(2008/08) Aug 2008

krex78,
yah. like the avent cups. if you have extra big bottle can use them too. i know what you mean by lose milk but i guess its no choice loh. lose a bit.

celyn

does avent warmer overheat breastmilk?? i using tollyjoy and i find it overheat the breast milk. overheat will spolit some antibodies in the milk too.

Any mommies feeding baby with Friso gold

My baby has cow's milk allergy and unable to take Formula milk. this tin of Friso gold 1 from 0 to 6 month is unopened. sealed intact. Expiry 2010. Selling it away at $20/-.

ruixuan

i'm interested in getting the milk from u if it's convenient. self collect??

Robinsons sale

is the sale starting today?? any good offers? din see any interesting items in the ST today le...

wah,

all this talk on sale is making me gian...

Isetan sale
Does anyone know if i have to pay using isetan card to get the additional discounts for private sale or can pay using other credit cards or cash? I have an Expired isetan card so even if i manage to go in, may not get the additional discount then no pt.

medusa,
wah, oni 160+?? goodness me, so xianmu. tink i have to pay at least 4 times tat price?
wonderful to be staff.
btw, ur gal is so pretty

shint,
wow! congrats on the improved jaundice level!
i actually asked Dr Ong whether can still take jab wif the jaundice level like tat, he said NP. told me to still come by for the vacc for the bb. :S i wanna go polyclinic check the jaundice level oso, but as u know lah, i dun have tat 'form' to go to the lab to take the test. have actually decided to go tml to PD to take the hep B jab anyway when i go down to gynae's for review.

snow,
how did the maid spoil ur LCD tv??? pls share share so tat i can watch out n not let it happen at my home.

catherine,
u know, i actually went to a blog (i tink by tamarind) on maids and it was mentioned tat we should specifically tell the maids not to kiss bb, or even blow onto bb's food (to make it cool faster). tat's y when my maid first tried to touch my #1's face, i immediately told her, 'no touching of face, no kissing'. come to tink abt it, quite 'rude' like tat, but bor bian.

share wif u my fren's exp wif maid tat will make u cringe. the maid was asking for panadol everyday. n her mouth looked swollen. finally, one day they dragged her to dentist n dentist said her mouth is so rotten (severe gum disease) tat it's beyond hope, better to send her home. eeks. imagine the sufferance of the poor infant who has been under her care. even the dentist said tat the maid is not suitable to care for infants. fm then one, i got kinda paranoid n was wondering whether i shld give her a separate set of cutlery or not. :S

snow
Is Zynn now mainly on 4hr interval? Mine's still on & off 2.5 - 3hrs, HB prefers I try to stretch to at least 2.5 hrs. But night time she can sometimes stretch till 5 hrs..

I wanna go jalan too.. But maybe taking bb for her jab.. Maybe weekend

medusa
Ur ger has such pretty eyes!!

M2B
But it's ur bday pressie! U deserve a pressie, maybe not the ring lah.. Sthg else??

jassie
Same here, my ger doesn't quite enjoy baths at the moment..

ruixuan

ai yah, so far, me din go back "niang jia" then cannot la...

will give it a miss then...if i go back, i PM you & see if u still have the milk powder then la.. =)

krex
i havent used any of the FY'milk bag..its still filled with milk...but i think gotta peel off the section to make pouring out easier...

regarding pumping schedule when i get back to work
will pump at the following times..5.45am, 11am, 4pm,8pm n 11.30pm..i will store them in 9 oz bottles at work..so i only need 2 bring 2 9oz bottles..n when i reach home..i will transfer them in2 milk bags n freeze them..i will use my frozen milkbags now to feed bb in the day when i return to work..

catherine
i aso dun let my maid carry bb cuz i think she smells..even after showering..:p..my mil will look after while my maid is in charge of cleaning the house...i dun think i will let maid carry at all...my maid 'bo tau xin'..always 4get this n dat...i dun trust her at all..

hisstory,val
seems like my girl wants more milk now....
she cries when we pluck out the milk bottle frm her as if she hasn;t had enough. wandering shld i increase her feed or not. last night she woke up after 3hrs to demand 4 milk. usually she sleeps thru 5-6hrs in a stretch at nt. frm 6wks when we went to the PD, we've cut her milk n maintained the same amount till now..she is coming 9wks... time to increase alittle right?

