(2008/08) Aug 2008

happie,
i will wake up to pump at 12 midnight, 3am and 6 am. if i don't wake up, breast will feel engorge. sometimes, i lazy will sleep for another 30 mins before waking up.

shay,
wow, you can get so much. i hope mine will increase as i go. the most i get so far is 80ml. now baby is back home, i try to latch in the day but didn't pump after that. is it better to pump after latching? night time, i will definitely pump.

i have a qn.... does any of ur elder kid drink ur ebm? do u think it will benefit them since their nutritional needs r diff? my 2 yr old son loves my ebm and i gave him 1/2 cup yesterday. Not sure if it will be beneficial to them if not, then might as well i save it for #2.

celynlee,
ya, to increase ss u sud empty ur breast after feed. but sometimes i did it the otherway round. bb wakes up after i pump so i still latch him on even breast is empty. i rmb when i had my #1, he refused to latch on and i hv to pump very diligently every 2 hrly to increase ss. For this one, since he can latch on well, i try not to pump so often so that breasts won't feel so engorged. Will start to work harder after the 1st mth to keep some stk b4 going bk to work. Also pls rmb to drink lots of water.

shay,
thanks for the tip. i don't know when to pump since baby is back. very confuse by his timing. so now i know, regardless of what, i just pump as usual.

nini, if u go taka fair, help me find out if philips avent isis duo electric pump got offer? if yes, how much, and what freebies are they offering?

krex: not a problem! Will update u if im going these few days!

earnestmum

*congratulations* on your delivery! Press on with BF!!

happie

U delivered abt 2 weeks ahead of EDD hor? Ur ger must be very eager to meet the world..
My princess seems very comfortable.. *hahah*

huichin

kekeke.. Ur HB's really onz!

<b>hisstory</b>, Ahaha...he oso wanna kpo once in a while...very interesting he says! LOL...esp. when our Mummies here upload photos! Hahaa...

huichin

My HB also thinks it's very interesting, esp all the birthing tales.. And then after he reads, he wld keep asking his little one to come quickly into this world

happie,
Congrats on your gal!
She's got big eyes!

RE: umbilical cord
Anybody noticed your bb's umbilical cord got dried blood staining bb's clothes? Any cause for concern?

RE: breast pumping
So How long shd I pump after I let bb latch on for 30min? Cos after I pump, after some time I dun see any milk, I take out tho my breasts still feel engorged.
Sigh... duno if I pump correctly too or not.

hisstory / huichin,
my hubby also sees the pix posted up. haha.

aurora,
Thanks thanks.
1635200.gif

celeynlee,
wow, u r very hardworking. I think i must work harder. But even if i dun pump in the middle of the night, my breast still dun feel so engorged . Think my ms is still really low. Haizz

Hisstory,
Yaya, think my ger super anxious. Was suppose to have my c-sec on 8/8 but she oso cannot wait, haha. But i really miss the feeling of her in my tummy.

val

wonder why hb's are interested in bb pix.. heehee

happie

I wish my ger is anxious too.. She's causing quite some pain in my pelvis. But like u said, maybe once she's out, i wld miss the feeling of her inside me.. Not forgetting the very disrupted rest i am going to experience. Such an irony

Congrats Ernestmum,
For natural delivery, so fast can go home liaoz ... me still waiting for next week.

Baby's been kicking alot .. maybe no more space liao. Been experiencing tiredness, losta stretching and sometimes painful near pelvis area, frequent toilet sessions .... still, i am telling baby to wait till next week cos #1 still recovering and should #2 come out, I have to bring maid home to help and #1 will be alone at MIL place (not something ideal).

Just woke up ... and guess what? I DREAMT that I had show! It was alot of blood .. and i was still vv calm, slowly take my things to prepare to go check in .... and hubby came home, etc. Can't imagine ... haha. Read too much oredi.

Yday went to the gyane, 40 weeks and realised 1.5cm dilated buy gynae say she is not ready to come out yet so go home to wait. But if she still not coming out, gonna induce tmr liao....

