(2008/08) Aug 2008

hisstory,
the best present i can get is to be able to put my baby to sleep asap so i can do my stuffs or rest. cos by the time i hpax her to sleep....it;s almost time for feeding!

earnestmum,
wah, u r fantastic, can think of no.3......maybe it shows that i'm really not cut out to be a mom

i will fuss over my baby but guess both bb n i are sleep deprived

snow,
think i;'m no supermom material
hope i can get a hang of it soon

here;s a pic of my chubby honey during her one mth party

1672410.jpg

Ask u all huh..For EBM how long can we keep in the frige??

My bb cant finish so much leftovers..gotta pour away so wasted...

[start of cut & paste]
re: update on drugstore, mommysown, pumpinpal & amazon spree

postage mummies, pls PM me yr address so that i can pack & wrap & send out all postage items at one go...

self collection mummies, i will mass email you my hp no & address so that i dont have to pm 10 over times... thanks...

those mummies who want normal or registered post instead of self collection at my house (3mins walk from serangoon mrt), please indicate below, most items are bulky so if i need to purchase wrapping materials e.g. box or mahjong paper or bubble wrap, i will add the cost to the postage fees:

YLN -normal mail pls.thanks
faerie - postage
Babywise - collection after confinement
valnsw - self collection
Cat -self collection
Shint - HB to collect
Yurri - postage
missysz
Luvlel
earnestmum - self-collect after 13 Sep
hisstory - collection after confinement
[end of cut & paste]

twin star,
my mum told me not to walk up & down stairs while doing confinement cos she say old aledi will get rheumatism of the knee caps... so i was confined to my bedroom most of the time... my maid & mum served me everything i need... even when going out, my HB disallow me to go down to the basement carpark & insist that i walk to the gate on the ground floor & wait for his car outside... btw, i saw my neighbour (delivered her baby 2+weeks earlier than me) also walk outside the gate to take her HB car, so maybe there is some truth to it...

when im extremely tired, i oso have negative thoughts that y after so long of couplehood & enjoying yuppie's lifestyle then we enter ourselves into this situation... sleep deprived plus difficult to go out... but when i look at my baby, i think it's all worth it... how can such a pretty & cute baby come out from my stomach... haha....buei paiseh...

Shint,
you really very energetic, after my c-section, i couldn't get out the bed at all on my 1st day... i was very hungry also & ate my dinner but vomitted out... 2nd day could only walk very slowly within the room, with the help of my HB... 3rd day then dare to walk out to the nursery with my HB too...

faerie,
no prob, once the items come, i will try to send it out to you asap... that's why im collating the collection method now as i hope to visit the Post Office to send out all postage items together...

re: sleeping with baby
im sleeping with my bb too... it's bcos my HB is too tired to rock her to sleep, once put down in her cot, she cry then he have to pick her up & pat/rock her to sleep... end up he say let her sleep on our bed plus easier for me to breastfeed her also... i think it's also easier for him cos he dun need to wake up so many times... but sometimes i wake him up just to ask him to help me to carry baby to change side cos i too tired to get up...

megan,
yours is #2 that's y you din thought of having full month part right? most of my frens also like that, mostly do for #1 only... but...full month party can earn money one... hehe...

celynlee,
you r reli veri disciplined... peifu...

krex78,
yup, agree with celyn that got little bm is better than nothing at all... jiayou...

earnestmum,
#3? dr ang will be very happy to hear that :p

re: travel
any mummies planning for a trip with baby? me planning to go japan with HB & bb in Oct but duno can handle her or not... my mum & fren discouraged us to bring her along

Nini,
Can keep EBM for 48 hrs in the fridge..since your supply so much, should keep in the freezer. Can keep for 3mths.

Dongle,
you are super courageous to want to travel in Oct! I'm thinking of CNY next yr and already feel scared scared thinking of it.

lol! I think all parents buey paisey one. My hb always stare at our bb and say how come he's so handsome?? And my mum always say my bb is a pretty boy.

All babies are perfect in their parents' eyes...especially when they're asleep!!!

how do u know if u bb is eating too much? my bb these 2 days keep throwing up milk after burping..i wonder if its because i increased by 10ml and maybe she find it too much?

dongle...dun worry..my gal travelled with us to japan when she was 4mths plus..and it was great cos bb still sleeping most of the time..

this CNY we will also be taking our first trip with 2 kids in tow...its gonna be interesting..

dunno y...today my breasts feel full the whole day despite latching and pumping...