medusa,
yr girl's eyes r so big n the pupil is so big....pp buy special contact lens just to make their pupils bigger so they can look prettier. yrs is natural
so envy ,hehe

M2B,snow
when u girls go out alone with bb, u leave yr maid at home alone? yesterday my maid opened the dr for a friend who sprang a surprise visit on me while i was sleeping cos she happ to be nearby n jus wanted to say hi. but when she knew i was sleeping, she left. later in the day, my friend told me wat happ n my maid actually open the dr n ask her in n told me to warn my maid not to open the drs for strangers. my maid didn;t even tell me my friend came to visit me. i had to confront her n she said she forgot. i reminded her again not to open the drs to strangers, not even to my friends unless i tell her i am expecting guest or she must come n ask me when i am in the hse. she is getting lax n treat my hse like hers! i wanted to make sure she understood. i told her, do not open the dr even to neighbours. she can ask me: neighbours cannot huh? OMG!!!
( i went to the extend of naming every person she can open the dr to only like: sir, me, n the 2 grandmas )
now lagi dun dare to leave maid alone at home liao

i think i must try to venture out also la....mayb go n visit my hubby at the off n shop nearby so he can fetch us back

thanks for the music link. i want the nursery songs one but dunno how to go about it. will look thru later. tks babe!

where u girls going to jalan?
only mama n bb or mama, bb, sister n maid? hehe

jassie,
my girl had the same thing, i use seba med healing lotion n moisturizer, all won't work. then i use johnson;s bb oil. within less than 3 days, all cleared

Thanks for sharing ur milk pumping timing Bonnygal. I just bot a pack of the First years' milk storage bags from Kiddy Palace yesterday! Hhehee...happen to see and tot it's quite cheap. Lasinoh milk bags are OOS at Mothercare. Bleah...

I oso wanna know opinion on whether to get a sling (MIM) or a baby carrier. Same dilema as u! Duno which one is easier hor.

krex, ya lohs, tot it's really pretty cheap but scared not good hor. LOL.

cocomo, 400-500ml per pump A LOOOOOOOOOT! No wonder u can store so much siah...envy u leh.

valnsw, i oso wanna sign my BB up for the swimming lessons. U toking abt the Hwa Xia at Habourfront one rite? Yesterday i decided to bring Falisha out on my own for the 1st time. Went to shop shop at Parkway then tot if hubby drop off work earlier we can go Mothercare @ Habourfront to get Falisha a new stroller. Then when we passed by that Baby swimming shop my hubby seemed to be pretty interested. I tot he'll say so ex, for what la, but i was surprised he wanted to sign up and let Falisha try on the spot! hahaha...he onz but i wasn't. Cos Falisha just fell asleep so she'll sure be cranky one. So i said next time we come and sign up the package one better. Hehehe...probably next 2 wks we'll bring Falisha go. Excited! Hahaha..can't wait for her to grow up faster then can bring and teach her swimming at normal pools.

chantelle, ya lohs, dats y i duno whether to get or not. Hahah...scARED by the cheap price. Hahaha...

Medusa, ur discharges havent finish ah? i started to fast during the 3rd day of the Ramadan cos no more discharge liao. Hehe..but recently i noticed a drop in my BM supply, so i fast whenever i can and once in a while i dun fast. More like alternate days. Must save my BM supply siah! Ya i know can be excused from fasting cos BF. My MIL kept saying if can fast loh..blah blah blah...so more of no choice. Hahah...neber i partial fasting nowadays, even if i dun eat i will drink lotsa water cos that's what's affecting my BM supply! LOL.

Pumping 3 x a day still ok hor.

Oh I'm thinking of getting the Baby bjorn carrier! LOL..i think once ur BB is abt 2.5-3mths old should be able to use liao bah. My colleague oso did that. But i think oso becos hers is a giant BB. Hahah...better check.

Snow, after what u said, i cannot wait to see Falisha kicking away in the water! Hahaha

Shint, i oso find pumping BM more convenient and saves time! Hahaha..

