(2008/08) Aug 2008

Sorry .. have got so much questions .... no time to post la ... so now finally find time .... gonna post more and try to find time to log on again.

Tata for now and appreciate if you can PM me on my questions .... cos i may not get to log on so often for now ...
Thanks mommies!!

Hi Everyone! I've been lurking here for the past few months reading and feeding on your advices and baby stories! I'm a 1st time stay-at-home mom and just gave birth last mon (18/08/08) via emergency c-section at EastShore (original c-section date was suppose to be 20/08/08 but baby Natasha decided to pop 2 days early!! :-O)! Trying to settle down with bb at home now and trying to figure out her breastfeeding routine etc as it seems to be soo irregular etc (sometimes 1/2hr breaks, somestime 2hrs or 1hr breaks in between feedings!). Sigh! I have some questions about breastfeeding hope you guys with your experience can help this very blur 1st time mom...

1) She seems to prefer my left breast and latches on quite easily there but with my right breast... she can't seem to get the right position to latch on properly & end up crying and yelling & vomiting out all her milk! What should I do..?

2) When you guys breastfeed, do you let your bb feed from one breast only, then let them feed on the other breast at the next feeding time or do you guys alternate the left & right breast during each session (eg. 15 mins on each side etc)?

3) Do you BF your bb when they wake up from sleep & cry for milk or do you guys wake your bb up at a certain set time eg. every 2hrs or every 3hrs to set a regular time table/routine etc? Cos my bb seems to have very irregular feeding times, sometimes she wakes every 2hrs, sometimes 3hrs sometimes even 1/2hr after she sleeps & cries/yells for milk! :-O

4) My nipples are killing me cos she has 'Barracuda mouth' any good nipple cream to recommend...? Every time she suckles the pain is really no joke man... :-O

Thanks in advance everyone! :-D

BTW anyone here uses a Medela pump with Avent wide neck bottles...? I have the Medela Swing, but prefer my bb to drink fr Avent wide neck bottles with the EBM... How do you pump the breast milk into the Avent wide neck bottles...? Do you:

1) Express the BM into the normal glass bottles --> pour into Avent wide neck storage bottles --> freeze the EBM in the Avent wide neck storage bottles --> Warm up in food warmer to feed?
or
2) Get an adaptor that we can fix onto the Medela Swing so that we can express the breast milk into wide neck bottles (Not sure if there's such a thing)...?
or
3) Express the BM into the normal glass bottles --> freeze the glass bottles with the EBM --> Warm glass bottle when ready to feed --> pour warm EBM into Avent wide neck bottles and feed baby...?

Thanks in advance everyone! :-D

Shint,
I am breastfeeding when in the hospital. However, when im home, my CL wants to me express my milk so that she can look after my gal while i rest. My milk supply increased rather fast, in fact faster than the amount my gal feed on. However, his few days, the volume seems to go down a bit, which had frightened me. Was comtemplating to go back breastfeeding in the day.

Any other mummies experience decrease in milk supply?

Valnsw
Haiz.. My gal is such a small eater and she really takes her own sweet time to drink her milk. Cos I doing tbf, so her intake is about 60-80ml per 2 hr feed. Max is 100ml but very seldom lor. She is also a very sleepy bb so i got to wake her up everytime she falls asleep halfway.I think you start off with 90 ml first then if she wants somemore then can make again. I think one way to gauge to see if she is feeding enuff is to see the number of nappies changed and poo poo she have.. If i am not wrong at this age they shd have a least 8 changes of nappies in a day.

Hee..my gal also never sleep throughout the nite yet but she will sleep at 10pm ad wakep at 3am for 1 feed. So at least I get no disturbance sleep for 4-5 hrs.. I think their pattern wll change week after week so keep yr fingers crossed : p

Shint
I am doing bottle feeding and latching on at the same time. Am uing nuk bottles and teats. So far my gal ok just that i think the milk flow a bit slow when it comes to bottle and she gets impatient.

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>, thanks for ur mail! Pls check I hv some questions.

<font color="0000ff">Shint</font>, congrats! ZK looks good! Gosh, how can they forget to give u breakfast, esp since u BFg? Pump so early got enough EBM?

