(2008/08) Aug 2008

hi ladies! =)
hope everybody is coping well.
me ganna gastric pain past 2 days, so din log in.
congrats to all new mommies.

yln
my gal is taking friso gold, same as my #1.
its very important to rest during confinement, so cl will feed her fm at nite.
by giving fm, only need to wake up the most twice per nite lor.

nini
both my gals dun get confuse leh, they will suck well with whatever lor.

i stayed in hospital 4d/3n.
changed 2 sets of clothings, cos 1st day totaly in bed mah. =P

catherine
me thinking of doing pedicure during bb full mth celebration instead...hee hee....
hopefully got time also.

cocomo
u should let cl do it, that is what she is paid to do mah.

btw, kindly help me update the birth length & weight is 47cm & 2.67kg.
thx.

hi mommies, need some advice. my breast milk has not been increasing of late. for the last 2 weeks, ss increased and reached a peak of about 80-90ml. then this week it's getting harder to pump. every 4 hours when i pump, i take very long to reach 80ml. sometimes i stop at 60ml. so shack! bb still doesn't want to latch on, but i hope to pump as much i can so that he can have both EBM and formula. dunno if i shld give up on EBM. i was still hoping to buy the avent isis duo electric pump so it's easier to pump and hopefully it will increase milk ss. would that be a total waste of money? should i just give up already?

cocomo, your CL is the ultimate! if i were u, i would have sacked her liao. i also wouldn't let my bb sleep alone with the CL, esp if she's a heavy sleeper.

mine is a happy problem. my CL wakes up and ensures bb doesn't cry at night. i think she prob just feeds him a lot of formula (yah, my big tin of formula almost depleted already by week 2).

my worry is when she leaves, we'll be the ones suffering as she might have "spolit" bb by carrying him and feeding him too much whenever he cries. now i notice my bb is very "manja". always want ppl to carry and always crying whenever he does not get attention. sigh, dunno if this is a gd thing or not.

Hi August Mummies,

Congratulations to successfully delivering your bundle of joy

I am from the Support Thread for Miscarriages and I'm hoping to compile a list of Successful Deliveries after Prior Miscarriages. If there's any mummy here who went through that, PLEASE help to motivate all of us by adding on the this list at the thread address below:
Nick - # of M/C - Month of Last M/C – # of Cycles (Pregnant Again) – Month of Delivery

Thanks a lot

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/22127.html?1218605645

hisstory, yea i got the single BP only. If not wanna buy another dual-pump like wasted leh...sighs. My hubby la! Hmm. Will see how izzit bah. Sianz. Thanks for the suggestion though

Hey cocomo, can help me add in my BB Falisha's birth length? She's 48cm at birth. Thanks ah!

Yuuri,
You can try the following to increase your milk supply:-
1) drink papaya + fish soup daily
2) eat fish
3) drink lotso hot water/fluids (cold water will affect your MS)
4) massage your breast while expressing
5) drink a cup of hot drink (eg, hot milo) right before you pump
6) pump for 15-20 mins each side after latch on (even no milk still pump)
7) empty your breast each time

The above should increase your MS.

cocomo,
Thanks for the tips

1) Drinking papaya+fish soup everyday
2) eating fish every meal
3) Ok maybe I don't drink alot of water/fluids, will try to jia you here
4) When I massage before starting to pump, always got milk leak and I feel very sayang so will quickly put on the pump...
5) I only do it twice a day, once in the morning and once at night..cos cannot imagine drinking milo 10 times a day! haha
6) Rarely latch on...
7) Breast empty liao, no lumps

But yeah I will try to drink more and more fluids!