Medusa, OMG! Ur BB is adooooooorable!!! Hehehee...hair alot siah! Intending to shave? heheh..

Cocomo
Thanks for adding darwisyah to the collage : )

Re Darwisyah:-
Thanks for all the compliments.. : ) This is one of the rare times when her eyes are open cos most of the time she is asleep : p

Snow
Yeah better to let them start early tho I also dunno when is the "official" age for bbs to learn swimming. Think I will start Darwisyah soon also so she can go swimming with her kor kor the next time.

M2B
Yeah lor I guess I cant have everything.. I have a fren who hesitiate putting her gal in cc also becos of the reason.. scared meals are not well taken care of. Btw I also aiming something from T&C...hehe.. I love the charm bracelets! See if I can charm my hb to get for me as push presie..Hmmm.

Faerie
Yeah lor so cheap hor.. haha!I think tmr I go and check out the centre and then decide. Hopefully its ok then we can place deposit liao. Even then so, he can only start in Dec officially cos apparently she cannot take in anymore new children.

Krex78
So meaning you face bb towards you on the sling rite since his head not stable yet? I am still trying to figure out how to use the sling lor.. so suaku! You got the synergy as well?

Valnsw
Hee.. I also dunno leh. Some days I look at her she looks malay, some days she look chinese. But her skin cfm follow me cos she is fairer, haha!

shirley,
yes, i can post 2 u 1st. can pm me ur address? i'll let u noe hw much u owe me once i rec'd my cc bill.

m2b,
gt ur pm. no worries, u r jus in time. i'll post out ur items 2 u later.

medusa

my son's eyes are the most attractive of all. so when want to show to friends or relative, how lovely he is. must wait for him to open eyes. sometimes eye dun even open when asleep.

Huichin
I think mine is finishing soon cos got to be completely "clean" before can fast. i still get brownish discharge, more so whenever I latch on. Think its becos the uterus contracting so the bloodflow will come in. Hee, ok lah at least you dun have to pay back so many days.. I cham liao. Must plan how to complete 30 day of fast before the next ramadan : p

Bjorn carrier: Yeah I still trying to figure out how to put bb inside, have been experimenting with a small bolster, haha! Cos last time I bot one simple one from kiddy palace.. this one more ex, that why so complicated! Some mummies here already start using so I think its ok. As long as bb weighs over 3.5kg can liao, if I am not wrong.

Shaving of hair: Yeah definately got to shave off but hb says after hari raya, hehe. Hey btw did you do circumcision for Falisha? Which Dr and how long she took to heal? I know the common one is Dr Balkis at Bedok Reservior. Did you go to her?

cocomo,
Yah since your bb not drinking that much, you can reduce slighly abit. Me too when with my first child, milk supply also quite alot like your, so I reduce it too until 1.2 litres and maintain it. Cause I don't want to waste my blood and throw my blood in the drain in the end. Cos 2 litres for 1 or 2 month baby is too much le, sure cannot drink finish. But muct alway have standby in the freezer also.

Nini,
I am using the bumper playmat. That is one of the best buy i have. I bigger girl is still using it now. Now 2nd one also.
As for playyard I also have it but when my bigger girl know how to walk, she refuse to be kept inside. haha

Snow74,
the calendar is so nice. Thanks!

happycat, shint,
Me too, drink the Bm if my girl cannot finish. But of cos wont drink other ppls one. hee. Before giving the BM i will taste it too to make sure it never turn sour. I notice sometime my brestmilk turn bad and sour even before 48 hour of lifespan, so must alway taste it, this is what my LC insist me on doing it. I just throw away 120ml worth of milk in the morning becos it turn sour before 48hrs

Medusa15,
Wow ur baby's eyes super big and nice.

Shints,
This is what I do for my #1. For #2 not yet give her via bottle outside.
I will bring the EBM using my fridge to go. Then I will bring a flask of hot water and a bowl. Warm the chilled EBM in the hot water of not more than 60 degree, once the BM is warm immediately remove it, never overheat the BM.