Thanks Dongle, have PM you my address.

[start of cut & paste]
re: update on drugstore, mommysown, pumpinpal & amazon spree

postage mummies, pls PM me yr address so that i can pack & wrap & send out all postage items at one go...

self collection mummies, i will mass email you my hp no & address so that i dont have to pm 10 over times... thanks...

those mummies who want normal or registered post instead of self collection at my house (3mins walk from serangoon mrt), please indicate below, most items are bulky so if i need to purchase wrapping materials e.g. box or mahjong paper or bubble wrap, i will add the cost to the postage fees:

YLN -normal mail pls.thanks
faerie - postage
Babywise - collection after confinement
valnsw - self collection
Cat -self collection
Shint - HB to collect
Yurri - postage
missysz - normal postage [have pm u my address]
Luvlel
earnestmum - self-collect after 13 Sep
hisstory - collection after confinement
[end of cut & paste]

Roiv, Mulberry, Yuuri,
I had rented it and been using it. So far my boy is ok. He sleeps alot and is a sleepy baby so quite easy to put him on it.
Thisnk i can see the results .... he not so yellow but yet to see cos i am bringing him to have blood test tomorrow morning and see how , and continue to let him shine till 6pm when they come to collect the machine.
I hope it has good effects to clear the jaundice.

Had already left my boy in hospital when i discharged ... this time, i feel that it's better cos i can breastfeed .... more tiring on me but i feel better.

Hisstory,
It's about $65+ i recall. Original price is $80+.
Their 20% promo ends end of Aug. Dunno where else got cheaper but I needed it ... hubby was stunned that a pillow costs so exp .. he says use normal pillow can liao but i dun care, my back u know. Haha. I gonna suffer, not him.
Good thing your hubby so caring.

Twinstars,
Your little gal so cute!! Girls - can doll them up .... ah .... LAO NUA (Drooling)

Thanks faeriekim! I'll go check it out

Catherine, hahaa..ya man i might do the same too! LOL. Oh the pupsik sounds pretty good. Maybe u shld ask ur fren how to use or got manual? Hahah..

Really envy those who's celebrating BB's 1st month, i will most probs only be doing mine during Hari Raya itself. Sighs...cos her 1st month is during fasting month...abit hard to cater to all, as relatives are fasting during day time mah..bleah. I can't wait oso! But doing it on Hari Raya itself is my Hubby's Bday, Hari Raya Puasa, so altogether got 3 occassions to celebrate! hahaha...only scared 10 million ppl to entertain, can faint! U know my hubby side is got one whole kampung one loh...*faint*

i'm back from rebonding after 5 hours. by the time i reach home, its 6 hours from last pump. my breast are so engorge that i pump 160ml at one go but had to throw then away.

earnestmum,
i will freeze the lastest bm and let baby have the one that i pump early. i freeze bm pump on today and give what i pump yesterday. only when he latch on then he got the freshest bm. hehe.... its the first in first out practice.

nini,
if you freeze it, then can keep for 2-3 months (i think). if you keep at lower compartment then i think its only 48 hours.

dongle,
hehee.... try to be guai guai for confinement to avoid all the nagging.

hisstory, Yuuri, earnestmum, Snow74,
Yeah, me first-time mum. My hubby also said it could most probably be grandma's special scent. Besides, my MIL has been a nanny for more than 10 years, so she may be a natural 'magnet' to babies. Meanwhile, think I try to take over most of the feedings during the day to bond and spend some time with him, coz at night he will sleep in my ILs room. Hope such little efforts will pay off...

earnestmum,
Yup, me staying near Kovan MRT. Speaking of confinement, mine ends on 7-Sep, on which I would also hold full-month celebration. Can't wait for that day to come and get out of confinement! Haha

Shint: where did you get the brest friend pillow at $65+? so tempting to buy hee!!

celynlee: first in first out ...i find it such a waste to freeze the latest bm while baby drink the earlier cold to be heated bm leh... if it's the compartment for freezing fish/ice=cream, then can keep for 3 months right?

twin stars
Will pray that your ger lets u have as much rest as u need yah?
Are u doing TBF or bottle feed with EBM? If it's the latter, then maybe alternate with ur MIL?

