(2008/08) Aug 2008

anyone knows where can i purchase the CB calendula cream locally? my baby had quite a bit of rashes on her face. if not anyone have a spare tube to offer? greatly appreciated for the help

Hi missysz,
Thanks so much..

can some of the working mommies share how u plan to set up a routine to feed your bb expressed breast milk once u go back to work? i'm still trying to figure out how many bots i need. right now, i have 7 4oz avent bots and 8 9oz avent bots. is it enough for use at my place and MIL's? i'm thinking whether to get more 4oz breast milk storage bots at isetan sale. i seem to have a lot already but i'm just scared it may not be enough when the time comes.

val, my hb works in suntec. his co decided to let all staff work from home on fri. not sure if all offices in suntec are affected. they're just trying to minimise the no of ppl going to that area on fri.

hi vone,
really glad to hear that you have extra tub to spare me, possible to post to me as i stay in woodlands? greatly appreciated, possible to pm me your account as i will make the payment to you asap. thanks a lot

krex78,
for me, i had a set of 2 small and 1 big avent bottle at nanny's place and home. another 2 small bottle for my pump. as for ebm, i store them in glass bottle so will pass these to nanny to feed. so everyday, i just need to transport ebm to nanny's place only.

Faerie
Yeah I think she must be referring to us lor..hehe! I think she only allow 2 new students and not too many cos the teachers need to pay very close and full attention to them. That time I called her she spoke to me abt half an hour..
The tpstaff px is 300 plus per month but that day I spoke to her she said its like $160! That came after the 17th aug rally..but then again since news came out that they are going to increase pxs again so I am not sure how much it will be..

Snow
Actually its my hubby lah..I am always the paranoid one... he lor, very adventurous one. I was like so young can meh.. then he say must expose them.. but maybe bear some truth lah cos my boy is never scared of water all the while. In fact he enjoys swimming very much.

Catherine
For me I am always hesistant to let maid carry bb cos sometimes my maid gets sweaty and I really hate it when she carries her. So I always tell her to bathe.. that day for the record she bathed 4x in a day cos the weather was scorching.. But no choice cos I will be going back work next month so die die also must train her..much as I dun like her to handle my gal..

Talk about prawns.. when my maid just arrived, once I ask her to peel the prawns and devein it.. when I walked in to the kitchen, guess what? She was using scissors to cut the legs of the prawns lor.. can die man! I was like, why need to cut the legs when you are already going to remove the whole shell???

Btw I was looking at some past posts and I realise you posted abt having the baby bjorn synergy.. That is what I have also but so far I dun dare to put my gal inside.. you tried it so far? Ok anot?

celylee,
so the supplier sent u the breastpads bt now stucked at post office? they shld be reliable rite coz i am thinking to order 2 to 3 boxes from them. today i ran out of breastpads and hubby had to buy at cold storage and guess what, $8.90 for 24 pcs. tat time i paid $8.90 for 36 plus 2, faint.

medusa,
have been reading ur blog. hehe. ur gal has v nice eyes.

medusa,

Your bb is very pretty!

Shint,

im doing total pumping cos it saves alot of time n can store alot of BM too.. I still let my bb latch on sometimes for awhile.. but he very fast fall asleep. :x

Nini,
i agree and he also seldom latch on nowadays.
He sleeps vv fast oso and if he is awake, he cannot wait... will start eh eh eh vv loud and BIAN JUI and cry ....

Wonder if the ss will drop.

Also my son drinks alot ... really ... so my pump now getting not enough and i am not storing alot. He drinks 100ml every 2 hourly. I pump between 150-200ml .... but i dun pump every 2 hourly. SS lower than DD now. Using up some frozen BM on bottles.

So far he tried once but "complained". Maid said he struggled while trying to drink the milk then i told her .. it's frozen one.

ANYONE GIVEN FROZEN BREASTMILK TO BABY OREDI?
So far, who had tried to give frozen BM to baby? those frozen some time ago?
I tried those i froze say few weeks ago, he fights to drink it leh.
How ah? if he dun wan to drink my frozen BM then store so much, in future, will he drink not?