Btw, hope you'll be able to solve your CL problem. Did someone recommend her?

shint,
noted...

gayle,
have a smooth delivery

missysz,
no need... will order for u 4 valves...

val,
my bb also want pple to carry from 10pm to 3am... once put her down will cry

yuuri,
i cannot afford to let my gal cry for so long cos my neighbourhood damn quiet at night... everybody can hear...

rata,
read that for bb who vomit milk from nose/mouth, you will have to prop her head up & dont let her lie flat after feeding.. try putting a small baby pillow below her cot mattress... i tried that & seems to help... *touch wood*

cat, YLN, babywise,
funds transfer received...

dongle,
Yah abit difficult to be hard-hearted at night cos' later neighbours complain :p
That time when I 'torture' my boy was in the morning. Both me and hb happily having our breakfast in the kitchen. BB cry finish, then the rest of the day damn guai!

thanks dongle, what abt the milkbag?

snow, feeling better now? take care ya..

rata, my boy also vomitted out his milk sometime..after reading wat catherine wrote, i think maybe my CL feeding position is wrong coz sometime she put him on her lap n feed like that..hmm..shall monitor.

luvlel

Heheh, u & i are a few other mummies are still playing the waiting game.. Let's hang in there!!

huichin

U're most welcome.. Hmm, if ur fren ask what pressie to give bb/u, then u can suggest them to chip in for a dual BP? *kekeke* And then ask HB to top-up!!

snow

Hope u're feeling better oredi.. U have no time to eat at regular timings ah?

hisstory,
You delivered liao? I only have ur daughter's name le, mind to provide other info? I like your nick a lot, his-story. . . good one!

hisstory/krex/snow,
Ya, now i try to let her do as much as possible liao. Really buai tahan!!! Last night I let my gal sleep with me and I ll wake up myself to feed her, only wake my CL up to clean my gal's butt in my room. My fren said I should instead leave my gal with her in her room then when feeding time ask her to bring BB over, but then I worry she dead sleep and just dun bother about my BB's cleanliness then chin chai wipe her butt after poo or just ignore when my gal cry. Imaging my hubby called her 'auntie' more then 8 times + knock her door then only can wake her up last night to clean my gal's butt!!!

hi all,congras to those who had popped...

My EDD is 5 Sept, but gynae adviced that i might popped at any time from now as the bb position is down and is quite low... and i've dilated for 1.5cm.. so should be within this 2 weeks... me started to gan jiong.. still got a few things pending on my shopping list..

Any recommendation of Breast Pump - thinking of getting one electric dual pump as i planned to breastfeed for 6 month if possible. My friend had adviced me to get one avent manual pump to standby first, then after birth see if there is milk flow, if ok, then invest on the electric.. what do you think of this??

Also, for those who delivered in TMC... any feedback on PD - Dr Ong EK and Anaesthetist - Dr Lo WK?? My gynae had assigned them to me as i have no idea which is good or reckon... any feedback...

cocomo,

Your Cl is very hopeless. Are you sure you want to continue with her? I would be scared too to leave my baby with such a sound sleeper.

Hisstory:
Wish our wait is over soon :D Going for Drs appt now. Would see the baby :D

cocomo

nono.. heheh, my time's not up yet.. Just that we've got a name for her
No other info yet, unfortunately!!
Heheh, u're the first to tell me tt u got the idea how my nick came abt

pwha, ur CL really can sleep very soundly.. Guess it's different coz the bb's not hers yah? Whereas we are more alert & respond faster..

Nvm, day time u make ur CL do more.. U paid her in full oredi?

luvlel

Enjoy ur visit! Mine's tmrw

hi <font color="0000ff">von</font>
my PD is Dr. Ong EK. He's detailed and very friendly guy. So far, I'm very pleased with him.
My gynae didn't assigned him to me but I chose him coz a fren highly recommended him.
But pls note that he is very popular and thus, his waiting hours is very long. However, newborns (1mth and below) have priority in queue.

HTHs

cocomo,
tink ur CL really cannot make it. u paid her in full oredi? mebbe u shld have changed her after the first few days!?!? Make u more stressed than helping u to relax. then when i hear u tok abt ur elder boy, i now start worryin abt my gal as well. hope my gal will be as supportive twds mei mei.
btw, if poss, pls update table for me: 3.6kg @ 38wks. Thx!

all BF mommies,
dun give up juz yet! it's still the beginning n am sure u can do it!

mulberry,
my gynae assigned dr. ek ong to me n i made a search thru the inet n found +ve comments fm another forum abt him
am juz worried tat i'll b put off by the long q, juz like the current PD for my gal. my HB was juz commenting the other day, 'how come all the gynaes n PDs u choose oways have long Qs?'....... *speechless*

mulberry,
dr ong ek was recommended by my gynae too. u know hw much he charges for 6 in 1 jabs? supposed to bring bb to him for hep b 2nd dose bt juz found out frm another clinic tat if gg for 6 in 1 then the hep b 2nd dose can b given at 2nd mth.