<font color="0000ff">ladyl</font>, you can buy the Avent Breastpump Conversion Kit from Kidsurplus or from Breastfeed-Essentials Spree for Avent and Medela Pump Accessories. This can pump into Avent bottles. But I am personally not comfortable to freeze BM in Avent bottles.

cindy,
what i do is latch in the day and bottle feed with ebm in the night. my supply now stay at 80ml, like not increasing liao.

ladyl,
i don't use medela pump, i use avent. like jvenus, i don't freeze bm in avent bottles. i freeze them with glass bottle given by hospital. so i will transfer them to glass bottle to freeze, thaw in glass bottle and transfer back to avent bottle to warm up.

my boy also prefer my left breast to the right. i will start him off with the right then to the left about 15-20 each side. after that i will pump out if there is any excess.

shint,
i bf and bottle feed at the same time. usually bottle feed in the night but sometimes in the day too. i use avent bottle and teats. my boy is ok with both. he still remember how to latch.

i on fan for him and sometimes air-con. i don't wrap him up anymore, use cover his tummy and legs, hands are free to move.

Shint &amp; LADY
I am doing both BF-ing and bottlefeeding EBM. For bottlefeeds, I use Medela Swong to pump out milk into glass bottles n store in fridge. Sometimes I feed using Avent bottles cuz it claims to complement BF n it works for my girl. Other times, I juz fix a NUK teat to the glass bottles to feed.

JTS: BB FAIR @ Isetan Scotts n Katong 28 Aug to 21 Sep http://www.isetan.com.sg/newsletter/fw_base.html

re: perming of hair
jts that i spoke to the lactation nurse from hospital and she said that generally it's safe to do anything to your hair but it's best that you check with the hairdresser if there's any indications on the perming lotion or hair dyes that state that it's unsafe for pregnant/lactation women. She also added that traces of chemicals will surely get into our body during such hair treatment but no evidence have shown that they cause any concerns to our breastmilk. In other words, be on the careful side and go to reputable hairdressers and plus do your check.

Cindy,
I am doing TBF but cos ZK sometimes dun suck too long and i am sure he dun have enough, so i give bottlefeed for EBM too.
He can suck for 30 mins and then i still feed him like 40-50ml for every feed (about 4 hourly)
For a 5 day old .... i think it's alot ... but then again he is 3.4+ kg when he was discharged so maybe need more.

Medusa15,
Thanks .... i will see if i wan to get a new bottle.

Jvenus,
Milk flow came in on 2nd day ..... so i managed to bf him and at the same time "hand press" some out at the hospital so once, i did not have to wake up ;)
I tried using the Avent manual pump but it felt painful(last time i used it was ok) .... so i hand squeeze lor ... and to my surprise, i squeezed 50ml for the first time!
After i came home, using the Ameda, i got like 30-40ml ... now increased to 60ml.
Depends on how long my son sucks .... if not too long then so much, else will be lesser.
After he sucks, i still give him about 40-50ml per feed from my EBM.
So far the flow is quite good but i am afraid that supply will go down. Still try to get him to suckle as much as possible.

Celynelee,
I am using Avent as well .... i think so far, he is still ok ... sometimes hard to latch on.
So u alternate between NUK and Avent and your girl still ok to go back to the breast? Sounds encouraging.
At the moment, for bottle feed i get my helper to do it so son will not get confused.
Once, i tried to bottle feed but it was not successful but when helper takes over, he sucks from the bottle.
Not sure if this matter - cos LC says that for cup feed, get someone else to do it instead. Maybe the principle applies.

shint,
i'm using avent only. its jassie that is using nuk and avent. heheh....

i think if your baby is bigger, he will need more milk. mine at 3 weeks old drinks 80ml and weighs 3.69kg now.

Shint,
I have read about nipple confusion but my ger is not very particular about the type/shape/size of nipple as long as she gets her feed. Avent teats are very much of the same size as our aerola (with engorged breasts) and hence I believe babies can easily switch between these two. And as for NUK teats, my ger tried it when she was still in hospital taking some FM ma.. so far, so good la. (cross my fingers!) All the best! I believe most of us learn through trials and errors and every bb is unique!

Halo Mommies!

Megan,
Thanks for the contact.

Valnsw,
Is your gal better? My #1 used to be like that and need to be carried from 11pm to 4am. We did everything we can liao but to no avail...just before she turns full month, she is ok liao and slept throughout the night...hope this phase pass by soon.

Hisstory,
Ya, my mom oso refused $ for buying of food and groceries...even gave angbao to bb last Sat when we did her full-mth dinner...so will give her a big angbao tmr.