Shint,
Maybe is the smell of the frozen BM that your baby dun like as they are a bit fishy smell. Why dun you try to mix the frozen BM with some fresh BM then slowly reduce the fresh BM till your BB get used to the frozen BM?

cocomo and mommies who are using lansinoh milkbags, do u experience the milkbags going out of shape after u froze it? i am keeping the milkbags in a ziplock and i realised that most of the milkbags are out of shape now. i placed them laying down. some bags also sticked on to another bag and i have to use abit of force to 'separate' the bags. it is normal? i am afraid that the milk will be spoiled.

cocomo,
i used that cos my ss tat day was not enough as I had stored 1 pump in the milkbag. Hence, no fresh BM to mix with. will try tat for experiment and see how he responds.

Secondly, I am wondering if we last minute not enough BM then how to thaw those in the milkbag fast enough? Cannot rite? Those in milkbag must be thawed in advance before planning to give it to baby rite? At the moment, those in the bottles I still can heat it up via the bottle through the warmer but milkbag has to be thawed first before can warm up ya? *headache.

missyz,
what do u mean by milkbag going out of shape? those unused milkbags or those used ones?

I place my milk in a container and so far it does not stick together. Maybe make sure that the new milkbags (with milk) u place together in the ziplog with those already frozen ones are not "wet". Else it might stick together ba. Mine in the container is ok ... cos it is not pressed together. Waste quite a bit of space la .. and the milk are not all flat.

shint,
i feed baby with frozen bm. i will thaw it in the fridge first then warm it up. sometimes, not enough time i will just warm it up directly. so far ok for him. maybe he is used to it right from the start. he will be drinking milk that i freeze about 2 weeks ago.

missysz,
i think cindy (the lady) is quite ok. cos she did call to check if i received the breast pad but too bad its stuck at post office now. i will try to go and pick up later.

medusa,
your girl very pretty.

morning ladies, cool weather ya? ;)

celyn
oh, can get sample ah....
okie, i'll try.
thx.

shint, rat, & catherine
u are most welcome. =)
still thinking if there is any1 here who can printing it out nice nice 1, to make it look more pro....hee hee...
can use collage done by cocomo as the front pg of the calendar, that would be very nice lor.

hisstory
ya, same saying as my mum.
either bb pee, or bad dream.

me too, try to feed her on 4hr interval.
its better to let them get used to a routine ya?

ruixuan
thx, actually the ideal started from valnsw if i din remember wrongly.

medusa
ya, true.
when i brought my #1 to swim @ 6th mth, she already struggling liao.
think its better to start them b4 5th mth, b4 they noe what is scared.

ai yo, ur gal's eye is really very pretty leh.

shint,
ya, i was refering to milkbags stored with milk already. after freezing, i noticed the bags go out of shape, maybe i didnt place flatly so thats why..

celynlee,
thanks, will order from her.

Good Morning Mommies!

Medusa,
To be frank, you can’t expect much regarding the food at cc lor…my gal only started to gain weight when she stopped cc and had regular nutritious meals at home…at cc, she eats very slow and small portion only…but teachers do play a part coz my gal used to have a teacher whom I talked to, she said she made sure the kids eat all in their bowls and are not picky with food…

Your gal is so pretty!!!

Twin Stars,
You shd try bringing bb out alone, go somewhere near 1st…rbr: there is always the 1st time and YOU CAN DO IT! =P

Hehe, I bought car/stroller accessories and toys for #2 and my niece…oso ordered clutch bags, bag organizers, bag hook and key finders…heehee, not forgetting cute socks and leggings too…find that #2 looks nice in leggings…hahaha…so what sprees you join??

Sling – yup, beta try 1st, if not become while elephant if you dun use it…I took a risk when I ordered 1 when I’m preggie…

Snow,
Haha, I always tell my #1 that this cannot learn from daddy coz it is WRONG! Hahaha…especially my hb likes to swear when driving…hiaz

Same here, cannot stop working coz if not my #1 got to stop her enrichment classes and also no pretty clothes to wear liao…hahaha

Vone,
So sorry I just saw your posting and just PM you…hope it is just in time…

Hisstory,
Hahaha, the ring costs $2k+..think better forget it man… =P
Maybe I shd get my #1 to hint at daddy to pay for the swimming lessons for #2 instead…hahaha

Krex,
I did my rebonding at this salon near my mom’s place named Papilio and it costs me $120…

Nini,
i am currently using the bumper playmat... i find it very useful lor... but for those who dislike/unable sitting on the floor for extended period of time, they may find it a little difficult to keep getting up from the floor. i simply place my girl girl on the bumper mat majority of the daytime. change diapers, bath, play and sleep there... good quality and pretty to see and most importantly, easy to clean.

snow74 & cocomo,
thank you very much for your time to do up the collation and the calender..nice sia.. =) maybe we can all post the pictures of our little darling at 1mth, 3mth, 6mth and 1yr old interval! okay, i know very *siong* but it's a nice feeling to see our babies all growing up together!!!

bulk purchase
was reading the forum for BP at this website yesterday. unsure if you guys already know about it http://forum.iluvaccessory.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=e53742aacc50c44482c039f580f42da2&board=5.0 enjoy online shopping!

