(2008/08) Aug 2008

msapple: Oh, thanks for the info! We cannot heat BM in hotwater? I just take out water from the flask n heat EBM in it.. I dont know if its more than 60deg??

nini, yup cannot, must less than 60 degree, both my PD and LC said that.

Shay,
Yup for my #1, my boob alway super engore. Less than 3 hours, i super painful already. Hate that kind of feeling. Now #2 also latch on most of the times, start pumping twice a days now. So dont alway feel engore

Nini for your info, this is what i did... if i went out need to make warm and make sure the water is not too hot (more than 60 degree). I pour the hot water from the flask in a bowl, add abit cold water to cook down the hot water abit.

Shay,
mine also hit the terrible 2. Even my hubby want to go work rather than stay at home. Me also cannot tahan her. Bring her to the CC we enrolled her, even the teacher see liao said she hyperactive plus having very bad temper, need lot of attention. They joke that dont send her in so soon let them relax for awhile first. haha

medusa,
ya i bought the baby bjorn synergy. So far so good. used it twice and both times she was quite comfy and slept.

I also dont like my maid to carry. i told hubby since we have a choice then better not. Esp since now my girl likes to suck on my arm or shirt when i carry her. so i dont want her to be sucking on the maid. sigh .. quite contradicting cos the maid is suppose to help us but yet we are reluctant to let her.

jassie,
isetan have 15% off all models excpt the synergy

RTCP,
must use isetan card for additional disc and points

YLN,
what if your maid comes to you and ask if she can carry ? my maid yesterday asked me if she can carry, i said ok. then after 10 mins i ask her to go cook dinner. hahaha. can see she wants to carry or play with bb. sometimes i know she means no harm, but i worry that she misses her children and later take bb as replacement. hahaha.

re: personalized CDs from 75volt.com
They have come back to me and offered us 20% disc off the list price on the website. min qty is 30pcs. They will give us a promo code and we can order on the website itself. min pcs per order per location is 2 pcs. If we dont hit the min qty of 30pcs, then they will refund us via the method payment is made.

Can I just check who is interested and how many pcs ?

1. Catherine - 2pcs

huichin,
i bought the synergy 269 I think. cos mothercare card got 10% disc. list price is 299. Synergy is the more airy one and can carry up to 12kg.

Shint,

Ya. I drink it cos' dun wan to waste it. Tried giving some to my boy but he dun want.
All the hard work of manufacturing and expressing. What's more all the nutrients. Such waste.

Previously for my 1st child, I have so much excess that I have to drink them too cos' he can't finish them. Tried freezing them but he can't tolerate frozen BM. In the end, I have to drink them too. Gave away alot too. My whole freezer full of 200+ - 300+ ml of packet FBM. Frankly, frozen BM taste horrible as compared to fresh ones. Have to force myself to drink 1 packet every night.

Come to think of it. When I wean him from BM to FM, I have such a hard time. Now he prefer FM to my BM. *sigh*

Amabe|'s Mommy,
I drink cos' not to waste it. Din test before giving my gal though cos' I will only give her the day before ones. Those almost 2 day old, I will finish it.

Anyone experience forceful letdown? My gal always get agitated becos' of it. Always choke and make a big fuss. Then unlatch and milk will spray everywhere.

shay,
ur boy looks v cheeky... i can imagine hw notti he can b. guess tt u guys hv 2 learn d art of being deaf...

catherine,
me... me... i m interested in 2 cds. wanna get 1 4 my 2 kids each.

shirley,
gt ur pm oledi. will sent out 2 u either tmr or fri. will let u noe again.

happycat,
i experience tt aso.

Hisstory
Same, haha! I also bot alot of tights and socks from BP and sprees by Snow. Did you buy the jazzy toes one ah? I got it from the previous BP..they are so kewt..cannot resist! I am actually looking for mary janes but kneee length ones..