Those mummies that are induced,
Is it a very painful process?

valnsw,
after shay's advise, now i still pump for 15 mins after latching. can still get a bit of milk lah.

happie,
if i don't wake up, i will feel super pain loh. can't even lay on the side. so must wake up. also don't know if i pump correctly or not, breast always feel hard when i touch or poke it. hehehe.....

ernestmum,
congrats

low milk supply
mummies with low milk supply...i experienced that when i was in week 2 (now im in week 3..going on to 4 soon)..cannot catch up with demand of bb...so i dilgently pump every 2 hrs ...for a few days..maybe about 4-5 days...and i also supplement wif FM at nite ..now i have increased my milk supply...and starting to store also...at nites..since i have ample breastmilk...i will ask CL to switch back to breastmilk at nite...
....finally efforts paid off...so mummies who think u have low milk supply...dun give up..milk will come in..some just come slower than others...
im still pumping 3 hrly...max i get is 120ml...imagine...one week ago i only get max 70ml...now it went to 120ml...so...mummies must perserve...if cannot meet demands..just give FM at nite first..then when BM comes in..switch back..when u r less stress with pumping more milk...more milk will come in...
im hoping to get a bit more milk still so i can store more..so..will still pump diligently 3hrly..

snow
i also bought Friso gold..lucky bb never reject BM after that..heehee

hisstory, huichin:
You can count my hubby in too. Even he loves to see the cute pics and tells the baby to come out soon. He is quite enthusiastic after reading the birth tales

Cocomo:
Thanks for updating my baby details. 3.1 kg @ 37+5 days.

Query:
If we have dilated say 1 cm, will the labor still take time? Mine is very weird, I have dilated 1 cm from 27th July 2008 and also have regular contractions from then on. The contraction is every 7 to 10 mins. But I don’t feel the pain. Gyane says even she doesn’t know when baby would come but she says she doesn’t want to rush things as baby is growing inside. put on about 1 kg in 2W+3D.

Any idea what’s happening with me?

yuuri
im going shave my bb's hair for full month celebration lor...though my MIL keep saying very ugly..dun care her lar...u shaving ur bb's hair too?

YLN, Catherine,
Shaving hair. I always wonder if shaving hair will make the baby's hair "rougher" .... I did not shave my #1's hair and now he's got vv nice hair. A friend shaved and the son's hair all standing up, like army boy .... dun know if it's the genes or it's becos of the shaving.
For me, I don't want to shave them cos I think it will become rougher. *Food for thought.

Pumping &amp; Breastfeeding
Baby latch on, if not enough then supplement with EBM or FM. After that, must pump out so can have some supply for next feed and to increase the supply.

BFing - every 3 hours routine for initial stage.
Hour 1 - Get ready to feed baby (Massage, drink milo/milk, Latch followed by EMB/FM)
Hour 2 - Settle baby to sleep and start pumping
Hour 3 - Baby fuss, poo, change baby, etc ... happy, it's time to rest and Wahhhh waahh wahhh ... baby is hungry again. *faintz

This was my routine for #1 so prepare for hard work if we plan to do BF. Anyway, BFing, you pass your antibodies to your baby and makes them stronger against external virus.

I was glad to find out that newborn baby will have immunity for about 2 weeks(against chicken pox ... i think shld be other virus as well ba) and will continue to have that if I continue to breastfeed.

For those who had not delivered .....
Remember to keep baby away from people who are sick cos babies are most vulnerable. In hospital, if friends visit and they are sick, do advise them to stay outside (not rude la but for the sake of the baby). Sometimes pple forget and are not sensitive to the possible impact so gotta remind them.

YLN,
good u are producing more milk now ... haha, by the time my turn, I must ask u all for advise liaoz .. hehehe. I oso forgot really what happened with my #1. Guess I did not perserve and though I had some milk initially, little ... but eventually it dropped cos he was hospitalised and I got lazy.
Must try harder this round since I bought so many things to aid my breastfeeding.

Catherine/valnsw: thanks ladies for your advice. think i will drop by taka bb fair after work to check up the breast pump.. ameda is the one i have shortlisted too... but it seems to be a bit fragile.. is it true??

had been reading the birth story.. and see the word "show".. what does that means? can anyone enlighten me.. thanks in advacne

Gonna see my new gynae in the afternoon. Gonna check how big baby is now.