Swimming:
Can start bb swimming before 6mths ah? If yes, then I shall bring #2 earlier as my #1 is pestering us to bring her to the pool again...

Catherine,
Snow and I also going Isetan Sale in the morning...heehee

swimming:
i am also keen to find out how young can a bb go to the public swimming pool? i am trying to let my bb enjoy water during her bath, but so far not much luck..hahah.

isetan sale & bb bjorn:
there is 15% discount for baby bjorn lei. very tempted to buy lei! but when bb was 4 weeks old and we tried to put her into one at Mothercare, she cried so loudly, so poor thing. how many mommies successfully carry bb in in such bb carriers already???

m2b
oh, ya lor.
my hb eat very loud, now my #1 eat got sound also. =(

thats why cannot give birth to 3rd 1, else all cannot go enrichment class liao.
diapers and milk powder itself can kill liao.

ya lor, ya lor.
who else wanna join us to go jalan jalan tmr? =D

jassie
u are most welcome.
that is a nice idea, but dunno if the calendar can handle so many pics or not leh. =P
if pics file size too large, cannot upload also.
unless we got a blog for our aug bb lor.

celyn, your system seems fairly simple. i think mine is complicated coz' bb does not latch on, so i'm pumping all the time, regardless of whether i'm at work, in laws' place or at home. i'm thinking when i pump at work, i will utilise 4 small bots. when i go back to in laws' place to pick bb up, will transfer all the milk into the big bots in feed size amts, e.g. pre-measure to 120ml (assuming he feeds that amt by then). at my in laws' place and at home, will continue to pump; just have to make sure i have 4 clean small bots to bring to work again the next day. leh cheh hor?

jas, my bb has been using bb bjorn after his 1st mth. he loves it very much. in fact, he cries when we put him in the sarong sling. i guess each bb has diff preferences.

YLN, just wanted to check with you: what is the peel off tab for TFY milk storage bag for? when i want to pour out the milk, don't i just need to open the ziplock portion? or do i peel it off?

morning mummies

for the foodforthotz breastpads...dun worry should be safe...i ordered 10boxes and she delivered for free...maybe i suggest those staying nearby can pool together purchases...

i also going isetan tomr..after bringing my boy to pd cos his face got very bad rashes leh...u think calendula helps?

think we can all meet there

anyone going to robinsons today? thinking of going....

i am using synergy to carry my boy..so far so good..

medusa,
your bb is so pretty!! When she grows up sure many admirers. She looks more like you? Cos she looks more Chinese than Malay.

M2B,
you joined the spree for CDs eh? I itchy hand too leh... I like the learning times CD too, especially the classical music one. I'd let to expose Chevelle to it but I've got so many CDs alrdy!

snow,
where u going to jalan? Who else going?

wow, 10 boxes. all for u or u combined with other mommies?

any mommies wana pool together? i am staying at choa chu kang area. pls PM me by today, 1pm if u are interested.

1739199.jpg

this is what i meant by out of shape. look at the bottom of the milkbag. is this okay? first time using milkbag so v blur. thanks!

m2b,
thanks for the link for the cd but don't know which one to get leh. so much choice.

krex78,
why don't you get some storage bottles to store bm so that you don't have to worry about not having bottle to bring home with you. so after you pump just pour them in storage bottles and leave it with in laws for them to feed then you will have your pump bottle free up.

when i go back to work, i will bring along glass bottle to store the bm so that i can free up my pump bottle.

megan,
wow, you order so much at 1 go. the post office staff just call me, they are going to re-deliver my breast pad later. don't have to go down and pick up liao.

snow,
thanks! i shall bring induce her to love water first before she starts screaming in a public pool..hahaha....

ya, even at this current 'flying' speed of this forum, i have problems catching up with the reading through the archive... anyone who's good at making website that can store many many pictures? perhaps we can start a August baby public photo album or something..keke
just an idea.

