(2008/08) Aug 2008

Val,
2004? I was there from 2001 to 2004. Enjoy music too, especially the school productions like kismet and guys & dolls.

Re: Rosyth School
Don't find this school very fantastic leh... Unless you're in the gifted programme, then no need to say lah.

mousse,

U got FB haha? can find me lo...

ERms, hehe I'm definitely much older than u. Haha, I was there in the early nineties.

Yup, I enjoyed the school productions. Do they still hv it? Too bad I never joined, I don't hv gd singing voice.

I was in those ECAs that the school wasn't that famous for.

Those ECAs that the school won awards were the band, choir, netball, badminton in my time.

sylvia,

When u say u saw in supermkt v ex, u mean the BP is alot cheaper?

msapple,

Wa... u got stock up? Sounds like a v popular snack w your #1.

nini,

I don't feed Chevelle those puree but I suppose is ok if Braiden likes it. I give her freshly made apple juice.

Val,

I rem $5++ close to $6 leh......

but BP wrote retail only 4.90.... so cheap?

compare what I rem in the supermkt...... this BP is cheap

baby n cinema
sigh.... have been absent attending movie hall oso since bb was born... my hb was a movie mania.. usually he never missed any of the movie even we'll run out of movie to watch since no launch of new movie yet.. but with bb, we dont dare.. bb mite choose to have her own show then how if we got kick out from the cinema ? heheheh
we even has lost track what r the movies playing nowadays :p will wait for the cd or dvd release

talk abt reunion dinner...i've resigned to working around IL's schedule coz' my family very small, whereas my hb's side got plenty of dinners! got extended family one, immediate family one, then after CNY still got some other gatherings organised by aunties and uncles. within the CNY period, i can see them dunno how many times man! *xian*

this year i will spend reunion dinner with my family on sat evening; reunion lunch with my in laws on sat afternoon and reunion dinner with in laws extended family on sun evening. that's only the beginning...haha. there will be plenty more makan sessions to come and i dun look forward to it
visiting was also a problem coz' my hb's side like to visit here visit there. older one will come to younger one's house and younger one also go to older one's house. very bo liao. so end up i told him 1st day i dedicate to his side; 2nd day i dun bother abt any of his visitations and just dedicate to my side. thereafter is on first come first serve basis, haha. whoever book our time earlier i will just go to that person's party lor :p

valnsw: thanks!
So it's safe to feed our babies with puree even tho they r less than 6 mths? I need to buy a "the complete idiot guide to starting bb's food".. i am quite confused after reading up on what to give to bb...

Vern: haha no problem. My boy sometimes latch to sleep or sometimes i hug him n pat him to sleep... singing him a song etc. The moment he in my arms he can sleep soundly liao.. haha
Thou it's tough but i think it's only for the first few years, when he's like bigger, then he dont wan mommy anymore.. sigh. haha but i'll be glad he's my baby for now. haaha

yuuri,
yes at hillcrest. terrible traffic thats why unless it's for the school else we wont move there. i was quite disappointed to know that RGPS not affiliated with RGS, cos we are so near. Even if volunteer also dont need wake up so early. hahaha

val,
If we want to try for RGPS we will move there. Cos else the distance will kill me. My hb already said he wont drive her if i want to put her so far away.

twinstar,
dont understand why ur mil dont let u eat with ur family ?

nini,
I feed bernice the organic apple puree from healthy times for last 2 days cos i had no time to make my own grated apples. And cos once open had to finish wihtin 48hrs so better give. Anyway end of 48 hours still cannot finish. I feel it's abit too sweet lei. After feeding that must remember to give water.

