(2008/08) Aug 2008

april, am interested in ur friso 2 if u're ok... u do not accept pm. pls e-mail me at [email protected] thanks...

sorry to interrupt.

Snow,
Can I have more detail about the BM thaw and warm cup. I'm very interested. Can still order??

Shint,
When i breastfeed my #1 exclusively that time, even when i drag the timing, there is no dip. As long as you empty ur breast well. I think there shouldn't be any dip unless you got blocked duct.

Essie,
According to few LC. There is no pump can empty the breast totally except the baby that can do the job well if not hand express after that lor. But those high end dual electric pump can do better but still wont totally empty. I am using that and I still hand manual to empty it so i wont have a dip in supply.

Re: bathing baby
Be confident. Hold the baby comfortably, use a gentle swing mode when putting the baby down the water. The tiny toe gently touch the water first then slowly swing her down and body down to the water. Pat some water on her chest.Keep talking to her and calm her down, telling her how fun and sweet bathing can be. All moving and rubbing must be very gentle like massaging like that. That is what I learn and have been doing and my girl love bathing.

aurora,
Should intro solid after 6 months will be better. And if ur bb is premature, the most u should intro after 6 months

Celyn, i think there's nothing wrong with giving ur BB FM leh. I oso give Falisha FM at nite so it could last her longer stretch. Daytime then give BM. Ok mah...LOL...dun worry la

Re: Changing of FM brand
I feel that it's better to stick to a brand - if ur BB is not 'sensitive' to it and can drink it well. For Falisha i give her Wyeth S26 (liquid one) at the hospital after birth and once discharge i gave her Nan 1 till now. She seems fine with it. heh.

Shint, i oso notice a dip for mine if i drag too long hours. But i think my timing for pumping super bad leh. Cos my BM supply is usually quite low now and i only pump my timing as:
12-1am / 10-11am / 6-7pm and the cycle goes on... if i tried to pump like less than 3-4hrs, not much siah...maybe can only get 50ml only man. So sad...

Snow, i oso shocked when i saw yesterday's date posts archived liao! Ahahaa...

Hi Shint,

Can I join in the Feeding survey of Aug babies as of 21 Aug – resume again next month?

Nick = April
Per Feed = Approx 125ml (5 Oz)
Freq = 3 to 4 hrs
Sleep last feed = 4 to 5 hrs
Age = 7 weeks
Weight = 6 kg
Weitght at Birth = 3.08kg

I hope I havent missed out anything

Faeriekim & Snow,
If i'm not wrong, oni part IV of the Employment Act excludes pple who earn more than S$1600.
Refer to the first line: http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Who_the_Employment_Act_Covers.html

Maternity benefits fall under part IX. So as long as the female employees satisfy the criteria as stated in the following website, they shld be entitled:
http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Maternity_Leave.html

Dongle,
I din read wrongly hor? S$30 for a honey dew?!
So how different does it taste? :0

Aurora, M2B,
Ya..it was utterly 'er xin' loh! there could be hundreds of cockroaches in the house!
i realli wonder how they could survive without being sick leh..cos i dun tink they sterilise the milk bottles for the baby loh..

amabel, how u use hand to squeeze? by the time i finish using my electric pump, breasts quite soft already. squeeze also nothing come out. i'm contemplating using manual pump for office but i scared my ss will drop. it's so heavy carrying the electric pump + FTG back everyday!!!

Thanks mummies,

Just now, just had another battle during bath time. I pat her with wet cloth, wet her chest and been telling her about bathing...still she cried her lungs out... Took more than 30 minutes to soothe her down... :|
Tomorrow I will try Amabel's swing mode. Wish me luck!

Re: hand express
After hand express, do your breasts feel bruised or 'blue-black'? Mine sometimes have, I am so worried that I might have hurt or damage the milk glands by imposing too much force... Sometimes the breasts can be so painful after that..

Another question, do your babies need to be carried to sleep? Or you leave them on the cot and they sleep on their own? Again, my little pricess needs to be carried and rocked. Sometimes she needs to suckle at mummy's nipple to fall asleep... I am trying to break this habbit and want to train her to sleep independently...she is 10 weeks old btw. too early?

RE: Hand Express.

I do that too. Cos I am using the Avent Manual pump and I feel thats the only way to empty your breast. But its better to apply the nipple cream after each pump so that your breast wouldnt be sore.

celyn,
ok, will bring along yr items for the gathering...

nini,
so i bring along yr spree stuffs too ah?

YLN,
it will be a disappointing trip if i din get anything... hahaha... but exchange rate reli bad cos my SIL ask me to buy shiseido cleanser & told me it's abt S$50+... checked over there & it's also abt S$50+ after exchange rate... not worth...

could yr gal have wind/colic? did you try ridwind or gripe water or dentinox for her yet?

