(2008/08) Aug 2008

Halo Mommies!
I’m back to work liao..dun feel too bad although I miss both my princesses…hehe
Already told #1 to call me when she is back home from school…

Medusa,
I’m back to work liao but have some balance ML to clear off in Nov & Dec so not too bad…guess it takes abit of getting used to work life again after 10 weeks of “rest”…heehee

Dongle & YLN,
After resting for so long sure sian to start work, but I think after getting the “engine” started, everything will be ok soon. Cheer up k? =P

Hisstory,
That postman really jovial lor…that day another postman delivered my gals’ leggings…luckily diff 1…hahaha

Valnsw,
Yup, most of the BPs that I joined are for the kids too! Chevelle didn’t sleep from 1 to 6am?! Thatz really a long time? Slept too much in the day?

Krex,
The neck float can used till 2yo as stated.

Ruixuan,
I will chose the JW nanny too.

Megan,
Good harvest from the sale?

Catherine,
I have already placed order for the CDs already. Thanks for coordinating!

Dongle,
Have a great trip! Enjoy!

Roiv,
My gal likes to sucks her fingers and fist too…hahaha, quite cute!

Snow,
Maybe my #1 is big liao so I have no prob with taking care of both alone...can bring both out together too as my #1 volunteer to carry all the barang barang..heehee
I’m planning to bring bb for her 2nd swim this Sun…heehee

Celyn,
Glad Yu Ze is discharged already…must be happy to be home.

faeriekim
my myanmar maid's english also very jialat ..but now she picking up slowly..she now even know when we talking about her , in chinese!..once..my hubby was very angry with my MIL for giving my maid too much food..and my maid actually asked if sir was angry with her(my maid)!..i think once we talk to them very frequently in english, they will get used to our terms..but 50% of instructions i give, she still catch no ball..and i must repeat 2-3 times then can lor..but i giving her till nov...if she dun improve her attitude, i will change her liao..so now, i dun bother to teach her anymore...she do wrong, i jsut tell her off, i dun bother to correct her ..so tired of repeating myself and correcting her..4 months plus liao still blur..so most things i do myself now..

Celyn
Urine tract infection... quite serious... most of the times UTI need to ultrasound of the kidneys, ureter, bladder, and urethra. what antibiotic is he on? augmentin or zinnat? U must let him drink more water as he got UTI and on antibiotic. must keep Yuzhe's penis clean, sometime is the poo that trap inside the foreskin.. that what happen to my friend's son and fever went up to 40 degee and threw fits.

Twin Star
the NUk teat (yellow- orange type) will turn pale yellow after sterilising and sooner the teats will start becoming sticky.. u want disposable NUK teat, i try to get for u...

Celyn,
oh dear! Any idea wat caused yuze's UTI?

Dongle,
Enjoy ur trip! Must be so exciting, travelling with ur bb.

valnsw,
interesting article! my bb very funny one. 1 day can be sleepy whole day, the next day awake most of the time. Still trying hard to set a routine. But difficult cos even at 9pm, my mil will still wanna carry him and say dun sleep so early!!! Pengz.. :S worst? hubby on her side and say bb very pitiful to hv a routine. I really dunno why his thinking like tt.

M2B / Shint/ Valnsw,
Me 4! Spend so much on BP tt hubby dun dare to ask how much i spent. But then my MIL very kaypoh, wanna know what i buy. If i say some stuff, she'll keep pressing for the details and the cost! My mother won't ask more if she knows i dun wanna say lor. I really feel like no privacy... haiz, the woes of staying with inlaws.

hisstory,
my bb no longer sleeps thru the nite liao. Haiz. Now every nite will wake up for feed 2-3hrly. Think i'll also look at the book u recommended for some ideas.

Re: Bottle-feeding
I've bottlefeed my bb at least once a day for FM, sometimes a few times EBM. But tis week dunno why he suddenly reject bottle le. Cry till very cham. Any mummies facing this? How ar? His like tt for 5 days oredi.

Ruixuan,
the coleman cooler bag seems quite good and is cheaper than FTG. Any mummies got that and tried it?

The Jurong West nanny seems better? Her children all quite big liao, so she can look after ur bb 100%.