Hahaha, me out of "jail" earlier coz I was "imprisoned" earlier too mah...your turn will come soon.

hisstory
i using pigeon...n the teats are meant for 1-3months old bbs...i tried squeezing water from the teats..n it looks to me like very slow leh..but then when bb drink..drink like too much coming out like dat...sigh..also dunno how...everytime feed..she like running marathon like dat..very shag like dat

hey celyn...then ur bb dun eat alot/ my bb now is 2weeks plus but drinks 80ml every 3 hours but still not putting on enough weight..
have to bring back bb to check weight after full month..

do u noe if i pump for 15-20mins, will hindmilk come out already?

megan,
i don't know leh. i pump max 15mins only. how does hindmilk look like? he had been drinking 80ml since 2 weeks, now still keeping at that. he also drink every 3 hours. timing quite zhun one.

M2B,
thks for your concern. Ya, my gal still active from 10+pm til 4AM. Now without fail, she will sleep at 4AM, timing quite there alrdy.
Means no choice gota forgo sleep during this time. Daytime she drinks and sleeps well, can gao tim her in 15min or so.

megan,
what's the contact for Enfalac reduced prices? I would like to knw too. TIA!

valnsw,
i should be home on weekdays &amp; afternoon is gd cos my mum now only comes over to cook lunch &amp; dinner &amp; i'll have extra help only when she is around since my maid is still solely doing housework only... but if im tending to my baby or breastfeeding then not convenient for me to come downstairs, i will ask my maid to pass to you when you arrive... i will mass email all self collection mummies my hp no &amp; address later on...

babywise, hisstory,
no problem... im ok to hold onto yr items till after yr confinement...

shint,
ok, no problem...

[start of cut &amp; paste]
re: update on drugstore, mommysown, pumpinpal &amp; amazon spree

I have just paid vpost fees... expecting the items in 1 week's+ time... will check through items &amp; then post final tally... bad news is USD exchange rate is very high... mostly 1.43 to 1.45... im using uob credit card &amp; i will include the transaction/posting date &amp; details in the spreadsheet... good news is that UOB credit card got 12% discount off vpost fees &amp; i was reading from another month thread that mommysown.com charge them local shipping + cannot use international card &amp; organiser end up using paypal which is additional USD?? + 5% of total amount (duno isit i lucky or wat cos ours went through... hehe..)

those mummies who want normal or registered post instead of self collection at my house (3mins walk from serangoon mrt), please indicate below, most items are bulky so if i need to purchase wrapping materials e.g. box or mahjong paper or bubble wrap, i will add the cost to the postage fees:

YLN -normal mail pls.thanks
faerie - postage
Babywise - collection after confinement
valnsw - self collection
Cat
Shint - HB to collect
Yurri
missysz
Luvlel
earnestmum
hisstory - collection after confinement
[end of cut &amp; paste]

Thanks dongle!!

YLN -normal mail pls.thanks
faerie - postage
Babywise
valnsw
Cat
Shint
Yurri
missysz
Luvlel
earnestmum - self-collect after 13 Sep
hisstory

Amber drinks 3 oz about every 3 hours. During day time will latch her on for about 15 mins each time. I let her bf from my right breast only as my left nipple is inverted so difficult for her to latch on. She drink ebm from Pigeon bottle after a week of spoon feeding. I so heartpain to see much wastage from spoon feeding so I turn to bottle feeding despite the danger of nipple confusion. Luckily, she seems alright with sucking from my right nipple still...I find pumping easier than latching on. What about you, mummies?

hi ladies.
just finish bfg zynn, but think she din get enough and keep waking up from sleep. =P

megan
i started eating chix last fri, which is 2 wks after our operation lor.
so far so gd.....ur external wound ok liao?

valnsw
wow....120ml.
zynn only drinking 60ml every 3hrly. =)

shint

Val &amp; Snow,
Maegan is drinking 105ml every 3hrly now...sometimes she overslept and we will make 120ml for her...her feed at 11pm+ is without fail 120ml so can last her longer...

Shint,
CONGRATS!

Shint,
Ur bb is soo cute!!

I oso gave birth in TMC. Don't u jus love the cute dolphin top dat they put on bbs?