Goodie, u managed to upload ur pix
*heehee* She's so awake in the pix!

earnestmum
I got 2 fr MIM (not wired) & 2 fr La Senza (wired).. Both sources' bra can be worn under t-shirt w/o showing seams. I just bought 2 bras which can be worn at home fr BHG (former Seiyu) costing $9.90 each

hisstory,
thanks will try to upload again.

earnestmum,
i pump twice day 11am and 10pm. i will store the milk pump at 11am and feed bb with the later.

snow,
has ur bb BCG shown yet? mine already 3 wks but still did not appear. i was wondering if they give the jab.

breast milk:
tks mommies for your advice. i will attempt to pump every 3-4 hours...must be more handworking for ss to come in. when bb is in better mood, will also try latching him on. if really cannot, i also bo pian lah. but i take consolation that my bb gets to drink my EBM, even if it's not enough to keep him full the whole day. btw, can i add all my small collection of milk during each pump if i pump more regularly? for e.g., if i pump 30ml at 10am and 30ml at 1pm and 30ml at 4pm, can i combine for a 90ml feed later?

crusty eyebrows & rashes:
went to polyclinic and the dumb doc said my bb has impetigo. i'm quite dubious. read my mt a notes and i think it's more of cradle cap. polyclinic docs are really quite inexperienced...

blocked ducts:
i'm having blocked ducts on my right breast today. so painful
i'm hoping it will go away after some massage and a hot shower later. anyone got a quick solution for this?

krex78,
for ebm, that is what i do. store them separately but will mixed them when feeding.

earnestmum,
yah. if put in freezer compartment can keep longer. what i do is i will immediately freeze the bm after i pump. those i put at lower compartment, i don't freeze them at all. will just let baby drink them before 24 hours.

earnestmum,
It's at TMC pharmacy. To be exact it's $65.10 after 20% discount.
I took their last blue color one cos initially i bought the poka dots one as that's the best for a boy ..
and i deposited there and forgot to pick it up. When i returned, i saw the blue one and told them I'd take the blue one instead.

celyn, shay,
the nurse at mt a said cannot mix the milk from different pumps and to feed the earlier one first before giving the later one. but when i viewed the avent cd, it says ok to combine the EBM as long as it does not exceed 48 hrs. so i dunno whether i shld mix or not if i start collecting small amts of EBM during my 3 hourly pumps. either that or i feed 30ml EBM and 60ml FM during each feed lor.

shay: so cute! how old is Ashton??

My CL say EBM can keep in fridge for 24hrs only..so i threw away alot alot... i m one kiasu mommy.

Anyone did ur bb's full month on the 3rd week instead of 4th week? Will bb be any difference as in the size?

krex
i combine my BM, usually from 2 pumping sessions..like first one mayb only got 90ml..then second time got another 90ml..i top up the first one to 110ml for my bb when i pump my 2nd one...the remaining pour into another bottle..and the third pumping i top up the 2nd pump one...hmm..u understand anot ar? i explain like a bit luan like dat...so far..bb ok leh..i think ok one lar..dun worry..
..but i ususally let my bb consume the EBM in 24 hrs...not longer than that..so i always have 4-5 bottles of EBM in fridge keeping rotating lor...drink liao , top up with EBM..
ur milk ss will increase one..just that it will take a few days with regular 2-3 hrs pumping..must be hard working..dun worrry

kovankitty: my email is [email protected] for future contact.

My Amber cannot finish all the EBM within 24 hours so tend to drag to 48 hours then I no choice feeze them. But it's a pity as once frozen, the antibodies are gone according to what I read. But no choice lor...

shay,
yah, can keep up to 48 hours. but what i keep there will not last longer than 24 hours for my boy. i always keep enough for 3 feed there, when he finished 1, then i will take another feed down from freezer to thaw.

krex78,
kk nurse told me not to mix for storage but i think for drinking should be ok to mix them. like yln, if my 9am pump is only 60ml then i will mix another 20ml of 12pm pump for my boy. then keep the rest of 12pm for next feed.

nini,
maybe you can start freezing your bm liao. its so waste to throw. i had to throw away 8 pumps supply cos i went for rebonding. i see liao also heart pain but no choice.

my boy will be having full month at 3 weeks+ in order to have it over weekend. i don't think there will be a big difference in size loh.

earnestmum,
is that so? freeze bm will not have antibodies huh? then how? i freeze bm immediately after pump leh. if don't freeze then how to stock up for him when i return to work?