M2B,
haha, the 1st japanese gal who greeted me & shouted kawaii from 2 metres away was the immigration officer... i thot something wrong & immediately realised that kawaii means cute... hehe... yup, i think tokyo city got very few bbs, that's why... but got 1 sporean lady came up to me after our return flight & told me "she's so beautiful!!!"... reli makes me a proud mummy...

snow,
thanks... i missed yr ON spree... the prices reli drop a lot...

reirei,
yup, we always saw japanese honeydew selling in isetan supermkt at S$60 to S$90 & wonder how it taste... wen we were at ueno's ameyoko (food street)... they sell per piece at $3... we ate 2 pieces & then bot 1 whole fruit back... HB wanted to buy 2 but it was quite heavy & we need to hand carry quite a lot of stuffs back...

the taste... vv sweet & soft after chewing on it... melts in yr mouth kind...

ruixuan
heheh, i know what u mean.. Right now i think i want to go back to work, esp so when my ger can get diff.. But i think when i do go back to work, i wld miss her too

dongle
Can do.. 12-5pm is a gd time for us too

Ur hp no. in the mail??

wah, ur honey dew cost $30..

krex
Rest well when u can.. Oh yah, this weekend is a long weekend

Why wld u hb be unhappy abt it? Coz got to trouble his mum ah? Think it's better to talk to ur hb abt it first.. Better play safe

dear mommies!!

so many posts ah ..
is my 1st day back at work today, so think i can actively read and post liaoz..hahaha..
sure missing my boi now..

joining in the survey :
Nick = Interrace
Per Feed = Approx 90ml
Freq = 3 to 4 hrs
Sleep last feed = 4 to 5 hrs
Age = 11 weeks
Weight = 4 kg as of one mth later, now no idea how much he weigh.
Weitght at Birth = 3.11kg

april , how to add to facebook ?

re : gathering
dun think be joining ..next time perhaps.

re : baby sucking hand
anyone of ur babies doing that ?? mine sucking till got suck suck sound from his mittens ...and the whole mitten got so wet!! any advice on this ?

re : baby poo
what is the color of ur baby's poo ? mine is greenish yellow, is this normal ? last time used to be bright yellow, after i change to the sg version of enfalac, his stools become greenish yellow ??

ReiRei,
Yalor, and the elder gal doesnt know numbers like 7,8 & 9 at 5yo...quite sad...I always make sure my #1 watch it with me and tell her how fortunate she is so must treasure what she has and not be wasteful etc...

Dongle,
Understd how you feel abt being proud when someone commented...when I brgt bb to Vivo during my ML, there was this Caucasian couple who came up to me and commented that my gal is a beautiful bb too and it really makes my day.

My hb also very proud coz there was once he brght my #1 to a foodcourt and chanced upon the TV actress Xiang Yun and her family and the actress actually came up to my hb and told him that my #1 is very pretty...he immd message me...hahaha

Ya ya, Japan honeydew very ex but NICE!

hisstory, yeah, i think he'll say that his mom is almost 70 already, ask her come over so early in the morning not very nice. but the thought of just 4 hours of sleep each day and having to lug so much bb luggage over every morning and then making our way back home makes me feel so xian.

Interrace,
just about to ask mommies about this. My gitl also start sucking her hand and thumb recently (turn 2 months). Hubby keep asking me to intro pacifier. He say better to such pacifier than thumb at least pacifier can wean off. But I not really wish to intro pacifier since she never alway cry to be pacify mah. But came to think abt it, really no gd to let her suck the finger nor mitten cos ppls may touch her finger so dunno her hand clean or not.

Re: empty breast
How I hand express -> I will press my breast from up toward the areola and squeeze the areola part to squeeze the milk out, do it for all direction until no single drop left.
As for blue-black, so far I no such problem even for the #1 also no problem. BUT when you got blocked duct usually when you hand express you will feel very painful and hard on certain part of the breast and then it may be red or blue black abit

April, ok will add u in facebook but i very seldom login one

Essie,
Wish you good luck. Hope ur bb will enjoy bathing soon.

dongle,

april tan,
i got my car seat from mothercare at about $400 meant for infant to 4 years old. the brand is concord.

essie,
my boy need to be carried to sleep in the beginning too. now i try to put him down and pat him to sleep instead of carrying. sometimes, can't work then i will carry for a while then put him down again.

changing of fm:
mummies, thanks for all your advise. i think i will stick to mamax loh since its encourage to stick to one. thanks.