Jassie
Hah! Yeah just now I tried again and I gave up cos I felt so tight that I was going to suffocate.. later must loosen and try again -_-

Catherine
Ok will give it a try this weekend when I bring her out cos sometimes go to crowded places a bit tough to lug one stroller.. plus my stroller quite heavy.
Re maid: I think its quite natural for us to feel that way hor.. so i super particular when she handle my bb, must make sure she not sweaty and smelly. I have no choice, I need to get back to work so she will be the one handling the bb most of the time at my mil... : (

Happycat
Yes me! My letdown is quite strong she will choke most of the time.. and then will spray all over her face if i unlatch.. that day when i went out for a few hours without her, when i thot about her, my letdown also came so fast!

just saw that vone wants 2 too...

must get more mummies to join in...

i bought another CD for my bb, i didnt try it out, i thot from isetan bb department shd be ok...turned out to be locally produced so all the songs sung in singaporean english n even broken english. *faint* cant even hear the words properly.

this one sounds much better

1. Catherine - 2pcs
2. Gayle - 1 pc
3. Vone - 2 pc

M2B, hisstory, medusa,
let's try to jio more ppl n share 1 box of the socks leh, SO CUTE! btw, hisstory, the caterpillar expression so farnee :D

shay, amabelsmommy,
my #1 now oso nearing 2 n is very uncontrollable as well. throwing tantrum, emotional, crying SO often... tat's y need to enrol her in CC so tat my granny can handle #2. but actually, feel so sad n sorry for her. sigh.

medusa,
u went down today? i went down today as well! wat time were u there? the principal seems very familiar wif all the kids n parents! impressed! but i oso went ard to many other schools today n still contemplating. i actually discovered another MMI at Bedok Reservoir, which is the nearest for me :D but the fees... wow, exorbitant. some more, i cldn't view it, must make appt one ah, dun pray pray. so got my 'appt' next saturday, left wif oni 2 sacred slots. :S

catherine,
wld lurve to get the CDs, but unfortunately my DDs have not gotten their Christian names yet, so buay sai. hopefully there will be a BP on tis next time. thx!

vone,
ur gal had jaundice problem?

happycat, amabel's mommy,
Thanks for sharing on the drinking BM part.
Perhaps I must start tasting the milk before i give it to my boy. Hee.
Now I know why my #1 said my special milk is SOUR .... and no wonder he now refuses to drink it. I asked him yesteray why he dun wan to drink my special milk but he said "SOUR".
Maybe that's why tat day my #2 was struggling and fight with drinking the frozen BM, maybe it already turned sour.

*Wondering why we are pumping, storing these breast milk when it can be spoilt and also no antibodies .... *sigh. Whoever came out with the idea that freezing breast milk is good?

Faeriekim,
Maybe our discussion on the conspiracy theory is true .. hahhaa.

#1 and #2
My #1 is now 2.5 yrs old and seems he dun have any jealousy towards #2. He likes to look at Didi, touch him and watch him. First thing he returns from school is to go look at Didi. As he has slight cough here and there, I always tell him not to go near Didi and he will also walk away to cough if he is coughing. Of course sometimes he still wan to hang ard Didi but I always had to tell him to stay a distance since we dun wan Didi to get a cough and it's terrible if Didi falls sick.

It;s a stage ba .. once they are older then can be more understanding

Enrolling your #1 is good idea then she wun have so much face time with #2.

celynlee,
Your BM is stored in bottles rite? If it's in milkbag, then have to thaw it first rite?
No time oso cannot warm it directly. So far for bottled frozen milk, I oso do that but for frozen milk in storage bag, still haven;t planned what to do.
*Got so many questions cos last time no extra milk to store.

** WHO WANNA BUY THE "FRIDGE TO GO"??
Think i prob need it now liaoz .... should have ordered it the last time.

faeriekim,

yup. she had jaundice 4 a v long time. luckily after all d tests, it was discovered 2 b caused by bm. nw she's okie oledi...

happycat,
I got forceful let down, same as you will spray all over her face and myself too. She often get choke even no let down but when my breast is full.

Those near to 2 days, you never drink and feel that it seem to turn bad like sour taste?

Shint,
Yes it is very impt that we taste the milk before giving to bb, what I know is that bb cannot drink milk that already turn bad, even it taste a bit sour only, it also mean it turn bad already. and it is really very bad to the bb for drinking that. If give the BM that is within 24 hours, usually is quite safe (still fresh). But is best that you still taste it.
Cause Mishandling of the bottle or pump, contaminated of the BM and the fridge temp will cause the milk to turn bad before the milk lifespan.
Last time I back to work, every morning I got to taste all the milk before I go work. So cannot ask the maid to taste it right.