Valnsw,
I'm using Similac to feed bb.
She is almost on TFM..haha..BM to her is like yakult..cos limited ss everyday..and makes her poo.
We haf been giving her 100ml of fm since the start of 2nd week. She usually takes abt 70-80ml.
Now in her 3rd week, her appetite seems to haf increased.
Her pattern now is: Drinks 50ml..burp &amp; rest..sometimes regurgitates, hiccups and finishes the rest of the 50ml. Then lately, within 30mins - 1hr, she wld take another 20ml.
So now hb &amp; i are contemplating on giving her 120ml.

Btw, i did ask PD abt the feeding amt, his reply: Feed on Demand

hisstory: I poo poo on the third day only..After that i think due to the malay massage, the poo poo just come in naturally.. Still painful la. The gynae gave me bullet pill for my (_._) and oral tablets and cream.. so u can imagine its quite serious.
Btw the thread will dissolve by itself? cos i feel quite painful there sometimes...

Shint: didnt have the chance to meet u @TMC that day.. btw me 4-bedded was upgraded to 2-bedded.
Ur boi looks so handsome!
The TMC nurse quite good but abit chor lor..they push my bb like pushing shopping trolley! *angry*

I also let my bb latch on sometimes but mostly pump out.. now i can pump 120ml per time. In the morning can go more than 200ml... My CL is very pro-breastfeeding.
Only at night time is drink FM.

I must learn how to take care of my bb lor..if not my CL go liao i think i will surrender to my bb cryings.. cos dunno what to do.

ReiRei,
Thatz the reply I got from TMC Parental Hotline too...they said if bb is hungry and still wana eat more, then increase.

Same here, my bb is also on almost TFM as my ss is really miserable and like water to her...haha

The feeding pattern is same too...feed half then burp and then continue...

Has anyone ordered Dinner Delivery from Neo Gardens b4?
Are they good?
Alternatively, are there any other good providers?

ReiRei,
You are definitely not alone.

Yup, it is 24hr Postnatal Help Hotline and no is 91193502. hehe Yup, FREE!
I call many times when I was discharged to check on bb's stuff...hahaha, me 2nd time mommy somemore. =P

valnsw,
i also give my girl 90ml for feed, dont think she can take 120ml as yet. And sometimes after like 3/4 she will doze off, then after awhile i put her down and she will wake up cry and then finish the balance. think quite normal.

shint,
i'm both bf-ing and bottle feed. I use pigeon, medela and nuk bottles/teats. So far she's ok with both methods cos i alternate them both. I also feel that left breast is easier to feed cos of the position. right breast sometimes i feel like blocking her nose. You can try the football hold for right breast. easier and less stress than cradle.

dongle,
i'll self collect. just let me know when it's available and convenient

shint
*congrats* on your bundle of joy! ZK has a handsome head of hair!

ladyl
*welcome*
1) Maybe u want to go back to the hospital &amp; speak to the lactation consultant abt the this? Maybe the nipple shape needs some correction with the nipplete..

2) I try to BF on 1 side &amp; if she's still awake, offer the other side. And at the next feed, continue with the last breast.. At least tt wld ensure she gets the hind milk..

3) During the day if i notice her feeding interval is too long, say more than 3 hours, I wld attempt to wake her. But at night, i feed on demand..
Does she have irregular feeds every day, or only on some days? There are days where growth spurts may occur, so those days may require more latching on

4) Some brands of nipple cream are Medela &amp; Lansinoh.. Here's a link for other alternatives
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/bfaccessories.html

M2B
Parents always refuse when we give them money.. I just slipped some money into my mummy's wallet. *heheh*
I do hope by week 3 of confinement, my mummy wld be more relaxed abt me going out.. Can't wait to go a little gaigai, even grocery shopping also gd lah!

YLN
Maybe try another brand? NUK is quite recommended by hospitals.. I know Mt A recommends it, as the shape of the teat is also the closest to our nipple. Even my mum used NUK on my siblings &amp; myself 27 years ago..

dongle
Arigato!!

earnestmum
I have not tried pumping so far, but I must say when she 1st latches on, she gets choked maybe becoz she suckles too fast at the initial stage. Tt makes me want to express at times.. But I decided that I wld persevere &amp; hopefully Ashley regulates her pace of suckling

NiNi
I buay tahan the tightness of the stitches, but to prevent constipation, i forced myself to poopoo on the 3rd day too.. Otherwise lotsa toxins stored in my body leh
Wah u have quite a lot of medication! I was only issued the antiseptic liquid &amp; then painkillers (to be consumed when needed).. U okie now? I just had my stitches removed.. A little pain, but more of discomfort during the removal process

Hi mummies...
I am from Nov thread, would like to check with experience mummies, how long (the duration) for Epi to works? 8 hrs? 10 hrs?