Interrace! Long tmie no hear from u! Hehe..Falisha oso same la, suck the whole fist until mitten wet...am running outta mittens if i accumulate her clothes to wash for 3days! Hahaha..

dongle
my gal's crying craze starts after her feed(i noticed)..once she finish her milk..burped already..throw up alittle..n *WAAAAAAWWWW**...start liao...yested went on for half an hour...until i perspire like mad..maybe its really colic..the very jialat kind..hmm..think later i will put dentinox in her milk for the feed and see how...but i read cannot keep giving colic drops cuz no good..hmm..also dunno how...

faeriekim
sorry i neber see ur post earlier..if u cannot dong till thur...then u better get from other mummies here...YLN and doll_puppet..same same..heehee

Amabe|'s Mommy,

i tried giving him pacifier, but he dun want..he prefer his hands..u try giving ur baby pacifier ?

kerx78,
got many things to bring over meh ? i also today start first day placing my boi at my mom's place. ytd after feed my boi at 7pm..i imm packed things and head straight to bed...then he wake up at 12am to feed...then 5am ..i woke up at 5am, feed him, bath then head for mom's place.super early reach opi loh..and super tired also...everyday also gotta go and fetch him back..wonder how long i can last.
i only bring bottles in the morning, nothing else wor, u got many things to bring ??

Interrace,
yup try for fun and she want but after awhile i remove it. Dont really comfortable in offering her that when she is not even crying. But i find that bb look cute sucking pacifier. Hahaha think i am crazy

Interrace, krex
actually got a lot of things to packwhen bring baby to thecaregiver's place. when i bought my son to nanny's place, we actually bought a big toyogo container to put all the bb stuff. bring EBM also and steriliser... bb's detergent, bathsoap, bathtub, clothes... actually quite a lot of things
plus still need to carry baby..

chin chin..
yup..back at work..so got time to post!!
me too...run out of mittens and rompers if i dun wash his clothes for 3days. always rotating his rompers and mittens.

krex
no wonder.. She's oredi 70 ah. Then maybe buy another set of things to be placed there, then dun have to lug?
Erm, why 4 hours of sleep only ah? Def there's the night feed.. U gotta wake up much earlier huh?

interrace
Nice to hear fr u again!

Sama sama, my ger is also into sucking her mittens now.. I think it's so disgusting! hahah! But she refuses pacifier too.. Dunno what to do with her

M2B
wow, u got praises for both ur gers leh.. Worth the 9mths of pregnancy & the disrupted sleep during their early days yah? Then can the mummy glow too!! *winks*

krex78,

my daily routine after i start work.
5.50am - wake up to pump, wash and sterilise pump
6am - feed baby if he wake up, after feed
by 6.30am - ready for work. carry baby and leave for babysitter's place.
6.45am - drop baby at babysitter's place.
7.40am - reach office
10.30am & 3pm - pump milk in office
5.30pm - knock off and take dinner
6.30pm - pick up baby
from 6.30pm - 9pm - i will have to pump, feed baby once or twice depending on his last feed at babysitter's place. play with him for 30mins, feed medicine then put him to sleep. i bathe.
10pm/11pm - pump milk
1am/2am - feed baby and pump

i have baby things over at babysitter's place so everyday, i just need to bring baby over and nothing else.

the cycle repeat, not much time to rest and sleep. then my 'gong gong' hubby must wait for my instruction before he starts moving to do things. i given have to nag at him to go bathe while i play with baby, then he can take over to play while i bathe. he is also like a baby, need me to tell him what to do.

Amabe|'s Mommy,
i also find baby with pacifier cute..but my boi not able to keep the pacifier in his mouth yet loh..keep puking it out.

hisstory,
thank you!! kekeke..always mia then come back hor..but during mia, i still read posts lah ..cos all relatable to what i am gg through!!
how ah ?? ur baby suck both pacifier and hand??

celynlee,
wa..not much time to sleep and rest lei.. u not tired ah ? think all breastfeeding moms are very wei da!!

ruixuan,
my babysitter only request for these items:
- clothes
- milk bottles
- nappy liners
- diapers
- gripe water
- baby bath
- bath towel
- nappy covers

i provide these on my own:
- pillow
- beansprout pillow
- pacifier
- socks
- hanky

as for ebm, i will transport about 30 bottles at 1 go. once or twice a week to her place to store.

interrace,
i'm tired. good thing is that i'm on 3 day work week for this month and next month. so at least got time to slowly adapt the changes loh. so on my rest day, i either rest at home or go shopping loh. i will still send baby over then come back to sleep till 11am. heheheh....