Old gynae says baby was 3.5kg last week and 2 days ago, still 3.5 kg when I went for the scheduled checkup. Again, he asked me if I wanna fix a date which i said not really, gonna wait. Then he said that "Oh, if u are going to deliver at 3am, then the charges will be much more".

Is it true that if you go for emergency c-section straight away, u get charged more? Or it's just the package that they normally charge, regardless of when u deliver? So far, I haven't heard gynaes telling patients that if u deliver in the wee morning, u get charged more. Should he then put the charges based on the timing?

And if that's the case, then all natural cases will be charged more cos they can deliver any time.

Anyway, i just ignored him .... not asking him to deliver anyway. Always talking about $$. Think I wun be seeing him anymore.

YLN,
glad that yr milk supply has increased by so much... im still struggling...

re:ameda parts &amp; lansinoh milk bags
i have placed orders at mommysown &amp; amazon last night... mommysown order aledi shipped out... will update again...

Mommies

Any comments on the query:

If we have dilated say 1 cm, will the labor still take time? Mine is very weird, I have dilated 1 cm from 27th July 2008 and also have regular contractions from then on. The contraction is every 7 to 10 mins. But I don’t feel the pain. Gyane says even she doesn’t know when baby would come but she says she doesn’t want to rush things as baby is growing inside. Baby put on about 1 kg in 2W+3D.

Any idea what’s happening?

<font color="0000ff">earnestmum</font>
i also had pain in the uterus/womb for 1 whole day after delivery. my gynae said it normal.

<font color="0000ff">happie</font>
I have to pump every 3hrs else my breast is engorge and it's uncomfortable. but sometime i can't wake up and sleep abit more, like last night, got 1 time I too lazy, I slept extra 1 hour....keke..

<font color="0000ff">von</font>
paiseh, i forgot how much is his fees...coz hubby paid...hehe
anyways, i don't intend to stick to him after bb passed 3months old. I will find a PD near to my place then.

<font color="0000ff">faeriekim</font>
u should tell your hubby, long queue means the doctor is good mah...keke...
but so far, coz bb is still newborn (1mth n below), our waiting time is short. sigh...but for our next appt (Hep B 2nd jab), we have to wait liao.. but i booked for 9am appt, hopefully the waiting time is shorter *cross fingers*

<font color="0000ff">missysz</font>
re: 6in1 jab
sigh....my hubby forgot to ask when he brought bb for checkup on MOnday. i reminded him many times to ask but he said Dr.Ong didn't say anything abt 6in1 jab, so he didn't bother to ask..... *faintz*

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
u r so smart not to hire CL leh! me like twin stars, have joined the 'hate my CL' club liao. She also caused my stress. so now, i just avoid her as much as possible. Ignorance is bliss then. If not, i stress and then my milk SS drop leh.
eh me same as you, the day I discharged, i quickly bought dual electric breastpump (i bought Medela PIS Adv). I don't care expensive or not liao...hehe.. hubby see me so xin ku, he also didn't say anything and just paid for it. :p

my bb poo poo alot leh...lost track of how many times liao. She very notti, will poo like few seconds after feeding. sometimes will poo will latching her also!

<font color="0000ff">Shay</font>
so envy your SS is so much!
so far my SS is enough for my bb. Now i can pump total 100-120ml each time and my bb is currently drinking 90ml.
but but I worried her demand will exceed my supply soon leh.
when you say drink lotsa water? how much to drink ar? i read it's like need to drink 2-3liter per day, is that correct?

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
i worry my gal will drink too much leh... aiyoh tell u, my CL fed her 90ml today liao! she said bb seems hungry for more, so she increase. Dunno is my CL just lazy to do more frequent feeding or not...previously my bb can tahan 3hourly feeding interval but lately cannot liao.

how much is your bb drinking now ar? is 90ml ebm too much for a 12day old bb?

hisstory,
haha. its really an irony. So u must enjoy every moment u have with her in yr tummy now coz u nv know when she might give u a surprise. hehe

celynlee,
reallie. how i wish mine breast will feel the same way. haha..Mine is still soft except for the 1st time i express.
Btw how long did it take for yr MS to increase to yr current supply? I've onli started pumping 3 days ago. Wonder if thats the reason my ms haven increase much yet.