Snow
Yeah man, haha! Really need to multi task.
I think its becos as compared to yr gal, my boy is still very young so maybe still dun understand the concept. But he sometimes will want attention from me also.. so that is the hard part when I am attending to bb.

Twinstars
Yes thats why must enjoy the time while it lasts cos they really grow up very fast! Wa yr gal so pretty! She looks really sweet with the hairband

medusa15,
when i ask my friend who is a nurse, she say if possible its 2 days. if not, at least 1 day. when i do rebonding with treatment yesterday, my stylist told me to discard for 1 day which equals to 8 pumps for me. also cos my boy got g6pd, so i rather pay safe to discard. if ebm in fridge is not enough then feed him with fm loh.

Hi mommies. Sorry to interrupt, have some extra Lucas Papaw 25g ($10 inclu normal postage)& 75g ($19 inclu normal postage) available. Pls PM me if interested. Tks!!

hey celyn..your boy also has g6pd? cos u rebond, so u hv to throw away bm for tt day?

btw, how come u guys have so much milk to spare ah...i can only pump enough for 3-4 feeds per day and bb latch another 2-3 times..then formula liao...

megan,
yah, my boy got g6pd. don't know if the chemical will be harmful to him so i will throw away bm from yesterday 3pm to today 3pm. start keeping from 6pm.

i don't have a lot of bm to spare too. only got spare for about 1 extra day supply. now slightly more cos for this week, i give fm (open liao, only drink once, very waste so start giving) at night so i can keep bm. when i throw away the fm next week (3 weeks after fm is open), he will go back to tbf again.

celynlee: it is true cos i read it from Mrs Wong's breastfeeding book, TMC. but frozen bm is still better than formula milk that's what her book says too.

megan: i also dun know why this round my bm is more than when i had my boy 3 years ago. back then i was struggling to keep with the next feed. maybe this round Amber latches on, my son did not want to latch, i got more rest and took fenugreek and other vitamins. also am doing confinement in my mum's place, back then was in my mil's place and also firstborn more gan chiong so lesser rest.

hmm..okie

celynlee..do u take beans..u noe like black bean soup? cordyceps etc? I got craving for peanut butter but din dare to take..a fren told me to avoid all beans/peanut in first year.

today my boy drinks bm, hungry every 2 hours..cant keep up with pumping..but when latch, he either falls asleep or dun want after 10mins..so cannot fulfil his hunger pangs...sigh

btw does anyone knows if company is generous enough to backdate to 1st Aug babies, govt willing to absorb the 4th mth maternity?

megan,
i got take leh. CL cook black bean soup with pork. so i eat loh, give baby bm too but he ok leh. CL did add some herbs in my food but not sure what is it. so far, no problem for him.

my boy also like that, can latch for 15 mins then sleep. sometime very hard to wake him up after that. so just let him sleep loh but after that very hard to guage his next intake.

inc,
i just did rebonding yesterday but throw away bm for a day after that.

twin stars
give urself some time lah.
if u think u can, u can. =)
ha ha....u doll her up till so cute, look like daddy ya?
zynn look like her daddy at this moment also.

kovankitty
dun worry too much now, rest more.
when bb get slightly bigger, they will be able to identify their own parent 1 okie?

shay
ashton is a happy bb ya? smile till so sweet.

bo leh, still can't find her BCG.
but it was written inside her healthbook that they injected BCG liao leh. =|
my #1 BCG appear after 2 wks, & till now its still a big spot there.

medusa
actually i think gal is more sensitive as compare to boy, so ur boy should be slightly ok bah?
till now my #1 will still wake up in the middle of the night to make sure i'm still sleeping next to her leh... -_-"

hisstory/nini/snow,
Thanks for your compliments....this pic was taken when Ashton was 3 wks old. Yea, he's a happy bb but started to fuss more lately. Mum says bb tend to fuss more when it's nearer to full month...is tht true or old wifes' tales?

krex,
i prefer to give bb the fresher ebm. anyway, the diff is 1day so i think it's ok. sometimes i also mix the ebm pumped at diff timing but again the diff is 1day at most.