interrace
huhhuh.. working gives u abit more time to surf hor?
she's only sucking the mittens n oredi i think it's disgusting.. i havent removed her mittens, i think it wld be worse!!

interrace
yup, i buy 2 steriliser, 2 warmer. one set at home, one set at nanny's place.
and that was only first time i brought him to nanny's place, i need to carried so many thing over.

my baby stay five days and night in nanny's place so these are the items i brought over:

items i bring over to nanny's place:
- 5 rompers
- 5 sets of clothes (either long or short sleeves and long pants)
- 3 shorts
- 3 singlets
- 1 pillow and 1 bolester
- 1 pillow case and 1 bolester case
- 3 sets of go out clothing
- 2 wrappers
- 10 napkins
- 10 hanky
- 2 toys
- 6 pairs of mitten
- 6 pairs of booties
- 1 comb
- 2 pkts of diapers
- 3 packets of wet wipes
- 2 bottles of baby powder
- 1 box of nappy liners
- 1 bath tub
- 1 steriliser
- 1 milk warmer (end up, nanny dun want use)
- 2 avent bottles (for water purpose)
- 2 avent pacifers
- 1 bottle of kodomo laundry detergent
- 1 JnJ body wash
- 1 milk brush
- my son's medication
- my son feeding recording book (this is to keep trace wat son was feed as nanny with age catching up can't remember thing well.. i will be able to how many time baby's poo per day)
- Frozen EBM
- 2 beansprout pillows

whenever, i bring my son back, i will need to take back those glass bottles, one of his beansprout pillow, record book and definitely not forgetting my son.

when i bring my son over, i will need to transport frozen EBM, his beansprout pillow, record book and top up items that nanny request.

<font color="0000ff">Wendy</font>
me also full BF my baby and i also have some occasional light bleeding. i asked my gynae and he said that's not menses wor. He explained something but i forgot what he said...hahah..

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
11weeks can start on solid?? err...perhaps u should see another PD to get 2nd opinion first. i haven't heard so young can start wor.
btw, ur bb can sleep for 5hours, that's quite good liao mah. If you read the book "The No-Cry Sleep Solution" by Elizabeth Pantley, she says that for newborn (her definition of newborn is birth to 4months), if can sleep 5hours straight, that is sleeping thru the night already!
SHe says once baby is biologically ready, we can encourage more progress i.e. take steps to lengthen the sleep hours.
hee...i haven't read finish her book yet. thus can't tell u what r the steps. :p
Now me moving house, so no time. I also wanna work towards my bb sleeping longer hours. My bb, to-date, the longest she can sleep is 6hrs only.

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
wow u really have a good &amp; hardworking maid. Lucky u ;)
me still dunno what classes i wanna sign up for my bb...like so many in the market...see/read until i confuse liao. Must ask for your advice.

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
u mean ur hubby cutup the border in shorter pieces? like that not difficult to join back meh? i mean need extra effort to join back very carefully.
i still haven't stickup the whole room yet. that night we stop halfway coz wanna see on next morning, will the border fall off or not.
end up it's still on the wall but small parts like can't stick properly. but it's not very obvious unless u stand right infront of it. but still i'm not happy leh... :p
The 1st roll we used, the quality is definately better one. The paste (after submerged into water) is really very slimy, which means got alot of paste there. The 2nd roll, after submerged into water, when we touch, can't really feel the 'sliminess'.

remember last time we said after i shifted to SK, we can meetup in Compasspoint for tea ;)
hee...but with babies on tow, i think better we meetup at either one of our place. ;)

yeah my Mom will continue stay in SG to help me for at least another 1 month. but i think most probably she'll stay until Dec. She really sayang my gal. When she came back that day, the 1st thing she did once stepped into my condo is rush to see her. :p

msapple &amp; missysz
sorry for late reply.
u gals wanna buy that drugstore warmer also?
dun mind let me noe asap ya?

dongle
dun worry lah, there is always a next spree...hee hee....

ruixuan,
my hubby will wake up in the night when baby eh eh. then he will ask me, baby want me is it? i go make milk is it? only when i nod my head or say first, then he will wake up to warm milk. sigh.....

snow,
how much is the drugstore warmer convert to sgd + shipping? also how to use ar? need to use electric? seems like everyone is getting it leh....so me tempting also haha

ruixuan,
yah... that's my hubby. can be irritating too. especially in the morning, when its a super mad rush for me. i still have to entertain his 'stupid' question.

celyn
that's y we opt for 5 days and night care, everyday very rush will be headache plus shorten my life span due to blur blur hubby..

celyn
ya lor....ha ha....i myself also haven decide whether to buy or not.
its ok lah, next time explore more new things must jio okie? =D