Terrible 2,
My girl show alot of jealousy but still she dote on #2. And she need super lot of attention. Alot of ppls saw her said she hyperactive and want attention. She can scream and cry for our attention. There is no one day where she never scream and cry for attention. She abit abit will throw tantrum. Really cannot tahan.
That is why also we decide to enrol her in childcare in Oct though i still on maternity leave. She at home, me, hubby and maid very busy with her. And i got to attend to my #2 too, sometime really feel bad to both #1 and #2 cause I cant cut myself into 2. Both cry I also dont know to attend to who first. Faint super stressful and tired. Everyday I sleep very little only.

I can't imagine if our kids one day get together and surely will turn the whole roof down

re: Maid,
Me too got to let the maid handle my #2 when i back to work. So start training her to feed baby, carry her etc. She not yet start to help bathe baby, I am doing it and she is beside seeing. Cause when i take care baby, i alway do the same thing, step by step according to procedure so i alway ask her what is the next step cause she is quite forgetful and tell her safety is alway most impt. Cos maid can be quite jialat in safety.

celyn/shint,
You can warm up your frozen BM directly when BB needs to drink but muz drink immediately and cannot keep. For FBM which is thaw can keep inside fridge for 48hours.

shint,
yah, i store in bottle. i got a sample milk bag so i use it to store too. milk bag can't warm direct, must thaw first loh.

cocomo,
yah, warm up milk cannot keep. drink immediately.

amabel's mommy,
i don't think i will dare to drink my own milk. anyway, will fbm turn sour too? i freeze them immediately after i pump.

Celyn,
I have warmer but I only used few times during my #1 time coz I feel the temp too hot liao and sometimes I can see the water like boiling like that. Water temp too hot will spoilt the antibody so I use a cup to warm up the BM.

huichin, my boy is drinking total EBM now. maybe that's why i'm struggling with extra milk to freeze. i experimented with all sorts of freezing. tried 2 bags using the base, then decided to store flat. be careful not to put the freshly stored one with the frozen one. i found out that the 2 packets stuck to each other the next day, so it's going to be very hard to remove later on. either that or i must thaw both bags together, sigh. i store feed size amt only. more convenient for my maid and MIL next time. furthermore, if i store flat, the milk will expand and reach the top of the seal. very scared it will explode, so i think 120ml is a pretty good amt for me.

i dun carry bb. when i use the bb bjorn, i'm hands free. it's better than using stroller coz' my maclaren can't recline all the way and bb doesn't feel too comfy in there yet. prob use when he's much older and too heavy to carry.

msapple, when your #1 take solids? 6 mths? when u reduce to 2x a day, do u still pump in office? what's his milk intake once he takes solids?

catherine, i'm interested in 1 CD - the nursery rhymes one. if i order 1 pc, do i still get the discount if don't hit your quota of 30 orders?

catherine, sorry, i meant...if hit min quota of 30 orders, can i still order 1 CD or min must be 2 CDs? they won't charge delivery also is it??

catherine,
what is the website that you are talking about?

cocomo,
with warmer that take 2-3mins, my boy already can't wait. so warm slowly with bowl is not quite possible for me unless i can tell what time he wakes up and prepare in advance.

msapple/faeriekim,
omg both of u r experiencing the same problem? tot mine is special case....oh so it's normal for them to be notti at 2? lol..... let's pray hard that we get over this phase soon! that's y we also enrolled him to cc at 19mths and teacher commented that he's super cheeky in school...faintz!

catherine,
i also dunno how to compare that's y need to get some testimonials from mummies that is sending their kids there.

i want to order 2 cds. btw, how much is 1cd after the 20% discount?

happycat,
i have forceful letdown too and my bb can take it in the day time but not the last feed at night. he will unlatch and fuss and ya the milk will spray all over....hmmm dunno y he can't take it only at night??

shint,
i'm also thinking of getting a fridge-to-go. u got lobang to get cheaper? actually i have a cooling bag that need to put in the blue ice and i find it leceh and not so stylo so itchy hand tot of getting a fridge-to-go hehe...let me know if u r organising spree....TIA.

msapple: hehe..u set the trend of milk-tasting now! But i very kiasu, i normally keep my EBM in the fridge for not more than 12hours...so i keep on replacing with fresh ones.

huichin: my boy is also on total EBM.. hubby is very discouraging for me to do latch on cos bb keep screaming n crying after sometime. They usually very cranky before they go to sleep at night..

msapple: is latch on really better for bbs than giving EBM?

Re:menses
Eh..i think i got menses leh! how come so fast siaaa...i m doing breastfeeding (EBM) leh.. So not sure is it menses or not??? Just called my gynae but she havent return my call..