I'm also eating more. 5 meals a day. Haha.. so much for trying to lose weight, prob bf makes us hungrier. :p But i read somehere that bf mums need only additional 500 calories per day.

happydough,
my bb takes his jabs at PD too, cos the cost difference not very much and I can consult PD on bb matters.

M2B
ya..i think once engine start..shld be ok le...
..cheering myself up by telling myself will go shopping at Taka this fri to buy new 'bigger' working clothes that actually fit me!~..sigh..

sucking fingers/whole fist
my bb yesterday put her fist into her mouth n keep having the ' i want to vomit already!' kind of look...the mouth want to vomit like dat..many times le..how to prevent them from putting the whole fist in? then once put in..saliva all over the mouth..a few times..she put in..and actually vomitted milk lor..sigh..how how?

bathing bb 2 times a day
just wondering when can we bath bb 2 times a day? my MIL say when bb bigger..but how big is big? and if bath in the evening, what time is best ar?

ruixuan,

nuk got disposable teats? wat material is it in? no need to wash? use n throw? ex or not?
the latex ones i use after like a mth or so, need to change liao cos it gets very soft n will leak milk all over her chest when she sucks.
i tried the bfree bottle...think the air somehow get stuck in her air passage n she will cry due to discomfort till she burp out. strange, it;s suppose to be anti colic n no need to burp

re: 1st trip w bb
thanks all for the well wishes... hopefully everything turns up well... so many things to pack, im still going through cayla's stuff again & again... very scared i forget something...

re:nuk latex teats
i throw them away after 1 month cos it kind of "expanded" & turn colour, i never sterilise lei cos the salesgal at kiddy palace say dun need to sterilise, just rinse with hot water b4 using...

medusa, celyn, snow, missy, aurora, shint, val,
rec yr transfers... thx...

Just back from gym…feel so refreshed now…

Twin Stars,
Where did you go for your wedding anniversary celebration? So nice!
Haha, Snow is tempting you not me coz I can’t go as I started work liao…heehee
Yalor, I always kena the same postman to deliver the registered parcel up but luckily I used my name instead of nick… =P

Twin Stars & Ruixuan,
My own home in Jurong West too!

Aurora,
Haha, my mom will ask me what did I buy when the postman delivers and I’ll unwrap for her to see but I always add this “cheaper to order than buy from shops”…=P

YLN,
Yup, once “engine” started liao, will be ok aldy…just now my #1 called and update me on what she and meimei are doing so felt so much better…but I can’t wait to ko and see them lah…heehee

BTW, I can fit back my working pants already! So happy man!

Bath – I bathe bb once and then wipe clean and change into PJs in the evening…they not dirty so dun have to bathe so many times right?

ruixuan,
yah. we are told about all the scans and checks. he is taking cephalexin, 3ml 3 times a day for 12 days then once at night for 8 weeks.

aurora,
they didn't mention the cause of it. we are also wondering why.

happy 2mths old to all fellow 0808 bb. =D

twin stars
hee hee...will be going taka tmr instead, my friend & i cannot wait liao. =P
no 1 can help u look after ur bb even awhile? =(

m2b
taka member sale last till sunday mah, u still can go leh.
ya lor, age gap greater really very mach diff hor?

if swimming during wkend hor, i suggest u call up to make appointment 1st lor.
what time u plan to go? =)

dongle
thx for the effort in coordinating the spree.

Hi Mummies, finally got time to read and post. Just brot Falisha for the 6-in-1 jab day b4 yesterday. She was pretty ok but after awhile became cranky. Had very mild fever but toady she's ok liao, just that she's still abit cranky. Any Mummies experienced this?

aurora
my hubby went to buy the coleman cooler bag just now.. will try tonight and feedback to you tomolo.

TwinStar
nuk dun sell disposable teats outside but i can get for u. can use and throw. or use it for a week and thenthrow. will pm u whe i got it. since stay so near, FOC for u.