krex,
thanks... maybe i will bring bb there to try out AGAIN before purchase. currently she loves the sling but she's about 5kg already and it's very streneous to carry her in a sling for more than 1 hour! plus she is getting very curious and prefers to pop her head out to look around.

infant care:
anyone knows any infant care in tampines area? i still dunoe what i will do with bb when i return to work..haha.....getting a bit gan cheong already.

hormone rash:
i rem someone mentioned about milk rash or hormone rash? my bb has yellow crust like thingy on her eyebrows.. when i researched on the internet, apparently they say it would go away after 3 months... my itchy hands feel like peeling off the dried crusts!! anyone has any 'remedy'?

for your entertainment :D
A Woman Assaults a Cop with Breast Milk
A Bizarre Resistance is Upheld by a Local Thief

In London, England, one of the most bizarre assault cases I have ever heard of took place not too long ago. A woman by the name of Felicha Marin, an 18-year old woman, was caught trying to steal a pair of shoes from a store named "Lizard", which is located on Hill Street, Richmond.

Once Felicha Marin was caught by police for her shoplifting scheme, she went on to assault the police officers in a rather unusual, unheard of way. Felicha Marin promptly took out her right breast, took aim, and shot breast milk from her right breast at a police officer. Marin was then detained by police and brought down to jail. Marin is being held accountable for shoplifting, and an assault charge for the breast milk incident.

What kind of world are we truly living in these days? A woman, already in trouble for stealing a mere pair of shoes, decides to resist by taking out her right breast and shooting out breast milk? As disturbing as this incident is, it is also somewhat saddening to know there are such people out there committing such degrading and horrifying acts, especially against law enforcement personnel.

How exactly does this resistant act fall under assault? Assault is defined as "a violent physical or verbal act" (Merriam-Webster), among many other definitions as well. Since the breast milk was originally a part of Felicha Marin's body, I am presuming that since it was once part of her body, and was expelled from her body, it falls under the category of assault since it was in fact a violent physical act. Also, under the circumstances that it was expelled onto a public law enforcement agent, the law is harshly applied to the verdict as well since law enforcement personnel are there to serve and protect.

What does the court case have in store for us? I am assuming that Felicha Marin's lawyer will go for a defense where they say Marin's emotional state was unbalanced due to pregnancy. Marin, having contained breast milk in her breasts, is most likely pregnant, which causes many emotional problems correlated with unbalanced hormones. Will Marin get off the hook? I am unsure myself, but I am sure she will be granted some sort of leeway due to her current emotional state due to internal conflict within her body.

Although Marin was, and still is in an unbalanced emotional state, the act was committed. Marin should still be punished within guidelines of the criminal justice field. One thing I do know for sure-- this is by far one of the most bizarre cases I have ever seen.

medusa15
ur baby very lovely and eyes very attractive. next time when got boyfriend, u sure got a lot of supper. (my boyfriend, now hubby, always buy supper for my family).

any mommy using milk warmer here?

celynlee

if u r using medala or ameda breast pump, the glass bottle can be fixed up to ur funnel.dun need to transfer as transferring will leave some antibodies in the (being transfer from) bottle

Snow,
Hahaha, my hb always use the “F” word when driving but now my #1 will tell me “Mommy, cannot say the “F” word right?”…hahaha

Ya, with #3 then must home-school liao…heehee

Dun forget our date tmr hah…heehee

I brgt my #1 to swim after 6mths too so I’m right…heehee

Valnsw,
Yup, I joined the spree since ready stock…I oso dun know which 1 to buy so I chose Learning Times instead…dun wana buy too many too as I already have a CD for sleeping time…

Snow gg Isetan Sale with me…heehee

Celyn,
Dun mention…I chose Learning Times…

Jassie,
The news so funny…use BM to attack somemore…

Jassie

Chloe also has the yellow crust like thingy on her eyebrow. I used johnson baby oil to remove it..u can apply it on the cotton wool & wipe her eyebrow to remove lor... =)

does avent warmer overheat breastmilk?? i using tollyjoy and i find it overheat the breast milk. overheat will spolit some antibodies in the milk too.

celyn, what are storage bottles? like avent via cups? i think shldn't be a problem if i store them in the avent big bots since i have 8 of them. only thing is i will lose milk here and there during the transfers lor.

jas, it's called cradle cap. can use johnsons bb oil and dab on your kid's eyebrows and head. my boy still has some on his scalp.