I intend to feed jar food to bernice. My mom said I ate alot of jar food when I was young. I think the only setback on jarfood minus the not made immediately is that it could be quite ex

For mummies who use Petpet,

Remember to stock up from NTUC, offer is $34.45 for 3 packs. offer ending 22/1. Yday went to buy 3 packs.

mummies did anyone feed marmite with porridge to ur bb? my MIL did that these 2 days...after venting my frustration this morning, today went to fetch my bb after work she told me she mix a bit of marmite in the porridge..sigh..Despite me buying sweet potatoe for her to cook..she dun cook she go put marmite...aiyo...HELP ME...

Is it ok for 5mths(turning 6mth next week) bb to eat marmite?

so many post to catch up.

little twin stars,
why your mil don't let you eat with your parents? maybe you can try to arrange to eat with your parent 1 or 2 days earlier so there won't be a clash.

krex78,
wow, so many gathering to go. cny for me is very simple one. reunion dinner on eve with fil's family and give angpao that night. first day, go to hubby's grandma's place where all relatives from his mum's side will gather, stay for half day and that's it. then 2nd day, go back to my parent's place then all my father's side relative will gather. after that fetch them to aunt's place and stay for half day and then all my mum's side relatives will gather too. then its settle liao.

lingling,
i can't even remember when is the last time we went for movie.

mousse,
i don't know if rosyth is good or not but seems like very hard to get in loh. so i guess should not be too bad bah.

missysz,
is it you who ask where is rosyth? there is too many post liao. rosyth is at serangoon north ave 4, quite near hougang.

coolsnow,
Isnt Marmite abit salty for baby so young ??

celyn,
mine even more simple than yours. morning go temple pray pay respect to my grandparents, then head to my mom side. Afternoon go mil show face awhile (sometimes they go out so we nvr go also), evening sil hse. If I start my day at 10am I should finish by 10pm. 12 hours and it's all over for me.hahhaa

celyn
hehehe that long uh ??

I dont think I will have proper reunion dinner this year though.. my mom is not here in this country n my ILs dont celebrate this so.....
last year I tried to cook myself just to entertain me n friends but this year with bb, dont think can do that anymore....

Cat
which temple u go ? btw, what's marmite anyway ? hehehe my knowledge very limited leh...

linx,
actually not really i go temple la, cos my grandparents tablet placed at this temple at bedok south, so normally we will go there pay respect before heading up to my uncles place.

marmite is a veg spread. yeast extract. black color, salty .. but very tasty .. but i prefer Brovil

val
I think Hwee Koon's ger is a big bb.. Almost full-term bb wor

NiNi
Thanks for the article.. Will hang in there with having to spend time & lots of energy to coax bb to sleep..

Hmm, incidentally u mentioned Braiden's on total latch-on coz u're now a SAHM.. Wld u be returning to the workforce anytime soon? If so, do you fear him rejecting the bottle?

Celyn,
My CNY even more simple. My father Indon and everyone is there. So morning go my parents, then my granduncle, that's it ! Done by 1 pm ! In -laws only visit during Hari Raya, so good hor??!

My colleague who transferred to my school from Rosyth said besides the gifted programme, the rest of the pupils just normal, no big deal. Actually teachers know the best what is inside the school lah, the public just see the name =)

catherine: ya i think homemade is the best too..

hisstory: I can't return to the workforce anytime soon unless i can find someone really good to take care of my son, hubby objected the idea of sending him to infant care saying that do u think the teacher will wipe his butt clean, attend to him when he cries etc. *sigh* no choice lor.. So our plan is send him to playgroup when he reach 18mths old. Then i can go back to work... I think Braiden will skip bottle completely. I wont introduce bottles anymore cos goin to weave him off bottle when he reach 12mths too... So i'll introduce him drinking via drinking cup directly when he is able to hold his cup well. haha.. :p

nini,

great article! i'm going to print it out and show my hb, haha. he's been making bb cry so much lately coz' he's adamant about getting him to learn to sleep on his own. sometimes i have to remind him that our son is only a BABY, not a toddler or adult yet!

celyn,

you're so lucky. i've always hated CNY coz' it's not really a holiday for me. so many places to visit and half the time, i dun know the ppl i'm visiting! the worst part is having to extend visitations...it's not just confined to those 2 days. the visitations continue over a few weekends.

