I sound quite silly asking this silly qn.
Thanks for sharing too.
Sigh.. I would love to go back to gym but I have a chronic back problem and it did not resolve after my back operation. No choice but I do intend to go back to gym workout after I recover from this bout of backpain. I think exercise do help. When I was active then, I actually looked younger and fresher. I was told to lose the fats first before toning my muscles. And I feel fantastic after every workout. My fav machine is the cross-trainer. I also go for swimming sessions. Somehow, I did not feel so dull then, not like now. Haiz..
Re boiled baby carrot/potatoes, it is easy. When I plan to go out, I just wash the food, throw in a pot and boil while I prepare to go out. I let my #1 take the potato with the skin. It's very good. I usually don't remove any skin. Easy to prepare and healthy for bb.

Catherine,
I'll be very kan cheong too. Glad to know Bernice is ok. (",)

hisstory,
Guess what? Anna refuse to sleep in the morning. Then her feed time in the afternoon all messed up. I think my breasts also confused liao.. haha.. Feed 5min, she struggled and pulled off. Then stuck her tongue out looking for her food. Latched again and off she came. I really want to faint liao. I'm confused, what's more my body. I think she's just so easily distracted, especially when she hears her daddy or sister talk or sing away. *diao*..

Anyone doing TBF kenna menses? Mine came today, piang... I was so counting on NO MENSES for the whole time of BF

Btw, does menses affect our milk supply?

Reirei,
i have the U dono wat blender, philips, and a few other blenders at home.. hahaha.. (diff blender for diff things) end up I just use the manual method of grating the apples. hahaa. did you boil the apples ? or fresh apples ? maybe u use the wrong blade.

mummygiraffe
Aiyoh.. Think Anna knows u're ard this week & she wants to spend lots of time with u..

Anna is very playful today! She wants to interact with u, daddy & jiejie.. Or maybe she senses the weekend's coming!!

samantha
Haiz, mine came last mth.. I also had the same idea u have.. *sian*

Timmin mentioned tt when our period comes our ss will kind of dip

hashisan,
thanks. petpet say the mould is cause by water from the machine when they produce diaper. its very rare for this happen. they are going to come and do an exchange with me for those diapers.

hisstory,
those that i freeze are fresh carrot or brocoli which is not cook yet. so i will bring down to thaw the night before then add into porridge to cook.

so long never post liao, wander if u guys remember who i am , hehe
i;ve been super busy of late cos gg is teething n cranky n with the new year celebrations n gatherings, i hadly have time to post.....partly i was catching up on my chinese drama too ,hee

anyways, i got a scare on mon. i was having extremely heavy flow n went to c gynae n he advised me to go for DNC the very next morn! everything was arranged n i couldn't sleep tat night. the dr said i have 20% chance of womb cancer! gosh, first i asked if i will die, 2nd i ask how long i have to live. haha, drama i know. then i called to cancel the ops n went for a 2nd opinion n i was being monitored n given pills to stop the bleeding.......it helped alittle but i am still bleeding la. but gd news is the blood test came back normal so unlikely i have womb cancer.

frm mon, gg became super cranky n hard to settle to sleep. i had no strength cos i bled alot n on iron pills n anti bleeding pills n am too tired n frust until i beat gg;s juicy thighs. hubby took over n settled her to sleep this 2 nights ..he took 1 hr!!! she jus refuse to sleep n keep crying.

today i told gg the gd news tt mummy dun have cancer n she dun have to worry anymore, miraculously she was easy to settle, hold my face smile n went to sleep. she is such a darling. mummy not happy, she also not happy.
mummy happy already, she also happy

celyn
Oh u add to the porridge.. Tt's true, u can cook them when u're cooking the porridge. Yu Ze likes both?

twin stars
Yah man, was wonderign where u were..

Wah, sounds so drama.. How r u now? Has the bleeding reduced oredi?

Georgine so cute, hold ur face & smile. maybe she xin tong mummy going thru tough time..

Twin stars
Good to hear you feel better now. You must be very weak after losing so much blood. Do you have anyone to help you to cope? Take care, yach

Little Twins Star,
still have to be careful with heavy bleeding. I have 2 cousins who had heavy bleeding and they were found to have cyst and have to be operated. Their HB level dipped to less then 5, normal woman is about 11.5+. got to have blood tranfusion - emergency admission to hospital.