Any mummies in Pasir Ris? Any PD ard the area the recommend?

My baby seems to have puffy eyes? Dunno if there is an infection. Do any mummies experienced that too?

M2B,
Thanks for the lobang dear!

I will give the number to mil so then we will not argue anymore! haha..
Y'day she sorta chided me for feeding bb too much. Asked me to hoax her instead of keep feeding her..really buay tahan..have to turn a deaf ear, if not sure argue again..haiz..

re: Mastitis
I oso kenna leh..sigh..
For me, i tink the cause is not pumping and resting enuff.
Here's a v informative website: http://www.askdrsears.com/html/2/T022200.asp

hey guys..do u have to carry the child to sleep..my mum been carrying the boy and now he like needs to be carried all the time....

Megan,

I know my niece used to have this problem, without carrying can't sleep. She also have to sleep a special position, if nt will stay wide awake.

so much info to read up... while I am counting my days to see my baby gal.

Just checking is it ok that we burp them ,then continue breastfeeding?

I heard from the seminar that if pull in n out will cause sore nipples. But if the baby vomits, then is there any better way to let them drink, burp n drink again?

tia

Hisstory,
Thanks ;) .... hs hair quite nice but after sometime, it will all drop ... like monk ... cos #1 oso same. I think he;ll be like tat too.

Megan,
Never carry him too much, or rock him. I realised that the nurses must have tapped his backside cos when he came home, he fusses and i could not get him to stop crying, i slightly tap him and he quietened down ... but i do it slowly and slowly made do without. Else you'll have a hard time - my hubby was dancing his #2 but i told him to stop else it becomes a habit.

Thanks Jassie, Snow74, M2B, ReiRei!

POOING
How often does your baby poo? mine dun poo alot ... and still is the black black one.

FEED oN DEMAND
M2B,
Feed on demand. Does that mean if the baby dun wake up after 4 hours then just wait till he wakes up? or must wake him up to feed?
Mine will wake up every almost 4 hours and feed for a miserable 10 mins and falls asleep.
I tried waking him up but failed. So now, if he wakes up for feed, i bf then i make sure he drinks from the bottle ... at least can produce some pee.

ZK is still abit yellow leh .... dunno why. I am trying to feed him more now ... so he can pee alot.
He is not quite pooing much. Yesterday he pooed once .. is once ok for a day?

Nini,
I only had Faerikim's hp (i thought) and i went to her room to chit chat with her! hehehe.
I quite garang, vv fast walk here walk there liaoz.
Once, at 6am, i was vv hungry and realised i din pack my biscuit so nothing to eat.
Asked the 4th floor counter if Delifrance is open and the nurse says prob .. so i walked down to buy some nice food cos breakfast is served only at 8am.
WEnt downstairs but it's not ready and they say can go to the opposite Petrol kiosk to buy ..
i almost wanted to walk over but realised i in PJ and what if i fainted on the road? i vv hungry liaoz.
Then went to the Admission counter and ask if there's other food to buy... then they gave me biscuits. Hhaa, this hungry mama here.
The nurses on the 4th floor should have offered me milo and biscuits. *Bad service.
It seems they are not trained to service the patients cos they are mostly doing phototheraphy, something like that.

Anyway I was also upgraded from 4 bedder to 2 bedder and quite dissatisfied with their service.
First i checked into a room and i could hear construction noises throughout from the 3rd floor - i was above the renovation wing.
Then my neighbour upgraded to a 1 bedder, i moved over to her bed cos my side aircon was not working! i was perspiring big time.
So i suffered the noise for 2 days and on the 3rd day, i could smell glue .... it was so bad so i insisted that i want change room and they did.
Afternoon, they switched me to the other wing and it was the bed near to the door.
Imagine, this room seems smaller and the design is bad ... i could see people from my bed if my door is open, in fact can see the lift and almost the counter!
and the curtain is badly designed ... it opens from the side where the door is n if someone is not careful, or they wan to come inside(while i am Bfing), they pull the curtain and everyone from the lift can see me breastfeeding!
I always had to tell them to be careful and draw the curtain back. SO irritated.
Furthermore, this room the aircon on my side is also not working. I mentioned to the nurses a few times but nothing done.
Until 10pm i could not take it cos i had quite some visitors ... so i told them again.
Then they got the maintenance man to come - he took out a vv filthy filter ... and wash it.
It did improve a little ... cos i was checking out the next day so i stopped making a fuss.