Re: breastfeeding
Any mommies using Ameda pump? Does it empty yr breast each time coz mine doesn't seem too. After each pumpin, i can still express some out using hand. Must we increase the vaccum to the max so that it can fully empty the breast ?

YLN,
I intend to make the taimaobi thingy for my bb. Actually didn't want to, but we figured throw away the hair might as well get something in return. The funny thing is MIL was the one bugging us to shave bb's hair then yesterday she suddenly tell me she never shave any of her kids' hair, incluing Hb!!!

dongle,
Thanks for going to all the trouble of ordering

YLN,
I'm just 5 days behind you but my SS is still around 70ml. Hope I can 'catch up' soon!

Mulberry,
My boy is now 17days old already and still drinking 90-100ml.

Happie,
I'm using Ameda pump and it empties my breast. I don't dare to increase the vacuum to the max, scared pain! Max I go is the middle mark only :p

mulberry, my bb is 17days old and already drinking 100ml to 120ml..PD already told me increase her intake to 90ml on the 1st week (tats when she is only 7days old)...he explain that each individual bb intake is different as mine is quite a big bone gal(3.5kg) at birth thus intake naturally is more...

Re: Similac infant milk powder
Are there any mommies using similac fm? I noticed that there's always a lot of bubbles in the milk..anyone encounter this? How to remove the bubbles har? And also for the ridwind lotion can we use it regularly of bb?

coolsnow,
I used Similac for my #1 and yes, there are lotsa bubbles. When u shake the milk, don't shake it up and down, hold the bottle upright with both hands and roll it left and right ..... eh, like starting fire with a stick. This might reduce the bubbles but yes, Similac seems to have more bubbles.

happie,
today is my day 9. my milk came in on day 3 with only 20ml each pump. now after i latch, i can get about 40-50ml for each pump. in the night without latching is about 60-80ml.

night time, cl will feed with ebm or fm (if ebm is still not thaw). so baby is almost on 90% tbm.

coolsnow,
my baby is on similac but can't advise you on the bubbles as i have not make milk with it yet.

YLN, i feel inspired now, heehee. i'm at wk 2 1/2 and for the last few days, milk ss dropped to 60ml. so discouraged that i skipped my pump at 11pm last night and went to sleep. woke up at 3am this morning to pump and got 80ml. this morning at 9.30am pump again and got another 80ml. dunno if it's becoz i skipped a pump and waited to pump at longer intervals or coz' i drank papaya soup last night. anyway, i hope i can maintain 80ml at least. my bb is drinking quite a lot now. i hope to reach 100ml one day before it's time to give up pumping!

oh yes, mommies who use enfalac, i think it's now called enfamil yah? are u using the enafamil A+ or enfamil with high iron? i'm thinking of buying already since my current mamex gold is running low.

valnsw,
Thankie thankie.

mulberry,
envy u. How i wish my breast will oso feel engorge every 3 hourly. Haha.. i sound so desperate.

Yurri,
I oso dun dare to increase too much. I haven even reach half. hee. Think i better increase the vaccum a little bit more otherwise it doesn't seem to be totally empty.

Celynlee,
My supply is only equivalent to yr day 3 supply. Haha. My milk haven even kick in at day 3, only a little colostrum n by day 4, nipples started to bleed. so no choice nv continue to latch her. Wanted to pump but hospital keep encouraging latch on n not pumping so in the end stop for 2 days to let nipples heal ..Haizz. regret sia,, should have pump earlier. Hopefully in another few days, ms will increase.

luvlel

Bb's of gd weight oredi.. Tt's gd news! At my appt today, I was supposed to have VE, but gynae noted no contractions fr CTG, so skipped tt bit. Dun even know whether I've dilated like u have
1637353.gif

happy

Yupz, def enjoying her in my tummy except for the pain she's causing. Thankfully my threshold of pain is still quite high.. *hahah*
I thought I was going to go into labour last night when I was cramping a little. Worked a little harder in packing my hospital bag, but hahahah, nothing happened in the end

dongle/yuuri/krex78
dun give up..!..
milk will increase one...

i also notice now in order to empty my breast..i need a longer time liao..initially take abt 15-20mins..now abt 25 mins...but me not complaining as long as got more milk!

yuuri
i also only turn to half of vacuum..me also scared pain leh..that suction good enuff for me liao...plus if i keep pumping every 3 hrs on strong suction...breast very pain one..

hisstory

I hate VE. So painful
Gyane does that as I have contractions say for every 10 to 7 mins. Baby playing hide-n-seek with mom: p lucky you escaped it.