Nini,
so sayang ar u threw ur >24hrs ebm?? y dun u freeze it b4 24hrs then? i rmb i read somewhere it says that can keep in the fridge for 48hrs b4 freezing?

Snow,
this morning i checked again and saw a mark something like birthmark on the left buttock. A small brown patch dunno if that's the one. I rang up ESH they also told me if it's written that means they have given the jab.

aiyah haven't finish.... my #1 bcg mark also shown after ard 2 wks and there's pus on the bcg. that's y i rmb very well and expect to see the same thing on Ashton too.

Megan, Celynlee,
My boy also sleeps at my breast after 5 mins of sucking .... he had jaundice and extended his stay for 1 more day in TMC after i discharged. Level went down to 9.3 but then after i took him home, on Wed at PD review, it shot up to 16.9 and I had to rent the photo light home to do home theraphy. Today did blood test and it had gone down to 12.8 -> stopping the home theraphy and Mon going for another blood test again.

The problem is .... don't think he drinks enough and he also wakes up like every 4 hourly .... so i stress .... i started BOTTLE FEEDING him ....
He is like drinking 90ml for a 9 day old ... dunno considered too much? He also will latch on for 5-10 mins and sleeps but when given the bottle, he will finish the milk.

He had been sleepy since birth.
I am wondering if u all give anything more when he sleeps after latching for 5-10 mins?

I hope to clear the jaundice then i dun give the bottle but then again, if feed at nite then how? still bottle rite?

shint,
belated congrats on your bb boy!
How heavy is your boy? Cos my gal also drinks abt 80-90ml initially and now that she's 3 wks old, sometimes she can drink up to 120ml.
I think the heavier your baby, the more he/she will drink.
Perhaps check w your PD if your bb is drinking enough. Mine said the amt she drinks is quite ok, and gained about 500g abt 1wk+ after discharge.

snow / megan,
You all also hving the full-mth on 7 Sep?
I got lost in all the posts. Which caterer you using? I'm going for Neo Garden.

Megan,
thks for the contact on Enfalac BP. I also chanced upon the thread.

dongle,
I didn't get any email from you abt your address.
I've emailed you, can give me your address again? Thanks.

shay,
Ashton looks v chubby and cute. I remember your baby is one of the chubbier ones.

medusa / shay,
Any of you go back to Dr Heng alrdy? I'm still thinking if wana go back to her for the pap smear. Do you still hv the sng sng/sore feeling fr your wound? Sometimes I feel abit damp there, wondering if it's the menses thingy or the wound. These few days, my menses tapering alrdy but on and off still hv fresh blood. Yours like that?

snow / medusa,
really pei fu both of you to juggle btwn #1 and #2. I'm thinking I sure break down if hv to cope with so much.

reirei / M2B/ Little Twin stars,
I think i also not enough milk supply. The max so far was 50ml. I duno if it's me not enough milk or the pumping not effective.

Re: Ameda pump
Every time I pump after 20-30min, I stop cos I dun see much flowing, then when I handsqueeze, still hv milk! Like the pump din completely drain out. Anybody else w the same prob? I did like what shint said, start w low vacuum and then up it but still not much use.

Re: Motherhood
Ya, I was also thinking to myself, what have I gotten myself into, all the incessant crying. As somebody said, babies are perfect when they sleep. When they start crying, they are little terrors.

I hope this will be a phase that we mummies hv to get thru and once this is over, we will see the intangible rewards from our efforts.
Ganbatte!

I'm becoming black-eyed panda too!
Each day avg abt 5-6 hrs sleep.

cocomo,
Are you around? The spree organiser for your Lasinoh bags is asking for you, said she couldn't find you. Hehe, maybe you wana reply to her?

missysz,
sorry to miss out your post, as for the FTG promo, I dun think it's on as it's so long since then.

Val, same same la! i oso have a daily dose of 5-6hrs sleep only. Daytime, when i finish doing some household chores, just when i wanna lie down and take a quick catnap, Falisha will eh eh eh liao! *faint*

Re: Pumping BM
Actually my Medela oso like that. Need to use hand to squeeze while pumping so it'll drain more milk out. I din adjust the vacuum power to too high cos the suction too much for my nipple. Hahah. Only increase abit. Heh.