Catherine,
re: Maid
I dont let my maid carry if she is dirty or sweat too. Will ask for to bathe before carry her, so a day she can bathe 3 times or more depend on whether she sweat.
I dont allow my maid to kiss my baby and blow my #1 food also when feeding her.
For me my maid is super forgetful so i super scare, I alway supervise her, check on all the things she do, my eyes very sharp also kanna caugh by me for doing thing wrongly and forget thing. I am very systematic when doing thing so i told her i expect her to be systematic also. most impt cannot forget thing and must be clean when handling baby and food. Now she got a habit of keep washing hands, my ex-maid too. haha my hubby said we waste alot of the water.

Krex78,
For my #1, she and my maid when to my in law house, before going back to work, I start to set routine for her, and monitor the feed amount per day with the feeding interval. Once the routine is set then I will know when i back to work, how much milk is needed when I am away at work so i will know also how many bottle I will need and also the size of the milk bottle needed. But of cos must alway prepare 2 or 3 spare bottle and also the EBM incase the bb having growing spurt where she need to drink more milk than usual.
When back to work, I pump 4 times a day (2 times in office). I tranport using fridge to go and my office got fridge to keep my BM also. A day about 1.2 litre

shirley,
u can find CB calendula cream at Mom Essential, or the organic shop in Tanglin mall. But if purchase from BP will be cheaper, I bought mine from BP too and i bought 5 at one go. Now I still have and can use for my #2

ruixuan,
I use the avent warmer, I alway set the swtich to the minimum with more water in the warmer so the water is maintain at less than 60 degree.

faeriekim,
Yah when latch on outside, it is so paiseh that the bb struggle and choke when latching. Most of the time, my BM is all over my girl face and head.

roiv,
ur bb is very pretty and u are pretty too

Wow Celynlee, u're fast! How many breastpads u ordering ah?

Medusa, haha ya lohs, dun wanna kena 'pay back' one shot so many days! Heheh..

Bjorn carrier: Oh once u've used it lemme izzit good or not k! Looks quite comfy for BBies to use leh. Hazhaha...

Shaving of hair: definitely after hari raya rite, hehe.

Rgding circumcision for Falisha yes i went to Dr Balkis. Hehehe...oh she kena 'snip' liao hor...like nothin leh! She shriek for abt 2secs the like nothin happen. And i think it was becos i held Falisha's legs while Dr Balkis was doing the 'snipping' so she angry cos legs cannot move. After that tot go back she'll bleed and all that, but there's no redness no nothin leh. Hahaha...

Yeasterday I just bot the Maclaren Quest Sport Stroller, it's pretty good and easy to operate! hehe...quite cheap oso. Hehe..

1740123.jpg

YLN, u pump direct into 9oz bots? If u use double pump, don't u need at least 4 4oz bots? I plan to do that. For my morning pump ard 10am, I will use up 2 4 oz bots, then store the milk in the fridge. and for my afternoon pump ard 3pm, I will use up another 2 4 oz bots. When I get home, I will transfer into 9oz bots for my MIL to use the next day. That will free up my 4oz bots for using at home and in office the next day. Also, why do u bother to freeze your milk? Best to give fresh to bb mah.

huichin, TFY milk bags very cheap meh? I would have bought online if I'd known they were more than 1/2 the price! But the bags are quite sturdy lah. How many bags u freeze a day? I'm really slow. I can only manage 1 bag every 2-3 days. Don't dare to freeze so many just in case my bb not enough for daily consumption.

medusa, bb face me. he's too young to face out. i got the active air...the one with more holes so that not so hot.

msapple, u're so lucky your milk ss so good. i only pump abt 600+ ml a day. i plan to pump 5x a day. something like 5.30am, 10am, 3pm, 7.30pm, 11.30pm.

huichin, i also bought the mac laren quest. hardly use it though. i prefer to use bb bjorn when going out with bb. only when having dinner with in-laws 1x a week outside then we put him in the stroller. if eat at food court or some other place on our own, we'll just take turns to carry him since there's 3 of us (hb, me and maid).

little twin stars,
Why don't u give her a little bit more, say abt 15ml more to see if she can take it?
If she can drink without any reflux/heartburn, then I guess it shd be ok.
I'm also still contemplating whether to give her more, cos the night feeds 1am, 4.30am and this morn's 7.30am, she could take 90ml but then 10.30am, she took like 55ml only but 2 hrs later she crying 4 milk.

huichin,
gd la... at least your hubby is onz abt the swimming thing. one thing abt hubby, he now more concerned abt bb than me.
I've got the impulse to bring my bb down to the Punggol branch tmrw leh, to avoid wkend crowd.

ruixuan,

she's okie nw. hv put on weight, so nw she looks more chubby as compared 2 when u saw her. in addition, her jaundice hv finally cleared. so it's a huge relief 2 us. show u her latest pic.