<font color="0000ff">cocomo</font>
thanks for updating the table

my bb also had jaundice last week and we also rented the photolight machine thingy. But i regret leh coz the 1st day &amp; night, my bb cried n cried. I so heartpain to see her crying, that I cried also :p

but during the phototherapy, my bb sleeps with my CL leh. I don't care, I pay her so much (mine is damn expensive leh), of course must let her do the work i.e. feed her EBM lah, coax her back to sleep lah, etc.... But of coz I was awake when my bb cried (can hear in my room) but my hubby don't allow me to go see bb coz he scared i will cry :p.

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
i think my bb is big eater leh, apparently yesterday my CL started feeding her 80ml ebm liao.

i'm a bit lost in the thread now.

huichin,
i'm not sure if you want to invest in a electric pump now. i do think that its helpful when come to pumping, it really cut down a lot of time. though i'm not sure if it help in increasing supply.

in the beginning, i was quite hesitant to buy too due to the pricing. i'm so glad that i have a electric one now. hubby also say that lucky, he never say want to save $$ and buy a manual one. if not, he will be the one suffering now. heheh....

catherine,
my hubby also. he will rush to baby when he make any sound. i'm the one who stop him from doing so.

cocomo,
your cl is too much leh. she is paid to do work and not sleep loh.

for ebm, i was told by the nurse in kk not to mixed them leh. she told me not to mixed 3pm pump and 6pm pump together, must store separately.

you have very good supply leh. keep up the good work.

snow74,
you take care.

krex78,
don't give up yet. must continue to work hard for the supply to come. i'm using a avent isis duo, not sure if its help but i'm glad to have it.

mulberry, whoa 80ml is alot leh! LOL...good la. Got appetite is gd leh. LOL.

celynlee, hehe..i have the Medela Mini Electric Single pump..but i worry after too much usage it will spoil easily. Hahaha..wanted to get the dual electric one, but hubby nag nag saying buy so gd for what. LOL. Bleahh

huichin,
tell him its saving him $$ to breast feed and also for a healthy baby. what breast milk give baby is what fm can't give. my hubby a bit heart pain in the beginning cos my pump cost near $700. now he starts to appreciate the pump.

huichin

heheh, dun tell ur HB it's my idea.. Later he bans u fr visiting this thread *winks*

jvenus

hahah, coz i've got sthg to aim for &amp; have not popped, so seemingly more free then many of the mummies here who have popped &amp; have their hands full with their little ones

Thanks for the date! It's pretty near my EDD, wonder if i've popped then...

What's a Petal massager?

cocomo,
this is the reason why i nvr wanted to hire CL.. anyway since everything also you do why not ask her leave ? or tell her off la..

von,
hi... alot of people say the avent manual one is good.like u i wanted to wait to see the supply then decide to buy or not.. super regret, 2nd day after i discharged, i asked my mom quickly go buy the electric one, irregardless of sale or no sale. hhahaa..

we talked about baby drinking habits, anyone notice your baby poo-ing trend ? 1st week my baby was pooing as and when she wants.. but for past 3-4 days, she will only poo once a day in the late evening and the poo is really ALOT. can overflow out of the diaper type. really damn scary !! I checked with my PD today and he said nothing to worry it's ok. anyone experiencing the same thing ?

Catherine,
My boy still poo-ing as and when he wants ley. But most of the time it's after a feed. He's already poo-ed twice into his bath and made hb so exasparated. If your PD say nothing to worry, then should be ok lor.

OMG just realised bb's full month is next week liao! And haven't done a single thing! Haven't even decided on a Chinese name to make birth cert. Where did the time fly?