Twin Stars & M2B
but i stay in Boon Lay place. my estate is a very old block; got 30 year plus flat. i stay same block as my in law but diff floor. thought my in law will help in caring for baby but end up, they reject.

celyn
it is not easy to feed baby on medication. my baby was on motilium, zantac and ridwind since he was 1 month still now. i mix in his milk. luckily, he dunno the taste. (when i feed him the medication just alone without the milk, my son will spit out and vomit out.)

dongle, u going on a trip with bb? where to? i'm thinking of going nearby, maybe batam or bintan in dec. not sure how to prepare for the trip as bb is not latching on and i want to give him BM. also, very troublesome to sterilise bottles, etc. when travelling, and dunno if babysitters at the hotel can be trusted. can share with me your experience when u're back? tks!

i remember some mummies posted on roughly how much baby should be drinking per day based on their weight. anyone still remember? i need it as a rough guide.

yu ze's intake of milk had gone haywire, i don't know how to feed him now. think going to feed him on demand now, hopefully he can finished his usual or more.

ruixuan,
what happen to your baby? why need so much medication?

i feed him before milk cos at least that time he is still hungry will drink.

Thanks Roiv! Will bring him down one of these days ... Now his hairstyle like astroboy.
When i tell him that, he smiles ;)

Happie,
Thanks for offering. It's ok, i think i order with Catherine then she can send via post lor.
CD quite cheap to post, not bulky.

celynlee,
Oh dear, UTI. I have a fren whose son also had UTI ... always kenna fever, on antibiotics, etc.
If u need more info, I can link u up with that friend, she's a nice lady, from the same forum as my #1.

U bring Yu Ze to the malay barber? haha, maybe they'll cut the Armani hairstyle for him...kekee.

Little twin star,
I think nobody communicate and play with her lor.
My son also eh eh eh all day ... but my maid will talk to him and to some extend entertain him. At least when i am at home la.

6-in-1 jab
Be bringing baby when he is 2 months old? need to bring to PD anytime before that?
since i stopped going to polyclinic after his jaundice is ok, i have not gone for any checkups.
is there a 1 month checkup on growth? if yes, can wait till the jab and do the assessment together or is it a separate check?

hi mommies, need some advice here:

expressing BM at work:
those mommies who are expressing BM at work, do u do it in a pte room or at your own cubicle? if there's no avail room, what's the best way to pump at your work station w/o disturbing your colleagues?

swaddler:
does your bb still like to swaddle? mine didn't like swaddling after 2 weeks but when he turned 2 mths, he started to like swaddling again. is this a good sign? it's like he's regressing instead of wanting to explore his limbs. the swaddler i bought him is too small already. shld i buy a bigger size one?

toys:
any developmental toys to recommend? my bb doesn't seem to like his gym very much. cries everytime i let him exercise his tummy and play with the toys. i think he wants to play but can't dunno what toy to buy. so far, i'm still using the musical mobile and the fisher price rocker which has some hanging toys above.

gynae:
can anyone recommend a good gynae? i'm worried about my bleeding because it came back again after a 1 week hiatus. and sex is hurting a lot. think i better consult a gynae to see what's happening.

hisstory,
I am currently reading 'Healthy sleep habits, Happy Child' by Dr Marc Weissbluth book. Tried the method on my son abt 2 years ago. Quite good so borrow again this time to try on my gal.

twin stars
happy anniversary!! where did u go to??
*haiz* my ger can't laugh or smile yet.. she only do those when sleeping..
waiting eagerly when she can grin & start making the cute cooing sounds *heehee*

M2B
heheh, maybe the new postman also notices ur many packages!!
how's work??

aurora
ur boy's on FM at night? (paiseh, i have forgotten) My ger's on TBF & the last few nights, she actually managed to stretch her feeds to abt 5-6hrs.. Thankfully, coz during the day, she's quite demanding

Do hope the book's useful.. I haven't read it myself though

happycat
ooh goodie! I shall go lay my hands on it soon

snow,
hehe, you tempting me w taka sale ah? =P
i'm thinking to bring bb for a swim on Sun coz Sat my gal having class leh...initially was thinking to bring today and then start work tmr but decided to reserve the ML for Nov and Dec instead...

yup, i think age gap really makes a diff lor but 2 schools of thought, some like to have smaller age gap though...

ruixuan,
my home is near the mrt station...
the last time why we chose jurong is because near to ILs but who knows my MIL doesnt dare to take care of bbs...if I know in the 1st place, I will insist on sengkang since nearer to my mom's place lor...but nvm lah, now we staying with my parents on weekdays instead and own parents are still the best lor coz anything we dun like can voice out mah...heehee

hisstory,
I still have many packages on the way leh...maybe shd change to office address instead...hahaha

work so far ok lah, taking it easy this week...heehee..me looking at how to clear leave =P