Samantha,
Me me.. I tbf but kenna mens in Dec. =( And my milk ss was affected, dip about 20-30% during week of ovulation. Haiz..Thot I can save money on milk powder but end up still gotta buy pads/tampons!!!

hisstory,
Haha.. maybe.. she just loves to turn her head here and there with my nipple in her mouth. Can be quite embarassing when I bf her outside, even if I'm wearing a nursing top.
What about your Ashley? How is she? ^^

twin stars,
Hi, I joined this thread last week, I think. =) What's doc's diagnosis of your heavy flow? You feeling better now?

hisstory,
ya man, long time no chat. hope things r well with bb. ash sleep thru already? very drama lei. drama still not over wo cos i am still bleeding. gg is a crab now, grabbing everything! including my face. at times she is rough with me, at time she will gently hold my face

fitbaby,
tired lei cos i loss alot of blood. got huge blood clots the size of my palm that came out. each time the blood flows....i tot i am peeing. i change to bathe n blood will flow down my legs....it is tt scary. my maid helps me with carrying gg cos i almost topple down the stairs carrying my king size bb. m on iron pills n forcing myself to eat beef. i have been low blood for some time, n this made it worst. both dr check me n told me to double up on iron pills

rona,
ya, i am still under review. there is a follicle tat didn;t manage to have a successful ovulation n my body got confused n continue to support the ovulation with thickening of the lining hence the heavy flow....i need to go dr on tues for review but i am suppose to go in tom if bleeding still didn;t get lesser.....i used up 2 packs of pad liao, now on 3rd pack wo

mummygiraffe
Oooh, scary if she does tt when u bf her outside.. U dun use a nursing cover ah?

She has KOed oredi, quite easily, according to hb, coz he puts her to sleep. I'm praying real hard tt tonight she sleeps well & only wakes up once *cross fingers & toes*

twin stars
Too bad I dun have time for MSN if not I can catch up more with u

U're so funny.. Gg is a crab??!! Ashley also bats my face.. Aiyoh

Is ur blood pressure low? Like during ur pregnancy? Or is ur low bp causing this to be worse?

val,
some hb needs to be trained. must give them chance n time for them to pick up. Like hashisan, all hb seldom auto one, but u will see them tryin to put in effort.

SAHM or work. is ur decision, both r nt easy.

I can stay in overseas for months for work, but with baby nw is just home n very nearby.

So u hv to be prepare for different lifestyle, habits.

got the art paper at popular
4 the 1st time hb will get the personalized bday card :p

Hashihan
Ikut ga ya ?? BIngung nih.. siang or malam ? berapa kali ? belum liat linknya.. :p tapi kepengen kurus sih hihihih

Cat
Carrots made bernice feel gas uh ? mayb I try very little 1st for precaution :p

Nini
U r so gr8 leh... take care of bb 24/7 ? Need to take a good care of urself uh.. if I were u I can go short tempered which actually oredi now hehe

gg
welcome

bb doesnt drink properly
my gal also didnt have proper feed today.. She didnt finish many times of today feed
Dunno why and her poo schedule change fm morning to evening.. then when she did it, looks bit diff leh.. face red red..

LTS
how's the bleeding ? Understand must feel weak.. Did the doc tell u why this happening to u ? Scary uh ? it's true then bb can feel how's the mom feel

infantcare
was enquiring abt infantcare in hougang mall.. Didnt know they have one... it's very costly leh..
$ 1350 !! then u still have to bring all bb's equipment like milk, diaper n so on..
mummies, do ur infantcare fees also like that ?

smurfette,

Meredith is ok. Today went jab.

She din put on much weight, but the PD said is normal. But she grow tall leh. 69cm nw.

Like mummy loh. Hahaha!!

hisstory,

ya... she love to play. have to play till tired then sleep one.

So I just let her play loh.

Tks for the advice. I will start plain cereal then.