Are you guys gonna shave bb's head for full month?

hisstory, yah, also near my edd. the petal massager is the silicon pad which is at the funnel of the pump. helps to massage the breast when pumping. suppose to be able to give more milk.

chin chin,

oredi sent you mms my emre pics. can help to upload ?

hisstory, lazy to go and download the software, thanks anyway.

re: breastfeeding
been having some breakdown due to the fustration of breastfeeding. latched on my baby full day ytd and restrict his formula intake, in the end he end up so hungry and got to fee him back formula after he decide to not let us sleep the whole nite. was thinking of giving up breastfeeding liaoz, cos no increase in out put, only managed like 50ml the most.
so glad to read that am not alone, think will just have to keep pumping and latching and supplement with formula(without feeling the guilt) from now on.

re : breast pump.
using the avent manual pump, since not yielding much milk thus will not consider investing in electric pump for now.

congrats to those who popped recently!!

baby pics posted all so cuteeee!!

re: injections.
where is a good and affordable place to go for the 6 in one injections ?

re : white spots/milk accumulation in mouth
i notice emre's mouth having some white spots in his mouth and his tongue coated with milk residue and on the lips..anything to help remove these ? can feed water ?

rata,
yup, cannot be her jie mei lei, her wedding date just few days after my confinement, no time to prepare, since so bloated and shaggy look still.

Intterace,
I had my #1 did all his jabs at polyclinic ... cos due to his severe jaundice I had to go polyclinic every 2 days to do blood test.

5-in-1 (DPTa + Hib + Injectable Polio)
1 dose - $85.80
4 doses - $291.80

Can't remember if that includes Hepatitis B. I think not.

I am back from the hospital. Natural delivery with epidural and induction to Amber Yeo on 12 Aug 2008, weighing 3.22kg, 50 cm long. Thanks for updating in advance!!

I am trying hard on latching her on. Having sore nipples so it's hard but have to try...it's not easy to get the correct latch. The pain from the uterus due to shrinkage is bad sometimes, I wonder if any mummies feel it.

Think I will not be logging on so often as tired and need to rest.

Dongle: I will transfer $15.53 to you but I will collect the item after my confinement as will be doing my confinement in my mum's place. Thanks!!

Re: breast pump
The other day I went to Robinson Sale, they got 20% discount for breastpump..Then i wanted to get the Avent manual breastpump, the cashier auntie asked me u sure u wanna get the manual one? Very tiring one leh... So i just put it back. I so wanted to get the Medela breastpump, but its expensive and hubby thinks that the pigeon electric breastpump he bought should works the same! Stingy fella... :p But i suggest going to the Taka sale n see, they will not only give discount and also cooler bag (worth $100+) too! Thats what my friend told me...

earnestmum: Congrats! I read that during breastfeeding, the correct position is to latch on the whole aerola instead of the nipple...so u wont get sore nipples...

hi ladies, checking in after my nap but still v tired
Feel like lost alot of brain cells.

too many posts to catch... sorry if I don't catch all.

earnestmum
Amber and baby chevelle almost the same length. Means your DD had long legs? Ya i also felt the sng sng pain like the uterus contracting.

cocomo,
oh dear, your CL is really bad. Hmm... any way u can fire her and get back some $? She's being paid yet not doing her job.
Your son, not feeding well, maybe can get ur hubby to help on that.
Wa... u so fast alrdy wana "matchmake" ah... Now my bb looks cute, hope she will continue to grow pretty.

von,
Think most of the mummies here using Ameda. I think it's quite gd.

RE: Breast pumping
My milk supply kicked in today!! Yay!
Breasts super engorged. but can't seems to pump it all out. Me v blur, took some time figuring how to use e pump and handsfree n finally got it. End up wasting some milk when using the flanges, should've just skipped that and used the handsfree.
Got express v little milk out, so I hope that's a gd slow start. Must jiayou.

snow,
hope you are recovering from your gasttric pain. Take care! This is the time our bodies need to be in the best condition.

shint,
the jabs at polyclinic - how long is waiting time?

valnsw,
jia you. it will slowly come in. i only got 20ml in the beginning. today already day 8 and can manage to pump about 60-80ml liao. don't worry. jia you.

celynlee, hahaa...true leh! Now he understand definitely. Hehe...

von, really ah! hehee...120bucks is alot of $$!

hisstory, no la he not so mean la! hehe..sometimes he got time he'll visit this thread one leh. LOL.

Interrace, oh no, my iPhone is a selfish phone, no MMS one leh - not the 3G version la! Cannot receive! I'm so sorry! Can u email instead? If not i can give u my hubby's no. then u mms him? Paiseh!