M2B,
we use our feed at raffles card to stay in raffles hotel lor. u started work? how time really flies. which gym u go to? me dunno to sign up with gym or marie france or london weight management lei. sian, still haven got back my figure. u stay in JW too? high 5
can meet up or go zoo together next time.
i also tell mil how cheap the things i buy online are. hubby told me mil told him, i;m very thrifty, buy alot of gd deal stuffs online. hubby wanted to laugh

snow,
nobody can help cos my mom already took leave to stay over at my place to help last few wks. mil still not back in s'pore

ruixuan,
i also bot resale, old flat but almost all my neighbors renovated so looks new. only prob is not enough parking space. all park illegally even in handicap lots! n never kena summon cos too many cars, not enough lots. strange that yr in laws rejected to help. tot most want to but we reject them. y not engage a maid to help n ask them to monitor? either they come up to yr place till u return frm work or the maid n bb stay with them till u finish work? cheaper than getting nanny? thanks for the nuk teat offer, ok i;ll wait or yr PM :p

shint,
i've started this thing: after milk if she does not want to sleep, i give her my full solid eye to eye contact attention n play for 1hr! after that bb sure sleep. but if i jus go n entertain for awhile n leave her. she will eh eh till the next feed! so i rather give her that 1hr so i can rest for 1-2hrs in between. if not v tired lei

csect:
can eat seafood like crab n prawns? i did n half my wound line turn pink n itchy. still thinking if i shld go seafood again this sat

celyn
motilium and zantac is to treat his reflux and ridwind is a colic drop.

what happened was overfed by CL when baby was 2-3 week old and baby keep throwing like merlion almost all his feed out plus went to see DR and Dr order an abdominal XRAY for him and saw his intestine all bloated with air...

M2B
hahah, directing office also quite shiok.. I like opening packages meant for me!!
2 more days till the weekend
I wish I can be like u, can think of how to clear leave.. My line sure doesn't have such a luxury..

M2B
me also thought the same. my mom stay yishun...

Celyn
Overfed mean the CL feed my baby 4 bottle of 100ml within 6hours...

twin stars
Ah, so nice to go for anniversary w/o bb.. Heheh, we did the same too, but just dinner at Halia

Ur hb's quite funny.. And i gather he dotes on u alotalot! Oh, ur RL stuff arrived? I was looking at some spree threads, but still haven't taken any action

U know, i also play with my ger for abt 45min after her feed if she looks really awake. Otherwise, if she isn't tired out, i will surely be wasting time making her sleep.. She sure knows how to protest!

hisstory,
sorry missed yr post.
u can read my reply to M2B :p
i never miss bb cos busy shopping. but at night i will look at her her photos on my hp ,hee

ruixuan,
my bb is also treated with reflux n ab pain, same meds but no need xtray.yrs so serious meh?

M2B,
same same....becos of in laws....mine will come n help me look after la. now i wanna shift to the far east where i use to belong lei then next time my girl can go to my scl: st hildas :p

huichin
my baby behave cranky for 2-3 days after the first jab, immediately when we reach home after the jab, we give a dose of panadol so never got fever. mt baby second dose vomitted milk feed also. dr say may be due to the jab

Shint
i think the first assessment start from 3month, mabe u can look at ur baby's health booklet.. 3mth.. baby able to hold head .. something like that. maybe spend time to read thru tt book...

twin star
dr lim quite famous to treat baby with such drug... my baby cos the chest to abdomen look like a pear... dr tot malformation

m2b
not tempting u lah, just let u noe that u wun miss it even u go bk to work liao lor.

u mean u went bk to work today liao ah? =|

actually my sis told me my #1 always feel sad when she saw other kids with their mummy, so think its more than age gap problem bah.

twin stars
then hor....i used to bring my #1 out with my maid when she is small actually, so its really up to individual.

ai yo, 3mths cannot eat seafood leh.
sayang, dun eat seafood any more ok?

ruixuan
my goodness! 400ml in 6hrs? -_-"

twin stars
Wah, busy shopping! I miss shopping with just HB, now with bb in tow, he takes care of bb & I daren't bother asking him for opinions. Afterall, i'm the one enjoying the shopping more than him.. Gd thing bb is a very easy bb when shopping *heheh*

How long did u stay? My BIL is offering us to go stay for a night, but now with bb quite hard leh..