I must say that it was not a vv pleasant experience.
Well, for those who are delivering there, please check with them when the reno is ending and tell them not to check u into the wing where it is above the renovation wing.
The 6th floor was all taken up ...

I guess u get free upgrade, u get lousy wings.

So much about the hospital stay - heng, my milk ss was not affected by that.

120ml - 200ml ... wow, that's alot. How often u pump? How much is your baby drinking? You have so much supply, how come you are giving FM?

cindy, haven't used drypers yet but i can see that my remaining mamy poko is depleting fast! that brand is gd but ex! material is soft and absorbant. i hope i won't be too disappointed with drypers.

mummies, need some advice here. just got my avent isis electric duo pump. i find the whole process cumbersome. i was using manual before and it's easy. with electric, i can't seem to rest my arms when tired and i can't figure a way to be clean about pumping. when i remove the pump, the milk starts to leak. i hate that both my hands are busy holding on to the bottle. then my milk seems to be stuck at the valve area and sometimes milk seems to be leaking out of the bottle during the pump. sigh, not making very good progress with the electric after all the heavy investment. pump time also not reduced. i still collect about 90-100ml and it takes 1 hour by the time i set up everything and finish pumping and keeping all the stuff. not very productive leh...

krex78,

*high 5* i m aso using d avent isis electric duo pump. bt i dun seem 2 hv ur prob. 4 me, as i normally pump on my bed, wat i do is, i sit cross legged when i m pumping. thus i wld rest d 2 btls on my thighs. when i remove d pump, i'll tilt d 2 funnels back a little so tt d milk wldn't leak out. if ur milk seems 2 b leaking during d pump, then it means tt ur btls or ur funnel is nt tighten properly. i normally take abt 20 mins 2 set up, pump &amp; keep. 1 hr seems v long 2 me.

r u on msn? if yes, pm me ur email add &amp; i'll add u in. then we can chat online abt it.

krex78,
I oso have similar prob as u. Personally prefer the manual pump cos seems to yield more milk. I've got the pumping pal handsfree thingy and found it quite useful when using the ameda dual, think u can try it.

Ameda Pump
Mummies who are using ameda, any tips to make it work better? Somehow I find tt it is not very efficient even tho' i turn the cycle and vacuum to the max liao. Can't seem to 'squeeze' out much milk.

bb full month
Last sat is my bb's full month celebration. Totally shack out cos 2 sessions - lunch and dinner. Feedback on meihao 99 catering - not bad, but not fantastic. Melrose Bake House - walnut cake quite nice, tarts are good.

bringing bb out
Aiyoh, I've been wanting to bring bb out myself to see doc or gai gai.. but dunno where to start. Bring stroller out like too cumbersome. Thinking of buying sarong sling. Any mummies tried to use the sling before? Easy to use?

Shint,
for total brestfeeding, the baby should poo at least once every two feed or even every feed. If you on FM, then the number of poo will be less. For baby with jaundice, we have to let them poo and pee more often... If you feeding FM, seek advise from your PD.

krex78,
i'm also using avent isis duo pump leh. how come you take so long to set up? i got the motor and the tube all attached ready beside my bed, only set up once and didn't keep. the only thing i need to assemble is the bottle and the funnel thing which i sterilise after every use. i will pump for 15 mins max, i have no problem with leaking when i remove the pump, maybe cos by then no more milk liao. you can use the tail of the avent brush to clean the valve. i bought the handfree thing from pumpin pal to hold the bottle. but in the night, i will hold on the bottle or use my thight to hold on the bottom of the bottle with the funnel press on my breast. (not sure if you understand what i mean). at least, you manage to pump out 90-100ml. i only get 80ml, rarely 90ml.

shint,
i thought baby on tbf will poo very often. mine need to change almost before and after feed.

yo ladies!

thanks so much for the well wishes!

finally got the strength to reach for the laptop n try to write something... shint, i gotta agree, u very energetic! i cld see that when you visited me at the ward on your own tat day! as for me, the delivery process of pushing n then being 'cut up' certainly didn't help my body.

hope it's not 'passe' to still post deliver process in tis thread still when everyone has progressed to bfding n milk ss. juz gonna share a somewhat watered-down version of what happened to my on 20/08.