RE: Breastfeeding
Just now tried to latch Falisha on. She got angry and only sucked for 5mins...sob. Got so cranky i no choice, give her via milk bottle. Think they very smart, need to suckle hard then can get milk they dun want! Want the easy way out. Sighs. Dun care tmr i will try again. Cry cry loh. Sob. I wanna do Mum-daughter bonding siah. Bleahhh

yuuri,
ya lo since PD say ok then ok lo. else so worried. He suggested i get the "ridwind" for her to help ease the wind. So i went parkway to get just now (yes i went out again.. hahaha).

Not planning to shave baby head. aiyo her hair so nice lei.. moreover i asked my hairstylst he say better not to shave. if want then just cut a small lock for tradition.

Congrats to everyone who has popped.
My little ger,Chiemi was born on 6th aug.
here's her birth story.

9am ( 5/8/08 ) - Noticed that i m having pinkish discharge. Thought its was jus the mucous plug so didn't bother much since my schedule c-sec is only a few days away.
12.30 pm - went ahead with my waxing n oso to my gynae to buy some stuff, there, i ask the the nurse and found out that i was having the "show". was put on ctg n only very very mild contraction was detected so was told to go home n stay in bed. "show" has stopped by then
4.30am ( 6/8/08)- Realise that the "show" came back when i woke up for my usual night toilet visiting. Faster climb back in bed after that.
5am - Felt a small little gush of water n quickly got up frm the bed to check. Went to the toilet immediately n suddenly a bigger gush of water just flow out. Knew that my water bag broke. Called my hubby immediately as he was in camp tat night. Woke my mum up too n called my gynae. Luckily hubby was back within minutes. Off to the hospital.
5.55 am - reach the delivery ward. Was put on ctg and some contraction was detected but i felt nothing. Midwife did the VE check for me n i'm onli 1cm dilated.
7am - gynae arrive n did another VE check, still 1 cm dilated n baby is pretty high. So she recommend c-sec
7.35am- pushed into the OT n was put on epi. Super exciting n nerve wrecking.
7.45am - Hubby came in to join me in the OT.
7.55am - Chiemi darling is out.

She weigh 2.88kg and length 48cm

Here is a pic of her
1634973.jpg

jvenus

Oic.. Prob wun work with other BP yah?

interrace

No probs!!

huichin

Not bad ah ur hubby.. He actually pops by here. My HB wld peep when i'm here
*hahah*

Re:breastfeeding

My MS is still very low.Only manage to pump 60ml on the 1st time and the rest is only 20-25ml each time i pump so no choice have been supplementing her with FM.
Btw, do all of u pump in the middle of the night coz i usually dun pump in the middle of the night. Will this affect the supply ??

Dongle, Yup i was told abt it ve been doing dat todae. Also like wat cat mention dun feed her in lying down position, incline her abit. Todae is abit better liao.

Happie,
Congratulations! Ur princess looks sweet!

Breastfeeding
I notice my MS declining also leh. Think maybe i didn't pump diligently. Thanks cocomo for the tips. I'll try them and see if there's improvement, if not will take fenugreek. BB's drinking every 2 hrs, even every hour during cluster feeding, think my breasts cannot keep up. Stress ar.....

celynlee,
yea, i'm also using avent isis duo and it works wonder! i latch my bb on most of the time except one or 2 feeds in the middle of the night and pump once or twice a day. Each pump (ttl of 15 to 20mins for both sides) i can get ard 240ml. Since the ss is sufficient i'm getting very lazy to pump. Must work harder to maintain the ss.

Krex,
Dun despair....u may want to try to rent the pump and try out first and if it increase ur ss then u can consider investing. So far the review for avent isis duo and ameda duo is good. Jia you!

Cocomo,
wut a lazy CL! Have u tried telling her off? For me i cannot tahan le...

Hey, I had the same problem with my elder boy. When i was in the hospital he missed me so much that he cried for 2 nites looking for me but when i reached home he seems to stay away from me and turn to his grandpa. Our attention to them has lessen and they get jealous but dun know how to say it out and hence, show their attitude to get our attention ba...... i'm trying to give him more attention since my stiches is recovering well. Hope u can overcome the problem soon. Having #2 is totally diff from having #1 hor? More challenging ya....