Shint,
Doc advised me not to give soy milk to Adel unless he is proven allergic to protein in cow's milk due to lack in certain contents in soy milk. So if Kai not allergic, should just like him have normal milk...

Twinstars,
Your MIL doesn't sound very accomdating hor... is she difficult to get along ? Ask everybody come for dinner is a good thing, but are you paying ? must burn a hole in your pocket if you are... sigh... things with have to do just to get together with our own parents... why must it be so difficult ?!

hehe topic changed from pri sch to cny already?

twinstar,
Your mil quite mean to not allow you to eat with your family. This year you book for everyone, does that mean you have to pay for everyone?

My CNY usually quite relac cos PILs don't expect us to go visiting with them and my parents never ever go visiting. So it will be just shuttling between the 2 immediate families. I also don't like to eat with ILs cos no topic with them, lucky this year got baby. I can talk to baby!

happy mummy,

ur CNY so simple ar?

eh..... btw.. u dun hv to be a muslim coz u married a Malay?

After married... dun like CNY, coz MIL always wanna be the empress........ n deliberately make things difficult. Reunion dinner... we go to her place for dinner then back to my parents. She will make sure we go back late. Plus the range of food are all salty n oily which I dun like... but hv to force in. Rice must 1 big bowl..... torture leh.

Yuuri,

u can talk to bb during CNY............ my gal wont be with me loh... coz MIL sure will snatch away...... & I will look like a hawk watching over her.

hisstory,
mil never see the light la, she only think it is convenient that she doesn;t need to cook. actually i have always been the "gatherer" arranging for:
my family,
my bro's wife family
my hubby's family
my sil's hubby's family
n both my granny n hubbies

it is lots of fun to have the whole group together. but alot of stress cos need to cather to everyone;'s whims n fancies

reirei,
i'll understand if mil kept the standard. but she is double standard. she expects her daughter to eat reunion dinner with her n will not bulge on timing. it must be actual reunion dinner time summo.so all of us have to give in to her timing n she refuse to eat earlier so we can leave to the other dinner

val,
alot of work lor, cos everyone have their preference. at times i get fed up n throw temper then they scared. ha

catherine, celyn,happymummy
i'm always stressed by this reunion thinggi every year. the prob i have is both my mom n my mil want reunion dinner on the actual day at 6pm. both refuse to give in. no one wants to eat a day earlier, they dun even want to eat reunion lunch. even wen i go mil's place n start dinner early. mil refuse to let us go off. she show black face n say we must accompany her to watch tv, cannot jus eat dinner n go off. only 8pm then let me go. they stay in west, my family stay in the east. by the time i go to my mom;s everyone is waiting for me to show face cos they all ate liao

dinner is split 3ways la. hubby, my bro n sil's hubby will share the bill. this is our first try. *cross finger*

yuuri,
can see my above post. oh, my sil wants to buy the dinky dinner. how to get frm u? her first choice is red, if dun have black. she is leaving in a mth. can make it on time?

twinstars
Hope your reunion dinner goes well. I cannot imagine my ILs and my parents join together reunion dinner. Everyone will be so courteous and disgusting! haha

What date is ur sil leaving? My bp ends on the 27th and if all goes well, provided we get enough orders...I'm guessing I can receive the stocks around 6th Feb.

yuuri,
me too. can't imagine fil and my parents having reunion dinner together. it will be so fake cos everyone will be couteous.

happy mummy,
i see. rosyth got lots of activities one, school is open even on sun. they used to be my alarm clock every morning with the national anthem, that's how close they are to me.

yuuri,

wah, i like your in-laws man! how nice if dun have to go visiting and we all exchange ang pows thru gathering instead. it's like that for my dad's side now. we only visit those who are elderly (not many left anyway), else we'll have lots of houses to visit cos my parents are the youngest. my hb's parents are one of the oldest and we have gatherings also but still expected to go visiting over and above. ppl also want to visit us although we're a fairly young couple. believe it or not, his aunties will come over to our place to visit. we don't decorate our house much...quite bo chap abt CNY coz' we don't like to put much red stuff at home.

sylvia,

if your family is not big, try to have your reunion the day before lor. for me, i've never had the chance to have reunion with my family the day b4 cny but i'll arrange to have it the weekend before or something. thank goodness my bro still not married and my family is small, so dun need much coordination.