1740313.jpg

Bought the pupsik sling from maternity xchange with 15% discount yest. Tried it on Ashton and he seems comfy in it! He fell asleep easily in the sling. Haven't tried bringing him out alone may be will try oneday since i hv the sling now. Kudos to mummies who has the courage to bring bb out alone. i hope i can do it soon. I'm afraid that he poo and leaks all over me then i will really kalam kabut!

krex,
re robinson sale:
went to the website but it nothing was mentioned on the 20% sale leh? i went there yest and wanted to get croc for my #1 but no sale so i asked the salesger when is the next sale and she said DUNNO! but salesger r not suppose to reveal the sales date i think.

snow,
ur #1 is attending shichida rite? at wut age did u start sending her? do u see any improvement? i was contemplating bet shichida and iGenius. any comments on these 2?

vone,
ur boy so cute can carry mei mei. how old is ur boy? my 2 yr old kor kor so notti will sometimes hit didi right on his face! i got so angry with him the other day when he hit didi on his face that i gave him a big big smack on his hand till super red. yet he neber learn his lesson....hhmmm dunno wut to do with him. He's ar terrible 2 stage!

shay,

can. bt we oni allow him 2 carry on d bed & under our supervision. coz we r afraid tt he wld drop mei mei. he's 3 tis yr.

tink kor kor is jealous, tt's y he hits di di. then u guys need 2 b careful oledi. dun allow d 2 of them 2 b alone. dun worry abt d terrible 2 stage. it's jus a phrase, it'll b over soon. hang in thr...

shay, i got the newsletter. it says 24-28 sep, so today shld have already. if dun have, let me know hor. then i won't make the trip down on fri.

vone, so cute! u let your boy carry mei mei w/o supporting the neck? i'd be very scared to do so! but i sure hope #2 is a girl, then my boy can also sayang mei mei next time

vone,
did u encounter the terrible 2? how long did it take to get over the difficult phase? wah piang i can't wait man..... i can't even dare to let my boy go near to didi. Sometimes when he climbs up the cot to see didi we will all be v scared and shout haha......

krex,
oh u got the newsletter then it sud be on la. i tot of going down tomo too.

Krex78, the Boots Milk Bags are really cheap leh! 10 bucks for 40pcs! But abit scared cos neber use b4, duno good or not. Hahaha...so far i can freeze one bag per day. But depends la, cos Falisha drinks BM during the day and FM at nite. Heheh..how do u all freese ur milk ah? just fit in everything into one bag (if possible) or accordin to drinking amt? Like eg. if ur bb drinks 90ml u split into 90mls every bag?

Krex78, whoa u all damn onz siah...carry BB all the way. My hands sure tired one and we got no maid, so better to use the stroller. Hehhe...and if i were to go out alone, it's better to use stroller if i were to go shopping. Hahaha...then not so tiring mah. I dun have the BB carrier, so only left with stroller option (for now). Hahaha...

Valnsw, if u going must take many pix and share with us k! hehe...

Celyn, sorry how many boxes did u order again?

Huichin
I planning to bring Darwisyah for the snip this week. I think boys and gals diff. Alot of them told me gals almost like nothing. If you have boy next time then you know, haha. Cos got more "things" to remove so more painful for them.