Btw, my ger can now sleep between 30-50min each time she's in the cot (but not all the time lah). So thankful oredi!

huichin (repost)
my baby behave cranky for 2-3 days after the first jab, immediately when we reach home after the jab, we give a dose of panadol so never got fever. my baby second day vomitted milk feed also. dr say may be due to the jab

ruixuan,
hee, hope it's the right choice! at least tis one doesn't give u problems before even starting. btw, am always hungry n eating many meals. hope i can still fit into my clothes when i go back to work.

twinstar,
wow! hope u had fun celebrating ur anniv. my anniv will just silently pass tis yr. both of us having so much 'fun' handling 2 kids now.

YLN,
today my maid seems to be coping pretty well. haven 'kenna' fm me yet. haha.. i sound so mean hor? i better try to be nicer, like wat twinstar said, it's another ball game trying to cope wif a maid. :S
me oso tinking of going down to taka to get some working clothes!

krex,
my gynae quite awrite. or, shint oso happy wif hers
interested can PM me.

M2B
so good u can fit into ur pants...mine..sigh..wear already like ba zhang like dat..so disgustingly ugly..so sad..so this friday ..will go gai gai with hubby to find 1-2 working pants lor..

bathing
i also just wipe in the evening..but my MIL insist say can bath 2 times...n she want to bath my bb at 5plus in the evening..but i thinking..still got at least 2 more feeds after that...sure dirty again..i.e.perspire or throw up milk..was thinking to bath her before her last feed..maybe about 8plus..but dunno too late a not..

faeriekim
heehee..my maid also today never kena from me..wow..sound so evil hor...yesterday..my maid come and tell me..she say we everyday scold her...so feel she 'not good' (in her own words) and 'sir and madam, very good'...i dunno if it was supposed to be sarcastic ..heehee.but i think maybe she feel lousy everytime we tell her off..so she like dat say..hoping maybe we dun scold her anymore!..:p
but seriously, i wouldnt want to scold her if i had a choice..but she must also think y we tell her off ..hoping all these scolding will knock some sense into her..to work with her heart and work seriously...

Thanks ruixuan for sharing~! i hope her cranki-ness will be gone very very soon. She can cry suddenly like as if someone pinch her every 5mins for the whole 30mins siah...eh eh then sleep, eh eh then sleep. Aiyo...must carry then she keep quiet. Usually i will let her fall sleep by herself one...today...piangs :S

yuuri,
thanks on the info. yu ze is drinking only about 40-50ml now. so make us a bit worry. hopefully, its due to the medication.

shint,
thanks. i will let you know. knowing too much might not be a good idea sometimes. heheh....

ruixuan,
400ml in 6hours is really a lot leh. how your baby manage to take in all then.

krex,
maybe u try a dreambag/ sleeping bag for ur bb? It can be used till they r quite big.

hisstory,
yup. I give him 1 FM at nite. These few days he really jialat. Drinking only 40-50ml only. Dunno wat's wrong with him.

M2B,
hehee.. yah sometimes i oso open up for her to see. But if i buy sexy lingerie how? hahaa.. paiseh leh. :p

twin star,
Wah, think u shd abstain from seafood for a while more? 7 layers of tummy skin may require more time to fully heal. Seafood quite 'poisonous' leh.

U went overseas for ur wedding anniversary? My hubby wants to go for a short trip for our wedding anni too, but i 'bu she de' leave bb leh... hmm.. shd let go hor. Think hubby feeling neglected liao. :p Ur gal so cute! Complain to u the moment u r back. Think bb are v smart nowadays.

Ya man ruixuan, agree with celynlee, my Falisha oso only drinks slightly less than 200ml for 6hrs siah! Keke...