Krex
For a moment, I was stunned cos how can anyone like my in-laws?? Haha..in the aspect of CNY, yah quite good don't have to visit every san gu liu po or else I think I will die cos almost all my life, I never go visiting and I don't like to make small talk about the weather.

yuuri
yes what bp on the way ??

exersaucer
hb said we should go n buy one for bb this weekend.. I said better rent cos dunno bb will like it or not.. it's quite ex somemore. he said bb has no choice mah.. :p mommies with exersaucer, which brand is good and do ur bbs like them ? TIA

coolsnow,
marmite contain yeast leh and the content of sodium is too high for a baby which is less than 1 year old. Can ask your in law dont give? No choice got to insist her not to give.

reirei,
yah she is still sleeping soundly, think i am the one who too deep in sleep until she move move move till i dont know.

valnsw,
yaya i stock up alot at home, cos i can eat also mah and the content is good compare to other snack.

cat
I see.. marmite sounds tasty for us though :p

Msapple
wah ur gal is so good uh ?
my gal even if she flip in her sleep, sure will wake up one
so has to sit beside her during her nap to stop her from flipping in sleep

lingling,
during night time when she flip, she will half open her eyes and *pong* back to sleep on her tummy, I just leave her as it is. During day time, she only nap for awhile.

krex,

my mil always say " can, nt a prob. go for both dinner", then she will not do wat she said.......

I actually cut down coz the time delay, I wont be able to attend the big family dinner.

My parents staying with me, so I have to go home ..... so dinner is....

maybe can suggest what u wrote.

Jen,
I add in mine.

Re: Westside Gathering
Venue: Hillview area (TBC)
Date: 15 Feb (Sunday)
Time: 11am (lunch potluck)
Program: Swimming if weather permits, so Easterners, Southerners, Northerners welcome too...
Attendees:
1. Gayle + hubby + evie
2. Jen + hb + Phil
3. happy mummy + HB + Adel
4. Interrace ?
5. Snowhamster ?
6. M2B ?
7. Sylvia ?
8. Denise ?
9. Yuuri - cannot make it on Sundays
10. msapple + Amabel + Aisleyne + Maid

just saw the attendees ..hahaha...added in mine :

Re: Westside Gathering
Venue: Hillview area (TBC)
Date: 15 Feb (Sunday)
Time: 11am (lunch potluck)
Program: Swimming if weather permits, so Easterners, Southerners, Northerners welcome too...
Attendees:
1. Gayle + hubby + evie
2. Jen + hb + Phil
3. happy mummy + HB + Adel
4. Interrace + emre + hubby
5. Snowhamster ?
6. M2B ?
7. Sylvia ?
8. Denise ?
9. Yuuri - cannot make it on Sundays
10. msapple + Amabel + Aisleyne + Maid

Sylvia,
Religious sensitivity, better don discuss here=) anyway, Chinese sure celebrate CNY, nothing religious cause I dun pray...

Twinstars,
Good luck for your reunion dinner ! It will be so crowded !

ya..i feel so uncomfortable with my MIL giving marmite too...but she always like this give already then tell me...sigh...i think i need to look into solutions instead of whining here but really not easy to handle this..things are always more sensitive between DIL and MIL..sigh

dinky diner

twin stars u interested? i have one black unopened. one green opened but unused....can send to u straight away. black one i bought from last bp...