Ling,
I pay $600 after subsidy ($1200 b4) for the infantcare. Guess prices are somewhat about there. I know many other centres charge about $1600 before subsidy. I also have to prepare everything for my bb ger to use there: diapers, ru yi oil, moisturiser, bath soap, powder, ebm, bottles, bowls etc. They will provide cereal or porridge when our bbs start solids.

mummies I need help!!!
anyone knows no for reliable plumber? my sink get choked dont know why ..I think my maid didnt clear the food properly before washing the dishes

If I anyhow take the no from newspaper usually I'll get conned because I dont speak chinese
anyone..pls

mummygiraffe,
r u v tall? hee
m better liao. only this afternoon then i got the gd news if not i dun dare tell anyone

hisstory,
haha, gg is a grabber n it makes me so bz. guess they r at this stage now. yup still low blood pressure n count. now worst ba. so back to popping 2 iron pills a day

ling,
i am jus happy i dun have cancer ,hehe. mmmm dr jus say hormone imbalance but i need to go back n review to know wat is really going on. my mom ask me to go chinese dr after this...

hashisan,
u weigh misaki already? mine is 9.48 lei. dunno is gg is heaviest in this thread

mummygiraffe: I'm Indonesian..
what about yoga or swimming? thought those suppose to be good for your backache?

twinstar: good thing the result came out negative. hope u get well soon ok.must be really exhausting for u.
Misaki is ehmmm around 9.8kg..and she is around 72-73cm.

Gg can feel what mama's feeling.

twin stars
Yah man, think our bb makes us all very busy.. They grab anything they can & the next thing, they aim to put the item into their mouth.. *faint*

Better keep up with ur iron intake.. More steak? heehee

sylvia
If only my ger can be so guai.. My notty ger will play & them whine when she's a little tired but refuse to sleep. I try to make her sleep before she's overtired & then she thinks I'm forcing her to sleep.. *tsktsk*

wow! this thread moving so fast, can't catch up again!

had a quick browse thru the SAHM survey. really "pei fu" you gals. i don't think i can afford to be one though i'm not really happy with my job rite now. but having stayed home with my bb for the most of dec, jan and now early part of feb, i think i will go nuts if this is a permanent arrangement. sometimes i'm so bored i just stare at bb and start yawning! and this is when i have a maid. if i stop working i dun think i can afford a maid and i will go even crazier having to attend to bb 24/7 and doing the housework and cooking!

now i'm contemplating getting a new job that is not so demanding. i must be dreaming to even think i can find a 9-5 job, heh. *xian* still wondering how i can maintain that work-life balance that i so long for...

little twin stars,
Gd to hear things are ok. Long time no see u post. Ya, babies tend to be quite intuitive. They can sense happiness and unhappiness in adults.

mummygiraffe,
ya prob will take it one step at a time. Hopefully things will be clearer as time goes by. Mb today v moody cos of the earlier phone call to ILs.

ling,
Ya I think infantcare is about $1000+ a mth and u need to bring all those other stuff like diapers, milk powder etc.
Cos I enquired before and hb's ex-colleague also told him is about $1K+.

sylvia,
Ya gotta prepare for different lifestyle liao if become SAHM.

solids:

hey, is it ok for me to feed abt 30ml worth of carrot puree 2x a day? dunno if i'm giving jonah too much coz' today i gave him 45ml of pure carrot puree, then for his second feed i mixed 30ml of carrot puree with 3 tbsp of cereal. he finished all and wasn't crying after the last spoonful (which is quite rare), but he didn't seem that interested in milk. have been struggling to feed him 180ml in the morning and we've even cut down the last feed to 150ml coz' most of the time, we need a lot of cajoling for him to finish all the milk. i'm thinking maybe i shld cut down on solids just in case he's not having enough milk...

Ling
I think all infantcares do not provide personal items. The price is about there lah, just that got $600 subsidy for full-time working mums.

infantcare vs pil
My boy is currently being taken care of by pil and although I dislike spending too much time with them...my boy is comfortable with them! Our initial plan was to put him in infantcare after a couple of months, but we keep putting it off cos hb keep saying dunno whether they will feed him on time, clean him properly, etc. And I know my boy will definitely cry in a strange place and my heart will break. Dilema...infantcare or pil...sigh

twinstars
Wow! Drama indeed! Hope the bleeding eases up..must have been terrifying!!!

Little Twin Stars,
Take care! Thank goodness the test results turn out fine.
Did doc say wat's the cause of heavy bleeding?

Re: Baby Wt & Ht @ 6 months
My son is steadily trailing Georgine at 9.2kg and 72cm.