Carrier: Ok let me go and figure it out then let you know... that day I brot her out to geylang serai using stroller I nearly died.. cos so crowded! Think ppl stared at me wth dagger eyes cos I was an obstruction -_-

krex78,
Sorry I pump 5 times a day not 4 times a day. When i back to work initially, i pump at 6.30am, 10.30am, 2.30pm, 6.30pm, 10.30pm. Then when #1 bigger intro solid liao, i reduced to twice pump per day but still maintain at 1.2litres per day

M2B
The socks are so cute, but i better stop oredi.. Fr the BP earlier, i've got 4 pairs of socks, 2 pairs of leggings. And then the spree with snow, I also have 2 pairs of tights. And on top of tt 2 pairs of tights I bought fr Kiddy Palace.. Better stop, less I want HB to say I think my ger's a caterpillar, has manymany pairs of legs

Ur HB's fast! I owe HB lotsa pressies, bday, Christmas, anniversary.. He hardly wants anything, so hard to get things for him..

twin stars
Maybe increase a little more, say 20ml? 3 weeks since the visit to the PD, her appetite may have also increased slightly.. Give a little more & then monitor, if no heartburn, then can heave a sigh of relief!

Hey, do venture out.. It's quite fun actually, though like cheap thrill lah, coz must learn how to handle bb whether alone or with someone else, coz u're now outside.. Then can get familiarised with where nursing/ diaper changing rooms are located

M2B,
yes, i was curious about finding out about the different uses of breast milk like you gals have been discussing a while ago. if it really really help in hair growth, that would be excellent..keke :p must give some to hubby liao.

wing, krex and little twin stars,
thanks for your feedback!! it's called cradle cap eh? i suspected it is that but never too sure... if i dun use johnson's bb oil but use johnson's lotion, dunoe if can help or not? heee... my hands very itchy, each time i see her i feel like peeling off the crust.

medusa,
ya, i agree on the complicated use of the bjorn! the shop assistant, my hubby and myself struggled to put the baby into the carrier for about 15 min! my hubby perspired and perspired! hahaha..we were all so scared that one of us would drop the baby by passing her around. that time she was only about 4 weeks old, still so small and soft.

shay,
gambatte! you must take your first step out with baby alone! i was also scared stiff initially but now i ventured out to the nearby park, tampines interchange and even go to library alone with bb already! it's fun. anyway bb would be sleeping in the sling most of the times and so it's still quite okay. i always change the diapers just before we go out to ensure that it can contain her pee and poo for the next 2-3h minimum. jia you! jia you!

Boot milk bags / TFY milk bags / Lanoish milk bags / medela milk bags,
anyone uses all of them already and can comment the difference and which is the best milk bags for value?

krex78,
mei mei is kinda of sitting in his lap. so all he has 2 do is to make sure tat he holds on to her so tat she'll nt fall over.

ruixuan,
tks.
ya, my boy looks more like me whrelse mei mei looks more like hb.

shay,
yes, i did. tink it took abt 1/2 yr 4 my boy 2 get over it. coz he realised tt no 1 wld bother abt him when he's throwing tantrums. u jus hv 2 b firm abt wat he can or cannot do. i tink ur elder boy is jus curious abt his di di. no harm letting him go near di di. bt it mus b under supervision. coz d more u dun let him go near, d more he wans 2.

Jassie,
u stay in tampines? me too! i hv a maid at home so each time i wanted to bring bb out alone my maid will ask y not let him stay home with me then i think ok la easier for me hehe.... i'm afraid that his sleep may be disturbed if i bring him out since he'll be sleeping and y not let him stay at home. anyway, i'll hv to test myself out someday....wish me luck.

I have only tried Lansinoh. So far so good very durable.

Cocomo/msapple,
both of u hv good ss ya... since ur ss is so good u sud feel the engorgement most of the time right? i used to hv good ss when i had my #1 (also ard 40ozs a day) and i hate the constant engorgement! so for tis one i pump less and i feel a lot better. may be for #1 i pump exclusively and for tis one i latch on most of the time and i only pump once or twice a day. i wonder if i will start getting the engorgement when i get bk to work.
For now i can store ard 10ozs a day in the freezer and i hv ard 350ozs in the freezer for use when i get bk to work. Sud be enuff ba.....

vone,
sometimes we let him go near and he will just touch the head but sometimes he will kisiau (which is wut happened the other day - hit didi right on his face till didi's face turned red)! We tried ignoring him and he can cry and shout for 1 full hr till we beh tahan (so irritating) and go pacify him....hope will get over tis phase soon. thanks for ur advise. here's the pic of my notti boy.

1740536.jpg