YLN, i oso wipe/clean up Falisha in the evening and bathe her in the morning. Ok mah...lol

but if u wAnna bathe her, try to use warm water if evening loh. So long ur bb dun catch a cold can liaoz la...hehe

Re: Bathing
Does any mummy here bathe ur BB and pour alittle bit of water over ur BB's head? For me i will pour bit by bit the last part(of her bath) so abit of water will trickle down her face and back of head so she'll not be scared of water. So far she always enjoy her baths. LOL.

Re: Mega Poo

Ahahaa...my girl oso sometimes whole day neber poo, suddenly will 'bestow' me with a whole lot of MegaPoo~! Until in front oso have! Piangs...like Medusa says, like thick curry! Ahahahaa...

Medusa, hv u brot ur girl to swimming at Hwa Xia that place liao?

krex,
im gg to japan w bb & HB for a 9 day trip... ambitious hor... even my gynae frown when i told her cos i ask her can i go & soak in onsen (hot spring bath) hahah... have to bring ALOT of bb things plus thicker clothes... now headache cos cannot fit all our stuff into our 30 inch luggage aledi... but i got this habit of throwing away stuffs when overseas e.g. i will wear older clothes/lingerie & throw them away like disposable clothing so that i can buy some stuffs back... hehe... will share more when i come back...

my gynae is quite good... female doc with 4 kids...

happycat,
read aledi give us some tips here ok?

M2B,
i also agree own mum take care best cos can voice out if unhappy & after that will forget the unhappiness one...

got one time i tried to tell my MIL nicely to wash her hands repeatedly b4 i pass cayla to her cos i saw her cough 10+ times into her hands... she showed me her hand & say "no need to wash, dirty meh?" & then "snatch" cayla away fr me... i was very mad & stomp upstairs & lock my door to do pumping... then i SMS my HB who was at the roof top trimming his "son" fur/nails to tell him his mum very dirty... after finish, i came down again then his mum say very loudly, "nainai go wash hands 1st then carry u ok?"... so obvious!!! the next weekend, she said the exact thing for me to hear... so difficult to wash hands meh? she was a nurse last time & got the cheek to tell my maid to wash hands & change clothes etc.. very difficult to voice out to ILs...

twinstar,
my mum saw so many boxes arrive fr vpost & kept asking oso... i told her i share w frens & all 50% off compared to sin prices... though i stop buying my own clothes & shoes for a while but my mum got this habit of nagging that my wardrobe & shoe cabinet burst liao.. i retort her by saying last time i stay at yr house u nag at me... now you stay at my house still come & nag at me!!! Plus duno isit my maid tell her i asked her to wash 30 over pieces of new clothes with price tags intact cos b4 i knew i was preggie, i was shopping wildly & then end up no chance to wear those clothes till now... hehe...

celyn

the CL fed the baby thinking baby is hungry after vomiting. she did not report to me tt baby vomit still one day when bb abt 2.5week old, i found out tt my EBm for the night finish fast. then i start to help her take care of bb till 11.30pm then i hand my baby over to her.

then actually bb due ard 12.30am, my bb cries 11.45pm, i heard her warm up EBM... fair enuff she can feed early...

next day i wake up, saw 4 bottle(plus the 11.45pm) missing, i query her, she say bb threw out and bb cant sleep so she feed. vomit.. feed.. vomit.. feed

daytime, she make sure my son finish all his 100ml feed lor

hiakz.. maybe she think feed more, sleep more..
but too bad lo.. my baby never sleep type. still today also..

pple see my baby say he got beautiful eyes but they dunno those are "never sleep type of eye"

ruixuan,
i see. lucky you found out early. i think experience babysitter will know how to make them sleep. for my boy right, he needs to sleep on his tummy at home. but at babysitter's place, he can sleep on his back or sometimes, she will put him on his side to sleep. she is also able to let him sleep in the playpen and play himself instead of keep carrying him. so i told her, yu ze knows who to bully.

aurora,
my boy also drink lesser now. it make me wonder what happen too. but as long as he is still active and drinks, don't really care too much loh.

Like to check wit U all, how does yr baby sleep.
My baby when sleep upright, cannot sleep for long, alway wake up whenever there's noise. He also tend to suddenly cried when sleeping.
Any ways to prevent all these.

Ms Tiffany
my bb love to sleep in my arms... at times, i put him sleep on his tummy.. but doesnt matter cos he seldom sleep long..