Vaginal greenish Discharge:
I noticed greenish discharge today. Something like when you have cold. Little thick and as a blob. Sorry for being so coarse. Any idea what’s up?

luvlel

For me VE is rather uncomfortable, but to the extent of painful.. U must relax when u have the next VE k? Breathe in &amp; out. So u're also just hanging in there yah? Since u're still quite a few weeks ahead of EDD &amp; bb's of gd weight, what are the options tt u &amp; ur HB are considering?

hisstory/valnsw/luvlel, it's gd that our hubbies oso wanna participate leh! Hehe...

Mulberry, whoa 90ml is alot for less than 3hrs intervals leh! LOL...like tt u must 'jagar' urself on ur CL man. Now i think hiring a CL sounds scary n ma fan! LOL

huichin

*cross fingers &amp; toes* tt HB wld also be very participative after bb comes into this world.. So far he's doing a very gd job, save the hospital bag part.. *kekeke*

Okie, tata for now.. Going to watch Men's gymnastics

hisstory,

Thanks! May be I would relax next time when VE is being done. But I really don't like it

We are letting nature take its own course. Dr too says everything is normal so plan to go for normal delivery perhaps without happydural. We are playing the waiting game

what about you?

mulberry,
today my gal alrdy drinking 100ml FM. My hubby says she v tam jiat, greedy baby and she's only 6 days old. Maybe is depends on individual bb.

RE: milk supply
Hearing from all of you I prob gota work harder... Think I too tense when I pumped last night, not much milk. My massage lady said when pumping must be relaxed, cos otherwise wil affect supply. Cos she helped feel my breasts, she said still engorged, still got alot of milk, just nvr pump out.

So I guess, being relaxed is important too and to find a comfy position to do it. Cos 12AM this morning, I was hunching in the corner, v cramped

luvlel,
you have greenish discharge? That's unusual. You better check w ur gynae.

Rata,
I also pump using highest vacuum, quite painful but at least better than bb suckling the nipple.

krex,
it's called Enfagrow A+, don't think I heard of Enfamil??

HuiChin,
After hearing all the frustrated stories of CL, i oso not considering getting a last minute one cos my #1 still not sure coming home when #2 comes out. Have to just leave him there with MIL only if no choice and get maid back to help.

One MIL is enough to upset me.

Valnsw,
I am not sure if need to set to the highest. Pumping should not be painful ba ... else how the breast can tahan and produce more milk? If can adjust, then adjust to the lower power ...
Last one i used has not adjustment one. Hopefully the Ameda will do itself proud ;)

luvlel

Am letting nature take its course too.. But today gynae dropped a 'bombshell', she's going to be away for a couple of days for a conference on the EDD. And since bb's of gd weight, she says still next week, no hurry to induce. After the VE at the next appt, then we shall decide on our options..

Was just discussing with HB if bb's a little too big for vaginal birth, wondering if we shd consider elective c-section, instead of trying then end up having to go thru emergency c-section.. Tt wld certainly be veryvery costly!!

val

*jia you* with BF.. Make sure u get to rest well &amp; ask HB to massage ur back, esp when u're all stressed up..

Just back from the gynae today.. Another 5 more days to my EDD~ BB's head is now engaged! That means I can go for natural birth after all...happy!
If bb dont come out these few days, will have to get induced on my EDD. Since bb's head is only 1/2 engaged, gynae encouraged me to walk more, squat more or HAVE SEX! :p Hahahhaa! She even told my hubby, if can shoot inside better! hahahaha!!! *blush*

Till now i still experienced no contractions, according to CTG machine. Gynae did VE for me and also stimulation which was quite painful...

*Getting excited!*