19/08
23:30 Arrived TMC and got admitted

20/08
00:00 Changed into gown, kenna shaved, cleared my bowels
00:15 Moved to delivery ward
00:30 Gynae came to do VE and I was 4cm dilated oredi!
02:00 Decided to take epidural (wanted to be hero as well cos din feel any pain even tho was 4cm dilated) juz in case i faint from pain during delivery and cos the nurses told me that 'the other 2' ladies also took epidural
05:30 Nurse told me I can start pushing after waking me up with her subtle movements
06:00 Gynae arrived and encouraged me to push tog but still cannot see the head
06:30 Gynae said to go for c-section cos she won't be able to help me get the bb out despite using vacuum etc cos head is too high and slightly horizontal.

Had the shock of my life... but had to agree...

Was scheduled for a 07:00hrs c-section but was only wheeled in at 07:30hrs to start.

08:00 DD#2 was born into the world

krex,
me using the same pump as u, but no prob leh. where leaking? u din buy the pumpin pal ah? i find the pumpin pal diff to use rather. mebbe need to work tog wif the shields.

breastfeeding:
have overcome the initial stage of sore nipples n blocked ducts... PHEW! painful... painful. i applied the AVENT nipple oil (sample satchet) and it worked well for me.

massage lady:
i read from somewhere in the thread that someone had a very good Chinese masseuse... can i have the contact PLS!! cos of the c-sect that I had, i might not be able to use the Malay masseuse tat I had planned to use due to Hari Raya. Tried running through the thread, but can't locate the post...

dongle,
pls lemme know how much to top up. kinda need to milk bags urgently cos have run out of glass bottles to store the BM that I have pumped out. my gal oni drinking abt 60ml per session but i pump an additional 60-80ml now.

nowadays, hard to read n keep tract

hisstory,
congrats yr bb looks like u

i dunno how to post pics still, hehe

m2b,reirei
my breast like "lao hong" already, hehe. think i will let it die a natural death cos i can;t keep up with the demands of BF. with the csect n the taking care of baby.....n the climbing up n down the stairs. i can;t take it liao. even my CL, she was limping frm sun from too much going up n down the stairs. she left this morn n will go to the dr for jab liao.

can;t leave things to my maid at the moment as she is not familiar with baby stuffs yet. think my stress level shot up n affected ss big time. anyways i gave the the best i can so hubby told me not to make life diff for myself, so i'm hanging my flag :p

Fm,
my girl is drinking 120ml of milk n it can only last her 3hrs max! i've just increased her dosage n monitoring......

shint: i also got lousy wing..wanted to rest but the renovation works very noisy, my bb keep getting startled. I pump 2-3times a day..latch on maybe 2x a day? Usually feed him with EBM... today he drinking very little.. only 70ml per feed.
FM can last him longer, so only giving him 2x for his night feeds.. Morning is all on EBM.

hisstory: how come u need to go bk to remove stitches? mine is the dissolve one..but now poking on to my there..very uncomfy..

fariekim: Hi! I am only of them who did epidural..
Cos the lady next door did the epidural liao so nurse ask me to 'shun bian' take lor..haha i was only 2cm dilated n the cramps is ok. Anyways i think i overheard the nurse talking about ur case. Anyways as long as bb is safe, it doesnt matter!
Is ur gynae also Dr Joycelyn Wong?

twin stars,
u bery farnee leh... me oso facing the same prob. c-sect (trying so hard not to sneeze, laugh, etc.) n then gotta pump every 3hrs, then best part is when #1 comes home in the evening... she not sticky to her papa, so it's diff when i gotta feed bb.. got no CL either, n maid is mainly doin hh chores as well...

know how u have tried, but juz wanna encourage u still
dunno abt myself as well.. keke..

yupper! my gynae is dr. wong.. she was telling me how i am the special one in a few tat have to go for e. c-sect. :S sianz
give the nurses something to talk abt for the day...

my wing was not TAT lousy, but the room itself SUCKED! beside the door, n soooo cramped! in the end, moved up to 1-bedder. spend $ oni.