Re: Isetan Sale today
Me n hubby will be bringing bb along.. anyone also bringing bb along?? hehehe

krex
i using 9 oz bottle per session, cuz i using ameda, so each breast can pump up to max 4oz in the bottles given...so i will combine both side into one 9oz bottle..so 2 9oz bottles to bring to office lor cuz i pump 2 times during work...i freeze them cuz i will have to use my old stock first cuz now i never touch any of the frozen BM at all..so i will store the fresh ones and use the frozen ones...otherwise the frozen ones will never be used...

cat
i will not let my maid carry my bb even if she asked..unless bb abit bigger..maybe 6 months and above..now bb quite vulnerable to germs ..i scare my maid not clean enuff leh..me fussy employer...:p

nini, i also seem to have menses although i'm expressing milk daily. it's not very heavy though. can use regular pad one. i've been having it for weeks liao!

shint/ shay, how much is the fridge to go? is it the same as putting ice pack to keep the bots cold? actually i need a mini fridge in the office more than anything else. very scared to use common fridge as it's old and dirty and i scared ppl contaminate my milk.

nini
wat time u going isetan ? me going after dropping off maid and bb at MIL place after 12.30pm....wished i could bring bb to shop too..but cannot lar..isetan sale many mnay pple one..i one person cannot handle..

krex
my fren bought me a mini fridge..those cooler type ..i will put in my office too..i dun want to share the office fridge with others leh..Akira brand..i think very cheap only...maybe even same price as the Fridge to go..i think FTG is about $50..

YLN, i think better to give your bb the fresh one first. then when yr ss dips, u can use the frozen BM. after all can last 3 mths rite?

after you fill up one 9oz bot, dun u need another 2 bots for your next pump, if it's a double pump? so u shld at least bring 3 bots to work?

YLN, that's cool. i dun mind buying if it's less than $100. what's the diff btn mini fridge and fridge to go? got more pdt info?

yln,
i also got a mini fridge (those that can put 6 cans of drinks) from akira in the office. is it good enough to store ebm? when we reach home then freeze ok or not?

hmm..i think the mini fridge is use the electric plug one..so can keep cool for as long as u plug it in..but FTG..i think can last for dunno how many hrs only..n u must freeze the FTG ice pack first everyday then can use..so mah fan...
but one thing with mini fridge..u still need a small cooler bag to transport the milk home..i got also from fren..avent brand one can store two 9 oz bottles..or 4 4oz bottles lor..this avent bag can keep cool i think for 1-2hrs..which is enuff time for me to get back home from work..n pop it in the freezer lor..

i everytime pump..can get about 8 oz from 2 sides..so, i only need 2 9oz bottles..

fresh BM..
hmm..u got a point too..think maybe then i will mix mix abit and give frozen ones and fresh BM to bb...cuz my frozen ones started in mid august...so i think better use some first..cuz i going back work 15 oct (so fast! sigh)..so 3 months date due..hmm..about there lor

celynlee
i think the akira one can kua..cuz i was thinking if buy the FTG..ice pack also will become a bit warm as time goes by..maybe not as cool as before le...and if i use offic fridge..pple open close one thousand times..also not cool liao..so better use my own mini one..only i close and open that one or two times..not so bad kua....i will transport it back in the avent cooler bag (can be bought from Kiddy palace..i think $24 plus)..and freeze lor..

krex78: ya..i dont know why also. I tot if bf menses wont come so soon.. but that does mean menses come = ovulating??

YLN: im going abt 1 or 2pm.. Yes alot of ppl..so most probably my hubby go shop for bb items while me n bb in the nursing room..haha

Shint: I know what u mean by SHENG YING liao. Last night i had my first bunk in with my bb after my sis left for work overseas.. so back to me doing day n night care. *panda eyes* BB keeps doing the 'stretching' exercises like that..very noisy! I dont know is it sleeping in the air-con room like that? Cos now i put him sleep in the living room.. he very quiet n sleep n sleep.

YLN,
i agree with Krex78 cos those frozen ones oredi got no antibodies, just drinks to them ... defeats the purpose of breastfeeding rite?
For those in the fridge still ok but not frozen ones. Wonder why u give frozen milk?

Mini fridge and FridgeToGo
FTG better rite? can bring out when need to bring baby out and nowhere to pump or to latch. Also can also keep the pumped milk for the day and travel home.

Otherwise, if have a mini fridge, how can we transport the milk home? still need something rite?